Closet World Complaints & Reviews

Closet WorldContinuously cancel your installation date

We contracted with them through Home Depot to install garage cabinets. We were scheduled a month out. When our date came, they call and cancelled us for the following week after we had spent the entire weekend pulling everything out of the garage so they could work efficiently. One cabinet was measured incorrectly and needed to be replaced. I just had my third cancellation from them to get this fixed. Each time they push me back weeks. Seriously, I read the reviews on the internet before I jumped in with this and said "it won't happen to me." Well it did. I would never ever do business with this company again. Anyone that contracts with this company and doesn't get a penalty clause in the contract for not installing on the agreed upon date is asking for what they get. You have been warned!

Closet Worldgarage cabinets

We had a really bad experience with this company. Had them do some garage work. First, the designer (Maureen) came over and did the estimate... she spent over 3 hours here and wouldnt leave until she basically wore us down. They installed the wrong size cabinet in our garage so the things that were supposed to fit in wouldnt fit. It took over a month of multiple calls to the company which mostly went unanswered to finally get ahold of someone. So I asked them to fix it. They refused. They said we would have to buy a whole new cabinet at full price. It was their mistake but they wont fix it. So my advice is stay the hell away from this company. They are the worst! You can find websites full of negative reviews on this company. Oh, and when you call the company and press the number to get to customer service... it doesnt work! They rigged it so you cant even get customer service on the phone!

Closet WorldDon't ever use them!

recently had a closet installed by Closet World and initially was very pleased with the exception that one of the jewellery drawers I ordered was the wrong one. I had to reschedule another appt for this and in the meantime the top drawer kept opening on its own. So I called back and they told me they would take care of this when they bring the correct jewellery drawer. The day of my rescheduled appt they never showed up, I made 2 phone calls to the so called "supervisor" that day who never even returned my 2 calls. Several days later I got a message saying they have to reschedule our original appt(the one they never showed up to several days ago nor called me back about) because the installer was late with the prior appt and couldn't get to me(has anyone ever heard of a courtesy phone call perhaps?). Several days later when they finally show up I am greeted by someone who appears to be fresh from the border with limited English. He comes in and I asked if he had the jewellery drawer. He has this stupid look on his face and tells me "me know nothing about, only here to adjust drawer". HUH??? So now I have to get back on the phone and wait till the so called supervisor calls me back several hours later only to tell me he has no record of any jewellery drawer problem. Hello?? It was you I talked to about this! So here I go again doing their job and being my own customer advocate because obviously no one cares or communicates there. Finally he believes me about the drawer and we reschedule another appt for this. In the meantime my fresh from the border person finishes and I asked him what the original problem was with the drawer opening on its own. Again another stupid look on his face and says "me just fix it, me fix" I said I understand but what was the problem, again he says "me just fix, me fix". The future of this country is in serious trouble. DO NOT EVER USE CLOSET WORLD. Once they have your money their job is done. They do not care about the customer's satisfaction or follow ups on the job not done right initially. I am so sorry I ever hired these losers. They did deliver the jewellery drawer compartments the following week, I could not be home for this so I requested(spoke with the so called supervisor again for this) they leave it on the front porch which they did(only after a call on my cell phone from the same "supervisor" that day wondering why I wasn't answering the door). This is the same supervisor I spoke with only a few days prior telling him I would not be home and to please leave them on my front porch. After I got home later that day I went to put them in my drawer only to realize my fresh from the border person did not measure correctly and now I have jewellery compartments that don't even fit. I am so fed up with trying to deal with these idiots that I have no desire to call them back as I know nothing appropriate or professional will be done to correct the situation. The only thing I have going for me is the fact that I gave a friend of mine their name and number to redo their closets on a multi million dollar home and since this inappropriate unprofessional treatment I have received I have since told my friend not to use them and she is doing just that after hearing my saga. Save yourself a lot of grief and money, DO NOT USE CLOSET WORLD!!!

