Simplicity Gourmet Complaints & Reviews

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Simplicity Gourmet — Fraud

We where invited to "a dinner prepared by a chef", thinking it would be a legit dinner. We dressed up and...

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Simplicity GourmetFailure to respond to calls unethical sellings practices

Simplicity Gourmet is a company that mines data from businesses such as David's Bridal and offers a "free" vacation to prospective brides if they will come to a presentation that features overpriced cookware. The focus seems to be that other cookware is bad for your health and their product is "healthy". The same type of cookware is sold at home shows where a very able salesperson gives demonstrations and stresses the health aspects. It is generally referred to as "waterless cookware".
My daughter, who lives independently, but has a low IQ, learning disabilities and psychological problems somehow got targeted by this company and went to a presentation. She signed a contract for 2000.00 worth of this cookware. She does not have a job and has no ability to pay for this cookware, it is also apparent from speaking to her that she has disabilities. There have been several other instances where she has attempted to buy large ticket items and was refused because of her job status as she should have been.
I discovered several boxes in her apartment, unopened and asked what was in them. She started crying and produced a dunning letter from Equitable Acceptance Corporation. I tried to contact both Simplicity Gourmet and the Finance COmpany, left messages and they would not return my phone calls. After several weeks I got ahold of someone at the Finance Company which is actually a branch of Simplicity Gourmet, explained the situation, offered to return the unopened boxes, pay any accumulated finance charges, restocking fee, etc. They had no interest in working with me and indicated that they would simply take her to court. I realize that legally this is their right but given the circumstances my impression is that this is a company that with obvious skill will take advantage of the handicapped despite a good faith attempt to make things right. Keep this in mind if you chose to do business with them. You will find many other complaints about their business practices online and if you find yourself at one of their presentations please think twice about spending 2000.00 plus for cookware. My daughter is easily swayed but her IQ is 72, if you have normal intelligence use it.

Comment Guidelines

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    Respond

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    Simplicity GourmetMisrepresentation

    We were called and told that we had won "a dinner prepared by a chef in our own home" during our town's pumpkin festival. The woman who called me was very nice explaining "our chef and team will come in, cook you dinner, clean up, and offer you discounts on our cookware if you are interested".

    To make a long story short our "chef" was an out of work auto executive and the team was him. It was a sales pitch for their cookware and the meal...was heated frozen vegetables and chicken.

    We are certain that the contest we "won" was actually just a company who asked passers by if they wanted to enter a contest and then contacted every person who "entered" stating that they had won. They then misrepresented their prize by selling it as a Chef Prepared dinner when it was a sales pitch for an all or nothing cookware package starting at $4K.

    Hopefully this post will save you from having to endure a 2 hour sales pitch for cookware you cannot purchase without a bank loan.

    Comment Guidelines

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Submit
      1 Response
      • De
        Dedicated Customer Service Jan 16, 2013

        In your own comments you say they told you they would "offer you discounts if interested." With that being said, how was that a misrepresentation? You don't get discounts on a product that is not for sale. I work in the customer service department and know also that the least expensive package is not 4, 000. I have seen orders for 100. What you claim above is filled with contradictions and holes. I wonder if you work for a competitor?

        -1 Votes

      The complaint has been investigated and
      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
      Resolved
      Simplicity GourmetNo show

      Just to let you know this company is garbage. I booked a dinner for 6 and the so called (chef) never showed up. I called the company to let them know that Kyle never showed up, the customer service agent assured me a manager would call be back. And what do you know I have never received that call! I guess the company is as good as the people they hire! My dinner was booked 12-5-09 @ 8pm!

      Comment Guidelines

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        Submit
        1 Response

        The complaint has been investigated and
        resolved to the customer's satisfaction
        Resolved
        Simplicity Gourmetoverpriced/mislead on free honeymoon

        this loan should be considered fraudulent, the salesperson told us on demonstratation night the free honeymoon would not cost us anything, well we found that wasn't true and no exceptions were made once we explained, what we were told, asked for my $50.00 dollar deposit back well that didn't happen either.My fiance and I had the so called china and crystal looked and it is not authentic as we expected and were told so, the interest rates are ridiculious.These thieves should be out of business completely, and penalized.

        Comment Guidelines

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          Submit
          9 Responses
          • Gu
            guysparo Nov 15, 2012

            same thing here last night in baton rouge, gave them $1, 000 check and came home to cancel it after thinking about it on the drive home, they almost had me convinced.

            -1 Votes
          • Si
            Simplcity Travel Inc May 10, 2011

            Please note that this company has nothing to do with Simplicity Travel Inc. in Brewster, NY. We are an extremely reputable on line travel company with an A+ rating by the Better Business Bureau, specializing in all inclusive honeymoons in Mexico and the Caribbean. We do not give away honeymoons at the "pots and pans" presentation, and have no relationship to any of this. Those who are interested in wonderful honeymoons at discounted prices should contact us - those who have been promised free honeymoons - please read the fine print.

            0 Votes
          • Ci
            CIA+MI6 Mar 16, 2011

            HAHA U GOT SCAMMED

            0 Votes
          • Ci
            CIA+MI6 Mar 16, 2011

            assssssss

            0 Votes
          • Di
            dismayed2 Nov 25, 2010

            We were called and told that we had won "a dinner prepared by a chef in our own home" during our town's pumpkin festival. The woman who called me was very nice explaining "our chef and team will come in, cook you dinner, clean up, and offer you discounts on our cookware if you are interested".

            To make a long story short our "chef" was an out of work auto executive and the team was him. It was a sales pitch for their cookware and the meal...was heated frozen vegetables and chicken.

            We are certain that the contest we "won" was actually just a company who asked passers by if they wanted to enter a contest and then contacted every person who "entered" stating that they had won. They then misrepresented their prize by selling it as a Chef Prepared dinner when it was a sales pitch for an all or nothing cookware package starting at $4K.

            Hopefully this post will save you from having to endure a 2 hour sales pitch for cookware you cannot purchase without a bank loan.

            0 Votes
          • Ch
            Charles Apr 28, 2010
            This comment was posted by
            a verified customer
            Verified customer

            I was invited to a bridal preview last weekend and found myself listening to a sales pitch about $3000 to $6000 pots and pans. They trashed store bought cookware and talked about Teflon and how it will poison my family. The salesman talked down to us when we asked questions about his false and insulting claims.The demonstration went on for 2 1/2 hours. When we tried to leave without buying their over priced pots, the salesman was rude and insulting.I can not believe they are still in business. Their gift offering was awful...I highly recommend you stay away from this company.

            0 Votes
          • Vi
            vilynsia Dec 12, 2009

            We ordered the pots and pans, paid a $100 deposit and never received the pots and pans

            0 Votes
          • Sh
            SheenaD Sep 28, 2009

            If you went the the BBB, you would see that they are a A rated company. Meaning if you felt ripped off you should have read the fine print and if you still feel ripped off called the BBB. If they were fraudulent, like say Royal Presitage, it would say so on there. I have bought 5 pans for $600 and I never looked back. Best pans I've used, never have to use PAM and easy to clean unlike pans I have bought at JC Pennys or any of the other stores that charge $60 a pan and it's junk in no time. I have not used the 3 night vacation yet but it does say there is a $50 non-refundable processing fee so I will not book with the agent until I know what it going on and then I will let you know if it is legit or not plus it says it does not included taxes because you pay that to the government. I just thought some one should hear the side of a consumer who didn't have a problem.

            0 Votes
          • As
            ashleysquarepeace Jul 09, 2009

            you are righ the same thing happened to me they would not refund my $50 and i never recieved anything i ordered i called about it and they said they dont know whats going on i asked for my money back and that i felt scammed that i didnt want the product seeing how it was 30 days later and they wouldnt give me a refund they are scammers beware of them. not even a few months later they called me again to go to one of their shows. could couldnt believe they had the nerve. if they call you tell them they are a fraud. and not to call. tell them if they call you back you will sue them for harrasment you wont hear from them again.

            0 Votes

          We are here to help

          • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
          • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
          • Honest and unbiased reviews
          • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

          Simplicity GourmetHaven't received any products and now find out it is a scam. I do not want the cookware

          I have been paying on this since July 08 and still received no products. I have found out that the items are way over priced and do not want to waste the money on this scam. can i get out of the contract?

