GreenPoint Mortgage Complaints & Reviews

GreenPoint MortgageFALSE Forclosure report on my credit report

I thought I was one of the lucky ones. Had some financial problems after closing a business in 2017. In 2017, they became much worse and we fell behind on our mortgage. 60 days late and forclosure papers were filed. I hired a company to help with a loan modification, which was successful and we were able to keep our home, which was our goal. Two years later, we refinanced and it showed on our credit report as a 90 day late but not as a forclosure.
Fast forward 3 years...we have been able to rebuild our credit to a decent number and have recently tried to refinance a second property that we have (from an interitance). All of the paperwork was sailing through until my broker just called and said that we have a problem. Greenpoint now has it listed as an F for forclosure on our credit report but the balance shows as paid in full! In order for me to qualify for this refinance (only 60, 000 on a recently appraised $120, 000 home), I must get them to remove the forclosure from my credit report. Just now found out they are closed!!! I am at a loss for where to go to get this corrected. Hopefully, people that are unlucky to have gotten caught up with GreenPoint will find a way out! Years later and they are still coming back to haunt me.

  • Valerie May 07, 2008

    Green Point Mortgage has a new way to extorting money from theirs clients, They refund your payment to your bank who paid every first of the month on time than charge you late fees because you have resend the money late.

    One time it could be an error but more than 5 times it is criminal even with the proof of your bank they still want the late fee and scare you with foreclosure. You can write or send them mails or your bank contacting them by phone or in writing to prove that the mortgage is was paid on time and show them when it was refund directly to my account.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Realty Mediation Services Jun 17, 2008

    I agree with everyone on this comment board and I am so sorry to hear about all the trouble that you are all having. This is the reason I started my company. I have helped several people that have mortgages with ASC, Countrywide, and other mortgage companies that don't seem to care if they harass people or suck them dry. The comments I have heard are along the lines of trying to get blood from a stone or turnip, or something like that.

    I have a service that actually will take you out of the loop of contact with ASC, or Countrywide or whomever you have servicing your loan. All you have to do is tell me how we can help you. By that I mean, tell us what you are looking for us to do for you and we will pursue the help that you want, no matter what. We have all aspects of the mortgage business covered from being a mortgage mediation company, a title company, a real estate company, all the way to having access to attorneys for litigation or help to avoid foreclosure. No aspect of help is turned away.

    Let me tell you, most of the customers that I deal with have told me about the fear and the frustration of working with mortgage companies that don't seem to care or give them the runaround. To be totally fair, mortgage companies have their ways of dealing with people. Some are good, some are horrible. But one thing all mortgage companies love is being vague. When they are vague, they don't have to give you information until you ASK for it. How does that help you? How can you try to save your home if you don't know how to ask the right questions?

    That’s another reason why I created this company. I take your number out of their "system". When they mail you something, it goes to me. I take the burden away from you so you can live your life without the phone calls and the letters. And the rudeness!!! Oh, man, if I told you some of the stories I have heard...let's just say, it’s not pretty.

    I know that some people are going to look at this comment and go, this guy is trying to drum up business. Well, you're right. But here's the kicker. I used to work in mortgage collections. I used to make the phone calls and send the letters. I used to work around the people that make your lives hell. And I kept asking myself, why? Why are these people not being told about the help that’s readily available? Why are these people not being helped to make payment arrangements that are realistic? Why does this company care more about the money than about customer service when that is supposed to be their primary objective?

    That's why I got out. I can not stand collections. Just because they are hiding behind a company name they think that they can say anything or act anyway they like with the customers, being friendly with one and the next 40-50 they can treat like crap. Where is the customer service?

    I take all that frustration away from you and create solutions that work. I know that it may be hard to swallow, but I do. I have done it for several people. And I can do it for you too. If you want more specifics or just want to talk to me, call my office at 888-453-1518 and check out the website, which is being updated with a few new options available. And this isn't just for people facing foreclosure, people that are current and want to pay off their home early, call me. I can and will help as many people as I am able to. What have you got to lose? Website address is http://www.onlybusiness.com/members/RealtyMediationService...and if not for you, best of luck. In all your endeavors.

