The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Fandangototal scam

E Review updated:

Fandango what a total scam! Anyone who has not bought tickets from this site do not! They are a total scam & mislead you into thinking you can save time by useing their site. All this site does is add time & headache to your movie outting. Prior to purchasing our tickets I read fandangos "terms" which said I could choose to pick my tickets up at the theater or print them out at home... Well I thought being able to purchase them online & print them out at home was the whole point!! That way we would not have to stand in those long lines on the weekend! So, I buy the tickets, print them out & they say to bring that printed out page, the exact credit card I used to purchase them with, an id & pick up the "actual tickets" at the theater... You know after you stand in that long line to do so! And the kicker is I paid an extra $2.00 "convenience charge" to do all of this! How convenient is it to have to not only stand in the line you wanted to avoid in the first place but now you have to remember to bring the "confirmation paper", the "exact credit card used" & id with, or no movie for you. They also suggest you arrive a half hour early to make sure you have enough time to get your tickets picked up. Wow what am I taking a flight or seeing a movie!?!? And did I mention fandango has a strict no refund policy!

Responses

  • De
    Derpa May 26, 2019

    Browsing Roku to sign up to watch Game of Thrones on an HBO free trial. See this Fandango and decide to browse. They want $29 each season 1-6 then $20 each for 7 and 8. LMFAO LOLOLOL. Almost $220 OMG this laughing hurts so much. Do people actually pay that? And everything else listed also has big price tags. For that much, get Netflix, Hulu, YouTube TV, Sling (not Amazon, they suck)and still have enough left for popcorn and a massage. Just browsing the Roku channel reveals this nonsense to be a scam. Sorry so many people got tricked by the theater ticket and gift card way which probably looked innocent. Reading the complaints I wouldn't give a Fandango GC to anyone I loved. Maybe someone I hated though lol. You have to provide a CC# to redeem a GC? LOL. I haven't been taken in by them and I want to sue. Lol.

    ps. Their CS reps probably hate life wishing they could help, given no way to help, then fallen into the mental trap that customers suck because it's they (the wrong people) who catch shiite all day, taking the mental toll, making them rude to the wrong people. Bad customer service is almost always the company's bad policy fault, rarely the rude employee or angry customers fault... unless the rep is millennial who thinks serving customers is a humans rights violation, which is a growing problem (smirk)

    1 Votes
  • Je
    Jeff Reddy Jul 19, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've used the service and finally accumlated enough points to use the rewards they promise. According to the email and the website the link in the email took me too, I could use a $6 credit towards one of three things.

    1. Movie Tickets
    2. On-line movie streaming service
    3. Merchandise

    Well, I already have Netflix, Sling and a few other streaming services, so I'm not interested in that. I don't want Fandango merchandise (movie posters), so that left Movie Tickets. I selected that option, and it went to an error screen. Tried again, the same thing happened. I tried a few more times and gave up. Fast forward a day, surely it would be working now. Tried again and still an error. This went on for 3 days. Finally, on day 4, it worked, only it gave me a $6 credit for streaming, not for tickets. I opened a support ticket with Fandango to fix this and they said, sorry, not our problem, you will have to get more points and try again. The worst customer service experience I've ever had. What a shady company. I hope they fail and someone else comes up with a better option, because these guys are terrible.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bill Bacon May 10, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Fandango somehow got access to my credit card and auto withdrew money from my account for 3 years. The charge on my statement made it look like it was for gas due to it being named similarly to a place I get fuel. I only caught it when I saw the charge listed next to the place I get gas and realized it wasn't an authorized charge. I called them to get my money back.. about $350 and they refused saying that I was a valid member to their site. I asked them to show me my last login to that site or use of their service and they could not. They then agreed to give a partial refund if I filled in a form asking for all of my personal info (So they could sell it) and agree not to pursue legal action. I refused.

    I then called my bank at the time (Bank of America) for help and they refused to help me reverse the charges. Needless to say I pulled all of my money from the bank and have never paid for another movie ticket again.

    0 Votes
  • Ow
    owiagwbwawg Jan 14, 2018

    I've purchased tickets several times from Fandango with the promise of a "free gift" (usually a poster), which I thought I'd just give to my kids. Never on any occasion have I received a free gift. This silly advertising ploy is a scam and a con. Clearly, there isn't a single freebie in the entire "warehouse" at jolly ol' "Fandango headquarters."

    Fandango is just the movie version of TicketMaster. Avoid, avoid!

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • To
    Topher12 May 08, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These people ripped me off totally! I bought tickets for a show on one day and when I got to the theater they said it was for a show the previous day. THEY BOOKED ME INTO A SHOW THAT HAD ALREADY PASSED THE DAY BEFORE! That was FIVE tickets - A LOT OF MONEY. When I contacted them they told me that if I make a dispute they will BAN ME FROM THEIR SERVICE. Since when is making a dispute grounds for banning someone? These people are a TOTAL SCAM and a TOTAL RIP OFF. DO NOT EVER USE THEM!

    1 Votes
  • Jl
    JLD1122# Jan 28, 2017

    I have been given 2 fandango gift cards 1-15.00 & 1-25.00 and either has worked. After completing the movie selection and entering the required information along with credit card for payment of balance I never got a completion and confirmation. Then when attempting to re-enter I get a message that the card has already been used. Later I found out my credit card was successfully charged for the difference. Calling the telephone number on the the card is a fraud also; no one every comes to the line or you are told there is a 25 minute (regardless of the time of day) nd final another auto message comes on with a different phone number. What a scam. People should start boycotting movie theaters that support Fandango. The next time you get a Fandango gift card re-gift it to someone you don't actually care for.

    1 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer38085 Dec 12, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Total Hastle Hidden fee upon redemption Waste of money and time Do your loved ones a favor and NEVER buy a Fandango gift card. Total rip off.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    MakFlorida Oct 30, 2015

    Someone gave us a gift card and now they won't stop spamming us. I've unsubscribed, tried to email them and tried to contact them through their Facebook page. Most of the spam doesn't have an unsubscribe option.

    1 Votes
  • No
    nooodango Jul 27, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had a similar experience using Fandango to purchase tickets to a movie 30 minutes prior to the movie started. Missed the movie. In most cases companies give your a refund with no problem or at the very least credit/voucher. They did not even respond to my email request for a refund until a weeks after I filed a report on the Better Business Bureau. Still no refund :(
    I have found many different website complaints about them. I'm spreading the news and will not stop till I've reached a few that change their minds about them.

    Sincerely,
    Pissed off customer

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    mikezoomer Jan 16, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased 4 $25.00 gift cards for $20.00 each thinking I was saving money. The next day I attempted to purchase 2 tickets @ $7.50 each but was hit with a surcharge of $2.70. That turns a 20% discount into a 3% discount.

    I elected not to finish the purchase thinking I could get a refund if I was not happy. Especially since I just purchased them and they were never used.

    On their site "Find Answers" states the following.

    How can I get a refund or exchange for the purchase I made?
    Fandango and our theater partners both have a No Refund policy. However, in certain situations we can make a one-time exception.

    So I figure that this was one of those "Certain Situation" would apply. Boy was I ever wrong.

    Per customer service the one time exemption only applies if you want to change electronic gift cards for physical gift cards. But wait it gets better. You have to purchase the physical gift cards before you can apply for the refund.

    A very very unhappy customer,
    Two thumbs down to Fandango!!!

    2 Votes
  • De
    DeclanZ Oct 15, 2013

    Gosh, no way to delete or edit a comment after you post? Anyhow, that was to read I'm NOW being spammed by Fandango.

    0 Votes
  • De
    DeclanZ Oct 15, 2013

    Well I had no problem with the tickets but I'm now being spammed by Fandango.

    I never joined or signed up.

    The 'unsubscribe' link asks me to log in or join a site I don't want to join I just want to unsubscribe.

    E-mails to customer service requesting they unsubscribe me keep being bounced back.

    Someone take these people to court.

    1 Votes
  • De
    DeclanZ Oct 15, 2013

    Well I had no problem with the tickets but I'm not being spammed by Fandango.

    I never joined or signed up.

    The 'unsubscribe' link asks me to log in or join a site I don't want to join I just want to unsubscribe.

    E-mails to customer service requesting they unsubscribe me keep being bounced back.

    Someone take these people to court.

    1 Votes
  • Lg
    Lgray Jul 25, 2013

    Fandango charged my credit card for the "convenience fee" and THEN showed me the fee -- no way for me to cancel the tickets!! UNETHICAL !! ILLEGAL ????

    1 Votes
  • An
    angelica alexis Dec 05, 2012

    Not only did I submit a complaint with the Better Business Bureau (and get a refund), but I just submitted on to the Federal Trade Commission: https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/. I recommend that all of you do this as well.

    1 Votes
  • An
    angelica alexis Dec 04, 2012

    I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau yesterday. I forwarded it to Fandango and was notified immediately that I would be given a full refund within 3-5 days. This was after being told a) that they don't give refunds, even though the error was on their side/the theater's part and b) that it would take 5-7 days to get a response (not a refund, mind you, but a response to my query). In my case, I had shown up at the theater and the screening was cancelled. The theater told me only Fandango could issue a refund. Fandango's phone system indicated people cannot get refunds. This would deter any unsaavy customer from going further (or anyone who doesn't have the time to be persistent). I called and a representative said she had no power to issue refunds. Fandango is a large scam. Everyone on this site should file a complaint with the BBB and consider a class action.

    2 Votes
  • Sc
    scarpetta1 Jan 21, 2012

    For the second time in a year I have gotten zip code does not match error. This time I reentered info only once before remembering what happened before. The first time I was trying to purchase six tickets and tried a second card. They put a hold on my account for more than 150.00 and did not remove it until I made them fax a release to my bank. I called this time and got Stephanie who said it was not a fandango error (message when you first call was if you have received zip code error hold on funds will be released within 24-48 hours) but a bank error. Guess everyone uses the same bank who buys from fandango. Rude. Customer service rep told me to stop interrupting and listen. Had she listened she would have gotten that this was not the first time so I didn't need her script. I have learned my lesson this time. I think they are running a scam

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    jaclinhyde May 29, 2011

    Ok gang here is a scoop for you. I used to work in the call center for this company so I know how you can get your money back. There are two things they don't want to hear that will result in an immediate refund: lawyer is the first but because a lot of people don't like to pull that card you can also use the "my UNDERAGE son/daughter placed this order without my knowledge." Bingo, instant refund. If this is not the first time they have charged you make sure you say that you want ALL the charges they placed on your card refunded. If you don't say that then they will only refund the last debit they made to your account. I hope this helps!

    7 Votes
  • Ty
    TylerJames Jan 07, 2011

    I purchase tickets for my daughter and 4 friends gave her the print out but not my credit card. The were refused the tickets. I even spoke to the theater manager while they were there. They had to purchase new tickets now fandango is refusing to credit my account even though no service or merchandise was received for my money.

    I think a lawsuit needs to be filed against Fandango. I do not care about the funds I lost it is the point that a company can operator like this in the United States. If attorney out there wants to do a class auction I will contribute funds to help with the legal costs. Just leave contact information.

    6 Votes
  • Bu
    Bucker wid an "F" Jan 05, 2011

    I wish I had checked Fandango prior to purchasing the Bucks (delete the letter "B" in Bucks and replace with the letter "F"). I just off the phone with their customer service and was told that each purchase would be charged the "convenience fee". I spent $21 thinking I would get $25 of movie tickets...my current balance is now $8.50!!! The Kicker is when I purchase future tickets thru Fandango I won't have enough bucks to pay for the tickets and the fee so I must use my credit card again. YES, this is definitely a RIP OFF!!! I feel so darn stupid for being sucked in!!!

    2 Votes
  • Pa
    patricia gray-conrad Jul 28, 2010

    I purchased movie tickets from this company and this company saved my credit card information and gave it to another online company.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    SusanTree Aug 26, 2009

    I couldn't agree with you more.
    I linked to F. through my Discover Card, because of a 10% Cashback reward, which would get me $2 on a $20 purchase. My big complaint is that it's not made clear before you puchase the Fandango "bucks", that you will be charged a convenience fee (of $1 pertcket, so there went the $2 I thought I'd be saving).
    And, as you said, you don't even get the "convenience" that you paid that fee for of printing out your own ticket, which the purchase site clearly says that you can do.
    FALSE ADVERTISING!

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Christina_Ohio Jul 11, 2009

    I have used this service very successfully! Purchased tickets on my iPhone using the Fandango Ap. I was able to buy tickets on the road, while the movie was selling out everywhere. Walked right in, got tickets a kiosk and saw the movie.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.