BT Complaints & Reviews

BT — BT: unscrupulous behaviour and not honouring the terms of their own CCRA Guarantee

I have the distinct impression of being abused by BT, a company I have been with for many years. It seem...

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
BTcharged £199 for box

i kept bt vision for a year and then cancelled it, it was absolute rubbish, now they have charged me £199 for the bt vision box, which when i rang up to cancel i asked them if they wanted the box back they said no . they are now taking £100 direct debit a month, when i spoke to them about the charge they wernt interested they just wanted their money, after a long conversation on the phone telling them i wasnt paying it the lady said to send the box back and after they receive it they will TRY and take the £199 off my bill . BT are a joke

Comment Guidelines

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    2 Responses
    • Am
      amberleyadams Nov 04, 2010

      There [censor]s i hate BT there scam artists n they make me sick! ive just got the new BTvision put in and broadband n phone line and after one day there isnt any channels on i rang BT n they sed do you have a cabel i sed i dnt no turns out i dnt but they sed that my TV was fine with it n they sed awhh no you need a cabel n it was going to cast to much so i asked if i could cancel n they sed it wud cost £50 ! so after much thought i dicided to just pay it n get it over with so that i wudnt ever have to talk to them again so i rang back up n it was a different person n he sed it would cost £611 ! to cancell :O so it looks like im stuck with no TV they shud be put in jail they make me sick !!!

      0 Votes
    • St
      Stoprightnow Oct 28, 2009

      I can't believe I am having to do this again. It has only been three days since my last E.mail! On Wednesday I sent this:

      On the tenth of February of this year, I attempted to set up a direct debit with BT. I was quoted £74.47 and indeed recieved written conformation of this. To my horror, when the direct debit was requested, it was £113.50. I have no record of owing this to BT. The funds were not available to pay this as I did not expect it, so I recalled the direct debit immediately. The bank explained that I would not be charged. I then phoned BT to explain the situation and attempt to remedy it. I was connected to a lady that I can only assume was not in Great Briatain, who didn't understand my problem. I attempted to make a phone call a few days later, but my service had been restricted. I phoned BT immediately to attemp the correct payment and authorised £74.47 to be paid. I was told that this was fine and set up a new direct debit of £35. A few days later, I recieved a letter from BT to say that the payment had bounced and they woulod cut off my service if they did not recieve payment in ten days. The amount quoted was, yet again, £113.50. I phoned immediately and spoke to a very rude man who again did not seem to be in Britain. He was adament that I needed to pay £113.50. I spoke to my bank who confirmed that despite only authorising £74.47, BT had attempted a payment of £113.50. I had also now been charged £38 for a failed payment. Eventually I was able to speak to a British adviser at BT who was very appologetic as there was no record of £113.50 being owed or agreed. She advised that BT would possibly refund my charge if I sent a copy of my bank statement and a letter to one of their offices. Unfortunately in this day and age I am uncomfortable with sending those details through the post but I am told there is no other option. I have since paid £50 to BT as due to the charge I could no longer afford £74.47 and I attempted to set up a new direct debit of £70 per month. Unfortunately due to error either with my bank or indeed BT, the direct debit has been cancelled. I have spoken to my bank today (01.04.09) who have been very helpful, and to BT who have told me they are sorry and that when NATWEST confirm that the payment is not leaving my account, she will ring me and take the payment by card and set up a new direct debit. I would like my £38 back as the error is entirely BT's, I would also like a written appology for the stress this has caused me and my family. My son is only four months old and reacts negatively to a bad atmosphere and I most certainly do not need this as a new mother. Please let the stress end!

      Since then I have spoken to a woman at the complaints centre who gave me complaints reference number: [protected] and said that if I faxed the statement, my money would be refunded. I did so yesterday and have the reciept. I was called yesterday evening and was told that £38 would be deducted from my account ballance. I was perfectly satisfied with this. However, this morning, I find my service restricted and despite all promises from 'advisors', I have had no call to pay the outstanding ballance, which should now be £32, and no offer to set up a new direct debit. What's worse is a man in another non-britsh call centre now insists that I owe over £200. This is sickeningly innaccurate. Unfortunately, the two offices never seem to communicate. I am by no means racist, but it would be nice to speak to a british worker, in a British office to sort this out. Despite the company name 'British telecom' this seems to be an impossibility. I am paying BT for a service (or at least trying to!) Why am I being treated so badly?

      0 Votes

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    BTBT Vision Box

    Having fallen ill 6 weeks ago, I decided to cut down on expenditure due to sick pay only. BT Vision was one of these to cut out till work was resumed. 5 weeks after cutting of my Vision, my FREEview stopped working on my Vision box 03/10/11. After several calls to BT, it appears my Vision box only lets me watch FREEview if I Pay to subscribe. They told me to plug the arial into my TV and that will work!! (my TV is 6 yrs old). I now have no TV to watch and still off sick. So I now have to buy a digi box. THANKS BT FOR SAVING ME MONEY AND BEING A LOYAL 20 YR CUSTOMER. So if your thinking of cancelling or going with BT, make sure you have a seperate digi box as theirs won't work.

    Comment Guidelines

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Submit
      1 Response
      • 1v
        1VIP Nov 30, 2011
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        Bt are the worst company ever. I have had similar problems to you except mine have lasted over 6 moths. Corporate fraud at its best!

        0 Votes

      The complaint has been investigated and
      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
      Resolved
      BTTerrible company

      I was mis-sold bt web clicks on the premise it would guarantee me 80 genuine contacts per month. To date i have received none. When i complained to customer support i was told i had received the web clicks. Clicks are not genuine leads. I was told by the rep that they must be "genuine leads". I have spoken to the rep and he agrees with me 100%.

      BT say i am held to a contract for 12 months. So far i have paid 2 months by direct debit and i want to claim this back.

      Comment Guidelines

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        Submit
        2 Responses
        • Ih
          Ihatebtcustomerstreet May 05, 2010

          I have just had a phone call from Btcustomerstreet to say the cheque for my full refund is in the post.
          How did that happen you ask? I had to take out a small claim out online the same as Bridget2009 Btcustomerstreet are going to pay it all back and fees and interest at 8%. And they now have a judgment against them. Go on and do it, they don’t defend it, and you will win automatically
          www.moneyclaim.gov.uk/csmco2/index.jsp

          0 Votes
        • Ih
          Ihatebtcustomerstreet Jan 06, 2010

          BT Customer Street — Con

          There is a pressure group looking into the tactics used by BT customer street.

          0 Votes

        The complaint has been investigated and
        resolved to the customer's satisfaction
        Resolved
        BTScam charges

        Been with BT for nearly 2 years and moved house called up BT and moved my line accross that was all fine then i rang the company as i wanted to see about getting my broadbasnd and line charges down as i was paying over £37 per month just for the broadband and wanted to get bt vision, called them up and thay said i couldnt have vision as my area is not strong enough for it so i said fair enough but as sky will offer full package absaloutly everything for £50 and that was full sky, broadband and phone. they then said i couldnt leave as i have a new contract with them which started when i moved which no-one told me, so i said i was leaving and gave them notice, i then recieved a red letter so i called them up and offered to pay one month but they wanted to charge me £170, i then recieved a debt agency letter saying i now had to pay them. i rung bt and they wouldnt help, i dont think this is fair as i wasnt told anything like that and they couldnt offer me the things i needed and charging me a fortune.

        Comment Guidelines

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          Submit
          6 Responses
          • Ki
            Kirck Aug 02, 2016

            Rang BT on 14th January 2009 with the intention of having my telephone line reconnected to BT. The cost was £122.33p This amount was taken out of my account the following day. A few day later I decided that I was going to stay with my current supplier and rang BT to cancel and asked for my money back. I also sent a letter to confirm my cancellation. Someone from BT did ring me to find out why I had cancelled. Since then I have rung BT several times on their help line which turns out to be a call centre in INDIA. Each time I rang I was given different reasons why my money had not been returned to me. I then wrote a letter to a Mr Nigel Stagg, Managing Director, Customer Services to enlicit his help. He has not replied to me. I then wrote an email to BT at their residential services. I had a reply in which it states that they can find that there is credit of £122.33p on my account and that they have "raised an urgent request to their offline billing department to refund this amount and that I will receive this amount once my final bill is produced"I have never had a bill from BT so what are they talking about? I dont think that BT care about anything or anybody. I once read ina book called "How to complain and get results" that BTs Customer Services departments and help lines are more akin to brick walls (good for banging your head against but little else) I have now found out just how true that remark is, but I will battle on.

            0 Votes
          • 1v
            1VIP Aug 02, 2016
            This comment was posted by
            a verified customer
            Verified customer

            BT are by far the worst Telecoms firm ever.

            0 Votes
          • Ju
            Juliana2346 Aug 02, 2016

            Had a BT line under my dads name, as I lived with both my parents. My dad passed away in september, the day after he died I phoned all the companies to inform them, and get everything changed to my mums name, including BT. They said they had just sent a bill so to ignore it, and wait for one under my mums name, so we did. However, we got no bill under mums name, instead we got a letter from BT saying they were charging us a late payment fee for not paying the bill. I phoned them up, explained I was told not to pay it, they said well we should have paid dads bill, I told them I wanted the late payment charge removed (when asked why, I explained a dead man could not exactly go to the post office to pay a bill lol!) They agreed and took the charge off, I said I wanted future bills paid by direct debit so they said they would send me a mandate. Did I get it? No, instead I got another charge for not paying my next bill by direct debit. I oly asked for a mandate because the last two times I had tried to set up a dd over the phone, it never seemed to happen and I am frankly sick of paying them an extra £4.50 a quarter lol! Anyway, eventually got another mandate, sent it back, and got a letter saying that because I AM NOT MY DAD, my dd cant be set up. Apparantly, my deceased father has got to authorise the account to be set up with a dd, and not my mums whose name the account is supposed to under (and the last bill was sent to!) This letter was addressed to the estate of my father! They know he is dead! How useless can one company be? I thought they couldnt get any worse. I was very wrong.

            0 Votes
          • Bu
            Butterfly Lullaby Apr 18, 2011

            My partner decided to switch to Sky. I was paying BT by direct debit. I get a letter in March saying I owe £27.91 and a threat saying it will go to debt people. I send the cheque straight away. Today I get a letter from the debt people saying I owe £34.89. I call my bank, they confirm the payment for BT went through in March. Seriously is there any need to treat customers like this. Now I have had to waste time calling BT and the Debt people and have to write letters as well. I think I should bill them for wasting my time. As for my partner how dare he open up my post and not give me the original bill that was dated in February! This just shows you that when you live with someone you have no control over what they do, so should not get blamed for things that are not in our control! Funny thing I got a call last week asking me to go back to BT as they missed me. Thanks guys but no thanks, your customer care has destroyed my day off!

            0 Votes
          • Aw
            Awesomean Oct 30, 2009

            I don't know where to start to be honest. This has been going on for over seven months... To summarise, I cancelled a BT account at an old address when I moved, it had credit on it so I requested a refund. Apparently they could only do this via cheque despite me having another account with them for a new address. Surprise, the cheque never arrived.

            I called and was told another one would be sent... it didnt arrive either. A third call and an email and one was sent. I lodged it - it bounced as BT had stopped it!!!

            I email and call stating thatI want the money paid into my bank account details. I won't even go into the phone calls except to say that no one should try and get any sense through their call centre. I think at this point they just ignored my email so I called again. At this point its 6 months in and I'm moving again so I need to cancel my other BT account... Unfortunately for me there was credit on this one as well.

            I had to call from my mobile as I was out at work, i was assured a refund for the credit (on my recent account) had been processed and that the account would be cancelled after... I was then transferred approx 7 times, hung up on, shouted at etc all the excellent customer service things you would expect from BT whilst trying to confirm if my money had been returned to me for the old account. I had no luck but it cost me fifteen pounds for the privelidge of making the call!

            I checked today... no refund I have emailed for updates on both accounts but now they dont even bother and reply. I don't know what to do anymore - they now owe me about one hundred and fifty pounds. I will never ever use them again, I just wish there was some way to get the cash they owe me.

            0 Votes
          • Sm
            Smitters Oct 19, 2009

            I joined BT in December and str8 awa the order was mucked up, had to wait another week for the order to be completed, from day 1 i had problems with the telephone line and broadband, after many hours and i am talking many many hours on phone to technical support which is in india the problem is still not sorted but they want me to pay for the full service. I have cancelled my vision but they say i still have to pay for the connection of this, I have now been told that my hub is faulty and they want to send a replacement which i will not accept the replacement hub i have said i want an alternative. but they said they don't do them, and if i don'rt accept the replacement, i will have to provide my own alternative from the market for which they will not give any tech support if anything goes wrong, because its not their equipment. Also the technical support call centre in India have no clue as to what they are doing, was constantly cut off time after time, was on phone one night for 5 hours constant to them and still not got anything sorted. They are rude to customers and don't really give a damn about the customer just there profits.

