The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
maritalaffair.co.ukSUSPECT a6ce6

R

Almost immediatley after joining as a basic member you will receive a tempting proposal from what i suspect to be a non existant potential date in order for you to read the message you must pay £20 and become a full member.Then if you do not renew, low and behold within a very short space of time you receive more messages in my opinion to lure you into renewal.
After receiving quite a few proposals not once have i received mails of any substance that would justify these to be genuine.
Following 2 mails from one particular "person" it seemed obvious they were not written by the same person.Therefore i must suspect and conclude one big elaborate scam.
If i remain unconvinced of the authenticity i will certainly be making a telephone call to the local trading standards in Windsor, Berkshire.

More maritalaffair.co.uk Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Be
    Benial Jul 20, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wanted to add another comment to supplement my two posts above. The charges that were taken from my card may have been unauthorised, or it has occurred to me that they may have been included as part of a contract or an advance payment relating to repeat billing. It is therefore possible they were not taken illegally. However, they were unexpected. I would also like to add that my use of the maritalaffair.co.uk was some time ago, and so the website may have improved its practices since due to all the on-line reviews that have been posted. If anyone reads the three posts I have put up here, I would encourage you to also read ones relating to more recent experiences by others too before forming your own opinion on whether to use the site. I wanted to supplement my two posts with this one to give an accurate review of my experience as possible.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Benial Jul 18, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I WOULD SUGGEST MAKING A COMPLAINT TO THE LOCAL TRADING STANDARDS OFFICE OF THIS BUSINESS:
    http://www.kent.gov.uk/business/trading-standards/consumer-protection/report-a-problem-to-KCC-trading-standards
    Many people join this site to meet single people for casual or serious dating but are duped by their fraudulent on-line activies.
    They are breaching the Companies Act by not displaying the correct company information. The current company referred to on the website is Marital Affair Ltd which is dissolved.
    More importantly, the way they operate their website is probably fraudulent and criminal, resulting in £m of turnover obtained by these practices.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Benial Jul 18, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I joined up and had extra payments deducted from my card that were nothing to do with the charges displayed. Also, lots of fraudulent emails from other female members. This site is fraudulent and dupes people into payming money, as well as taking other payments completely illegally

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    Global Personals Support Sep 07, 2012

    Of course it's not a scam and the cam girls/escorts/pros that you describe are a blight on all online businesses. We however employ a large team of people who patrol our sites to keep them off but very occasionally one will slip through. We get about 99.8% of them off site within 1 minute but sometimes that take a little longer to sport or be reported. We don't monitor users approaching the end of their subscription, there are far too many members on the site to have time to do that and as for employing ringers, we leave that to some of our less scrupulous competitors.

    Of course there is no fraudulent activity on our part, we would not be allowed to trade if there was. Our refund policy is dictated by law, if you received one it was because you would have been entitled to one, and if you didn't it was because you were not. It really is that simple. Throwaway _username, your complaint was dealt with in good faith and so to call it a scam is a little disingenuous

    All card transactions are verified through the bank screening services and we rely on them to validate card authenticity. If you are unsure of the reason why we appear on your credit card statement go to this website www.gpl-cc.com, it will explain who we are, why you have been billed and what you should do about it if you think you have been the genuine victim of card fraud. It also has copies of our Terms and Conditions for you to read. When you subscribe to one of our sites, you are informed that it is a repeat billing subscription which can be cancelled at any time by following the instructions on the website.
    Regards
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Throwaway_username Feb 25, 2012

    I joined, and within days realised it was a scam.

    I sent recorded delivery letters to Paul Homewood at New Life Ventures UK and his home address saying it was essentially a fraudulent service, and if the money wasn't refunded I'd get Trading Standards involved.

    I also sent a similar recorded delivery letter to Global Personals in Slough - Bill Richards is currently responsible for customer services. I did this after a call with their customer care people.

    Within 24 hours, my card had been credited.

    Definite scam - avoid. If it's too late, do the above.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Biztycoon Sep 23, 2011

    OK, I run my own media business and understand what is quite a simple business model when you think about it. The ratio of men to women will be at least 1000:1, I know this because i registered a couple of female accounts to see what happened - the message rate is phenomenal. Without doubt the site is setup to manipulate the psychology of men in the first instance. So the minute a women joins (for free) an auto icebreaker is sent to every guy, this is classic pester power that entices people who have no paid account or if you do you still check the message to see whether its a round robin or 'just for you'...this repeat behaviour is setting up an addictive link - basically you're hooked. There is without a doubt rel women on the site, I know this because i've met some and they were real and they were genuinely looking for an affair. The problem is that the site is also full of CamGirls/Escorts/Pros and scammers of ever kind...the site admin will try and spot these but usually they'll last at least 2-3 days before they are removed, meanwhile they've done a good PR job for the site themsleves of course (what a surprise!) The site admin will change your profile rankings when you are close to renewal and/or potentially looking to pay, they monitor the usage so can spot behaviour patterns. On top of this the site itself will employ 'ringers' to send out enticing messages to no paid members encouraging the behaviour patterns above, you can usually spot these by the text used, profile language, picture.
    So 'Scam' is probably the wrong word to use, but sharp practice, double glassing, dirty tricks is more to the point.
    As PT Barnum once said "there's a sucker born every minute!", and when it comes to the promise of sex we just can't stop ourselves.

    -1 Votes
  • Ia
    Ian dolby Aug 05, 2011

    Don't understand your problems. The site doesn't rip you off for 6 months membership when you join, it asks if you would like 6 months membership which equates to a smaller monthly amount as you get discount and you obviously hit the button saying yes when you should have hit the button saying NO. Hardly their fault. I'm sure there are far more women then men that's the nature of this type if thing, the fact that there are inactive profiles is good showing that they close down any suspect accounts, other similar sites/niches are probably joining as it's free for women and trying to get guys to visit their own sites. I've been a member on messabout for a couple of months and I've met one person all be it not really my type but I can confirm she was real! Lol

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hadenuff2011 Jun 02, 2011

    Unfortunately (being sad and lonely) i bought 3 months. The single most worrying things is that like a previous post said, its all part of a great multitude of websites. Ive been mailing a couple of genuines on 'myfunbuddy' who are actually on different sites called
    'Sinuk' and 'PlentyOfWeight' and 'cougar' (i didnt get the rest of the name). I think there are some real peeps on there but certainly not many. Also before i joined it said it had half a million members in the london area, as soon as membership had gone through it dropped to just under 15000. Bit of a difference.
    Also you can only cancel membership via phone not email.

    Hindsight is wonderful but we should get these b*****s shut down, all of them.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maxy60 Dec 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Absolute disgace. I should have read the reviews before joining!
    A total scam. Once you join and access the site there is no going back. You cannot get a refund as the terms and conditions stae that if you use the site there is no refund- hence no breach of contract on their part as they state that you agreed to the T and C.
    I do not think that there is even one real female on the site. I e mailed them countless times demanding money back due to fraud etc. They kept replying with the usual answers and that they took steps to ensure they were all genuine. RIGHT!
    I removed my picture and changed my profile to sound like the most riduclous description I could think of and the winks and messages still kept coming! I e mailed them again only to be told that these must be "CAMGIRLS" who are operating a scam. so there you go, they openly admit that a large majority of the females on the site do not actually exist!
    My profile has been looked at just once in 2 months and that was by a right grimmer!
    They have tried to tell me that female members can send "icebreaker" messages to loads of people (this is apprently not an option for a male member). But that still begs the question, "How come they hae not even bothered to read my profile before sending me a message?"
    Do not, under any circumstances ever even think about joining. You are kissing your money goodbye the second you access the site.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    lulu153 Mar 12, 2010

    oh another person with the same complaint as me! So many of us who were scammed for 6 months membership when we wanted a week or a month! I havent been able to get a refund from them yet but am taking the further.

    0 Votes
  • Ng
    Ngwenya Feb 17, 2010

    This is a Scam Site for sure.
    I was charged for a 6 month Membership instead of ONE Month...
    I tried to get a refund for the difference only and they refused me.
    What sort of Company would do that .?
    Everything others have experienced here is true...BUTR..Who do we report this to..??
    The OFT, or Whom..?

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Capiche Jan 29, 2010

    I met a lovely Mercedes driving female consultant cardiologist and we are an item now.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    datescam Jan 29, 2010

    Yes, It's all a complete scam.

    I used to work there, my job was to write messages to guys to get their money. I know it's wrong now, but we were bonussed on how many people we could sign up. The company is WLD (Whitelabeldating.com), who run about 200 sites like this, all fake, and all big cons. Sorry guys...it's true.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    taff63 Jan 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Totally agree wit all of the above!!! its a scam and not a good one!! i didnt pay the membership and ive had 'winks' from people who obviously are not british, dodgy grammer ect... if your winked at you need to pay to reply..SCAM!!... also i had quite a few 'horny' 24-26 yr olds wink at me with a disgiused email address at the bottom of there profile, i contacted them by email so free, but then got a reply wanting me to put my credit card details on a another website to ' check' my ID so we can meet up...lol...yeah right!!! nice try!!

