Grand Mayan Complaints & Reviews

Grand Mayan — Grand mayan timeshare scam

My wife and I were on vacation in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, and stayed at The Grand Mayan . We went to a...

Grand MayanGrand mayan timeshare scam

We purchased a timeshare at the grand mayan san jose del cabo. Upon receiving our papers we noticed there were many fees involved that we were not made aware of. The sales representative misrepresented what the contract/membership entailed. We had been trying to get out of the timeshare and they were saying its too late to cancel it. Seeking legal means of timeshare contract cancellation. We found a company called mexican timeshare solutions that seemed reliable, very skeptical about our latest experience. We decided to contact them. The process was very simple; I provided them with everything they needed and cooperated with them to help them do their job. They were always quick to answer my e-mails and phone calls in a very friendly, professional manner. Fortunately we got and we are free of maintenances fees.

Comment Guidelines

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    Respond

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    Grand MayanInvestment scam, rental promises and lies

    We are senior citizens and in 2007 we were foolish to attend a sales presentation at the Grand Mayan hotel where we were put under immense pressure until we gave in and purchased a membership. I am eighty years old and made mistakes in my life although the only mistake I truly regret is having spent our retirement money with the Grand Mayan. We went back to the sales center the very next day requesting to cancel the contract and the person we met with showed us a clause in the contract stipulating the contract may only be cancelled if we forfeited our down payment! I know today that the right to cancel a contract cannot be waived if the request was placed within five days. I am so bitter and sour about the whole experience I would never go back, I have never even used their membership and still they refuse to give my money back. I have been fighting with the Grand Mayan for years, they say I have no proof I have requested to cancel my contract within five days! Miraculously the person who attended us back then does not work there anymore. Neither does our sales person or his manager. Indeed we were told the sales manager was sent to jail after raping a girl, same as he raped our trust! This gives you an idea what kind of people work in this place. I have talked to an army of people. Once a customer service girl at the Grand Mayan even screamed at me, telling me I was plain stupid to have signed the contract. I have a PhD and I am far from stupid, but I sure was naive to trust these people who looked me in the eye and not even blinking while presenting their lies. We were made endless promises, all of them unfulfilled. We purchased this membership as an investment package, not as a vacation plan. Our sales man and his manager promised a weekly rental guarantee of 2500$, they even went as far as saying they don't want us to come back to their resort because if we rented our weeks they could have prospective new clients who to sell new memberships to. We sent money to three different brokers recommended by the Grand Mayan, who took our money and disappeared. The Grand Mayan responded their contract stipulates they do not offer rentals. Well, WHY would 90% of their presentation appear to be about investments? We were also told new resorts were to open soon in Costa Rica, Orlando and Hawaii. Years later of course this never turned our to be true either. The list goes on and on and on. I wonder if the owner knows what is going on in his resorts. If he does, shame on him. If he doesn't also shame on him. I think we need to make this scam public to a wide audience and fight back, from what it seems thousands of innocent tourists fell into the same trap. Scam scam scam! Never ever sign a contract with these people.

    Comment Guidelines

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Submit
      6 Responses
      • Li
        LinaP Jan 16, 2014

        My husband and I had exactly the same bad experience at this place. They got to us as soon as we arrived at the airport in Mexico. I will say the Mayan Palace timeshare resorts are beautiful and the "complimentary" breakfast was fabulous! However it quickly went downhill. At the end of the "presentation" after repeatedly declining their offer they sent over what can only be described as the nastiest woman in Mexico! She was actually rude and abusive. When she asked us if our tour guide had done a good sales job we sincerely replied that she had, she was a very nice young woman who was honest and well informed, she then said to us that she had obviously not done the job since we were not purchasing a package with them and that the young woman would probably be fired!! Also I remember the starting price for their package being tens of thousands of dollars but after we declined numerous times the price finally dropped to $1500.00. The true hallmark of a travel scam! Wish we had known before we lost an entire day of our vacation. This is a good article about Mayan Palace:

        http://www.timesharescam.com/blog/51-mayan-palace-timeshare-scam/

        0 Votes
      • Ev
        Evita75 Oct 30, 2013

        Unfortunately, Mayan Palace timeshare sales in Mexico are in its majority a huge scam. The OPC, the one on the street inviting you makes $250-$350 per couple...so be sure he tells you any lie there is. Timeshare sales people are rotating from place to place and mostly alcoholics that look for their 8% commission. We were surprised how they work, like sharks, and some are really good showing numbers, benefits, etc...If i did not know, i probably would have bought. Be careful and NEVER make a decision the same day!! They love this, just tell them that you need to think about and they will throw in all they have..that is the sign that something is not quite right... I recommend you to read this article on how most of the Mayan Palace Timeshare Scams are being committed:

        http://www.timesharescam.com/blog/51-mayan-palace-timeshare-scam/

        0 Votes
      • Ev
        Evita75 Aug 06, 2013

        It is the same old story with the a Mayan Palace timeshare resorts (owner David Chavez) who does not care about what fraud he perpetrates on timeshare buyers. The same old adage applies, with regard to rental fees applicable, etc. It is fraud and there is right of rescission in Mexico no matter what program you buy, no matter what the horror show salespeople tell you. Heve not met one semi-honest one representing the mayan chain yet. Yes, we got scammed and bought, never again. These are the worst operators in the business. The name of the programs, Mayan Regency, The Dream, Mayan Palace, Grand Mayan, Bliss, Grupo Luxxe change with regard to what they wish to charge. The upshot is if you are down the line in their program name game list you lose benefits. The tiger does not change its stripes. Beware. I recommend you to read this article on how most of the Mayan Palace timeshare scams are being committed:

        http://www.timesharescam.com/blog/51-mayan-palace-timeshare-scam/

        0 Votes
      • Is
        Isipo Jul 18, 2013

        The best thing to know about Mayan Palace:

        NO! NO! NO! NO! NO!

        ABORT! ABORT!

        Buying a mayan palace timeshare timeshare is setting a big pile of money on fire.

        1. Your trades cost money on top of the maintanence fees. By the time you add up the opportunity cost of buying it, the maintenance, and the trades, you have paid for a luxury hotel room.

        2. Uncertainty. You can never be sure that a trade will be available in the place you want to go. You may spend all the money and end up no closer to Mickey. You can probably get a trade for a place in the Catskills though….

        3. Fees. There are yearly maintenance fees. Typically $500-750 a year. On top of the purchase price.

        4. Buying points? Congrats. You just bought the right to contend for vacancies at the time share company. If they devalue them in the future, then you -might- get that place in the Catskills.

        Source: http://www.timesharescam.com/blog/51-mayan-palace-timeshare-scam/

        0 Votes
      • Vida Vacations Jul 17, 2013

        Dear lady_di

        Your comments have been brought to our attention. We care deeply about our customers’ concerns. We would like to be given the chance to clarify them and assist you accordingly. We kindly ask that you get in touch with us as resolution will be handled by speaking with each other.

        You can call us at [protected] or via email at [email protected] We would very much like to know who you are to provide you personalized assistance.

        We are grateful for your time.

        Sincerely,
        Alin Gines
        Customer Support Representative.

        0 Votes
      • Te
        TerreD Jan 01, 2012
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        I sent this to Grand Mayan Dec 7th 2011. I have not received any type of respnse.

        My name is Terre. My daughter, Annie, and I are Grand Mayan owners. I don't know my account number but I wanted to lodge this complaint anyway.

        On the 2nd of November I and a friend, John went to Ixtapa for a week vacation. Me, mainly lay around the pool, for John it was archeology pictures and history

        At arrival to the airport we met your employee Francisco Guzman. (I not sure of the correct spelling of his surname) He offered to sign us up for a day pass to the Mayan. I told him no, as a member I could go when ever I wanted, didn't need a pass. He did sign us up for a trip to Isla Ixtapa to snorkel and eat lunch. He also signed us up for a trip to Petatlan to see some archaeological finds that had been washed out by a recent rain and that HE would be the taking us there on his day off because he had not been there himself. He even gave us a cell phone so we could keep in contact in case something happened. He also said that if I needed to contact anyone in the states to let them know I arrived safely that I could use the cell for that too.

        I gave him $134.00 US. ( part of the money was for the taxis to and from the airport). Francisco told us he liked getting US money because he would get his tip when he converted the cash to pesos.

        I called him on Thursday to let him know that he gave us the wrong charger and the cell battery was almost dead. He said to just turn it off and turn it back on Friday.

        On Friday the 4th we met Francisco in front of the Tesoro Hotel where we were staying to go to Petatlan. Instead we ended up at the Loma Del Mar with a day pass! Francisco claimed there was a misunderstanding about our trip to Petatlan but he was off on Tuesday the 8th and he would pick us up in front of Tesoro's. Francisco then took the cell phone and charger, he said he was going to get a replacement for us. At that point he disappeared!!. Never to be seen again! Of course we didn't know that at that time. Oh, just to let you know we were refunded the cab fare, in pesos- 345.00.

        We did make it to the Isla of Ixtapa but then another glitch. First that is when we realize that the people at Loma del Mar had kept ALL of our paper work for the day trips we had paid for. Also if we wanted to do other activities (snorkel, kayak, etc) it cost extra, the way Franciso had explained the trip to us it was included. Wish we had known.

        So there it was Tuesday the 8th. John, my friend wasn't feeling well ( I think they call it 'turista'). I went down to ask Francisco if we could move it to Wednesday. Well to my surprise Francisco wasn't there, it was his friend Alan. I asked for Francisco and Alan said nooooooo, it was Francisco's day off. But yes, we could do the trip the next day. Meet him at 9am.

        Ok, now it's 9am Wednesday the 9th, Alan is out front and I'm not feeling well (too much cerveza) but this would be the highlight of John's trip. Actually the main reason he came to Mexico with me in the first place. I told John I was alright and enjoy the trip to Petatlan. I knew was really looking forward to this tour.

        So would you like to know were HE ended up? El Faro!! Wanting him to sign up for some sort of vacation club!! John ended up walking back to Tosero's. We were never able to get in contact with Francisco.

        I have to tell you that I have never been so disappointed in a company as I am right now with Grand Mayan.

        I truely hope you mend this BIG problem. This trip was a total washout (at the cost of $2, 129.80 US, this is just for the flight and Tesoro's) because of the way Francisco dealt with us.

        I realize this is a little late for a big rant but I'm really not very good at complaining and wanted to make sure I was accurate and fair. You need to correct the MAJOR problems created by one of your employees and to notify me on what you are going to do about it.
        Jan 1st 2012, I have not heard fron Grand Mayan.

        0 Votes

      IN THE NEWS

      Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
      If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
      One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
      A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
      ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
      You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
      Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.