Indymac Bank Complaints & Reviews

Indymac Bank — modification of loan

My husband and I, like many homeowners with liens held by Indymac bank are in danger of losing our homes or...

Indymac BankMortgage deception

My mortgage broker represented himself as a broker, but was not a broker. He was a paid solicitor for First Lincoln Bank who was supposed to be the lender. First Lincoln Bank became the broker and Indymac Bank became the lender.
First Lincoln Mortgae received a fee from Indymac Bank and also a fee from me.
There may have been more than one truth in lending statement at the closing.
The office that was supposed to be a First Lincoln office was an unlicensed branch office, which is illegal in NY State.
The monthly payment cahanged after the first statement.
Indymac collected my escrow but failed to pay my real estate taxes for over 2 years.
If anyone has had a similar experience with Indymac Bank please let my know at [protected]@aol.com

Indymac BankCUSTOMER SERVICE

I am a state employee, in Janurary of this year I lost part of my income which resulted in falling behind on my mortage. This bank did everything the could to NOT COOPERATE with this customer. I have a list long of excuse after excuse of why they could not help. This was after doing a 3 mo plan to collect money from me to denie me a modification. Now I have HAD IT with these lenders. I am now sueing this company in Federal Court. Guess What? Now the modification, the Short Sale and all of the times they put me threw undue stress and
a nervous breakdown, Oh now they are cooperating. Go figure. These banks are not about helping people they are about giving you a home they new you could not afford and counting on you falling behind and taking it back to profit off the people. All after you paid for years of interest only payments or what ever s----- loan they baited you with.

  • Ju
    justathought Oct 29, 2009

    why couldn't you realize you couldn't afford it in the first place? i mean i realize losing a job cuts income, but what ever happened to a bit of forethought and "what if" thinking? i know it's not fair all these big businesses getting a handout while the little guy gets squashed, but it makes sense to buy a lot cheaper of a house than you can afford even if it's not in a spiffy neighborhood. and whoever thought they were getting a deal back in 2002 or 2004 in any of the states that are really having foreclosure problems by spending 400, 000+ on a 1500sqft house is beyond crazy. i don't give a rip if it's in cali or arizona or nevada...if people don't pay it, then prices will come down. refuse to pay outlandish prices and the market will respond.

    0 Votes

Indymac BankThey took my home!

This is what Indymac Bank has done for us!!

After selling the farm equipment (bobcat tractor, horse trailer, ranch tractor, etc) just to make house

payment because I had became disabled and could not work anymore Indymac mortgage service)One

West Bank). devised a Forbearence Plan after putting the house into foreclosure . The agreement wasTo

pay $2, 476 on 3/31/09 then cosecutive payments of $1, 611.11 on 4/30, 5/31, 6/30, 7/31/09 The next payment

was to be a balloon payment of $11, 545.98 0n 8/31/09. We could not afford to make the balloon payment for

8/31/09. So as to the forbearence plan we contacted Indymac to discuss our loan.They sent us paper work

after calling them over and over again. They told us that they would not except any payments from us.

finnally on 9/17/09 we were able to get all the information they wanted and faxed 32 pages to them. We

recieved a letter the next day dated 9/16/09 stating that are adjustable rate mortgage was scheduled for

an interest rate and payment change.
A new interest rate 4.50000% was effective 10/01/09 and a result our new payments would be $1, 019.93

and after escrow and insurance it came to$1, 282.21 due as of our November 01, 2009 billing statement'

The next letter recieved was datasd 9/25/09 telling us that we had to wait 30-60 days as they reviewed the

documents that we had sent on 9/17/09 to make their decision about a loan modification?
All this happened including a call to Indymac to confirm the letter of 9/16/09 on monday the 17th of

september, with the conformation number they provided in that letter. All seemed well, but confusing.

The evening of 10/7/09 A person saying that he was the husband of a realtor (Century 21, Kim Dursh,

Escondido, Ca.) Told us that the house was sold? We were devistated, We showed him the paper work

he said he could do nothing, Gave us his wifes bussiness card. We called her she said what a horrible

mistake must of took place. The next day She started calling us trying to get us to sign some paper saying

we would remove everything off of our property in 2 weeks and that included our renters and she would

hand us a cashers check for $5, 000, or in 3 weeks $3, 000.
Our renters have become part of our family. How do you throw family out on to the streets? This

Century 21 Realtor (Kim Drush) Told us that she was acting as the legal part of Indymac Bank!
She also told us that the money she was offering came from the new owners that had bought the

property. These were all lies!
From 8/2009 till now We have hired a lawyer to help us Paid $750 for nothing, went to a bankruptcy firm

said they could not help us, tried legal aid got turned down because we made to much money, Missed it

by just a few dollars! The home was sold on 10/05/2009, went back into Indymac Mortgage (One West

Bank) Service.Cherie is now broke, her credit ruined and her home of 23 years taken by Indymac. There

is a feeling of hopelessness, dispare and alone! No where left to turn to. Owning 3 horses has now

become a problem, can't afford to board them may have to put them down, they are like our own kids,

brothers, our family.

Where now asking the question does anyone know the answers that may help???

Cheryl Codding
[protected]@aol.com

  • Re
    Rebecca Dec 12, 2009

    I hope you are doing better. Please let me know how it turned out for you. Indy Mac/ One West Bank is the worst. They are evil. I've gone thru all the same things you describe in your post. They REFUSE to work with any consumers. The fact that the bank is owned by George Soros a billionaire friend of Obamas is really the height of hypocrisy. He claims to be the founder of moveon.org a highly left wing liberal organization that claims to help the suffering and downtroden. What a load of crap!! Soros once called Pres Bush a "hitler" well in my opinion Soros, IndyMac/OneWest Bank is the real Hitler in home foreclosure.

    God Bless you. I hope you found yourself in a better situation for the New Year.

    0 Votes

Indymac BankLoan Modification

Requested a Loan Modification in January of 2009. Submitted all required information. Waited until April to inquire as to our approval. Told they received no paperwork, reapply. Resubmitted paperwork by fax and registered mail. Waited 2 weeks again told 60 to 90 days for approval, but they had all our paperwork. Waited one week, no word, new rep states paperwork is not there and requests we resubmit required paperwork. In the mean time they want to foreclose on home we were behind 2 months, we sent the payment as instructed to Kalamazoo office. 10 days go by and check has not cleared the bank. I call again and they state they never received check and now we owe 3 months. I tell them we sent the check registered and have received the return receipt and they come back on the phone and state YES we have it, it just is being held and they do not know why. No, they know nothing of our modification please resubmit. Same situation happens again with a registered check now we are told the Kalamazoo office listed on their paperwork instructions is no longer there. All communication is thru Phoenix AZ office and must be remitted to that PO box. Again, no work on the modification. Woman now says they are acquiring new investors and to call back and resubmit our paperwork for the modification loan again.

Please pay mortgage on time, and then we will send your statements to you. We are now owing 1 months payment and they will not modify the mortgage. The point here, is we are up to date and need the help and do meet the requirements, however they will not help us . All we have are different conversations with many different people all saying different information. We are so upset.

  • Ag
    againstindymac Oct 15, 2009

    I'm also another victim of their lies and unwillingness to help. They have, lost, altered and delayed my documentation process so far. I'm tired of dealing with them:

    I do believe we can do something if we unity. Myself and a couple of people I met on some blogs and forums have already conveyed online about this.

    Please join us via twitter (againstindymac) or send us an email to [email protected] and we can send you an invite. Please feel free to tell you story Be careful not to send sensitive information. Any ideas are also welcomed.

    0 Votes
  • geekiefreak Oct 22, 2009

    Applying for a loan modification with Indymac for the 3rd time ... the first time, they provided a package with no information regarding to documentation they required and once submitted provided scattered communication of what was needed. Needless to say my first and second request for modification was denied do to there growing pains. Now we are coming close to a sales date and I have reapplied. Everything looks as though I qualify but they shot me down the second attempt so fast ... It will be a miracle if anyone even looks at my paperwork.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr.AA Nov 04, 2009

    Indymac Bank has been trying to modify me for around 10 months already denying 3!!! modifications so far. always say yes i qualify but then im denied for reasons that don't make any sense. I'm asking god for a new light i lost hope...

    0 Votes
  • Dt
    dtrandjhr Nov 29, 2009

    Question to Fellow IndyMac victims:
    I have 2 liens with IndyMac - to 'best qualify' us 4 years ago they did 2 loans. One BIG one at 30 yrs ARM and one smaller one 15 years ARM. Now my problem is when the count our GROSS monthly income: ratio in the 41% of our gross - they don't give a rip about the SECOND 'junior lien"... The smaller one – payment runs $400.00 (four hundred a month). Sad I know: I lost my job in March - found another in May - my mom died - husband has been ill - but he works FULL time!! We have health deductibles, co-pays etc : you all know the drill.
    We can scrap by the first loan... BUT here is the trick question: WILL THEY/CAN THEY FORECLOSE on me on the 'junior lien'? I am in Alabama.
    Please let me know if anyone has a clue about this... Please feel free to e mail me sith answers, suggestions etc. I promise not to bombard your Inbox.. 
    Deb
    [email protected]

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Indymac BankEndless phone calls

They are the most unorganized bank in the USA. No wonder the government had to take them over. We have a small equity line of credit that has payments of approximately $150. per month. For the past 2 years we have always paid $500 per month in order to get the line paid off. Payment due date is the 26th and we have until the 9th. Indymac begins calling the house on the 27th at least 10 times per day. We not longer answer the phone when they call. How in the world do they get away with this stuff? Someone really needs to police them better. Best not to do business with them if you can avoid it.

  • Ke
    Kevin Apr 15, 2009

    I am also an Indymac customer with the same problem... Constant phone calls asking me if I intend to pay my mortgage this month when it is NOT LATE. I actually think this is a ploy to try and tell Washington that they are spending a bunch of money on trying to collect on deliquent loans so they are some how imputed from such gross and deliquent error in their everyday practices.

    It's nothing more than a smoke screen!

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    GrafxG Aug 13, 2009

    I am also an Indymac customer although not by my doing, they purchased my load from another mortgage company. They are not only calling me every month asking me when I will make my payment, when it is not late, they are calling from India. As a Federal bank it is illegal to employ off shore companies as call centers. When I make that claim they say they were bought by another bank but they still use the Indymac name. Something is really wrong here.

    0 Votes

Indymac BankScam and lies

I also have issues with this bank, funny thing is I am a Mortgage Underwriter, employed by one of the largest mortgage Insurance company's in the country. I purchased a home 2 years ago. I put down 16%. Mortgage Insurance is based on your loan to value. 20% down, and there is no MI.the more you put down, the lower the mortgage insurance. My Mortgage Insurance should have been just under 80.00 per month. My first mortgage statement came, the mortgage insurance premium was 200.00 per month. I immediately called, got no where, they told me I didn't understand how MI works! I explained look at my loan application I am a MI mortgage underwriter, and understand more than you do. They said I signed closing docs agreeing to that, refused to help, refused to admit they were wrong. Even though Mortgage Insurance rates are on a chart and they were collecting way to much. the person I spoke with was ignorant. I ask for proof I initialed a page that had a 200.00 MI fee per month and eventually they sent one, it was not the one I signed. Because my company originated my loan I had the one I really signed. Confronted them again, they denied and said I didn't have my whole loan package. they have refused to help. I have tried to fight them but they drag it out and argue with you so much you could only fight the if you had 10 hours a day to do so. The stupid person answering the phone (several different ones) kept saying I didn't know how MTA arms and mortgage insurance work. I actually was cleared by Indymac to underwrite loans and sell them to them based on their guidelines. Told them I was the wrong person to accuse of not knowing how anything in the mortgage industry works. Owned a mortgage company for years, Have a special endorsement to underwrite FHA loans, and have worked for the two largest Mortgage Insurance company's there are. I have gotten solicitations from them to refi, he APR was lower twice than the note rate. This is really not possible, Unless they paid all your cost and gave you closing cost back, which is illegal. When I called to make them accountable for that, the people on the phone can't explain APR, they can only tell me their company knows how to do it and I don't. I do that all day and have for over 20 years. if this predatory lender goes out of business or takes a loss short selling its loans, it couldn't bring me more satisfaction. their incompetence and unwillingness to work out or correct their errors have hurt MANY people. to the person who posted the original complaint. Look at a loan called an FHA secure, might help you. Yes there is mortgage insurance. But the rate is going to be better than you will get for the next 4 years if you let the home go into foreclosure, you will pay if you want another home and have a foreclosure, you will probably pay excessive fees and interest because loan officers who do loans for people who have had a foreclosure for what ever reason seem much of the time to charge more for getting you a less than perfect credit loan. A FHA secure is some area's will go to a very high loan amount for a little while so consumers can get out of these loans. If I can help you I would be happy to, post a response and let me know.

  • My
    my house Mar 02, 2009

    I TRULEY UNDERSTAND I HAVE A MORGT.LOAN WITH THESE PEOPLE ALSO AND EVEYTIME YOU CALL AND ASK A ?? ITS NEVER ANSWER THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE ISNT GOOD AND THEN WHEN YOU ASK FOR SOMEONE THAT COULD EXPLAIN TO YOU THE ? YOU HAVE THE TRANSFER THREW OUT THE CALL CENTER AND CAN NEVER GET YOU IN CONTACT WITH WHO YOU NEED BUT AS WE SEE THATS THE REASON THEY CHANGED THEIR NAME BECAUSE THEY ALL ABOUT MONEY AND THEY WILL CONTIUE TO GO AND NEVER CAN AND WILL EXPLAIN REASON FOR THE INCREASE AND SEVERAL PEOPLE ARE IN HOMES THAT WAS GIVEN A HIGH INTERST RATE BECCAUSE AS I DID REACH FOUND OUT I HAVE HIGHER INTERST RATE BECAUSE INDY MACK FEDERAL IS THE SERVICING PART NOT MY INVESTOR AND MY RATE IS HIGH BECAUSE INDY IS GETTING A %ON YTHE MONTHLY LOAN PAYMENT SO WITH A 13%INTERSTED HAEING A 716 SCORE AND NOW INCOME CHANGE THEY REFUSE TO LOWER MY PAYMENTS UNLESS AM LATE SO TO DO A DEED OF L/AND GIVE THE KEYS THE CAN HAVE THE HOUSE >>

    0 Votes
  • Re
    realestatebarbie Aug 29, 2009

    They "misapplied" my down payment funds for my loan modification. They then sent me a letter saying I broke my modification...because they messed up. I called, they said they needed time to fix it. They sent me a letter with my new payments, it arrived after the first payment was due. Then they insisted on certified funds. I had sent a personal check, they returned it. Checks kept crossing in the mail.

    I work with Titanium Solutions, I have done five loan mods on my own too, and I am at 8.5 years as a Realtor, I am not ignorant in these areas.

    On August 4th 2009 I called them again. I still had the 3 certified checks they sent back. I was told to call back in a few days. I got tired of being on hold, it took me 2 weeks to call back. The last time I had contacted them, they sent me a letter, so I figured they would do it again, but called at 2 weeks.

    I was told that I now would have to give them $14, 000 to reinstate the loan, instead of the $4200 I would have made in payments during that three months and still had sitting on my desk.

    When I told the person in the customer no-service department that I had been told the $4200 would be sufficient, he told me they had a "policy change" in that 2 weeks time.

    A policy change? What the hell???? So...reluctantly I put those checks back in my bank and hired a lawyer at $25o per hour to file a chapter 13. This house is not my primary, but my mom lives in it, so I can't just walk away and I won't walk away. I have worked dang hard for years to get where I am at and I will not give up!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    realestatebarbie Aug 29, 2009

    Oh but wait, I forgot the best part. 7 days after the jerk on the other end of the line told me they would just gladly take the house back I received a call from Indymac. They were calling because it seemed I had an open modification file and I had not sent in my paystubs. Okay, well I don't have any, I am a Realtor, and secondly what?????

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RomanRealtors Mar 18, 2010

    You must consider a shortsale most people do not realise that the bank does not care about the homeowner and there are millions of boiler room scams offering loan mods popping up every day . Out of 4 million homeowners facing foreclosure only 135, 000 have been helped thru a modification, companies are no longer allowed to charge for modifications so anyone offering their services at a price is a scam . I suggest talking to a licensed real estate agent about your case.
    www.romanrealtors.com
    also many people do not qualify for the 5 requisites the bank requires .

    we do not charge for modifications or shortsales the bank pays us. We wont ask u for a dime.

    Joaquin Roman
    Owner
    Roman Realtors and Financial Services, Inc
    3005 S. Bristol
    Santa Ana, CA
    http://romanrealtors.com/
    (714)-351-2398

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jaimeann May 18, 2016

    I had a mortgage with Indy mac and tried a modification in 2008 and was dragged threw the mud and eventually foreclosed on a mortgaged that I will never do an FHA ever again. The post I read was a flash back of what I went through over 5 years of loop[ holes and appraisals and fees that were a joke. I feel that IndyMac the so called servicer who portrayed to be a bank and One West wasn't any better in there service either. I feel that they purposely wanted me to foreclose on my home and not modify my loan even $500.00 would of made a difference. They ruined the economy and the whole housing industry in our area and our country and I feel the government didn't do anything about it. There are so many vacant homes in our area.

    0 Votes

Indymac BankLost my payment $106,000.

I sent a certified check for $106, 000., certified mail, to pay on my house loan. They signed for it on 8/1/08 and this is 8/8/08 and no one has any information regarding this payment. It was signed, yet no one can tell me what has happened to my money. If I put a stop payment on the check, it will take 90 days to get my money back. Everyone I have spoke to at Indymac has a different story and I am very upset and frustrated. When I pay off my loan I will never do business with them again. I see why they are having trouble.

  • Ca
    Cathy Sep 25, 2008

    I sent a payment for $1600 to indy mac on my house loan on 8-12-08 and after 2 weeks my account wasn't credited and now when I call them they don't have it but the money orders I sent were cashed and I was told Indy mac signed them. Now I am being told that I have to get a copy of the money orders and fax it to them because they think the money was put into a WRONG account (or pocket) I am seeing a pattern here same month same excuses HUmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    0 Votes
  • La
    Lawrence Russell Nov 10, 2008

    I paid my Indymac Loan off 6 weeks ago...I have had over 350 phonecalls to my cell phone from 800-781-7399 since then, all hours and 7 days of the week...nothing on the other end except for 60 seconds of static.

    Three complaint calls to the Indymac customer service people makes it obvious why that company went out of business and is owned by the fed now. They sound like they care, but they don't have a clue. They are violating harrassment penal code for numerous states as well as the FTC and FCC. No more business from me!!!

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frances Hettinger Feb 12, 2009

    Where is the help from the new president for there are no loans or help being sent to US citizens to help them save their homes . Liars just all liars . They are allowing only ones with excellent credit to get loans not us in awful distress .Where is the help . I am losing my home due to my husband death and they will not even give me a decent loan payment . They lie all of them and when this Quality Laon contacted me they did not even know my husband was dead and he died last April 2008 . How does that get forgotten and not printed up on a loan that is being repossessed . Stupid ### all of them . I want a payment I can afford or what is our G ov doing for us citizens . They are eating all of these homes that are being taken away .Are they just trying to gain controll over all of us or what .What kind of country do we live in .I have no one to fight for me for he died and the one thing he said to me was I am so sorry honey I am leaving you in such a mess and he prayed they would work with me . He was a good man and they lied to us to begin with from the very start of all of this ### . Now here I set and every single day of my life I await for a knock on the door saying get the hell out .They will drag me out for I am going to fight them .Quality loan not even knowing my husband was dead, nice going Indymac crooks .

    Redding, california home being taken away by crooks .

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RomanRealtors Mar 18, 2010

    You must consider a shortsale most people do not realise that the bank does not care about the homeowner and there are millions of boiler room scams offering loan mods popping up every day . Out of 4 million homeowners facing foreclosure only 135, 000 have been helped thru a modification, companies are no longer allowed to charge for modifications so anyone offering their services at a price is a scam . I suggest talking to a licensed real estate agent about your case.
    www.romanrealtors.com
    also many people do not qualify for the 5 requisites the bank requires .

    we do not charge for modifications or shortsales the bank pays us. We wont ask u for a dime.

    Joaquin Roman
    Owner
    Roman Realtors and Financial Services, Inc
    3005 S. Bristol
    Santa Ana, CA
    http://romanrealtors.com/
    (714)-351-2398

    0 Votes

Indymac BankConstant harassment on loans 12 days late

With the economy we all are faced with this institution constantly has been hassling me for a late payment, when they don't pay there debt on time.

When refunding for escrow account overpayment they on 3 occasions sent the wrong amount, who does there record keeping?

I like all of you fill the hands of the oil companies sliding into my pocket daily for my commute to work, and even though I have called loan resolution, and customer service to inform them of the payments status the next day they call 3-4 times, I hate to see the economy hit the wall like this but enjoyed the news about them crashing.

  • Ki
    Kirk Nov 20, 2008

    This bank is amazing! Not only did they not pay my 2007 taxes when they took over the loan, they remitted the wrong amount by 900.00 for 2008 that still has not been refunded by the government. I even called them and told them that the tax bill that they received was wrong and that they needed to wait for a corrected bill, and when I talk with them about this I am made to feel that this is my fault. I could really use that 900.00 for something else besides the city holding it...

    This is on top of the fact that they increased my mortgage 750.00 per month when they got my tax bill because the person keyed in the wrong amount and it took 9 phone calls for me to fix that with them...I would love to know what their problem is! I can tell them how to fix it...###ING PAY ATTENTION TO ###!

    0 Votes

Indymac BankLiars

IndyMac Mortgage purchased my loan from another company. After about a year into my "3 year -fixed" adjustable rate loan, my rate adjusted. 3 months later, it adjusted again. As I put the house on the market, I was told I had to pay $300 just to find out if they would accept a short sale and then it could take weeks to find out. My buyer was eager to purchase a home and refused to deal with IndyMac and their crazy terms therefore, I lost the sale and ultimately the home. Before walking away, I again received another notice from them saying my rate was to adjust again. To this day, I still cannot figure out how a 3 year fixed rate on an ARM can adjust 3 times in 1 year. Put me in for any law suits that come up...they are getting what they deserve from the Feds. Also, my home has now been vandalized as they have yet to secure it since the foreclosure. It's been 7 months already. Glad to see them loose in the end.

  • 83
    83Kat Aug 30, 2009

    OMG! We only had one more payment to make during our trial period and then I get this CERTIFIED lettter in the mail saying we are in serious default!! I call them up yesterday and they say "we were missing paystubs"!!! So we had to cancel it! BS!!! Because I called a week after we submitted the package and they confirmed they had EVERYTHING they needed!! They told me that I have to resubmit everything again for a new review. I was in tears yesterday...and they do not care!!! They are the biggest scammers out there. THEY LIE!!! SOMEONE from the federal government please step in and correct this.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    daglo Sep 28, 2009

    Please go to loansafe.org. A campaign is underway for all of us that need modifications to our mortgages. Please go to the FORUM part and register. It is a consumer web site that I found that offers a wealth of free information. They are going after all these banks!

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    againstindymac Oct 15, 2009

    I'm also another victim of their lies and unwillingness to help. They have, lost, altered and delayed my documentation process so far. I'm tired of dealing with them:

    I do believe we can do something if we unity. Myself and a couple of people I met on some blogs and forums have already conveyed online about this.

    Please join us via twitter (againstindymac) or send us an email to [email protected] and we can send you an invite. Please feel free to tell you story Be careful not to send sensitive information. Any ideas are also welcomed.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RomanRealtors Mar 18, 2010

    You must consider a shortsale most people do not realise that the bank does not care about the homeowner and there are millions of boiler room scams offering loan mods popping up every day . Out of 4 million homeowners facing foreclosure only 135, 000 have been helped thru a modification, companies are no longer allowed to charge for modifications so anyone offering their services at a price is a scam . I suggest talking to a licensed real estate agent about your case.
    www.romanrealtors.com
    also many people do not qualify for the 5 requisites the bank requires .

    we do not charge for modifications or shortsales the bank pays us. We wont ask u for a dime.

    Joaquin Roman
    Owner
    Roman Realtors and Financial Services, Inc
    3005 S. Bristol
    Santa Ana, CA
    http://romanrealtors.com/
    (714)-351-2398

    0 Votes

Indymac Bank — Short sale

I received the Short-Sale approval on June 6, 2008. Christerfer Boyett, Loan Workout Specialist, fax the...

Indymac BankLied about the loan

I received a loan from Indymac Bank in 2006. I was told at the time when the house was appraised that it was fenced (not, cost me $1, 800). When the loan was ready to be signed I was told the interested would be re-adjusted once I got to AZ, I was living in TN. When I inquired about it they acted like they did not know what I was talking about. I filled out an application for hardship and every time I called they told me something different and could never talk to the same person twice. I'm not surprised they fell. I will be taking legal action against the company and the loan they gave me. This should be aganist the law!

  • Fr
    Frances Hettinger Feb 12, 2009

    Pissed off from Redding, ca. Just nothing but liars and home Robbers. I don't know where I will go for I am losing my home because Indymac lied to me about a loan modification and now I am so behind in payments they are trying to come after me but when I spoke with representative in August 2008 he was setting me up for a loan modification with them and I had to send in fourteen hundred dollars immed within forty five minutes so went and wired money to this Cornell Wallace and now I cannot even find the crook for he told me I would get my money back if denied a decent loan . Well as time went by I spoke with a nice girl from there and she said the investorsss were looking at my loan and she was really optimistic about it And then another one took over saying the other girl was wrong for this woman was more rude so I guess more trained by crooked bank executives from Indymac .Well I get a paper saying the investor does not do loan modifications and I need to come up with all back payments of almost fifteen hundred a month and then pay that amount until someday there may be a program for me . Nothing but scummy fricken liars and now my home in in foreclosure well they will have to drag me out and I am going to hit every newspaper and on the internet telling everyone to file complaints against them for they are robbers . Then and impact lending, they were nothing but rude ### and liars to my husband to begin with and then it fell into Indymacs possession and they are all tied together and nothing and I mean nothing but liars .

    0 Votes
  • Di
    D in Raleigh Mar 03, 2009

    I would love to hear an update when you resolve the issue. My mom called me crying lastnight because she got home and a foreclosure notice was on her door from them. They had adjusted her mortgage when she was in bankruptcy in September 08. Failed to send out any notice that her payment went up $27.87 a month. Instead they added late fees up to February of this year and finally came up with some the ridiculous sum of $3800.00 to keep her home out of foreclosure. WTF!!! Her account was set up to automatically withdraw the money every month for payment and my mom has record that she has never missed any. The call center is rude with her and are putting the whole situation on her. My mom doesnt have that kind of money and shouldnt have to pay it anyway because its funny you can find a way to put a foreclosure notice on someone's door but cant send information to let them know their payment has gone up. I dont understand how decent folk still keep getting the shaft like this. Karma is a helluva Drug.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    msmartin May 19, 2009

    I have also been trying to get some relief from Indymac's predatory lending practices. Living in New Orleans has been very difficult since Hurricane Katrina (to put it mildly)! As soon as I was allowed to come home my interest rate excellerated to 10 1/2 %. Have been begging them since 11/05 for some relief... Guess what?
    They finally agreed to lower payments in 11/08. A few days into the modification got a letter saying it was denied. Called, they said to keep paying lower note for the three month period agreed to. When the three months was over the reduced payments did not really count as payments and only made me further behind in my payments. The only plan they offered me was to double my payment of $1800 to $3600/mo! WHAT A JOKE! THEY ARE CRAZY, DON'T KNOW WHAT THEY'RE DOING AND IT IS CRIMINAL!
    Was told that the O'Bama plan would start on 4/15 and to wait, then told to wait again. Finally was told to send in their "packet" from their web site. Have faxed to them along with three years of tax returns. Am hoping and PRAYING! I have been in my home for 16 years and have a great deal of equity - NOBODY CARES! Has anyone gotten a modification from them???

    DEPRESSED & CRAZY IN THE "BIG EASY"!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RomanRealtors Mar 18, 2010

    You must consider a shortsale most people do not realise that the bank does not care about the homeowner and there are millions of boiler room scams offering loan mods popping up every day . Out of 4 million homeowners facing foreclosure only 135, 000 have been helped thru a modification, companies are no longer allowed to charge for modifications so anyone offering their services at a price is a scam . I suggest talking to a licensed real estate agent about your case.
    www.romanrealtors.com
    also many people do not qualify for the 5 requisites the bank requires .

    we do not charge for modifications or shortsales the bank pays us. We wont ask u for a dime.

    Joaquin Roman
    Owner
    Roman Realtors and Financial Services, Inc
    3005 S. Bristol
    Santa Ana, CA
    http://romanrealtors.com/
    (714)-351-2398

    0 Votes

Indymac Bankmortgage

We fell one month behind in our mortgage w/indymac. When my husband called to make payment arrangements, the nice young man on the phone told him that there was really nothing that they could do til we were 3 months behind. When a person is 3 months behind, then there are a bunch of things they can do, so just wait, don't pay and call back then. Little did we know that the bunch of things they could do would be - put your name in the paper under list of foreclosures. Then give you the option to walk away with no place to live and no credit or pay an extra $500 a month for the next year to catch up - oh and by the way, it would be best if you could wire the money (only $70 for that transaction) if you can't do that, make sure that it is certified funds because we won't take your personal check.
Talk about bad business practices, I sure want to know if their professionals did this to anybody else out there.

  • Bi
    Birmingham Alabama Feb 08, 2009

    I agree the same thing happen to me.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andrea May 07, 2009

    Looks Indymac is up to its old tricks. Scandalous! Just plan scandalous! Something needs to be done!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DawnNY Oct 24, 2009

    not exactly the same situation but the same tactics. what was the final outcome and how can this stop! All I want to do is payoff my entire loan and they are not allowing me to do so! They refuse to give me a payoff and I sold my home awhile ago now! [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pam Coursen Nov 04, 2010

    Here is the letter I sent to our friend IndyMac Bank today:

    Dear Ms. Huebner,

    Please forward this to your President and Vice President.

    I am complaining because IndyMac Bank gave me their attorney's telephone number on Thursday as their attorney's fees on my home's foreclosure for 10 days were $4, 500...I have called and recalled and all I get is an answering machine at the law office...I have now left 3 messages...Doesn't he need to be reported to a bar association?

    On Thursday 10-28-10 I could not access my online account, so I called your bank and was told that the reason was because my home had been placed into foreclosure. I have been working with IndyMac Bank's loan modification program since March 2010 as I have had a job loss with a reduction of income. I called the bank on 10-18-10 to be sure they had received my house payment. They said they had not, however my bank statement reflected it had come out...There is always a one day turn around time...They asked me to fax a copy of the bank statement to them. I did and recalled them to be sure they had it, and they acknowledged receipt of the payment. Today 10-28-10, they told me that they may still determine that I am unable to make my house payments and put me into foreclosure...by whose authority? What's the rule? You received a payment ON OR BEFORE a 90 day cut off period. The first person I talked to on Thursday said I was behind $1, 799...That is 2 payments plus late fees.

    On Friday, I called back and asked for a repayment plan. Someone there gave me estimated numbers and told me a repayment agreement would be next day aired to me and that I should receive it on Monday.

    I called back on Monday and was told that this had not been done and that recalculation would need to be made...The guy gave me the numbers and promised to send the agreement out next day air AGAIN...Mind you, everyday the figures go up!

    Tuesday, I called back as I had not received any paperwork...Mind you, I don't even have anything saying the home is in foreclosure...I was told that both Friday and Monday two different people had made a mistake and NOT HIT THE CALCULATOR BUTTON...I asked to speak with a supervisor...The person on the phone told me that, "THIS IS NOT A SUPERVISOR ISSUE!"...I told her to let me speak to her supervisor and I finally got to a supervisor.

    His figures for a 1 day difference were $200 more a month...The other guy had told me that I had a reserve...and I think this supervisor did not calculate the reserve...

    Also, I have received a letter from a company stating that my loan may have been overcharged and miscalculated by several thousands of dollars...It may be a scam...I don't know...However, I would like to ask for an audit of this account.

    0 Votes

Indymac BankThis is clearly predatory lending

Indymac devalued our home while in construction - they said they have been directed to be conservative...and refused to give us the money to finish...we qualified for the money. And the property rates have stayed steady in our area. 7 months later, haggling and haggling and after speaking with Mike Perry they gave us the money...but that's after paying $4000 interest payments ...65K and of course there not enough to finish because we paid so much out to INdymac. Then they offer us 8.75% roll over to fixed mortgage...We cannot afford this mortgage and they know it will drive us into default...so great we finish the house get their high priced loan and we end up defaulting and they end up with our house! SNEAKY...We are trying to finish the house ourselves...we owe lots of workers...that we committed to when we saw our appraisal (it took indymac 3 months go get back to us after the appraisal was done)...this is clearly predatory lending. Anyone out there forming a class action suit please contact me here in these postings.

  • Ja
    James Mangan Jul 12, 2008

    Similar situation with us with the rolling to perm part. Indymac told us our perm rate would be 5.75%-6%. The markets haven't changed that much in terms of rates and now they are quoting us 9.7% variable! I have saved emails showing that they quoted a lower rate.

    0 Votes
  • So
    Sofia Johnson Jul 17, 2008

    I am with both of you.They lied to me also about the interest rate and after many months of e-mails, phone calls (which you could never get the same person twice) sending several letters, I would get the same response.."It will take another 60 to 90 days"..I was forced to give up my home, have my credit ruined because of them and I will be more then happy to go in on a "Class Action Law Suit' aganist Indymac bank...they should not be able to get away with destroying so many lifes along with our homes. They need to answer to what they have done to many thousands of people.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Cheryl Kidwell Oct 01, 2008

    For several years now, I've been helping my sister out with her financials. She got involved with the Option ARM program. The her payments began to balloon such that she could no longer keep up with her payments. She turnedover her house to a friend of hers to try to help herself plus to help out her friend but still the payments are way to high. I believe it's at 8.75% maybe higher. The house is not worth paying the $1600. mortgage to keep it current. I would certainly get my sister and friend involved if this gets into a Class Action Case. Please let me know if it becomes one. You can notify me by e-mail. Thanks, Cheryl Kidwell

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RomanRealtors Mar 18, 2010

    You must consider a shortsale most people do not realise that the bank does not care about the homeowner and there are millions of boiler room scams offering loan mods popping up every day . Out of 4 million homeowners facing foreclosure only 135, 000 have been helped thru a modification, companies are no longer allowed to charge for modifications so anyone offering their services at a price is a scam . I suggest talking to a licensed real estate agent about your case.
    www.romanrealtors.com
    also many people do not qualify for the 5 requisites the bank requires .

    we do not charge for modifications or shortsales the bank pays us. We wont ask u for a dime.

    Joaquin Roman
    Owner
    Roman Realtors and Financial Services, Inc
    3005 S. Bristol
    Santa Ana, CA
    http://romanrealtors.com/
    (714)-351-2398

    0 Votes