Iadt OnlinePossible fraud!

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I thought about going back to school, and was pretty excited about attending International Academy of Design and Technology. I applied online, and soon enough, I had a phone call. After exchanging my goals and past education, I was going to be 'reviewed' as to whether or not I was going to be accepted to the school. A day or two later, I got a confirmation call that I had in fact been accepted. So, I filled out my FAFSA and other information, and noticed soon after that I was owing about $637 every MONTH. Now, I was certain that it had been covered under FAFSA or student loans. That brings me to my current situation. I've tried contacting numerous people from Financial Aid, my Academic Advisor (who e-mailed my information to Financial Aid and gave me a phone number.) and the Registrars Office. These have been e-mails, phone calls, and even chats you can access on the website. Not a single person has yet to contact me after many phone calls.

To go a little more in depth, to show you how much they 'care', I started up a chat session with The Financial Aid team. I typed in my situation, hit enter and a "Please wait until a representative joins the chat." Waited, nothing. Waiting some more. Nothing. After about an hour of watching, "A representative has closed this chat session."

All they want is your money. They don't care otherwise. Do not go to this college!

More Iadt Online Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ch
    chelbee Sep 08, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My son went to IADT - Sacramento and enrolled in the BIM program. 3 months before he was to finish his degree, the program was closed. I contacted the Borrower Defense and found out that this school does not qualify for loan discharge since not enough complaints have been reported. After reviewing his subsidized and unsubsidized loan from Nelnet and what was on my son's account activity, the amounts did not match. The student loan (Dept of Education) had a larger amount then what my son actually received. My son has no degree, no job and his repayment on his loan is due. If there is anyone who went to this school, check your loan. If you received fraud contact Borrow Defense at [protected] and make a complaint. The more complaints they have they will start an investigation.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brdz Jan 10, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @chelbee How can we contact them?

    0 Votes
  • Gm
    G-ma2u Jul 22, 2016

    I know I was robbed. I have since enrolled in a new school and my financial aid works for me. At IADT all of my money went to them, no matter how much the loan was. I never received a dime of my money. They hogged every penny. I will look into suing their fraudulent, greedy behinds as well. I do have that worthless diploma, and none of the work I did there was accredited. My school now would not accept any credits from them. I asked the entrance program in the beginning if they were accredited; she lied.

    0 Votes
  • Jc
    jclifford Jun 10, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Attention: If you know Anyone who went to one of these listed schools with worthless credits and degrees please read.
    *IADT - International Academy of Design
    * AIU - American InterContinental University
    * Sanford Brown
    * Le Cordon Bleu
    * Briarcliff
    * CTU - Colorado Technical University
    We are filing a class action lawsuit with Morgan & Morgan. If you would like to join the suit Go to http://www.forthepeople.com/ and fill out information under contact to join. Put IADT in the header. Tell all former students you know. :)

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Gin050 Feb 17, 2018

    @jclifford I tried and nothing came up. Has it been dropped?

    0 Votes
  • Jw
    JWill88 Apr 06, 2016

    The research shows that IADT's CEO was embezzling money. He was living in New York at the time. That is why the school closed. The financial aid department is a joke. If you can not afford it, do not attend. With the amount of money you are paying you would think they would have you a job lined up after graduation. Wrong. It's high priced for no reason. They get you private loans so you can get more money to pay them and then don't want to give you anything to live off of. The housing department is a joke as well. You pay to stay in a normal apartment with run down furniture and 3 other people. For the price you pay you can stay alone. I'm not sorry, it was the worst mistake of my life. I now owe $73, 000 for 1 year at IADT. You tell me what's the problem with this picture? I wouldn't have minded paying that price if I was guaranteed a job. If I had know that, I would have went to regular community college. There are no perks for attending this school over a University or community college with design program. I had funny feeling about this school after reviewing the documents myself. Originally, my mother set this up and went over the paperwork. I was 18 years old and new to the college world. This has haunted me for 10 years now and will continue until I die. I can't afford to repay this. Good luck to the rest pf you. May God be with you in this situation.

    0 Votes
  • Va
    Vanessa Winfield Mar 22, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am former student, I went 58, 000 dollars in debt to this school. I could not afford to pay more to graduate. So they did kick me to the curve. I agree with all the people who have said that all they want is your status as a human for numbers and your money. They don't care, and if there is a class action against them, I plan on signing up against them. I'm truly not happy with them. I learned my work at my own teaching and practice, the teachers need to be more trained to teachhave rather than a social. [email protected] Of Tampa Florida.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    AleeenaM Sep 01, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been a graduate of IDT Schaumburg since 2013 with my BA in Merchandising Management. With $80, 000 debt and no after college career advisory I have been stuck for 2 and 1/2 years working multiple part time positions just to pay off my bills. I have deferred my payments until I no longer can, and finally qualified for low income based repayments. I have slowly started teaching myself some career search techniques that I have learned online but I'm starting to freak out. I am a 26 year old college grad living at home with my mom and at this rate with no proper career training, maybe not even a real degree, and $80, 000 in debt I probably will live at home forever.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    moonbelly Jan 22, 2015

    Looking to file class action because the school defrauded students and I have proof! Not only did I graduate with honors our BIM (Building Information Modeling) class was not even announced on stage at graduation! They grouped us together with the Interior Design graduates which we were not! I will be seeking a lawyer to file class action in near future. I believe the proof I have will stand up in a court of law.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    AleenaM Jan 19, 2015

    I graduated IADT Schaumburg Illinois In spring of 2013. My last semester our school dean I believe came into our classroom to address the fact that they were reapplying for accreditation, and not to worry because he believed that we will receive it. WTF was that? I immediately tried transforming to the Art institute where they told me most of my credits wouldn't transfer over and if I were to join them I would loose a year and a half of class making me a softmore. After about 2 weeks of freaking out we got news from IADT that all was great and we were now accredit.

    Its been a year and a half since I graduated with a "BA in Merchandising Management" and my career service lady is no where to be found. When I was still in school she was sending me BS retail jobs that I could get on my own w.o a bachelor degree. I told her I was looking for something different so she just stopped emailing me! Now I'm $80, 000 in debt from this BS school working part time at a modeling agency that I found on craigslist ( making $500 every 2 weeks at the age of 25). I have deferred my loans as much as I could and am freaking out because I have nooo idea how I'm going to repay them. With the break down I owe $730 a month to pay off my loans. Meaning I will have to live with my mom for the rest of my life with my current income just to pay off these loans.

    The cherry on top of this story is when I went back on to the IADT site which is Stanford Brow now, all of the IADT alumni phone numbers and emails are disconnected!!! How am I supposed to find a job when I keep calling and emailing non existent numbers and emails??? This is ridiculous. I'm currently trying to file a lawsuit against this joke of a school so if anyone can help me out before they come and repo my car and all my other assets that would be great. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bruce Teitelbaum Dec 20, 2014

    Do not apply to this school. I am a former teacher from ITT Technical Institute in Lake Mary. I have first hand experience working with Melinda Matheus. She is not to be trusted. When the director of your school tells you that we are all about profit and stresses that, there is a problem. In her short time with ITT Tech, she was investigated for sexual misconduct with an instructor. If you look at her LinkedIn profile she cannot keep a job longer than three years. Is this the type of Director/President you would want to attend a school a?. I mention this because she is the one setting policies at the school. Her judgment is everything when it comes to hiring, grading policies, etc. Move on and do not consider this school.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    Feldman, Fox & Morgado PA Apr 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    At Feldman, Fox & Morgado, we are investigating several for-profit colleges, universities, academies and their parent companies for fraud, misrepresentation and violation of Unfair Trade Practices Acts. Visit our new site and even if you do not see your school listed, we may already be conducting an investigation and want to hear your story. We look forward to discussing your case soon.
    EducationFraudLawsuit.com

    0 Votes
  • Kn
    Knowzit Mar 20, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As a former TEACHER at an IADT, I can heartily assure you that these schools are interested in nothing but parting unsuspecting students from their money. The teacher pay is rock bottom, though many of the teachers I knew there did, in fact, want to teach well. However, it's hard to attract and keep good teachers when the institution makes it so obvious that good education is their very last concern.

