Sports Authority Complaints & Reviews

Sports AuthorityTreadmill service

Purchased a treadmill from Sports Authority last year and purchased the extended coverage plan. At the first of this year we notice that there was a puddle of fluid under the treadmill and we filed a claim with Sports Authority claims department. We were sent an email stating that our claim has been filed and a service call will be scheduled. I didn't hear anything back from them on a scheduled date for service and I had to call them several times to final get the service scheduled. The company that Sports Authority contacts to do service came out and told us that the roller was bad and that they would order the part and ship to us. After waiting for about a month with no word on the part I called Sports Authority to complain about their total lack of customer service and was told they would see why the part wasn't ordered. We were then told the the part was on back order and we should have it in a few weeks. Was called by the service contractor that the part was shipped and once we received it they would schedule a service call to install the new roller. When we received the part I scheduled to have them come on Friday 6/19/15 and they said they would be here. On Friday 6/19/15 they did not come out or call to let me know they weren't coming, and as of 6/22/15 I haven't heard anything from them or sports Authority. Our complaint is Sports Authority's total of customer service!

Resolved Sports AuthorityExchange

Purchased a golf shirt last week, took it home and found that the type of shirt was too large and I needed a smaller size. When purchasing the shirt, I noticed that they only had large shirts in the color I wanted. So I took what would be the size I needed in grey, which was not my first choice. At home realizing that the shirt was too large, I said great, I can now get the color I wanted. So my next trip to Hilo, , I live in a town 60 miles away, I took the shirt to do an exchange to a smaller size. I normally do not take things back to stores, so upon trying out the shirt, I threw out the labels and the receipt. Here we have a bring your own bag policy and I had a carry bag and threw the shirt and the receipt into the bag. At home I cleaned out the bag and threw all that I did not feel important into the trash. When realizing I need the change the shirt size I hunted fir the receipt to no avail. It was small, I probably squashed it as I flew it into the trash and did not want to hunt further than I did as it was getting messy. When I asked sports authority to make this exchange, they could not find that I had purchased the shirt the week before. I know I shopped there because I had the shirt and when paying, the cashier asked if I was registered with them. I gave her my phone number and she said, Paul? I said yes. Waiting a long time for this issue to be resolved, even though the store was almost empty, they had three people at the register with me as the customer, it was absurd. Finally they say after speaking to their manager who sat above the store somewhere they could use the cheapest price. This meant that they would give me an exchange for the cheapest price they sell the shirt for which was about 14 dollars. The sale price for the week was about 17 dollars which is the price I paid. The next step was to ask me to pay for the cost of the shirt today (17) minus the cheapest they would sell (14). Before they could ask me this humiliation, I told them to keep the shirt and left. The cashier who came by to help my first cashier told me that the reason they were doing this was because I chose a different color and if I would have exchanged into a gray shirt, they would not be doing this.. That was too much for " my grey hairs", I will never walk into that store again. Besides their prices are always too high.

  • Mi
    Michael A. Smith Jul 24, 2009

    Purchased golf club (driver) during July 2009 clearance sale. Upon first use, the club fractured. Returning the club to the store, was told that this is an issue between me and the manufacturer, that Sports Authority would not stand behind the product nor offer a refund.

    0 Votes
  • We
    weyland smithers Dec 29, 2014

    try stuff on before you buy it

    0 Votes
  • Zo
    zooyork newyork Jan 11, 2015

    Just to let you know they probably thought you stole it and they lied to you. They must do exchanges as full price only time we do lowest price is when doing a return without receipt. Take the shirt back in and tell them you exchange it and then return it for your money back on store credit.

    0 Votes

Resolved Sports Authoritybad service, twice

we purchased a treadmill and extended sevice contract on 7/712. Last Saturday 8/10/13 we noticed some oil in the floor so called for service. The appointment was set for today 8/15 between 8-12. Around 1030 my wife called to find out they had no record of this service call. Call back to service number and was given another servicer to call. I called them to get an answering machine that stated the mailbox was full try again later. I then drove to mthe store around 130 and spoke with George the store manager. He made copies of all my paperwork, did apoligize and stated he would be back in touch with me later today. At 730 pm when I still had not heard anything I called bakc to the store to find out George had left for the day without calling me. I ask for the number to the corp office and after waiting a few minutes received the number. I call to find out the service line is not open to support stores beacuse they closed at 730 MST. I would highly consider buying your exercise equipment from another retailer who cares about the customer after the sale.

Sports AuthorityReward Card

After purchasing two large items from Sports Authority; elliptical and bicycle, two reward cards were mailed to my home. These cards were mailed separately (within two to three weeks of each other). When attempting to use the second reward card which was mailed to my home, the cashier stated it could not be used as it was previously obtained. Completely confused since I had the card in my possession how was it possible that I ‘used’ it? The cashier had no idea how to handle the situation and asked assistance from the manager who looked like she couldn’t be bothered. She rudely told me I had to call customer service, which already in the store, wasting over a half hour of my time, I told her “No, you can call”. The individual on the phone, Lauren, was absolutely ridiculous. She explained that “sometimes” duplicate rewards are issued and “Unfortunately the amount could not be obtained’ over and over again. Please tell me how this makes sense? Why would a company send out multiple reward cards if it can only be used once? If you send me two cards, I am going to use those two cards. The reward amount was a lousy $26 dollars, but why not use it if you have it. Lauren was no help and supposedly the manager Katie was on her lunch break. I asked if there was any other manager and she said “No”. It seems really impossible that a large business as Sports Authority only has one manager in office. When calling later that day, I was told by another representative (Sean) that the manager had left for the day. Seems to me there is no manager and they are basically giving you the run around in hopes of you giving up. I have emailed my concern to many email addresses found online and have received no response. It is extremely frustrating after spending hundreds of dollars on an elliptical and bicycle, to which they pretend to have a ‘reward system’ that you are unable to obtain. I would have rather received no ‘reward card’, which would have saved my sanity and time wasted at the store and on the telephone with their customer service.

Bottom line: I will never shop in Sports Authority again and I hope that you do not either. This place is overpriced with employees who are poorly trained with upper management which cannot make decisions. Hopefully I will receive a response and will continue to leave my complaint on every single ‘Complaint Website’ I can find.

Resolved Sports AuthorityDelivery and Assembly

I purchased a Golds Gym strength Tower from Sports Authority and was told I would get a delivery call in 36 hours. But I wasn't told that they would tell me we will deliver and assemble in almost 3 weeks! After complaining to the store they apologized and said there is nothing they can do. Well 2 1/2 weeks later with a delivery time of 2-5 PM, they showed up at 4:30! When they got inside and started to unload, they said " We don't have all the Parts!" Now I am really mad, and I said, well why don't you call the store and get the parts from the display model. The assembler said " let me call and ask my boss". The assembler came back inside and said they can't do it because his boss ( Ken) from the D&A department said the store said no. Well, I called the store to find out why, and the Manager by the name of Steve said " I said no such thing! I said they can come and get whatever they want as long as the customer is happy!" So I called Ken back to ask why he lied and he said "Well ahhh, ummm, he said no at first but than said yes" I then asked Ken for his last name because I wanted to speak to a manager and he said "NO! I am not giving you anything!" When I asked him why he stated " I don't have to!" I said aren't you an employee of SA? He stated NO, I'm not (another lie) He would not give me his full name, the store manager who I called again, stuck by his word and said "I never ever said no to him at all!" When I talked to Ken again his comment was "I am not sending my guy to take another part and then come back to assemble your stuff, it's too late now!" Well I said but it's not my fault they came a half an hour before it was time for them to leave. Ken then said "well, I can either reschedule you, or you can return it to the store" It's not my problem. Ken from D&A was a very rude person and should not be in any position of authority. To lie to a customer, treat them rude, and then deny to give them his last name is horrible and reflects on Sports authority since I have purchased my last Item from Sports Authority.

  • Ma
    MauiAL50 May 08, 2012

    It is fairly standard for employees NOT to give their last names to customers, especially in retail. I'm pretty sure that if you contacted corporate and told them the same thing you posted here that they can figure out who Ken is without you having his last name.

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Resolved Sports Authoritycustomer service/product delivery

i ordered a treadmill online from sports authority. it was delivered and since it weighed 160 lbs i could only look at the box o the top side, which looked fine, when i opened it i found that the bottom side of the box had damage, and the plastic support piece for the treadmill was busted. called and got authorization to return it, and a second one was shipped. trying to arrange for the first one to be picked up was an ordeal. i received a form in the mail with a ra # and phone number to call, but when i called the number, it was not a shipping company. called sports authority back, and they couldn't find anything on the ra # and info i had recieved in the mail. by now i had recieved the second treadmill and it too had the same damage, the same plastic parts were busted. it must be a packaging problem, they obviously need more protection around this particular part to ship it. so now i have 2 broken treadmills, and still cant seem to get the correct info to get the first one picked up. every time i called i talked to a supervisor who assured me they were going to get the matter resolved for me and would have an ra # emailed to me the next day. this went on for days with me calling every day and never getting the person i had talked to the day before, even though they gave me their name and extension number. i work nights and so every time i had to stay up and try to go thru all this story again and agian i was doing it on my sleep time. and then i started getting emails from them sayiing if i did not return the first one soon i would be billed for the second one! and when i got frustrated on the phone one lady told me she would hang up on me if i continued to be rude to HER! my dad has cancer and i had to go out of town for a few days and let this ride and when i came back i still did not have anything from them on this. a couple days later i got the ra # for both and have finally sent them back. have finally recieved refund for the shipping charge, which i was promised almost 2 weeks ago, now hopefully i will get refund for purchase price so i can finally go buy a treadmill, like i tried to do over a month ago. very, very customer UNfriendly company.

