Interval Consulting GroupFraud

T
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Well, I sent my refund letter in three weeks ago and I got it back in the mail yesterday, unopened and bearing a big yellow sticker on the front that reads, "Return to Sender, Not Deliverable as Addressed, Unable to Forward." I tried calling Interval this morning and their main customer service line is "Temporarily Disabled." How convenient for them!

I have my credit card company working on this now. I've also sent in a complaint to the BBB of Atlanta. I suspect that Interval will claim that they never received my letter, hence they've done nothing wrong here. I've made every possible effort to contact them. Not being able to be reached by phone, internet or mail says volumes about the type of business you run!

I have a feeling that any further posts here will be from customers that feel duped, disenfranchised or just need a place to vent about Interval Consulting Group. If you just got involved with them, get out now! They are ever so surely going to disappear with your money.

More Interval Consulting Group Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Sm
    Smilingiii Apr 13, 2010

    They're an absolute scam - have been watching their BBB rating go from A- to F

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    fight33 Mar 23, 2010

    PLEASE SEND ME YOUR CONTACT INFO TO SET UP AN APPOINTMENT. YOU CAN EMAIL ME AT [email protected] or leave a message [protected] Art Feldman

    0 Votes
  • Df
    dflores Dec 23, 2009

    I'm another sucker that got taken by them. I had multiple emails from Gina Ownes stating that they were working on an offer. Offers never materialized. I’m at the point of requesting for my refund but two requests have been returned without the refund. Can anyone assist me? [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Rp
    RPRZ Dec 20, 2009

    weeroo,

    First off anyone or any group that is not a U.S. State Attorney General's office that is offering to help should be treated cautiously. I went through my credit card company's dispute successfully (sent them all my documents, contract etc). Others here have had lawyers take action on their part. I know that for me my credit card company's action worked. There are several stories here that say this didn't work for other people. Contact IMG with your request as well if you're at the 180 day mark. Just don't delay the credit card company call.


    My condo is the Grandview at Las Vegas one on the IMG front page of the website (cycles between it and one for Tahiti Village). IMG is trying to correct the wrong that occurred with ICG, at no additional cost to me. If/when my unit sells I'll post the good news here. I'm neither positive or negative on the outcome, all I can do is wait and see. I've also had it listed for a year now with a Remax office in Branson, MO with no success there either yet (and another $500 spent with no results).

    You should understand from reading postings above the following:

    Interval Consulting Group (ICG) of Atlanta is out of business. This can be confirmed when looking them up on the Atlanta BBB website.

    ICG became Interval Marketing Group LLC (IMG) after they moved to Hilton Head, SC.
    Their website is: http://intervalmarketinggroup.com/t/index.php/home.html


    You can research IMG on the Southeast Atlantic BBB website. I put in complaints through both BBB's mentioned here for ICG and IMG, neither one was responded to by ICG or IMG. The Southeast Atlantic BBB hasn't updated their site on this statistic yet (Christmas holidays issue I suspect).


    Good luck in getting your situational resolved successfully, just be cautious of offers to help.

    Rod

    0 Votes
  • We
    weeroo Dec 19, 2009

    I too was scammed and now have seen a claim from email address [email protected]
    that they can get our money back.
    Anyone have any experience with this group?

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    fight33 Dec 18, 2009

    IF YOU WERE CONTACTED BY INTERVAL CONSULTING GROUP OR ANY OTHER TIMESHARE RESALE COMPANY AND YOU PAID THEM MONEY UP FRONT AFTER BEING PROMISED A BUYER PLEASE CONTACT ME AND TELL ME YOUR STORY. LEAVE ME YOUR CONTACT INFO. YOUR MONEY ISN'T GONE YOU JUST HAVE TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. I CAN HELP. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs M M Dec 17, 2009

    We had to get an attorney to get our refund but we did get it. Our attorney sent the letter to the address on our contract. We got our $1998.00 back two weeks ago and the check was good.

    They did not sell our timeshare and you cannot dispute credit card transactions after 60 days- trust me on this one. Our bank said "No Way". If it's been charged within the past 60 days you're good. If not, all I can say is get an attorney because that's what it took to get our deposit back and ONLY because we requested it in writing within 5 days of the end of our contract. We got lucky.

