Complaints & Reviews

bad experience

Today it will be the 6th attempt to find out what happened to my order and why they still can't ship it.
They don't notify me of anything at all. I have no idea about what's going on. As a customer, I have the right to know about my order status, but these guys have a different opinion. So as you guessed I called them 5th times. One time a week. And I always hear the same about my issue: you have to wait, it will be shipped very soon, don't worry.
How can't I be worried if you keep the item in your warehouse and refuse to ship it for no reason?
Who cares if it's ready to be shipped if it takes you at least 5 weeks?
What kind of service is this? What a crap!!!

Never again!! Beware and avoid!

I bought an iPad from this store only because it cost less than in official Apple store! And that was the biggest mistake I've ever made. I would not recommend this horrible place to anyone and please, even if you'll have to pay more better buy from official Apple store!
MacMall is located somewhere in China and their products are of a very poor quality. I would say that they are selling poorly made replicas!
I tried to reach someone with common sense from this company because I wanted to get a full refund, but they refused and it was very difficult to deal with these clowns! Never again!! Beware and avoid!

Wrongful charges

We bought a laptop from them and within 5 minutes of receiving it decided that we wanted another one. Immediately we sent an email to them regarding the return and told them that it has been opened but not used. Not even started it. They reply us saying that no restocking fee will be charged. So we returned it asap. And after almost 6 weeks we get our money back minus the restocking fee. We sent them an email saying that earlier we were told that no such thing will be charged. Shamelessly they ignore our messages. Their representative who told us that no restocking fee will be charged should be punished for his lack of knowledge and not us. And the restocking fee is not just a couple of bucks, it is several HUNDRED DOLLARS. These people have no ethics and forget about customer service. ROBBERS!

  • Tr
    Travis Mar 05, 2009

    One word, Horrible. I bought it when was in stock online, then they asked me to prove my credit card by calling them 2 days after. I did all that and 5 days later, they emailed me they discontinued the product already. I wasted altogether 1 week of getting nothing.

    0 Votes

I wasted too much time and money on it

This is the first time that I wanted write a review for a website because I had a terrible experience on it and I want everbody to be informed.

I ordered a cell phone battery on Macmall's website. However I received a cell phone carrying case. I called the customer service and waited for more than 15 min. They told me that I had to send it back by Fedex and reorder. I went to Fedex with the return form they sent me and the office that I went said that they were unable to send a return package, that I had to go to anoter Fedex office whixh was ten miles away. I went there and sent the item back. After a week Macmall refund me but they did not cover the delivery charge which cost me $6.

Finally, I have to say that, this is a very low class website which gives you a good impression at first. I wasted too much time and money on it.

Resolved Unprofessional cold calls

Got a cold call from PC Mall Today. Thought I'd the salesman 5 minutes of my time and basically that wa...

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Resolved Rebates and Financing Scam

1. Mac Pro purchase and software, cables, accessories...Did not put whole order together on the "Zero" financing for one year. So when bill came, I was confused about it. Tried to call in and could not get cust serv. guy who sold the merchandise to call me back. So late paying bill. Charged $38.00 interest and a late fee for the approx. $15.00 that was put on separately. To get the zero financing it had to be one order. I was furious. I paid it off immediately because I would have been required to pay predatory lending interest rate on entire purchase because of the "late" payment for the 15.00 charge. I was not supposed to have to pay anything for the first year.
2.Cust srv no help.
3.Rebates. Given 5, but several had to be done by computer back to me which I was not originally told. Since I could not get my rep back to the phone very soon, they were soon to expire and I did not have them yet. Finally resolved that through general cust service. However, only 2 rebates actually paid and that was Paralles software and from Brother printer. Others I spent about two hours working on and mailed on time. Nothing.
4. So MacMall affords "low prices" by scamming on predatory lending and fake rebates. Should be put out of business. Gives Apple a bad name. Don't buy anything.
Sad, when first started, excellent. Not now.

Resolved Worst service ever

This is the first time that I wanted write a review for a website because I had a terrible experience on it and I want everbody to be informed.

I ordered a cell phone battery on Macmall's website. However I received a cell phone carrying case. I called the customer service and waited for more than 15 min. They told me that I had to send it back by Fedex and reorder. I went to Fedex with the return form they sent me and the office that I went said that they were unable to send a return package, that I had to go to anoter Fedex office whixh was ten miles away. I went there and sent the item back. After a week Macmall refund me but they did not cover the delivery charge which cost me $6.

Finally, I have to say that, this is a very low class website which gives you a good impression at first. I wasted too much time and money on it.

  • Wi
    Willard Kramer Sep 17, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I printed a rebate and sent in a rebate within 5 days of receiving 20" iMac from MacMall. I just received a letter stating 'The information provided to us by you on the "Rebate Form" did not match any rebate promotions in our system that you would qualify for'... going to the macmall site its very clear they offer a $75 rebate for the iMac I order until September 30th. Of course they have a 20 day window after SHIPMENT to receive a rebate. The letter they wrote me was generated Aug 29th 2017 and I was in my mailbox today Sept 17th 2017... a good 3 weeks later.

    I can not get through to their rebate customer service at all... they never pickup and leave you on hold forever...

    Regards,
    W. Kramer

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thomas lavery Dec 03, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Purchased new15in Macpro rtn the first day i opened up the box it looked new turn it on installed software the following day unplugged charger turn on computer nothing called service they could not get it to turn on completely dead . I was told to send it back for a full refund, they deducted 447.60 restocking fee for a broken laptop . Now would you really like to deal with a company like that ? . I will continue to get them to return my money

    0 Votes

Resolved Bad service

I ordered an iMac from Mac Mall on Sept 18, 08. On Sept 20th I realized I didn't need the order anymore because of a change in my department so I emailed and cancelled the order. I didn't get a response from my representative. My order was dilievered a couple days later and I called Mac Mall and told them I didn't need the computer and wanted a refund. I was happy to pay for shipping. They told me there are no refunds. Where in America are there no refunds on products that have not been open? I argued with him and finally settled on a 15% restocking fee. SO an iMac that I never used cost me $179. Boycott Mac Mall. Go to a supplier that stand behind their product.

policy regarding new defective computer

My new 24" iMac had problems within days of its arrival, and MacMall's telephone Tech Support suggestions were unsuccessful.

The Apple Store tech diagnosed a faulty logic board, but he wanted me to return the iMac to MacMall to be issued a new computer. But, it is not MacMall's policy to replace, and instead I am in a one month stranglehold of FedExing the computer back to Memphis, TN then waiting while they diagnosed the faulty logic board and now they have ordered the new part. Next will be the repair and shipment back to me, and that time is uncertain.

I STRONGLY RECOMMEND ANYONE OUT THERE CONSIDERING MACMALL TO SERIOUSLY RE-CONSIDER!

Annoying telemarketing calls!

So a few months ago, I purchased a new Mac Laptop from Macmall.com. My order arrived promptly, and there were no problems. Nor had there ever been problems when I ordered from them before.

About a month after I bought it, I got a call at 7 in the morning from one of their account executives. There is a new trend among companies that I find REALLY annoying where they assign you a 'personal account executive' to help with your orders. What they actually do, though, is to call unsolicited to 'see if there is anything you need'. In other words, they're trying to get you to buy more stuff from them. Because it was so early, I missed this call, but the person left a message on my voicemail where she bizarrely mispronounced my name (Thomas) as 'thow-MASS'. I was annoyed, but didn't think much of it.

Until the next morning at 7 AM when she called AGAIN. This time I answered the phone and asked why she was calling me at 7 in the morning and indicated that I did not wish to be contacted by their company again. She apologized and quickly hung up before I could say anything else.

I wrote an angry letter to MacMall detailing what had happened and indicating that these calls needed to stop.

This week, this same woman (the weird pronunciation of my name is what tipped me off) called twice, as if nothing had happened, again, trying to sell me more stuff. The first time I told her again not to call and unleashed a string of profanity that would make a sailor blush. The second time, I asked to speak with her supervisor. Miraculously, he wasn't available. I again told her never to call here again and that I would never in my life buy anything from their company, and would be telling everyone who would listen about their harassing calls. We'll see if the calls stop.

Anyway, my point is, I don't recommend doing business with this company at any cost unless you enjoy getting telemarketing calls incessantly.

Rebate refusal

I purchased a Macbook and accessories from macmall on Dec 23rd. I received them about Dec 28th. Products were fine not problems. I purchased these items especially the accessories because of the rebate offfers. Well they had to be sent out within 1 months time so I sent the rebates and correct requirements out within 5 days of receiving the products. Last week I Mar. 1st I finally received a rebate for my shipping. $15. I was then sent a letter by MacMall saying that was all I was going to receive so I contacted them and they said they never received my rebates. Well the tricky thing is the rebates were all sent out together so if one got there they all should of. I was sent back my rebate for the printer by the US Postal service for more postage money. By surprise macMall received that one,... and it was late. Which I knew it would be because of the return. So they will not honor that. They say it was 20 days late which is impossible being it was sent out 2 days prior to being late. So it should have been within a week of the due date. I find it very fishy that MacMall didn't receive the rebates they OWE me close to $200. But they did receive the shipping and the late rebate neither of which they pay. So I you ever order from these Jerks send your rebates with confirmation of being received so they can't screw you.

Kyle Nelson

  • Mw
    MWW Feb 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had same problem with refusal of rebates. Actually were received on time. Simple refuse to honor. 12/07 purschase of Mini/printer/software.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rita Moore Feb 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Complete agreement! Purchased MacBook Pro late Dec. all rebates filled out as required (which took the better part of 3 hours to complete) only about 2/3 have come through as payable. I have a printer that my macmall rep actually typed in as "qualifying" for the rebate in the invoice comments area... just got the letter back from Epson stating it did not qualify. Bought Parallels Desktop 3.0 tried to install it today, it has an invalid Activation Key, bought FMP 9.0 upgrade, first package had a corrupted disk, had the pleasure of hassling to get that returned and had to buy another one in the process. All in all a terrible experience!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Fisher Feb 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I sent in two rebates on the same day. They processed one and I received a check for $19. However they never sent me my $150 rebate check for my laptop pro. The website says they didn't receive the rebate info. I have emailed 3 times and they have not responded back. I am the owner of an advertising agency and have bought from MacMall for years. If they don't make good on this, I will not use them again.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe Jovanovic Jun 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There must be the way how to make more people aware of their practices.

    Had I know this I would not buy from them. Now I hate my self being so stupid.

    I will look into finding some way how to affect their rating on major shopping cart sites like Amazon etc. If anyone knows better way please let me know.

    Thanks, Joe.

    0 Votes
  • T
    T Jun 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had NOTHING but problems with this company from the very first transaction. I bought a Refurb Westinghouse Plasma for an ill friend so she could watch while in bed, as she is nearly invalid. I had to return FOUR different units after driving 70 miles round trip each time to do so. Yes, I tested several in the store before I left. They worked and went DOA within 1 hour use, every one. They would not refund my money, they kept giving me store credit, making me get one unit after another.

    5 months later, I ordered an iMac 24" brand new. No refurb, should be no problem right? I opened an account with their “no payments no interest account” on a Friday. The account was supposed to be verified that day for credit purposes. Day after day went by. I kept calling and they kept saying they'd call. Finally Monday they called and I was told Five times on various calls that day, that the Mac would be shipped that day. (I kept calling because the online status kept saying "In Process.") The last call at 5pm they told me they GUARENTEED shipment that night.
    Tuesday a woman called “Lai” called me and asked me what partition size I wanted! I'm like Whatt!!???" “My Mac is supposed to be on a truck right now! Why are you asking me about partition sizes when I was guaranteed shipment AND the order was verified by TWO supervisors!?”
    6 hours and over 15 calls later, I am NOT exaggerating… the end result is Lai canceled my first order, making a second order, which as then declined because the 1st order will not clear BillMeLater for FIFTEEN days!! Meaning a Mac I needed over nighted, I cannot even get AT ALL for 15 days or more. Period!

    Now… this is despite having various operators REPEATING back to me addresses, order info, verifying partition sizes, order specs, etc.

    I should have learned my lesson the first TV.

    This is the number one worst online company I have EVER had to deal with.

    I am on the phone at this very second trying to get a hold of Shawn Goldenburg or the CEO Frank Khulusi. I am yet still being hung up on put back in the call loop, etc, at this very moment.

    Now I have a $4, 000 open credit line I cannot use, dinging my credit for a new account, and have to go and buy a Mac somewhere else after waiting for 5 days for no reason at all.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Heather Fields Jul 09, 2008

    T,
    I work for Bill Me Later and recently came across your comment. I would like to help follow up with this situation. Please feel free to email me at: [email protected]

    Sincerely,
    Heather Fields
    Bill Me Later, Inc.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donna Aug 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These comments are disturbing. I will think twice about ordering any further hardware - or software- from this vendor, based on this feedback. Too bad for Mac Mall, there are so many opportunities for a company to succeed based on 'best practice' that it's amazing they are willing to risk future business just to pocket a few $ that belong to the consumer.

    I believe Mac Life magazine should drop them as an advertiser. It is not socially responsible to accept ads from a vendor who does not honor sales commitments to consumers for after-market product support, or as a bon-fide reseller of hardware.

    Mac Life needs a letter to the Editor (psst... Joe Jojanovik)

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marland vizard Nov 26, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Glad to have read the reviews. Was in the process of buying a Mac Book and 3 year service contract. Had them in the check out mode on their site. Deceided luckily to check Google for complaints. Will not bother buying on line if the online store is just baiting with false hopes of a rebate. Thanks guys for posting.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Charles Dec 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently bought a laptop from Macmall and I can't tell you how disappointed I am with the whole experience. At checkout the product was listed as having a $250 rebate.. I later found out that the total rebate is only $150. I called customer service and they had no clue on why the website was showing the original rebate amount... In addition, their website shows as the product was shipped already over the weekend.. BUT as per customer service the product has not been shipped yet. Customer service sucks! AND BETTER YET… I FOUND OUT I WAS CHARGED $50 extra for a bundle I chose. I will never buy another product from MAC MALL!!!

    1 Votes
  • St
    Steven Jan 31, 2009

    Looks like I am not alone, I just posting a similar complaint on my blog at http://www.stevencarlson.net/2009/01/30/macmall-and-commission-junction-a-scam/

    I guess this company just doesn't care about their customers.

    1 Votes

Charged for the order never received!

I placed an order for a wireless internal card thru them and each time I check the status of the order it states "in process". I've called several times and they continue to play games with me. Each person states that I have to call a different number and after 2 days I was finally told that the order had been released to the warehouse but I still haven't received my order which was supposed to ship next day air. I have already been charged for this order.

  • Th
    The worse business on the plan May 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm surprised after searching this site for complaints that there wasn't more posted about PC Mall, Inc. The company is the worse place to do business. These complaints are not just your run of the mill errors, but rather deliberate scams used to discourage consumers against refunds, returns etc. and the practices are widely encouraged by upper management. This place is well known for unethical practices and they are always bombarded with legal actions from consumers, as well as past employees.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Al_C Apr 24, 2009

    I ordered Novabackup from PC Mall. They charged my card, claimed that they shipped it on April 13, but never did so. Most phone calls and e-mails to them were ignored. The few times I got somebody on the phone, they promised follow up e-mails or phone calls but never did anything.

    As of now, I have no product and a credit card bill for something I never received.

    This company is a total fraud and total rip-off.

    0 Votes