OntoDVD.comThey will never apologize for messing you around

B
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

This company was awful to deal with. Whilst the DVD conversion I requested was eventually done, the stressed involved in the process made it not worthwhile at all.

You may be considering this company to convert your family home videos to DVD because of their reasonable price. Go elsewhere is my sincere advice.

They will never contact you at all. I had to chase constantly and never once received a call. The conversion quality is average, the discs themselves poor quality and the cases are a joke. They will not discuss your needs and will not negotiate a price or return money to you. They will use terrible couriers and inadequate packaging to pocket the postage charge, give you wrong delivery times and tracking codes and make every excuse under the sun. They will never apologize for messing you around.

This is basically an amateur cottage industry set-up operating from a run-down area of Glasgow and run by a rude, greedy and lazy individual. Do not give them your business.

Responses

  • Fe
    fedup1120 Oct 16, 2016

    Agree with all of the above! Shockingly bad company. Here's a copy of email I sent them - without getting a reply: AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!
    'I've recently received some cine films back that you put onto DVD for me. I've had so many issues and problems with my order I don't know where to start!
    However, before I leave some awful reviews all over the internet I wanted to give you the chance to redeem yourselves.

    A catalogue of disasters:

    * Before sending the films I was told via email the turnaround time was 5-7 days. From you receiving the films to returning them you took a staggering 36 days!!! Do you, running a business, find this acceptable?

    * You received my films 5th July, I awaited my promised call back with price quote. Heard nothing so chased you via email 6th July and 7th July. You confirmed and quoted a price of £66, which was incorrect. I queried this on 7th July and again on 11th July. You confirmed you quoted wrong price as you'd input wrong footage in data base!

    * After getting the correct price I confirmed for you to go ahead and asked for a paypal invoice.

    *15th July chased my invoice and tried to find out where the order was at. Told order was complete. But still no invoice sent.

    *20th July chased my order and invoice twice - no reply.

    * 21st July you sent invoice, again you tried to overcharge me £18! Emailed back asking for new invoice.

    *22nd July correct invoice sent and promptly paid for. Called that afternoon to find out when I would receive my films, told I'd have them by Tuesday 26th July.

    *Went on Holiday and when I returned on 10th August I STILL had not received my films! Over the next three days I called a total of 10 times. Leaving messages every time as there was never anyone in your office able to help me. No one ever bothered calling back and I finally received the films on 13th August - they had only been sent on 10th August!
    Why would you complete my order and have your payment but not send it for another 19 days??

    * After watching the films I'm rather disappointed with the quality as on your website your promise to 'slow films down to appear more natural'. This certainly hasn't been done as part of the film speeds up in places. You also offer free colour correction, this hasn't been done either as a couple of the films are a very red in colour.

    Not once did anyone get back to me with any explanations or apologies. The customer service has been appalling. I'd love to hear back from you to find out how a company can get things this wrong.'

    0 Votes
  • To
    Toobloe Aug 01, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are totally unprofessional and will rip you off. We paid over £100 for cine film transfers. When we finally recieved them, after waiting over a month, they were faulty. On the companies instruction we sent them back and were promised a refund. We're still waiting for the refund. We have contacted the company 9 times and keep being told that there's no one available to do the refund or that a cheque will be sent out within 7 days. During one phone call we were accused of copying the dvds before sending them back for our refund and told to SHUT UP. They are THE most unprofessional company I have ever come across. They are con artists who will take you for a ride.

    0 Votes
  • Gs
    gseri14 Sep 10, 2015

    Unfortunately I have found this feedback too late.
    I have sent to Callum, from Romania, my Super8 reels back in January. We are now in September and all I get are blames. It seems they have sent the pack 3 times and I'm to blame because the delivery problem is on my end.
    But they cannot provide any tracking number or scan from UPS receipt!!
    I have lost my money, personal video super8 and many time running after this guys.
    They also didn't accepted to speak with Consumer Ombudsman.
    I don't know which is next step for me. Investigating if and how I can trigger some kind of legal action.

    0 Votes
  • An
    AndrewBrad Mar 28, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently in the last couple months tried OntoDVD service and was heavily disappointed and messed around continuously, never called back over two months in which I was emailing them and calling to get updates on what was happening with my family's 40 year old films.
    THE ONE TIME they did call me was after their first attempt at transfers to take payment, after that never! I received my films and 4 DVD data discs (one of which did not even work) to find that the transfers were very VERY low resolution, there was increased dirt, hairs in the gate, the colours had been made a sickly green and yellow and the aspect ratio was wrong! Faces were stretched, although only slightly but that's not how they should be,
    I complained several times, and even sent through comparisons with a cheap camcorder transfer I did my self nearly 10 years ago which in my opinion and I made quite clear by putting them side by side in a video clip which I sent to them, that their HD! transfer with cleaning/colour grade infact looked worse!
    I mainly dealt with a man named Callum when I called, who would always say he would call back in 30 mins/1hour NEVER EVER did he. One time it was a guy called James who offered to re-transfer and so they sorted out a courier and I thought GREAT! this guys going to sort the problem!
    The second attempt at transferring was much the same, except the colour had improved some what. And in the end, and after all the stress they caused I ended up with 4 DVD data discs (all atleast working this time around) with very low resolution transfers AGAIN! BUT the worst part was the scratch lines they created, 4 nasty tramlines running continuously through a reel.
    I called them and asked for a refund, but they accept no responsibility for their inferior service what so ever, and claim the scratches were not done by them EVEN THOUGH the scratches were not there in their first transfer, nor by own camcorder attempt 10 years prior!
    STAY AWAY FROM ONTO DVD GLASGOW, UK - unless you want to throw your money away and possibly damage or altogether lose your priceless family archives.
    Andrew

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brook1 Aug 29, 2013

    In January 2013, I sent this company two VHS Video's each containing about 45mins of my late brother's wedding from the early 1980's. Each video was taken by separate people, and this is why there was two different videos. I asked the company if they could take the footage from each video and transfer this to a single DVD and make me three copies.

    We are now at the end of August 2013, and to this day I have never received anything from the company. When I contacted them for a price for this, they told me that it would be £36.00 to transfer each video. (£72.00 in total, plus an additional £3.00 for each additional copy that I wanted). I sent them a cheque for £81.00, together with the video's.

    My bank has confirmed that the cheque was cashed. This confirms that they did receive the video and the cheque.

    I have telephoned the company every day to ask where my DVD's and the original video are, and each time I phone I am given a different excuse by a different member of staff. There is one called Callum who has told me many times that the order was completed, but the items have been misfiled and has told me that he would get these in the post that evening.

    Another called Stewart has told me that the order has not been completed, and has simply said that he could not understand what the delay was. He has then told me that he would look into the matter, and telephone me back within the hour. I have never received a call-back.

    I have telephoned the company twice within one hour just to see if I can speak to someone different, and when I have managed to speak to them separately, these are the excuses they have given me. I have also had the telephone put down on me many times.

    The video that they have is the only copy of my brother's wedding, and the family are absolutely heartbroken.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chous Jun 22, 2013

    I have only just read your response, and as expected, I find the content totally judgemental and ever so slightly arrogant. I will address the points you make in turn.
    The order for is clear, up to 1 hour of footage is charged at £5, up to 2 hours is charged at £10 and so on. There is no part hour pricing, and this is clear, so on that basis, if you had 10 hours of footage you would have been charged £50 plus return postage, which, again, the costs of which are clear on the order form. On this basis, there is no room for negotiating of price, and I refer you back to the comment I made in my initial response re your weekly supermarket shop. Secondly, it really is quite sad that you feel the location of my premises to be "highly intimidating and undesirable" based on what you saw on Google Maps. It certainly did not stop you from sending your order to us, which confirms the fact that you only did your research when you felt you had a basis to complain. In addition, you may have found it easier to call in person to "prise" you property from our hands, maybe then, we would have been able to reslove the issue face to face rather than you going on a posting frenzy on line. Finally, in terms of greed, your assertion is ridiculous and is tinged with jealousy - based on the fact that I have had the forsight to ensure I own every domain relating to the market, and I can assure you there is no cover, it is simply very sound business sense! Yes we do get things wrong, however, the percentage based on the volume of customers is less than 1%, so I am pretty happy with that. But thanks for your feedback.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Wanderer K Apr 18, 2012

    Your order form is poor and ambiguous. It is suggested that part-filled DVDs can be partially refunded. I expected to be able to liaise with you about this. This is why I use the word negotiated because I am sure my >10 hours video footage was not precisely divisible by 2hr chunks, therefore you will have effectively overcharged me.
    It is precisely because you fail to call back AT ALL each and every time customers call you that you invite “complaints without any contact with us or allowing us the opportunity to rectify the situation”. If you do not contact us by returning our numerous and frequent calls, how can you rectify the situation anyway, even if you intended to do so? In my case you could have at least tried to rectify the situation on any of the dozen occasions I called you, however instead you gave empty promises and false information.
    Regarding the premises of your ‘business’, in desperation at the prospect of having to come in person to your location to prise my property from your hands, I resorted to Google Maps and Streetview to try to find you. Not only was it very difficult to locate you, the environment surrounding the location was highly intimidating and undesirable.
    Your use of the word ‘slander’ suggests an element of fabrication on my part. I wish this was true, however my description of your horrendous manner, attitude and lack of professionalism was entirely accurate based on my contact with you and experience of your business. The greed refers to the fact that you appear to have bought out every domain name referring to this market. It is a cover for your very poor operation and in my opinion you should have got your business in order and thought about your priorities first.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    chous Apr 11, 2012

    Another frustration for me is that people think they can negotiate a price, once a quote is given. I wonder if you would consider going into your local supermarket and asking them for a discount on your weekly shop? I expect not. Again, another complaint without any contact with us or allowing us the opportunity to rectify the situation. Finally, the location of my premises is of no significance what so ever. Additionally, please refrain from using slanderous language in reviews it really is not becoming, and is only used by people who are afraid to put their heads above the parapit and have a grown up adult conversation.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chous Apr 11, 2012

    Interesting comments. Fact - none of my team would ever say this to a customer, and depending on the fomat you sent to us, a 3 week turnaround time is at times, average. Happy for you to contact me to discuss, and I can provide you with the full facts.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ramize Feb 01, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Awful - spoken to via telephone 3 times as to when i would be receiving tapes/dvd back. Took day off work only to find they hadnt been sent as promised. When phoned girl just said ` well wasn't me u spoke to yesterday so not my problem. 3 weeks now and still haven't got them.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.