Ecoin.sg Yishunwarning

R Apr 10, 2018 Review updated:

There have been many terrible reviews about this China Based shop located around Singapore. One of which I've had made the worst mistake of my life, and thus losing more than half a thousand bucks.

I'd like to share my experience with everyone so that there will hopefully be no more "victims". If you're one of those who trust people easily and can't say no to others, please pay special attention.

This store used the usual tactics. Opening promotions: haircut SGD$1 for members $3 for non members. Just the thing I was in need of a haircut. So I entered the store and was served within 6minutes of waiting by this woman who I thought was so strange that can only speak Chinese. (I am terrible with that language so I explained that I'm bad with Chinese. But she continued speaking in that language.)

We began with a simple haircut, rather long, about 12 minutes or so. Occasionally she would pop a few questions like are you working, have you applied for member, etc, and of course...in Chinese.

After the hair cut was where it began. She requested for my help. "Handsome come and help me awhile" direct translation from her Chinese statement.

Now here's the thing. She had asked me about my life abit and if I like to help people. I suspected nothing while she found out I'm a student volunteer. So naturally I'm accustomed to helping people when they needed. So when I thought she needed help, I stood up immediately and went with her.

She pop me up in another seat and started to use some strange machine to scan/zoom into my scalp. There was a monitor to show how the roots of my hair, etc. Here she explain how my roots are damaged etc etc (I understood nothing since it was explained in Chinese...)

Without asking for my consent she started applying some cream onto my scalp, explaining that this treatment from the usual 259 bucks is now at a discounted price of $59.

Now here's the tricky part. She had already applied the cream which is the start of the treatment. So I'm like. Hello, you apply the cream already then you tell me the price. Here she's like don't worry don't worry, I'll remove the cream now.

Then she started applying more cream to my hair, saying it will be over shortly, and placed this huge machine over my head. It was nice. She even offered Chinese tea. At this point in time I'm already bewildered, but under their spell since I can't go out of their shop with my hair full of cream.

After 10minutes of being under that machine. She took me to wash my hair. It wasn't that bad. We came out after a while she started using a hairdryer to blow dry my hair.

At this time is where the scam begins.

She'll lead you to the cashier for payment. But she'll say in order for the scalp to be clean and the treatment to be successful, you'll need to undergo this treatment 10 more times!

This is a lie. I'm afraid I'm just too stupid to reject the offer. I mean, they offered an additional 2 treatments, making it 12 more of such treatments in total, and made the treatment that I just had free.in addition, they said that anyone can just go into the saloon for such a treatment if they knew my date of birth and my phone number.

Not a bad offer right? Plus my friends can use it too.

Here. Somehow I'm already taking out my card to make payment of 600 bucks. It was only after payment was made, then I started to realize a few things.

1) You don't need 10 treatments for it to be successful. 1 is enough. More than necessary. Your scalp is already cleaned. Just make sure it stays that way.

2) Do you know how easy it is to obtain someone's DOB and Phone number these days? Once they know you're a member... Hey sir can you fill out this survey form for me. Boom. 10 treatments gone.

3) This is the thing that aroused my suspicions. Minutes after leaving the store, my hair started to itch and my head hurts like mad. (I won't say unbearable.)

Apparently they don't allow refunds.

I'm writing this online as a lesson for myself. Many people will be complaining saying my complain is biased, racist etc. But trust me, I don't mean it. I'm saying that it could happen to anyone. I only found out it was based in China via online reviews and searches.

Here's some takeaways.
1) If you're new to something. Research first. The first thing I see when I search Ecoin on Google is: avoid this shop. I'm not kidding.

2) Don't go around helping people who don't look like they need help. "Need to rush off somewhere" is a good tactic to use.

3) Be careful of what you reveal to others. It can be used against you.

Cheerios. Stay safe, be smart.

warning
warning
warning
warning

Responses

  • Co
    Coins Mastermas May 03, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have same situation with you ..I top up 580 ..just wanted to use the top up asap..May I know how to pm you..we can go down to the shop together..

    -4 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs Susan Chua Sep 23, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Complaints against the e-coin hair salon in Yishun again and again! Those female hair so-called hair stylist target my husband who is too soft & gullible! Tried to sweet talk him into buying a hair treatment when he is already in his mid 60s, how can he be having so much hair on his balding scalp?! SHOULD STOP THOSE WOMEN HAIRSTYLISTS FROM TARGETING THOSE IN THEIR 60s, especially MEN!

    3 Votes
  • An
    A Na Feb 24, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are a bunch of cheats!
    I wanted dye my hair and try out the ecoins at Yishun. I asked the sales woman standing outside the salon how much it would cost and she asked me if I were a member to which I clearly said, "No".
    Then she said the cost to dye hair for my hair length was $39/-... I decided to go ahead with it but did not have enough time as I had to rush off elsewhere at that moment (thank goodness for that!) therefore, I told her I'd return later.
    Later that same day, I went back to that salon and I checked with the counter staff again of the price to dye my hair and guess what she said? "$69/-"
    I wasn't that surprised because I had a bad feeling of this place. I asked her, "someone from your salon told me $39/- earlier, how is it that you are telling me it's $69/- now?"
    To which she replied, "Oh, that's member price!"
    Err... Excuse me? Didn't I clearly mention to the earlier sales woman that am NOT a member?! Which part of that was so hard to comprehend?
    This is clearly a sales tactic. If I had not checked again, I would have sat there for them to dye my hair and would have charged me $69 and I would have been shocked to death and in that dilemma, they will sell their membership and pretend to make an "offer" of $10 or so if I do sign up their package.
    Wow! If this isn't daily light robbery, I don't know what is!
    Just stay away from this cheating place. I hope someone takes an action to close this place down asap!

    0 Votes
  • Kh
    Kholem Oct 11, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @A Na Date: Oct 11, 2020
    Attention to all:

    I have been a client of Ecoin. mainly at Yishun and Bugis for a few years now.

    Last year, I bought a package of 12 treatments (12x$49), topping up the colour of my hair with scalp treatment. I was given detailed information before I bought the package. I am not charged for any haircut with this package.

    My hair tends to be dry and the rate of growth had slowed down drastically over the past years.

    The strands especially at the back of my head and the fringe actually had broken off and split ends were very common.
    Since the scalp treatment, my hair has shown a visible improvement.
    The rate of growth of my hair has increased and my hair definitely has more volume and shine and is softer now.

    My hairstylist is very careful and skilled in her work. I have not faced any attempt to withhold information or use any form of trickery.

    I am not saying that the negative experiences of those who had made online complaints are lying.

    I am sure there are negative experiences.

    I can only vouch for myself because the condition of my hair has certainly improved. I believe it is only right to give credit when credit is due.

    This is the reason why I am writing this today to share my positive experiences at Ecoin.

    There will be inefficient and unprofessional and insincere hairstylists but since I have been blessed to encounter a few hairstylists from Ecoin, [email protected] and @Yishun, I wish to inform the public that Ecoin charges are still manageable for me and the staff are courteous and would pay attention to my requests/reminders.

    Check the prices of scalp treatments and other kinds of hair treatment, you will know that what Ecoin charges are reasonable.

    This year (June 2020), I bought the shampoo for Hair loss. I also bought the other 3 types; for oily scalp, flaky scalp and sensitive scalp.

    The Hair Loss shampoo certainly showed positive effects.
    I gave some bottles of it to some people. Two months later, one of them asked me to get more for her as she wanted to give to her friends.
    I called a few branches to inquire about the Hair Loss shampoo as the one in my hometown did not have the stock.

    This is how much demand there is for this shampoo because of its positive effect.

    By the way, I have not been paid or asked by any staff of Ecoin to write the above. If this was so, why didn't Ecoin get me to write earlier when these complaints surfaced?

    I am a client, believe it or not.

    Just because so far, there have not been positive reviews about the services and personnel of Ecoin does not mean no clients have been satisfied.

    I am

    A Satisfied Ecoin client

    1 Votes
  • Be
    Beautyblogger88 Oct 30, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dont step into this store. U will never feel welcome at amk. A crazy staff.. shop not a lot of ppl.. also ask me to stand at a corner to wait.. she told me to see a doc to say im crazy when she thinks i took pic of her.. i took pix of the shop to show boss.. but i think her boss wont care.. hiding in the midst of staff.. bad attitude.. dont bother go

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.