The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Global Connections TravelUnprofessional

H

When I started looking for a time share global connection was great for me, but im so hurt by all the sweet talk and I still dont get the vaction I want or time I need to go. Ive been missed led by those that have a degree in business and lies for a sale.so that puts me into believing if it sounds to good to be true, it is.Im very unhappy, and no one at global cares at all.I put in for mary vacations for 2010 a year ahead.what more can i do.

Responses

  • Su
    SunshineTosha Oct 14, 2009

    I am a member of Global Travel Club also known as Global Connections
    I purchased a membership from Tyson's corner VA.

    I must say the promotional gifts SUCK .. But the membership it self is great. I have gone on two vacations witch I would not have been able to do if it wasn't for Global just wanted you all to know that this is a Travel Club that does WORK and I look forward to our next family vacation.

    2 Votes
  • Go
    golfanatic Mar 08, 2010

    I remember I used one of the complimentary vacation gifts for 3 days and 2 nights to go to Hawaii, but I didn't use the flight they provided on the way back. I wanted to stay for a week in Hawaii so I bought my own ticket back. Thanks, global connections inc. for the flight there and the the stay at the hotel. Maybe I should go back for another presentation and this time get the program because I see there are so many complaints on the promotional gift, but none on the actual program they sell. If someone as dumb as me was able to book the promotional gift with ease, then I assume letting them book my next vacation will be easier.

    -1 Votes
  • Fr
    FrickinAnnoyed Jun 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is a SCAM people! My husband and I sat through their 90 min presentation where they kept saying "This isn't a timeshare" and "Timeshares are horrible" and "We don't pressure you into buying anything". Well that was all crap!

    Typical salespeople hoopla - The "Owner" just happens to be there so he can make us some "offers" not normally available. Then he "drops" the price of membership from $11, 900 to $8, 000. So we decide to leave and just take our "free gift."

    Well, the free gift is 3 days/2 nights for R/T airfare and hotel. The fine print says that the departing flights leave at either 3pm or 9pm and the returning flights depart at 6am or 9am. Trips must start on a Monday.

    So, they can be jerks and give you a 9pm flight on a Monday, where you'll arrive anywhere from 11pm. to 1 am. and then you only have Tuesday to enjoy your day, but you'll have to go to bed early to make a 6 am flight on Wednesday.

    That doesn't sound like a trip to me. Not to mention all the fees and taxes that you have to pay. Free is never free my friends.

    1 Votes
  • Bl
    Blog Master Aug 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If anybody needs assistance with the Global Discovery Vacations membership. please email me @ [email protected]
    Global is a great company with over 200, 000 users. Rated A+ by the BBB. If you have an issue with the gifts offered by promo marketing companies, please contact the marketing company that contacted you, Global does not have an internal marketing department. I can help you!!!
    Thanks and Godspeed.
    Michael Cantrell
    www.globalreppro.com
    [email protected]

    -2 Votes
  • Ma
    Maurice Gumbs Sep 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My wife and I are about to file a complaint with the Office of the Attorney General Of Florida, and as many other agencies as we can find. We have been travelling constantly, and have not had the time to pursue this matter. However, the truth is that we have put out close to $8, 000 and have received very little for it from Global Connections.

    The great attraction for us in putting out that much was the offer of a plane trip, a Caribbean cruise, and a 2 night stay in a Hotel. Without those incentives we would never have signed up. However, none of them came through, and we were told that Global is in Court with the two companies which should have delivered the promised incentives.

    We paid a "lesser-price" for one week in a hotel which we never would have stayed in, and where we slept on the floor.

    And we were short-changed on our Hawai Cruise( which we paid for in addition to almost $8, 000 that we paid for joining) when it was cut short by one day. Then we were forced to stay on the same island where we had spent a week already.

    We have made an offer to Global which is very reasonable.
    However, they appear unwilling to do any less than claim
    almost $8, 000 from us which they have not earned.

    We are busy people, but we will find the time to pursue this.

    -2 Votes
  • Es
    EStout Oct 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Howard

    Hello, my name is Eric Stout. I am the Operations Manager for Global Connections. I would be more than happy to assist you with your membership. Please call me on my direct line [protected].


    Eric Stout
    Operations Manager
    Global Connections, Inc.

