Bulldog Broadband Complaints & Reviews

Bulldog BroadbandScammers

Despite the telecom regulator CISAS awarding me £600 which it called 'substantial compensation' for the terrible service I've received I have yet to see a penny of it and I am now going to find out whether I should sue CISAS or Bulldog.

Bulldog has lied to me and to the regulator by telling them that my accounts have been closed. They haven't. I've been onto their website today and they are still intending to bill me. I don't know how many times they have assured CISAS they have closed the accounts but in the last couple of weeks I have had two emails telling me they were taking more money from my accounts which were closed last March. they've been doing this EVERY MONTH and there is NOTHING I or the regulator CISAS can do to stop them.

The laughable part about all this is that the allegedly senior executive at Bulldog who is supposed to be sorting all this out is none other than the man who offered me a derisory £20 earlier in the year.

The regulator has told me Bulldog has been threatened with being struck off the CISAS scheme and reported to Ofcom.

I've asked when CISAS intends to carry out this apparently empty threat because Bulldog is running rings around the regulator.

I've told CISAS I would never have accepted £600 compensation if I had realised that firstly it wouldn't be paid and secondly that I am continuing to have exactly the same problems for months on end.

CISAS is useless in my opinion. I'm going to find out who runs it and tell them so.

In the meantime, if anyone knows the name of the CEO of Pipex, Bulldog's parent firm, and his contact address and fax number please let me have it as I've asked Pipex for it repeatedly and they have failed to respond.

  • Za
    Zack May 09, 2009

    I ordered a Bulldog Broad Band on 9th Jan. 2008. I got the connecting accessorise on 19th Jan. 2008 by post. I connected the BroadBand next day 20th Jan. 2008, as soon as I connected your bulldog broadband my computer crashed due to virus and my computer was totally dameged. I immediately called at your customer service and spoke to one Ms. Fortune. and explain my problem but she couldn't help me on this matter she say's to me the bradband is all right I was using AOL dialup internet service since a long time I didn't get any problem but as soon as I disconnect AOL and started Bulldog my computer crashed due to virus.When I told her about this she was helpless so I asked to cancell this service and she said it will done and I when I asked my cacellation reference and whether I should send the modem back she said there is no need for this and she said it will be done in 30day's. she said I will get information after 30 day's.

    After 30 days I get email regarding a payment, when I mailed back questioning this they said it was misake and ignore this bill. In the mean time I went back to AOL dialup and I have no problem with that. Then I decided to take AOL Broadband, here I was told to get MAC code from you. I contacted you regarding this, I was told they will send it by post. But I did not receive anything. I follow-up this matter but I did not get any help. Then I went online in your web site (May 21st & 22nd) and was given 2 ref. nos. BDR910463X and BDR912271X saying you will contact me but didn't get any contact. After some day's I called you and asked about the MAC code and here I was told that there is no MAC code on my tel. line and they gave me 2 seize date 24-02-08 & 25-02-08.

    Then I contacted my BT service and explained the problem and they advice to find out if there are any markers on my line. I then conveyed this information to you this time I was told that my markers will on July 3rd. Today ( 01-07-08) I received a post from you to pay 119.51 GBP.

    This is outrageous . First of all due to your broadband my Laptop was distorted and I had to buy other one secondly I disconnected & Cancelled Bulldog Broadband within hours of Installation thirdly you blocked Telephone line I couldn't access any Broadband for 6 months fourthly your customer service is one of the worst services I have come across. All the time I was contacting them they never mention my detailed status or any thing regarding my bill. It look like you were purposely prolonging my problem.

    This is really cheating the customer's, either fully cancel the bill and disconnect me from Bulldog or I will have to go for legal action against you.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jessper Oct 16, 2009

    On March 3 I had an email from Bulldog telling me my bill was ready to pay and to see it on their website. Not only did I cancel my account well over a year ago but I've made two successful claims against them through the regulator CISAS since then. I'd suggest the person posting below also complains to CISAS.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    ki87 Aug 27, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have just payed a £65 bill to a 'debt recovery' agency representing Bulldog Broadband. During my 6 month contract with Bulldog I had many connection problems which meant 'no broadband' connection.
    I wasted so much time on the telephone with Customer Service that eventually I visited their offices in London. After waiting over an hour in reception to be seen, I had a few minutes with a particularly defensive staff member. Again, no joy!
    The Customer Service was appalling, the connection had far too many problems and I have just been billed (again) for something I have already payed for. (over two years ago)
    I returned to Cable (now Virgin) as soon as I could as there are no hidden charges as there are with Bulldog Broadband.

    0 Votes

Bulldog BroadbandTransferring to other suppliers of Broadband

Bulldog for me, has become one of the worst companies that I have ever had the displeasure to deal with and I am now on the verge of taking this company to court.

