The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Paraco Gasawful service

N

When we built our home back in 2005, our builder recommended a propane company named Blue Flame Gas. We had them install a propane tank and supply our propane from that point forward.

I did find out until 4/1/09 that Blue Flame Gas was bought out by Paraco Gas in November, 2008.

Up until this winter we had no problems with our propane delivery. Blue Flame Gas delivered our propane, left a bill in our door, and we promptly paid the bills.

Starting this winter, when we received our propane delivery, we did not receive a bill. My husband, on both occasions we received a propane delivery, called the company to request a bill. Both times, bills were sent to our home address.

Just this past Tuesday (3/31/09) I received a collection notice from Paraco Gas. I tried all day Tuesday to contact the company, to no avail.

I was finally able to reach a representative named Kerry yesterday (4/1/09). We were able to determine that they were sending the invoices to our previous address, where we have not lived in 3 years. Somehow, though, the collection notice managed to get to us at our current address. I guess it never dawned on them that maybe they should be sending the bills to the propane delivery address which is our primary residence. Apparently, we received a propane deliver on January 28 of 227.9 gallons for a bill of $589.01. The total charges on the collection notice are $614.01.

I told Kerry that I would be willing to pay our propane bill on the spot over the phone, but that I was not willing to pay the late fee. She informed me she could waive the late fee, but not the collection fee. I told her that was ridiculous. I told her the only reason we paid the prior two bills was because we were assertive and called them for statements, knowing we had received deliveries. I told her we did nothing wrong and that it was outrageous that we should be penalized because they were unorganized. We came to no resolution at that time, I again told her I would pay the propane bill and not the fees, and that I would like to schedule a time for them to come out and remove the tank as I was no longer interested in doing business with them.

When my husband and I returned home from work that same day (4/1/09), we found that they had come to our house, disconnected our gas, and put a lock on the tank. I called the local police department, and two officers came to my home. They said, unfortunately, this was a civil matter and not a criminal matter, and that they could not help us.

I then called the emergency phone line for Paraco Gas. A technician by the name of Letty returned my call. He informed me that he could come reconnect the gas, but that I would have to pay the bill in its entirety, including all of the fees, plus a $195 after hours service call fee and a $100 reconnect fee. I told him, not nicely, that this was not going to happen, that this company was crazy, that we did absolutely nothing wrong and asked why they were doing this to us. I informed him that I have a three year old son with asthma and we could not go through the night with no heat. He stated that he understood my concerns and would call his manager, Tom Bock. A few minutes later I received a return call from Letty, and he stated that unless I was willing to pay all of these fees, there was nothing he could do and that I could speak with Tom Bock in the morning (today).

My husband was able to remove the lock (without breaking it, thank goodness) and reconnect the line last night, so that we did not have to go without heat and hot water.

I am at a complete loss as to how this company is allowed to operate this way. Not to mention that when they disconnected our connection, there was gas in the tank that we had already paid for!!!

Responses

  • Re
    Reviewer49213 Jan 11, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company has terrible policies. They don't work with you. They have "fees" for everything!! I switched companies and now they want to charge me $110 restocking fee to pick up their tank, which I paid a rental fee for AND there is still almost 20% gas still left in the tank! Don't go with this company. I switched to a local company which has much better customer service and lower prices.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    ComplyouParaco Jun 03, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Paraco as a whole and paraco bay shore are absolute garbage! In addition to above they are the worst!
    BUYER BEWARE! They had the Audacity to come to my home and remove a FULL Tank They did not own!
    I bought the tank and regulator from Synergy Gas 25 years ago! They came to my home dragged the full 100 gallon tank across my newly sodded lawn and stole it! Yes I am serious! they think they own it and I have original paperwork!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Peconic Feb 25, 2015

    On the other hand, once they do deliver, they just might continue to deliver. Yep. Had a delivery and 2 days later they delivered AGAIN and want ME to pay for the overflow that they had to vent. Mind you, as they were bleeding off that (now liquid) propane, it seeped into my house. Could have blown up the whole place. (And yes, the fire department did have to come, on the off chance it did.)

    0 Votes
  • Al
    AlisonAlison Feb 20, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I cannot agree more with all the complaints on this list. Wish I had done a google search before hand.
    I had to talk to five people and I still do not have any gas.
    They do not care.
    They just do not care.
    If you have no gas, do not call them. Tell them to take their tank and go take a hike. They need to go out of business!!!

    0 Votes
  • Un
    unhappyagain Dec 29, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    7 weeks in the cold… Given that I am new to Propane gas and delivery, Paraco got to be the worst of all companies. We closed on out new place Nov 10th, just before the heating season. I opened my account with Paraco the day the closing date was set, mainly because the previous owner had used them before and a tank was already in place. I paid my first bill within days and then waited. I called and called and waited until Dec 12 until they finally they sent someone out for the safety inspection, but still no delivery. The inspector was very nice and competent, and told me that they were seriously short staffed, but 6 weeks in the cold season??? It was supposed to take only a few days after the inspection for the first delivery, but by the 19th there was still no sign of any delivery, so I kept calling, increasingly loosing my cool on the phone. They promised delivery for the next day, Saturday the 20th. When we arrived at the house on the 23rd late evening we found the gas tank to be completely empty. After a very cold night I called yet again first thing in the morning, and all the operator would do is e-mail the delivery department (to which I never received a response) I left a voice mail with the person who had promised me the Dec 20th delivery, but she never returned my call. After about an hour on the phone, and short of driving to the nearest delivery center to chain myself to a delivery truck, I finally talked to someone in deliveries, who did call me back and promised (yet again) delivery for the same day, christmas eve! In fact I received my first delivery on Dec 24th at 2:15 pm!! What a joyous moment. The driver also was able to clear the mystery of the Saturday delivery: He had delivered it to the house of the former owner just across the street, called dispatch when he found it NOT empty, but they never called back - so he left. Paraco still charred me $50.- for the delivery to the wrong place. I guess if you order it, you have to pay for it regardless whose tank it ends up in! I love our new place, but signing up with Paraco was the WORST mistake!

    1 Votes
  • An
    Angry customer 76 Nov 10, 2014

    I have never seen a such a incompetent company then this. I was a customer with Amerigas for over 30 years until they sold out to paraco. Ever since I have had them it has been one nightmare after another. I was on automatic delivery but managed to run out of gas not once but twice with them. The last time they came to fill my tanks I was told they couldn't because the assembly needed to be replaced, so they left me a week without any cooking gas. A month later I noticed a strong odor of propane. I called paraco on a Saturday they sent a tech out which I had to pay a weekend fee dumbest thing I ever heard thought I had a propane leak and was told I had two pin size holes in the valve he needed to disconnect and a service tech would have to come and see if the tanks needed to be replaced. I called on Monday and was told that the earliest they could come would be a week from that Monday. The following Monday I called and was told no one was in the area and would get there as soon as they could. I was getting pissed. A week and half later at 10 o'clock at night a fuel truck showed up and informed he was there to reconnect me. Totally confussed how can u reconnect if there is a leak he Informed me that there was no report of a leak. He did a leak test that the first guy did and saw no leak. I guess leaks now fix them selves, he then informed me the new assembly that was put on was out on totally wrong that caused all the propane to escape, and the tanks were now empty. Keep in mind 2 bottles last me 6 months not 1. I was then told he would have someone come out fill the tanks the next day and not be charged, well not the case I had a guy come to turn me off for non payment I sent him away but know he will be back. Why should I pay for 2 gas deliveries when I shouldn't even be through one yet, this company stinks and needs to be bought out

    2 Votes
  • Fo
    FORMER EMPLOYEE 2 Oct 29, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I worked for this company. I see they have lots of unhappy X customers on this complaint board. when I worked there I did the on call service like most of the other workers. We were forced to work around the clock when on call. Anyone with a CDL license knows you can not work more than 14 hours a day and 16 hours a day once a week. At paraco Gas if you are "on call" you work from 7 am until 7 am the next day, Workers are told to switch trucks so D.O.T. won't catch on when they get pulled over, they will fire you if you don't go on a call, this is dangerous to the driver and everyone on the road. This company had a terrible accident on I- 287 in 1994 because the driver was forced to work more hours than the law allowed, 17 million dollars in damages and the driver was killed. Google it for details! They don't care about their employees, Their employees should contact OSHA! To my understanding their is a cash reward for whistle blowers!
    NEVER AGAIN!

    0 Votes
  • Ny
    NYRik Jul 01, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WARNING!!! I purchased a property which had 2 Propane Tanks left from the old owner. I called Paraco (owner of the tanks) to start service with them but then decided to go with another company. Within 8 months time, I placed 4 appointments for them to pick up the tanks and credit me for the propane left in them (this is the law since I paid at my closing). Paraco neglected to make each of 4 appointments to pick them up. They finally sent someone when I wasn't home without my permission. A friend, unaware of the history, did not provide access to this unannounced stranger. I called Paraco for the 5th time and was told by the Regional Manager that arrangements would be made. The very next day, Paraco charged my credit card for $456.34 for a "re-stocking fee" even though I've literally begged for them to take these tanks back for 8 months and they neglected to do so. The biggest problem with this, is that I'm NOT THEIR CUSTOMER! These tanks were leased by the previous property owner and I've never had a relationship with Paraco except for asking them to remove these tanks from my property.

    0 Votes
  • Lt
    ltdillah Dec 08, 2012

    We bought a new gas range so we called Synergy to install it and found out Paraco bought the company out. The technician came over, installed the range and repaired the copper line. The quality of work was unbelievably terrible: The copper line sticks out because he cut it too long and we couldn't close the range drawer if we push the range back to the wall. We called the company and he returned to fix the mess he put under the range so the drawer could be closed perfectly. After he left, we started smelling gas and turned out that there was a leak. We paid about $350 for the installation but their service was very disappointing. We decided to switch to Peconic Propane which doesn't have any hidden charge for propane. Stay away from Paraco!

    0 Votes
  • Ht
    htetro781 Nov 08, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Discontinued using PARACO 5 weeks ago because of a move. We were told to expect our refund (deposit, credit, and refund of unused propane) in 2 weeks. Called and they said that they were just working on it. Called and they said they'd call right back. Called and they said they would expedite payment. Called and they, again, said they would call back after emailing corporate. I emailed them and was told that the claim was put in on October 26th and we would get the refund within 2 weeks of that date. Still nothing. Long story short, calling for 5 weeks and no refund. Funny, when they wanted money, we had to pay right away. Terrible customer service!

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brian Morgan Nov 07, 2012

    Listen my friends, lets stop putting up with this crap and lets start changing the status quo! First off, we need to contact our Congressman/Congresswoman to understand exactly what the law is regarding propane. I spoke to a very helpful person at Suburban Propane who explained that they are required by law to own/service the tank and the connection to your home. I suggested that a more equitable arrangement would be for me to own the tank and pay for any needed servicing so that I would have the freedom to choose ANYONE to come deliver my fuel. She laughed and agreed with me but said that I would have to be elected governor or president to make such changes. People lets make this happen! Apparently, threats to convert to gasoline or diesel make no difference to these people. It is called Crony Capitalism. These companies have reached a lucrative deal with the government in order to continue operations. It is time to change the system. Please contact me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    WallyH Jun 29, 2012

    I am off for a bad start with Paraco. I did no chose this company, but became their customer after Paraco acquired Synergy, my previous propane supplier. My pool heater wasn't working, so I asked Paraco to have a look. I was told that a part in my heater needed to be replaced, and that it would cost in excess of $300. I agreed, and they send a technician to fix it. When I tried to turn on the heater it still did not work. A call to the company didn't help. They simply told me that there was no guarantee that it would work. Should they not have told me that before? Anyway, the heater is for the use of my tenants, who complained. So I decided to spent in access of $4000 for a new heater and informed Paraco. They came to connect the tanks to the heater. It is working very well now. They changed the tanks. A week after the work was finished, I received and invoice for $851. I called Paraco and was told that the part they replaced cost $776, an amount identified as "previous balance." I had never received any other invoice before. Never mind that new part was useless. But wasn't the cost of the part $300 and change? I asked the person on the phone for an explanation. I was promised a call back the following day. Nobody called. That same day, I received a "credit notice" reminding me that my payment was past due. But the amount I am supposed to owe had increased to $1430. That's a difference of almost $600. I called the billing department for an explanation, and got a recorded message asking me to leave my name, telephone and account numbers. Three days later I am still waiting. I suppose the next thing they will do is hand over my account to the collection department. I'll keep you posted.
    Walter

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    Fustratedgascustomer May 30, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am on Long Island. Last year I closed my pool and disconnected filter and heater. 2 weeks later they delivered gas and I am not on auto delivery. I complained and they added tons of late charges and threatened collections and disconnecting and removal. I paid the bill but there is still late charges. Recently I called to connect heater, the service guy left the heater on when the filter was off. A piece broke and I questioned whether it could have been because the man left it on. I got a threatening call from Sean and he stated do you know anything about mechanical things. I said I only assumed it could have been the fact they left the heater on. Then he denied the heater was on. So I called back to speak with a regional manager and again I get a call back from Sean with another attitude. What do they think they are the mafia. Don't ever use PARACO!

    0 Votes
  • 34
    340weather May 17, 2012

    yes they are the worst to deal with and will overcharge you . started out with ameragas then was bought out by paraco then the overcharging started left them found ameragas in nearby town went with them all was great for years then paraco bought them .and we went right back to overcharging just threw them out again now with a family owned company. STAY AWAY FROM PARACO GAS Their prices suck, their service sucks, and their people suck

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kiki745 Mar 01, 2012

    I would NEVER use this company. The service people all the way from the delivery people all the way to customer service are rude and hostile. I have had to call the police on them after being threatened. They will come on your property unauthorized and enter your home. DO NOT USE THEM

    1 Votes
  • Su
    Susan Ballard Feb 22, 2012

    My husband and I moved to Long Island in the late 90's, We have had Paraco Gas ever since. In June 2010 their was a problem with my bill, after trying to solve the problem over the phone with no success I went to the Bay Shore office and I spoke to a manager named Kevin Tuhy. He did not seem very interested in hearing my side of the story, in the middle of the conversation I could smell alcohol on his breath! He got up to take a phone call and walked by me and I then noticed an odor of urine! At this point I just wanted the problem taken care of, He returned in a few minutes and assured me that the unexplained charge would be removed from my bill. One month later I received a bill with the same unexplained charge on it. I had to call the main office up state in Rye Brook NY to finally get the charge removed. This was very time consuming and frustrating, I hope they have made improvements in their way of handling such simple disputes!

    -1 Votes
  • Ar
    Arlene Schuman Feb 01, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently moved in to my deceased son's home. He had passed away in May 2010 and his house sat empty, with no usage of propane, until mid November 2010 when I moved in and had the technician come in to make sure the propane fireplace and cooking stove were safe. At that time, the tech checked the gauge on my tank, and left. Then I received a bill for $265.82, by way of a statement generated a month later, which I questioned. I was told that they were billing me for gas already in the tank, even tho my son had paid for it back in the spring before he passed away. Then I was told that they would issue him a check for the product despite the fact that he was dead, and I wouldn't be able to cash it due to probate. They stuck to their guns, so here I am, on social security, being forced to pay this bill to protect my credit.

    -1 Votes
  • Ac
    acny Jan 04, 2012

    Quick to take your money but not to deliver on time. Rude employees, even the supervisors. Very unprofessional company. Change delivery days multiple times in a week. Put me on hold until after hours and never picked the line back up. I called back and they were closed! They say they have " no complaints dept".

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    m rizzo Dec 18, 2011

    I have a summer home built in 1986 the house is also used for hunting during deer season in NYS.the house is winterized just when the winter sets in before Christmas and stay shut till fallowing year end of march, i use to get my propane gas from across the Delaware river 5 miles from, from day one, But as i add more gas heaters i am getting to old for messing with timber firewood so i needed a bigger fuel tank and this gas co. was not allowed to come across the river in to NYS. so i signed up with Hartz & Sons a small local co. they have been very good check once a month put in what it needs and bill me '
    Last year October of 2010 in the middle of the hunting season i notice that gas was running low and tank was not checked for delivery for passed 2 months, so i called Hartz and ordered gas myself and i was told no problem and promised a delivery that week, i have used up the wood i had, and had only 25 lbs of propane remaining by mid November, and no delivery yet, after so many calls finely i was told the co. was sold to Paraco gas sens September of 2010 and they are running the show and there is nothing they can do
    so end of November i shut down everything drain waters and abandon the house for the winter .
    when i returned to the house next March found the gas tank filled but locked and a notes to call them, so i call, and i was told because the tank when empty they will have to make a test as a safety precaution before they can unlock the tank, so i must make an appointment with the plumbing department before they can unlock the tank, when the plumber came he put a gauge on the tank distributing pipe and then removed it, all and all it toke 10 minutes, then he spent 15 minutes in hes truck making a report, then came
    and handed me a bill of $295.00 saying every time the tank goes empty they must take a leak test, i said fine but # 1 there was 30 lbs in the tank when i shut off the valve at the tank, #2 its not my float that you freeze me last November by not delivering on time, so guess what i was riped off $295.00.
    and now they want me to pay $300.00 for them to install an automatic gas deposit read out so can read its content level from there office and don't have to come to physically check the tank gas level, so i have to spend $300.00 so they can make money on $75.00 gadget plus it is for there oven good, i have solar panels no great electric, this means i have to install special transformer to the gadget, while i an running on limited electricity. what a racket ...

    0 Votes
  • Bh
    B HHall Nov 10, 2011

    I ordered propane and signed contract with this company on Oct 31st 2011, I was told I would recieve tank and propane Thurs or Fri Nov 3rd.
    I stayed home and waited, they were no shows, so I called the Dalton, PA office spoke with Karen, she informed me it would be next Thurs 10 clock, and she went on to say they had my cell # and would call an hour ahead to let me know they were coming ( That wasn't true either).
    I got a tank on Nov 10th and it only had 10 gallons in it and I paid for 100.gallons
    I was told by the guy someone will be out to fill it in a couple days, You just gotta laugh!!!
    I called Kathy and complained about ordering and paying on the Oct 31st and not getting service until Nov 10th and I still don't have what I paid for. !! Don't make my mistake...BBB

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    Niccum Jun 08, 2011

    Awful company and I had yet to start doing business with them. They sent out a sales person who never got back to me when I was ready for service as he was fired. Someone else took over. He messed up the account, promised to install 3 days ago. It was never put in for. Told I had to wait another 3 weeks. Today I get a call that they do not even service my area. So two sales people, the person who gave the account to the salesperson and the one that scheduled the service didn't know they didn't come to my town? How horrible is that and they have delayed me over a month. Flabbergasted!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    paris401 May 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    funny u mention 'Joe Armantano'... last week i called for a pool service.. 'michelle' said service was busy, they would call back... and i wait and wait...and wait... sent an email to customer service on sat, it is now monday nite... no call back.. so did a search for paraco execstives, found joe's name, tel. number and email address... sent me an email asking him what a long time customer needs to get a call back... i've give him 24hrs..then i'll start to call him on the phone... what a $hitty company...

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MaryAnne Sas Apr 12, 2011

    I have been dealing with an issue on my gas bill since 11-2010. At this point this bill is still not corrected. I have been working with Tony Bennet( who has been very nice), but I keep getting letters and phone calls. When the problem first happened I was advised not to pay the bill. When my meter was changed in Oct - Nov, it was found that I was paying another tennant's bill also. what my bill was last year ( and I did not use heat) was more than double of what it is this year. I have been told today that I am now on del. hold. When I spoke to Tony last week he told me the work still was not finished and would be finished this week and I was assured your company would work with me. I only get pd 2x a month and my 2nd check is what I pay my bills with. I am a single mother. Most of this bill if not all of it should be credited due to I was paying another units bill. I did not use my heat last year, we used heaters. I have been in contact with the gas company at least 2 x a month checking the status. Please let me know what I need to do to fix this. I received an URGENT call from Beatrice on this. Tony Bennett has put notes in the system. PLEASE tell me how to fix this or who I need to go to fix this. I have made myself sick over this, and my daughter is so afraid that we will not have heat or HOT WATER. PLEASE HELP!!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    annoyed! Mar 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is the worst company to deal with... no customer service, their employees treat me - the customer like I'm an idiot... they are rude and condescending. It sounds like they hire high school drop outs!... they make their rules as they go along. I am stuck with them, because they own the tank. I am trying to purchase a new tank, so I can call them and tell them to go to hell once and for all...

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    kritical Feb 24, 2011

    paraco gas company is full of rude greedy pigs. I made them mad because i was upset that it would take a week and a half to get gas(thing is i saw 3 trucks pass my house in that week and a half) and suddenly i went from will call to automatic delivery and now i have a bill thats over $1200!!! they are evil [censor]!

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    Phoenix56 Feb 13, 2011

    I had the same problems. I left Paraco in 2006 and joined a fuel cooperative operating out of Saratoga County. They have great member pricing through Ferrellgas and great service. Word is spreading because they have over 4, 000 members. Galwayco-op.com

    -1 Votes
  • Fe
    fedupwithitall Dec 15, 2010

    I had been with my local Gas Co. for nearly 15 yrs prior to them being bought by Paraco. In the time since that happened, my experience w/this Co has been awful. Today, I called my local branch asking if I could get a delivery, since my tanks were @ 10%. The RUDE woman on the other end talked to me like I was an idiot and stated that I was on "Will Call" and I should have called once my tanks had gotten down to 30%. She added that if the delivery truck wasn't in my area it would be an extra $165 charge, and if I ran empty they would add another $75 to charge the system. She rather rudely added that I better be home to hand payment to the Driver or they wouldn't fill the tanks. This was news to me, especially since my last delivery was made when I wasn't home and a bill was left for me on the door, no one was @ the door asking for payment then. In addition, this last delivery was paid by me - on Paraco's archaic website - no more than 10 days after that delivery. This will be the last delivery Paraco makes to my home. Had the tanks not been so low, I would have had a new Co. and told Miss Thang on the other end to just come pick up their tanks. I didn't figure I could get anyone out to set up on a moments notice, so Parahole is getting more of my money today. If you are reading this looking for a gas provider - don't even think about these crooks. Their prices suck, their service sucks, and their people suck. They seem to think they can add in all their little "surcharges" and people won't notice, or question them. In talking w/other customers of this Co., the gig is up Paraco, everyone is on to your games and most won't be your customers for much longer.

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    spackle Nov 23, 2010

    I am in Paraco Hell as we speak. I am disabled and am on Social Security and food stamps. Needless to say money is a BIG issue for me. Luckily I applied for and was awarded a HEAP grant good for $700 for the winter which goes directly to Paraco. Here is the rub though. HEAP does not kick in until November 1st. On October 22nd Paraco made a delivery (unbeknownst to me) to me to the tune of $220. They then called me up and said I had to pay the bill in full before my HEAP grant could be used. I asked if they could use the grant to pay the bill retroactively (after all it was a matter of a couple of weeks) and they said no and to call my case worker at social services. My case worker said they could, Paraco again said they couldnt, and on and on it goes. Finally I got in touch with yet another woman who was rather short with me who said I couldnt even do a payment plan! When I asked why she said I was 31 days past due and that they had been calling me and writing me. WRONG! I am home all day every day and have not gotten one call or letter. And I have been using that time trying to figure out how to deal with this situation. Then she goes on to tell me I cant get a payment plan anyway because I am getting some kind of thing called "Pipeline" which discounts my fuel per gallon somewhat. So the whole past due thing is a moot point since they have no intention of giving me a payment plan. Even if they did it would be March before I could pay it off. And oh yeah, she told me I should be grateful for the fuel discount! Yeah. When I am sitting in an ice cold room unable to cook anything I will think about how great it is having to pay a few cents less per gallon then everyone else. I have never heard of a company who is unwilling to do a payment plan (no matter 30 or 60 days late) and is so inflexible. But what really kills me is that they have an entire page on their website dedicated to "Community outreach" listing tons of the charities that they "give" to. Yet they seem perfectly willing to let poor disabled people go cold for a couple of hundred bucks? It is totally disgusting and is all just for show. They should be ashamed. I am going to hold off on final judgement as someone is supposed to get back to me tomorrow, the day before Thanksgiving. But I am worried that they may come and boot my tanks before Thanksgiving. Leaving myself and my elderly mother in the cold and unable to cook. From what I have read in previous comments it is a distinct possibility. If they do I am going straight to the media. All this over a couple of hundred stinking bucks. Cold blooded if you ask me.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Lake George Residential Jan 05, 2010

    This Company is strictly awful. You get conflicting answers with each phone call. I was told I was auto, and
    I was told I'm on will call...well, which is it? I've been trying for 5 days now to get a delivery. I will not
    deal with these people next heating season...no way.

    0 Votes
  • Kn
    Kndakrfty Sep 01, 2009

    I agree..this company is the worst I have dealt with. Since they took over for US Bottle Gas they've let me run out 3 times. It's ridiculous! In the beginning they let me go over 4 mos with no delivery. I was about to run out right before Thanksgiving and had to call and demand a delivery even though I'm on automatic. I had a talk with the girl in the office and explained that I could NOT afford to pay such a large bill...I need my deliveries every 4 weeks like I had with US Bottle gas. She said based on my usage it would have to be every 6 weeks. I would be happy for that instead of letting my tank empty completely. I've had enough...I'm shopping around.

    -1 Votes
  • To
    TomNJ Aug 06, 2009

    Hi, I am in the same boat almost with paraco gas. I have used rodger with Blue flame for 7 years, and now am a victim with paraco. I own my own 500 gallon tank and rodger always drove by and topped me off keeping my bills low and tank full. Paraco lets me run out, makes me beg for delivery and bangs me with 800.00 fuel bills at the worst times, them demands payment in full even though i only requested 200.00 worth of fuel. i callled Keri only to hear her tell me her computers are down 3 times. Now they have booted My tank even though i informed them I will comtact the police for tresspassing on my property. If they want their money they have 3 options, wait for payment(we have been paying 100.00 every 2 weeks) put us in collections (they already have) or take me to small claims court. I received a letter from paraco when they bought out rodger stating they would provide the same service we have been recieving. We have not recieved that yet and as far as im concerned this was a binding contract when they sent that out in the mail.
    Tom

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    Boo May 11, 2009

    I worked for this company for almost 2 years. Needless to say, too many chiefs not enough indians. I was a service technician as well as Letty. There is no straight forward answers, it is all in who you know. It is very politially driven company, if you know what I mean. You make sure that you use up all of that gas in those tanks before you tell them to pick them up. They charge a pick up and restocking fee. So bascially you will not get full credit back. If your husband is educated enough to hook up a regulator and a small tank until you choose another provider. But the tanks and regulator belong to them. Send a money order to pay your bill 589.01 if you use a card they will bill the rest. They will send the rest to collections, but at least you can hash it out. Also do not be afraid to try and get in touch with Joe Armantano. I think he has an office in Salt Point NY, or Rye Brook. Squeaky wheel gets the grease.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.