Complaints & Reviews

Refusal to give a promised refund

the most dishonest company i have ever dealt with, online or offline. in june 2015, i ordered a discontinued motherboard from them for $315. after almost two weeks i enquired if the unit had shipped. the response was 'it's coming from our warehouse in China'. a week later, i got an email that said 'the testing department found an issue, ' and asked whether i would like them to get another part, or cancel and refund the order. i asked them to cancel and refund. what followed was an almost funny sequence of emails: they would say 'we've refunded your card'; i would wait a day or so for it to appear, which it didn't, and i would email them saying nothing has been charged back; and they would basically say, 'huh! that's weird, we'll try it again, just give it 5-7 days to appear on your account.' eventually i got replies like this: 'we'll forward the question to our billing department'; 'we'll escalate the claim to our accounting department'; 'the accounting department has confirmed the refund'; 'the accounting department issued a new refund, but it may take up to 30 days to appear'; -- and finally: 'if it doesn't show up by friday, we will send a company check'; so that friday i asked them to send a check, and they said: 'that's very strange, we will forward this to our accounting department'... what they were doing, of course, was stalling me for as long as possible, until it was too late to request a chargeback from the card company. eventually i asked if the check had been sent, and got no reply for two weeks. after several emails, their response was: 'the two refunds haven't posted back to our account, we are investigating.' i asked how long the investigation might take, and never heard from them again. this was in october 2015. AVOID THIS COMPANY LIKE THE PLAGUE, THEY ARE LIARS AND THIEVES.

Bad business practices

This one horrible company I wish I never had to deal with. The motherboard that I ordered from them has never arrived. Because of them I have lost my customer, the sale, time, effort and I have yet to get my money back through my credit card dispute process. The customer "no service" was absolutely ridiculous. No-one answers their phone. Their "chat" system isn't working either. But even without helping their customers they could avoid most of their problems by being honest, but that's not the path they chose so hence the review! Give yourself a favor a choose another company to order from even if it costs a little more now, it will save you a LOT in future.

Defective products and do not replace damaged products

Do NOT order from this company. I ordered a motherboard from them on August 12, 2010, they sent me an obviously damaged motherboard. I returned the motherboard and after that I did not get any information as to when I would get a replacement. I asked several times over the course of a month and never got a suitable response. I told them they had my money and also the damaged motherboard and that I would be filing a complaint with my bank and the BBB. The following was their response:
Date: [protected]:52:21
Name: RMA Support Staff
Message:
Hello,
We received the unit on the 8th of September. We are inspecting this unit and once we have the report the replacement will be shipped to you. We understand your frustration however we are working as fast as we can.
We do not appreciate your threats as well as your false accusations of us stealing your money. Your order was $100.00 we do not need to ruin our repuation over this. We deal with orders in the thousands of dollars each day. We run a professional business and do what we can to help our customers.
If you prefer not to wait you may use the store credit instead. But we need to wait for our shipment to arrive before we can send you the unit.

Best regards,

RMA DEPT
PC Planet Systems
http://www.pcplanetsystems.com

On September 21 I replied with:

Date: [protected]:24:22
Name: xxxxxxxxxxxx
Message:

Hello,

It is now September 20th and I still have not heard from you the status of the replacement for the damaged unit I was sold. I am again asking you to tell me the status of this issue. What I mean by that is: have you inspected it? If you haven't, when are you going to do so? The damaged motherboard that was sent to me was sent with the cooling rod that traverses the motherboard completely separated from the cooling fins and it was obvious. When do you plan to send me an undamaged motherboard and when can I expect to receive it? That information is vital to me to be able to make decisions regarding my computer and, as I stated earlier, I will be moving soon, so I may have to give you a different address to ship it to, but that is dependent on your answers. I understand that you are "working as as as you can", but that is meaningless to me since I don't know how fast your processes are. I also don't have all the time in the world.

I am not making false accusations either, I am stating facts. You do have my money and you do have the damaged motherboard that you sent me and after ordering this motherboard on August 12th, I still do not have anything to show for it. If you were really worried about your reputation, you would give some time to quality control and when that goes awry, answering your client's requests and have better customer service.

I do not wish to use store credit, I need the specific motherboard that your site promised. Again, you state that you need to wait for your shipment to arrive before you can send me the unit. When will that be? I need specific dates and if you are a professional business, you should know that; "soon" is not an acceptable answer.

I am willing to work with you here, but my patience is running out. It is interesting to note that to get some type of response from you, I had to resort to letting you know that I will contact the BBB and the federal trade commission in addition to talking to my bank to recover my money. That was not a threat either, I will do that if you are unwilling to provide suitable responses to my reasonable requests.

I do hope that this can be resolved quickly and profitably for both of us.

I finally filed complaints with the BBB and my bank. I'll follow with the FTC and the California AG if I don't get my money back or an undamaged motherboard.

  • De
    dereklastly Feb 27, 2012

    How did you get a defective motherboard? Whenever i order from them i always get my producs working and/or in mint condition when i buy them used.

    0 Votes
  • Ac
    achiles91910 Feb 29, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The motherboard they provided had a broken heat sink. Maybe it was a fluke that I was the one to receive the damaged motherboard, but what actually made me decide that I needed to do something about this company, was their RMA system and their inability or unwillingness to respond to reasonable requests about timelines. If you do get a damaged product, be aware that they are unresponsive.

    0 Votes

Company Practice

Some advice based on my experience with this company

First, do read ALL the reviews at sites like

http://www.resellerratings.com/store/PC_Planet_Systems
http://los-angeles.bbb.org/Business-Report/PC-Planet-Systems-LLC-13210671

Second, do expect that you will be filing complaints with your credit card company, with the Better Business Bureau, and elsewhere, such as

https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/
http://ag.ca.gov/contact/complaint_form.php?cmplt=CL

Third, do keep copies of all your interactions with PCPS

Fourth, realize California return law is not favorable to consumers. And don't delay too long in trying to recover from your mistake: your credit card company may not help you if you wait more than 60 days after purchase.

Explanation: The company seems to sell used and discontinued computer equipment to unwary consumers who believe they are buying new equipment OEM. And in my experience, the company will simply ignore most of your attempts to contact them after they have your money.

  • Bb
    bboose Oct 19, 2011

    I completely agree. I ordered a motherboard in July 2011 and its now October 2011 and I still do not have the motherboard, nor do I have a refund. So I'm out $92.35 for a board that really wasn't worth that, but their company (ha ha) was the only place I could find it.

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    Nikeros Oct 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Add me to the list of those who have been scammed by this ripoff company. I lodged a complaint with Visa today re a defective motherboard I purchased. They stall, don't answer messages and have refused to give me a refund. They are also lying about the fact that they used to be known as pc planet systems in corona, CA. I guess they changed their name to pc planet systems, LLC to avoid the pursuing bloodhounds. I'm sure there are many.

    0 Votes

Rip off

Do NOT order from this company. They charged my credit card immediately for a product that was not in stock and being ordered from a "warehouse" in China. 14 business days later (and their web site states 5-8 business days for items shipped from China) I have no product, PC Planet Systems hasn't received the item either. They can't even provide any detailed information about the order and it's status: they simply state "This is a discontinued item and we had to order from China. The item is in transit." I've even offered to "meet them in the middle" by having them refund my credit card, then re-charging when ever they ship the motherboard to me. I've resorted to disputing the transaction with my credit card company. Here is their response directly from the email:Sir the product you had ordered has been discontinued worldwide and we found one unit for you that IS IN TRANSIT, if our accounting dept receives a chargeback from your bank we will forward your account to a collection agency since you AGREED OUR TERMS AND CONDITIONS DURING THE CHECKOUT PROCESS, instead of complaining you should be happy we were able to locate that product for you. Once again your order is in transit (on its way already).

Imagine, they want to turn this over to a collection agency for funds received yet have provided NO product. It looks like others have been taken by this company also. Please also lodge your complaints with the Better Business Bureau. Stay clear of this company.

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem