Gerhards Appliance Complaints & Reviews

Gerhards ApplianceDo your homework

I purchased an appliance package from gerhard’s appliance in doylestown pa. One of those appliances was a Frigidaire refrigerator. Within the first year the “service” department was called out six times because the refrigerator would not provide water and consequently would not make ice. The first five servicemen had no idea what they were doing finally lucky number six fixed the problem.

Fyi, if they come out on a service call and have to come back to install a part that is considered one service call, doesn’t matter you had to make arrangements to be home every time they had to come out. When i received the card asking if i wanted they extended warranty i jumped on it. Sad to say my refrigerator is not dispensing water or ice, so i called gerhard’s “service” department and when i indicated i had an “extended” warranty they quickly asked “with who”, i assumed with the company i purchased my appliance, Of course not. I had to go thru Frigidaire, another nightmare. Frigidaire gave me three service companies to chose from, two of the three do not have a person answering the phone.

When the original problem happened i wrote to the ceo of gerhard’s and of course i did not get a response. When you purchase anything from gerhard’s the minute you walk out that door you are on your own. I will never purchase a Frigidaire product and i will never purchase from gerhard’s. I have two choices, i can try to get this defective lemon fixed and continue to pay for the “extended warranty” or hire someone to deliver the lemon to gerhard’s front door. If you feel the need to be raped and taken advantage of by all means call gehard’s>

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    • Ma
      Mary butterbaugh Sep 24, 2012
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      I ordered a dishwasher 1 month ago today, I have called this buisiness several times a week, no response.I have e-mailed, no response.I call and I am promised a call back, no response.They are rude and made me feel like I was bothering them, I just want my dishwasher, or my money back! My next step I guess is to contact the BBB in Pennslvania.

      0 Votes

    Gerhards ApplianceEXCELLENT SERVICE

    THE SALES PEOPLE WERE VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE, THE SERVICE WAS GREAT AND THE PRICES COULD NOT BE BEAT. I AM COMPLETLY SATISFIED WITH MY PURCHASE, DELIVERY AND SERVICE THAT FOLLOWED. FORGET LOWES AND SEARS THIS IS A HANDS ON PERSONAL EXPERIENCE. NO OTHER STORE COMPAIRES. THANK YOU FOR SERVING THE COMMUNITY WITH YOUR KNOWLWDGE AND EXCELLENT SERVICE.

    MEGAN BENNIS

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      • Ig
        Ignored by Gerhard's Mar 13, 2009

        They promise things (e.g. rebates) - but they miraculously disappear. Terrible service and attitude. Check the number of complaints at BBB. Go somewhere else.

        0 Votes

      Gerhards Applianceowner not taking responsibility of dihwasher draw not installed propertly

      I called on 10-20-08 spoke to Richard (one of the owners) and told him I was upset that I own two Fisher/Paykel dish drawers. I was one of the original owners, one of the first people to own the drawers. The price was very expensive. They are now half of what I paid. The problem I had was that the top dish drawer always had a nice amount of water left in it. Gerhards said it was normal. Evey time I had to manually drain the drawer. Today, I had to replace a part. Not bad, the drawers are nine years old. I was told by a worker from Rush Appliance, who fixed the drawer, and replacing a part, that the drawers were not installed properly. He said I would need a plumber. The bottom drawer was emptying into the top drawer. How gross was that? I had dirty dish water being emptied into the top drawer. How unsanitary is that? When the top drawer was not working I was only using the bottom drawer. I couldn't understand why when I used the bottom drawer there was a lot of dirty water in the top drawer. I had to use a cup and empty the water out everytime I used the bottom drawer. That's why I always had water left in the top drawer. I called Gerhards with the worker in my home. The owner, Richard was quit annoyed with me. He said, "Lady your calling me about drawers that were installed 9 years ago. We sub contract the work out to plumbers. The guy is probably dead by now." I was appalled at his response. He said, " lady I have customers that are waiting." I said, " excuse me, but I am a customer who has bought not only two dish drawers but I purchased a washer and a dryer too." Instead of being concerned that maybe someone installed the drawers wrong an he was more concerned about charging me for a service call. I have no problem paying for a service call but, he was not interested in even helping me. I said, " what if they were installed improperly, then are you going to take care of me?" He basically said, " no." Well, I would never go into that store again. With customer service like that! That's terrible. I will go out of my way to let everybody know how I was treated. So, beware of going to Gerhards. The customer service is horrible. And futhermore, he is one of the owners!
      Sincerely, Marsha Arnold
      Ft. Washington, Pa. 19034
      [protected]@aol.com

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        • Me
          MEGAN Nov 05, 2008
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          I LOVE THAT STORE AND GET GREAT SERVICE THERE, SHE MUST HAVE CAUGHT THE OWNER ON A BAD DAY, I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF SUCH A THING.

          1 Votes
        • Ig
          Ignored by Gerhard's Mar 13, 2009

          Check BBB and go someplace other than Gerhard's...you'll be glad you did

          -1 Votes
        • Mi
          MikeWyznewski Aug 17, 2009

          Gerhard's has been my only source for appliances since I moved to the area almost 7 years ago. I've bought refrigerators, a dishwasher, 3 TVs, a microwave, etc (I could keep going) and never had a problem with a product, its installation, or the service I received.

          In fact, I've had quite pleasant experiences dealing with Gerhard's staff.

          I think it is vital for our communities to support small businesses, and wouldn't dream of going anywhere else to purchase appliances.

          1 Votes
        • Ge
          GerhardsAppliances Aug 24, 2009

          From all of us at Gerhard's Appliance & Home Theater, please accept our most humble apologies for your inconvenience. We by no means meant for this unfortunate incident, and are terribly sorry for any stress or anxiety it may have caused.

          In response to the needs of our customers, Gerhard's has created a new Customer Service Department, to ensure that any concern a customer may have can be addressed promptly for the highest level of service.

          We at Gerhard's are committed to our customers, and our making serious strides to better serve our valued patrons.

          0 Votes
        • No
          NonyMoose Oct 01, 2009

          I was at Gerhard's appliance last week in glenside and i got a good deal on a washer dryer unit for my house. the guy that helped me out was a bit older but spent some extra time on his computer and got me a unit that was brand new for way less than i thought i was going to pay. i think Gerhards is worth going to for homeappliances.

          0 Votes