            0 Votes

          We are here to help

          • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
          • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
          • Honest and unbiased reviews
          • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

          The complaint has been investigated and
          resolved to the customer's satisfaction
          Resolved
          BTUnauthorized charges

          On the tenth of February of this year, I attempted to set up a direct debit with BT. I was quoted £74.47 and indeed recieved written conformation of this. To my horror, when the direct debit was requested, it was £113.50. I have no record of owing this to BT. The funds were not available to pay this as I did not expect it, so I recalled the direct debit immediately. The bank explained that I would not be charged. I then phoned BT to explain the situation and attempt to remedy it. I was connected to a lady that I can only assume was not in Great Briatain, who didn't understand my problem. I attempted to make a phone call a few days later, but my service had been restricted. I phoned BT immediately to attemp the correct payment and authorised £74.47 to be paid. I was told that this was fine and set up a new direct debit of £35. A few days later, I recieved a letter from BT to say that the payment had bounced and they woulod cut off my service if they did not recieve payment in ten days. The amount quoted was, yet again, £113.50. I phoned immediately and spoke to a very rude man who again did not seem to be in Britain. He was adament that I needed to pay £113.50. I spoke to my bank who confirmed that despite only authorising £74.47, BT had attempted a payment of £113.50. I had also now been charged £38 for a failed payment. Eventually I was able to speak to a British adviser at BT who was very appologetic as there was no record of £113.50 being owed or agreed. She advised that BT would possibly refund my charge if I sent a copy of my bank statement and a letter to one of their offices. Unfortunately in this day and age I am uncomfortable with sending those details through the post but I am told there is no other option. I have since paid £50 to BT as due to the charge I could no longer afford £74.47 and I attempted to set up a new direct debit of £70 per month. Unfortunately due to error either with my bank or indeed BT, the direct debit has been cancelled. I have spoken to my bank today (01.04.09) who have been very helpful, and to BT who have told me they are sorry and that when NATWEST confirm that the payment is not leaving my account, she will ring me and take the payment by card and set up a new direct debit. I would like my £38 back as the error is entirely BT's, I would also like a written appology for the stress this has caused me and my family. My son is only four months old and reacts negatively to a bad atmosphere and I most certainly do not need this as a new mother. Please let the stress end!

          Comment Guidelines

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            Submit
            Respond

            The complaint has been investigated and
            resolved to the customer's satisfaction
            Resolved
            BTScam charge

            Just after christmas me and my partner moved in to a brand new flat which was throu the council and it was a ex show flat so it has never been lived in before.After we had moved in we wanted to set up the landline as my partner is away with the army and we have a young baby which i look after so need some sort of communication.It took me 4 weeks to arrange with bt to sort my line out every time i rang them they told me my line was activated and to plug a phone in which i did but got nothing so i kept on ringing and got no where by this time i had spent £20 of mobile credit as they kept puttin me on hold and sayin that its not there problem and everything is working there end.It took me a 5th attempt at ringin them again to try and sorted it but got no where after that phone call the following day there was a knock at the door it was some1 from bt sayin im hear to look at ur lines he came in and said everythings fine just i need to put a line in the hall way as the builders hadnt done it i told him bout all the problems i have had with them and he said he would put on to my account not to charge me for the call out then i receive my bank statment sayin that they had charged me £106.37 for a call out and they never sent a me a bill for this i did send a letter on the advice of the council to the builders asking for my money to be refunded but they are refusing to pay me back and are sayin the phone line is my responsibility which i think is wrong seein as they had to put a line in.

            Comment Guidelines

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              Submit
              Respond

              The complaint has been investigated and
              resolved to the customer's satisfaction
              Resolved
              BTOver charging

              This is an ongoing complaint about BTthat has not been dealt with.
              I changed my mobile package to 600 free minutes and 400 free texts to start in September 2008. This was arranged over the phone. I was sold e phones.
              I e mailed and phoned to report this on several occasions but was not dealt with properly and still my new package was not applied and I was charged for minutes that I had used because I was assured that I was on the 600 free minute package, in addition I was charged GPRS although I was told this was free.
              I e mailed to the complaints on the following occasions;
              13/11/2208 - ref. [protected]
              18/11/2008 no reference given just notification that mt compaint was passed to a complaints manager.
              I wrote to the company after obtaining the address from a sales advisor detailing all of the problems I was encountering.
              I again e mailed on the following ocasions;
              07/12/2008 ref [protected]
              11/12/2008 no reference given, but a note from Sajiad Ahmed saying he hadn't received my previous e mail.
              I am given the number over the pnone of a Louise Maher but after trying over 25 times the line is constantly engaged.
              12/12/2008 reference [protected]
              Still I have not had a response.
              I cancelled last months direct debit as I have been grossly over charged and cannot get an answer to any of my e mails.
              My outgoing calls have been suspended.
              today Ihave tried to ring Louise Maher 7 times but still no answer.
              I have tried to contact OTELO and they require a deadlock lettet to be able to take on my complaint.
              I need someone to respond as a matter of urgency.

              Comment Guidelines

              Add your opinion

                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                Submit
                Respond

                IN THE NEWS

                Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
                If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
                One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
                A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
                ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
                You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
                Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.