          Comment Guidelines

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            Submit
            2 Responses
            • Ja
              Jane West Feb 20, 2009

              Well I can say that Simplicity is a little slow on the draw. I have applied to the organization several times for various positions. I had gotten a good impression of them when I was planning my own wedding and happened upon a promotion guy at a wedding expo. I liked the idea of having great cookware but couldn't get a good grip on the pricing of the product. Never the less I applied a first time.

              After a co-worker began doing event promotions for them I decided, hey maybe I can do what she does. She had great things to say about the work but didn't seem to believe in the product. In fact, I don't think she owns products from the company. In other words, she seemed to only be doing it for the money! I thought well, maybe I can do it and actually like promoting it. So, after a few months of waiting for a reply to my applications I applied again. After doing this, I waited and within a week a representative emailed me. He said he liked "my persistance." Well I tried to set up a time with him to meet and talk about employment opportunities, but he has yet to reply to my email.

              I guess I will keep waiting. But, I get the impression that they just don't want to hire me. Maybe it is because I am not friends with anyone in the company or that the co-worker I do know wouldn't recommend me because she is a keep the goodies for herself kind of gal, which is smart. Whatever the case, I have no hard feeling againist the organization. I just wish they would be upfront about what they want in their employees.

              0 Votes
            • Ka
              Katie Snyder Nov 07, 2008
              This comment was posted by
              a verified customer
              Verified customer

              This consumer actually just emailed us last night, around the same time this was posted with an inquiry into her order. She did not even give us an opportunity to look into her order before posting a complaint and has not contacted us prior to this posting or the email last night. I contacted her by phone upon recieving her email first thing this morning and have not heard back from her.

              This customer was not approved for traditional financing but she did opt that in the event of this, she would like to do a credit rebuilding program that requires her to pre-establish credit by making a series of on time monthly payments that show she is willing and able to make consequtive on time payments. At which point, the rest of the balance will be financed completely and the products will be shipped. This is not our standard fianancing, as we don't acutally get paid until she fulfills the pre-establishment of credit. But we do understand that bad things happen to good people, and we want to provide an opportunity for people in her situation to re-build their credit history and still get the products taht they love.

              This customer signed a seperate contract stating she would like to do this program should the need arise and when she received her first bill, which she states she's been paying on, a letter was included with the bill stating the finance circumstances pertaining to her order. The terms of this contract are clearly outlined and the consumer enters into it fully aware of the terms.

              We are aware of claims online, but none of these claims are regarding our business or orders. Almost 100% of the claims pertain to a voucher for a two night's stay that we give away for attending our showcases. Most of these claims are pure speculation from parties who have never attended a showcase. Our vouchers are not scams and we do everything we can to make sure that all consumers receiving the incentive are booked and taken care of. We do have a BBB account with an exemplarary record; feel free to visit it: https://www.bbb.org/online/consumer/cks.aspx?ID=10705209422

              Any questions or concerns regarding orders, vacation questions, etc, can easily be reconciled by calling our customer service department during business hours (M-R, 8-6, CST & F 9-5, CST) @ [protected] or emailing us: [email protected]

              Many Blessings,
              Katie Snyder
              Client Services Director
              Simplicity Gourmet, Intl.

              0 Votes

            Simplicity Gourmet$300 or more per panX!!Q

            My daughter is all stressed out and we're considering legal action against Simplicity Gourmet, a cookware company promising a free trip. She's trapped in a contract for FIVE PANS for $1800!!!
            She was told she'd be able to return them, but when they arrived and she called immediately to cancel, realizing it was JUST FIVE PANS for $1800, they told her she had to cancel within three days of the contract. OF COURSE, the pans arrived weeks after the contract was signed. She is so stressed, we fear it will affect her physical health. YEARS of payments for FIVE PANS! I've never seen such a RIP OFF as Simplicity Gourmet.
            Also, the trip options don't include air fare even.

            Comment Guidelines

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              Submit
              Respond

              IN THE NEWS

              Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
              If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
              One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
              A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
              ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
              You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
              Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.