Iadt OnlinePossible fraud!

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I thought about going back to school, and was pretty excited about attending International Academy of Design and Technology. I applied online, and soon enough, I had a phone call. After exchanging my goals and past education, I was going to be 'reviewed' as to whether or not I was going to be accepted to the school. A day or two later, I got a confirmation call that I had in fact been accepted. So, I filled out my FAFSA and other information, and noticed soon after that I was owing about $637 every MONTH. Now, I was certain that it had been covered under FAFSA or student loans. That brings me to my current situation. I've tried contacting numerous people from Financial Aid, my Academic Advisor (who e-mailed my information to Financial Aid and gave me a phone number.) and the Registrars Office. These have been e-mails, phone calls, and even chats you can access on the website. Not a single person has yet to contact me after many phone calls.

To go a little more in depth, to show you how much they 'care', I started up a chat session with The Financial Aid team. I typed in my situation, hit enter and a "Please wait until a representative joins the chat." Waited, nothing. Waiting some more. Nothing. After about an hour of watching, "A representative has closed this chat session."

All they want is your money. They don't care otherwise. Do not go to this college!

More Iadt Online Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • La
    lala Mar 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    IADT is closing its doors to almost all of the schools. They got too many lawsuits on them...there reputation is not that good...I was planning to go to the Toronto one but after searching them for online won't anymore, besides, they have closed the application process...

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    janice May 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a current student at IADT Toronto; and they have done an amazing job. As well, they do not have a lawsuit problem, it is a private school with private school prices. Therefore, not many students graduate adequately due to the hectic payments ($5000/per 3month semester ) for the period of 18 months!
    Due to a lack of sufficient enrollment and such fourth, they have to close.

    The school does have a very good rep. for the Film School and the Fashion Department. The contacts are incredible, many of my colleagues have worked for Holt Renfrew Group, Chanel and Fashion Magazine. They have many university professors whom have taught at U of T, Ryerson, McGill, York and so on!

    So you missed out! :)

    -4 Votes
  • Pa
    Past iadt student Jun 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was a student in the toronto school, i would be happy to sue them if i had the resources. There were countless exaggerations and blatant lies throughout the experience. The teachers were not "industry experts" upon graduation i recieved little to no help in my job search, except for the ocassional e-mail of a job advertisement in cities other than my own. My knowledge of the industry was severely lacking compared to people with a public education. There were lots of filler courses that were only marginally related to my area of studies. The "counselors" are more like used car salesmen.
    For one quarter of the $20 000 i wasted i could have received a far superior education through public schools.
    I think Janice is not a real student at IADT (probably a head-hunter), every student i talked to when i was there felt ripped off and was not happy with the school.

    2 Votes
  • Sh
    shelby Oct 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This school sucks. They are just trying to sell you something that is overpriced. The lady I met with was late to the appointment and showed me around a poorly kept facility with absolutely no artwork displayed except for a poorly sewn dress that looked like a junior high home economics project. Since I have rejected this school, they continue to call me everyday, sometimes five times, and from different numbers to try and get me to answer. I would never wish this school on anyone. It should be closed down, and the space should be made better use of. I have since moved to the School of the Art Institute and am very happy with the service there. Don't waste your time or energy. People were sleeping in the classes and in the hallways. It felt like a half-way house...to say the least.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    cathy Jan 22, 2009

    I totally disagree with the above statements. I am presently attending the school and I am in my 6th term. I am very happy with the school. The teachers are all very qualified and are truly amazing. They are extremely dedicated.

    -2 Votes
  • St
    Stephane Jan 23, 2009

    I applied to this school and went thru all the red tape and even attended some of the classes. Some of the teachers were really good and some were really bad. I even had a teacher that didn't show up for the online sessions and one teacher wouldn't allow me to make up work when my father died. With the three classes that I passes and the two that I withdrew from, I received the bill that was $10, 000 that I now owe. They told me that they were going to drop the charges for the classes that I wasn't able to make up (due to the death of my father) but they didn't. Extremely mixed feelengs here.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    ninja_gaiden Feb 03, 2009

    The school (if you can call it that) is a complete scam and waste of money. I would not advise anyone to go to this school. I made the mistake of going and ended up with a $30, 000 bill and no job. So much for their so call placement to find you a job. Make sure you read the fine print. I had friends who dropped out because the whole program is a waste. THEY SHOULD BE SUED FOR MISREPRESENTATION. All the people that are posting positive things about the school are liars. They work for the school. They are not a recognized school in Ontario or Canada. Sheridan, Humber, Centennial, OCOD are real schools. if you are considering going to this school, make sure you do your research.

    2 Votes
  • Gi
    gini Feb 08, 2009

    Wow. I have to say to the above listing that I DO NOT work for IADT! I have been taking classes with them since Oct 2008 with the online school of IADT. I am SOO happy with my classes, my professors, with the professionalism of everyone I have dealt with!

    My questions from day one have been answered quickly, I did have one guy who was an ### but with the almost 20 or more interactions I've had with people at the school, I figure that's a pretty low number statistically.

    I took Graphic Design at my local college and what I learned was good, but what I'm learning at IADT online is extraordinary.

    About the comment regarding classes that you don't 'think' are part of your curriculum ... college and university classes include things other than your major to guess what ... make you a more well-rounded person! ALL colleges and universities do that ... it's been part of accepted curriculum since 'higher education' was developed.

    I am sorry for those of you who have had negative experiences. I and all the classmates I have had for my now 6 classes LOVE the school and love our classes! Now, I will say that it is CHALLENGING. 16 week classes poured into 5 week sessions keeps me on my toes.

    In my 8 years of college and university (been taking my own sweet time!) I have had MANY good AND bad experiences in EVERY school I've attended. This is my fourth school and I have to say that I've had far less bad experiences than in my previous 3.

    -3 Votes
  • Ia
    iaod_sucks Mar 23, 2009

    The International Academy of Design (IAOD) if a private organization, who's credits are not recognized by other schools - so even if you drop out - anything you have 'accomplished' in this school is a waste of your time and money.

    This 'school' is not respected by anyone in any of the industries they claim to be training students for. If you're a graphic designer you may be able to erase this blemish from your record through sheer talent or hard work but it should be a footnote on your resume or use it a character building reference.

    The instructors are usually former students, and if your instructors seems pissed off it's because they are giving you the same ### education they received, from the students become instructors like themselves before you. And IAOD is the only place that would possible hire them, this also help IAOD maintain some job placement percentage.

    60 Minutes Did a story on how much of a scam this 'school' is http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2005/01/31/60minutes/main670479.shtml

    The only honest people in this whole pyramid scheme of a school are the students who unknowing attend this school thinking that anyone of the advertising is true.

    All the people who posted positive comments here are most likely not students - but if they are please post links to your portfolios so everyone can see the 'great' results that you must of produced while at IAOD.

    2 Votes
  • Th
    The CEC Truth Advocate Apr 25, 2009

    CEC has bamboozled thousands of students and counting, and nothing seems to be stopping thier conniving tactics.

    This group should help people understand what CEC does.

    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=5604847490

    0 Votes
  • Ia
    IADT HATER Jun 30, 2009

    DONT GO TO THIS SCHOOL>>>THE CREDITS ARE WORTHLESS AT EVERY OTHER SCHOOL IN THE US AND YOUR DEGREE IS NOT CREDIBLE>>>THEY WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY AND LEAVE YOU WITH NOTHING YOU CAN USE AND NO MORE FUNDING TO GO TO ANOTHER SCHOOL AVAILABLE>>>THEY ARE RIP OFF ARTISTS. THE PRESIDENT OF THE SCHOOL IS A JOKE, HE SLEEPS WITH HIS VP'S SO THEY CAN KEEP THEIR HIGH PAYING JOBS, MARK PAGE ONLY CARES ABOUT MAKING HIS MONEY AND NOTHING ELSE. THEY WILL TRICK YOU INTO SIGNING BOGUS FA DOCUMENTS TO

    3 Votes
  • Ae
    aes Jul 01, 2009

    My decison to attend IADT Online was a very bad one. I am suing them for fraud for many reasons and have a strong case. Please be forwarned. What you sign up at the time of your admission can be changed by the school for no reason. The latest is that they've changed the online program to FULL TIME ONLY. One reason for choosing this program was BECAUSE I needed to attend part time. They also decided in the middle of my education that the transfers they said they'de take when I was considering the school were no longer eligible. As a graduate with BA in Communications, IADT thinks I should pay for Composition I, even though Composition II still transferred.

    They've collected student loans for two classes that were approved as withdraws due to illness, changed the Ws to Fs, and say I owe them over the school and ADDITIONAL $2500. I had a 4.0 gpa.

    You tell me. Does this sound like education or Fraud?

    1 Votes
  • Cl
    clau Jul 08, 2009

    Wow, this is really scary. I am in the Graphic Design program at IADT. I will be graduating in October of 2010 with a Bachelor's. I have not had any problems with this school at all and really do love the classes. Reading everyone's comments about their negative experiences is really scary. I feel like I'm getting my money's worth but I guess we'll see once graduation comes along.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Liz C Jul 08, 2009

    I would like to join a group of students that suing CEC. I am a former student of IADT- Sacramento. To summerize, the admissions rep misrepresented the school to me saying that the teachers were qualified for the classes they taught, that my classes would transfer, and that I would find a job upon graduation. I recently graduated college and some of my classes wouldnt transfer...like algebra and such. I brought a very impressive portfolio to the interview...and my advisor didnt even look at it. I signed some paper...gave her fifty dollars and took a very basic placement test. I had been accepted. I moved five hours away from my home to attend this school and saved up ten grand to use towards tuition. My advisor promised to help me find a job, housing and a room mate. Its been six months and still no job...i live in ghetto apartments that she recommended and live with a pyscho girl that she matched me up with. My life has been a night mare since moving up here...all because of this school.The students at this school cannot even draw a stick figure. I work for hours on my artwork, while others do it in class last minute and still get the same grade! I had a 4.0 and did not get my tuition or books paid for like they promised. The teachers do not even know the subject material they are teaching. They have interior design teachers teaching political science! you can be absent for weeks at a time and fail every "project" and still pass eery class with flying colors. I am a very serious artist and this school is a complete joke. It has a horrible reputation and will not get you anywhere in the future. My advisor assured me that I could transfer to a university upon graduation. WRONG! None of my $1200 classes will transfer because no other school will accept them! The university I planned on transferring to said they werent even a real school, no one has heard of IADT. This is a brand new school, so there are no job placement rates yet. In fact, they arent even accredited!!! Another lie. I have a refund check that supposed to be here a month ago, but has not showed up yet. They dont return my phone calls or emails becaue they dont want to give me my money. This is not a school at all, but more a company trying to rip off innocent students. Now that I have wasted half a year of my life, I have to move back home and start all over at a university...which is a quarter of the price by the way. Stay away from this school.

    If you have had a similiar problem with this company, please email me. I would like get a group of former students together and take legal action.

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ia
    iadt dude Jul 27, 2009

    I attended IADT Fairmont for 1 year, opted to pursue a degree in Computer Information Management, and this is my experience...

    Yeah the students/atmosphere was great there but where were the instructors!? They were nearly never there and we would be handed connect the dot puzzles!!! The Logic Instructor was fired after the whole class stormed and protested why he was brain###ing everyone with ### giving everyone his made up philosophic nonsense talk for hours at a time. At the end of the day you would wonder what the hell you just did for the last 5 hours.

    Financial aid lied to me about a grant when it was actually a loan. I then later found out when the school closed down and to my susprise, collection agencies called out of the blue with no request of payments prior to the call. This left a stain on my credit history that still gets brought up this day when I deal with anything that would have it show up on a report.

    Then you have the 'Dean' on the school who blatantly changes grades before your eyes after the term is at completion with a little smirk on his face. This was about the time when I decided to pursue other avenues.

    SO about those avenues. Let's try to get my school records... Oh my records have been sent to Pittsburgh and the school is gone. Ok no problem right? Oh wait, the school in Pittsburgh is gone...

    Many other things went on there and it will take to much time to post it all on here...

    I don't know what other type of lawsuits or legal issues this company/scam has faced but if you are looking to take the opportunity to further your education, there are many choices out there. Don't even bother with this place. You're better than that. Besides, it will probably just close down mid-way through your term!

    0 Votes
  • Gh
    ghjghjdfgdfgrtyrty Aug 22, 2009

    agreeeeeeeee

    0 Votes
  • Gh
    ghjghjdfgdfgrtyrty Aug 22, 2009

    i hate IADT tampa so much

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Liz C Aug 22, 2009

    just a little update :-)

    so.. Yep. still havent received my stipend check. its been close to three months now. higher one, which is the company in charge of the "academy card" sent it to the wrong address. oh wait, but they didnt actually send it at all. oh yeah, and although ive requested it four times now, it still hasnt been sent. does this make sense to anyone? didnt think so. thats what some guy told me. but yeah...still waiting.

    after i complained to the school and demanded a refund in a well written three page letter to the president, i received a response about three weeks later, which was supposed to be three days. in this response letter, they did not confront the issues that i brought up, but instead made up a bunch of lies and mixed up everything i said. they didnt address anything at all, yet said that i was not eligible for a refund due to the fact that i signed some stupid paper when i got "accepted." although, my admissions rep told me completely the opposite of what i was signing!! so heres a lesson for you, kids...READ THOROUGHLY EVERYTHING you sign! do NOT listen to the lies that come out of these peoples mouths! oh and im curious...has ANYONE ever gotten a refund from IADT? haha didnt think so.

    also, its kinda funny how you can only get loans through sallie mae. my school wasnt even accredited when i signed up...yet sallie mae went ahead and gave me a loan for a NON-ACCREDITED school! when i questioned them, they gave me a bunch of different answers that made absolutely no sense. in my opinion, im starting to think that higher one and sallie mae are also part of this IADT scam. i could be wrong, but after everything ive gone through it seems to be correct.

    i have talked to a lawyer about this case...but there doesnt seem to be anything that they can do. she said that the "comapny (iadt) is either in a protected form of bankruptcy" which would explain why they are closing schools left and right...or "they are reopened under a different name." therefore, suing them would cost alot money and time and out of it would come nothing because you cant file anything against them. so yeah, this completely screws up everything. im scammed by a school, along with hundreds of other students, and we cant even get our money back? i think its a pretty valid reason, but yeah whatever. just know, that this school is full of CRIMINALS. this was the worst experience of my life. i wasted six months up there when i could have been at another school...a real one. i spent ten grand up there, when i couldve saved it and moved down to LA for school. and now i have eight grand in loans to pay for and nothing to show for it!!! not to mention that i havent received my $400 stipend or the $300 rent deposit from the psycho room mate that they set me up with. alot of this could have been avoided if they wouldnt have lied to me and stole everything i have! this school makes me sick! erg!!!

    0 Votes
  • Er
    erica_dillon Sep 08, 2009

    I was a student at IADT Sacramento and halfway thru the semester was unable to continue.After MANY attempts to contact them for 3 weeks they finnally decided to return my call which convieniently happened to be after my first disembursement of my financial aid.I now owe them 1300 dollars.The staff is rude and doesnt care about you or your situation.It seems to me that all that they care about is your money and will do anything and go to any extent to get it from you.

    2 Votes
  • Ka
    Katrisse24 Oct 02, 2009

    Whew!! after reading these postings I will not be attending this school. I applied online and like most of you said within three minutes I had an acceptance letter in my inbox. The sucky part is they got my $50 bucks but its better than them getting me in debt and not having a solid degree to show for it. When the Admissions Rep calls me tomorrow I will tell her after doing futher research I will be choosing another school. Thanks so much for your postings!!

    3 Votes
  • Sc
    screwed by IADT Nov 11, 2009

    I say, instead of just complaining about IADT on a computer, that everyone should try to pool their resources and file a class action lawsuit against IADT. Back in the days when they were a diploma mill they used student money to defeat a class action lawsuit with their highpowered lawyers. However, the thing the lawyers used to defeat it was some concocted "proof" that it wasn't the students sueing them, but only one alderman. I don't know how they got away with that. Maybe it was because it was just the city government. Perhaps if we could somehow get enough people together to make this a national class action lawsuit, thereby getting the federal government involved, then no one but no one could pull a dirty trick like they did on that nameless alderman from years ago, I don't care how much money they have that was stolen from the students to get them out of the suit. Who knows, it might even make network news.
    Or, if that's not possible, then at least everyone who posted a complaint against IADT on this site and others should complain to their Congressman about it, and complain often. If we can get enough complaints together about this rip-off college, then it may prompt a Federal Investigation of the college and their dishonest practices. They have the ability to bribe local corrupt police, but maybe if the investigation was done on the federal level they wouldn't be able to get away with such a thing.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tallia Dec 15, 2009

    I've applied to IADT Orlando about a month and a half ago, paid $50 for application, my classes suppose to start in the middle of February. Now they are calling me almost every day and asking me to make an appointment and come over with my tax info to get FAFSA and apply for a loan. I'm telling them that I can't do it before I close to my new house, I still have 2 months ahead of me till the school begins. The representatives keep calling me EVERY DAY and won't leave me alone!
    After reading all these complaints I'm seriously considering that school, especially when their clerks are trying sooo hard to get me there... kind of scary...

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    SamTru Dec 19, 2009

    Tallia, I attend IADT and I understand that they can be very annoying with the phone calls and letters, but trust me, you should not put off your FAFSA and loans. Not only do they take a long time to complete, they take even longer to actually go through and be approved and all that. And there is always the possibility you will be denied for the loan and have to find a new one which will take even longer.

    I really think that these calls are probably in your best interest because the last thing you want is to start classes and be on financial aid hold. It is quite a hassle but something that needs to be done sooner rather than later.


    As for the school itself, I believe many students are equally to blame for problems the have, such as job placement. I have encountered many people with the mentality of "I don't have to go out and look for a job because the school will do it for me" and this is not the case. No one from IADT ever promised they would actually get me a job, just that they would help me look if I asked for it.

    I guess a lot of it comes down to location as well. I think it is unfair to judge all IADT schools by experience had at one. I attend IADT Chicago and there are a few students I know who transfered from other campuses around the country because they find the Chicago one to be better. I don't know how true that is but I have had very few issues, my teachers seem to know what they are doing and the financial aid people solved my problems this term rather quickly.

    1 Votes
  • WOW! Some of the people on here amaze me. Some people are always looking for someone else to blame. I guarantee some of these people just couldn't make the transition from high school to college. Every college has people that dropout or change their mind. I am sure there is a negative comment posted for EVERY online college. You have to consider the amount of students that attend! Not everyone is going to finish... for whatever reason. Think about all of the people that you know...Now...I am sure you can think of more than one person that started college and did not finish. Was it entirely the school's fault? Just think about it...people always look for an excuse for why they didn't get there degree. More often than not, you here that "that school sucked" or "it wasn't the right program for me." So my question to Jennifer & Shelby is... Where did you guys end up completing college? I am willing to bet that neither of them have finished! And I am sure that it is someone else's fault that they haven't...I graduated from IADT online last year and I have no complaints at all. I am currently working and putting my degree to use. School is what YOU make of it. Stop choosing to point the finger at everyone but yourself. If you want to attend IADT online, don't let someone else's opinion keep you from pursuing your DREAM. I am proof that IADT online does work. Do what YOU want to do, not what other peoplpe suggest.

    0 Votes
  • Notice the name of this site...it is called the COMPLAINTS BOARD! it is named the Good Review Board...so if come on here looking for positive info about a school or business, then you are probably not going to find it! I love it...just based on the name of this site, of course most of the opinions on here are going to be bad... What else would you expect with a name like Complaints Board?

    -1 Votes
  • Ne
    neutrel Apr 06, 2010

    I just want to know if I'll get any money back while attend fulltime online? Besides that my experience has been very positive and rewarding.

    1 Votes
  • 3y
    3yrs&42k-wasted Jul 19, 2010

    I went to IADT, spent $42k total for the Fashion Program (tuition, books, materials etc) and basically feel screwed over. It's NOT a recognized school, the teachers were a WASTE and the education was mediocre at best (and I say this after being in the industry 3 yrs after "graduating" and having to re-learn everything PROPERLY from professionals, and having to retrain fellow IADT grads as well.) PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE I AND 1000s OF OTHERS HAVE! GO TO A REAL SCHOOL (for Fashion, try: Sheridan College, Ryerson, Seneca College etc) AND GET A REAL EDUCATION FOR REAL (non-inflated) PRICES!!! YOU'LL THANK YOURSELF LATER!!!

    2 Votes
  • Ki
    Killamarc Jul 27, 2010

    I attended IADT online for a little over a year but had to dropout for a while because of a deployment. Other than the school's price, I learned a lot. I liked it and I always received help when I needed it. A lot of people complain about it but I thought it was good and the teachers knew what they were talking about. I do wish it was cheaper to attend but then again I always got everything I needed for the courses through the mail, such as programs, rulers, markers, drawing tablets etc. And a lot of that stuff is expensive on its own. I plan on going back and finishing my degree soon, its fast paced but thats how it is in the industry.

    -3 Votes
  • Si
    SimplyMe Sep 06, 2010

    I attend the Sacramento Campus and I was going for a BA in Fashion Marketing. I can only speak for this campus and it is VERY disorganized!!! There is only ONE teacher that is very talented and thats about it. I have been there for a little over a year and since the I switched to my AA because I just want to get out of there! Which many only students have done as well. Like I said I can only speak for this campus. My opinon is to do your research before attending a school that is very expensive like this one luck enough I got there before they raised the fee about 5, 000!!! Crazy I know. I will be done in a few months and I am just lucky to get out!!!

    0 Votes
  • Dw
    D-wayne Oct 29, 2010

    I think most of the people are just lazy and think going to school online is a eas way to make some good money. You are talking about how long it takes to fill out papers and phone calls, suck it up, thats collage and mommy's not here to hold your hand. I attend IADT online and am learning at a steady pace. You have to devote yourself to your studies and future goals. This is for grown ups and not for little kids as most of you'll are. Grow up

    -4 Votes
  • Re
    RealDude Dec 05, 2010

    Wow. All the complaints sound like they are from snot nosed kids who have no concept on what is expected of you in the real world. To the person who complained about a chat window that didn't connect for an hour - you are [censor]ed. You close the window and start again. If that fails...go talk to someone. As for everyone else...Job Placement doesn't mean they will find you a job. They can help. But have you not noticed the economy lately? Get your heads out of your brain holder and grow the heck up!

    -2 Votes
  • Ez
    ezal Jan 10, 2011

    Wow! after all these complains about IADT, now I am not sure where to go to study fashion merchandising. The people from AIDT in Fort Lauderdale continue calling me to convince me. They offer me beautiful things, I dont want to loose my money

    0 Votes
  • Dg
    dgrnenvy Feb 03, 2011

    I'm a student at IADT. I'm majoring in Web Design. There has been no problems with the university. Yes it does take $50 to begin school. The tution is a little high but I live in a college town where the tutition is just the same amount as I'm paying here. Its an art college it's going to be expensive. Your not going to find a cheap art school and if you do then your not getting what your education is worth. Also, unlike the people who posted disagreeing with the school I've actually spoken to local artists and famous artists who will all tell every one of the students the same thing. In the art world no one gives a damn about your degree all they care about is your portfolio!! So if your portfolio sucks people then that's probably why your not getting a job. If you think getting a job in the art world is based on some piece of paper then you clearly need to switch careers. If there really was a problem IADT would be closed down but clearly there are some people out there who have the degree that are doing just fine in their career paths in the degree plans they pursued.

    0 Votes
  • Dg
    dgrnenvy Feb 03, 2011

    OMG!!! I swear I'm amazed at how ignorant half the people on here are. IADT is a great school! People are complaining about tutition being too high? I was born in a college town (Texas State University) and now living in another college town sort of speak (University of Texas - Austin for the ignorant impaired). They pay the same amount of money to their schools as students attending IADT and guess what? THEIR BOOKS AND SOFTWARE IS NOT INCLUDED!! So imagine for one second what it would be like if you guys had to pay our tuition that DID NOT include the books and software? *Gasps* Its an art school for crying out loud. It's going to be expensive and if going to an art college wasn't expensive then you know its a scam. Sorry people you gotta pay for what you love!! As for the not being able to find a degree part? Your all idiots if your convinced that a degree is actually going to help you in the art world. I've spoken to many people who are Web Designers, which is my degree by the way, and they say that they weren't hired because of their degree. In fact NO ONE in the art world gives a damn about your degree. What matters is your portfolio!! If you don't have a good portfolio then its clearly obvious why none of you have a good job. So if everyone out there thinks that your degree is really going to help you land a job in the art world well then clearly you weren't listening to the professors at IADT they clearly state that your porfolio always lands you the job not your degree on top of that you definitely need to change your career if thats what you think.

    0 Votes
  • Dg
    dgrnenvy Feb 03, 2011

    Oh and one more thing... for 3yrs&42k-wasted!! Since people like this one are too ignorant to realize simple things lemme point them out. 1. Fashion Design is a high dollar fast pace cut throat business you clearly aren't right for this career since all you can do is complain. 2. People choose online schools because 9 times out of time they are either parents or they have full time jobs so those inflated prices HELP!! The ecomony sucks there is NO jobs for anyone dipsticks! Your all lazy you just think that IADT is going to find the jobs for you but sorry they don't promise you jobs they just say they'll assist its not their fault your too lazy to get off your butts and go look for them.

    -1 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr.Picky Mar 03, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I guess that grammar, punctuation, and spelling aren't part of the curriculum anymore.
    Some help:
    they're - means "they are"
    there - indicative of a place, as in "over there"
    you're - means "you are"
    your - possessive, as in "your cellphone is ringing"
    too - means "as well as"
    to - does not
    two - as in "one two three"
    its - possessive form of "it", as in "The rabbit likes its carrots"
    it's - means "it is"
    You're college students, for crying out loud. Some of you are even college graduates. Sorry for being picky, but writing with the skills of a high school love note detracts from your credibility when discussing your the quality of an educational facility.

    -1 Votes
  • Se
    Setsunna Mar 22, 2011

    I am a graduate of 2004 and I regret ever stepping foot in that school. I was fooled into thinking that they select students instead of just accepting anyone with the ability to sign a loan application. I went for the web design program - which is NO LONGER offered. I am upset that my degree has NO VALUE, and when I say IADT, no one knows what I am talking about. I am STILL paying a 28K loan, and all I have to show for it is some drawing books and some projects that I did. I won't even begin on the internship that I got after graduaion - that my sister found for me. Career services helped out with jobs though - if you consider playing the easter bunny at the mall a job -F'ing JOKE. This school advertises on TV during daytime - hoping to catch all the unemployed people who have no idea what they want to do. Here are 3 good reasons not to go: 1-the school is NOT ACREDITED - do your research. 2 - ITS TOO EXPENSIVE 3 Employment is NOT GUARANTEED, OR ENCOURAGED. You are given a standard education and then let loose without a CLUE how to get a job in your field. I am a regular type of person who joined this school right out of high school with no debt. Since then, I've been forced to get dead end jobs to pay 2 loans with ridiculous interest rates. Eventually, I joined the air force to get a degree that means something and will guarantee a job that pays more than 7/hr when I do my time and get out. BIOLOGY - not FASHION, or GAME DESIGN - seriously, where do you BEGIN to find a job in these fields?! Certainly not with a degree thats not even recognized! Please please! I urge you not to even look at this school! If you do, just ask your sales rep, I mean admission rep if the school is acredited and what school can your credits transfer to, etc. If they can't answer that, then leave. And if they can, RUN.

    I was a member of a Facebook page called IADT Orlando, where I attended school there in 02-04. It is a page full of photos and happy stories of upcoming events and fashion shows for the school. Well just yesterday, there was an interesting wall post concerning IADT laying off a group of employees. When students/group members started asking questions, the IADT representive responded by telling everyone that venting on facebook was pointless and that none of their concerns would matter. I followed this long thread of back and forth-ness until the WALL feature on the facebook page was disabled. Now there is no way to express yourself or view evidence of IADT's carelessness towards its students/alumni. Just an example of how this school operates.

    I am a member of TRUTH ADVOCATE IADT on Facebook and it is a group for members to share their stories how they have been scammed through IADT and other For-profit colleges.

    Rule of thumb, DON'T go to a school that is advertised like they are selling cars (i.e. daytime tv ads, big ads in the paper). Do your research, do your reseaerch. Look if you can transfer credits. And before you do ANYTHING, look at what you want to do - is there a need for it? Are there any jobs in your area? Simply GOOGLE jobs and see what requirements they ask for. Are they paying you good enough? All that should be in the job description. Google the OCCUPATIONAL HANDBOOK OUTLOOK 2011 EDITION. It has EVERYTHING about EVERYJOB - from pay, job requirement, eduation, to hours, to work conditions to job growth.

    NOW you are armed to go and find a school that will meet YOUR needs and put you on a path that will not waste your TIME or MONEY. You'll be glad you did.

    If you've reached the end of this email, I hope I have helped you in your decision to choose another school! I value my education and I value yours! I hope to educate everyone I can on this scam because as a victim, I am now an advocate!

    2 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr.Picky Mar 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Setsunna,
    I am currently a student at IADT online, enrolled in the Web Design and Development program. Maybe you were referring to a specific campus not offering the program anymore, but I assure you, the university still is. As for transferring credits, 48 of my previous credits have transferred.

    Most of the complaints about IADT that I've noticed have concerned the Game Design and Fashion programs, which seem to me like two specialized and highly competitive fields to pursue. I can only assume that those jobs are scarce enough, and that those with the more distinguished credentials are considered over IADT graduates. Even still, it seems competition is fierce among them.

    As far as careers in web design, all the employers that I've spoken with are more concerned with portfolios than credentials. "It is the wizard, not the wand."

    All that being said, I'll be careful and keep my eyes peeled for scandal. So far, I see none.

    -1 Votes
  • Wh
    what is going on here Apr 20, 2011

    I was a student at IADT Tampa online for the web development program. After learning -through attending- that this school is not the right one for me I dis-enrolled. I moved to a different town and started taking the same classes at a community college here and have been receiving a far greater education than I had been getting online through IADT.
    I recently received a letter from the VA letting me know that they had overpaid the college (IADT) in the sum of $2468.00 and that it is my responsibility to let the college (IADT) know so the money can be returned to them. I called IADT immediately, it seems that the financial aid office received the same letter assuring me that the money is going to be sent out to the VA today. The problem here is that the same amount of money ($2468.00) is going to be put on my account at that college as still owed! what...
    I did not know that this college, or university as they call themselves, cost that much money per month! What an outrageous amount for the education being received. Another problem is that for the time and effort I had put into this place, none of the credits are transferable, none! 70 credits 4.0 GPA, nothing to show for it but a large amount of debt and shame for even thinking that the idea to go there was a good one.
    I guess one thing I learned from this place was that you should not believe everything you hear to be a truth or fact. I did some research on the place but I just didn't do enough. After reading some of the posts here it seems like many other people are in the same situation. At first getting hounded by phone calls and message alerts forcing you into an uncomfortable situation without time to think, well y'know I could have just hung up the phone huh then I wouldn't be in this situation and all would be as it was.
    All I can say is do your own thinking and research, don't let phone messengers covert you into any decision without a little time to meditate on the issue.
    National Accreditation means ### to all other schools (actual schools) which are Regionally Accredited.!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim R. Apr 27, 2011

    Haha this is funny. It also the biggest load of CRAP I have ever heard. I read this forum before I enrolled and now that I'm revisiting it after I've attended iadt online since septembeer let me say that it a GREAT school and I'm thankful none of you with negative complaints have attended. You would be mucking up the student pool with your talentless work. I'm learning more at iadt than I ever expected to school and I know it's good because I've been in the workforce already and low what the industry requires. So thank you all. I'm getting a quality education and you are sitting on your butt at your crappy job in outbound sales... Or mcdonalds.

    Tim

    -2 Votes

Post your comment