American Engine Installations Complaints & Reviews

American Engine Installationsrip off business

I had my car towed here after the engine went out. I ended up paying about $2300.00 after getting some extra work done outside of the engine replacement, such as water pump, timing belt, and some other stuff, because they said they would not honor the one year warranty if these things were found to have cause the engine to malfunction. I did not want to take any chances, so I got the extra work done. My car is running so far, my check engine light still comes on, but its because of other stuff like sensors and such.

After dropping $2300, who wants to keep putting money into a car? I don’t really have any complaints about the work per say (SO FAR), however IF I had known about the shaddy Limited Use warranty and the General terms and Conditions before towing my car in, I would have considered other options (I was kinda stuck after towing it there from outside of Marietta, GA. This place was kinda far for me). Reflecting back, I think that investing into an engine for an older car is a bad idea. Since getting the engine replaced, I’ve had to get about $800 worth of work done for various other non-engine related stuff and more repairs are still needed. I'm tired of patching up my older car.

  • Kb
    Kbaei Jan 20, 2019

    You should have read the terms and conditions, as well as the warranty first.

    0 Votes

Resolved American Engine InstallationsFraudulent company

I had my Longblock engine replaced 4/19/06 and the engine had a 50, 000, 3 year warranty on it. I went tot he repair shop where my engine was installed and the doors wee locked and the telephone number was disconnected. I did some research on the internet nd came up with a company called Engine Solutions who had the exact same number that was listed on my original receipt from American Engines [protected]. I called the number to asked i they were affiliated with American Engines and they told me tht American Engine went out of business over a year ago. They cagev me a number to call which happens to be an ex-Regional Manager for American Engine who has opened up shop under a different name, (Auto Engine Exchange Inc), who told me that Engine Solutions is actually American Engines but are telling people that they are not. I am having problems with the longblock engine I replaced in my car for $3000.00 and I cannot find American Engines in order to make good on the warranty which expires 4/19/09. I need some help with this matter.

  • Re
    Renee May 14, 2009

    American Engines Installations went bankrupt as a result of a crooked franchisee in Colorado named Tim Gemelli. Mr. Gemelli did not follow the terms of his Franchise Agreement with American Engines Installation & as a result the owner of American Engine Installations - John Hartnack has been fined by the Attorney General of Colorado because Mr. Gemelli did not have the net worth that Mr. Hartnack had. Due to Tim Gemelli's misdeeds the Attorney General of Colorado has Mr. Hartnack paying $10, 000.00 a month while Mr. Gemelli pays nothing - even though it was Mr. Gemelli's greedy business practices that outraged HIS Colorado customers. Mr. Hartnack employed many people nationwide & as a result of one GREEDY franchisee, Mr. Hartnack has had to layoff over 50 people while NOTHING has happened to Mr. Gemelli.

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    Matt Hartnack Jul 06, 2009

    THE MAN JOHN HARTNACK HAS BEEN RIPPING PEOPLE OFF FOR ALONG TIME, Its funny with all the complaints that this is the only one that says something nice well for every one infomation the Renee that wrote this is an employee of Mr. Hartnack his right had lady, his bookkeeper, so she would say something nice since she is getting paid to do so.

    Beware of Mr. Hartnack's businesses he has or is in the process of filing bankruptcy under AMERICAN ENGINE INSTALLATIONS, however he is still doing business as ENGINE SOLUTIONS/AUTO ENGINE SOLUTIONS in Texas and Louisiana and as FLITELINE ENGINE in ARKANSAS. Everyone who wrote a complaint did you know he also owned the engine company so no wonder he could get back up when he charged a core charge whether legiate or not. Also all his engines came with roller lifters another fraudlent charge to his costumers.

    I know this and can prove this because I am an employee and several other employees has wanted to tesify but got dismissed by his fancy dancy lawyer as disgruntled employees.
    But there are plenty of us who knows and are willing to tell the the truth. Everything Texas and Colorado accused his of his true and they should have gotten more monies from him. He settled because he knew his was guilty and micro manages everything including his franchisee so he knew what Tim was doing he just didn't like that he got caught.

    So BOOWOO Ms. Hardy lie for the man all you want.

    Matt

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Matt Hartnack Jul 06, 2009

    Hey Sandra I agree with everything you said about american engine installations, Auto Engine Exchange has been doing a great job and has help me with my engine problem from American Engine So if you are still having problems give them a call and they will help you and do it right I am very satisfied with their work and recommend them Highly. Sorry you were ripped off too. My Engine was replaced about 4 months before they shut the doors and had nothing but trouble with the engine until Auto Engine was able to help me. So just give them a call and by the way they are doing business as Auto Engine Solutions or Engine Solutions in Fort Worth and other locations in Texas and I beleive other states. I was also informed that Fliteline is part of the companies owned by the same person(forgot his name)

    Hope this helps.
    Vicki Patton

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Suzyc8 Sep 14, 2009

    I was also taken by American Engine out of Oklahoma city. I have tried to call flightline engine/engien solutions and they are telling me that the ocmpnay is owned by a trust and that John Hartnack doesnt even have anything to do with it. I am looking at getting a class action law suit against them here in OKC. The people at Engine solutions were VERY rude and told me that usually when a company goes out of business, that the warrenty is null and void. I see he has a long history of scamming people. Please contact me if you are also interested in joining the lawsuit!
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Dodenhoff Oct 13, 2009

    I had my engine replaced/rebuilt by American Engines - Fort Worth at 178K miles and $3127. At 197K miles (19K miles) the engine went out.
    Two blown head gaskets
    No exhaust manifold gaskets, silicone used
    Exhaust manifold studs siliconed into damaged holes, 2 bolts broken
    Intake manifold gaskets siliconed on (leaking at thermostat)
    Thermostat no gasket installed, silicone used
    Intake manifold bolts not secured
    Head bolts loose, finger tight
    Both engine coolant senders broken
    A/C compressor and alternator brackets broken
    Since this catastrophic failure was in my work truck (Lawn Service) I needed it fixed ASAP. I took it to my mechanic and he charged $1263 to fix it, citing the poor workmanship that caused this catastrophic failure.
    I called the number and Mike said they are now American Engine Solutions and would not honor the 3 year 50, 000 engine warranty.
    Can I submit a claim to the bankruptcy court?
    John at 817.524.5534 or [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • 2k
    2kraftee Oct 30, 2009

    I too was a victim in Arizona. I actually sued them and won a fairly large settlement in Arbitration. Only thing is thier bankrupt and I am sick of paying attorney fees. This was a piric battle if anything. I am intereted in joining a lawsuit.

    0 Votes
  • 69
    69_muscle Apr 07, 2010

    Someone needs to put these thieves out of their misery once and for all. What ever happened to The Equalizer? He would have done the job.

    My aluminum head, rather than being cleaned, was spray-painted silver spray paint, (right over the old grease)! The paint started flaking off in the first day. I looked into the piston chambers before running the engine, to see if the pistons were new, as promised. They were dirty and scored, as if never being removed. On the plus side, the motor runs now, but for how long?
    April, 2010...Just over 2 years later.
    New Report: the head gasket is blown after under 20, 000 miles. I am not surprised, since the head was never resurfaced. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND GO SOMEWHERE ELSE! I am going to have the head redone at ***************************. People there know exactly what they are doing, and not like the spray painters at American Engines, because they are about making money at YOUR EXPENSE. Don't beleive the other reviews, they are probably planted by employees or owners, but they are terrible and I will post negatives all over the internet to bring these A-holes down. I felt bad putting that engine back in my car when it was "finished", but I feel especially bad about it now that I have to sell it after 20, 000 miles with a blown head gasket, after spending tons of money with these fools. Actually, if you read the next review, you can tell it was planted by someone with the company.

    Anywhere these guys go, do not trust any business owned by John Kenneth Hartley
    He is a true piece of "work" but I think you know what I am saying.

    0 Votes

Resolved American Engine InstallationsAwful company, beware!

We purchased a 1985 Fleetwood Southwind RV for $3,150.00 on ebay from Anson Shultz of Boyer Tire in Castle Rock CO in December 2005. It was advertised, as in good condition but with a slight engine knock. Boyer Tire took the money for the sale of the RV and charged me $325.00 to tell me that the engine knock was in fact a blown engine. Boyer Tire had contracted to remove and replace the engine. They defaulted on the repair job.

However, after jerking us around for 6 months, the owner of Boyer Tire, John Brownlie abandoned the business and went on a mining expedition. Anson Shultz was left in charge and promptly demanded that I remove the RV or he would seize it and sell it as an abandoned vehicle. The vehicle he sold me just a few months earlier. Anson Shultz, Boyer Tire and ebay had defrauded us out of $3,475.00

I searched for a reputable garage to accept it for an engine replacement and found American Engine Installations. They represented themselves as the largest national chain of engine replacement specialists. The headquarters are located at 2351 W Northwest Hwy Ste 1302 Dallas, TX 75220 #[protected] . The corporate office provided a written estimate on May 17, 2006 for a complete replacement, using their specially remanufactured engines.

We were instructed by corporate to take the RV to AEI, 4850 Olive Street, Commerce City, Colorado, 80022, #[protected]. After receiving the estimate of $4,055.00 from AEI Corporate Headquarters, we contacted Tim Gemelli of AEI Commerce City on 5/17/2006. Mr. Gemelli was very sympathetic to our situation with regards to ebay and Boyer Tire and promised to help us out. Boyer Tire demanded the vehicle be removed by July 1 or it would be seized. So we towed the vehicle from Castle Rock to AEI at a cost of $550.00. Mr. Gemelli accepted the vehicle and told us he would not charge us storage on the vehicle. Mr. Gemelli did not contact us regarding our RV, all contact was initiated by us.

On 10/10/2006, Mr. Gemelli agreed to remove the engine and inspect it for $400.00. If the cost of repairs were to exceed the $4,000.00 estimate that would be the only cost we would have if we decided not to go ahead with the repairs.

Upon removal and inspection Mr. Gemelli informed us that the job could cost as much as $8,000.00. We told him that was far in excess of the $4,000.00 we had agreed to pay in our original estimate. We asked him how he came up with $8,000.00 from a $1,895.00 engine and a $1,800.00 labor charge. He couldn't explain and came up with various other estimates such as $6,000.00, $5,000.00. It appeared that he was probing us to see how much we could afford and then would price it accordingly. I reminded him that we were on Social Security and could only afford the original quote of $3,902.21, the amount in the written contract we signed on 10/10/2006.

Mr. Gemelli became very angry, shouting and screaming on the phone, when we questioned him about the parts prices. He said he had to make a profit and could not work for free. I reminded him that $4,000.00 is not exactly free. He wanted to charge $200.00 for a $20 water pump, $600.00 for a $400.00 rebuilt radiator, $100.00 for a $47. fuel pump, $50.00 for a oil pump screen that comes with a new oil pump at $0, $100.00 for a $28 set of spark plug wires that are included in the remanufactured engine price.

The worst is the engine itself. We were promised an Official AEI engine, as good as a GM Crate Engine, so said the corporate salesperson, Mark Winfrey, on 5/17/2006. Mr. Gemelli did not use the advertised and agreed upon AEI engine in the contract. It is possible he used a junkyard or rebuilt our engine in his chop shop. We contracted for a special AEI engine, not some junk he wants to stick us with. After all, it has to be warranted for 50,000 miles, according to the contract. You can not warranty an old used engine.

Once I presented Mr. Gemelli with a list of parts prices he became insane with anger towards us for questioning his pricing. He hung up the telephone; he cut off all communication with us. Communication has always been extremely difficult with Mr. Gemelli. The times when I have been able to reach him by telephone, I have been on hold for over an hour and fifteen minutes waiting for him to pick up the phone.

In our last communication he threatened to seize our RV with a mechanics lien and re-title it in his name. He bragged that he has done this before with other customers who have not been able to pay his fraudulent high bills.

Presently he is in the process of either tearing out the so-called replacement engine and dumping the vehicle on the streets of Denver, or filing a mechanics lean and switching our title. In October Mr. Gemelli offered to pay us $1,500.00 for our $4,000.00 RV. He seemed frustrated when I said the RV is not for sale and that we have already contracted to replace the engine. He refused to offer us $4,000.00 for the RV.

It is obvious that he intended to steal the RV from us with a mechanics lean and a switched title because the RV can be sold for approximately $12,000.00 with a replacement engine installed. That is a clear profit of over $9,000.00 for him.

Currently the RV is not running and not completely repaired as per the contract and with an unknown engine installed. We have the $4,000.00 set aside to pay AEI upon completion of the job. However we will pay AEI only after a thorough inspection and upon pickup, due to the breach of our contract. I have contacted the CO Governor Ritter, Colorado State Police, CO Dept. of Revenue, MVA, Adams County and CO State, Colorado Dealers Board, Adams country District Attorney, Commerce City Police Dept. and the BBB. Not one of these law enforcement agencies have recognized the CO Motor Vehicle Repair Act or acted to enforce it. It is CO Law and they are sworn to enforce the law. The commander of Commerce City Police Department said I don't care what the CO MVRA says. Oh Really!!

Upon contacting the BBB I was shocked and appalled to find that Mr. Gemelli of AEI has 31 complaints in 36 months. I contacted AEI corporate offices and asked to speak to the president. The phone system is defunct, only voicemails no people. There are no secretaries or receptionists to direct your call. I was connected to Matthew McMann's voicemail.

I spoke with Matthew McMann. He stonewalled me and misrepresented himself as the company president. He refused to give me the address for the corporate head quarters and refused to take any responsibility for Mr. Gemelli of AEI, saying that he was a franchise and that they had no control over his fraudulent and deceptive business practices.

I reminded Mr. McMann that at no time since 5/17/2006 has it ever been mentioned that AEI was not entirely a corporate enterprise. The quote, contract, estimate, and all correspondences have the company logo and AEI on all the letter heads.

After exhaustive attempts, I reached the elusive president of AEI Dallas John Hartnack. He said he would make everything all right by talking to Gemelli. He failed miserably and sent us an identical inflated invoice full of mistakes, a copy of Gemellis. He then refused to take responsibility for his store in Denver. The company AEI, has 85 complaints nationwide and numerous unsatisfied judgments. A VERY BAD COMPANY!!!

The problem is exacerbated by the fact that we are in Pennsylvania, and the RV is broken down in Denver, Colorado. Colorado has a statute that allows for unscrupulous auto garages to vastly over charge on a repair order. Then with no due process of the court, without a court hearing and judgment, they can obtain a mechanics or garage lien, and consequently steal your entire vehicle and re-title it in their name. People's automobiles, trucks and RV's are second only to their homes in value. Colorado law let's some criminal steal our second most valuable asset.

Attention all RVers! STAY AWAY FROM AEI NATIONWIDE, or you may lose your RV. What this means is that we are at the mercy of Mr. Gemelli, a man in Colorado, with 32 BBB complaints in 36 months, and his insatiable desire to steal the RV of a little family. Whose parents are on social security disability, and their only pleasure in life, is to go camping together, and sing kumbaya around the camp fire.

Sincerely,
John S II

Update: As of 5/2/2007, and after no communication since 2/12/2007 Gemelli of AEI has informed me he has illegally sold our motor home. This case is now criminal as well as civil. No Notices has been given as required by the CO Law, therefore the sale is illegal. Also AEI has engaged in selling as an unlicensed dealer. AEI has violated 7 statutes of the Colorado Motor Vehicle Repair Act in addition to the rest of their criminal and civil violations.

1.violated 7 statutes of the CO MVRA,
2.lied to a law enforcement officer,
3.violated AEI's company policies and contract,
4.engaged in the illegal sale of our vehicle under CO law (no notices given)
5.acted as an unlicensed dealer in CO, a violation of CO Department of Revenue)

AEI Dallas Headquarters, under John Hartnack President, is taking no responsibility for their own AEI store, in Denver.

Update:

June 12, 2007 Greasy Gemelli of AEI and his lawyer Greasy Gomez have filed an abusive and meritlous lawsuit against us, to steal our motorhome and $14,000.00 more from us. OUTRAGEOUS!! Colorado law enforcement refuses to enforce the Colorado Motor Vehicle Repair Act, which would force the immediate release of our motorhome. UNBELIEVABLE!!

Update:

June 18,2007 The Colorado Attorney General Office today filed charges against Tim Gemelli, AEI Denver CO and John Hartnack Owner,AEI Dallas TX.

It is now up to us, to follow up with a class action or multi-litigant suit to retire the crooks of AEI. Please contact me if you are interested.

HOORAY FOR THE CO AG!!!

UPDATE:

October 3,2007 No Resolution!!! AEI has had our motorhome 1 year and 4 months. Colorado has not enforced their own laws, (Colorado Motor Vehicle Repair Act), to get our motorhome released by these crooks (AEI). The Adams County Court has not yet ruled (3 months) to dismiss the meritless lawsuit filed by AEI. BBB of Denver is required by AEI's own contract (item 24) to seek binding arbitration through the BBB, AEI is in violation of their very own contract. AEI is nothing more than a criminal enterprise, stealing vehicles and so far Colorado has not acted to enforce their very own laws. UNBELIEVABLE!!!

UPDATE:

Febuary 16,2008 The BBB (Bad Business Bureau)fraudulently and illegally engaged in Grand Larceny under Colorado Law. The BBB stole our titled and tagged motorhome and gave it to the Gemelli Gang,(Charles and Tim Gemelli) of AEI,as a reward for their fraudulent business practices. The BBB was founded for the sole purpose of protecting the consumer, and not engaging in fraud to protect business's from consumers. This illegal decision was rendered by John Scott an arbitrator with the the BBB and is being appealed all the way to the U.S. Supreme Court if necessary. We are now at the mercy of the CO District Court to enforce CO law (the CO MVRA). We were given only 10 days notice of the BBB decision. The decision was so illegal and unjust that Suzanne Bacon of the BBB was apologizing for Mr Scott's decision. Now we have 3 enemies in CO, Boyer Tire, AEI and the BBB. The CO AG refuses to enforce the CO MVRA and demand the return of our motorhome. ILLEGAL, FRAUDULENT and UNBELIEVABLE!!

UPDATE:

February 19, 2008 We received a copy of the answer to our motion to set aside the BBB decision. Greazy Gemelli's lawyer Greazy Gomez cites case law, to argue that the BBB does not have to obey CO State Law and can issue judgments for real property, without adhering to the law of the land, in this case the CO Motor Vehicle Repair Act. This lawyer is the same lawyer that showed contempt for the court order that was sought against AEI by the CO AG office. However since he displayed contempt, for the Adams Court Order in the BBB (Bad Business Bureau) arbitration hearing, in front of John Scott (Criminal Arbitor), he had the blessing of the criminal BBB to carry out his total contempt and disregard for sacred CO Law (CO MVRA) which would have released our motorhome from AEI over 17 months ago. UNCONSTITUTIONAL, ILLEGAL, FRAUDULENT and UNBELIEVABLE!!

  • Am
    Amy Hepner May 18, 2009

    American Engine Installation, Hartnack Motor Replacement, Engine Solutions, and whatever other names they operate under are SHADY SHADY SHADY! It breaks my heart to read your story and disgusts me to know that the BBB has assisted their fraudulent practices. AEI ripped me off in Phoenix, Az and a suit is pending. AEI has since gone bankrupt but they are currently conducting business as Engine Solutions. Where is the justice?

    0 Votes

American Engine InstallationsFraud and cheating!

We had our 1996 Ford Windstar to American Engine Installations on 9/16/04. We were told it would take about a week to do the job. We called back in a week & was told one of the mechanics was injured at the shop. The manager said we would get the van back the following week, we had already paid a $800.00 deposit. We called back the next week they said they haven't received the engine yet. We told them we were going to tow the van to another shop following day. The next day new engine was sitting in the shop & they were removing the old engine, they told us that the job would be finished in three days.We called back & was told that engine wasn't running right & they had to remove the engine & tear it down. They said that a defective part was installed & that they replaced it. They reinstalled the engine & road tested it. When I went to pick the van up noticed the heater & A/C. was not working I brought that to their attention. I came back the following day to pick it up, that was now Nov 3 2004.& paid the balance of &2,797.40 This not the end. In the early spring of 2006 the engine bellowed out white smoke while my wife was driving my daughter to CCD. Needless to say my wife was quite upset. We tried to contact the shop to get it towed back for warranty since we put on less than 20,000 miles of the 50,000 mile warranty & well with in the year period. We finally got in contact with the head office & was told they no longer have any franchises in N.J. I asked then where can I bring it to have the warranty work done. They told me that the nearest franchise was in North Carolina & that I would have to my van towed there. At that point I told them that was totally absurd. My van is sitting my driveway collecting leaves. So if you are thinking of having An engine replaced PLEASE RECONSIDER BEFORE USING AMERICAN ENGINE INSTALLATIONS. P.S. Their warranty Dept. keeps leaving messages on our answering machine asking us if we want to extend our policy.

American Engine InstallationsOvercharged for non working vehicle

National office quoted engine replacement for my 1995 Chevrolet Camaro at $2795. Now, more than 8 weeks later, the rebuilt engine won't run, the price is now $4180 and I still don't have my vehicle back. The Knoxville, TN American Engine Installations branch has been giving me double talk from the third week. First I was told the engine would be replaced with a rebuilt one, as my engine had "thrown a rod and made a hole in the oil pan."

Two weeks later I called for a date when I could pick up my vehicle and was told that there was a mix up and that they could locate the LT1 "P" series engine my vehicle required. So, he told me that he was going to ship my engine to the company for a rebuild (!).

One week later, I called again and was told the engine should be back any day.

Days later, he called me to tell me the engine was back in the shop and that "it looks beautiful". I was told that they needed to install all the other parts taken from the engine before processing, re-install it in the vehicle and dp a road test.

I called often, but it was a few weeks later when he finally agreed it might be ready. I found the shop to be way off the beaten path. The car was sitting outside the bay area, with the hood up. He told me that extra parts (water pump, oil pump, oxygen sensor and others) had to be installed and that the cost was going to be more than a thousand dollars higher than we had agreed to and signed the contract for. I knew I was being raped, but I just wanted to get my vehicle and go home. It had been 7 weeks since they towed my car in to their shop!

Well, it would not start. After they tried to start it for more than 45 minutes, I finally gave up (totally disgusted) and went home. He assured me he would call when it was ready.

That was more than a week ago, and he stalls every time I call. I have decided to contact the Tennessee Attorney General's Office and the Better Business Bureau.

Please, Please! Do NOT trust this company with your car!

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

American Engine InstallationsWe were taking by this company...

We called to get a quote and it was $2,456.00. When we got to the A.E.I. Franchise shop in Colorado Springs the quote suddenly turned into $3,180.00 ; (worst case senario) were Lon's ((the manager)) words. His end of the job price is over $3456.22. He told us that if our block was machinable and able to be used that it would save us money (a $400.00 core charge) because buying a rebuilt block costs $1,000 and machining only cost about 2/3 of that price. He then told use that if block was rebuild able then we would save the $400.00 core charge for the block. He called to get a price on a water pump while we were sitting there and said it was $49.95 & we did some checking and it was actually only $25.48. He later tried to charge us $120.00 for it until my husband brought it to his attention. Our radiator was fine but left in the van when motor was pulled and damaged as a result. He is trying to charge us for a new one ($299.00) because of his mistake. When he took the van on a test drive of about 15 miles the motor blew again, on the day we were supposed to pick it up. It was supposed to be a new block but is not. The NEW radiator is damaged as a result of pulling the 2nd motor. He never flushed the motor and put in the Dextostrat coolant that the motor called for, which when asked he said he would do. This whole thing was supposed to take 7 to 10 business days and now this is the 10th week. We dropped the car off on the 16th of May and did not get it back until the 20th of JULY. Now I have the car and the next day I drive it to a car wash and it stalls out and won't restart. Now my 12 yr. old and I are stranded once again. I found that it has an oil leak from somewhere by the oil pan. Also it is missing the plastic shroud that sits on top the motor cause it is sitting in the van broken.There is now some scuff damage to the driver's side door right below the door handle that was not there.

The day we were supposed to pick it up I noticed that the gas gage was on 3/4 of a full tank when he got it, it was above full. I have done nothing but be nice to this guy. All I have wanted is to be treated fairly and without being taken for a ride and that is exactly what this whole ordeal feels like with this guy. This manager, Lon Rathmell , talks to me like I am stupid and with disrespect. He tells me one thing and tells my husband a totally different story and then says he explained this to me. Also Joe at the main office in Dallas tells us that it is policy to charge 100% markup on all parts. I have pics of ALL the damage to the radiators and also pics of where he put my old radiator on the ground outside of his shop. The pic also shows about a quart or two of antifreeze all over the ground under it. Mind you, he charged us $57.50 for environmental fees for disposal of the antifreeze, oil, and train fluid. He also charged us $30.00 for a bounced check fee that he can't or won't prove that is bounced. I don't understand why this company has so many complaints against them and they are still allowed to operate.

  • Mb
    M Berardini Dec 21, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    100% agree with your last statement. I'm in a lawsuit with them now.

    0 Votes

American Engine InstallationsRV'ers, beware of american engine installations, stay away!

RV’ers, BEWARE OF AMERICAN ENGINE INSTALLATIONS, STAY AWAY!!!

Dear Sirs or Madams,

We purchased a 1985 Fleetwood Southwind RV for $3,150.00 on ebay from Anson Shultz of Boyer Tire in Castle Rock CO in December 2005. It was advertised, as in good condition but with a slight engine knock. Boyer Tire took the money for the sale of the RV and charged me $325.00 to tell me that the engine knock was in fact a blown engine. Boyer Tire had contracted to remove and replace the engine. They defaulted on the repair job.

However, after jerking us around for 6 months, the owner of Boyer Tire, John Brownlie abandoned the business and went on a mining expedition. Anson Shultz was left in charge and promptly demanded that I remove the RV or he would seize it and sell it as an abandoned vehicle. The vehicle he sold me just a few months earlier. Anson Shultz, Boyer Tire and ebay had defrauded us out of $3,475.00

I searched for a reputable garage to accept it for an engine replacement and found American Engine Installations. They represented themselves as the largest national chain of engine replacement specialists. The headquarters are located at 2351 W Northwest Hwy Ste 1302 Dallas, TX 75220 #[protected]. The corporate office provided a written estimate on May 17, 2006 for a complete replacement, using their specially remanufactured engines. We were instructed by corporate to take the RV to AEI, 4850 Olive Street, Commerce City, Colorado, 80022, #[protected].

After receiving the estimate of $4,055.00 from AEI Corporate Headquarters, we contacted Tim Gemelli of AEI Commerce City on 5/17/2006. Mr. Gemelli was very sympathetic to our situation with regards to ebay and Boyer Tire and promised to help us out. Boyer Tire demanded the vehicle be removed by July 1 or it would be seized. So we towed the vehicle from Castle Rock to AEI at a cost of $550.00. Mr. Gemelli accepted the vehicle and told us he would not charge us storage on the vehicle. Mr. Gemelli did not contact us regarding our RV, all contact was initiated by us. On 10/10/2006, Mr. Gemelli agreed to remove the engine and inspect it for $400.00. If the cost of repairs were to exceed the $4,000.00 estimate that would be the only cost we would have if we decided not to go ahead with the repairs.

Upon removal and inspection Mr. Gemelli informed us that the job could cost as much as $8,000.00. We told him that was far in excess of the $4,000.00 we had agreed to pay in our original estimate. We asked him how he came up with $8,000.00 from a $1,895.00 engine and a $1,800.00 labor charge. He couldn’t explain and came up with various other estimates such as $6,000.00, $5,000.00. It appeared that he was probing us to see how much we could afford and then would price it accordingly. I reminded him that we were on Social Security and could only afford the original quote of $3,902.21, the amount in the written contract we signed on 10/10/2006.

Mr. Gemelli became very angry, shouting and screaming on the phone, when we questioned him about the parts prices. He said he had to make a profit and could not work for free. I reminded him that $4,000.00 is not exactly free. He wanted to charge $200.00 for a $20 water pump, $600.00 for a $400.00 rebuilt radiator, $100.00 for a $47. fuel pump, $50.00 for a oil pump screen that comes with a new oil pump at $0, $100.00 for a $28 set of spark plug wires that are included in the remanufactured engine price.

The worst is the engine itself. We were promised an Official AEI engine, “as good as a GM Crate Engine”, so said the corporate salesperson, Mark Winfrey, on 5/17/2006. Mr. Gemelli did not use the advertised and agreed upon AEI engine in the contract. It is possible he used a junkyard or rebuilt our engine in his chop shop. We contracted for a special AEI engine, not some junk he wants to stick us with. After all, it has to be warranted for 50,000 miles, according to the contract. You can not warrantee an old used engine.