    Beware of "colleges for profit." They are not real colleges. Degrees from IADT mean squat. Any employer will choose a graduate from a real university over a graduate from a fake college. And as many have pointed out, anyone with a high school diploma (even with a d-minus average and a criminal record) is instantly accepted. Being "accepted" at IADT means nothing. Graduating from there means even less...It basically means you have been fooled and ripped off by a big corporation.

    My advice? Go to a community college. The tuition will be a fraction of what you will pay at these For Profit schools, and the education will be real.

    2 Votes
  • Ch
    Christina.Alf Dec 19, 2011

    Please, please, please do not attend this school. I feel bad for anyone they sucker into their online program. I just completed my final class and I am now a proud owner (NOT!) of an AS in Web Design. I rarely regret anything, but I regret attending this school. Please save your time and money and go to a real school.

    1 Votes
  • Di
    Dissatisfied Ex-Student Oct 12, 2011

    I had similar experience as the original complaint. They deserve a big fat F in communications. I am a disabled student, went back to school with some state assistance and chose IADT Online through Tampa, Florida, for its flexible hours online. The application, review, and admission process was straightforward and easy. The first two years went fine. Then suddenly, in the third year that I would have been graduating with a bachelor's degree in Web Development, everything went downhill. The invoices billing my state assistance for payments, did not go through, nobody followed up or communicated to me that my state assistance did not get the invoices. Four months later, I found myself kicked out of the school due to an outstanding account. My portion was paid but not the state assistance's portion. I tried so many times to call and contact someone at the accounting, was reduced to having to deal with them via e-mails. There were numerous requests to have copies of the invoices forwarded to myself and the state assistance caseworker helping me. We had to do this five times and it took six months. Then after invoices were verified, payments went to IADT Online's accounting department, but they said some of the payments never arrived. Another 4 months wasted tracking down those checks and canceling them and re-issuing new ones and trying to get a hold of them to verify they received the payments. Then there was the last remainder that I had to pay except there was no way of paying it anywhere. They had cut off my online access, there was no paper billing, nothing. They just sent my account over to a collections agency. The collections agency is actually easier to contact and actually talk with someone than anyone at IADT Online's account/financial offices. You could NEVER get a hold of anyone at their offices. Granted, the teachers and courses were great, it was the accounting/financial department that was a complete failure. Nobody is there, it's run by a bunch of squirrels running in their wheels. There's always a different person trying to contact you and you try to call back and it's a different person, because that original person who contacted you the day before, is gone! Before this mess, I was a Dean's Student. Top grades, excellent coursework. Just had problems with their accounting/financial department.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    PeaceOUTIADT Sep 05, 2011

    This school is ###. I am not saying so bc of the tuition. Bc i do think technology comes at a high price. I am saying this school is ### bc the teachers are spread thin, they dont teach you how do do the things you need to know, they dont care about their students, the faculty is crap.. There are a few teachers who do their job. and for them i am greatful. I was so stoked about this school when i first started. and one slip bc of personal reason i was put on they they dont matter list. There are a lot of students on that list. I know when i say that this school is crap i can say other people feel this way. i am currently an IADT student who is proud to say im ready to move on and pay for a school that is going to help me and teach me what i will need to learn to suceed in web design. So Peace out IADT... and i hope you dont take down any students when you fall to pieces... FULL SAIL HERE I COME

    3 Votes
  • Ce
    CECO Advocate Sep 02, 2011

    IADT is a Scam School -- (Read Review Below This)
    IADT is a private for-profit school run by a corporation (CEC - Career Education Corporation)
    They have shareholders. Profit over education, in addition to the numerous lawsuits against the schools and the corporation are hard evidence of corruption.

    STAY AWAY FROM IADT!
    Google Search "Students sue IADT" or "IADT Scam" and see what comes up - absolutely rediculous they can get away with this -- wrecking peoples lives and driving them into debt.

    1 Votes
  • Ce
    CECO Advocate Sep 02, 2011

    FEDERAL INVESTIGATION
    CEC - Career Education Corpoartion the company which owns IADT along with numerous private for-profit colleges is under Federal investigation. Students will suffer. Watch the Youtube video below.

    These are schools owned by CEC:
    IADT - International Academy of Design and Technology
    AIU - American InterContinental University
    Brown College
    CTU - Colorado Technical University - CTU Online
    Brooks Institute
    Le Cordon Bleu
    CCA - California Culinary Academy
    Sanford-Brown College - Sanford-Brown Institute
    Briarcliffe College - Briarcliffe Online
    Missouri College
    Collins College

    Visit my Youtube group and watch the 1min video -- it explains everything.
    http://www.youtube.com/user/CECOAdvocate

    Comments

    2 Votes
  • Ce
    CECO Advocate Aug 31, 2011

    IADT Truth:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wel2J-RviWQ

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Graphic Design Students Jun 20, 2011

    What a lot of the kids on this site failed to research before going to this school is that it is a FOR PROFIT school. State schools are less expensive. I couldn't find a local school that offered Graphic Design Bachelors that was 1) available in my city - Denver, CO and 2) available that would work in my schedule. So I chose online and I knew it would be pricey because it wasn't a state school. Private for profit and not for profit schools are always more expensive than state or community colleges.
    Oh and you want to talk expensive? I went to the Art Instittue Online (AIO) and realized that I would be paying an extra $20, 000 more to finish the Graphic Design BFA program if I stayed there, so I transferred to IADT Online. It's not perfect. My Student Advisor is an idiot, for example. But, I have been impressed with the school. The interactive experience that is offered is great. The projects for class assignments are challenging and interesting. I have a Bachelor's degree from 20 years ago that I earned at a traditional school. That was a better experience, but the online learning experience is great for flexibilty of schedules. The staff at the school is very accessible and professional. I never heard from a dean of my department when I was at AIO--but here I know who his name is and have interacted with him. I have earned scholarships that were never available to me at AIO. AIO was the first Graphic Design online programs and since 2009, new programs have been developed. Kids need to check their facts, stop whining and be glad they have the opportunity to get a higher education. Not everyone gets this opportunity and NO PLACE IS PERFECT! YOu need to take ownership of your education and not blame it on others.

    0 Votes
  • Mt
    MTB Prod Jun 01, 2011

    I enrolled in IADT lst year, While there I had no bad experiences, but I let another school Ashford University convince me that they could give me a better and cheaper education, to make a long story short, that school was a fraud. When I pulled out I did get a refund for the classes that I didn't take and the promised left over money from my grant $754. the other funds were sent back to the lender which allowed me to get into a different school, Biggest mistake that I ever made, Whereas IADT supplied me with all my books, headset and any other materials that I needed to make my experience in the classroom easier. The interactions with the students and the teachers online was very positive. So guess what I pulled out comlained to the Federal goverment about the other school, and reenrolled in IADT, The process was quick easy and simple, is not that what we are looking for? I appreciate all of the positive comments, as I agree with what you are saying. especially Mr Picky and Egrnenvy.

    -1 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim R. Apr 27, 2011

    Haha this is funny. It also the biggest load of CRAP I have ever heard. I read this forum before I enrolled and now that I'm revisiting it after I've attended iadt online since septembeer let me say that it a GREAT school and I'm thankful none of you with negative complaints have attended. You would be mucking up the student pool with your talentless work. I'm learning more at iadt than I ever expected to school and I know it's good because I've been in the workforce already and low what the industry requires. So thank you all. I'm getting a quality education and you are sitting on your butt at your crappy job in outbound sales... Or mcdonalds.

    Tim

    -2 Votes
  • Wh
    what is going on here Apr 20, 2011

    I was a student at IADT Tampa online for the web development program. After learning -through attending- that this school is not the right one for me I dis-enrolled. I moved to a different town and started taking the same classes at a community college here and have been receiving a far greater education than I had been getting online through IADT.
    I recently received a letter from the VA letting me know that they had overpaid the college (IADT) in the sum of $2468.00 and that it is my responsibility to let the college (IADT) know so the money can be returned to them. I called IADT immediately, it seems that the financial aid office received the same letter assuring me that the money is going to be sent out to the VA today. The problem here is that the same amount of money ($2468.00) is going to be put on my account at that college as still owed! what...
    I did not know that this college, or university as they call themselves, cost that much money per month! What an outrageous amount for the education being received. Another problem is that for the time and effort I had put into this place, none of the credits are transferable, none! 70 credits 4.0 GPA, nothing to show for it but a large amount of debt and shame for even thinking that the idea to go there was a good one.
    I guess one thing I learned from this place was that you should not believe everything you hear to be a truth or fact. I did some research on the place but I just didn't do enough. After reading some of the posts here it seems like many other people are in the same situation. At first getting hounded by phone calls and message alerts forcing you into an uncomfortable situation without time to think, well y'know I could have just hung up the phone huh then I wouldn't be in this situation and all would be as it was.
    All I can say is do your own thinking and research, don't let phone messengers covert you into any decision without a little time to meditate on the issue.
    National Accreditation means ### to all other schools (actual schools) which are Regionally Accredited.!!!

    1 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr.Picky Mar 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Setsunna,
    I am currently a student at IADT online, enrolled in the Web Design and Development program. Maybe you were referring to a specific campus not offering the program anymore, but I assure you, the university still is. As for transferring credits, 48 of my previous credits have transferred.

    Most of the complaints about IADT that I've noticed have concerned the Game Design and Fashion programs, which seem to me like two specialized and highly competitive fields to pursue. I can only assume that those jobs are scarce enough, and that those with the more distinguished credentials are considered over IADT graduates. Even still, it seems competition is fierce among them.

    As far as careers in web design, all the employers that I've spoken with are more concerned with portfolios than credentials. "It is the wizard, not the wand."

    All that being said, I'll be careful and keep my eyes peeled for scandal. So far, I see none.

    -1 Votes
  • Se
    Setsunna Mar 22, 2011

    I am a graduate of 2004 and I regret ever stepping foot in that school. I was fooled into thinking that they select students instead of just accepting anyone with the ability to sign a loan application. I went for the web design program - which is NO LONGER offered. I am upset that my degree has NO VALUE, and when I say IADT, no one knows what I am talking about. I am STILL paying a 28K loan, and all I have to show for it is some drawing books and some projects that I did. I won't even begin on the internship that I got after graduaion - that my sister found for me. Career services helped out with jobs though - if you consider playing the easter bunny at the mall a job -F'ing JOKE. This school advertises on TV during daytime - hoping to catch all the unemployed people who have no idea what they want to do. Here are 3 good reasons not to go: 1-the school is NOT ACREDITED - do your research. 2 - ITS TOO EXPENSIVE 3 Employment is NOT GUARANTEED, OR ENCOURAGED. You are given a standard education and then let loose without a CLUE how to get a job in your field. I am a regular type of person who joined this school right out of high school with no debt. Since then, I've been forced to get dead end jobs to pay 2 loans with ridiculous interest rates. Eventually, I joined the air force to get a degree that means something and will guarantee a job that pays more than 7/hr when I do my time and get out. BIOLOGY - not FASHION, or GAME DESIGN - seriously, where do you BEGIN to find a job in these fields?! Certainly not with a degree thats not even recognized! Please please! I urge you not to even look at this school! If you do, just ask your sales rep, I mean admission rep if the school is acredited and what school can your credits transfer to, etc. If they can't answer that, then leave. And if they can, RUN.

    I was a member of a Facebook page called IADT Orlando, where I attended school there in 02-04. It is a page full of photos and happy stories of upcoming events and fashion shows for the school. Well just yesterday, there was an interesting wall post concerning IADT laying off a group of employees. When students/group members started asking questions, the IADT representive responded by telling everyone that venting on facebook was pointless and that none of their concerns would matter. I followed this long thread of back and forth-ness until the WALL feature on the facebook page was disabled. Now there is no way to express yourself or view evidence of IADT's carelessness towards its students/alumni. Just an example of how this school operates.

    I am a member of TRUTH ADVOCATE IADT on Facebook and it is a group for members to share their stories how they have been scammed through IADT and other For-profit colleges.

    Rule of thumb, DON'T go to a school that is advertised like they are selling cars (i.e. daytime tv ads, big ads in the paper). Do your research, do your reseaerch. Look if you can transfer credits. And before you do ANYTHING, look at what you want to do - is there a need for it? Are there any jobs in your area? Simply GOOGLE jobs and see what requirements they ask for. Are they paying you good enough? All that should be in the job description. Google the OCCUPATIONAL HANDBOOK OUTLOOK 2011 EDITION. It has EVERYTHING about EVERYJOB - from pay, job requirement, eduation, to hours, to work conditions to job growth.

    NOW you are armed to go and find a school that will meet YOUR needs and put you on a path that will not waste your TIME or MONEY. You'll be glad you did.

    If you've reached the end of this email, I hope I have helped you in your decision to choose another school! I value my education and I value yours! I hope to educate everyone I can on this scam because as a victim, I am now an advocate!

    2 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr.Picky Mar 03, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I guess that grammar, punctuation, and spelling aren't part of the curriculum anymore.
    Some help:
    they're - means "they are"
    there - indicative of a place, as in "over there"
    you're - means "you are"
    your - possessive, as in "your cellphone is ringing"
    too - means "as well as"
    to - does not
    two - as in "one two three"
    its - possessive form of "it", as in "The rabbit likes its carrots"
    it's - means "it is"
    You're college students, for crying out loud. Some of you are even college graduates. Sorry for being picky, but writing with the skills of a high school love note detracts from your credibility when discussing your the quality of an educational facility.

    -1 Votes
  • Dg
    dgrnenvy Feb 03, 2011

    Oh and one more thing... for 3yrs&42k-wasted!! Since people like this one are too ignorant to realize simple things lemme point them out. 1. Fashion Design is a high dollar fast pace cut throat business you clearly aren't right for this career since all you can do is complain. 2. People choose online schools because 9 times out of time they are either parents or they have full time jobs so those inflated prices HELP!! The ecomony sucks there is NO jobs for anyone dipsticks! Your all lazy you just think that IADT is going to find the jobs for you but sorry they don't promise you jobs they just say they'll assist its not their fault your too lazy to get off your butts and go look for them.

    -1 Votes
  • Dg
    dgrnenvy Feb 03, 2011

    OMG!!! I swear I'm amazed at how ignorant half the people on here are. IADT is a great school! People are complaining about tutition being too high? I was born in a college town (Texas State University) and now living in another college town sort of speak (University of Texas - Austin for the ignorant impaired). They pay the same amount of money to their schools as students attending IADT and guess what? THEIR BOOKS AND SOFTWARE IS NOT INCLUDED!! So imagine for one second what it would be like if you guys had to pay our tuition that DID NOT include the books and software? *Gasps* Its an art school for crying out loud. It's going to be expensive and if going to an art college wasn't expensive then you know its a scam. Sorry people you gotta pay for what you love!! As for the not being able to find a degree part? Your all idiots if your convinced that a degree is actually going to help you in the art world. I've spoken to many people who are Web Designers, which is my degree by the way, and they say that they weren't hired because of their degree. In fact NO ONE in the art world gives a damn about your degree. What matters is your portfolio!! If you don't have a good portfolio then its clearly obvious why none of you have a good job. So if everyone out there thinks that your degree is really going to help you land a job in the art world well then clearly you weren't listening to the professors at IADT they clearly state that your porfolio always lands you the job not your degree on top of that you definitely need to change your career if thats what you think.

    0 Votes
  • Dg
    dgrnenvy Feb 03, 2011

    I'm a student at IADT. I'm majoring in Web Design. There has been no problems with the university. Yes it does take $50 to begin school. The tution is a little high but I live in a college town where the tutition is just the same amount as I'm paying here. Its an art college it's going to be expensive. Your not going to find a cheap art school and if you do then your not getting what your education is worth. Also, unlike the people who posted disagreeing with the school I've actually spoken to local artists and famous artists who will all tell every one of the students the same thing. In the art world no one gives a damn about your degree all they care about is your portfolio!! So if your portfolio sucks people then that's probably why your not getting a job. If you think getting a job in the art world is based on some piece of paper then you clearly need to switch careers. If there really was a problem IADT would be closed down but clearly there are some people out there who have the degree that are doing just fine in their career paths in the degree plans they pursued.

    0 Votes
  • Ez
    ezal Jan 10, 2011

    Wow! after all these complains about IADT, now I am not sure where to go to study fashion merchandising. The people from AIDT in Fort Lauderdale continue calling me to convince me. They offer me beautiful things, I dont want to loose my money

    0 Votes
  • Re
    RealDude Dec 05, 2010

    Wow. All the complaints sound like they are from snot nosed kids who have no concept on what is expected of you in the real world. To the person who complained about a chat window that didn't connect for an hour - you are [censor]ed. You close the window and start again. If that fails...go talk to someone. As for everyone else...Job Placement doesn't mean they will find you a job. They can help. But have you not noticed the economy lately? Get your heads out of your brain holder and grow the heck up!

    -2 Votes
  • Dw
    D-wayne Oct 29, 2010

    I think most of the people are just lazy and think going to school online is a eas way to make some good money. You are talking about how long it takes to fill out papers and phone calls, suck it up, thats collage and mommy's not here to hold your hand. I attend IADT online and am learning at a steady pace. You have to devote yourself to your studies and future goals. This is for grown ups and not for little kids as most of you'll are. Grow up

    -4 Votes
  • Si
    SimplyMe Sep 06, 2010

    I attend the Sacramento Campus and I was going for a BA in Fashion Marketing. I can only speak for this campus and it is VERY disorganized!!! There is only ONE teacher that is very talented and thats about it. I have been there for a little over a year and since the I switched to my AA because I just want to get out of there! Which many only students have done as well. Like I said I can only speak for this campus. My opinon is to do your research before attending a school that is very expensive like this one luck enough I got there before they raised the fee about 5, 000!!! Crazy I know. I will be done in a few months and I am just lucky to get out!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Killamarc Jul 27, 2010

    I attended IADT online for a little over a year but had to dropout for a while because of a deployment. Other than the school's price, I learned a lot. I liked it and I always received help when I needed it. A lot of people complain about it but I thought it was good and the teachers knew what they were talking about. I do wish it was cheaper to attend but then again I always got everything I needed for the courses through the mail, such as programs, rulers, markers, drawing tablets etc. And a lot of that stuff is expensive on its own. I plan on going back and finishing my degree soon, its fast paced but thats how it is in the industry.

    -3 Votes
  • 3y
    3yrs&42k-wasted Jul 19, 2010

    I went to IADT, spent $42k total for the Fashion Program (tuition, books, materials etc) and basically feel screwed over. It's NOT a recognized school, the teachers were a WASTE and the education was mediocre at best (and I say this after being in the industry 3 yrs after "graduating" and having to re-learn everything PROPERLY from professionals, and having to retrain fellow IADT grads as well.) PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE I AND 1000s OF OTHERS HAVE! GO TO A REAL SCHOOL (for Fashion, try: Sheridan College, Ryerson, Seneca College etc) AND GET A REAL EDUCATION FOR REAL (non-inflated) PRICES!!! YOU'LL THANK YOURSELF LATER!!!

    2 Votes
  • Ne
    neutrel Apr 06, 2010

    I just want to know if I'll get any money back while attend fulltime online? Besides that my experience has been very positive and rewarding.

    1 Votes
  • Notice the name of this site...it is called the COMPLAINTS BOARD! it is named the Good Review Board...so if come on here looking for positive info about a school or business, then you are probably not going to find it! I love it...just based on the name of this site, of course most of the opinions on here are going to be bad... What else would you expect with a name like Complaints Board?

    -1 Votes
  • WOW! Some of the people on here amaze me. Some people are always looking for someone else to blame. I guarantee some of these people just couldn't make the transition from high school to college. Every college has people that dropout or change their mind. I am sure there is a negative comment posted for EVERY online college. You have to consider the amount of students that attend! Not everyone is going to finish... for whatever reason. Think about all of the people that you know...Now...I am sure you can think of more than one person that started college and did not finish. Was it entirely the school's fault? Just think about it...people always look for an excuse for why they didn't get there degree. More often than not, you here that "that school sucked" or "it wasn't the right program for me." So my question to Jennifer & Shelby is... Where did you guys end up completing college? I am willing to bet that neither of them have finished! And I am sure that it is someone else's fault that they haven't...I graduated from IADT online last year and I have no complaints at all. I am currently working and putting my degree to use. School is what YOU make of it. Stop choosing to point the finger at everyone but yourself. If you want to attend IADT online, don't let someone else's opinion keep you from pursuing your DREAM. I am proof that IADT online does work. Do what YOU want to do, not what other peoplpe suggest.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SamTru Dec 19, 2009

    Tallia, I attend IADT and I understand that they can be very annoying with the phone calls and letters, but trust me, you should not put off your FAFSA and loans. Not only do they take a long time to complete, they take even longer to actually go through and be approved and all that. And there is always the possibility you will be denied for the loan and have to find a new one which will take even longer.

    I really think that these calls are probably in your best interest because the last thing you want is to start classes and be on financial aid hold. It is quite a hassle but something that needs to be done sooner rather than later.


    As for the school itself, I believe many students are equally to blame for problems the have, such as job placement. I have encountered many people with the mentality of "I don't have to go out and look for a job because the school will do it for me" and this is not the case. No one from IADT ever promised they would actually get me a job, just that they would help me look if I asked for it.

    I guess a lot of it comes down to location as well. I think it is unfair to judge all IADT schools by experience had at one. I attend IADT Chicago and there are a few students I know who transfered from other campuses around the country because they find the Chicago one to be better. I don't know how true that is but I have had very few issues, my teachers seem to know what they are doing and the financial aid people solved my problems this term rather quickly.

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    tallia Dec 15, 2009

    I've applied to IADT Orlando about a month and a half ago, paid $50 for application, my classes suppose to start in the middle of February. Now they are calling me almost every day and asking me to make an appointment and come over with my tax info to get FAFSA and apply for a loan. I'm telling them that I can't do it before I close to my new house, I still have 2 months ahead of me till the school begins. The representatives keep calling me EVERY DAY and won't leave me alone!
    After reading all these complaints I'm seriously considering that school, especially when their clerks are trying sooo hard to get me there... kind of scary...

    1 Votes
  • Sc
    screwed by IADT Nov 11, 2009

    I say, instead of just complaining about IADT on a computer, that everyone should try to pool their resources and file a class action lawsuit against IADT. Back in the days when they were a diploma mill they used student money to defeat a class action lawsuit with their highpowered lawyers. However, the thing the lawyers used to defeat it was some concocted "proof" that it wasn't the students sueing them, but only one alderman. I don't know how they got away with that. Maybe it was because it was just the city government. Perhaps if we could somehow get enough people together to make this a national class action lawsuit, thereby getting the federal government involved, then no one but no one could pull a dirty trick like they did on that nameless alderman from years ago, I don't care how much money they have that was stolen from the students to get them out of the suit. Who knows, it might even make network news.
    Or, if that's not possible, then at least everyone who posted a complaint against IADT on this site and others should complain to their Congressman about it, and complain often. If we can get enough complaints together about this rip-off college, then it may prompt a Federal Investigation of the college and their dishonest practices. They have the ability to bribe local corrupt police, but maybe if the investigation was done on the federal level they wouldn't be able to get away with such a thing.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katrisse24 Oct 02, 2009

    Whew!! after reading these postings I will not be attending this school. I applied online and like most of you said within three minutes I had an acceptance letter in my inbox. The sucky part is they got my $50 bucks but its better than them getting me in debt and not having a solid degree to show for it. When the Admissions Rep calls me tomorrow I will tell her after doing futher research I will be choosing another school. Thanks so much for your postings!!

    3 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.