Resolved Sports AuthorityUnknowledgable staff/high prices

This is an annoyance (wasted time) more than anything. Beside the fact that they are higher on their prices than anyone in town, their sales staff is not even CLOSE to knowledgable! I started to play racquetball again after a long time away from the sport. I went into the local store here in League City to look at racquets and equipment. They DO have a dedicated racquetball section after all... I asked several people for help with racquets and court shoes. The fact that their selection is horrible is beside the point. I could not find ANYONE that could give me any information on racquets OR shoes! You would think that a specialty sporting goods store could help with at least shoes! I have also gone in to look at kayaks and fishing equipment. Still the same amount of help. Having an employee in a specialty store that knows nothing about anything that they sell is like a mechanic that has never turned a wrench. My advice is to avoid Sports Authority like the PLAGUE! If you want racquetball equipment, go to online stores like Lawler Sports that knows their stuff. If you want fishing or boating gear, go to Bass Pro Shops for their unltra-knowledgable staff or Academy for the prices! There is no KNOWLEDGE in this store of anything that has to do with SPORTS!

  • Je
    jenova578 Dec 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree, there are some stores I go into and the associates don't know anything. I think they need to train and treat their employees better. Don't get me wrong though. I have met a lot of knowledgable associates over the years.

    0 Votes

Sports AuthoritySold me a bike with the wrong tire, manager denied that it was the wrong tire

I purchased my K2 Astral 2.0 bicycle at Sports Authority on Saturday, April 16, 2011. Today is Friday, April 22, 2011. On sunday night, I noticed a residue on the sidewall of the front tire. I thought it may have been the SLiME that I had the tech install into my tires. I tried rubbing it off with my fingers. No dice. I then thought it may have been permanent marker, which I know (from experience) is alcohol soluble. I grabbed an alcohol swab and wiped off the permanent marker. What was the permanent marker hiding, you may ask? It was hiding a Schwinn logo. The bike is a K2 bike, with a Schwinn tire. I thought I would ride my bike 9 miles to the Sports Authority store where I purchased the bike. I brought it into the store, and talked to a manager. He told me that Schwinn manufactures tires. Not only is that false, but that was a coverup. Both front and back tires have the same tread pattern and are manufactured by Innova. I then realized hat the rear tire is alright, according to K2's spec sheet on their website (700x35c), while the front tire (with the covered up Schwinn logo) was incorrect according to K2's spec sheet. It was a 700x38c. I spoke with another manager (all of the sales employees seem to have tags with the "Sales Manager" title) who told me that there was a Schwinn branded tire on it because Schwinn is a quality company, and they want people to think that the bike is of quality. This is not true, because if they wanted people to think that the bike was of quality, they wouldn't put it on just the tire, and they wouldn't cover it up with permanent marker. I had to wait for a tech to arrive to adjust my front derailleur. When the tech arrived, I directed his attention to the Schwinn branding on the tire, and the incorrectly sized tire. He went to check the K2 Astral 2.0's that they had on the floor. He was about to take the tire from a floor model and put it on mine, but the manager (the second one I spoke with) asked him what he was doing. He said "I'm not sure he has the correct tire." The manager said "oh. He /has/ (backslashes added to simulate italics) the correct tire." I had a mortified look on my face. The manager said to me "We'll look at the tires when you come in for your 30-day tune up." And I left. I was extremely dissatisfied with the service I received there. I will be going back with my father (I am 15 years old) tomorrow, Saturday April 22, 2011 (exactly one week after date of purchase).

Sold me a bike with the wrong tire, manager denied that it was the wrong tire

  • Je
    jenova578 Dec 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just give the kid a damn tire!!

    0 Votes

Resolved Sports AuthorityWarranty

I bought basketball and hiking shoes for my middle school son. At checkout, the cashier asked whether I wanted to buy a "maintenance" contract that would allow me to buy new shoes at a nominal price as he grew. I tried to buy new shoes for him this afternoon but was told that the contract only covered excess wear. I never would have bought the contracts if I knew that as he doesn't do that much hiking and mist of his basketball is played I doors. I was told that this program has been terminated and that the manger of the Boulder Co store was fired over confusion with this program and overselling its benefits.

  • Re
    Reasonablenotimpatient Oct 08, 2011

    First of all they don't sell those shoes, so they really did not lose your sale. Second of all FiveFinger shoes are for the athletic and apparently you are so lazy you can't exert the energy to go shop. You expect to be serviced from the phone while others make the effort to go to the store and shop, they deserve the attention of the staff not the people sitting on their couch calling on the phone.

    0 Votes

Resolved Sports AuthorityPoor Delivery Service

I bought this Elliptical machine on a saturday and i paid for delivery and assembly, first of all the sales manager tried every trick including telling me horror stories of machines giving out fumes on first day etc to coerce me into buying extended warranty. i refused and left the store after payment. i had asked for a delivery and assembly and i waited and waited for the delivery people to call me to set up a date and time. somebody called and left a message after 3 days and uncfortunately i missed her call, i tried calling her up several times next day but she wont pick up the damn phone. i talked with SA and they washed their hands off the matter saying i need to keep calling them again and again to set up a date and time for delivery and assembly. horrible service and i hope the machine turns out to be their saving grace.

  • Sa
    sailcat Nov 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Good grammar and spelling certainly won't turn out to be your saving grace.

    0 Votes

Resolved Sports AuthorityBad customer survice

I went in to sports authority at the colorado mills and was looking for a new ski jacket for the season, I found one i like and went to purchase it because the jacket i found was a great deal. After heading to the register the lady told me the price was marked wrong so she called a manager over. He then started telling me i was trying to "pull a quick one" by switching the tags. i showed him where i got it from because there were multiple of the same jacket market down in price. He laughed and told me i wasn't going to get away with what i did. Screw that manager i'm never shopping at sports authority again cause of their horrible customer service. i hope they go out of business actually cause in this economy there are many competitors who treat you better and don't need to competition from sports authorities douche bad corporation

  • Sa
    sailcat Nov 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    So you would hope that they go out of business and all the people who work there to put food on their tables and a roof over their heads can just go and piss off, right? Honestly most stores by the sound of your attitude would be better off if you didn't shop there.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    sailcat Nov 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    By the way that you write (hint: it's not a compliment) you must be in college.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    CharR Jan 04, 2011

    Had an interesting deal with Sports Authority today...called to see if their Issaquah WA store had ski's to rent and was told they didn't have my size. The person told me to call the local competition (Sturtevants) instead. Fortunately I called Sports Authority in Bellevue WA and they had a pair but I was stumped by the person that sent me off to their competition instead of calling another store for me...

    0 Votes

Resolved Sports Authoritywrong price

I bought a package of soft tip darts. It rang up for $34.99 but where I got it from had a price tag above that say $17.99. The girl at the register had a sales person go check it out and he said said that the darts where at the wrong area. There was 3 off them there. So someone had not done there job and put them in the wrong spot. So I grab a cheaper one and went back to the register. After the girl rang me up i notice the sign on the counter that said that if the price ring up wrong or not the same as the price that's on the product that they will give you the lower price plus $3.00 off. i pointed it out to the girl and shae said "oh I didn't konw that was there" and I said shouldn't I get it for the $17.99 price and she shrugged her shoulder and began to help the next costumer. I didn't even know what to do after that so I left. I was going to go on there website and conplain but they don't even have that on there website.

  • Do
    Dogmatic May 21, 2010

    I work at Sports Authority and I have never seen this sign posted in a store. If it was then it's on you to ask for a manager, who in most cases will honor it. If the manager and cashier don't honor it then you have cause to complain.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    sailcat Nov 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've worked at the Sports Authority for 6 years and have never seen or even heard of such a sign. Me thinks you lie.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jenova578 Dec 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have also worked there for 6 years, in the stores and at the corporate level and never heard of that policy before either.

    0 Votes

Resolved Sports AuthorityI Can Laugh Now

Bought a weight bench 12/12/09 & assembled it on 12/26; then realized they gave me the wrong bench. Store manager offered to send their assemblers "Go Configure" to my house, take down the bench & assemble the correct one. Got recorded voicemails saying when they'd show up, called them to change appointment, called again and they had no record of my appointment. Got several recorded calls saying the name of the company & nothing else. Guy showed up @ my home when I was 40 miles away & called my cell. I told him what was happening; he promised to look into it & call back - never did. That night received a recorded voicemail asking me how I liked their service and to call a number. I tried - no answer. I called their other number & told them to leave me alone from now on. Called Sports Authority customer service and spoke to a dumbbell who asked if he could call me Michael. He tried to find his supervisor, couldn't, then asked me if he could take info and they'd call. I said OK. He said (Are you ready?) "OK Michael, What's your first name?" Yes, that's not a typo! Needless to say they still haven't called me.

  • Sa
    sailcat Nov 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    So you spoke to a "dumbbell" but YOU are the one who took two weeks to figure out you got the wrong bench?

    0 Votes

Resolved Sports Authorityreturn exchange policy

I bought the most exspensive backpack in the store because the manager at the time reccommmended it as the best made. 6 months later I bring it back to the store after light usage. It had a huge tear on the zipper. there was no store manger on duty so I talked to an assisstant manager. I wanted a refund or a fair exchange, The assistant said to me, he couldn't do a thing. A few months later my dad found out and tried fixing the problem himself. He talked to Randy Zaefer the co-manager, and Randy replied, "there's nothing I can do" We called corperate office many times. its been weeks, and thet still haven't responded. My family has spent a lot of money here for years since the time it was called sport smart. this just shows sports authority and other big companies have no interest in customer satisfaction. i will continue to call and blog about them until they respond back and make everything right

  • Gm
    Gman0007 Jan 03, 2010

    Sorry to hear about your return woes, but I understand why the managers said no for three reasons.
    1. 90 day return policy: After that you are on your own.
    2. No warranty? no return: They offer warranties on all backpacks in situations like yours where it rips. If you buy the warranty, the managers will pretty much do whatever you want.
    3. No customer database at the store level: You may buy a lot there but they don't know that. Now at Costco, they could see that you spend X amount every year.

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    GreaterGood Mar 20, 2010

    I'm curious what brand of backpack it was. If it was The North Face, well they can't take it back no matter what; North Face has a lifetime warranty. If it's Jansport, they have a lifetime warranty as well. Same with Under Armour, and most other back packs. If what you're saying is true about it being so expensive, it's quite possible you can just go through the manufacture.

    Bottom line is a return policy is a return policy. If they took back items all the time no matter the time frame, they would go out of business.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    sailcat Nov 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Did you even ONCE bother to attempt to resolve the issue with the manufacturer? You can do that or go ahead and waste the rest of your life whining and blogging.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Bart D. Nov 18, 2010

    Don't EVER buy the warranties. THey don't honor those either. I've purchased two shoew warranties over the years, and when you go to claim them, they promise to email and mail you a label to return the items, over and over, and NEVER have they sent me a single thing. THey make it so inconvenient, that you eventually forget about it (their goal). BTW: anyone check out the Better Business Bureau rating on them? It's an "F"

    Stay away from this company. They have lost my business forever.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jenova578 Dec 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Don't know where you saw an "F" rating for Sports Authority. I just checked and they are an "A+". And they do honor their waranties. I bought a canopy and 3 months later it broke. I called the store and they told me that I could come back in and get a new one. When I went into the store the manager told me that if I had not bought the warranty that he would not have been able to do anything about it. I am glad I bought it now. I have always had great customer service when I go there.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Badboy69 Apr 16, 2012

    Sport authority customer service is HORrible. Unprofessional refuses returns or exchanges. When I shop there they are quick to take my money but the one time I ever return a new unused item it's refused because I misplaced my reciept. My brother said the gift I gave him they refused to exchange without a reciept so when He finally gets the receipt I mailed him they said its past the 30 day policy.
    I will never buy at sport authority again terrible money hungry unethical amoral company

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    Geshen Jul 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    THIS IS A PORTION OF THE LETTER I SENT TO SPORTS AUTHORITY HEADQUARTERS IN ENGLEWOOD CO AND AS OF YET NO RESPONSE.

    This letter is to inform you that on November 23, 2012 at the Black Friday event starting at midnight your store manager at the Sports Authority located in Fairfax VA (12300 Price Club Plaza) misrepresented your advertisement by excluding people over the age of eighteen who were standing in line to receive a scratch-off card. A friend from Long Island, NY attended the event with me as we were hoping to be able to receive money to use in purchases of North Face jackets for Christmas presents. My friend was denied a card because she was in a group. This was done after your manager had gone past the line earlier stating he was only giving out one card to each family, excuse me, which is not what was printed in the ad. A few minutes later, he went past the line stating he was only giving one card per group of people. Excuse me again; the ad did not state this. What about people who were traveling together to the Black Friday sales, and who had been standing in line for an hour while people at the back of the line, who had only been there a few minutes and where past the eighty designated cards received cards. He also gave cards to all the members of groups of four people traveling together; I spoke with them in the store, which makes what he stated earlier inconsistent and more illegal. I approached the manager after entering the store, where I was joined by several other people who where also upset because they were not given cards after standing for an hour or more. The manager looked at me and said, “It is too early in the morning to be upset, ” and walked away. Consequently, the store lost two sales instead of getting two sales, future business and bad word of mouth advertising for the Fairfax store and the entire Sports Authority Corporation.

    0 Votes

Resolved Sports AuthorityFailed to honor offier

Sports Authority advertsied on sportsauthority.com that any item that was in stock and purchased before Monday evening, December 21, 2009 would be guaranteed to shipped and received before December 24, 2009.

I placed an order for an item that was in stock, as stated by their web site, on Sunday, December 20, 2009 and with a web acknowledgement that the item was purchased prior to the cutoff date.

On Wednesday, December 23, 2009 3:18 PM, SA sends an email stating that they canceled the order. No reason why, just canceled.

Called into SA customer support line and was informed that SA canceled the order due to a "Setup Error" in the warehouse. I asked about the guarantee. The representative stated that there was no guarantee if the order was canceled.

So I asked, well what is a guanatee if you have the option to arbitrarily cancel the order? I was given a standard answer that that was the term of the guarantee.

A guarantee means that if someing is not performed then the party that does not perform is held accountable and compensates that party that did not receive the service or goods promised. Not so according to SA. They could cancel the guarantee any time they want by canceling your order, for no specific reason. Not a guarantee in my book.

My only recourse is to choose to not to patronize SA and to imform and ask others to do the same.

Very poor customer support and customer service. Really, they should be ashamed at such deplorable business ethics.

  • Sa
    sailcat Nov 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm sure the rest of the world is waiting breathlessly for your go ahead and to where we can shop.

    -1 Votes

Resolved Sports AuthorityRefuse to refund damaged product

Purchased golf club (driver) during July 2009 clearance sale. Upon very first use, the driver fractured. Returned club to store and was told that Sports Authority would not refund or offer store credit for damaged item, that this was between me and the manufacturer.

  • Vm
    VM1069 Aug 07, 2009

    thats very weird. I actually just quit my job at sports authority and we always took back damaged goods, for the full refund price if u had the recipt and for store credit if u didnt. but it had to have been returned within 90 days of the purchase. we also offer coverage plans for the golf clubs that would have sloved this problem with u. the coverage plans ARE through a diff company called NEW, they ARE leggit and work with mannnny retialers. but im not supprised that they didn't offer you the coverage plan based on their COMPLETE unprofessional attitude and twist on store polices. I would file a complaint with corp, and yes i would aslo call the manufacurer at this point. but DEFF file a complaint..they do take them seriously!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sailcat Nov 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    So you buy a club, break it and want a refund. Reminds me of the two idiot customers who both lost one of their flippers and decided that they would just go ahead and return them. Guess what? It didn't work and both thought that was just the dumbest return policy they ever heard!

    0 Votes

Resolved Sports Authoritydefective merchandise and bad customer service

I bought a pair of running shorts on 5/9/09 while visiting family. When I got home 60 miles away and tried them on I found the magnetized plastic theft preventor still attached to the shorts and was unable to get it off, rendering the shorts unwearable. There is no Sports Authority where I live.

I called the store to complain. The manager was properly apologetic, but his only suggestion of help was that I take it to a nearby Big Five, which also has the same devices and ask if they would remove it. To me, that speaks volumes about the lack of interest in maintaining a positive corporate image and customer relations. I am not going to do that. I am going to hold on to the shorts until I'm over that way again, and then return them, and never shop at Sports Authority again.

If this is typical of this chain's attitude toward customers I can only think of two words: Circuit City (which, probably karmically, was located next door to this Sports Authority). Good riddance to poor corporations.

  • Vm
    VM1069 Aug 07, 2009

    Wow, I am very sorry this happend to you. I JUST quit my job at sports authority about two weeks ago. I worked in customer service and rang people out, I occasionally DID miss some security tags, and some of them are disarmed for one reason or another and dont go off upon exit. It is very easy to miss security tags when dealing with a high volume of customers and clothing and trying to provide a quick checkout. I remeber MANY times a day, I would slowly and thourhouly go through a customers clothing to ensure i didn't miss any tags and the customer would actually get boystrous and yell at me to hurry up, and i try to explain to them why i am not rushing through the process and they would simpli say "just hurry up i dont have all day"..like i am not a person with feelings. when your shopping people often forget how tedious and most of the time an annoyance a retail job is. That really is an inconvieneice that you dont have a SA around where u live, but MANYY if not all retail stores have the same devices to take off security tags. everyone does make mistake, and it is unfortunate you were a victim of one. esspecially in retail. the manager really couldnt have done anything but appologixe. you would be suprised how offten it does happen when you are comletely frazzled with managers breathing down your neck, customers complaining to you(when they should be speaking to a manager but refuse to), and high traffic and loads of merchandise

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lithe Apr 03, 2010

    I'm a bit confused... An accident occurred, you called the store and got a prompt response from management and a viable solution. What did you want to happen? Someone come out to you with a sensor remover? It doesn't work like that. The sensor removers can't even be removed themselves from the registers. I would know this because I am a cashier who is employed there! If you do not live by a TSA, that is unfortunate, but not a reason to be critical of the response you received to go to another store who most likely carriers the same sensor removers. I mean, there really is no other solution for you other than going back to the store. I really don't understand what you would have rather occurred in this situation.

    As a cashier, I miss sensors all the time and obviously, not on purpose. Sometimes, items aren't properly deactivated by the sensor pad, other times, associates have double tagged items and after removing a sensor, another remains despite my aggressive rubbing of the item over the sensor pad failing to set off the alarm. There is a high volume of tagged items going through each register at checkout and due to the pressure to keep sale speeds up and lines down, as well as attempts at maintaining any kind of semblance of good customer service, tags are inevitably missed.

    I don't know what more you could have wanted other than "here is the easiest, most convenient solution" and "have a nice day." I can't think of a reason you wouldn't want to have the tag removed unless you did in fact steal the item. Perhaps the next time something beeps when you an exit a store, you should turn around and see if maybe it's you.

    0 Votes

Resolved Sports Authorityfailure to honor offer

On 12/13, I went to check out a 60 dollar purchase with a coupon Sports Authority had mailed to me for $10 off a purchase of $50 or more. The coupon listed several exclusions, but not for anything I was buying. When I got to the register, there was a sign saying that as of 12/12, coupons could no longer be used for purchases of Under Armor, so since the UA sweatshirt was $45, my coupon did not work. The cashier was nice but firm, as was the manager I spoke to. I pointed out that the coupon listed several exclusions but did NOT list Under Armor, but they refused to honor their offer - 'company policy.'

I told them I had been looking forward to making this purchase, and had received great customer service in the store today, but when they refused to honor their offer, I left the items at the register and left the store.

I have four kids who are or will be playing sports, and Sports Authority is convenient to our house. But I will be making sure to go out of my way to patronize Dick's Sporting Goods and Model's, in hopes of finding a reputable, trustworthy company.

  • Bw
    bwjohnston Jan 14, 2009

    I'm confused about this one, so the item was only $45, and you expected them to honor a coupon for $10 off $50? That is the most ridiculous complaint i have ever heard. Were you expecting the tax to count?

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MinaHarker Apr 17, 2009

    She states that she was purchasing several items, INCLUDING a UA sirt that was priced at $45 so the total before tax would have been more than $50. What she had an issue with was a sign that was posted that indicated that UA products had been added to the exlusion list just the day before she went in. She apparently felt that because UA wasn't listed on the coupon as an exclusion, she should have been able to use it on her purchase.

    As far as I know, certain UA products have been excluded from coupon eligibility since at least 2006. That is a vendor directive from UA and Sports Authority has to follow that.

    0 Votes
  • In
    invalidcomplaint May 05, 2009

    You've obviously never worked in retail before...
    It's not Sports Authority's fault that item is excluded, it is the fault of the manufacturer.
    They don't allow Sports Authority to discount certain items.

    Stop ### about 10$ there's plenty of other things you could have bought to avoid that.

    0 Votes
  • Oh
    OhWow Jun 08, 2009

    If you read the coupon it says ask associates for details. like the person above said it is the manufactures fault and if u look around sports authority stores u'll see UA is hardly ever on sale that can also be annoying. the cashiers do not have the power to change anything but when ur in a situation like that u can always make the purchase and contact the store or district manager and they will definitely take care of you

    0 Votes
  • Vm
    VM1069 Aug 07, 2009

    I agree with the two people above me...i just quit sports authority about a week ago and it's true, it is NOTTT sports authoiritys fault..it si THE MANUFACTURAR's fault. if Under Armour tells us that we are not to honor cupons on their products..well then sports authotity CAN NOT EVEN PUT IT THOUGH AT CHECK OUT. THE COMPUTERS ARE INCAPABLE OF ACCEPTING THAT CUPON IF UNDER ARMOR APPEARS ON THE SCREEN. i can not even tell you how many customers compained about it..and i thought to myself...you have not worked in retail before or didnt even look at your cupoun, it spacificly says ask associate for details..and did you? no. its not sports authoritys fault...you just made a fool out of yourself LEAVING THE STUFF AT THE REGISTER. you didnt even have the decency to put it back on the rack. nice.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sailcat Nov 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    90 percent of customer "complaints" would go away if the customer just took the time to actually read the coupon, or sign. They are never wrong, everything is misleading, and would never to think about apologizing for behavior that if it happened to me on the street would get them flattened.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lithe Feb 19, 2011

    I have to inform you, UA has always been on the list. TSA just honored those coupons until the corporate office said ENOUGH and they no longer are allowed to honor them on Under Armor because that company refuses to reimburse the company for the price reduction of the coupon. Sorry, but your beef is with UA not Sports Authority.

    0 Votes

Sports AuthorityTennis Rackquet and Shoes

1. I bought an expensive rackquet of "Wilson" company and I played with it for less than a month and all of a sudden frame got broke. I took the racquet to them and they refused to do anything with it except giving me a 1-800 number for "Wilson" which was a number of an employee who never called me back.
2. Same thing with "Wilson" shoes, after couple of weeks they were ripped off on the top. They again refused to do anything with it and rather made me angry by saying "There is no way that these shoes were bought couple of weeks back, look very old".

Terrible customer service and they don't stand behind their product. Once you are out of the shop then it is not their headacke any more.

  • Ma
    martha Nov 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You probably had those shoes for over a year and are too cheap to buy new ones. Shoes are only suppose to last you 3 months if you are using them consistantly! It sounds to me as if you expected a life time warranty on these products.. you paid for merchandise which you received. As for the raquet you have 90 days to return no matter what you idiot... so that tells you weren't honest when saying it had only been a month.

    0 Votes
  • In
    invalidcomplaint May 05, 2009

    If you didn't have a receipt, it's not their problem. Be responsible next time and keep your receipt. It's the smart thing to do.

    Also, some manufacturers ask that retailers refer returns of merchandise to them directly because they want to be aware of the problems that are happening with their merchandise so they may fix them in the future. Do not blame the store for following the requests of the manufacturer so they may improve their product for you.

    Get it?
    Good.
    Stop whining.

    0 Votes
  • Oh
    OhWow Jun 08, 2009

    read the return policy before u buy things! u cant return things like tennis rackets once u use them because they cant sell used merchandise. Instead of posting something online u could've contacted Wilson another way and complained to them because for the first year u own their product they're supposed to cover frame damage the only thing they wont cover is broken string.
    As for the shoes, their return policy is 30 days unworn for the same reason as before. People wear their shoes down faster than others if ur rough on ur shoes u might wanna pick up one of their replacement footwear plans; they're designed for people who trash things in a hurry and want their money back.

    0 Votes
  • Au
    august09 Feb 01, 2010

    For the record, the both products have only a 30 day return policy which you most likely exceeded. In addition, I know for a FACT (as an employee of the store) that you were offered a replacement plan on the shoes. Once the 30 days expires, or the shoes have been worn (and are consequently unsellable), you cannot return the shoes. You would then need to set your replacement plan into motion. I feel bad for you in that you are partly right. The employees cannot and often do not stand behind their products. Mostly, this is because of poor management and poor training where employees are not given the opportunity to truly learn about the products they are selling. However, if you were giving both products enough use to shred them and ruin them in what you claim was a month, I would think you would know enough to choose a reliable product. I almost have to wonder how you approached the situation in-store. If you were a jerk, chances are, you didn't get much accommodation from anyone helping you... and every customer should consider that last comment.

    0 Votes
  • Matt7 Mar 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Terrible customer service! Dont use racket before return!

    0 Votes

Resolved Sports AuthorityTerrible and frustrating online service

On December 12, I ordered a Detroit Tiger sweatshirt for my son for Christmas, supposedly to be shipped in "4-5 days". I called on the 21st around 9:00 pm, as it had not yet been shipped, sat on hold for over 30 minutes, only to have somebody finally answer then, after hearing my complaint, hang up in my ear.

I called back a second time, waited another 30 minutes or so, then was hung up on again! Finally, around 11:00 pm, a third time and after almost two hours, I spoke to a nicer lady who said she would push the shipping through. We just received the item today (December 27), and it was the wrong item!!!!! Most of their stuff can be purchased with other stores (Dicks, Dunhams, etc.) with much better customer service. I cannot say enough bad things about them. Do not order from these people! They are terrible and frustrating!

  • In
    invalidcomplaint May 05, 2009

    FYI: Sports Authority's website is franchised. The company doesn't run the site. It does not reflect how Sports Authority operates very well.

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Eric May 14, 2009

    I bought a pair of running shorts on 5/9/09 while visiting family. When I got home 60 miles away and tried them on I found the magnetized plastic theft preventor still attached to the shorts and was unable to get it off, rendering the shorts unwearable. There is no Sports Authority where I live.

    I called the store to complain. The manager was properly apologetic, but his only suggestion of help was that I take it to a nearby Big Five, which also has the same devices and ask if they would remove it. To me, that speaks volumes about the lack of interest in maintaining a positive corporate image and customer relations. I am not going to do that. I am going to hold on to the shorts until I'm over that way again, and then return them, and never shop at Sports Authority again.

    If this is typical of this chain's attitude toward customers I can only think of two words: Circuit City (which, probably karmically, was located next door to this Sports Authority). Good riddance to poor corporations.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sailcat Nov 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    So your "two words" were actually 18. So someone at Sports Authority made an honest mistake! It's comforting to know that you yourself are perfect and have never made a mistake yourself. You just finished saying that there was NO Sports Authority nearby. Then you complain because the manager, who was apologetic, tried to offer a solution that wouldn't require you to drive back. You being self righteous and perfect will have none of that and will hold on to them and return them never to shop there again. And while you're at it you'll probably [censor] at the cashier who had nothing to do with any of this because it will make you feel superior. Just what did you want them to do??? Drive over, remove the device, take you to dinner and then perhaps wash your car after sufficiently kissing your [censor]? Did you ever stop to think that people like yourself really aren't wanted ANYWHERE?

    0 Votes