marie CallendersChicken Pot Pie

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I wasn't feeling well and have been diagnosed with IBS. I can usually control the pain and cramping by staying away from certain foods. Obviously, gassy foods, broccoli, cheese is a real disaster, asparagus, well, you see what I mean. When the symptoms begin, I take the medication to help, although it is a muscle relaxant and causes a groggy and "high" feeling, so I prefer to just take certain foods out of my diet.
Today, was one of those days, couldn't resist a cup of broccoli cheese soup, and thought just a small cup wouldn't make a difference. It did. My husband felt so bad, he made a special trip to Safeway in Vancouver, Washington to get me a Marie Callender Roasted chicken pot pie.
The name brand has always been the most expensive and looks very good on commercials. The chicken meat almost always looks perfect, made from the breast or white meat parts and looks absolutely scrumptious.
Today, was not one of those days, and after cooking per instructions, I took my first bite.
My first reaction was to check and make sure exactly what type of meat I was eating. Cat? Raccoon? possibly O'Possum?
The meat was dark in color, with the "pressed" look to it and full of gristle.
I had to spit it out after gagging. After digging into the rest, found several more pieces, with the same stringy bits, dark and spongy and so my dog got an expensive treat to say the least.
He could have got the Safeway brand or a Swanson product, but thought he was buying quality with the name, Marie Callender. Price was way more than your competition, close to 3$ for one small roasted chicken pot pie.
What is so sad, is the bogo free, was the deal so I have 2 more of these special dog treats in my freezer, and I will never try a Marie Callender product again. I understand the occasional pit in your cherry pies, or a little hard bit which hadn't been peeled to include the stem/apple connection but now, I am not a fan, will never again buy a product made by your company, and these were my choices for my holiday dinners.
This was actually very disgusting and I never thought chicken had gristly parts, and quality control was asleep at the proverbial wheel that day.
I don't know if I will ever by any product from this company, would like to know what your substandard meals are marketed under, as a generic name so I can avoid that as well.
I normally would have just chalked it up to a "bad batch" but even when I cook chicken and remove the meat for soup from the bones, have never used stringy, connective tissue to make soup. and wasted almost 10$ in an attempt to alleviate an ongoing issue.
This was truly disgusting, and my first letter complaining about a stupid pot pie.
Just for your information, the dog loved it, and why wouldn't she? The meat was the same they use when making dog food. Talk about hot dogs and what is included in the ingredients. If you wouldn't feed it to your kids, then why would you feed it to yourself?
Thank you for your time,
June O'Brien
PS. I am doing fine, and the cramping and pain, which can be unbearable, where I end up on the floor in the fetal position, IBS is not a "joke", can be signs of Celiacs or Chrons disease, thank God DNA screening is available and it is controlled by diet and a little green capsule called Bentyl, And a mild, tasty advertised pot pie, sounded calming, easily digested and very good.
So, Marie Callender's Roasted Chicken Pot Pie rating was -1 out of 10.
This was pretty sickening and I will either take these back or just cook them for my dog. So I hope they don't hurt her in any way.
Even when I remove the meat from a baked chicken, I only encounter pieces like this where the sinew, tendons, non-muscle parts connect to the bone and allow this to pass through the processing part of your system? This type of "meat" in my opinion, should never have been allowed to be used in your overpriced, great looking advertised and inedible ingredient in an American favorite?
I will never again by or suggest Marie Callender products, not limited to your pot pies. Now, I guess I should have really thought about your processes after cherry pits, stems and apple pieces, which I now consider to be another overlooked "'quality control" standard for Marie Callender's pre-cooked meals, including your pies. I will say this, your crusts are very good, and tasty, but so are others. If the inside is non complimentary to what is outside, it makes a huge difference. Crusts are the easy part.

Responses

  • My
    myI*** Jan 29, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My first complaint is above. 2 days later I tried another from the same package! It too contained a hair of the same description only a bit shorter. I am so disgusted! This negligence is completely UNCALLED FOR! You should be able to track down the hair's owner with the ID box numbers listed above. Furnish your employees with hairnets, ConAgra!

    Caddie

    0 Votes
  • My
    myI*** Jan 15, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Jan. 15, 2019 On 1/14/19 I bought a 6 pack of chicken pot pies @ Walmart, Elizabethton TN. It was delicious, several 'chunks of white meat vs 2 singles bought last week only containing only dark meat which was was tough and 3 minute carrot slices and (what I ASSUMED TO BE) 1 minute green bean & very minute 'gravy'! I was very upset as I don't like dark meat. My main issue is with the wavy long hair in the one bought yesterday and eaten today. It was about 8-10 inches long with a loose wave & grayish/light in color. I understand this happening for it has happened with my own cooking BUT not acceptable from a bought product! Trying to scotch the hair on paper with tape, it slipped off, so I have no proof. Found on end of box is ID possibly - 5014 8344 10P3 08:43EST P45. I thought Marie Callender products were supposedly far superior (definitely more costly) than other brands available. Otherwise, I wouldn't have spent my hard-earned money. From now on I will not buy your products of any sort and am dubious about the quality of the other 5 left from the box of 6 I bought yesterday. Shame on you for allowing workers to not have their hair enclosed in a net or covering of some sort.
    Caddie

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Froglady 2 Jun 01, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I really like your dinners. I bought a cheesy chicken & Rice dinner and some others at Walmart in Amelia, Ohio May 25 & I heated the Cheesy chicken and it smelled weird, but I tasted it and it was spoiled. Does the 3/18 on inside flap of box mean anything? I tried to load a picture of dinner, but it wouldn't allow me.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bertie123 Dec 16, 2016

    Where are the vegs I got one tiny carrot happen all the time I usually get three one green bean one carrot and one pea'.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joyce Griffiths Oct 11, 2016

    Very disappointed as I purchase Marie Calendar products quite often at the grocery stores

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joyce Griffiths Oct 11, 2016

    I had a mushroom chicken pot pie today and I almost chocked on a bone in the chicken - also gresel in the chicken. this was a larger size marie Calendar pot pie. I was very disappointed and scared to eat the rest. Joyce Griffiths

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevino Etienno Maury Apr 10, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    totally garbage every single time...they should go out of business... especiallwith the Chili pot pies...

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Ken Kuhlman Dec 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    First I want to say I love your grocery store food. Big fan of your Pot Pies. Tonight I spotted Chili Pot Pie bought it cooked it in the oven, and it was horrible and I threw it out. Simply put it was to hot or spicy to eat. Now I have eaten some great spicy food in New Orleans and a couple of restarurants. But I hate it when, people make dishes that they think needs five times what is required Cayene Pepper I trusted Marie and my mouth is still burning while my back up dinner is in the oven

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kim Hall Feb 13, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too beleive something needs to be done

    Comments
    Comments

    1 Votes
  • Ki
    Kim Hall Feb 13, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i too have discovered a product from Marie Callenders that is not exceptable last Saturday my husband and i went shopping at costco and had picked up a box of chicken pot pies thinking oh this would be great for a fast lunch when we have to run out the door, well today my husband decieded he wanted to try one so i stuck it in the microwave and when he cut into it it was 90% empty no kidding all crust and maybe i say maybe two tablespoons of product inside this is the very first time we have ever purchased Marie Callenders and it will probably be the last this is unexceptable.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laurie Lee Howard Nov 20, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Was eating my Marie Callender's Chicken Corn Chowder Pot Pie. I had about half of it eaten and I almost choked on a pretty good sized bone. I took pictures of the pot pie, the bowl that it was in and I have the box.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.