    Good Luck! We'll never sell our timeshare through anyone but a broker or agent again.

    0 Votes
  • Rp
    RPRZ Dec 05, 2009

    Deb,

    Thanks for the advice about the credit. I included the contract with ICG and its terms in my mailing to the bank along with my BBB complaint reports to both BBBs. So, I'm hoping that the 180 day guaranteed refund clause in the contract is what made the bank go ahead and credit the account. I will check into this though with my bank.



    I can not say thank you enough to everyone who has posted their situation here, the good and the bad. Had I not tripped across this website my story may have turned out differently. The education I have gained through the "School of hard knocks"; about timeshare resales; what BBB's are and the level of protection/information/credibility they provide; what the American Resort Development Association (ARDA) is and can do for people; what the Attorney General's office in several states are doing on this topic; all of this would not have been possible without this webpage as a starting point.

    Again to those whose story may not be a positive one yet, I encourage you to pursue this through contact with the company (both IMG and Direct Resorts of Hilton Head phone numbers on their websites), your financial institution and through the legal system when warranted.



    I'm no legal expert...and I didn't sleep in a Holiday Inn Express last night!... but the personal situations I've read here all strike me as being on the level, so do take action through the right formal way. Hopefully your situations will all end successfully for you too.

    Again many thanks to all, and if I have further news I will most definitely post it here.

    Rod

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deb Dec 03, 2009

    Rod,

    Please be aware that the credit your bank's VISA department issued back to your account MAY be conditional upon ICG/IMG's response to their request for information. You may want to verify with your bank that their "refund" is permanent and not revocable. I say this only because our bank did the same thing, but then reversed it when there was no response from ICG upon their inquiries.

    As for the company representative, he contacted me directly, so I have no direct contact information for him. You could try asking for him when you call the general Direct Resorts phone number. Good luck!!!

    Deb

    0 Votes
  • Rp
    RPRZ Dec 03, 2009

    Update to my last post. When I returned from my Thanksgiving vacation I learned that my bank's VISA customer disputes office had credited my account with the entire amount that I had paid to ICG. Needless to say my wife and I are very happy about this outcome.

    Additional good news here is that the office in Hilton Head did receive my request for a refund. However, since my bank credited my VISA on Nov 25, about the same time the Hilton Head office received my registered letter with the refund request there was no need for ICG, IMG to take any financial action.

    Mr. Lapointe from the sales office branch which is different from the customer service office branch of, stay with me here, ICG - then IMG - now Direct Resorts has spoken to me this week. He will speak to the representative to see how the current company, Direct Resorts, can make things right for me and my wife in regards to selling our timeshare. If there is a further positive news and an acceptable way ahead we'll let everyone who reads this board know.

    Good luck to one and all in having positive outcomes for your situations.

    Rod

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    trevnikki Dec 01, 2009

    Guess you can add me to the long list of 'suckers'. I really thought this company was legit. Had continuing correspondence with Gina Owens and was even considering extending my contract another 180 days. I too was presented with an offer to buy. It was actually a very good one, but gee...the buyers financing fell thru. How convenient. My certified refund request letter is on its' way but am not holding my breath. The BBB of Atlanta will be contacet and am also going to attempt to recover something from my bank. Guess they are right when they say 'a sucker is born every day'!

    0 Votes
  • Rp
    RPRZ Nov 29, 2009

    Rich and Deb,

    I have filed complaints with the BBB in Atlanta and for Hilton Head's BBB (through Savannah Georgia). I have also sent registered letters to ICG's old Atlanta address and the new address in Hilton Head requesting my refund as 21 Nov 09 was day 180. I have not heard from ICG or IMG.



    My bank's Visa branch is investigating this further at this time to get me a refund, they have a copy of my contract with ICG and its guaranteed money back clause after 180 days if the property was not sold.



    Thanks.

    Rod

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thatrichguy Nov 26, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Lady X calibur, You couldn't be farther from the truth. I am not a former employee or competitor by any means. I am/was a customer of ICG. I'm not sure exactly which greasy spoon diner you are eating your "food for thought, " but I suppose you are entitled to your own hypotheses. Every word of each post I have made on this site is 100% accurate. My posts were not for venting vitriolic diatribe, but rather to educate and let others know what happened so that they don't get involved with an unscrupulous company.

    I too had a conversation today with company representative, right after he got off the phone with Deb. He spent about 35 minutes explaining the history of the ICG/IMG companies, apologized for the actions that ICG took (or in this case, didn't take), and offered me a full refund, which I had already successfully negotiated with the fraud department of my credit card company. As reparations for the exhausting hours I had spent trying to get a response from ICG, he offered to market my property through his new company for free. I figured it was the least he could do, so I took him up on the offer.

    From what he told me, he started ICG with a bad business partner who went rogue and drove ICG into the ground. It was dissolved after two months of operation and the doors of 3525 Piedmont were closed. The customer service team was supposed to send out a mass e-mail letting all 100 of us clients know that this was the case, but like every other manner of business, this was not taken care of. He also said that he basically lent his name to ICG, and was not aware of what was happening in the day to day operation of the business. I really want to believe him, as we've all made mistakes in life. He did proactively seek me out, as he was worried about the fallout ICG had created, as well as his reputation.

    I can say that it does take some attrition and good faith to reach out to someone you know you have wronged, either directly or indirectly. He said that he would be contacting everyone on this site that has been affected by these fraudulent business practices. I would love to hear other people's stories.

    -Rich

    0 Votes
  • La
    lady_x_calibur Nov 25, 2009

    Food for thought...check out RichGuy thoroughly as I have a feeling he is a competitor of Interval Marketing Group among other companies and it seems to be his MO is to slander any other company. I have noticed this behavior overtime with this user ID, and I suspect he is a former employee who feels scorned, or maybe he just doesn't like competition?

    As for me, I did not use Interval Marketing Group to sell, but I did buy from them! I purchased a resale in NC. The showroom was comfy and the coffee was GREAT! They did also give me a free one year membership to RCI with a free week. Nothing I saw or experienced seemed like a scam.

    Hope this helps someone!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deb Nov 25, 2009

    Stan,
    He contacted me directly - on his own, proactively - not at my request. I had provided a very detailed communication log and copies of all my emails when I mailed them my request for refund. Have you actually come to the end of your contract? Have you sent in your letter requesting refund within the time required to meet the terms of your contract? If not, and you're still within the timeframe, I suggest you use the Hilton Head address posted previously on this forum. Note that Gina Owens is no longer with the company.
    Good luck,
    Deb

    0 Votes
  • St
    stanley constantino Nov 25, 2009

    Deb,

    I also tried to contact this place to get my refund. Am having no luck. How did you get a hold of anyone you say you were contacted by the representative. If you could put down a number to call or write to and address. I would need to know. thanks for any information to help get anyones money back.

    Stan

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deb Nov 25, 2009

    Everyone,

    After posting my concerned comments on this site, I'm pleased to inform all of you that I have been contacted directly by the owner, and we have reached agreement regarding my refund request. My conversation with him was pleasant and enlightening - much more than I expected. If anyone here has not taken the proper steps to communicate, I compel you to do so within the timeframe indicated in your contract, as it is your responsibility within the contract parameters.

    Good luck to all --

    Deb

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thatrichguy Nov 25, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Power is in numbers, trust me. Everyone hang in there. The cavalry is on the way!

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    bun Nov 25, 2009

    I finally reached this site after wasting my time and money to ICG...I just talked 2 minutes ago with Amex to dispute the refund of $998 "marketing fee" that was charged in April 2009 but Amex said they cannot help it after 60 days(To Tiredofthisshi-t...how you could dispute your case?). I put my complaints to BBB Atlanta, following thatrichguy's suggestion. Appreciate for everyone's efforts!! I'll wait for my refund and wish all of us will be saved from this nightmare.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thatrichguy Nov 22, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Okay folks..more arsenal.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thatrichguy Nov 22, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes folks, the only way to stop these crooks is to band together. I talked to a lawyer friend of mine about this and he said that we're all pretty much screwed and said that these type of people operate illegitimate business that don't sell a thing. They make their money by ripping people off and by the time you go to collect, they are long gone...on to the next state and the next scam.

    While it pains me to spend all this time and energy on these people, I'll do it to keep others from being scammed. They will be caught eventually.


    You may not be able to get your money back folks, but you have even more power...the power to put these guys in jail or at least make sure that they never get a business license again.

    Do the right thing!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deb Nov 22, 2009

    We really need to heed Richguy's urging to file complaints with the Georgia Officie of Consumer Affairs - Here's a link to their form, which can actually be faxed!! PLEASE DO THIS!! They may be able to help us.

    http://consumer.georgia.gov/vgn/images/portal/cit_1210/35/26/117138786Complaintform.pdf

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tiredof this sh-t Nov 21, 2009

    I filed a dispute with my CC, Amex, the 19th of Nov, my 180th day with these crooks. My account has been credited by Amex for my $800. deposit while they investigate ICG

    0 Votes
  • Rp
    RPRZ Nov 21, 2009

    I signed up with Interval Consulting Group (ICG) on 26 May 2009 for my Grandview at Las Vegas timeshare. My salesperson was Joan Lumopo. Like many of you I dropped $1200 upfront for this. Well today is day 180 and the refund letter is out the door to both ICG and their new name Interval Marketing Group (IMG). I'm hoping for the best but not holding my breath that I'll see the money. By the way, Mike Lapointe and Gina Owens work/worked for both companies. As noted by others their 1-866 number is the same for both companies. I'm talking to Visa's fraud department on this, don't know what will happen on that front.

    I've spoken to ARDA who are oblivious to what consumers do when we see ARDA's "Accreditation" on a seller's website. ARDA said that ICG was in good standing until Oct 09 as the dues while not paid were being delayed for member companies due to the economic downturn...so more of us get suckered in by companies I have no doubt.

    IMG has ARDA's icon on their page and according to Mr. Brown at ARDA IMG is not a member in any way shape or form of ARDA.

    I love how no one can tell you at ARDA what reseller is reputable, and then they and many states say don't pay up front fees to sell a timeshare. Anyone know who operates reputably like I had hoped ICG would that doesn't charge upfront fees? Anyone know if ARDA can share responsibility for lending validity to unscrupulous websites? ARDA's head office did say to contact their Florida office in case legal action is pending against ICG there. The ARDA number to call in Florida is [protected]. If there's a way to find out if legal action is possible then I'm all for it.

    Ms. Owens, Customer Service at ICG/IMG told me that ICG had an inventory of 700 timeshare listings. If you accept that number then approx 700 listings X $1200 in fees adds up to more than $840000 U.S. Dollars. So there should be money to get from them. Unless they've invested in personal protective service agents which may not be a bad idea for ICG/IMG to consider at this point.

    I've filed complaints with the BBB of Atlanta and the Hilton Head area BBB. I wonder if we can go after the BBB for allowing both businesses to have A- ratings within months of starting up when BBB guidelines suggest they shouldn't qualify for this rating so soon.

    There are ways to make Google/YAHOO etc searches come up with Caveat Emptor (Buyer Beware) postings for IMG and ICG the apparent owner of ICG/IMG before the actual websites. If anyone here has those kind of talents you may want to warn others.

    I feel for all of you who may have been taken on this and be careful going forward on selling too!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MarkMan Nov 19, 2009

    Scam! Scam! Scam! I have been duped! Do not do business with interval group. . They move around fl to ga to now sc. . . Thank god! I used my credit card and well my credit card company will refund me the $600 i put down with $600 to follow after the sale that will never happen. There customer service # does not return calls after a month or so. . . I truly believe the people saying good things about the company are really employees of interval themselves. . Please do not waste your money with them or for any other company asking up front fees. . . I got burned so save yourself. . I know how sometimes desperation can get u into bone headed decisions. .

    0 Votes
  • Lg
    lgm1118 Nov 12, 2009

    I have sent a request to Mike LaPoint with his new contact information requesting my refund. Same story as everyone else - got 1 offer extremely low (only a phone call), sent letter which did not get returned, spoke to a customer service person once who was as professional as a toad and now only get the mailbox for any of the extensions. I'll let you know if Mike addresses my email - rather doubt it.

    0 Votes
  • Pm
    pmayo Nov 06, 2009

    my lawyer has already looked into it for me, once a LLC dissolves you cant go after the owner or other assets of the owner, everything falls back on the business only. thats why im just chalking this one up as another lesson learned. god says forgive and forget, and even though this is a tough one to do that on its just more stress than its worth to make pointless pursuit.

