Wellness Performance Institute Complaints & Reviews

Wellness Performance InstituteShaddy Business

Beware of WPI and Scott Courter. They will take your money and forget about you. Cardio equipment is always broken and no matter how many time you tell them about it, they just shrug and say that's why membership prices are low. The guy that teaches speed and agility is always late and never pays attention to my son's form, safety or whatever. He just comes for a check and leaves.

  • Wp
    wpisucks Sep 28, 2010

    We have been members for a couple of years. We would drag our butts to the gym nearly everyday, and everyday the people behind the counter were unfriendly and unhelpful! It's hard enough to get to the gym and then deal with there bad attitudes! We just recently canceled and they are STILL trying to debit our checking accounts! The people at the Wellness Performance Institute have by far the worst customer service. I was hung up on several times when I would call to resolve my cancellation.

    We have given these people TONS of money and they act like WE should be thankful!! I will never step into this gym again in my life! And I will also tell everyone I know how poorly they are run.

    6 Votes
  • Bo
    booboox Oct 19, 2010

    AGREE! Wellness Performance Institute has gone so far down over the years and its just poor management. They brought in a new guy, TC Thrasher of Fitness 19 in Lawrenceville and he has ruined the place. How can you own two different corporate business and not compete with each other? Is that not a conflict of interest? I wonder if Fitness 19 has any non-compete clause in their agreement? I think they would. The two gyms are totally different being run the same way-crappy.

    3 Votes
  • Mo
    morice Nov 30, 2010

    These guys don't know what the hell is going on or remotely what they are doing. They have been faking it til they make it, unfortunately they ain't makin it. They have injured several athletes, sent athletes into the combine physically and mentally unprepared. Look at Andre Smith for the Bengals, was a top draft choice, trained at Wellness Performance Institute and broke his ankle the first week of practice. These guys suck, I don't understand why agents don't do their research and notice nobody that works there has any exercise or sports performance degree, and former athlete that works there is a has been or "NEVER" has been. Don't make a mistake that can affect your future.

    2 Votes
  • Co
    Concerned 2222 Nov 24, 2011

    These complaints were made by a terminated employee. Who solicited his client to make. Which is real sad.

    -1 Votes

Wellness Performance InstitutePoor Customer Service

WPI in Suwanee is by far the worst gym I have ever been a member of, I only joined because my work had a special rate for us, however the owner still hasn't filed the paperwork, so I am paying full price. I am in the process of cancelling my membership, but that's not going so well, I can't reach anyone, and nobody seems to ever be working the front.

  • So
    soccermomga Sep 23, 2010

    I don't know what's been going on there lately but there are a bunch of changes happening. It looks like its a business just trying to survive. The doctors left, the physical therapist have left, and they keep bringing in these weird people right now. They can't seem to hold onto trainers, must be a greed thing. Oh yeah, if you have a problem, be ready to talk to the 17 year old daughter of the owner, the owners keep passing you off to her. Seems they can't handle the criticism.

    12 Votes
  • Fo
    formermember Sep 24, 2010

    This gym was more about sales and stupid marketing gimmicks than actually caring if people were successful. Thats ok, if you know what you are doing coming in as equipment is nice and clean environment, but don't expect much help without paying for the personal trainer. They are very cheap. No towels, soap dispensers in mens room are always broken, and when scale broke, they wouldn't replace it. Personal trainers are more like cheerleaders. Have A/C, but not turned on when 85 degrees outside. Of Course, if the staff is hot they will turn it on, but no for the members. Not very people oriented and I've seen friendlier business settings in other gyms.

    10 Votes
  • Mc
    mcfalcon Sep 25, 2010

    29.00 debited from my checking account in addition to my monthly membership dues of 19.99. The 29 is what the gym calls an enhancement fee that is taken out once per annual contract.--My contention is that it was not verbally disclosed by both the salesperson and the manager who had me sign the retail installment contract (which has the enhancement fee listed opposite of the box that labeled "state and federal disclousures made by WPI" which provides data on all fees except the enhancement fee is not listed in this section.

    furthermore, the salesperson understood what I was paying at a prior gym and sold me on the fact that I would not pay anymore than the monthly gym membership fee. My second contention is that I never agreed to have another fee debited from my personal checking account other than the monthly charge of 19.99 for membership. Furthermore, regarding the contract this enhancement fee not only was not verbally disclosed nor did I have to initial the section which if you view this contract is separate from where the monthly fee and finance charges and enrollment fee are listed.

    9 Votes
  • Co
    collinshilldad Sep 30, 2010

    I'm glad I found this website. I am a former member of Wellness Performance Institute. This place has pissed off more parents than any business I know of. The staff is extremely rude and arrogant. I quickly moved my children to Competitive Edge Sports after experiencing Wellness Performance Institute's poor customer service and quality of training. There is absolutely no hands on involvement with the kids, they move em in and move em out. CES had to do so much correcting of my kids form, he actually had backtracked when he was at WPI. Parents, do your research, WPI is a sales nightmare. Try them out if you wish and then try one of the other, very local, performance schools and see if I'm lying.

    5 Votes
  • Ne
    newyork33 Oct 05, 2010

    I have to agree on all these, it kinda makes me laugh. I am a member because of the location, my wife is not. She calls this the "sleeve-less douche club", due to the fact she has never seen any of the staff in anything but a sleeveless shirt and hat on backwards. I didn't really notice until I started paying attention, and she's right...for once. If your looking for a bare bones gym, no A/C, warm water in the water fountain and spit on the floor mentality than this is the place. The only time I see it busy is when the combine program comes in and that's run like a day care. It's no wonder none of the athletes ever get drafted.

    4 Votes
  • Je
    jeffreylongo Oct 11, 2010

    Scott Courter and Wellness Performance Institute treats people like dogs. They have the worst customer service and are two faced criminals in my book. Buyer Beware!!

    3 Votes

Wellness Performance Institute — Poor Business Practices

Beware of Wellness Performance Institute. They will keep charging your card long after you cancel your...

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem