Menu
Cox Business Customer Service Phone, Email, Contacts
Cox Business
reviews & complaints

Cox Business
reviews & complaints

Cox Business Complaints Summary

11 Resolved
0 Unresolved
Our verdict: With Cox Business's perfect complaints resolution rate, you can expect exemplary service. However, it's beneficial to read beyond the numbers. Explore detailed customer reviews to understand the context behind their success. Familiarize yourself with the full range of services offered by Cox Business and prepare clear communication for any interactions. Keeping a personal record of your dealings will help you navigate their services effectively and ensure your satisfaction with their performance.
File a complaint
Write a review
Verified
The authenticity of the customer service contact information for Cox Business has been meticulously verified by representatives from ComplaintsBoard using our proprietary verification system.
Click here to get notifications about new complaints of Cox Business. We promise not to send you any unrelated messages
Share
Claim Your Business
Take control of your profile: address complaints and engage with reviews

Cox Business complaints 11

Sort by:

Newest Cox Business reviews & complaints

ComplaintsBoard
H
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Cox Business has left an official reply on this complaint.

Cox Business I have been a loyal customer of *** Communication for over *** December my

I have been a loyal customer of *** Communication for over *** December my recording option began to malfunction by cutting off the end of the programs I am recording. I have called *** numerous times for assistance and they have sent several field technicians out to fix the problem. Unfortunately, the problem has never been solved. In January I was told that the experts in *** would contact me to solve the problem, I have not been contacted by anyone from ***. I have been a very patient and accommodating customer but enough is enough. I want this problem fixed as soon as possible.

Read full review of Cox Business and 3 comments
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
3 comments
Add a comment
J
J
J. Kovacek
,
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

In March - June we had work done by *** Communications as we leased an additional suite, Suite H, on our block. However, the work has not been completed and I cannot receive any responses via email, phone, or otherwise. At this time: 1 phone line is not working, 1 fax line is not working, we would like to order headphones We are paying customers of *** in 2 locations and not receiving communication from them or able to reach them (phone just rings, chat "down", emails unanswered for months).

P
P
P. Kshlerin
,
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Cox Business Rewards agents agents.Unfortunately I joined COX Business, the service overall is horrible! THE COMPLAINT I HAVE AT THIS MOMENT IS STRICTLY ABOUT BUSINESS REWARDS.My next complaint will be due to open and UNRESOLVED TICKETS.I received a $100 rewards after signing up.I received my REWARDS card $100 and my 1st purchase was for $52.98 and it went through.2nd purchase was declined. for $30.88. Avail bal. $0.18. I called to get assistance and the agent accessed my account and due to poor customer service he disconnected my call 10/20 4:39 pst. I had to call back and now I am on the phone with someone who continuously interrupted me while I was speaking. Another employee who forgot the rules. So he also FAILED. I told him to STOP interrupting me. We both need to be heard and right now I am speaking. I wanted the Corp Address and he gave me ***. I asked for a supervisor and he disconnected my call at 5:07 pm 10/20.I WILL NEVER ACCEPT POOR SVC.

I
I
I. Lebsack
,
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I placed my service on hold in 2020 as we were remodeling our home, I was asked to return the equipment from *** which my wide did to the local store in ***. At the store due to Covid she was told there was no receipt given that the store would email me the return information. In July this year I cancelled the account with *** as we moved to Texas, I received a final *** that says I didn't return the equipment that I mentioned above. I have talked at least 6 times with *** trying to settle this and they continue to say there is nothing they can do I have to prove I returned the equipment.I am now getting threats of sending me to collection over this matter, Ive been a *** customer for over 30 years never had any issues about payments etc. and I will not pay for equipment that was returned last year. Its not my fault during Covid the *** store didn't credit my account for the return.

ComplaintsBoard
C
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Cox Business has left an official reply on this complaint.

Cox Business I was promised a monthy payment of $220 a month for 2 phone lines, a fax line and internet in October last year

I was promised a monthy payment of $220 a month for 2 phone lines, a fax line and internet in October last year. Two months later a different person spoke to the business owner (my 80 year old mother) and sold her on 100Mbps internet connection in spite of the fact that we had a 10M connection for years. The bill is now $320 a month plus tax. This is a two person office where we only read email and do internet searches. We don't need such a quick connection and never have. There's no way my mother would know the difference in speeds. The salesman took advantage of an elderly woman. I am just noticing this months later as I am not full time in the office.

Read full review of Cox Business and 2 comments
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
2 comments
Add a comment
E
E
E. Kunde
,
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

has advertised and has been collecting money for the emergency broadband benefit and not been applying it. They are stealing funds for this program and say they cant figure out why its not on there. They received verification that I was eligible and it should have been added as of 5/26. Add the emergency broadband benefit and back date it now!

D
D
D. Haag
,
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

auto-renewed our contract for three years without letting us know about it during the pandemic lockdown in Nov 2020. In OCT 2021, we changed our business location and contacted *** to disconnect our service. The representative asked me if we renewed our contract, and I said NO. After 15 days, we received a *** for $9305 after several calls and almost 6 hours on the phone, they just sounded confused as me and one week later sent us to the collection.

ComplaintsBoard
A
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Cox Business has left an official reply on this complaint.

Cox Business My family and I unfortunately were forced to sign up for *** Communication when we moved only 5 miles away from our previous address

My family and I unfortunately were forced to sign up for *** Communication when we moved only 5 miles away from our previous address. Now we not only pay more but have a data cap limit. I used to pay the same price with no limit. Now we are getting charged more with small kids in the house that need *** for school. We need the *** to survive and not for gaming or entertainment. It is not OK that they charge $50 for unlimited data. We need to be able to choose our internet provider. Spectrum is a much better company and this monopoly is unfair to single home families and how internet is a necessity for us and our children in order to survive in school and work. *** needs to seriously reconsider their data cap policy. I will be writing my congress person and representative to bring awareness to this situation and problem.

Read full review of Cox Business and 2 comments
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
2 comments
Add a comment
A
A
A. Gibson
,
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have now spent over 7 hours trying to set up my internet service with Cox after moving. The service was scheduled to begin Sunday, May 2. I signed up for "self install" because I am using my own equipment and have successfully set up internet myself at previous addresses with carriers other than Cox in the past. At no point was I ever sent instructions on how to complete the self-install. I spent two hours using the Cox messenger app Sunday evening to come to the conclusion that my modem wasn't compatible with the plan I purchased. I assume responsibility, but this shouldn't have taken 2 hours to figure out. I spent 3 hours with support Monday evening (May 3). I spoke with 2 different CSRs via the same chat app, and 3 different CSRs on the phone. Every single phone call was disconnected during the call. Every single rep asked me for the exact same information (S/N, MAC #, model #). I was told multiple times my account was activated, but internet never worked. I'm out of characters

G
G
G. Waters
,
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I am a small business owner and I own and operate a chiropractic and massage business. I entered into a 36 month phone and internet service agreement with Cox Business Communications 11/16 in order to lower my monthly bills during the pandemic. I was unable to keep my business open through the Covid pandemic due to financial hardship and so I permanently closed my clinic and terminated services with *** 6/29. *** has demanded that I pay the balance of the three year agreement even though they will no longer be providing service for this clinic. The balance is $4,727. They offered to allow me to carry the contract to a new business but I do not have a new business to carry it over to. I am willing to pay a prorated *** but they are not offering this option. I don't know if it is even legal for *** to make this demand, it is certainly not fair or ethical. Please help!

Is Cox Business legit?

Our verdict: Cox Business has achieved a rare feat of perfection in legitimacy, as per the rigorous analysis conducted by Complaints Board. This achievement underscores Cox Business's position as a benchmark of trust and quality within its industry. Users and clients of Cox Business can engage with its offerings, confident in the knowledge that they are dealing with a top-tier, fully legitimized company.

Cox Business earns 100% level of Trustworthiness

Perfect Trust Endorsement: Cox Business achives 100% ligitmacy per Complaints Board. Highly recommended, yet always stay vigilant.

Cox Business resolved 100% of 11 negative reviews, its exceptional achievement and a clear indication of the company's unwavering commitment to customer satisfaction. It would suggest that the company has invested heavily in customer service resources, training, and infrastructure, as well as developed an effective complaint resolution process that prioritizes customer concerns.

Coxbusiness.com has a valid SSL certificate, which indicates that the website is secure and trustworthy. Look for the padlock icon in the browser and the "https" prefix in the URL to confirm that the website is using SSL.

Our scan shows Cox Business website is free from malware and phishing activities, which are types of online threats that can include viruses, worms, Trojan horses, ransomware, and other malicious code, as social engineering tactics used to trick users into sharing their personal information.

We looked up Cox Business and found that the website is receiving a high amount of traffic. This could be a sign of a popular and trustworthy website, but it is still important to exercise caution and verify the legitimacy of the site before sharing any personal or financial information

Coxbusiness.com regularly updates its policies to reflect changes in laws, regulations. These policies are easy to find and understand, and they are written in plain language that is accessible to all customers. This helps customers understand what they are agreeing to and what to expect from Cox Business.

However ComplaintsBoard has detected that:

  • There was some difficulty in evaluating or examining the information or data present on the coxbusiness.com. This could be due to technical issues, limited access, or website may be temporarily down for maintenance or experiencing technical difficulties.
ComplaintsBoard
A
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Cox Business has left an official reply on this complaint.

Cox Business I'm an independent IT consultant and I asked *** to please fix the online account problem where they have the wrong *** account associated with

I'm an independent IT consultant and I asked *** to please fix the online account problem where they have the wrong *** account associated with an email address. They recommended solving this through text message, which I attempted on 4 different occasions. They managed to make the problem worse, so i tried calling support and after speaking with 3 different agents, they can't figure out how to fix the problem. I have emailed my contact at the sales department asking for the supervisor of the billing department. No response. Now I'm stuck with a serious problem where one of my clients logs into their *** account and only sees one of their two accounts, because an incompetent support rep has deleted one of their accounts. (law office of ***) I do plan to file a lawsuit if this is not rectified in a timely manner.

Read full review of Cox Business
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
R
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Cox Business has left an official reply on this complaint.

Cox Business On March 26th *** service went down in the area (not the first time)

On March 26th *** service went down in the area (not the first time). It failed in the morning and was out all day. They promised the issue would be resolved by 2:59pm. It was not. At 3pm, they then promised it would be resolved by 6:10pm. It was not.I called them Saturday morning March 27, spend a lot of time on the phone with support, crawling around, unplugging and re-starting things. Nothing worked. They said the earliest they could send a technician was Sunday morning.At that point, I cancelled the service. The *** service was failed, and their support was extremely slow (requiring days to wait and muck around with it.)I was happy to move on to a service that actually works. However, they are charging me a $60 early cancellation fee! I think that is unfair since it was they who breached the contract first by not providing the *** service.I would like the $60 fee to be waived.

Read full review of Cox Business
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
S
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Cox Business has left an official reply on this complaint.

Cox Business I have had billing problems with *** online

I have had billing problems with *** online. On the website they say my payment has been done successfully, unfortunately they don't provide me with a confirmation number. A few days later they tell me that they never received the payment. I call the bank and they say they didn't make a payment to *** but I always make sure I call the bank's automated system to ensure the payment went through. Which it did. Because it gave me an amount lower than the one I previously had. So where's my money going? And when I called *** again telling them that I want to cancel the service their system is conveniently down. And they told me their call center is located in ***. They asked me for my social security number at the beginning of the service contract, I was hesitant but they said my information was secure in their system so I have them the number. Dumb I know. Can you help me please? . Thank you.

Read full review of Cox Business
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
V
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Cox Business has left an official reply on this complaint.

Cox Business I have called three times to *** Residential, and was told that my cancellation fee's would be credited

I have called three times to *** Residential, and was told that my cancellation fee's would be credited. . . An email just emailed to me said my account is now past due. But when I contacted *** they told me I was denied the "request" and that the $200.00 plus a late fee was still due. I gave names and dates of people whom promised this would be taken off my account last time prior to today was February 17th with *** whom I explained that the woman who I called to cancel over the phone with initially told me that the charge would be credited.I told *** how unhappy I am with their lack of communication and that I felt at this point since they never got back to me AND they have told me that they would credit the account. Plus everyone is hurting due to COVID-19 and this was super unprofessional to expect me to pay a late fee when *** told me that it would be "taken care of". I never agreed to the OCT 2020 2 yr contract.

Read full review of Cox Business
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
S
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Cox Business has left an official reply on this complaint.

Cox Business In April this year, *** had taken over the management of the ***, from ***

In April this year, *** had taken over the management of the ***, from ***. There have been four different parties-employees of both the previous management firm, as well as *** (BPM) that have submitted the appropriate documentation to have the phone/internet accounts switched over. See attached. Not only has Cox failed to do so in a timely manner, they have interrupted services, leaving the Community venerable, despite payments being made. On July 1 our Community phone was shut off. After speaking to four different reps, I was forced to put the payment on my personal credit card. Since then, BPM has resubmitted all the documents previously and we have reached out to numerous representatives, to no avail. At this point, I need a member of the Executive Management team to contact me directly to ensure there is no interruption of services until this issue is resolved.

Read full review of Cox Business
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
M
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Cox Business has left an official reply on this complaint.

Cox Business Wed. Jan 6 I had an appointment with Cox to install a Contour box between 1pm and 3pm

Wed. Jan 6 I had an appointment with Cox to install a Contour box between 1pm and 3pm. At 3:45 no one showed or called. I called Cox. They got in touch with the dispatcher. I got a call about 4:15 from a technicion saying he would be there by 4:30. He was on his way. No one showed or called. I called Cox ( I had to tell my story 8 times. I was hung up on, too.) I was informed I had been rescheduled for the 9th--3 days later. ( I was originally suppose to have this done in September when I moved down to Encinitas) I was furious. I demanded to speak to the manager. I put in a formal complaint and told someone from upper ranks would call me . They never did. Thurs Jan 7 I called Cox again (in all 8 times!) I requested the manager. A woman answered and then hung up on me. I called again. This time the manager was male. He said he had no one to come until Friday. This is horrible, and I see from the complaints, my experience with Cox is not exclusive . Customers should not be treated this way and be charged $100. I should not have to pay for HBOMax for at least a month. Please help me.

Read full review of Cox Business
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
M
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Cox Business has left an official reply on this complaint.

Cox Business I have been with *** for years

I have been with *** for years. I moved in November and transferred my service. Not one *** representative informed me that in transferring my service it would put me in a 1 year contract. I was not on a contract before and no one informed me otherwise, so I was under the impression that I was not on a contract. The current plan that I am on through ***, is not enough bandwidth, however when I contacted the sales department, my next option was $32 more per month, which I cannot afford. On January 26, I contacted *** via their live agent on their website. I specifically asked if I was on a contract and they told me "no". I have a copy of the chat transcript as proof. Based on that information that I was provided by a *** representative, I went ahead and switched internet providers. Today (1/29), 3 days after I was told that I was NOT on a contract, I called to cancel my service. At that time I was informed that there would be a $90 early termination fee because of my contract, which began the day I moved. I spoke with 3 different customer service agents, the last one being a supervisor, named *** They told me that because there was a note in their system and on my ***, I should have know that I was on a contract. It is NOT my responsibility to review my monthly *** with a fine toothed comb to confirm whether I am on a contract or not. It is *** responsibility to inform me at the beginning, so I can choose whether I want a contract or not. *** told me that it is a valid charge and he cannot waive it. It is not a valid charge and I should not have to pay it. It was honestly one of the worst customer service experiences I have ever had. If I can report them to more than the ComplaintsBoard.com, I will.

Read full review of Cox Business
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
E
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Cox Business has left an official reply on this complaint.

Cox Business I was relieved to be able to apply for low cost internet to keep my distance learning children able to attend class even though times have been

I was relieved to be able to apply for low cost internet to keep my distance learning children able to attend class even though times have been more than tough lately. My current *** of $107 per month would reduce to els than $20, i was relieved. I submitted my required paperwork 12/19, but logging in 12/21, I didn't see my application submitted so I re-applied and resubmitted the paperwork. *** didn't follow up, and when I logged in the first week of January, in it stated that my order was cancelled! I quickly called in and spoke to a young woman who stated that my paperwork was received but couldn't tell me what what holding things up, stating things may take a few days to clear up. I received an email yesterday, stating that there was a problem with my order, to please call in. I called this morning and spoke someone who stated I was going to have to reapply because it's now been over 30 days with out following up. Wrong, I explained, I did follow *** in early January. Then I was told that the "free lunch" letter I submitted was invalid because I had written my name on with sharpie. I explained that my husband had submitted the app, same address, and that was why his name was typed and mine wasn't, just written. And there is apparently a problem with my childrens report cards because its addressed to them and not me. Well this is all I have!I am so upset right now as I feel especially in this time of desperate need, they are thinking about their bottom line and really don't care to keep low income kids connected to the internet and school. I am now being told I have to reapply with out any retroactive lower cost service "because it's a government service" but *** dropped the ball, so why is my family being punished for their lack of responsibility

Read full review of Cox Business
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review

Overview of Cox Business customer experience

Cox Business has faced a plethora of consumer complaints over the years. Numerous customers have reported issues with poor customer service, unresponsive technical support, and frequent service outages. Some have also complained about hidden fees and unexpected price increases. Additionally, some customers have reported difficulty in canceling their services or receiving refunds. Overall, Cox Business has a poor track record when it comes to meeting customer expectations and providing reliable, transparent services.
Trust badge
Collect Your Trust Badge
Be recognized for outstanding customer service

Cox Business contacts

Phone number

+1 (619) 269-2000

Website

www.coxbusiness.com

Elevating the Voice of the Consumer

Empowering Real Complaints

At ComplaintsBoard, we understand the impact of genuine consumer grievances. Our platform is a dedicated space for authentic voices, where complaints, both positive and negative, are shared with honesty and transparency.

Dedicated to Validating Complaints

We are committed to ensuring the authenticity of every complaint. Our team uses rigorous verification methods to confirm that each complaint stems from a real customer experience, maintaining the integrity of our platform.

Encouraging Detailed Complaint Narratives

We value complaints accompanied by concrete evidence. Be it a photo, a detailed narrative, or additional documentation, such substantiation lends credibility to your complaint, aiding others in making informed decisions.

Balanced and Constructive Dialogue

ComplaintsBoard is more than a platform for airing grievances; it's a community where balanced dialogue is encouraged. We welcome complaints that not only point out issues but also recognize any positive interactions, promoting a fair and comprehensive perspective.

A Free and Impartial Platform for Complaints

Our unwavering commitment is to provide a free and unbiased platform for all complaints. Every complaint is given equal importance, ensuring your concerns are heard and respected, irrespective of their nature.