    1 Votes
  • Am
    americajrdetroit Oct 30, 2010

    Hi,

    My name is Jason Rzucidlo and I am the Owner & Web Designer of AmericaJR.com. I received lots of complaints about the Global Vacation Network so I decided to do some investigating. I encourage you read and comment on these articles before attending a GVN sales presentation:

    http://americajr.com/news/globalvacationnetwork0314.html (You can also view all of the documents you will be required to sign in a PDF file)

    http://americajr.com/news/globalvacationscandal.html

    Many of the GVN offices will show you a phony BBB rating that is not their true rating. Always check BBB ratings at www.bbb.org.

    Secondly, GVN is offering huge prizes like Lincoln Navigators that are impossible to win. They are only giving away 1 and your chances to win it are 1 in a million. So if they told you that you won one, you probably didn't.

    Good luck in your travels.

    Jason

    0 Votes
  • Gu
    Gurnee Couple Dec 15, 2010

    I atended a meeting tonight and they were not going to let us out of there without fire sale after fire sale. At the end, it was reduced to $2495 for one week and 2 bonus weeks. But I didn't take it. they were desperate. Also the gift sounds like junk, but we will try to claim it.

    -1 Votes
  • Ir
    Irritated at Ignorance Dec 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have to say the complaints I am reading are very well placed by either individuals that are not members that recieved gifts from other companies called marketing companies that provide tours for different types of vacation companies. If you have issues with your free gift with the marketing companies? Comfront those marketing companies not the organization that paid the marketing company to see you. You blame your lack of understanding of a vacation that did not come from Global on Global. I also have to laugh at the attempt by either former employees or individuals that could not become members because of lack of financing choices to smear an A+ company on the better businees bureau because of there own ignorance.
    I am a Global member and have had some issues here and there, but there is no perfect company out there. I will say they did everything in there power to fix my issues and they did. I respect that, and they also fulfilled one of the greatest vacations I ever had with my family. Great memories, great times!! And to the ignorant nay sayors.. GROW UP and pick on a companie that you can actually tarnish.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laufting ed Dec 31, 2010

    Global connection post presentation gift is useful joke. One air round trip for two and two nights in Marriott hotel in reality sound this way; you have to depart only on Monday or Tuesday definitely after 3pm and return in two days departing 6am cha cha cha so how many days you really have??? ONE baby only ONE and only in the middle of the week and of course it can, t be used in the busy season.
    And for this B.S. you have to apply 90 days before your trip no later and send them a 50$ money order per each person. What the perfect brain wash.

    2 Votes
  • Do
    Do your Homework Jan 31, 2011

    I have just returned from a sales presentation for Global 2 days ago. All I have to say is that if you are considering buying into this, then please ask a lot of questions, and try to do some research beforehand. The fact is, they do NOT tell you everything about the club unless you ask. They only give you 3 business days to cancel, but you can't get on their website to check it out until you receive you membership number, which is about 7 days after you sign up. When you see their website, you will notice they only have a small selection of places to go. For example, they have no locations in New York, Chicago, or even the Florida Keys. They say that if you don't see a place where you want to go, on the website, then to call and they will check to see what they may have, if anything at all. I don't see why I should pay out so much money, when I can't even see what resorts or locations are available. I would think that a company that's been around since 1971 (per sales presentation) would have all of their destinations and resorts plainly on their website for their members. And that peak season and value season thing is a whole other joke on it's own.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Ronwit Feb 21, 2011

    My wife and I purchased a "PLAN" We were skeptical and did not act on our instinct "NOT TO BUY" However, after the spiel given by their representative of numerous resorts to vacation at, we bought one for $5, 020.00. A decision we regret to this day. The choices to go to are minimal or non existent. I am filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and the Michigan Attorney General. We were given names of resorts in Michigan, Florida and many more. One place available in Michigan but not at the time we wanted. Three day cancellation rule is useless because they don't give you an access number to their web-site until the fourth day. The book/catalog they show with hundreds of places is not owned by them. They sub-contract from other Travel Agencies. I am trying to get our money back. If you go to their seminar, My advice would be: take your gift and don't buy. Go home.

    0 Votes
  • Dl
    dlphin0 Apr 11, 2011

    Liars, Liars, Liars!!! We went to a sales pitch in Orlando. My family goes on a yearly trip to Key West and usually spend over $2, 000 for the condo alone for the week. So, if this membership did what they tell you it does, it would have saved us a ton of money every year. Unfortunately, it doesn't! Even though we were VERY specific that we were buying this membership to use it for a yearly trip to Key West, and we wrote that on our papaerwork when they asked us where we planned to vacation first, and our sales guy showed us a book with specific properties we could stay at in Key West, when we called for the first time to book our trip, I was told "I have worked here for ten years and we have NEVER gone to Key West". I have asked them to cancel my membership (which was paid in full by the way) and so far I am just getting the run around. They have people call me who then tell me they don't have the authority to cancel it. Then why are they calling me when I asked to speak with someone about cancelling my membership????? We will see, but as of right now, it seems that they intentionally lied to us to get us to buy their product and they have no intention of making it right!!! And to those who are saying people commenting don't know what they are talking about because they are complaining about the free trips coming from the marketing companies, or are not members, I am a member, paid in full, and oh yeah, I never even got a free trip of any kind.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anne Murray May 16, 2011

    We joined TAN/Southern journeys in 2004 and enjoyed some great vacations through them, however in December of 2010, whenwe phoned TAN with Questions about our upcoming vacation we were informed our membership had been transferred to Global Connections Inc/Vacation Quest. We never received prior notification of the transfer from TAN or GCI. TAN dinged our credit card for our annual fee two months prior to the transfer and since then we have received three bills from GCI trying to collect the already paid fees. We filed with the BBB, have tried to contact Eric Stout unsuccessfully and have gone to the mother company Southern Journeys LLC and been sent their GCI/Vacations Quest package and a verbal that the bill is taken care of. GCI's fees are $90+ more then TAN and there are more hidden charges for attempting to book a vacation week with them then we have ever encountered.

    0 Votes
  • Es
    EStout May 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ms. Murray

    Please contact me at [protected]. I would be happy to review your membership with you.

    Eric Stout
    Operations Manager
    Global Connections, Inc.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anne Murray May 18, 2011

    Dear Mr Stout,
    We did call you and e-mailed as well, twice. You never did get back to us. Is this public complaint board your best venue for communication with clients ?

    0 Votes
  • No
    Not fallin for a scam Jun 01, 2011

    Free air fare my a$$! We did not opt for the vacation plan-for a few reasons- 1)What travel agency does not have a sign on their building at their "Grand Opening" stating the name of their business? 2) What travel agency does not have posters of places to travel to? 3) No "Travel Consultant" had any personal items at their desks. These people could pack up and go at a moments notice. I was amazed at how many people handed over checks for $5, 000 to someone they spent 90 minutes with. When we got home and began to fill out the paperwork for our "free" round trip tickets, we read the fine print. I have to send $75 (supposedly refundable as long as I don't cancel my plane reservations-but they don't tell me when it is refunded to me AND I have to send the form certified mail-to a P.O. Box. You can't send certified mail to a P.O. Box-who's going to sign for it?!!?!!!?!!!?) This is a scam. When it sounds too good to be true, it usually is.

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Just signed and Happy! Jun 26, 2011

    Point 1. I have done my research with the www.bbb.org website. Global Connections is a A+ accreditation business with the Better Business Bureau. They have had 112 complaints in the last 3 yrs and 88 were resolved with the BBB assistance and 24 Global made good faith efforts per the bbb guidelines to resolve but customer not satisfied.
    Point 2. In Florida & alot of other states a consumer has 3 BUSINESS DAYS from a travel sell contract to cancel. This is not something Global provides you, it is States law. Even if you don't get a access number until after 3 days, you get the contracts (you should have read, before you signed), along with the membership book with again detailed membership info. 3 days is more than enough time to read over all that & if you are not satisfied..cancel per your states law. And if you have 3 days (more if you signed on Saturday as business day 1 starts on Monday) to cancel, why pay entire plan upfront?, I would not have. Our Membership Agreement in the center, in bold states Buyer's Right To Cancel - You, the buyer, may cancel this transaction at any time prior to midnight of the third business day after the date of this transaction. See the notice of cancellation form on the reverse side for an explanation of rights. *Cancel info is on the back with clear instructions, suggestions of sending certified, return receipt, making copies of everything, & again highlighting the 3 business days, b4 midnight rule*
    Point 3. I can only speak for our presentation. They told us verbally & it was in the contract initials page that metro area such as NY, San Fransico, DC, Internation Rome, Paris, London do not apply under Value Weeks, as wells as bermuda, Captiva, Sanibel, and the Florida Keys (this would include Key West). Be responsible adults & listen and always READ what you sign before you sign ... and then re-read during your cancellation period.
    We read every thing before we signed our names, asked as many questions we felt necessary, before we gave them a $290 deposit. We also read over those "free gifts" and felt they were not good at all & negotiated to return them & got them to add items to our travel plan & initial & made sure included in contract. So be wise & mature. We used the salespersons laptop & researched bbb website & others from their desk! Then did same on day we returned home. We are happy with our decision to become members & will use it 2 times a year at the least.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Just signed and Happy! Jun 26, 2011

    Here is a cut & paste of www.BBB.org page about the company. You can copy to your computer browser.
    http://www.bbb.org/kansas-city/business-reviews/travel-clubs/global-connections-in-overland-park-ks-97030227/complaints

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Dan Freimark Jul 03, 2011

    My wife and I attended a meeting last night in Gurnee IL. The only way we attended this meeting was that they sent us a letter telling us we got two round trip airline tickets. Yes, we found the place with no names on it and has to fill out a form and it was at that time they told us the sales would take only 90 minutes. They were right it did take 90 minutes and kept telling us it was not a time share. Then we were sent to talk to a sales person that tried to talk us into putting a deposit on this dream vacation package. We had to make up our mind right now or this offer would not be extended. If something that you are selling is good you don't have to give away free air line tickets that you have to pay for. When we told them after their additional 30 minute speech that we were not going to buy. They gave us the certificate for the "free" trip? They did ask us to leave via the back door as there were new clients coming through the front? Read and look into before you buy and never in haste.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    traveling mommy Jul 24, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We bought our membership in 2007 and have gone on 4 amazing vacations and one soap vacation. Seems everyones complaints are with the free gifts for attending the presentation. Ya they suck, so do every other companies. As for the actual membership, its awesome. We went to orlando, lake tahoe, disneyland, kuaui, & myrtle beach. I put my request in and they send you a couple of resort options to pic from. I'm currently on the waiting list for freeport bahamas which haven't opened up yet for march 2012. We were told at our presentation we will never get into a "city" they operate in resort type places. Its not a timeshare, you don't own a certain week at a certain spot, you get to try lots of new places. Icheck the condos on trip advisor before accepting any offers. By all means if you can afford atlantis on a moments notice, skip this company, I can't, but this company will get me close!!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Rey_Bug Sep 24, 2011

    Ok, here’s the thing. My husband gets this check in the mail for 1400 from us airlines. I look at it and say, odd, there’s no void on it, no ‘if you cash this you have accepted our “whatever” fee’, no nothing, just a phone number. As we are currently in the process of planning a trip to Florida, I was like, hey, maybe this will be useful. So I call my mother-in-law, a super savvy cheap seasoned traveler and ask her what she thought about it. She said hey, if you only waste 90 min and get free tickets, why not. Mind you, we have already booked our lodging in florida and have a TON of points on our credit card that will be covering various other expenses. (more on that later)
    SO I call the number and talk to a very nice woman named Hannah. I asked her, is this a time share? No. Are they going to try and sell us something? No. What is the lope hole? There is none. I ask, what is the name of this company? In her words “This is a new travel agency (note the word agency) to your area and you fit the demographic they are trying to reach out to, to get you to think about booking YOUR NEXT VACATION through them.” I said cool, we’re all about supporting local new companies. She thought that was great. She tried setting up a time for us to have this new business explained to us. She wanted to shoot for a right away approach, but I shot her down. I said, well, I can come on Tuesday at 4pm. She said you have to come as a couple(?) how about 8pm. No dice for me there, my husband goes to bed around that time, how about Saturday? She says sure, at 10 am. She also told me, specifically that we would be walking out with TWO round trip airline tickets. As in, in hand, holding them, physically.
    So I convince my husband (who is still muttering at me under his breath) that this could be an amazing free thing we stumbled upon. Like I said before, it’s not like we needed the tickets, but hey, why not. He reminds me of the time we were in Tennessee and I convinced him to sit through what was supposed to be a 90 min Wyndham Resort Time share deal to get a free $100 credit card and mini vacation. 6+ hours later, an entire day of our vacation gone and several minutes of heated conversation between my husband and the salesman, we make it out to our car. Needless to say, the husband is still not over that one…
    We arrive 20 minutes early and there is no one else there, as in no other couples. We fill out the ‘survey’ and go into the ‘just got slapped together’ office where they give their presentation. The salesman was very dry, his attempts at humor where funnier than his actual humor. Which really, is neither here nor there. Of course, there’s the closed door in the corner you’re peering at wondering to yourself, ‘what’s going on in there?’ The guy finally finishes and we get herded into another room where it looks scarily similar to the Wyndham experience. Desks randomly placed around, really cheesy island music playing way to loud and a flat screen tv playing testimonials and consumer photos from their trips. Ugh, husband is starting to look irritated, oops.
    So we sit with this lady, she’s nice, nervous, but nice. She explains all the blah blah blah, and honestly, it is very tempting. We explain that my husband is in the military. We get REALLY cheap rates with his discounts. Nothing like what we can give you, she says, you can’t beat $159 for 7 nights at a resort. I said well, no, but you can beat $9900+$389/yr annual fee+$159/trip. I said, we booked our lodging in Florida for $299 for 7 nights. She got defensive and said where in Florida, I said at Wyndhams Bonnet Creek Resort at Disney. That made her take a step back. She calls over her manager, who is super fast talker guy. He’s irritated, scribbles down some stuff, mumbles his way through an explanation and all of a sudden we’re down to being offered 1450 for the whole sha-bang. How in the [email protected]!! do you go from 9900 to 1450 in less than an hour’s time, oh, and he waved the first years annual fee. My husband is pissed at this point. Pissed that they are willing to low ball that far, knowing that others around us are probably unaware that they will go that low. They try and say, well, you said you want to go to Ireland, you can’t go to Ireland for $299. I smiled and said, yes, yes we can. Gotta love military housing and vacation deals.
    Needless to say, we opted out. We were given our legal paper sized list of ‘free’ stuff and a gift card for a Cancun trip (uh huh, sure) and literally escorted to the door, as in the front door of the office complex.
    Here are some funny things I’ve found out in the hours since the ‘presentation’
    1. Global Vacation Networks is owned by RCI. RCI owns Wyndham…
    2. We were told GVN has belongs to Global Connections who belongs to Network Direct INC. Network Direct Inc looks to me like a Pyramid Scheme turned ladder system. Part Amway, part scamway.
    3. None of our free options are free, imagine that.
    4. I was lied to by the lady on the phone, again, big shocker.

    I understand in reading a lot of the above, and many other, complaints that those that bought into, most are happy. Mostly everyone else is pissed off that they were drawn in by false ‘free’ gifts and had to sit through a long sales pitch and then have people try and bully them into purchasing something. And yes, they do try and bully you, maybe not in a mean way, but they are very pushy. Does this mean I don’t like GVN. Sure it does. They should stand behind whatever it is the marketing and sales firm they HIRED is saying. I could give two flying flips if they, GVN, feel responsible or not. They should. It’s shady and in very poor taste. So, suffice it to say that I just wasted a wonderful Saturday morning listening to someone attempting to sell me a not time share time share. You know, like how a pyramid scheme and ladder systems are COMPLETELY different. HAHAHAHAHA

    2 Votes
  • De
    denise24 Oct 10, 2011

    Hello is there anyone who has used this travel agency!!! Is this program a pain in the a$$ or is this real. My thought is nothing is "FREE" in life ! Can anyone respone.

    Skepital,
    Denise

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bruce Roeser Oct 27, 2011

    My wife and I attended a presentation this evening, frankly, because we just wanted to get out of the house and I was curious to see if they would really give me the Android tablet they promised. The presentation was pretty long and very hyped-up as we expected. It was short on actual information and we saw through the hype from the first moment. When I told them matter-of-factly that I had no intention of signing up they became immediately rude. I did, however, get the promised gifts. The Android tablet is a $50 Chinese knock-off but will be good as a XMAS gift for one of my 10-year-old nephews or something. I wouldn't seriously use it for anything. It probably cost them $15 in bulk.

    0 Votes
  • Global Travel Crystal Lake

    Dear: Mr. and Mrs.
    Pick up date & Time:
    Claim Number IS-ITC-________

    It is our pleasure to confirm your scheduled appointment at 620 N. Route 31 Crystal Lake, IL to attend our 90-minute hospitality preview on vacations. After your presentation you will receive your Sweepstakes Scratch Ticket. This means you are guaranteed to receive one of our four major prizes:

    >Brand New Lincoln Navigator Or $45k in cash.
    >$2, 500 in Cash
    >Vacation.-3 days 2 night Orlando or Las Vegas vacation including round trip airfare for 2 adults
    You will have a variety of vacations to choose from if you receive the vacation!
    >32”Flat screen Color TV.

    You are under no obligation to purchase anything in order to receive your scratch ticket..

    What to Expect
    Your presentation consists of a brief discussion of your vacation needs and various worldwide vacation opportunities. Your tour representative will answer all your questions and ask for your comments. That’s all there is to it! You will be helping us and we will have the opportunity to show you that comfortable vacations, in exotic locales, are no longer just a dream! After the presentation you will receive a scratch off ticket, to see which of the gifts you will receive!

    Terms and Conditions
    This promotion is open to married couples and cohabiting couples, between the ages of 28-67, and have a combined annual income of at least $45, 000. And single women between the ages of 30-60 with an annual income of at least $45, 000. Married, and cohabiting couples : Both must attend together, and posses photo identification with the same physical address/last name. Two forms of identification are required. Acceptable identification is a driver’s license/photo ID and a major credit card (Master Card, Visa, American Express or Discover). United States residents only. Limited one premium per household. No group travel is permitted. A group is considered more than one family traveling together to the same gifting location, with the same arrival dates. This promotion may not be combined with any other promotion. With any gift received, consumer is responsible for any taxes, deposits, dealer fees, port charges, gas surcharges, processing & delivery fees, Other Vacation choices: 3 night cruise, 3 days 2 night including airfare to Mexico, 2 nigtht
    holiday Inn Stay which includes bonus gifts of $30 darden card and $150 gas rebates. and several others.


    You must bring this confirmation letter with you.


    Global Travel
    620 N. Route 31
    Crystal Lake, IL 60012

    1 Votes
  • Es
    EStout Jan 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thank you for your recent posts. The promotions that you mention are provided by marketing companies. I would be happy to put you in touch with a representative that would be able to answer any questions that you have about the promotions you received for attending the presentation. Of course if you have any other questions about the about our travel membership, I would be more than happy to answer them. My phone number is [protected].

    Eric Stout
    Operations Manager
    Global Connections, Inc.
    [protected]

    -1 Votes
  • Es
    EStout Jan 06, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My name is Eric Stout, Operations Manager for Global Connections. As I stated above, I would be more than happy to review our travel club membership with anyone on this forum. I would be happy to review its benefits and discuss any concerns that you have. You can call me directly at [protected]. I look forward to talking with you.


    Eric Stout
    Operations Manager
    Global Connections, Inc
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Nh
    Nhall Jan 31, 2012

    Looking forward to using our membership. We have spoken with people who love it and use it several time a year. They do need to revisit the poor reputation this marketing firm is giving their travel company. What a shame. Honest is always the best policy. The marketing gifts Is their biggest Joke and has nothing to do with their travel but you question a company that wants to be a part of such tactics! Shame on them.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Den Feb 07, 2012

    Anyone know how i can sell my weeks. i have 9 wks. finished paying a long time ago. there are so many restrictions that it's nearly impossible for my family to use them. i am tired of paying my monthly service fee. it seemed like a good idea at the time. but nope not for my us.

    1 Votes
  • Es
    EStout Mar 01, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Nhall and Lisa

    Hello, my name is Eric Stout. I am the Operations Manager for Global Connections. I would be happy to help either one of you or at least point you in the right direction. Please give me a call at [protected].


    Eric Stout
    Operations Manager
    Global Connections, Inc.
    [protected]

    -1 Votes
  • Ka
    K. A. B. Mar 11, 2012

    Hello All,

    My husband and I decided to attend to get out of the house and see what it was about. We are experienced travelers and have sat through several time share talks... I agree if it is too good to be true it usually is. I must say... we got a GREAT deal one the 1 star program. I do not feel miss led at all. We asked all the right questions. There is always risk when you travel. Control your own and plan for the worst and u can't be disappointed. The whole thing is you have to be flexible on dates, times, and even destinations. There is something out there for everyone. We are 1 bag travelers. If it doesn't fit overhead it doesn't go. The resorts they have time with are very luxurious and better than a hut on the beach. $159 + $389. For 1 week Great deal. We take a family member or another couple, split the cost. Fun is what u make of it. Memories is what u get. I do not regret the deal we signed and hope to travel more soon.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    unhappy bob Apr 03, 2012

    I am not happy with this service. Annual service fee of about $350. You pay in on the weeks you purchased on a monthly basis with interest, that is fine. I have tried to book 3 trips over 3 years and have been unsuccessful due to not booking 6 months in advance minimum, (I have a hard enough time doing it 90 days in advance not using the GC). I usually vacation on holidays, well forget it, you cannot book around ANY holiday. You cannot book around any event. You cannot sell your weeks to a friend or relative. You cannot book a trip and sell it to someone else. You cannot book a trip in the summer to summer destinations or in the winter to winter destinations. They really want your money, but they don't want you to use your weeks. If you are retired and like to book trips to nowhere and can do it 9 to 12 months in advance and you like to take 20+ days of vacation a year, this service may be for you.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Andy erady Apr 11, 2012

    yo yo yo this is all wrong guys. i got a free t.v from the same company. i know the guys deal in timeshare but the thing is they are giving us free prizes and i got t.v from the same company. i went to this place on 17march 2012 and there was a presentation of travel and vacations. but the people were really nice to me and they tell me about the products which they got for me to utilize for my future. i stay there for hour and a half in the i walk with t.v with a big smile o my face.

    0 Votes
  • Sj.Hollie Jun 05, 2012

    If you are a member of Southern Journeys and have issues with your membership, please feel free to contact our member services department at [protected] and we will be glad to attempt to resolve any issue you might have. Our sales centers do not handle customer service complaints. You must go through Southern Journeys.

    Hollie Strack
    Member Services
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sj.Hollie Jun 05, 2012

    In addition, Southern Journeys is NOT a timeshare, or land development company! We are part of a discount travel network that specializes in discounted travel and accommodations. Global Connections is the company we use for our vacation services. As far as "free" gifts are concerned. If you came to Southern Journeys, you were never told your gifts were free, or that you won anything. You qualify for the gifts if you are selected as a semi-finalist or if you sign up for a presentation at a booth. You must attend the full presentation, terms and conditions apply to all promotional gifts.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    GetTakenOnce Jun 07, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Buyer beware - "First" - You should know (and probably do) that these promotional gifts come at a price. You must give them a photo ID and a W9 to claim your prizes. This is all that is needed to lose your identity as you don't know how they are handling you data! And the prizes are on a first-come-first-serve basis so you may not get what they offer. This information is not mentioned until you see that certificate for the (junk) prizes. The Android PC they mention/offer is a joke - good for the grand kids - that's it. Its its true - you cannot use the free flight on your time - you lose a day getting there by having to travel at the end of the day, and having to leave early (6am or so) on the return day. How do you get 3 day out of this? So its not a 3 day trip by any means. This is in the fine print and through questions asked. ASK ASK ASK!
    Now to the "Second" - This is NOT a 1.5 hr presentation deal, its a 4 hr hammer pressured sale to "buy now or its not valid tomorrow". It is clearly a 'vacation time share' although they swear its not during the presentation, yet it has all the characteristics/features of time share - just that's its a vacation. I wasted almost 5 hrs on this - Shame n us, we should have known better. Unless you are really looking to put yourself in debt (anywhere from $4k to $20k) for any of these so called 'deals' - don't bother! Then $359 per year, $159 per week booked, upgrade fees, and so on. Its so bad that before they hit you with the actual deal cost, they present a deal that does not even makes sense to a 13 year old. They must think you are an idiot. Ask yourself - why would you buy something that costs more, yet offers 80% less? yes, they do present that to you! So when the real deal hits you, it looks REALLY GOOD.thats when I should have wlked out. You need do the research before buying thee things, yet they won't let you because they know that if they give until the next day to think and research, you wont come back. And as to the BBB ratings, few of the local offices (franchises) have accreditation one, and those that do, have issues. These local offices are franchises representing Global Connections / Global Vacations and the many other names they use.
    Beware of: Tom Lyons - Global Vacations - Global Networks - Global Discovery Vacations - Global Connections Inc - Overland Park Kansas KS - T. J. Johnson and Associates - Gifts by Monet giftsbymonet.com - Simply Great Gifts simplygreatgifts.com - Whitehouse, TX
    See this (and many others): http://whocallsme.com/Phone-Number.aspx/8883126280 //
    Regards,
    Lesson Learned

    1 Votes
  • Id
    IDGAF Aug 16, 2012

    My wife and I attended a meeting last night in Indianapolis, Indiana. The only way we attended this meeting was that they sent us a letter telling us we got two round trip airline tickets. I spoke to the sales lady on the phone for at least 30 minutes before I agreed to go to this appointment. I asked if they were selling anything? NO!! I asked if I would be asked to purchase anything? NO!!! I asked if there was a catch? !!! Every question I asked had the same responce. " There was no catch and no pressure sales tactic" I should have gone to the internet where I now see 100's of complaints!!! They told us the sales appointment would take 90 minutes. We were there for exactly 120 minutes before we saw the first sales person. A very GREEN sales person (KID) that tried to talk us into putting a deposit on this dream vacation package. A package that started at $11, 900 and dropped to $8000 and then finally $3000. We had to make up our mind right now or this offer would not be extended. Do not get ropped into a 2 hour waste of time. The only truth about the sales meeting is that they are not selling a Time share. But thay are selling a Time share concept. Look, I am a millionare! I do not say this to brag. I say it because I vacation 2 month a year and a travel DEAL is attractive to me. This program is a JOKE!!! Pressure sales to get people to IMPULSE buy? Coming from corporate America, I know the game well. They gave us the certificate for the "free" trip. The free tickets they promiced are not real. It is a fake offer and actually cost you money. The phone number on the free ticket form is not even real. Call it and it does not even ring! Stay Away People!!!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stephnie Aug 28, 2012

    We have been members since 2006 of TAN/Southern Journeys that was transferred to Global Connections in 2010. We bought 10 vacation weeks for $2500, pay a yearly maintenance fee of $350 and there is a $99 processing fee each time you book so it equals about $500 per vacation taking 2 a year. I try to be savvy when I'm booking to avoid peak seasons and if you do it right, it is a good deal. The initial money was paid up front so for the past 6 years the vacation has cost us $99 each time we booked and that's all! The only exception was a ski vacation to Colorado when we took 2 other couples so paid the $30/room/night upgrade to get a 2 bedroom cabin but come on...we split that 3 ways. These are not luxury sites but completely adequate and some have been pretty nice not to mention that we have discovered places we may never have gone. We have been to colorado, vegas, mazatlan, cancun, cabo, ireland, dominican republic, bahamas and are booked for puerto vallarta in december. You do have to be a little flexible, maybe pick the destination and time you want to go and then see what resorts are offered there. I always check them on trip advisor and reject the place if it looks sketchy. This past winter, I really was trying to go to Aruba but wasn't happy with any of the places that were offered so I talked with the travel lady and threw out Cabo, she came back with a couple to look at, we went ahead and booked one and it was the best site we have visited so far! Keep an open mind and go with it...it has been money well spent for us and our friends are always jealous that we go on so many vacations!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    begimamovic Aug 28, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    pls don't take this company for your "dream" vacation Stay Away People!!!
    dont trust this people, they so rud and very bad services
    What a shame of company

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    lou rosenbaum Sep 09, 2012

    With out this program i would have never been able to do half of the trips that i have done it works great for me. Half of you who are on here are complaining about the gift that the marketing company offered which has nothing to do with the actual membership. Yes the gift from the marketing company its crap but the program itself is great if you want to vacation and save money you will be extremely happy.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.