Montage Furniture Services.procrastination of warranty service.

D
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I bought $5200.00 worth of furniture from Ashley furniture in 2007 and was talked into buying a 5 year warranty from Montage Furniture Services with sweet talk about the great plan and quick service.

The following is a quote off their website:

"MFS distinguishes itself from its competitors by offering personal, fast and friendly service — delivered by experienced furniture industry experts."

I reluctantly bought the plan and was given only the receipt as proof of purchase about the plan. I wasn't given a brochure or an explanation about the plan.

3 years later in March of 2010 I tried to file a claim with Montage Furniture Services but was told that they did not have me on record as purchasing a warranty.

I went through all the phone call procedures back and forth with Ashley and Montage and till today May 2010 I still haven't received a phone call from Montage acknowledging service of my furniture.

I intend to file a report with the better business bureau.

Responses

  • Ka
    Kaye and Mike May 19, 2016

    Had same problems with this company. WORST COMPANY EVER!!! Purchased 5 year warranty on leather furniture and leather started peeling on one of the recliner rockers. I called and was told that is not covered under the warranty because they didn't manufacture the fabric! Few months later one of the chairs started to make a boing and sqeaking sound when it rocked, they finally had a service tech come out about 6-8 weeks later who said a metal part needed replacing. He said he would submit a report and they should approve it and then he would have to come back out in a few weeks to replace. A few weeks later we got a email saying it wasn't covered because the part wasn't completely broke in half! We had 24 months left on the warranty and decided to cancel it since they weren't going to cover anything and received a refund of $6.49 after they tacked on a service technician fee and cancellation fee. Worst company around. BEWARE DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY THEY ARE A SCAM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    verydisturbed Aug 11, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    totally agree with all of the above...bottom line...NEVER EVER BUY A PROTECTION PLAN FROM THESE PEOPLE...BIG JOKE...WASTE OF MONEY

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Teach2inspire Jun 22, 2015

    To make a long story short, my situation is very much like all of what I have read above. I called on April 6th to file a claim only to be told that "we do not see where you purchased a plan." I told them, "I have my receipt in front of me." I proceeded to do their job by calling Ashley Furniture to inquire about the plan. By the way, I connected Montage on a 3-way conference call. Between all of the back and forth between Ashley and Montage they finally allowed me to file a claim around the 1st of June. Ok keep in mind that I called to report the problem and to file a claim on April 6th, and it was June before I was permitted to file a claim. By then of course, 30 days have gone by so my claim was denied. I called upon receiving the denial and I told them I did what I was supposed to do. I reported the problem within 30 days and through no fault of my own, I had nothing to do with the paperwork. I paid for the plan, and the rest is between Montage and Ashley. The guy whom I spoke with said that he would go back and listen to phone conversations. Guess what? I never heard back, so I called back about a week later and asked to speak with a supervisor. I told the rep that " I have every piece of documentation to do whatever I need to do to resolve this issue!!!" She said, "let me see if I can get a supervisor for you." She comes back after about 3 mins and say "she decided to overturn your denial, and we will get a technician out. It is very important to make sure you have documentation of reps name, date and times of any communication with Montage. We will see how it goes from here, so be on the lookout in the next week or so.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Realtorgirl1 Feb 06, 2015

    I am SOOOOO upset with these people. I just called a moment ago to put in a claim for a leather sectional I purchase in August of 2011 and was told that the leather coming apart on non-wear areas is not covered. Um, excuse me?!?! Leather doesn't just simply flake off of a piece of furniture that no one sits/leans on. This is happening ont he BACK of the headrests and I was told it was because my house is dry and this happens. I asked Karen, the representative, if I should simply anticipate purchasing a new, expensive leather sofa every 3 1/2 years since this one isn't wearing well. I then asked to speak with her supervisior and she had the nerve to tell me no and that she would have someone call me. She also said that she didn't belive my claim and that it would go to the review board and would likely be denied because she felt I was lying. WHAT A FREAKING JOKE! When anyone starts a class action lawsuit, please include me!!!

    0 Votes
  • Dw
    dwsjcooper Dec 31, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same issues with this scam of a company. Is anyone looking into a class action lawsuit?

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs.Gravity Dec 03, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am in the same boat. However, we bought our furniture at a CHLOE'S Furniture and were told that this warranty plan was great. We purchased it and now 2 years later, the specific store we bought the stuff from is closed, they are out of business. We called Montage FS and were told that they wouldn't cover anything. What a waste of money and time!!! I am very angry about this, they take your money and don't give you anything back. AVOID THIS COMPANY!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hav2byit Oct 14, 2013

    I agree with everyone's complaints on here. I went to BBB website & started reading complaints there. I only made it back to the beginning of Sept 2013 when some things became VERY clear!!! If ANYTHING goes wrong with your furniture piece BEFORE you call Montage go back and READ every word of the warranty!!! 99% of the declines they did were because of loop holes they have in the contract. Like when they ask you when item was damaged? You HAVE to a DATE, & you have to call them within 30 days of that date!! You can not say around the 3 or 4 weeks ago. Also, another lady was told that since the furniture company she bought her sofa from went out of business they could not get parts to fix her sofa, so all they could do was refund the warranty amount. WRONG!!! Warranty states they have to refund the full amount if the furniture company goes out of business in ck form!!! Go back and read to protect yourself and your investment. I have companies like this!!!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve Ellis Jan 20, 2013

    I am pissed off at these scam artists as well. My story is the same as the rest of rest of you y'all's. Montage makes up excuses for them to not cover the warranty I purchased with the over $6000 dollars of junk furniture I purchased from Ashley. I'm not giving up though. I'm considering filing a lawsuit against Ashley and Montage. The salesperson at Ashley assured me that it great way to protect my investment. What a joke! DO NOT GET DOOPED! Do not buy Ashley or Montage!

    0 Votes
  • Sn
    SnidesJedszotek Jan 16, 2013

    Purchased a warranty with Montag and will NEVER make that mistake again. I have a sofa that has damage that is clearly covered under warranty and Montag has spent 2 1/2 months trying different ways to deny my claim. They have lied and stated that the damage is seam damage when there is no seam anywhere near the damage. Fabric has pulled away from the frame and the sofa stuffing is falling out. Their employees are rude, ignorant and uncooperative. They make up anything necessary to deny your claim. Avoid this company at all costs!

    0 Votes
  • Nu
    NUTRITION911 Jul 25, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Oh greaT i JUST REGESTERD MY PROTECTION PLAN AND FEAR WHAT i HAVE IN STORE IF ANYTHING HAPPENS TO MY SOFA SLEEPER!

    0 Votes
  • Le
    lexiesdad Jul 18, 2012

    I have received the same Run A Round, The warranty is useless, They use the cheapest foam for their cushions and then follow up with the resiliency of the springs are not covered...What does it cover? I will never buy another ASHLEY product as long as I live...This is one Business not worth saving

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    San-La Feb 02, 2012

    I bought a $1, 000 sectional sofa along with the Montage 5-yr warranty. Two years after the purchase, a section of the wood frame actually broke in half. Called Montage, said they would send a furniture technician to determine if it could be fixed. Was told techs don't do evening or weekend work - no way - no how. I scheduled an 8:00-noon appt for a weekday and took the entire day off from work. They never showed up. I called and complained to the tech's boss (these peeps are a sub for Montage's btw). The boss truly was ticked off at his tech and said they would be out pronto. I still had to leave work early but tech showed up that afternoon, said furniture not fixable so it would be replaced. However, the same sofa was a discontinued item and not available, so I would receive a "re-select" for $1, 000 and could pick out anything in the store (as long as it was like-kind: i.e. upolstered piece). Good enough and I got a new sofa. One person said they required that the old sofa be picked up, but the store manager said they didn't want it if it was not repairable. Good enough. I got what I paid for with the warranty, however, I honestly think the only reason I did was because the piece was actually BROKEN. No way do I think they would have done anything if there was a tear, rip, or staining. They bank on the fact that people won't call...or that people forget they have the warranty. Also, the entire process of calling, scheduling the tech, missing a day's work mind you, then another afternoon of lost work until they ACTUALLY showed up took about 1 month. Like I said, I got a replacement sofa but I had to really stay on top of them for follow-through. Oh yeah, I know one of the owners of Ashley and even they said the furniture was "crap."

    0 Votes
  • Ev
    Eva 24 Jan 25, 2012

    My experience has always been good with them. I have a claim out on a table right now. It has a chip in the wood on the top. They are replacing the entire table and we are keeping the old one too. This is only a $500 table though. Maybe the run around comes more from larger items.

    0 Votes
  • Ky
    Ky MOm Jan 17, 2012

    This all sounds familiar. We were told that the fabric on the furniture was so good that we really didnt need the stain guard or the extended warrently but we felt that with two kids and a dog we wanted to do it anyway. Montage (even though we called before Ashleys 1 yr warrenty had expired) came to look at the funture but more or less told us that we were just filthy. It was uncleanable. But I can honestly say that we tried to clean it. Every time I get a spot, I would try to clean it but the wetness of the cleaning cloth would make a bigger stain. It is totally embarrassing for anyone to come to my house but for now I really can afford to buy something else. I have totally received the run around from Ashley and Montage and will tell everyone I know to stay away from both of them.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Casey Leigh May 10, 2011

    I bought a 5 year warranty and 2 rooms of furniture from Ashley 1 year ago. While my husband and I were out one night and the kids were with a sitter my 3 year old colored all over my couch and loveseat (the babysitter obvioulsy wasnt watching him, although with 5 kids she was probably busy with someone else) Well we caled Montage and they gave me the run around about coming out for over a month. Finally they send a guy who says it will cost more to repair than replace and thats what he put on his claim. They have now 2 weeks later sent me a email stating they wont pay as the damage was built up over time. I am waiting for the to open now to call them and I also filed a claim with the BBB. I am so angry right now. I paid my money and was told if there is any damage it will be paid. What a rip-off

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    C ME Oct 14, 2010

    In the same boat...bought over 5K worth of furniture from Ashley with a $300 protection plane, then a few months later another room of furniture and another $200 protection plan. I've had the funriture for 2 years. There is no 'wear and tear" on anything I have. They sent me the same denial letter that general wear is not covered. How do you call a puncture in leather 'general wear'. It's a scam...Ashley has lost a customer. I have written a letter demanding a refund for my worthless plan. I will warn everyone I know about this scam.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    neverpurchasetheprotectionplan Jul 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This sounds like a legitimate complaint for the Better Business Bureau.

    0 Votes
  • An
    angry Marie Jun 14, 2010

    make a long story short.
    Buyer beware !!! NEVER, NEVER, EVER purchase Montage ext. warranty and don't go to Ashley's !
    Letter of denial however I had them re open but I doubt it's going to do any good. Need not think someone is going to get back with you
    Do yourself a favor a leave both companies alone
    Marie

    1 Votes
  • Ki
    KIM82 May 24, 2010

    I wouldnt even bother, MFS will not help. i have some rips in my leather chairs, well they send a denial letter.
    rips are "supposed to be covered" i am never purchasing a MFS protection plan ever again! its useless.
    I spent 1500 on my pub table and chairs, and got the protection plan, what a JOKE MFS is!!!

    DO NOT PURCHASE A MFS PROTECTION PLAN, THEY WILL ONLY SEND YOU A LETTER OF DENIAL
    FOR WHAT IS SUPPOSED TO BE COVERED BY THEM. WASTE OF MONEY!!!

    0 Votes
  • Lj
    LJD12603 May 20, 2010

    I agree with this a 100% I also purchased furniture from Ashley and have this warranty with Montage and tried to make a claim and it has been a month of nothing but run arounds. Very upset with MB Ashley store and Montage. I also spent over $5.000.00

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.