Closet WorldCustomer service stinks

I called to get a closet repaired, it was my 4th attempt - they transfer the call to numerous places, and ultimately you get someone's voicemail or they hang up on you all together. I spoke to a guy named Robert and he said my warranty was 7 years and I never received a copy of the warranty which he said he would fax to me. I still haven't received it. I then called back to get the baseboard moulding fixed - it fell right off the closet and the guy on the phone said it would cost $100 to get it fixed - I told him there were no nails in the base moulding to attach it to the closet but I never noticed because I didn't usually touch the base moulding on the side. The cleaners must have knocked it out of place - apparently the original installer just placed it there and didn't nail it in. The guy lied on the phone and said they don't nail the moulding to the closet - I asked him how it stays on if its not nailed or glued to the closet, and he hung up the phone on me.

Closet WorldInstallers never show up

December 16, 2005 I ordered a closet from Closet World the date of install was to be January 30, 2006. Closet World called & changed the date to February 4, 2006 start between 9:00 and 10:00. Installers arrive at 4:30. Installers had to leave because they forgot some of the materials. I looked in the closet and there was no backing on the closet. 6:00 PM the installers come back I told them they had to take the closet back because there was no backing on the closet.

Rescheduled install for March 10, 2006 between 11:00 and 1:00 installers never show up.

March 13, 2006 I called and asked to speak to a Supervisor Antoine Young who offered no apology for the installers not showing up. Antoine said he couldn’t reschedule for 4-5 weeks. I told Antione that considering we ordered back in December, that the installers failed to show up and had cost us a day by our staying home from work we thought 4-5 weeks was unacceptable.

April 13, 2006 Closet World leaves a message on our machine installers are at our home to install closet… we had no appointment…. no one called to schedule any appointment on April 13… our last communication was on March 13, 2006.

April 13 talked to Brandon Banks rescheduled for May 4, 2006 between 9:00 and 11:00 for install. Installers show up with closet in a van without protective covering or padding over it. It had green paint, scratches, chips and gouges on the wood, tool chest sitting on top of the wood. I took some pictures of the closet in the back of the truck & told installers I would not accept it.

I talked to Brandon Banks that same day he was very rude… I told Brandon that I would not accept the closet because of the condition of it… Brandon said Closet World has all my money… I own the closet what do I want to do with it… I said I don’t care what you do with it I will not accept it in that condition. I have not heard back from Closet World.

The reason I have waited so long to file a complaint is because I have been in the hospital twice because of stress and felt my health is more important. Now I am no longer stressed and hope to get a class action suit going.

CLOSET WORLD
2805 West Frye Road
Chandler, AZ 85224

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Closet WorldInstallation department is extremely rude and unprofessional

I have left several voicemails for supervisors at Closet World explaining my problem. Like all the other messages I have left for people at Closet world I never received a response.

I hired Closet World to design and install a Wall Unit in my home. Sandy the designer came out and based on my requests she designed a wall unit. I accepted the design and Sandy drew up a contract outlining what we agreed upon. We both signed the contract on 7-13-05 and I paid $973. Installation was scheduled for 7-28-05 between 11 and 2. The installers came out and partially installed the wall unit. I was informed that they didn't have everything they needed and that they would call me to schedule a return visit to fix the workmanship and complete the job. I wasn't required to pay the balance of $973 at that time because the job was incomplete. Closet World has yet to complete the job outlined in my contract. Even though the job is incomplete I have received several threatening calls saying I will be/have been sent to collections for an outstanding balance of $973.00. I never received the call to schedule a return visit. I began calling the Installation department. After several unreturned calls Justin called me back and said that the designer made a mistake and that they can't put in video drawers. He was rude and not helpful at all. I continued to call the Installation Department trying to get some answers. I left messages for Justin, Lorne, Alex, Gary and Greg but received no response. I called Sandy and she came back out to check on the wall unit because the quality is inadequate. There is visible glue, miss cut boards and missing hardware, shelves, video drawers and medium grommet. Sandy was shocked at the workmanship. She took pictures and wrote up all the problems. She faxed the information to Lorne and she left me a voicemail saying that he Lorne is supposed to call me, he never did. I have received absolute horrible customer service, countless unreturned phone calls, unwillingness to give me supervisor information and unfulfilled follow-up on Justin, Lorne, and Alex's parts.

Once I left a message for Gary Chaney I got a call from Paul. I'm still getting the run around from Paul because two visits have been scheduled and no one showed and I didn't receive a phone call. I spoke with Paul today and inquired who was above you. He tells me that no one was but the owner is Frank someone but he's not his boss according to Paul. I told Paul I would think the person that owns the company is everyone in the company's boss. I asked for spelling of names, he put me on hold and hung up on me.

I am extremely unhappy with the customer service I have received. It should not take a year to get adequate customer service. The installation department is extremely rude and unprofessional.

Thank you for your assistance.

Company details:
Closet World - 3860 Capitol Ave. Whittier, CA [protected]

Closet WorldCloset installation

On April 3, 2006 I signed an agreement with Closet World to install (3) closets in my house for the amount of $8,012.00. I gave a deposit of $4006.00 and authorized the charge against my Visa card. Closet World scheduled the installation of the (3) closets for May 16, 2006.
On April 10, 2006 Closet World charged a total of 4,178.50 to my Visa Card.

On May 16, 2006 the installer from Las Vegas didn't arrive until 2:30 in the afternoon and then brought the wrong material. First he went to Home Depot. He returned a few hours later. He then had to return to the warehouse for the right material. He then informed me that they didn't have the Wild Cherry melamine in stock for the 2nd bedroom closet and would have to reschedule the installation of that closet. I called Antoine Young, Closet World Installation Supervisor and asked why we weren't told previously that all the material weren't available because we would have rescheduled the entire job. He didn't have an answer. The installer then proceeded to build my hall closet and when it was done realized to had to be torn out and redone because he hadn't followed the design plus he didn't bring the correct accessories. I called Antoine Young, Closet World Installation Supervisor and asked if a Supervisor could come out and verify the work was being done correctly and to make sure all the materials and accessories were correct. He said he would send one out. The supervisor never showed up.

May 17, 2006. No installer and no Supervisor.

May 18, 2006 The installer returned to build the 1st bedroom closet. He completed most of the 1st bedroom closet but still needed to build the hamper. The hall closet still needs to be redone. I again called Antoine Young and asked when the Supervisor was going to arrive. He said 12:00. The Supervisor never arrived. I called Antoine again. He said the Supervisor would be out. Still no Supervisor

May 19, 2006 Antoine called me and informed me that they were going to charge my credit card an additional $2,500.00 dollars. I told him that's not what we agreed to and the terms and condition of the agreement didn't state that. That I was left with (2) incomplete closets and one that hadn't been started on. I demanded a Supervisor come out and see what had been done. What I thought was a Supervisor arrived. His name is Shalee (from California) and he made notes on the work order's of what needed to be redone. I explained to him why I wasn't going to pay the additional $2,500.00. That we gave his company $4,000.00 in good faith over a month ago and we are left with one incomplete closet, one that needs to be torn out and redone and one that hasn't even been started. He understood why I wasn't going to pay another $2,500.00. He said I needed to reschedule with Antoine for the completion of the closets and the necessary redo's. I asked if the hall closet could be redone now since it wasn't a material problem. He said to schedule everything for the same time. Antoine rescheduled the job for June 6, 2006 and assured me all the material would be available.

May 31, 2006 Antoine Young confirmed the materials were available and would be installed on June 6, 2006. I reminded him of the material and the work that was to be redone. I asked him if he had the revised work order. He didn't seem to have it until I started reading from my copy. Thank goodness I have a copy machine at home and was able to make a copy when Shalee was here. Antoine confirmed the redo and said it would take 1 day to complete the job

June 5, 2006 I received a call confirming the installation and was told they would start between 12:00 and 3:00. I left a message with Antoine explaining my concern with completing the job in one day when the installers weren't going to start till 12:00 or 3:00. Antoine never returned my call.

June 6, 2006 arrived and a different installer came out for a service call. He said he was told we had all the material. I told him we didn't and he took one look at my husbands closet not even started and called his Supervisor Justin. He told Justin that this wasn't a service call but a total new installation. During his conversation with Justin it became apparent that the Wild Cherry melamine hadn't even been ordered. Installer told me not to speak to Antoine but call Justin. The installer tore out the hall closet and rebuilt it. I am very happy with the results. My bedroom on the other hand isn't finished. The installer wouldn't replace material that was chipped and said he would but a wood filler in them. It doesn't look good. I'll deal with this later. Still waiting for backing and shelving for first bedroom closet and husbands closet hasn't been started. Installer requested another payment of $1,000.00. I told him no and that we will pay the balance when the work is completed. Justin rescheduled the job for June 28, 2006.
I called Justin and asked what was going on. He said he wasn't aware that Wild Cherry melamine was missing and during there morning meeting it hadn't even been brought up. I asked for Brandon Banks, Installation District Manager phone number but was told he was on vacation. He gave me the name of his manager Ira and asked if he could call me the next day after he found out what happened to the missing Wild Cherry melamine. I will wait until noon for his call and then I'm calling Ira and Wayne Luek.

On June 28, 2006 received a call from Closet World notifying me they wouldn't be out today and needed to reschedule. I spoke Brandon Banks, Installation District Manager and told him it was time they got it together. He hasn't called back.

  • Valerie Apr 23, 2008

    I wish we had looked online to see all this stuff! I went with Closet World because we knew the district manager personally. I guess it doesn't matter who you know, when the job ***, it ***.

    My husband and I had our master bedroom closet done. Well, I shouldn't say done, it still not done as we speak. Presently all of our clothes are still all over the place because the job wasn't done.

    On April 19th, 2008 the closets should have been finished. We didn't get anything fancy, and still they gave excuses about how they didn't have the material ready when they came for the instillation. They only had the materials for my closet. My closet was set to get done, except that it was measured incorrectly and so even my closet wasn't done. They have set up another appointment to come out next week to finish my husband's closet, except that no one has called us yet and so I doubt t will be done.

    But the part that pissed us off the most was when my closet was up, we noticed that the material that was used was the same cheap stuff you would find at Home depot for fraction of the price, just like we had done a few years ago for another closet.

    We spent 5000 bucks for stuff that we could have bought and had a handy man install for 1000-1500 bucks the most.

    Don't throw away your money. If you are going to go with closet world, take my advice, go to home depot, have them measure for you, have them cut for you and have a handy man install and buy yourself 3000-4000 dollars worth of new clothes!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Feb 09, 2010

    We had a really bad experience with this company. Had them do some garage work. First, the designer (Maureen) came over and did the estimate... she spent over 3 hours here and wouldnt leave until she basically wore us down. They installed the wrong size cabinet in our garage so the things that were supposed to fit in wouldnt fit. It took over a month of multiple calls to thecompany which mostly went unanswered to finally get ahold of someone. So I asked them to fix it. They refused. They said we would have to buy a whole new cabinet at full price. It was their mistake but they wont fix it. So my advice is stay the *** away from this company. They are the worst! You can find websites full of negative reviews on this company. Oh, and when you call the company and press the number to get to customer service... it doesnt work! They rigged it so you cant even get customer service on the phone!

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Garry Jul 20, 2016

    Had an installation scheduled for 11/24, got word on 11/21 that installers would arrive between 3-5pm. Got a call 11/24 at 4pm saying installer was running late and would be here between 5:30 - 6pm. No one ever came and no one called again last night. I left two messages for them last night.

    Got a call around 8:45 this morning with appologies and an offer to install on Thursday 12/4!!! My clothes are all on my floor because Closet World requires that you empty out the closet they will be working on before they arrive. Emptying it out took about an hour and a half, and the installation supervisor suggested that I put it all back and take it out again next week!!! So far, I have wasted 5.5 hours on this company and am very unsatisfied with the customer service I have received. I gave a 50% deposit when I placed the order.

    0 Votes