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    TaffyH Jan 06, 2010

    Try getting hold of them now! Lost money don't touch them

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    trabzon Jan 02, 2010

    yes big con..does anyone know any genuine sites

    0 Votes
  • Da
    daveyboy12 Dec 26, 2009

    I setup an account with maritalaffair.co.uk & outoftownaffairs.co.uk.

    Both are the same site.

    I recieved an email at 6.26pm on a saturday night from the same person but 2 different websites.

    These people need reporting to the police.

    www.maritalaffair.co.uk
    www.outoftownaffairs.co.uk

    both scam sites.

    1 Votes
  • Cr
    crashmark Dec 12, 2009

    fake scam site.

    1 Votes
  • Cr
    crashmark Dec 12, 2009

    waste of time, i open up 3 accounts each one had the same email and person sending the email. on one of my i didnt even put up a profile or pic and still had email its a con stay away from myfunbuddy Naughty Canoodle married affairs the all sent the same email, from the same person.

    1 Votes
  • Jk
    JKJL Nov 23, 2009

    I have to agree with all the other complaints, this site is a complete con. Vague messages from people who just do not ring true. One girl claims to be a 25 year old shy virgin rebelling against a strict clergyman father and yet has four naked photographs of herself on her profile, including face! A married lady doctor wanting a discrete affair has a photograph with legs wide open, boobs out and a clear face shot. Strange that he typing is full or spelling mistakes, poor grammar and no punctuation or capital letters.

    It stinks. Apparently it is part of a bigger group all with an office in Windsor.

    1 Votes
  • Pe
    Perio Jun 06, 2009

    I agree this site is complete con. Same thing happened to me. Get messages from people which are clearly manufactured and do not relate to anything that was said in the last email. it is pretty clear that the site/admin/agents are setting up fake accounts and taking money from unsuspecting customers. has anyone taken any action against these guys and got a refund.

    1 Votes
  • Mb
    Mbham May 02, 2009

    also they run other sites using the same profiles of people - EliteAffair.com is an example - how many others i wonder.

    avoid

    1 Votes
  • Mb
    Mbham Apr 24, 2009

    I agree - the site shows a multitude of horny women only 10 minutes form my location - didnt realise i lived in such a hotbed of sexually activity. many of the profiles are too good to be true and when i have had a reply, the response is completely out of character with the profile (normally very explicit) i.e doctor who wanted discretion / take it slowly then comes back with how she couldn't wait to do all manner of sexual acts on me - doesn't add up so i suspect that replies are being manufactured to keep you interested! I'd say there are some real women on there ( i did chat to one but she was rather more reserved than most of the fake women's profiles) but clearly the site manufactures a lot of profiles themselves to make it more attractive to men and hence they might subscribe/ re-subscribe.

    Yes a shameful con - lets hope they get investigated and closed down soon

    1 Votes
  • Ru
    Russ Apr 14, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I joined for 1 Month and recieved the usual rubbish messages, and then on the day after my membership expired i recieved 12 messages.I did not renew my membership.However while i was a member i posted some very very negative comments in their members Diary section...Lo and Behold, these instantly vanished within 5 minutes of me posting them up for other members to read.This whole site is a con..is there anything that can be done to close it down or get a refund ?

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    John Mar 31, 2009

    Definatley a scam.

    I set up 2 accounts and was getting the same mails from the same prospects.

    emailed back but no response.

    Scam Scam Scam

    Dont touch it

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    milo Mar 24, 2009

    Absolutely correct...there is no doubt whatsoever that this site is a scam. Should you join and then wait a month or so you will have 20 - 30 mails in your inbox. Don't waste time and money joining to read them - it is guaranteed that not one will have read your profile and they are all generic 'would love to meet you' messages that have been copied and pasted into hundreds of messages. I made point of asking that any respondent should just put my name in the subject line to show that they had read my advert. Surprise, surprise...30 messages - not one had my name as requested.

    Oh...and in case you're wondering - no..I'm no George Clooney but have had a lovely time, thanks very much, on other sites so don't be put off just don't touch THIS site with a barge-pole!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.