    0 Votes
  • 02
    0218lori Nov 05, 2009

    Deb, on the contract it has in black and white that if they do not sell your stuff for you they will refund your monies. That hold up in any court.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deb Nov 03, 2009

    The new address is: 42 New Orleans Rd, Ste 105, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (although my web saearch cited "Suite E" as their address.) Same customer service number (if that's what you call it!)

    Per an attorney friend of ours, if you did not receive a written offer to puchase from them during the term of your contract, then there was no "legitimate offer" to qualify their refund policy.

    Hope this helps,

    Deb

    0 Votes
  • 02
    0218lori Nov 03, 2009

    I also got my letters back.

    0 Votes
  • 02
    0218lori Nov 03, 2009

    Dallasqt9- Hey It was the adress that was on the contract that was signed that it said to send it to. I dont have it with me at this min. I have also sent a complaint to the BBB of Atlanta to. I do agree with Rich WE ALL need to band together and go after them. Take our money back.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    arnold schneider Nov 02, 2009

    There new name is interval marketing group, so watch out because they almost scammed me too! thank you all for posting your complaints! it helped me save money in the long run!

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thatrichguy Oct 29, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Greetings folks, Just thought I'd throw out there that I did some investigating and Interval Consulting Group is no longer a member of the ARDA. Their membership lapsed 3-31-09, which, unfortunately, was about two weeks after I signed my contract.

    I highly suggest that anyone who is reading this should file a complaint with the Atlanta BBB when your contract expires and you cannot get a hold of ICG for a refund. That time WILL come. You can do it online. Here is the link: https://odr.bbb.org/odrweb/public/getstarted.aspx

    Also, here is the number and address for the Office of Consumer Affairs in Georgia. We're only going to get these crooks if we speak up and let the state know we're not going to be taken!

    Georgia Office of Consumer Affairs
    2 MLK Drive SE, Suite 356
    Atlanta, GA 30334
    Phone: [protected]

    Do the right thing! Power to the people!

    -Rich

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dallasqt9 Oct 29, 2009

    I had no luck disputing with my credit card company (VISA) who said I should have contacted them within 60 days. At the time I had no idea we were going to be ripped off! I've hired an attorney and once the letter from them reaches the FOUR addresses I have (personal addresses of the owners and others involved) I will be sure and post everything I know about this place on here for you all to use. I wish you all luck. Until I see my 2 grand I'm going to keep pushing for the refund!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dallasqt9 Oct 29, 2009

    Oh, PS..I have filed complaints with GA, FL and SC BBB and with ARDA

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dallasqt9 Oct 29, 2009

    0218Lori- which address did you send it to? All my correspondance came back return to sender! HELP!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mistrbill Oct 24, 2009

    Has anybody had any luck with credit card disputes? Sounds like we are all getting ripped off. I too had one call with a low ball offer to which I replied that it wasnt in the range we contracted for and should not have even been bothered with it. Mine expires 10/19/09 and I also have my request waiting to mail.
    Good luck to us all

    0 Votes
  • 02
    0218lori Oct 23, 2009

    Just reading up and I sent my paper work for my money back from ICG. And it came right back to me. I see the post that they are out of busness. I just talked to them 3 weeks ago. Great my luck!!

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrberlaw Oct 23, 2009

    I am in the same situation and I have sent my letter but get no answer from the company and have not received any calls.
    I am unemployed and this was my last hope I spent my last $600 to get rid of this time share that as an annual of $876 that I was not told of when I bought it. Looks like I got ripped twice. SO I'm in some deep Stuff. Thanks for All the info. I hope this is resolved for me and every one who is having the same problem

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dallasqt9 Oct 09, 2009

    Immediate attention! Our former salesperson called us this week to confirm that the company was going under. They took $2000 up front and did not market it or even bring us an offer back in 180 days (We were due our refund in a month). They are shutting their doors and running with people's money so I suggest you get your contract copy to them with a certified mail request in writing for a refund and contact your financial institution. We paid by Visa and are now having to get an attorney because Visa only protects you for 60 days. Absolute nightmare. Good Luck!! The website disappears more by the day and all the employees and sales reps have been let go www.intervalconsultinggroup.com

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.