The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
La CuracaoLousy repair service

T

I have a Fridge that no longer works, it has been like this for 10 days. I went to ask to have it fixed on the 29th of August. They told me they would come on Sunday, then i got a call that they didn't have the piece and would come in on Monday or Tuesday and would head to my home to fix the problem on those days. I waited Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday even till now they still haven't come to fix the problem. Now my food is spoiling and other things are still costing me money.

More La Curacao Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Mh
    MHJ00 Oct 22, 2009

    Anyone with problems with La Curaco can contact the Department of Consumer Affairs [protected] and file a complaint with the department. Trust me, many have and we have solved many of these problems.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chl Dec 09, 2009

    Im going thru some ### with la curacao right now. a couple years ago during the black friday rush I purchased a couple of laptops for my daughters. I also was sold this warranty that supposedly covered everything. the salesman told me if anything goes wrong no matter what it is this warranty covers everything. he said if we cant fix it we will replace it, its like having a brand new computer for 4 years. I mentioned some trouble I had with a warranty I had from a different store and the salesman reassured me that I wouldnt have this type of problem with this warranty for these laptops. “This Covers Everything, if you have any problems just bring back the laptop and well fix it or replace it no charge your covered” is what he told me. well a month ago I brought in one of the laptops to be fixed cuz it wouldnt boot up. I know a bit about computers and from what I know it looked like the processor faulted. not a big deal replace the processor problem solved right? wrong! 1st they told me Id have my laptop back in a week I didnt get a call from them for a month. next when I got the call they told me that it had LIQUID DAMAGE and would cost 250 dollars to repair it!!! I was like liquid damage??? this laptop never leaves my daughters room and the kids do not eat or drink anything in their room. (we have new carpet so eating or drinking in the room is not allowed)I pointed out that even IF and thats a big IF, if it is liquid damage which it isnt the salesman told me that everything is covered by the warranty they told me it wasnt and they want 249 to fix it. I told them Im not paying cuz it was supposed to be covered they called me back and told me they are sending the laptop back to the shop unfixed and to deal with the manager. what a bunch of ###! so now im waiting for them to call me so I can go down there and fight with them. also my other daughters laptop just crapped out on her too and they have it. Im just waiting to see how much they say its gonna cost me to fix that one. ###ing Lying ###. If they don’t fix or replace these computers at no cost like what the salesman who sold me the warranties said I will file complaints to all agencies available and will make it my personal agenda to use the web to make sure no one else gets ripped off by this store.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    charlie brown 323 Dec 16, 2009

    i sooooo agree with you. Curacao is nothing but a bunch of nimrods selling ### that they dont know anything about and the lieng part is also very true.. Inside people tell me they get paid on commision not hourly if they dont sell thats their ### so they have to lie to get the sales. i have had them rip me off 1200 bcuz of some stupid policy they have on cell phone sales. They give you this paper without teling you what it is on time of purchase to sign ''coinsidently'' it given to you with the apers you have to sign stating that the cell phone worked at time of purchase well the paper im talking about is a contract satiting that if you cancel your contract before its over they charge u an early termination fee?? :-/ well i did not know they had that policy so i had the phones for about 6 months lost my job and had to cancel the contract. I called cingular which i owed 2 months and well the early ternination which i was ok with since i knew thats how their system and any other cell phone carriers system works. Well 2 weeks later i get a letter from curacao saying that i owed them 700 plus dollars for early terminations of my contract which at this point i was ljke waaaat?? I already resolved this with cingular and paid them off. But then they came out with this ### contract that they have and i asked y they charge customers that if they already end up paying cingular? They said they get charged by cingular too for some contract they have.. So i called cingular and asked a manager there if that was true or was it bs? And he verified that it was bs! Their ripping people off. Since that day i havenot set foot in one of their stores! they charged me crazy penalties for not paying on time while i was fighting this all in all with my previouse balance it came out to 1200 dollar. My brother also had the same warrantyissue where his zume media player had ''100 percent covered warranty'' his usb connection screwed up. They said that part wasnt covered. CURACAO IS A ###ING LOW DOWN DIRTY STORE!!

    1 Votes
  • morenagto Dec 16, 2009

    I bough a HP Laptop Last year in March, i took it for repair because it was not working. Well they fix it and i was happy. Well it was for a couple of months. The fan started to make this horrible noice and u couln't work with it.

    I took it back and they fixed it it took 3 weeks almosr a month but they fixed that but when i got home i turn it on and checked everything some of the letters didn't worked.

    Next day i took it back they told me "Come in 2 days it will be ready" Well it's been a wheek and still no news. I wrote an e-mail to the corporate office telling them but still no response.

    At this poin i think they the sell Refurbished items and that's why they don't work.
    I bouugh different things from other stores and i don't get this problem.

    1 Votes
  • Nr
    nr909 May 03, 2010

    I totally agree with ALL of you... We bought a 55" LCD and paid an additional $500 for warranty. We noticed that the tv was showing some signs that something with was right and have called LA CURACAO repair man 3 times. Nevertheless they cannot find anything wrong. How can something not be wrong when the sound goes off, when there are vertical and horizontal lines appearing, when the image is distorted, when a big green screen pops up now and then????? We also purchased some video games and charged them onto our account. When we moved to a new apartment I called them and went in person to give them the new info. I noticed that one of the bills from La Curacao was no longer arriving in the mail. So I decided to call and investigate. They told me they had my new address and that all the accounts were current and the one with the video games was paid off. I said "ok. I must of forgotten that I had paid it off." I even asked them to double check and they said yes everything is fine. Well a month later my husband gets a message from the collections department from LA CURACAO.. Supposively we were a month past due in our payment and now we were in collections with them. (Funny how after a month you are in collections... not even the big business companies put you in collections after in in debt for a month). I was a little upset but I tried to remain calm to explain what had happened. I said we moved and changed address... I called to give it you ( he said we never got it). I said well I have another account and that one is changed and I am current with my payments so it's illogical that this one isn't if there is only a very small balance. I explain that I am responsible person and pay all my bill on time. That if must have been an misunderstanding and to remove the late charges and would kindly pay the balance right now. He said (ALL IN A VERY VERY VERY VERY RUDE, sassy smart allic tone said We are sorry you are not responsible and not have your accounts up to date. He just went off. Talking over me and not letting me say anything. When I said I don't like the way you talk to me may I speak with someone else or your manager he said (using the same rude sassy tone of voice) I am the supervisor here so you can't talk to anyone because I am the big shot here... so what are you going to do about it???? I was livid... we argued back and forth for 15 minutes. Throughout the time very rude rude rude... he just need to spit out cursing words to me. Then I said okay I will pay send me the bill so I can see what's going on. I always like things in writing. HE said ok I 'll send it in a month. I said what!? Why in a month he said so I can charge you another month for late charges. So low...but I even said I don't care send it. Then he said okay so that will affect your husband's credit. Like purposely wanting to affect us instead helping us out. So I finally I was so mad that I said fine I will pay so I never have to hear your voice again. I said I will pay you with a check so I will have my receipt (always keep things in writing) and he said I will have to charge you extra for using a check. So I gave him my credit card number over the phone. But before I gave him the last two numbers I said (What is your name?) He said LUIS DE LA CRUZ FROM THE DEPT OF COLLECTIONS. Then he gave me a confirmation number and he so synicly said " have a nice day" I was so mad that I started crying non stop feeling frustrated for the way he treated me. Never in my LIFE had anyone spoken to me that way NEVER NEVER!!! So I called customer service.. A lady Monica Brandano answered she was suprisingly very polite. I explained the situation and she said that my "debt" was only a month late and that it wasn't even that much to be in collection. SHe also said that depending on you debt there is a different collection department and surely when I asked to speak with someone else there mush have been someone else above him. She gave me a 2 numbers to call and complain. Ask for Vielca Cisneros [protected] and [protected] ( pay attention to the second number I will tell you later. Well I called the second number and no one answered, so I called the second number. A lady answered and she said "this is not LA CURACAO" I was surprised that it was the wrong number but that she knew where I was trying to call. She said they have her number by accident and give it to customers when they have complaints. She said she had already called them and went in person and they don't correct their error. She even spoke with that lady VIELCA CISNEROS and she assures to me that she is not the head of the complaints dept... she said she is just a stupid receptionist that is just as bad. OMG!!! I was crying even more... I was livid. She also told me she has a long list of names and numbers of people that call her and she wrote them down because she wants to start a huge law suit against the store. They are abusive, rude, and just plain dirty low!!! I am not going to stop here. IF you would like to join call this number [protected] and ask the lady to write your info down. This has to stop now!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jobany May 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    la curacao is a big as [censor]en lyr. i but a amp to make my dj sound batter n the stupid sale man told me if any think happen to it just bring it back n we give u a new one i pay $200 plust $80 for the exra worranty so this year my amp stop working n i toke it to git a new one wan i wan there thay told me that no thay need to sand it to git it repar n i told than that i cant do that bcus saterday i need to play the dj at a party n thay say that thay need to git it repair it been 4 weeks that thay have it n i call every week n thay alwas tell me the same [censor] that thay going to sart working on it n i lost 5 custemers to play the dj n i lost more than $2000 just bcus stupid sale man lie about n bcus la curacao have no fix it im so fit wat this [censor] bcus thay don anor wat thay say n lye for any stupid [censor] so tell ppl that dont buy at that lieing stupid [censor] store no more n never buy there

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Ron.C Oct 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We need to reach people and show them how bad la curacao is. Their staff is soo awful. All this week i been calling to ask if they have the Ipod Touch 4 Gen in stock. Non of the curacaos say that they have it. Their newspaper clearly says they have all new Ipods. Why would they advertise something they do not carry? After 2 weeks, i called La Curacao in Huntington Park and asked when the new Ipods would arrive. I got answers from "1 week" "2 Weeks" " On the weekend" I was told this by the same person and maybe some other staff. Obviously, they don't know what they are doing. Two days ago the supervisor answers and tells me that the ipods will be available tomorrow and that he is sure. I told him to confirm it, and he did. Went the next day and the staff said no ipods were going to be available for at least two weeks. La Curacao needs to hire employees that know what they are doing or that don't make [censor] up. I knew this person that used to work for La Curacao in the computer department. He said he was told to convince customers that the computers are backed up by a good warranty and to sell the extended warranty. He says that if he is called about any computer problems, to direct customers to another line or put them on hold and they will hang up after some time on hold. He says they don't back up their warranty they sell, and they will go far to not refund or fix a computer. The computers are expensive and over the MSRP price. And they don't have console games like Xbox 360, PS3, Wii, DS, PSP by themselves. They bundle them with the cheapest games and cheap accessories and bring the price up horrible. A DS Bundled at $299? Come on, it comes with two games (Each cost at most $20) and accessories valued at $30 and the ds alone is $130 in most retail stores. That should be $180 in worth. They add $120. And people buy it because they are forced to buy the bundle since there is no other option and because many people don't have credit anywhere else and la curacao is known to give credit to almost anyone. So a good place to start you credit but with insane prices on electronics and alot of other items. If they don't sell at higher prices then the MSRP, then they are selling it at the MSRP price. While other stores already are selling those items at around half the price. They are most for the latino people. And they take advantage of their own people. They give them credit when they are new to the country, give them a huge APR and sell to them at prices t hat are over the original price.

    -1 Votes
  • We
    we have rights2011 Dec 08, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    so my dad has an account with la curacao and he has been with them for 20yrs he got behind once by accident they called him his job and talked with his boss told his boss they were going to sue him and he needed to pay by the end of the day OMG! Then they call him and assume because he does not speak English he does not have any papers my dad is a citizen so now we are suing them and they are fighting with us today we went to mediation and La Curacao's atty had nothing to say people all this things you are going through can be fixed contact a FDCPA atty they wont charge you La Curacao will pay for everything there are laws and they need to follow them. We did it and La curacao is paying. We need to put a stop to all this collectors that think that think that they have the right to treat people like if they are worthless people even if you have no papers you have rights don't let them tell you other wise all FDCPA attys will help you for free. And the collectors as well as the La curacao will be liable.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Armenta90 Jan 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    does anyone else get harrass by la Curacao? just for missing one payment?

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Armenta90 Jan 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Does Anyone else get harrassed by la Curacao for missing one payment?

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    keiry Jan 17, 2012

    Omg where can i even start with these robbers (thats what these people are) all the things that ive bought with la curacao i no longer have why? Because they all broke within a matter of time, the fan lasted 2 weeks, the microwave lasted 6 months, the dvd player lasted 1 year, the portable dvd player lasted 3 days (i swear im not playing), my sons game cube lasted 3 months . I really need to know how can i get someone to investigate this store? I swear they are selling things that are refurbished or used because i just cant explain how all my things are broken within a matter of time. Something fishy is going on, im still not finished paying for the things i obviously no longer have; please please stay away far far away!

    0 Votes
  • In
    INSIDEMAN68 May 16, 2012

    WOWSERS I JUST CAME BK FROM AND INTERVIEW APPOINMNT W LA CURACAO THIS IS HOW IT WENT INTERVIEW WAS A 12PM ITS NOW 2:30 PM AND NOTHIN THE FAT LAZY DUDE THATS SOPPOSE TO INTERVIEW ME IS EATING LUCH AND KISSING HIS GIRL IN THE LOBBY NEEDLESS TO SAY I PULLED HIS CARD THERE WAS A BIG MANAGEMNT DISCUSSION AND I GOT A SECOND INTERVIEW WITH OUT ACTUALLY HAVIN THE FIRST ONE...SORRY PEOPLE WE ALL NEED TO WRK AND IF THEY OFFER ME THE JOB IM TAKING IT...FOR NOW...I WANT THE FAT DUDES POSITION SEEMS EASY ENOUGH!!!

    1 Votes
  • Co
    Compl La curacao May 29, 2012

    this place is so ###ing expensive, its a fraud ### the price is 3 times more expensive and the serivce is ###ed dont buy anything from them go look somewhere else and compare the price with the quality and you will see ! ###ing stupid mexicans

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    Whelkome to Ahmeerika Aug 29, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Try to shop there as a White individual... It seems that no one there speaks a word of English, all sales people were pretending to do something to avoid having to speak with me... I'm from Russia, I learned English, also learned Spanish, and have no problem communicating in more than 4 languages, but the treatment in La Curacao is disgusting. Also, all the items were over priced, low quality, or out dated. I sat on a piece of furniture, and I think it had bed bugs in it. Good luck with that store...

    0 Votes
  • La
    lacuracao fraudes Nov 17, 2012

    I've created a facebook page called "lacuracao fraudes" (la curacao frauds) due to the fact that i also had a situation with them, buying an expensive insurance to cover my furniture, and when something happened to it, they didn't help me, they said it was not accidental, blaming it on us, and denying the claim, I told them I would be making a lot of noise by creating a facebook page to tell everyone what they do to save their company money and the reply I got was "you can do whatever you want"
    unfortunately the facebook page is in spanish, But I will also be posting all the complaints in english, so I invite all of you to join us on facebook, like and share so everyone knows all the negative from that company.
    invite everyone and share!!!
    www.facebook.com/lacuracao.fraudes

    0 Votes
  • La
    lacuracao fraudes Nov 17, 2012

    DO NOT CONTACT THE NUMBER LISTED ABOVE!!! COMPLAINTS DEPARTMENT
    it is their own people trying to avoid from anyone posting their complaints on line!!!
    join us on facebook!!! and share with everyone...
    www.facebook.com/lacuracao.fraudes

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brenda900 Nov 27, 2012

    hello can any one help, so like 4 months ago i bouhgt a computer in 4 payments and after one month and days i got laid off so i told them that i did not have a job or money, that i would glady give the computer back, it was still in the box.now they call me today telling me that if i dont pay i would see a cop outside my house tomorrow morning and that i would go to court, cause what a was doing was fraud, i told them if they had our conversation when i told them that i would give the computer back, they told me they dont have records of that, only records when i supposly would pick up and stay online hearing.she also told me that my sister would go to court too because they would leave message to them for them, because they knew, even one of them told her that, she when on saying 'i seriouly dont know what kind of sister you got ', like trying to say im a stealer.., can i go to court for this, i also told them if i go to court could i pay little by little, she told me no u have to pay right their .i also told her that i could star paying little by little cause i have a job, i get pay only $80 a week, she said no that i need to pay alsmot $900 by friday .can i get sue by them dont they have to send me to collection first, or are they also a collection agency help, please.

    0 Votes
  • Er
    eric arias Feb 16, 2013

    I agree with everything all of you are saying.. [censored] la curacao, fun fact.. its not a store for hispanics by Hispanics.. its actually for hispanics by Israelis.. yes, look up who started and who owns this ###.. so don't blame hispanics specially mexicans for this peace of ###..

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    Yoshinuts818 May 07, 2013

    Eric Arias I agree with you the workers aren't to blame they are just there to do their jobs. Its not a bad store but its not a good one either. All stores are known for something, like, Curacao is known for their ability to give credit to customers. Everything in the store can be put on credit. In a way its good the way the credit works but their system is flawed. It is changing its ways one step at a time.

    1 Votes
  • He
    helpfriend May 07, 2013

    Curacao is a very good place to buy things.

    -1 Votes
  • Is
    isabelv Jul 06, 2013

    What can.happen if I don't pay them? Two week after I purchase my cell it started to turn off by it self when I use the it goes blank I was not told in detail about my contract and how much was the total ... I thought my due date off each Month was another day now there calling me non-stop. Help please

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Adam C M Jul 19, 2013

    I bought a 50 inch smart 3D LG tv its costing me 2731.00$. I bought it in March 2013. I was watching tv. Since I bought it there has been a white flashes at the top and bottom of my screen. I didnt think nothing of it. A month latter I was watching it and another flash happend. This time I heard a loud pop and my screen cracked from the inside. I did nothing to this tv. It's a plasma tv and now its broke. I took it in and they told me I brooke it. They said it was phisicale damage. I never even touched the tv. Well he told me it was going to cost me more than what I paid for to repair it. I told him it is covered under warenty. He said no not this he said I throw something at it. The guy was not even there and he wants to stand there and acuse me of this. I was told the warenty would cover everything damage, viruse or if it broke. Well aperantly not. He said I will send it in to get checked out and we will give you an estament. It's been three to four weeks now and I have not heard from them. (July 19) Today I called to find out the status. The girl told me we contacted you two weeks ago and left you a message that we can't repair it. They said LG dose not have the parts to repair it. It's to knew they dont have the parts. Why sell the tv if they wont beable to fix it. I never got a call or a message from them. I explaind what had happend when I was watching the tv and she told me the same thing as that other idiot we caused phisical damage to it. Why do they think they can determine what caused the problem. Anyways I told her what is the warenty for is it so we can get ripped off and pay for something that breaks in less than two months. She told me come back and get the tv and we will rendburst you the money back for the warenty. What the ### is this I still have to pay for the tv because I got it with there credit card! This is ###! Why do they tell you it will be covered if anything gose wrong even if the screen cracks.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.