Once I presented Mr. Gemelli with a list of parts prices he became insane with anger towards us for questioning his pricing. He hung up the telephone; he cut off all communication with us. Communication has always been extremely difficult with Mr. Gemelli. The times when I have been able to reach him by telephone, I have been on hold for over an hour and fifteen minutes waiting for him to pick up the phone. In our last communication he threatened to seize our RV with a mechanics lein and re-title it in his name. He bragged that he has done this before with other customers who have not been able to pay his fraudulent high bills.

Presently he is in the process of either tearing out the “so-called” replacement engine and dumping the vehicle on the streets of Denver, or filing a mechanics lean and switching our title. In October Mr. Gemelli offered to pay us $1,500.00 for our $4,000.00 RV. He seemed frustrated when I said the RV is not for sale and that we have already contracted to replace the engine. He refused to offer us $4,000.00 for the RV. It is obvious that he intended to steal the RV from us with a mechanics lean and a switched title because the RV can be sold for approximately $12,000.00 with a replacement engine installed. That is a clear profit of over $9,000.00 for him.

Currently the RV is not running and not completely repaired as per the contract and with an unknown engine installed. We have the $4,000.00 set aside to pay AEI upon completion of the job. However we will pay AEI only after a thorough inspection and upon pickup, due to the breach of our contract. I have contacted the CO Governor Ritter, Colorado State Police, CO Dept. of Revenue, MVA, Adams County and CO State, Colorado Dealers Board, Adams country District Attorney, Commerce City Police Dept. and the BBB. Not one of these law enforcement agencies have recognized the CO Motor Vehicle Repair Act or acted to enforce it. It is CO Law and they are sworn to enforce the law. The commander of Commerce City Police Department said “I don’t care what the CO MVRA says”. Oh Really !!

Upon contacting the BBB I was shocked and appalled to find that Mr. Gemelli of AEI has 31 complaints in 36 months. I contacted AEI corporate offices and asked to speak to the president. The phone system is defunct, only voicemails no people. There are no secretaries or receptionists to direct your call. I was connected to Matthew McMann’s voicemail.

I spoke with Matthew McMann. He stonewalled me and misrepresented himself as the company president. He refused to give me the address for the corporate head quarters and refused to take any responsibility for Mr. Gemelli of AEI, saying that he was a franchise and that they had no control over his fraudulent and deceptive business practices. I reminded Mr. McMann that at no time since 5/17/2006 has it ever been mentioned that AEI was not entirely a corporate enterprise. The quote, contract, estimate, and all correspondences have the company logo and AEI on all the letter heads.

After exhaustive attempts, I reached the elusive president of AEI Dallas John Hartnack. He said he would make everything all right by talking to Gemelli. He failed miserably and sent us an identical inflated invoice full of mistakes, a copy of Gemelli’s. He then refused to take responsibility for his store in Denver. The company AEI, has 85 complaints nationwide and numerous unsatisfied judgments. A VERY BAD COMPANY!!!

The problem is exacerbated by the fact that we are in Pennsylvania, and the RV is broken down in Denver, Colorado. Colorado has a statute that allows for unscrupulous auto garages to vastly over charge on a repair order. Then with no due process of the court, without a court hearing and judgment, they can obtain a mechanics or garage lien, and consequently steal your entire vehicle and re-title it in their name. People’s automobiles, trucks and RV’s are second only to their homes in value. Colorado law let’s some criminal steal our second most valuable asset. Attention all RV’ers ! Do not break down in Colorado or you may lose your RV.

What this means is that we are at the mercy of Mr. Gemelli, a man in Colorado, with 32 BBB complaints in 36 months, and his insatiable desire to steal the RV of a little family. Whose parents are on social security disability, and their only pleasure in life, is to go camping together, and sing kumbaya around the camp fire.

Sincerely,

John Sions

Update: As of 5/2/2007, and after no communication since 2/12/2007 Gemelli of AEI has informed me he has illegally sold our motor home. This case is now criminal as well as civil. No Notices has been given as required by the CO Law, therefore the sale is illegal. Also AEI has engaged in selling as an unlicensed dealer. AEI has violated 7 statutes of the Colorado Motor Vehicle Repair Act in addition to the rest of their criminal and civil violations.

1. violated 7 statutes of the CO MVRA,
2. lied to a law enforcement officer,
3. violated AEI’s company policies and contract,
4. engaged in the illegal sale of our vehicle under CO law (no notices given)
5. acted as an unlicensed dealer in CO, a violation of CO Department of Revenue)

AEI Dallas Headquarters, under John Hartnack President, is taking no responsibility for their own AEI store, in Denver.

CO Attorney General is filing charges against AEI.

  • Da
    Dawn Mannino Apr 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wnt out of "BUSSINESS"
    NEVER contacted me period. had my car towed and SOLD IT
    I WANT MY CAR BACK!!!

    0 Votes

American Engine Installations — Lie, cheat, steal!

Company lied about engine block being non rebuildable (among other things) and this was the last straw. Our...

Resolved American Engine InstallationsTried to make me pay $ 2995.00 overcharge

The company quoted me a price of 2885.00 and tried to make me pay 2995.00 for the engine. Then they marked up other parts as much as 200%. i was also hit with a core charge for my old engine supposedly being nonrebuildable, but i was never given the opportunity to view this or dispute it. that was an additional 500.00 this process was advertised as a 7-10 business day turnaround time they have had my car for six weeks now. then to add insult to injury a contacted the director of field ops. Terry Cheeks and started to question prices i felt were over inflated and such and i was told " its none of your business what our mark up is on parts and he was not going to discuss it with me because i was not an American engine employee, and if i didn't like it i could take my car else where." Now this was after the engine is already out of my car. I have rented a car for over a month now so imagine how expensive this is getting after 6 weeks of waiting i am very frustrated with this co.

  • Su
    Sue Muszynski Jun 20, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We had an engine re-built by American Engine in Tucson. We were told it would take two weeks and would cost $2400. Two months later after many excuses about why the car was still in the shop, we picked up the vehicle. Then engine raced, oil leaked, the odometer was not hooked up... The car was towed back (at the company's cost) to fix the car. Two months later, the car still runs roughly, engine sounds like it grinds, odometer still not hooked up... we refuse to take it back to "fix" it one more time. I would like to hear from other folks in Arizona who have been swindled by the company, to file a class action suit against this company who operates in Tucson and Phoenix. (The Attorney General in Colorado has filed charges against an American Engine shop in Colorado on June 18, 2007).

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pam Aug 18, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We faced the same problem when my husband decided to have his engine rebuilt in Las Vegas, NV. We sent our Ford 150 to the affiliation shop to AEI. They spent 4 weeks for the process and we paid around USD 4800 at the end (which we hope is the end). We brought the truck to TN and hope everything will be fine. After a week, my husband heard crackling sounds and make a call to the AEI customer Service. The representative told my husband to bring it over to a corporate shop in Nashville. We brought it there with a pre-diagnostic receipt from Autozone with found error on the cylinder 1. The owner mentioned that he just got the shop for a few weeks and promised to have it fixed within 5-10 business days. My husband keep calling the shop at least once a week to check on the process. He keep asking them to check the cylinder before troubleshoots other parts but obviously they ignore the advice. 4 weeks gone and finally they called my husband to picked up the truck. He surprised to be charged $1900 on top of the $4800 that we have paid previously while the engine is still under warranty. The total already equal a used vehicle!!! The shop owner mentioned that they already give us a break???!!! My husband called the customer representative and make a complaint on this. The next day, we drove the truck around 50 miles away from home. When we stopped, we saw smokes came out from the front. My husband checked it and found out that oil are leaking and dispersed everywhere. We found out that there are "LOOSEN" bolts for the oil pump!!! For not voiding the engine warranty, we called the corporate customer service to place the complaint again and ignorant employee blew us off when we try to reach their manager. We finally managed to get him to direct the line to Joe (previous rep that we talked to) and leave him a voice mail. We are emotionally tortured on this! We have our truck towed by AAA and now placing complaint through the Best Business Bureau. 08/18/2007.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Gravling Jan 01, 2008

    Aside from crappy workmenship the price of $4800 is outragous, that job should have been done $1000 less and in 7 days total.

    Next time use a reputable independent shop.

    ASE tech with 28 years of service

    0 Votes
  • Mb
    M Berardini Jan 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Worst company ever. they had the truck months and never finished the job. I just hade to take it back and pay the dealership another 1900 to fix a job I had already paid 5000+ for. This happended oin Tucson, AZ. My lord why wont the AG close this palce down.

    0 Votes
  • Rd
    rd Mar 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have you all beat!!! They charged me 3600.00 for a new motor, had the truck a total of 4x over a 5 month period. In that 5 months, i had the truck in my posession for... 2 weeks. yes 2 weeks. They also tried to charge me an additional 2000.00 between all the other repairs they had done during the return visits. After a lawsuit, i received re-imbursement for a rentall and the truck repaired at no charge above the initial 3600.00. After all i went through the damn check engine light came on a month later. Another local shop put NEW plugs in the NEW MOTOR and it was fine. Screw 'em! This was at there Madison store, what a joke.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joni Foster Mar 26, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Oklahoma City has been also screwed over by AEI we payed over $4500.oo drove the van approximatley for a few days and it started doing the same thing, took it back to them and they said nothing was wrong with it about 800 miles later the motor quit, we took it back for the warranty Ha Ha. that was 3 months ago.
    Now they want $2536.14 dollars more for another engine and labor. Now we have had to hire an attorney and yes we are suing them. They have the motor out of the van and want the money up front or they will keep the van. we have been making payments on the van paying full coverage insurance all this time and were still without the van plus now attorney fees. This van is one of our companys work vans and there it sits not making any money and were having to pick up the costs for there mistake. They even told us that when we brought the van back that they had fired everyone that was there the first time because of the people were qualified to work on engines and that they would make it right, Oh right thats why there charging the extra money and were having to sue them.

    0 Votes