OHIP Complaints & Reviews

OHIPApplying for health card

I am a newcomer to Canada. All the government agencies were very nice, polite and helpful, except the staffs of OHIP. I went there 3 times and each time I had to pay so much for bus tickets for me and for my family. They are like robots. The first time they said you should show a proof of residency and only from this list. Even if I took hundreds of letters and bills and so on which shows my name and address, they are not acceptable. I said ok the only thing I can provide is a bank statement. I went to the bank and ask them to send me a bank statement by post. I took the letters unopened and opened them in front of the staff. She said it is not acceptable. The statement should be sent you from the central bank and not from the branch. I asked the bank to send me monthly statement, because I supposed to receive e-statements only. For the third time I went there we 2 letters and opened them there. This time she said your wife's is ok but your statement is for credit card account and we only accept saving or checking account statements!!!
Isn't it ridiculous??????????? I said ok you do it for my wife. She asked her “are you going to travel?” She honestly answered yes. She asked for how long? She answered for about one month. She said “if it is more we don’t accept it. Are you sure it wont be more?” I said I am not sure and she rejected to receive her application!!! I asked ok if we come after our travel and apply again, should we wait for another 3 months? and she answered yes!!!
This is more ridiculous!!! I thought only the newcomers should wait for 3 months to have health insurance, but I found out now that we are always newcomers!!!
What the hell are these regulations for???????????????????? Why do they behave new immigrants like this? They are the worst staffs I have seen in Canada. They behave people like the criminals and they are like robocops.
I went to 1151 Dundas St W, Unit 14 Mississauga on Friday 2 Sept 2011 at 3 pm and my number was 301.

  • Ti
    ticketmonster Sep 24, 2011

    How dare they make free healthcare hard to get! Shame on them for expecting you to earn it, and not just land here and drain other peoples tax dollars for something you have no right to anyways, and only came to the country to take advantage of! The nerve!

    -2 Votes

OHIPDenied medical treatment

My 2 and a half year old daughter was sick with a fever, stuffy and runny nose, and complaining of ear pain. My wife brought her to the walk in clinic WITH her health card in hand. When my wife was registering our daughter it was disc0vered that our daughters health card was expired. This was news to us as we never received any prior notification. The clinic then told my wife that our daughter was no longer covered by OHIP. My wife argued that our daughter was born in Canada and therefor she is automatically covered, even if her health card was expired, that only the card had expired an not our daughters OHIP coverage. The clinic again said that our daughter was NOT covered. My wife had our daughters expired card and birth certificate with her but they would NOT accept them. The clinic then told my wife that she had to pay them $40 and only then would our daughter be seen by a doctor. My wife did not have any cash on her and the clinic said that they did not accept debit. Our daughter was REFUSED medical treatment and was asked to leave WITHOUT seeing a doctor. My wife had to leave the clinic with our daughter and go to a bank machine and return to the clinic with $40 in hand in order for our daughter to be able to be seen by a doctor. I cannot express in words how angry I am about this!!!

  • Bu
    Bubbahotep Sep 03, 2011

    @Maggie

    They made NO exception. They sent my daughter away without treatment until we returned with $40 in cash. I asked about this at service Canada today and they told me that as a Canadian citizen it is our daughters fundamental right to NEVER be denied medical treatment, ever. When they took the $40 they did NOT ask to see any idea and were reluctant to give a recite.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Bubbahotep Sep 03, 2011

    @DSgamby

    I am told that it takes 8 to 10 weeks to receive a new card. According to the health clinic my daughter has ZERO OHIP coverage until the new card comes in. It makes me wonder how many other people have paid this bogus $40 fee without complaining and how long has this clinic been doing this.
    Service Canada informed me that if a patient has an expired card or no card on them at the time, all they have to do is show some sort of I.D. and they are then checked in the system. All you have to do is prove you are Canadian. If it turns out that you are not covered for the treatment a bill would then be sent out to you.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Bubbahotep Sep 03, 2011

    @ DSgamby

    The point here isn't about the expired card. It is about a 2 1/2 year old being REFUSED medical treatment UNLESS a $40 cash fee was paid first. They would NOT accept debit, credit card, or any other kind of payment that would leave a paper trail. This is a direct violation under Canada's charter of rights.

    0 Votes

OHIP — HEALTH CARD RENEWAL DENIED

I went to the OHIP office to renew my 13 month old daughters health card. First of all the only person that...

OHIPBetter surgeries not covered

My husband needs to have a cornea transplant. He is 34 years old and has not seen his kids or me well in over a year. He is off work, going through depression and every other thing you can think off being at home this young with no vision or freedom. We have been advised that because of his age he would be better off getting the laser surgery due to his age and how many working years he has left. The old way that OHIP pays for you walk around with 18 stitches in your eye and have a better chance of rejection and falling off and being a hazard for the rest of his life. As it is he will never be able to swim again or go out side without special glasses for Photosensitivity and particals floating in the air. We want to have the laser done but OHIP will not pay for it. We tried out work insurance and they said they would rather keep paying him for being off then fork out the $7000 it is for the surgery. They won't even pay a portion because OHIP has the old procedure that is paid for. WHY can we not get the better surgeries done in Canada without paying for them. They are prooven to be better healing time like 6 months compaired to the 2 yrs or liftime with the OHIP way. Is this how are future for our kids will be? You only get the good surgeries if you can afford it? We both work in the auto industry and I have been laid off and on work for 8 months now and he is off work at home because he can't see or drive and has been for a year now. How are we to keep our heads above water when our own goverment could care less about better surgeries and stuff for people. THIS IS OUR KIDS FUTURES they deserve a BREAK!!!

  • Th
    theshowmecanuck Dec 09, 2008

    This will never change until we change the health care system and stop the socialists from holding us hostage and forcing us to accept mediocrity in the name of universality. We need, like Western Europe and many other first world countries, to allow a mixture of public and PRIVATE health care insurance. Do you know in Canada, the cost for health care for 2008 is expected to be well in excess of $5, 200.00 for each person in Canada? That is for every man, woman, boy, girl, baby, grandparent... everyone in the country. A per capita health care expenditure of more than $5, 200.00.

    I just moved back from the United States where I had much better insurance coverage than I am getting here. I have just pinched a nerve in my back in Ontario and because I can't find a family physician, I can't get help with the extreme pain because the emergency room and clinic doctors all say, "I don't know your history so I can't prescribe any pain killers." I am a six figure income earner... I am not a junky. I am in extreme pain, and can't get any help. It is the most disgraceful thing I have ever seen. A health care system that not only lets people fall through the cracks, it contributes to a person being placed in pain so bad he can't sleep at night, and not allowing doctors to turn their back on him.

    In the United States, my private insurance cost a little under US$5, 200.00 per year. Yes there is exchange rate. But when you consider that my insurance there also covered dental, physiotherapy, chiropractor, eye exams, $150 towards eyeglasses, things that OHIP (Ontario Health Insurance Plan) does not cover, they more than makes up for the exchange rate. What is more important, in the United States I found a GOOD family doctor in a couple of weeks. One with hospital privileges. Something that is impossible to find in Kitchener-Waterloo.

    OHIP... it should mean Ontario Health Impotence Plan. Ontario, forcing third world medicine on everyone, with no way to opt out.

    -1 Votes
  • Th
    theshowmecanuck Dec 09, 2008

    Pardon me... let me make a slight correction:

    A health care system that not only lets people fall through the cracks, it contributes to a person being placed in pain so bad he can't sleep at night, and not allowing doctors to turn their back on him.

    s/not allowing/allowing/

    A health care system that not only lets people fall through the cracks, it contributes to a person being placed in pain so bad he can't sleep at night, and allowing doctors to turn their back on him.

    -1 Votes
  • Fr
    Fred Jun 09, 2009

    I lived in the US and still have children there. A reasonable health insurance plan in New England will cost $900 per month...however they can and do drop people who require benefits such as treatment for on going issues after a knee replacement, any and every chronic illness has a life time benefit and then try to get another insurer. You have to use docs off a list...if you travel don't get sick as you have to seek permission for the simplist of treatments from "plan headquarters". Don't be fooled by most of this propoganda...private health care just takes docs out of the line...not patients as these guys in it for greed only have been educated on your tax dollar and want to work half the time or less for double or more pay. Like we couldn't all live on $450, 000 for a year...in the US some of the docs have salaries in the millions...$15 for a Kotex pad after delivery of a baby...$20 for a single tylenal tablet...think about it Canada...our infant mortality rate is lower than the US our life span longer, we spend on average not five by $7000 per Canadian per year, but the US spends $15, 000 and only the rich get served! I know the health system on both sides of the border and for competance there is no question we have that hands down. Line ups are only short for the rich...most wait for ever in the US and never get equal care. Thank you Canada...

    1 Votes
  • Vi
    Vivian Barker Jun 21, 2012

    Is it true that in 2013 Canadians over the age of 75 will be denied many kinds of health care like surgery?

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vivian Barker Jun 21, 2012

    In 2013 will Ontario residents over the age of 75 be denied some surgeries and treatments like dialysis?

    0 Votes
  • i have to wait 8 months just to see a specialist for painful shoulder arthritis the meantime i take
    painkillers to prevent myself from thinking about suicide to cope with the pain which is sometimes unrelenting at nighttime painkillers raise my blood pressure so my doctor wants to put me on high blood pressure medication if i lived in the USA access to a specialist is immediate and treatment begins immediately treatment here in begins 12 to 14 months after you see the specialist for all the money we people of Ontario pay in taxes to support the health care system the only reasonable explanation is a combination of corruption and waste

    0 Votes
  • Ds
    DSgamby Oct 31, 2012

    Not everything is covered and if the surgery is elective like laser surgery, the patient has to pay. Going to the dentist is not paid for. Luckily for me, my work, pays pretty much everything. If I go to an optometrist. A portion of the eye test and glasses are paid for but not
    all of it. The same goes from drug prescriptions.

    There is also Private Health care here as well. They cover everyday medical expenses.
    The main one is Coverme Flex Care from Manulife Financial. coverme.com
    I never used it though.

    0 Votes
  • Ds
    DSgamby Oct 31, 2012

    Not everything is covered like elective surgery. Going to the dentist or optometrist is not covered. Luckily for me, my work pays for pretty much everything at the dentist. For the optometrist. They pay up to a certain amount and then I have to pay the rest.

    There is also a Private Heath Care Insurance provided by Insurance companies. The main one is Flexcare Cover Me by Manulife Insurance. coverme.com
    I don't use them.

    0 Votes
  • De
    denis mulcahey May 28, 2019

    my card was refused -why?denis mulcahey-9550 451 539-denis p mulcahey-32329344

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem