Forrester UK Holdings LLCDebt collection problems

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

My wife & I bought a house in December 2006. We have received excessive letters regarding equipment that previous owners had with this company. Despite confirming in writing that we purchased the property recently, we still receive letters to recover a debt from the previous owner!

Responses

  • Ke
    KERRY46 Nov 02, 2017

    UNDER BRITISH LAW ALL SOLE TRADERS AND PARTNERSHIPS CAN LEAVE ANY BUSINESS CONTRACT AFTER A 18 MONTH PERIOD - WITHOUT ANYTHING TO PAY - YOU MUST PROVIDE ONE MONTHS NOTICE AT 17 MONTHS AND THAT IS IT. THIS HAS BEEN LAW SINCE 1972 - THE CONSUMER CREDIT ACT - PLEASE LOOK IT UP AND IF YOU WANT AN HONEST PROVIDER PLEASE GET IN TOUCH WITH ME, KERRY JONES ON [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thebed Mar 02, 2015

    Im am in the same boat, i think lloyds should be helping customers out now, its easy to send demands to small companies but if lloyds TSB would get involved it could help and it was the bank that put me it contact with Forrester in the first place.

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    fURNISHIGS 4u lTD Feb 17, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My Contract ended in September 2014, I gave them 12 months notice to terminate then 6 months notice, I have 42 pages of correspondence, Carolyn who I have just spoke to tells me they bill in arrears and even though my contract ended in spetember I have today received an arrears letter for 3 months to date, I have paid them once more with a copy of the phone call that as long as my card isn't stopped this account is closed OMG
    PLEASE DO NOT SIGN WITH FORRESTER THEY AREA RIP OFF

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Confused Carol Apr 01, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well I have just been reading all your posts, I have just started on the road of sending my machine back. I have been e-mailing to see what I have to do, they have put an attachment letter on as I have not received one through the post. Now I have a different Address for them I have Unit 20, Britannia Industrial Estate Poyle Road, Colnbrook, Slough, SL3 0BH.
    AND THEYWANT £95 off me. But the return Address for the Machine is in Ripon North YorkshireHG4 2RN So before I even start this process I really don't know what to do.
    Very Confused

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    sleepless nights Dec 07, 2012

    £600 not 6 m

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    sleepless nights Dec 07, 2012

    I am in the same boat .I have been with cardsave for 12 years who originally used Hypercom machines we were then transfered from them to Forrester . I have recently changed terminal providers so needed give notice to cardsave ... no probs there until it came to the collection of the terminal which they informed me would need to go back to Forrester and i would need to contact them to arrange collection . On phoning them they inform me i will have to pay over £600m to get out of contact as i have only been with them 14 months . I am not aware i have signed any contract with them and have asked for proof of this . Having read this forum i am now VERY worried as to what to do next ... do I Pay ? Do i send the terminal back? Am very frightened ... Please help anybody

    0 Votes
  • Su
    suicidal customer Jul 16, 2012

    I cannot even start to say how useless, uncaring, unproffessional, FORESTERS UK HOLDINGS are, I have 8 visa machines and I would rather eat my own kids rather than give them any more business.
    I am now 3 years out of contract and they are still haunting me.
    They are sale prevention officers with no after sales skills at all.
    Stay away from them if you value your sanity.
    AAAAGGGGHHHHHHH

    David Pearson Western Electrica; Plymouth UK

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    JB Wales Feb 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Have cancelled my contract due to ill health! They have already started to threaten me with court proceddings! I cancelled my Direct Debit straight away thankfully. Will have to wait and see what happens next??? JB Wales

    0 Votes
  • El
    Elizabeth rees Oct 14, 2011

    I am having the same problems with Forresters they never reply to emails phone call, they are demanding money I do not owe! I canceled my contract in August this year I gave them one months notice as I had been with them for 7 years that was all that was needed. I have sent so many emails, and they still t refuse to release from the contract unless I pay £156.00. That was the lastest demand. Can anyone help?

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Neil Hudson Nov 26, 2010

    Looks like I am not alone ! I spoke to Mark at Forresters (in the US) and followed their instructions to the letter in returning the terminal, and made sure it was within the rental period I had paid up to which ended on the 29th October 2010, I checked this date with him to make sure. I sent it by courier (checked this was ok too) & it was signed for on the 27th October 2010. I then received a letter a few days after this saying I still owed them for the next quarter's rental of £61.34. I rang to say it had been returned, and the person I spoke to at Forresters said it had been returned to them on the 4th November, in other words - in the next quarters rental period ! I then emailed proof that it had been signed for and all went quiet again. I have now received a request for this so-called previous balance of £61.34 and another one for lease payment of another £61.34 giving a total of £122.68 and the threat of yearly interest payments of 2% on top ! I rang to complain again and they are on holiday today 26/11/10. It says leave a message which I tried to do but then cuts you off so you can't even leave one !

    And do you know what ? I actually knew they'd try this on. I hadn't read all these problems beforehand, I just had an inkling this would happen and that'd they'd try and get more money - I just knew it and it turns out I was right ! We'll see what happens now, but they're not getting a penny out of me !!

    0 Votes
  • We
    Westvidman Oct 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi
    I seem to be in the same situation, ask by lloyds to cancel my contract with Forrester(have paid by direct debit for over 10 yeras now), anyway no mention was made of the trouble I would experience, 1st a letter asking for a Buyout payment of £61.36 folowed by anouther letter 2 week later for double the amount and intrest of 5% intrest above
    base rate of Barclays PER DAY if Idint pay. I had sent payment of £61.34 (stupidly) now followed by another buyout letter for £61.34 (only good to the 30/9/10 (came on 1st October) I ve never owed money in 20 years of buisness nut wil no longer paying these crooks anything else after reading all the complaints

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sara W Sep 03, 2010

    Over a year ago we followed the correct cancellation procedure but sent the old terminal back to the West Drayton address as we were never advised otherwise. Our courier returned it to us saying the company had refused to accept delivery of it. We were bemused but unable to do anything about it as this was the only address we had. An odd sounding man with an American accent phoned in Jan 2010 to ask where the terminal was. We said it had been returned to us undelivered and he then told us that was the wrong address. He sais that we would have to pay another quartely rental - we said if he sent us an invoice we would pay it. He phoned again and asked where was our payment. We said we had not yet received the invoice. A few weeks later we got an invoice in the post for the quarterly lease payment and another amount that was labelled 'previous balance'. Next time he phoned we pointed out that we had been invoiced incorrectly and would he kindly send us the correct invoice so that we may pay it. He said the 'previous balance' was arrears, later elaborating that all our payments had always been in arrears - ie we had always had the use of the terminal and then paid for it AFTER each quarter, not before. We pointed out that this was rubbish as our invoices clearly stated that, 'BILLING PERIOD BEGINS FROM DUE DATES SHOWN'. Naturally this was ignored and the terms 'previous balance' and 'lease payment' were replaced with the term 'buy out figure'. During one of the many harrassment phone calls we asked what this term meant and we were told that we had to buy out of our contract as we were terminating it before it had expired. At this point we were getting a bit suspicious and thats when we came across this website. Our contract WITH HYPERCOM contains two conflicting pieces of information. Firstly it states that we would have a minimum 15 month contract yet we had the terminal and paid the rental for four and a half years. Secondly it states that, 'there will be 16 quarterly payments', yet there were 18. Which ever way you look at it we had no reason to 'buy' out of our contract or pay imaginary arrears. First Collect International are now on to us for the money and they say that Forrester 'claim' they told us where to send the terminal. We KNOW they didnt. And they have now decided that the amounts we 'owe' are for two quarterly rentals following our termination of the contract. Its our policy to only pay for goods and services when we are in receipt of a relevant invoice. We will glady pay the original agreed sum but they refuse to bill us correctly for it. They do seem like idiots - regardless of the fact that they are American. I've met lots of Americans who aren't idiots funnily enough, so thats hardly the issue.

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    SWebsdale Aug 25, 2010

    It looks to me that you all have not read the lease agreement you have signed. We are supposed to be setting an example, but instead, you are all acted like a bunch of uneducated Americans.

    The representatives that work for Forrester Holdings are just doing their jobs which is to collect a debt that you all are failing to pay. When you do that, you are hurting absolutely no one but yourself.

    I thought my contract expired after 4 years like the most of you, but a girl at Forrester explained that the contract doesn't expire, it is extended for an additional 12 months if we do not tell them that we want to cancel. I tried to dispute that we have not used the machine for a few months, but the girl informed me that we are billed for the possession of that old, and crappy machine. I didn't believe her. She asked if I wanted a copy of my signed lease and was kind enough to email it to me. Each and every piece of information was there for me to see, clearly.

    I was very unhappy to pay them, but there was nothing I could do. No point in arguing when my signature was there on the lease. After I paid the final payment, I requested she send a letter to let me know the matter was done and dusted, which she did.

    Instead of taking the time to post irrelevant complaints on this site, ask the American idiots to explain why you owe. I'm sure they will have no problem doing so.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    peedoff_84 Aug 23, 2010

    Basically we cancelled our contracts with them and they sent us to a debt collection agency. We have refused to pay and they forget about us and then every year we get a letter to say we owe them £120.

    We made an agreement with a Forresters employee about cancelling our account and now they have gone back on their word. We havent paid and we will not be paying!!

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Trevor Krueger Aug 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have received a letter from a British based debt collection company giving me five working days to pay a supposed overdue amount of £696.34 to Forrester UK Holdings even though I canceled my contract for my Hypercom terminal a couple of years ago when I ceased trading.

    The letter arrived dated the 10th August but made no reference to the Hypercom Terminal at all. In fact I had never heard of Forrester UK Holdings in my life. I was just delighted to find this site to even be able to determine what the claim in the letter even related to?

    To say I am furious is an understatement. I will not pay these extortionists for a service I no longer use and was terminated years ago.

    Why are they getting away with this harrasment?

    I told the debt collection company about the number of complaints registered here on the net and directed them to the site. On the phone I was told there WERE NO complaints about Forrester UK Holdings on the net. I said really? Then I suggest you take another look!

    Can we get these people exposed on TV or something, suurely this has to stop - and stop now!

    I will not pay this bill, it's as simple as that, but I will go to Hell and back fighting for my rights!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anon Amus Jul 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    NEW CONTACT TO VENT YOUR FRUSTRATIONS!

    Alexandria Aponte Tel – [protected]

    Email [email protected]

    GIVE HER HELL,

    X

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    woody42 Jun 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please contact me because they are also a part of Northern Leasing Lease financial Group you will find that all of the phone numbers are coming out of NY and or Illinois [protected] I am a talk show host

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    peter campey Jun 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    it seems to that im not the only one getting demands for money, last year i canciled my contract after being with the arce holes for 10 years, paid all everything i owd them, but months after they said theres £300.09 outstanding, so like a [censor] i sent a cheque, but they never cashed it, so i though they hade go bust, then 8 months later the demands started againe, they wonted there £300.09, But were is that first check, now i have got a collections company demanding the money, the companys name is fci first collection international, im now totaly pist off and i dont no what to do.

    good luck to all with these [censor]

    from pine workshop ltd
    nottingham

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kick_forrester_ass Jun 17, 2010

    ****BEWARE *** BEWARE *** BEWARE OF THESE SWINDLERS ***
    MOST IMPORTANT THING IS TO CANCEL YOUR DIRECT DEBIT BEFORE YOU EVEN CANCEL YOUR CONTRACT.
    THEY WILL TRY TO TAKE OUT SPURIOUS CHARGES WITHOUT TELLING YOU.
    THERE WILL BE SUCH THINGS LIKE £120 TERMINATION FEE ETC.
    CANCEL YOUR DD AND LET THEM CHASE YOU AND TRY TO ENFORCE THAT.
    ANYWAY MOST OF US DID NOT SIGN ANY CONTRACT WITH FORRESTER
    WE SIGN OUR CONTRACT ORIGINALLY WITH HYPERCOM.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    woody42 May 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Contributor Candidate or PAC Amount Date FEC Filing
    COHEN, JAY
    LARCHMONT, NY 10538
    PAUL WEISS RIFKIND WHARTON & GARRIS SCHUMER, CHARLES E (D)
    Senate - NY
    FRIENDS OF SCHUMER $500
    general 03/31/10
    Cohen, Jay
    New York, NY 10024
    Voyage Air Guitar/President & CEO
    ASCAP LEGISLATIVE FUND FOR THE ARTS, THE $250
    primary 10/14/09
    COHEN, JAY
    LARCHMONT, NY 10538
    PAUL WEISS RIFKIND WHARTON & GARRIS SCHUMER, CHARLES E (D)
    Senate - NY
    FRIENDS OF SCHUMER $2, 400
    primary 09/22/09
    COHEN, JAY
    NEW YORK, NY 10128
    PAUL, WEISS, RIFKIND ET AL/ATTORNEY DURBIN, RICHARD J (D)
    Senate - IL
    FRIENDS OF DICK DURBIN COMMITTEE $500
    primary 07/31/09
    Cohen, Jay
    New York, NY 10128
    Paul Weiss et al./Attorney CONYERS, JOHN JR. (D)
    House (MI 14)
    CONYERS FOR CONGRESS $1, 000
    primary 06/29/09
    Cohen, Jay
    New York, NY 10128
    Paul Weiss Rifkind et al/Attorney BERMAN, HOWARD L. (D)
    House (CA 28)
    BERMAN FOR CONGRESS $1, 000
    primary 06/07/07
    Cohen, Jay
    New York, NY 10128
    Lawyer OBAMA, BARACK (D)
    President
    OBAMA FOR AMERICA $1, 000
    primary 05/24/07
    Cohen, Jay
    Larchmont, NY 10538
    Paul Weiss Rifkind/Attorney KERRY, JOHN F (D)
    President
    KERRY-EDWARDS 2004 INC. GENERAL ELECTION LEGAL AND ACCOUNTING
    COMPLIANCE FUND $1, 000
    general 10/28/04
    Cohen, Jay
    Larchmont, NY 10538
    Paul Weiss/Lawyer KERRY, JOHN F (D)
    President
    KERRY VICTORY 2004 $1, 000
    primary 07/22/04
    Cohen, Jay Mr.
    Larchmont, NY 10538
    Paul Weiss Et Al/Attorney KERRY, JOHN F (D)
    President
    JOHN KERRY FOR PRESIDENT INC $1, 000
    primary 06/25/03
    COHEN, JAY
    LARCHMONT, NY 10538
    PAUL WEISS RIFKIND WHARTON & GARRI SCHUMER, CHARLES E (D)
    Senate - NY
    FRIENDS OF SCHUMER $2, 000
    primary 05/30/03
    COHEN, JAY
    LARCHMONT, NY 10538
    PAUL WEISS ET AL KENNEDY, EDWARD MOORE SENATOR (D)
    Senate - MA
    KENNEDY FOR SENATE 2000 $1, 000
    primary 12/15/99
    Cohen, Jay
    New York, NY 10021
    Lines Architects PC/Architect GORE, AL (D)
    President
    GORE 2000 INC $1, 000
    primary 03/31/99
    COHEN, JAY L
    NEW YORK, NY 10021
    LINEA THREE DESIGN GROUP ARCH D'AMATO, ALFONSE M (R)
    Senate - NY
    FRIENDS OF SENATOR D'AMATO (1998 COMMITTEE) $1, 000
    general 08/07/98
    COHEN, JAY L
    NEW YORK, NY 10021
    LINEA THREE DESIGN GROUP ARCH D'AMATO, ALFONSE M (R)
    Senate - NY
    FRIENDS OF SENATOR D'AMATO (1998 COMMITTEE) $1, 000
    primary 10/22/97
    COHEN, JAY
    ALBANY, NY 12203

    DNC SERVICES CORPORATION/DEMOCRATIC NATIONAL COMMITTEE (D) $250
    primary 10/25/96
    COHEN, JAY
    FLUSHING, NY 11372

    DNC SERVICES CORPORATION/DEMOCRATIC NATIONAL COMMITTEE (D) $350
    primary 11/10/92
    COHEN, JAY M MR
    JACKSON HGTS, NY 11372

    DNC SERVICES CORPORATION/DEMOCRATIC NATIONAL COMMITTEE (D) $225
    primary 02/12/90
    COHEN, JAY
    NEW YORK, NY 10016
    MLA ARCHITECTS D'AMATO, ALFONSE M (R)
    Senate - NY
    FRIENDS OF SENATOR D'AMATO (1992 COMMITTEE) $1, 000
    primary 05/04/87
    Receive an alert every time new records are added to this search for jay cohen.
    Your Email


    Data Provided by the Federal Election Commission as of 5/17/10 —
    17, 764, 560 records.
    All of the information provided here is as reported to the FEC by the
    campaigns and committees. Reports and statements filed by political
    committees may be inspected and copied by anyone. The names and
    addresses of individual contributors, however, may not be sold or used
    for any commercial purpose or to solicit any type of contribution or
    donation, such as political or charitable contributions. 2 U.S.C.
    ¤438(a)(4); 11 CFR 104.15. This restriction applies to Federal reports
    and statements. Any person who violates this restriction is subject to
    the penalties of 2 U.S.C. ¤437g. The official record of the Commission
    is the microfilmed copy of the original report and is available at the
    Commission. You can get additional information about the Commission
    and federal campaign finance by calling [protected].

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    cymru Mar 23, 2010

    I too am having problems with this bunch of degenerates. We closed our account with Forrester UK Holdings (FUH) to be informed that we have to send back the machine to THYRON SYSTEMS (St. Andrews, colonial Way, The Belfry, Watford, Hertfordshire, WD24 4WH). This company then sent the terminal back to me even though it is their terminal and they told me to forward it to FUH. Meanwhile costs are accruing for a terminal that I have not used. The terminal was sent to the original THYRON approx 3 weeks ago. I have today (23/03/10) talked to a lady who called herself Marilyn S**** (THYRON systems); she has told me that she will talk to FUH and try to resolve this issue. If those with a similar concern would like to canvass FUK/Thyron as a disgruntled collective; please email me at [email protected] (Email Subject field: Forrester UK). Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Susietoo Feb 25, 2010

    Still cheating innocent businesses out of money today! Not sure why this blog ended as I am sure they did not become a fully fledged innocent overnight!

    0 Votes
  • An
    andy Mar 31, 2009

    I didn't say I fear Forrester. Silly person. What is there to fear from a bunch of monkeys like them.
    I screwed them and they couldn't handle so left me alone. If you had any balls you'd do the same instead of whinging like a Welsh ###

    0 Votes
  • Ll
    Llewelyn ap Gerald Feb 05, 2009

    Dear Andy,

    You say you still fear Forrester.

    That means they’re still on your tail, old son.

    That means you have not defeated anyone.

    So don’t get mad, get even.

    Our strength lies in joining forces.

    Stay cool - watch this space.

    Talks are already underway with victims in the US.

    0 Votes
  • An
    andy Feb 05, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I did write a long email in response but it got lost somehow. A bit of a catch 22 really.
    I was so annoyed with them that I thought I would help you honest folks with my solution. However I am not going to identify myself and open my defences to Forrester's ire and if I gave the method in open forum that would be the case, so I suppose you will have to struggle on without the solution.
    Sorry people but the offer is now withdrawn. I can only give you a clue: fight fire with fire. Good luck and don't get too stressed (and never give in of course)

    Llewelyn I am afraid when someone is abusive to myself and my wife over a long period of time I will be so in return. Being a good Samaritan is all well and good but in the UK of today where the feckless, violent and criminal are rewarded by the authorities and the honest are never rewarded I'm afraid such a wet attitude will simply leave you in a very weak position and very possibly locked up!

    0 Votes
  • Ll
    Llewelyn ap Gerald Feb 05, 2009

    No one should be violently abusive to anyone over the telephone.

    Nor should anyone send a scanned copy of correspondence that would identify them to any third party without first being absolutely certain who that third party is.

    Northern Leasing monitors web traffic. It also posts its own entries. Some of them are deeply unpleasant.

    I am sure that anyone with a genuine tactic for defeating Northern Leasing would be more than willing to publish it on this website without condition.

    On the plus side, several of us have now succeeded in linking up safely.

    A strategy is developing. Cracks are appearing in enemy’s defences.

    0 Votes
  • An
    andy Feb 04, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    While I agree with all courses of action taken by the more pro-active on this site. I know how to stop them.
    The first stage is to be violently abusive on the phone. I shall send you the second step by email if you wish.
    However suggestions will have to be made to assure me that you have a grievance against this company and are not in fact forrester pretending to be an aggrieved client. I would suggest a scanned copy of some correspondence they have sent you plus an email address which relates to that company name.

    Andre [email protected]

    I'm afraid we must be nefarious ourselves to combat these criminals. Rest assured my step is legal.
    I believe no-one has ever been taken to court. Can anyone cite an instance of someone who has?

    0 Votes
  • Ll
    Llewelyn ap Gerald Feb 04, 2009

    Dear ‘Perturbed’ and ‘Rugeley Training Centre’, and everyone else.

    If you use, or have used Cardnet, direct your complaints at LLOYDS TSB, sending them to both your own branch manager and the chief executive, Eric Daniels.

    Most of us have been compelled to use Northern Leasing’s terminals (Hypercom/Forrester UK Holdings) in order to operate Cardnet.

    LLOYDS TSB have known about the complaints against Northern Leasing’s apparently unlawful activities for a very long time.

    However, LLOYDS TSB makes no attempt to warn customers what it is exposing them to in putting them into the hands of Northern Leasing.

    Nor is LLOYDS TSB making any effective effort to stop its preferred supplier (Northern Leasing) ruining people’s lives.

    Northern Leasing is based in the US, where it has an even worse record than it does in the UK. It is therefore difficult for UK-based customers to tackle the company.

    We maintain that LLOYDS TSB has breached its duty of care by exposing us to Northern Leasing without warning us of the multiple allegations of fraud and harassment that exist against the New York-based company.

    LLOYDS TSB is UK-based. It cannot ignore our perfectly reasonable and fully justified complaints without jeopardising its reputation. Especially if we all write to the BBC’s ‘Watchdog’ programme. However, ‘Watchdog’ will not pursue this matter unless there are enough of us who complain – so e-mail them at: [email protected]

    Following is our letter to our LLOYDS TSB branch. It shows who everyone is in this sorry tale and how you may contact them.

    Read it. Act. Report the results to this magnificent website.

    Good Luck. Let’s take the fight to the enemy.

    Llewelyn ap Gerald

    Letter reads:
    Dear Mr. Harvey,
    Thank you for your time this afternoon.

    Re:
    Eric Daniels
    Chief Executive
    Lloyds TSB
    25 Gresham Street
    London
    EC2V 7HN
    Fax: [protected].


    Anne Phillips
    Credit Manager
    Hypercom GB Ltd.
    C/O Unit 3/6
    Milford Trading Estate
    Blakey Road
    Salisbury
    SP1 2UK
    (Company also Woking-based)
    Mob: [protected]

    Forrester UK Holdings LLC
    363 Stockely close
    West Drayton
    Middlesex
    UB7 9BL
    (post box only)

    Northern Leasing Inc
    132 West 31st Street
    14th Floor
    New York
    NY 10001
    Tel: [protected]
    Fax: [protected].

    TNC plc
    Chris Vicary
    Portland House
    Albion Street
    Cheltenham
    England GL52 2L
    (Also: Sloane Portland Associates)
    Tel: [protected]
    Fax: [protected]
    Email: [email protected]

    To recap: Lloyds TSB gave us no option but to lease our terminal from Hypercom.
    While you individually may not have known about Hypercom’s relationship with Northern Leasing and the problems that were arising, your company most certainly did.

    We are aggrieved that Lloyds TSB did not show due diligence and failed to warn us that it was exposing us to Northern Leasing’s seemingly unlawful activities.

    www.complaintsboard.com & www.worldlawdirect.com are just two web complaint sites carrying extensive lists of cases concerning Forester UK Holdings LLC, and Northern Leasing Inc.

    Hypercom and Forrester are subsidiaries of Northern Leasing.

    Our Cardenet/Forrester account ran for more than four years. There was therefore no cancellation fee to pay Forrester (Northern Leasing).

    Their terminal was returned to them by recorded insured post, twice. The first time it was rejected.

    We have received a demand for £144.00, but the paperwork gives no clue as to what for. We wrote back by recorded post denying the debt and stating our position.

    They have ignored that letter and our earlier correspondence.

    We are now receiving up to five abusive telephone calls from them each day demanding money that is not owed.

    Their staff are well trained and working to scripts that contain threats and comments designed to cause offence, quarrelling and upset.

    The most offensive call we have received to date was from, Gasper Kewley (legal department [email protected]), who claimed to be ringing from West Drayton.

    Vice-president of Sales and Marketing, Richard Hahn ([email protected]), let slip that that Kewley is in New York.

    Their telephone staff’s common tactic is to blind customers to Northern Leasing’s existence.

    All correspondence is directed to Stockely Close, and then ignored.

    Non-payers’ cases are ultimately referred to debt collectors, TNC plc. Whom it seems accept work from Northern Leasing on a no-win-no-fee basis.

    Web contributors claim TNC’s tactic is also to use harassment and threats of court action.

    I have found no evidence of any cases coming before a judge.

    Northern Leasing’s whole strategy appears to rely on making bogus claims for money and then aggressively frightening and harassing people into paying up simply to be free of them.

    And it seems from the web complaints that a sufficient number of victims do just that and in so doing make the process worthwhile for the aggressors.

    I look forward to your promised response.

    Yours sincerely,

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Rugeley Training Centre Feb 03, 2009

    Thank goodness there is someone else out there – I thought I was on my own.

    I have just about had enough of Forrester and so have my staff. We have all been reduced to tears over the last two years by the disgraceful, condescending arrogant attitude to which they speak to people, especially Gasper Kewley. I like many others cancelled my agreement within the four-year contract; this was done within two months of Forrester taking over Hypercom. I understood there would be a penalty to pay and I had no problems with that. The machine was packed up to send back but was misplaced. Phone calls were made to and from them and us and then………………the letters starting coming stating different amounts owed, some even 3 letters on the same day with all different amounts. The phone calls were abusive and I told them so. I even asked if they were recording these conversations to which they replied ‘yes’ so I told them what I thought of them, to make sure they could play it back and be sure of what I had said!! I have two businesses and even let them contact me at either place to try to take the constant abusive phone calls away from my staff. I told the staff to put the phone down if they called (and this could be many, many times a day) but Forrester would call both premises during the early morning or evening so that they could leave a message. I have a Hair and Beauty Salon and a Training Centre and so either place was not very private to talk to them so I started to email and write letters. I sent different amounts of money because I really felt threatened as I was told he would keep contacting me until he got what was owed. I thought I was a professional person who is strong enough to run two businesses on her own, but how wrong I was. After dealing with Mr Kewley’s threats for most days in one week, I broke down and had to take time off.

    I still received phone calls, just as bad as always but now had written communication for me to keep on file, probable Mr Gasper Kewley’s silliest move, as now I have his pathetic, badly spelt written correspondence. He has stated that he could do a deal with me like; if I pay this he will give a discount. I told him to get off my back and that I did not owe anything more. He had had enough payments and the machine plus the cancellation fee. Lloyds TSB even got involved with this company’s departments and Gasper Kewley by phone and letters. They could get nowhere with these people and agreed how abusive they are. This has been going on for two years and I had not heard from them for the last few weeks until today. I received recoded message from TNC with a court reference number. I did not know who they were but I called anyway. Oh for goodness sake not Forrester again!! I think I am going to be taken to court. I have never had any debt against me in my life, but I have had enough of them and so have my staff.
    I will go to court and fight them all the way. My staff and I are also considering taking action against Mr Kewley for bullying us on a regular basis.
    I will help anyone out there and would appreciate any advice on what to do but I say do what you have to do Forrester even if it is through a debt collector.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Perturbed Feb 03, 2009

    I received a letter from TNC Debt Collectors, Sloane Portland whoever today threatening me with Court action if I do not pay them within 7 days. Like all correspondents here, we honoured our contract, gave notice (after numerous telephone conversations content of which fell on deaf ears in New York, sent the (old obsolete) terminal back by courier but were still billed for rental for 2008/9 and not credited. Direct Debits have still been taken but as I cancelled, contra'd on my account. My correspondence to F Holdings has never been acknowledged in writing. I was warned by telephone by them in December that my case was being referred to their legal dept (TNC by any chance??) but I told them that they hadn't a case and were wasting their time . I have sent all copies of my letters contract to my "case worker" Melissa Harper at Sloane Portland today (by Recorded delivery) and have advised them that I will only correspond in writing via recorded delivery from them (as I cannot prove receipt of post otherwise) and will not accept telephone calls from anyone related to them. I will not pay them for a phantom debt and I will not be bullied and threatened by anyone. Please please DO NOT PAY THESE PEOPLE ( they will probably come back and ask for more if you do!) and do not be afraid of their empty threats - your case would not stand up in any UK court so it is impossible that it will go that far in any case. I too have put in a complaint to the OFT but I think that this is doing Lloyds bank no good at all and it is about time they took the case on for us. Why should we be intimidated by people who clearly work outside the law of the UK.

    1 Votes
  • Ll
    Llewelyn ap Gerald Feb 02, 2009

    Dear Everyone,

    Us too, I’m afraid.

    If you read this, contact the BBC’s Watchdog programme. It takes multiple complaints to trigger an investigation.

    Lloyds TSB gave us no option but to lease our terminal from Hypercom.

    Hypercom/Forrester UK Holdings LLC, are subsidiaries of Northern Leasing Systems Inc.

    Check the web and see the avalanche of allegations against Northern Leasing in the US for fraud and harassment.

    Northern Leasing is based at 132 West 31st Street, 14th Floor, New York, NY 10001. Tel: [protected]; fax: [protected].

    The most disgraceful and offensive call we have received so far came today, from Gasper Kewley (legal department). He claimed to be in West Drayton.

    Vice-president of Sales and Marketing, Richard Hahn ([email protected]) kindly confirmed that Mr. Kewley was in fact in New York ([email protected]).

    I am sure both gentlemen would appreciate hearing from us all, now we know where they are.

    So too, I am sure, would Chief Information Officer, Steven Bernadone ([email protected]), and CEO Jay Cohen ([email protected]).

    Those of you who were led into this by Lloyds TSB may also wish to pass on your thoughts to Eric Daniels, Chief Executive, Lloyds TSB, 25 Gresham Street, London, EC2V 7HN. Fax: [protected].

    Keep posting information on this excellent website as you get it. It is time to take the fight to the enemy.

    Llewelyn ap Gerald

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen Jan 29, 2009

    Hi
    I am amazed at the amount of people complaining. We too are now in a battle with them same as everyone else and will be happy to join any action. It may help to know that as members of the FSB we took legal advice through them which was excellent. They also advised us to report Forrester to the Office of Fair Trading due to the harassment factor and illegal demands for money. We have done this citing the Forrester UK Holdings, 363 Stockley Close, West Drayton, Middlesex, UB7 9BL address. This has now got Trading Standards involved and we will be urging them to take action. So please I ask anyone else who is having problems to do the same, the more people who report them then hopefully Trading Standards will take action against Forrester and after all the more problems we can cause them the better.
    You can contact the OFT on line and there is a free phone number.
    I too will be writing to Watchdog . Companies like this need to be held to account!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michelle preston Dec 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was shocked that so many people since my posting have the same probelm. i have also contacted watchdog today as Forrester have now issued me with a legal threat for me to pay up. They will not see a penny of my money i will fight and join anybody else who decides to fight them.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jackie Nov 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company is a total pain, we are having the same problems as everyone else. The last time they phoned and asked why I was ignoring their letters and invoices I told them I didn't think it mattered because they ignore all my letters so I am just doing the same. She was rude and arrogant with me so I was the same back to her. They can keep wasting time writing and phoning if they like but they wont get anywhere with me. Next time she calls I'm going to tell her my legal advisor has told me not to converse with them and that they will receive a letter in due course. At least we all know they wont take us to court regardless of their threats. Dont be bullied by them.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Allan Buchan Nov 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company rang me this morning demanding £193:99 to be paid by credit card within two days. I rang Keith Bennet of Global Leasing, the company that informed me that I would not have to pay a penny for changing our system, he has advised me to ignore these demands and not pay any money to Forresters. The problem I have is that my company has an A1 credit rating and For the sake of this small sum I do not want to jeopodise it. However, I have been assured by Global Leasing that they will not pursue this claim in court, they will just threaten action. I have decided to with-hold payment and see what happens. If anyone out there is planning a mass libel action, count me in.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    charlotte Nov 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have sent an email to Watchdog - I suggest everyone else does the same. National exposure on TV might do something to stop these conmen. Bullying of any kind can not be tolerated.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Peter Nov 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear All, Comforting to see i'm not the only person being hounded by these clowns. My account with Hypercom/ Forrester ended 2 years ago when i changed banks and i still get upto 10 phone calls a day demanding money. They have been rude, arrogant and insulting on the phone. They also like to lie to you. One of their goons said he was calling from Middlesex, so i asked him to send me an invoice for the amount (this is normal legal practice for any company you owe money to!). Some dodgy invoice eventually arrived - from America. When i put this to the goon and asked him to explain why he was lying to me saying he was in England, he said they go back and forth from the States. Do they think we are stupid? My advice to all is not to pay these clowns 1 penny.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    charlotte Nov 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just found a link with Northern Leasing Systems in the States - which seem even worse, if this is possible. They look to be one in the same.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    charlotte Nov 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got so sick of the phone calls earlier this year (2008) ( I closed my account with Hypercom in 2006 !) I went exdirectory. I tried to return calls made EVERY DAY by the American call centre but I only got voice mail.

    Now the legal (or illegal) notices have started coming in the post from a debt collecting agency. I called the number and had a very unpleasant guy tell me I was being taken to court unless I paid at least 50 % of the £900 I owed by next week.

    I said I don't owe any money - this is a mistake - I don't have the terminal and he said they would take me to court. Why should I pay what I don't owe! This is crazy. Who are these Forrester UK?

    I have been really upset by this but I am not giving in. I am not paying money I do not owe.

    I closed my business in Jan 2006 - everything was sorted out. Why am I being hounded in Nov 2008.

    Should we all get together & stand against these crooks? There must be something we can do! This is bullying !

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john edwards Nov 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi everyone,

    I've had enough of this company and am now baiting and abusing them.
    Tell me have ANY of you ever been taken to court by them.
    From reading the above it seems not. If that is the case I will keep on abusing them

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.