    0 Votes
  • On
    On the verge of foreclosure Sep 01, 2008

    They did the same thing to us, Payment was received, confirmed, etc. They have been fighting over their late fees, and pushing us closer to foreclosure. They are dishonest, rude, and have the worst customer service we have ever encountered. We have never been late in over two years.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Teresa Locklear Nov 08, 2008

    I am experiences the mortgage reversal payment game right now and need help.
    Teresa

    0 Votes

GreenPoint Mortgage2nd mortgage

I have a 2nd mortgage on my home that I can no longer afford or pay for. It is in an upside down loan now and I have vacated the property and my realtor is still trying to sell it on a short sale. It has been on the market 10 months and no offers. I have moved out of state from where my home was, have no job, and moved in with my son and daughter-in-law. This company calls me 3 and 4 times a day. I have written them a certified letter and spoken to them numerous times. I do not know what they want from me. I have told them over and over again that I will keep them posted on the sale of the home (if it happens). Not even the 1st mortgage company is harrassing me as I have written to them the same letter and spoke to them with the same information. I am tired of the harrassing calls and they have called late at night because I still have a CA area code on my phone. I have told them that I am in the Eastern Time Zone now, they did not care.
What can I do?

  • Di
    Diane Nov 04, 2008

    I have an nteresting Question: Why would a second trust deed holder pursue a trustee sale? My first trust deed with Greenpoint is defaulted and a sale date has been posted. After numerous conversations with Greenpoint I have requested a reinstatement with the arrearages owed be negotiated and tacked on the back end of the loan. I am waiting on their approval and also a foreclosure sale date postponement to handle all of this in time before I should lose the home. I’ve had to stop paying my second trust deed at about the same time I stopped paying my Greenpoint loan payment. Now they are threatening foreclosure but no NOD filed yet. It has been 8 months since I’ve paid them.

    If I cure the first and reinstate the loan and the second trust deed were to go to sale wouldn’t they have to take back the property subject to the first? Currently there is enough equity in the home to cover the first but only a fraction left over for the second trust deed. As the market continues to slide it makes no sense to pursue a sale and right of security.

    First T.D. is with Greenpoint for $370, 000 and the second is a HELOC with WAMU for $185, 000. The home’s value is approx. $425, 000. I have a buyer for the home in the event Greenpoint won't reinstate my loan as a back up plan again requiring the postponement to negotiate a short sale with the second trust deed holder.

    The only choice I seem to have is to stop all payments and allow the home to foreclose, reinstate the first T.D. only until the second does ??? or sell the home and pay off the first and ask for a short sale on the 2nd. Any suggestions? Should I worry about the second trust deed making a manuever that I'm not aware of causing me more harm than good. Should I negotiate a forebearance with the second until the market rebounds? That is the only way they have a chance of a return on their loan except to pursue a judicial foreclosure where they have a chance at claiming a deficiency judgement against me personally.

    My head is spinning. Can someone help me??

    Also, Greenpoint informed me today that they are selling many, many of their loans to Countrywide. They are unable to assist me due to their staff working on packaging up the loans for sale to Countrywide. Interesting. They said my loan was not one of those loans being sold.

    0 Votes
  • Ep
    EP Nov 12, 2008

    CAUTION!!! When dealing with greenpoint, look out. They will act like they are working with you on the short sale and will delay delay delay, stop communications and then will have your home auctioned off like it was nothing to them.. They do not care about the homeowner! They get paid more by foreclosing than by doing a short sale. Look at their servicing agreements...it is in black and white!

    0 Votes

GreenPoint MortgagePoor Business Practices

Terrible customer service...unwilling to faithfully negotiate will clients...hopefully they are out of business soon and their employees are treated as they have treated their customers. I feel sorry for anyone who has a mortage with this pathetic excuse for a company...Greenpoint is finished and so are their inhumane employees...good bye greenpoint mortgage you deserve everything you get

  • Wi
    William C. Mitchell Oct 03, 2007

    Greenpoint has imposed tax impounds and have over stated the amounts due to cover the taxes. The amounts being imposed are 4 times the amount of the ANNUAL tax bill.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Holly Nov 09, 2008

    Agree 300% they are worthless loan sharks who send US jobs to India and beat up customers like me who had the integrity ask their help with an affordable refi or laon modificaition for the purpose of avioiding daulot and foreclosue 13+ months ago!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Janet O. Koenig Aug 07, 2009

    I really need help. I had a GreenPoint Home Equity Loan that was paid off by Wachovia Bank on 9/26/07. GreenPoint never properly discharged the loan, now I can't get clear title on my property. I have mailed copius papers to Countrywide Bank containing all documents regarding this GreenPoint mortgage. The woman working on my file will not return any of my phone calls, or contact me in any way regarding this paid in full mortgate. Where can I do to get this mess cleared up?

    Janet

    0 Votes
  • Su
    suzycicc Dec 03, 2009

    I am having the SAME problem right now. Did you ever get to the bottom of it? If so...what do you recommend? I really apprecaite any help uyou can offer.
    I cannot get the title for my property although the loan hasbenn paid off since Greenpoint went out of business.

    Suzy

    0 Votes

GreenPoint Mortgage — PREDATORY LENDING

DEAR UNFORTUNANTE BORROWERS OF GREENPOINT MORTGAGE, THIS IS TO LET YOU KNOW THAT I HAVE HAD THE WORST...

GreenPoint MortgageUnfair fees and deceptive practices

GreenPoint Mortgage (owned by Capital One) is not taking new mortgages, and so it has shifted to try to assess maximum fees on existing customers to generate as much profit as they can. I paid on time every time for 2 years, and wanted to payback early since I found a better rate elsewhere (and because GreenPoint customer service was horrible whenever I was forced to call to ensure they processed a payment). I have a no pre-payment penalty clause in my mortgage... Guess what? They assessed a $2500 "admin fee." When I called to investigate, the customer service reps were abrasive, and basically told me to deal with it or they are under no obligation to process my paperwork. They also told me one complaint from one customer doesn't really matter. Here's customer service for you...

My advice to anyone out there, complain to Capital One, which is the parent company which is cashing in on the GreenPoint practices.

  • Re
    Realty Mediation Services Jul 08, 2008

    I agree with everyone on this comment board and I am so sorry to hear about all the trouble that you are all having. This is the reason I started my company. I have helped several people that have mortgages with ASC, Countrywide, and other mortgage companies that don't seem to care if they harass people or suck them dry. The comments I have heard are along the lines of trying to get blood from a stone or turnip, or something like that.

    Contrary to what some people have said on here, I am not trying to be one of those people I mentioned above. My company is a nationwide company that provides services for people that are at the end of their rope. One of the helpful things that we provide is letting you know, before payment for service, if we can assist you and if we can not. If we can not, we tell you why not and what can be done to allow our company to assist you. Most companies won't do that, but we will also give you the reasons why exactly so that, if you should choose a different service, they will not be able to scam you. Now that's a way of saving money too.

    I have a service that actually will take you out of the loop of contact with ASC, or Countrywide or whomever you have servicing your loan. All you have to do is tell me how we can help you. By that I mean, tell us what you are looking for us to do for you and we will pursue the help that you want, no matter what. We have all aspects of the mortgage business covered from being a mortgage mediation company, a title company, a real estate company, all the way to having access to attorneys for litigation or help to avoid foreclosure. No aspect of help is turned away.

    Let me tell you, most of the customers that I deal with have told me about the fear and the frustration of working with mortgage companies that don't seem to care or give them the runaround. To be totally fair, mortgage companies have their ways of dealing with people. Some are good, some are horrible. But one thing all mortgage companies love is being vague. When they are vague, they don't have to give you information until you ASK for it. How does that help you? How can you try to save your home if you don't know how to ask the right questions?

    That’s another reason why I created this company. I take your number out of their "system". When they mail you something, it goes to me. I take the burden away from you so you can live your life without the phone calls and the letters. And the rudeness!!! Oh, man, if I told you some of the stories I have heard...let's just say, it’s not pretty.

    I know that some people are going to look at this comment and go, this guy is trying to drum up business. Well, you're right. But here's the kicker. I used to work in mortgage collections. I used to make the phone calls and send the letters. I used to work around the people that make your lives hell. And I kept asking myself, why? Why are these people not being told about the help that’s readily available? Why are these people not being helped to make payment arrangements that are realistic? Why does this company care more about the money than about customer service when that is supposed to be their primary objective?

    That's why I got out. I can not stand collections. Just because they are hiding behind a company name they think that they can say anything or act anyway they like with the customers, being friendly with one and the next 40-50 they can treat like crap. Where is the customer service?

    I take all that frustration away from you and create solutions that work. I know that it may be hard to swallow, but I do. I have done it for several people. And I can do it for you too. If you want more specifics or just want to talk to me, call my office at 888-453-1518 and check out the website, which is being updated with a few new options available. And this isn't just for people facing foreclosure, people that are current and want to pay off their home early, call me. I can and will help as many people as I am able to. What have you got to lose? Website address is http://www.onlybusiness.com/members/RealtyMediationService...and if not for you, best of luck. In all your endeavors.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark Nov 30, 2008

    We keep hearing these Lenders will work with you, in my dealing Greenpoint, BullSh-t.

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

GreenPoint MortgageFunds transfer fiasco; Pemco & Countrywide Home loans.

I received a letter from GreenPoint Mortgage Company regarding that they need additional funds regarding the selling of my loan from GreenPoint to Countrywide Home Loans way back from January 2007. I never received notice of this sale nor was I ever made aware that this would be an option GreenPoint to engage in selling off mortgages to the lowest bidder. This being the case, funds were inadvertently sent to Pemco Insurance Co. for the loan transaction and homeowners insurance.

I now receive notice that Greenpoint Mortgage is requesting that money back from myself instead of contacting Pemco and Countrywide Home Loans for the mistake in funds transfer. Why am I now finding out about this in October from a transaction error that occured in January. Whay am I as a consumer being held responsible the screw that GreenPoint Mortgage incurred. Why as not GreenPoint gone after Countrywide Home Loans or Pemco Insurance Co. for the funds directly?

This Letter sent out to me makes no referance as to when this transaction took place. There is no breakdown or itemized statement as to what was paid, what is owed or when these payments took place. There is a name of a person "Marie Peterson" Financial Administration who I tried to contact but couldn't get through the battery of questioning as to what this phone call is regarding. Once I made my self clear as to what this inquiry was for, very little information was known about this fund transfer transaction & who would ultimately be responsible.

George Pleitez

Washington State.

  • Di
    Diane Nov 04, 2008

    Greenpoint informed me personally today that they are packaging up a good amount of their loans for sale to Countrywide. This is exactly was the mortgage department at Greenpoint told me today on the phone. I needed assistance from their home retention department but the girl was unavailable because she was deeply involved in bundling up the loans to sell to Countrywide. Interesting...

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Diane Nov 19, 2008

    Well by now most of your know that Greenpoint has sold their servicing to Countrywide effective November 29, 2008. In my perusal of various web sites and forums discussing lenders and their business practices I began to read more and more about my "little" Greenpoint mortgage company that no one I knew had ever heard of before. Obviously Greenpoint Mortgage, an entity once under the wing of Capital One and Deutch Bank has proven to be a player in many of American homeowner's mortgage nightmares.

    I am near the end of negotiating my loan modification with Greenpoint after hours upon hours of phone conversations with x, y and z departments just in time to have all my efforts yanked from under me within a blink of an eye. I happen to be one of the lucky trustors who has a foreclosure sale date set dead center between the time the announcement of the portfolio sale to Countrywide is announced and the date Countrywide actually takes control of those loans. Which means that my foreclosure date scheduled for November 24, 2008 remains on the books with no further discussion from anyone I had agreements being processed with.

    November 13th and 14th I was completing my communications with Greenpoint's loss mitigation department and loan mod depts. to finalize my work out plan, postpone my sale date in order to do so with green lights all the way. On November 15th I receive a letter in the mail stating that effective November 29th all servicing will be in the hands of Countrywide. On November 17th I called to verify the plans and find out when my sale date had been rescheduled for only to be told that all negotiations are off the table and my sale date will remain November 24, 2008 as planned.

    I've been calling Greenpoint continuously hour after hour (squeaky wheel) all day today to no avail but will continue again tomorrow until I can speak with someone that can do something to at the very least allow me to remain in my home through Thanksgiving without resorting to filing BK to do it. What a shame. I'm a fighter thank God but this is the absolute worst treatment I've experienced in my life and I hope for all time.

    What the hell is the government doing bailing these lenders out in order to loosen up the bank's lending abilities and credit practices when it is obvious that money made no difference in lending practices whatsoever? I know!! Sitting in their mansions watching reruns of Wall Street and the great Gordon Gecko speech about "Greed is Good".

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jerry Nov 20, 2008

    We are purchasing a home that Greenpoint holds the 2nd loan on...it is a short sale, which they approved. HOWEVER, last week they sold the loan to Countrywide and now we are told that we will not be closing on Monday (movers have everything we own at this point) and that we will have to start the negotiations all over with CW now and it could take weeks - months at the least!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    cheryl celentano Nov 29, 2008

    pay bill

    0 Votes

GreenPoint MortgageFailure to report refi charges I paid to the IRS

When I refinanced my home loan to a fix in December of 2005, Greenpoint immediately took more than $6600 off the top of the loan in fees in pre-paid taxes and then failed to report the amout to the IRS. Then the loan was immediately sold to Countrywide Mortgage. As these amounts are clearly documented on my final HUD docs, I filed my tax returns only to find more than a year later that theses funds were never reported by the company. Now, I face possible pending costs in taxes plus fines from the IRS. I have verified the amts with Investors Title Company who also advised me that Greenpoint had filed for bankruptcy.

When I attempted to obtain an explanation and documentation from Greenpoint so it could be presented to the IRS, I was hung-up on, and given the run-around. At one point, I was told that there were no finance charges taken. I did eventually reach someone who agreed to accept my faxed documentation and complete a documents search, but that was more than almost 45 days ago and no one has gotten back to me. I can't be the only person this has happened to. This is not right and Greenpoint should not be allowed to get away with this.

  • Ni
    nisan Mar 09, 2008

    what you described is exactly what predatory lenders do, and its exactly why Countrywide is now being investigated by the FBI for securities fraud.
    Keep making calls, and get attention to your situation and maybe you'll finally get some help. I would be surprised that the IRS wont back up a bit after knowing the investigation is underway and you have paperwork showing everything.
    good luck

    0 Votes

GreenPoint MortgageUnfair mortgage loan payments

GreenPoint Mortgage - www.greenpointmortgage.com

Most Home loan companies give their clients at least a 15-day grace period but not Greenpoint. Their grace period is 10-days and it takes almost the same period to process payments. For the past two months that I had my loan with them it has been a nightmare. I sent my payment on the 5th. of each month to make sure that my paycheck is clear. Greenpoint collectors will start calling mornings and afternoon for payments sometimes even if the check has been cleared by their office. A payment received even a day after the 10th. will be subject to a fee. Their agents are arrogant and will never listen to complaints or compromise. It is unfortunate that Jumbo loans are getting harder to come by but it is worth refinancing with a more responsible company like Countrywide. Since Capital One acquired Greenpoint they have been going downhill. I think Capital One should differentiate between credit card customers and a mortgage client for the risk of foreclosure is much greater than a $5,000 revolving line of credit.

Thank you

AL.

  • Ch
    chris Nov 01, 2008

    I too had problems with Greenpoint and a payoff. which they lost and have never admitted to finding. I kept getting comments such as when did you alledgely send in the alledged payment. after 30 days of no help. i sent them a letter outlining the following: check issuer, amount, confirmation number and name of person who signed for it at Greenpoint. never send via regular mail its worth the extra money to have them sign. I gave them exactly 7 days to resolve the issue and cc my attorney. I sent this via the contact us section on the website and certified mail. I got a response with in 24 hours and it was resolved in 10 days.

    lesson learned; document document document. seek legal assistance early and hold them accountable.

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem