The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Oriental Trading/Easy SaverUnauthorized Charges

Today when I received my credit card bill, I found out I've been charged by Easy saver for $14.95 starting on December last year. Then I searched in the website, and found out Oriental Trading is associated with Easy Saver. I assumed I unintentionally signed up for Easy Saver's "services" when I bought Christmas toys from orientaltrading.com.

I called the credit card co. and told them I don't recognized those charges. The next day I called Oriental Trading [protected]) and told them I want my money back. Immediately they promised to give me full credit back to my card and gave me a confirmation number.

So be careful next time you made purchase from Oriental Trading!

Responses

  • Vi
    VibeManager Jul 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We were also hit by this scam from http://www.orientaltrading.com and they claimed that we were warned upon checkout that we were "joining the Easy Saver program" by buying from them. I told them it was totally under the consumer's radar (which is the point) and they should stick to the business of selling party supplies. Amex says they can only refund the last two months and I have to fight with Easy Saver for the rest. I am putting pressure on Oriental Trading since their association with this scam is tarnishing their image online. If you Google the phrase "oriental trading scam" you will receive 4, 560 results. If you Google the same phrase without quotes, you will receive over 1 million results. They could argue that those three words could not necessarily refer to orientaltrading.com and I would argue that while true, many certainly do because most of those results mention the "Easy Saver Rewards" false charge. Needless to say, we are done with OrientalTrading.com

    0 Votes
  • Up
    upset and paying for it Apr 19, 2011

    We were paying for this "service" for two years, $14. 95 a month. I saw it on the bank statement, but figured my husband had signed up for it. Discover Card called us earlier this morning asking if we had approved this reoccurring charge. We were appalled to find out that neither of us had approved this charge nor received their so called "confirmation email". We immediately called Easy Saver and told them our predicament. They first offered us 6 months of the charge to be refunded, but we asked if their was any way to refund everything without calling our lawyer (politely). They returned everything and were very helpful. A word of advice- when you call be sure to start politely and only use slight force when NEEDED, this company seems to get these calls often and will accommodate you in order to stay out of legal trouble.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    Jon Lamb Feb 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Close bank account quickly, the only way possible!! They'll tell you to read the terms&conditions at the bottom of the page, which is longer than the Bible, and you'll come up with the same ### they give you on the phone. CLOSE YOUR ACCOUNT NOW!!

    0 Votes
  • Nu
    nuttinfancy Feb 10, 2011

    We placed an order with Oriental Trading com. on 11-15-2010 and was offered a free electric cig. for the low cost of $4.95 for shipping and handleing...The $4.95 was billed to our credit card on 11-15-2010..Now in Febuary of 2011 our card was billed for $49.95 !!! When I called this company...they asked me if I know a person named Roxi ??? I replyed no..then they go into the whole thing of how I had 30 days to return the product...they say they can not put the money back onto my card but...they can give me a $100.00 gift card to spend on thier websight...lmao !!! i'm calling this company every 15 minutes untill i get my money back...every 15 minutes of everyday !!!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lindsey1983 Aug 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    THIS WILL HELP YOU ALL WITH THIS READ ON:
    My card was charged 10 TIMES!!! My own fault for not noticing sooner. The first rep was only authorized to refund 2 of the 10 charges. I asked for his supervisor, he sent me to the Consumer Affairs department. They were only authorized to refund 1 more. I sternly, not rudely, just sternly asked for his supervisor. She, TANYA, was able to give me the full $150 back. Insane that I didn't notice, but I am so glad Tanya could help. She was very nice. She did tell me that if you ask for the "escalation department" on the first call you may cut your call time down and shoot to the top. UGHHH!! No more shopping on Oriental trading for me.

    0 Votes
  • Es
    esanchez Dec 05, 2009

    the same thing happened to me. I am so pissed off! apparently they also do that with proflowers.com so i know not to order from them. i have to wait till monday so i can have someone help me out and to get my money back. this is bull of oriental trading to be doing that to their customers.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sarah McDermott Nov 05, 2009

    I ordered Halloween Candy from Oriental Trading, after a girl from work had told me about the great prices and how she got all of her stuff with them. She even had a magazine for them, so I thought everything would be okay to order from them. I went to there website and ordered. About a month goes by and I am getting this Easy Saver taking money out of my account of $14.95. I have never ever have given any account info to these people, except for Oriental Trading. When I contacted Easy Saver for my money back the first lady acted like she couldn't hear me. Then I called again and got a guy and told him my situation. Then he said my phone was cutting out and he couldn't hear me. OH I KNOW THEY COULD HEAR ME. Finally as I started getting yelling my Name in the phone, he could FINALLY hear me. He said, "Did you order from Oriental Trading." I said yes, but what does that have anything to do with Easy Saver. He said, "When Oriental Trading Company offered you 10 percent off, they asked for your e-mail address and when you did that, you signed up for Easy Saver which is 14.95 a month." OMG...I was pissed. The guy finally gave me my money back and the charge. Oriental Trading has NO RIGHT to give all my information, including my debit card number to this company Easy Saver.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chrystal_A Jul 24, 2009

    My card was charged SIX times before I relized what was going on!They did say they would refund all the money they took (which i could only recall 2) so we will see.Im still in the waiting process.I contacted oriental trading, I think its wrong they should not be affliated with such a scam company.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    M & S Jul 13, 2009

    Happened to my wife over the weekend, she ordered some products from Oriental Trading for her pre-school class on our shared VISA card. Couple of days later, before the Oriental Trading order posted to our account, a charge of $1.95 to Easy Share with the phone number above appeared on my statement.

    I called the number and when the call center person (appeared to be in the USA, this surprised me) asked what they could do for me I told them right away to remove the charge from my card. Had to go through the "who am I" drill and play the answer this question game before she finally reversed the charge and canceled our "membership".

    This is the second time they have gotten us. The last time was when we ordered mothers day flowers from ProFlowers, they did the same thing but with a $14.95 charge. Same process to get the charges revered/dropped.

    I recommend anyone who this happens too to go to the Attorney General of Maryland and file a complaint: http://www.oag.state.md.us/consumer/complaint.htm

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Gina Apr 22, 2009

    I want to thank you for this posting, I helped me get my money back.

    Today I was checking my mother's account and realized that Easy saver was charging her $14.95 per month since we bought christmas ornaments from Oriental Trading on dicember. Thanks to this posting I realized these companies are associated, and easy saver has done this to many people.

    When I called Oriental trading they gave this number for Easy Saver [protected], the lady was very polite and told me she could only refund the last two charges, so I told her to transfer me with someone who could return all my money, she put me on hold and 5 minutes later she told me she'd return everything back to my mother's account.

    I would not recomend you to order from Oriental trading, it's very upseting when these companies take advantage of their customers by stealing money from their bank accounts.

    1 Votes
  • Kr
    Krissia Mar 27, 2009

    I ordered items from Oriental Trading and was offered $10 off in a follow-up email. Unbeknownst to me, my zip code, email, and debit card number was used to sign me up for Easy Saver's "services", and for 4 months, I was charged $14.95 a month for a service I never asked for nor ever used.

    I managed to get some of my money back (thanks to an angry parent with good communication skills), but we shall see if they take me off their list.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.