Earlier in 2007 I started the transfer process to move from Bulldog Broadband to another provider. I contacted the new supplier and placed my order - on the same day I phoned Bulldog Broadband using the telephone number provided on their website and spoke to a guy that loosely grasped English. The line sounded as if I was calling one of the Apollo spacecraft from the 1960's, it was so quiet and it wasn't helped by the constant crackling and the fact that their customer service agent chose to whisper. Morse code would have been easier.

I managed to communicate to their adviser that I was switching supplier and that I needed my MAC code and to confirm my intention to cancel - to which the adviser whispered something along the lines of having to wait 5 working days and then phone back. Thinking the 5 working days was just another Bulldog gimmick - I chose to ignore it and I emailed their customer services to get the code directly and it was delivered the next day - a part of the service that I was impressed with.

I have to admit that the quality of the Broadband Service provided was infinitely better than the problematic Tiscali service that I had previously been using - however the Bulldog Customer service had previously let me down (and I had chosen to let this go ... until now) by failing to action my Direct Debit instruction - so that payments would come from my bank and not from my credit card - a failing which will come back to haunt them.

So, the transfer onto the new supplier happened on the day my new provider said it would - my Bulldog Broadband service ceased and within only five minutes I was able to input the new settings onto the router and I was up and running with the new supplier. 5 mins without internet...no problems I thought to myself.

Days went by and the new service was faultless. Then during mid-March a bill dropped into my mailbox indicating that Bulldog Broadband wanted me to pay for an entire months broadband service after the service had been terminated. This was stupid and I emailed them to tell them so.

About a week later a response to my email came back which apologized for the inconvenience and that if I got my new supplier to tell Bulldog when they switched the service with the MAC, they would backdate the charges to a point that represented my usage with Bulldog. It was also pointed out that unless I did this - they would need 30 days notice.

Any right minded individual would think it not impossible for a company dealing in telecommunications to be able to see from their systems when a line became inactive or transferred out - and also for that matter be able to see which lines were about to transfer onto their service - I told them that I had told them over the telephone that I was wanting to cancel and get my MAC code and it really wasn't my problem if their agent had not recorded this.

Several emails later, they are still telling me that I need to give 30 days notice - although the service has now been transferred for more than a month - as has this complaint gone on for more than a month.

I've now told Bulldog that they are to only bill me for service that I have had with them and if they don't take this into consideration - they can expect a chargeback from my Credit Card company - if further charges appear, the matter will be going to the magistrates court.

If you are having problems transferring to Bulldog - use your cooling off period to get out of it while you can.

  • La
    Lauchlan McCutcheon May 16, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You are lucky.

    I went through the same procedure as you, with switching over and all.

    Yet i had my payments set up via direct debit and Bulldog still billed me for two months after i canceled the service.

    I have now sent over ten emails to get a refund as well as having phoned them up 7 times now and each time they promise to send me a refund and jut dont do it.

    They have owed me £50 for about 8 months now and still the issue continues.

    I am type this while waiting on the line to put in call number 8 to them and when i put the phone down i am going to walk into a police station and get a crime reference number. Obviously Trading Standards have not been able to help so i am at the mercy of these ###ing ###.

    Bulldog you suck the gunk of dead men's balls!!!

    0 Votes

Bulldog BroadbandThis company is disaster!

I had very bad experiences with Bulldog that I though I should share with people or if possible executives of the Bulldog organization. Here is a brief detail of the complaint that I wrote to Bulldog:

Greetings,
It seems as if every time I had used the customer service for bulldog I had to resort to your complaint system. I understand that existing residential customers is least of your priorities, but getting a customer to speak with a supervisor to help escalate a few issues would not hurt your organization. I have been trying to get my connection moved to a new address and put a request for the same on the September 20th. The customer service representative told me that it would take up to two weeks to get an installation date. Then after two weeks I spoke with another customer service representative and I was told that it would take 2-4 weeks to get the date. Today, I spoke with another customer service person, and I was told it could take up to six weeks. Is there anything that can be done inside of your organization to satisfy your customer?

I am in urgent need for my new connection and I am not able to get anybody to escalate this. This is my final resort to see if your complaint system is effective enough to resolve my issues.

The following are my details:

Reference Number: bdol6947543

Order placed on September 20th 2006

I hope to get some sort of reply or resolution on this.

Thanks,

-Ranjan Soni

The customer service is so poor that they would not let you talk to a supervisor regardless of the urgency of the situation. Every time you talk to their customer service representative you would hear a different rule or difference excuse. This is not my first time that I had to resort to their complaint system. When I initially got their broadband six months back, their connection was faulty and it took my several days to get through to anybody. Their technical team could not figure out anything and every time you called, they told you to wait two days. I think there is something very seriously wrong with the customer service of this company that needs to addressed and publicized. I would not have resorted to any of this, if they had some escalation process for their customers. I think they do not care about their existing customers, only when you are a new customer that they listen to you. They have outsourced their customer service to locations where people have no clue what they are talking about. They do not know the company policies and make up facts just get you out of the line. In some cases, they even hang up on you. This is a disaster of a company to deal with (at least the customer service part of it) so please be careful before you enter into any contract with them. There are several other alternatives available that you can try where the situation is not that bad.

Location: London, UK

Company: Bulldog Broadband

Hope this helps someone!

  • Ge
    George Aug 08, 2006
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm writing this mail regarding a bulling by Bulldog. I'm sending you a letter which I send to Bulldog complaints centre which gives you a breaf description of the problem I'm facing. The following is the letter I send to Bulldog Complaints.

    TO WHOT IT MAY CONCERN

    I ordered a Bulldog Broad Band on 9th Jan. 2006. I got the connecting accessorise on 19th Jan. 2006 by post. I connected the BroadBand next day 20th Jan. 2006, as soon as I connected your bulldog broadband my computer crashed due to virus and my computer was totally dameged. I immediately called at your customer service and spoke to one Ms. Fortune. and explain my problem but she couldn't help me on this matter she say's to me the bradband is all right I was using AOL dialup internet service since a long time I didn't get any problem but as soon as I disconnect AOL and started Bulldog my computer crashed due to virus.When I told her about this she was helpless so I asked to cancell this service and she said it will done and I when I asked my cacellation reference and whether I should send the modem back she said there is no need for this and she said it will be done in 30day's. she said I will get information after 30 day's.

    After 30 days I get email regarding a payment, when I mailed back questioning this they said it was misake and ignore this bill. In the mean time I went back to AOL dialup and I have no problem with that. Then I decided to take AOL Broadband, here I was told to get MAC code from you. I contacted you regarding this, I was told they will send it by post. But I did not receive anything. I follow-up this matter but I did not get any help. Then I went online in your web site (May 21st & 22nd) and was given 2 ref. nos. BDR910463X and BDR912271X saying you will contact me but didn't get any contact. After some day's I called you and asked about the MAC code and here I was told that there is no MAC code on my tel. line and they gave me 2 seize date 24/02/06 & 25/02/06.

    Then I contacted my BT service and explained the problem and they advice to find out if there are any markers on my line. I then conveyed this information to you this time I was told that my markers will on July 3rd. Today ( 01/07/06) I received a post from you to pay 119.51 GBP.

    This is outrageous . First of all due to your broadband my Laptop was distorted and I had to buy other one secondly I disconnected & Cancelled Bulldog Broadband within hours of Installation thirdly you blocked Telephone line I couldn't access any Broadband for 6 months fourthly your customer service is one of the worst services I have come across. All the time I was contacting them they never mention my detailed status or any thing regarding my bill. It look like you were purposely prolonging my problem.

    This is really cheating the customer's, either fully cancel the bill and disconnect me from Bulldog or I will have to go for legal action against you.

    Thanking you,

    George

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jamie Jones Dec 15, 2006
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Its not the company's fault, its your crappy computer. you have a computer that is susceptible to viruses, and you obviously didn't take proper precautions.

    Don't blame the bed because you got an std!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mitch Jun 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi,

    Im with the terrible bulldog broadband internet "service" provider.. since being with them ive started to receive every piece of mail going telling me ive won this competition or i can claim this or i can get a cheap loan etc etc... you may think this is nothing to do with bulldog.. BUT on my sign up to bulldog they spelt my name incorrectly... and all these "YOUVE WON 1 MILLION EUROS ON THE SPANISH LOTTERY!" letter have the same mispelt name...

    Anyone else at bulldog received these??

    0 Votes
  • De
    DEano Jun 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    took them 3 week after my connection date to get connected kept saying the fault was at my end and every time I phone them (after eventually getting throw) it was the same old thing "try a new connection" I had about 11 new connections in my network places ,and the fault was with them in the end. They never phone u back u have to chase them. there technical support are utterly useless, they all read from the card they are given for when u phone them no training and u are lucky if u get someone that speaks English u can understand. There technician are just as bad 1 said "u need Q.O.S. (quality of service) installed that y u can’t connect... There billing department are in Molter with only e-mails to contact the rest of the company that’s in the UK. They forget to take there own payment and then take all the money in 1 lump sum witch can make overdraw in the bank then receive the bank charge 4 being over draw!! Bulldog... Should be called [email protected]*l?!##t

    p.s. I got cut off so i phoned them up and paid the full bill there and then over the phone.on the web site it said reconnection will take up to 24 hours but in some cases up to 48 hour... after 48 hour not connecting so i phoned them they say in the next 24. This happened for the next three weeks until i ask for my mac code and left and now with eclipse speed not so good but there customer service is so far so good.

    p.ss
    Now 3 month after I've left bulldog there asking for the last 3 month money and a disconnection fee totaling £91. They can swivel for it i will fight them all the way... there is no way I'm paying for a service I did not receive!.

    These people are conning people every ware theres complaints all over the web, there no better than a scam artists or a petty criminal.

    We need to make a stand! Trading standards here I come!

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem