Cove Angels / DoodleLitters.com Logo

Cove Angels / DoodleLitters.com

Having problems with Cove Angels / DoodleLitters.com?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

49 Cove Dr.
Taunton, Massachusetts
United States - 02780
MonClosed
TueClosed
Wed10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thu10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Fri10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sat10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Complaints & Reviews

dog breeder

I purchased our beloved double doodle from Cove Angels in December 2015 for my husband because he took the loss of our previous doodle so hard. I explained to Kerry on the phone that my intention was to purchase that day and to bring the puppy home as she only had one left. Upon arriving at her home I informed her how our previous doodle had passed away from intestinal lymphoma. She brought in a very young puppy, not the one I was there for, and really tried to push that puppy on me. I kept telling her that the puppy was very cute but I was there to bring the other one she told me about home because it was old enough to go to a forever home. She kept insisting that the young puppy would be a better choice! After about a half an hour I insisted that I see the one that I came to get. They finally brought her into me and she was exactly what I was looking for. just a month and a half after her fourth birthday we had to put her down due to complications from chemo therapy for lymphoma! Now when I think back about how she tried to push that other puppy on me I often wonder if there was something that she knew in regards to the bloodlines of our precious double doodle.

Golden doodle breeder

My husband and I drove three hours for a scheduled appt, made several days beforehand. When we arrived there was noone on the premises. We had called 30 minutes beforehand to say, to a man that answered, that we ran into traffic but would be there shortly. After waiting and knocking and no one answering the door, I called the number again. I explained we had an appt and had driven threehours in traffic to get there and noone was there.The gentleman rudely dismissed me and said I was not in his appt book. He explained he was kerry's father and was in Rhode Island and had not taken any such message. I said i talked with a guy who had repeated all my information. He said he knew "nothing about it and it must've been Michael". He kept giving me an attitude and was extremely demeaning and rude. I again repeated how we had just driven three hours through boston traffic to be at our scheduled appt and I found his attitude very troubling..he then said well why dont you just get in your car and drive back three hours and hung up on me.
I am pretty grateful this whole disturbing conversation took place because we were seriously considering paying the very expensive price of $ $2231.25
I would hope that future doodle owners would be extremely cautious of such an operation and find another breeder who would treat their clients with respect rather than abuse.

Genetic disorder breeding

I am severely disappointed in the lack of professionalism and irresponsibility this breeder has shown. Kerry Angell, of Cove Angels, is breeding Goldendoodles that have a genetic disorder and she does not alert buyers that their puppy may suffer from a congenital deformity. I paid $2, 200 for a Goldendoodle from one of her litters in June of 2014 and within 6 weeks I noticed an issue with the puppy's eye. I took him to two Veterinarians who diagnosed a problem called Nictatating Membrane Cartilage. This genetic deformity requires surgical correction and costs over $2, 000, with no guarantee the problem will be completely resolved . When I notified Kerry about the eye deformity and that it is likely to be passed on to other puppies through her breeding business, she denied that my puppy came from Cove Angels. I was shocked - I have the paperwork and the canceled check to prove that he was purchased from one of her litters. Please be forewarned - Kerry of Cove Angels is knowingly passing on a genetic disorder through her breeding business and charging top dollar for puppies who initially appear to be healthy, but may suffer from inherited physical problems as they become older. She runs a dishonest and unhealthy practice.

  • Jm
    JMcF Feb 04, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thanks for your comment about preventing some people from having to go through a similar experience - that is my hope. A Goldendoodle is a hyperalergenic dog so people who are allergic to dogs with fur (like my daughter-in-law) may be able to be around a Poodle-bred dog that has hair instead of fur, without having an allergic reaction.
    Thanks again,
    Jane

    0 Votes
  • Me
    MelanieB5647 Oct 19, 2019

    @JMcF I chose Cove Angels because I wanted an F1B doodle. I needed this because of moderate to severe allergies which worked out great for our family. I have never in my life owned a dog before. An animal is not a piece of merchandise that will always be perfect-dogs love and exercise. She is the sweetest happiest dog and we love her despite an ear infection or itchy skin. I wish all of you people who complain get a job because they want unconditional love and not something that they picked perfectly on the shelf.

    -1 Votes
  • Me
    MelanieB5647 Oct 19, 2019

    @MelanieB5647 I’m sorry, not job-I meant dog!!

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    GingerNana Jan 31, 2020

    @MelanieB5647 Are you telling people to buy a puppy from an unethical breeder? If so, you need to do some research.

    0 Votes
  • Lj
    Ljby Jul 20, 2015

    I wish i read your review before I purchased my puppy from Cove Angels. Our puppy is almost 7 months old and has one health issue after another.
    I paid a lot of money and ended up with a puppy mill dog. She has no instinct for pottying outside and she has been to a medical office more times in the past 5 months than the other 6 members of the family combined have been in a year.

    2 Votes
  • Ca
    CAB49 Sep 24, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Cove Angels is not a puppy mill by any means. Puppies are living creatures and are individuals. Cove Angels has NO genetic issues, Puppies can develop individual issues having nothing to do with the breeder. All "problems" are not genetic. All puppies need to be house trained by new family. An eye issue is not proven to be genetic. No Cove Angel breeding dogs have any health issues. All families are advised to get puppy insurance for any un foreseen issues, just as we all need insurance, for us adults and our children.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shelbiex Sep 14, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @CAB49 Wow...i wonder how many defective, squalid mixed breed puppies paid off this defense responder of mill puppy peddlers.

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    Mona99 Nov 09, 2015

    If one to look at all the pictures on the Cove Angel website, one would see that it is far from a puppy mill.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    GingerNana Jan 31, 2020

    @Mona99 It doesn't have to be a puppy mill to be unethical if she is breeding puppies knowing they carry a genetic disorder. That's a pretty big red flag to ignore. And what about the people that buy the pups and can't afford all the vet bills they are in store for?

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Sirjay Nov 09, 2015

    Click here: Third eyelid (nictitating membrane) abnormalities - "cherry eye" | Canine Inherited Disorders Database | Universit

    University of Prince Island CIDD Database...Not proven to be inherited. Shame on Jane trying to discredit a very good breeder..

    -1 Votes
  • Fr
    Franklin15 Nov 09, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Jane would not know a puppy mill if it bit her on the nose. Nictating eyelid is not inherited. All dogs, including puppies at Cove Angels' are treated with love, kindness, respect and as individual dogs. My experience with Cove Angels has been enlightening, joyful and fulfilling for what I hoped it to be. That is why I continue to take my doodle there for boarding. Kerry is a considerate and consummate professional in regards to the doodle breeding world. They all are her passion in life. Each one is loved by her. Jane you are wrong and obviously have ulterior motives and should be sued for slander.

    -1 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Meyer-Yurkosky Dec 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sadly golden doodles are included in a akc reg breed but infact are geniticly mutts with unpredictable genetic outcomes they can not produce the same results in a given litter some are hypoalergetic and some aren't depending which dog it takes after..the fur is a hit or mis sometimes it straight and sometimes it curly theres no consistency in their appearance..poodles are hyper and yes supposed to be intelligent but some goldens are rather dopey and cuddely and that's fine but when you get a hyper, dopey dog that can be disasterous..and the heath issue on both sides cant be breed out so you get issues from both sides...actualy the man who had the hair brain idea to breed the two dogs says now he wished he didn't because the pounds are full of half breeds that are nothing more than discombobulated uncontrollable dogs that are hyper and no hyperalergetic.. so is was a new cool breed so people thought but it not the wonder dog people thought...don't mess with mother nature...

    -1 Votes
  • Bb
    Bboucher26 Jan 23, 2016

    I went to cove Angels today for our previously scheduled appointment. I had spoken to "Bill" on the phone and through email to confirm our appointment at 2:00pm. It is our sons birthday and we advised Bill that it was a two hour drive for us and that our intention was to purchase a puppy and bring him home today. They were completely fine with the appointment set for 2pm today . When we got there we were informed that we would have to be seen another day and that bill was supposed to get in touch with us which he did "5 minutes before our scheduled appointment " because it had just started to snow. I explained to them that my 4 year old son was in the car and excited to get his puppy today and that it was his birthday. They had no remorse and no emotion at all. I have been to other breeders my whole life growing up with my dogs and I have never seen a breeder conduct their business like this. I will not be rescheduling the appointment and I have decided to go with another more reputable breeder in the future. I am very disappointed and offended that she allowed a puppy to go outside as we were leaving right infront of my 4 year old son. They were very rude and heartless and I would not purchase a puppy from a person of that nature.

    3 Votes
  • Ca
    cant use manual Jan 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Try researching the dogs parents AND grand parents - talk to the breeders vet - find out about the parents personality ( not all dogs like kids) - just like we (humans) have personality and health quirks they will too. (I am more like my grandmother than my mom or dad.) the vet can answer personality questions as well as health issues AND get references ( ppl who already have pups from them from out of the area so it isn't a friend) Personally I know someone who used to breed them and they quit because experience and research showed the breed was prone to turning aggressive and have mental aggression disorders as they age. I am NOT saying ALL will, but I guess it is common. Most of all, talk to YOUR vet to see what breed they suggest.

    -1 Votes
  • Bb
    Bboucher26 Jan 23, 2016

    I do have to say after everything we went through today with the travel and the miss understanding, I was contacted tonight by Bill and they are bringing up two puppies tomorrow for us to pick from so my little boy is very excited about his new little brother . I am so happy that they are willing to make our experience a happy one and make everything right. I'm so excited for tomorrow and very pleased with his response and apology. I can tell from the little time I was there that Kerry and Bill care a lot about their puppies and that the place is very clean. I look forward to meeting with them tomorrow and I am happy they are willing to make everything right. It means a lot and it shows they do care.

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    cant use manual Jan 24, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    REALLY - ARE YOU KIDDING ME - any breeder should be willing to let someone see and pick out a pup at any given time - with or without an appointment and the excuses of it snowing WOW ----- there was obviously something they didn't want you to see !
    This has got to be a joke...

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    cant use manual Jan 24, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Are you KIDDING ME -----------it started to snow... they obviously did NOT want you to SEE something!!! Any breeder should allow anyone to come in at any time with or without an appointment, and you had an appointment. Obviously someone lost track of time or forgot you were coming . And had something to "hide" .
    Make sure YOUR vet does a check up ASAP and keep all receipts and records of anything that involves the dog. For at least the first year you have it.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    cant use manual Jan 24, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It sounds like you didn't have a chance to see the dogs ------- what told you it was clean and they care so much ----------- I'm getting the impression they know complaints are posted and didn't even have enough sense to even come up with a GOOD BELIEVEABLE STORY, trying to reverse bad opinions. Maybe you are them or a friend ------next time come up with a better story this one doesn't add up or make any sense. People can not be that naïve to believe this !

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    GingerNana Jan 31, 2020

    @cant use manual Sounded to me like they never even went inside. They were upset that their child saw a puppy when it was let outside. To me that means they were never in there to see how clean and safe it was.

    0 Votes
  • Bb
    Bboucher26 Jan 24, 2016

    Had a horrible experience today with a different breeder " cove Angels" then where we got my amazing Labrador from. They basically brought me a sick mill puppy that was scared beyond belief and you could tell she was very neglected. I should have known when the guy was trying to get me to take her and leave after 5 mins of being in my house. She was so scared that she wouldn't even come to me she immediately peed on my floor and he basically lifted her by her collar and scooted her into my hands. he had no records or papers on her and couldn't tell me if she had been vaccinated or not. Actually when I had asked him he said when you buy a cheap dog from them price was $200.00 don't expect to get any papers or documents like you would with the $2, 600.00 + other dogs they sell " the ones on their "website" He also informed me that he had to pick her up at a different location that they also own and she did not look anything like what I saw on their breeding website. When I asked what vaccines she has had he said he would have to check with his wife "the owner" and that he would text me back once he got home. When I asked if she has had a rabies vaccine he said that they don't believe in those type of vaccines and that they do more harm than good. Isn't that a law in mass?!! I was told she was a labrdoodle but she looked to be a lot smaller, thinner and a very skinny snout than what a typical labrdoodle looks like. Needless to say these people own a very "rewritable " breeding company cove Angels in Taunton ma and I'm almost certain there is some shady stuff going on there and they are running a puppy mill as a secondary business. I was holding the "puppy" as they call her but really they brought me a 6 month old dog and I had clumps of fur coming off her into my hands as I was holding her. He then proceeded to hand me a green plastic bottle of "their medication" that had no label on it and he said they send all of there dogs home with it to calm their nerves and stomach. My heart broke for her and she had poop on her bottom but yet they had just given her a bath before she got to my house!! I didn't even bring Marley around her because she was so terrified and he said oh she just needs love . Then asked if I had a crate because she is use to being crated. ( I do not put my dog in a crate!!! ) He left her there with me with no papers, nothing on her, no food that she had been previously eating " so as to not get sick" and couldn't get out fast enough. He said he didn't have time. I ended up calling him right away to come back and get her once my husband came down stairs and saw what state the dog was in and because I could not have my kids possibly be bitten out of fear. My husband was furious and disgusted with what condition he left the dog in, like a crying, uncontrollable shaking dog is completely normal right? When I originally came across their add for a "lab/poodle" mix puppy for $200.00 I thought that what I would be brought is what was in the add. That animal did not look like the breed what so ever!!! We were turned away the day before at our scheduled appointment for some odd reason!!! I should have listened to my gut!!! I guess you really can't put trust in anyone these days!!! They contacted me last night about an hour after driving 4 hours for nothing to tell me they would show up today with 2 puppies and I could take my pick to " make things right " for telling us to go home at our appointment. Then today informed me they could only bring one because and word for word " we just found out the second dog is pregnant" are you kidding me!!! ??? So he showed up with that poor dog " not a puppy" and I'm honestly disgusted. I've never seen someone or let alone a breeder walk into a customers house push the dog in the clients hands use the bathroom and within 5 minutes he was out. ( my parents always got our dogs from breeders when I was a kid) Every question I had for him he answered with an ahhh or ummm . Well all I can say is I hope you enjoyed your 4 hour ride for nothing just like the way you treated me and my family the other day. I will never have anything good to say about this breeder or " back yard breeder " is the more accurate name to call them. I will be purchasing my next puppy from the breeder I bought my amazing lab from almost a year ago. I should have trusted my instincts, but no loss here !!! You did me a favor in realizing once you know a good breeder you stick with them!!! I will never recommend this person and I will make it known to anyone I know, if they are looking for a puppy of that breed, to stay as far away from that horrible place as possible!!!

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Francissue Mar 30, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Boucher is a fabricator and misrepresented of facts.

    -1 Votes
  • Fr
    Francissue Mar 30, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The Nictating eyelid is not genetic. All you folks who.like to chime in have ulterior motives. I have two Doodles from Ms. Kerry at Cove Angels and they are one of my greatest joys. No one gets a Doodle for $200 Ms Boucher. Your story is completely inaccurate. Shame on all of you.

    0 Votes
  • Cs
    Cstring007 Dec 16, 2018

    @Francissue Not true she offered me one of puppies who had a heart murmur issue for $200

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JasonTZ May 01, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Extremely disappointed in their regard for my time and lack of etiquette. My family was looking for a new puppy after having to put down our former dog due to cancer. Our three year has been devastated since and we were ready to move on to a new one. We found Cove Angels online, did some looking, there was mixed reviews, but didn't put a whole lot of stock in there being a 50/50 review, since every bad experience is going to write a review and not all the good ones do. I set up an appointment with Bill, asking for a 1:00 time, but he told me 12:30 and 4:00 were available. I left my practice early to travel from Reading down to Taunton with my wife and left my three year old and eight month old with her parents. We didn't want to be late, knowing that going through Boston can be slow at times, left at 10:45. We got to their house at 12:00, waited in the car til 12:20, rang the bell and no answer. Then called the phone, no answer. Waited in the car til 12:40 and went the door, still no answer. Called twice more, still no answer. Got to be just about 1:00, which wasn't a good time for them, still no show, so we left. Never heard back with an excuse or apology, completely rude and disrespectful. Then had to drive back home, sit in traffic through Boston, arrived back at 2:45, wasted the whole day, and to top it off had to tell my daughter there wasn't going to be a new puppy. Absolutely breaks my heart and completely out my control, but try explaining to a three year old what being stood up means...words can't express the anger, disappointment, or bitterness I now have from the lack of an experience we had with Cove Angels Breeders.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rick53 Jul 01, 2016

    Unfortunately we purchased a puppy from cove Angels two and a half years ago and we just laid her to rest. We found out in the first year that she had stage 5 hip dysplasia, we tried many times to contact Angel Cove with no response or retuned calls once they found out our concerns. We talked to the husband Bill and explained our situation and that was it no more communications from them. We loved the dog so we didn't care we would just deal with it and not worry about the fact that we should have gotten $1000 of the $2000 we paid, according to the warranty (we figured the money would help with the added expense of caring for our dog as she got older).

    Then a short time later we noticed she would fall down when she got really excited. We took her to the vet who referred us to a heart specialist. It was then determined she had a stage 5 heart defect, I guess 5 was the magic number for our dog Charra. The heart specialist said she would live one to one and a half years and there was nothing that could be done. Well he was pretty accurate as Charra fainted for the last time a few days ago and at just two and a half years old she passed away in my daughters arms.

    I completely understand that dogs are living things and anything can happen, but why not acknowledge us even if they disagreed that they were liable for the warranty (I don't know why they wouldn't be) at least they should have discussed it and have some compassion for the dog and my heartbroken family.

    As far as these issues having to do with the breeding I am not an expert in those things so I won't give my opinion, however I know a vet and a heart specialist veterinarian that were pretty upset with the breeder, I believe disgusted might be more accurate.

    3 Votes
  • Fr
    FrankJF Sep 04, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Our own dog which was purchased from Kerry and Bill at Cove Angels had similar issues mentioned in the complaints. The red flags were all there, but my wife was emotionally driven to get a dog for Christmas for my then 8 year old daughter. Paperwork wasn't in place, despite many phone calls to get everything done before our journey to Cove Angels. Kerry seemed very warm and relaxed when we spoke to her in her family room with a couple of puppies, but when it came time to get the paperwork together, she and Bill seemed to have a hard time organizing everything. It just never felt complete and we left with some trepidation. Our own puppy came with a case of ear mites, worms, and a UTI that I discovered when the snow turned pink during her urinating. She also has kidneys that never fully formed, which was discovered during her arthroscopic surgery for spaying. Apparently, this is an issue from the poodle side of gene pool. Our "shed free" dog also drops at least a full bird's nest of hair every day. It's a constant battle just to keep the floor clean. A thorough brushing takes about 45 minutes, afterwards she still sheds a ridiculous amount of hair. It will be three years in October and although we love our dog, she never can quite settle herself and can be very anxious at times. Long story short... This dog is an awful lot of work. From the grooming to the finicky eating and the inability to settle herself, it can be overwhelming at times. What to do? Research, research and more research when you are buying a dog and please trust your gut...and by the way, there is no such thing as a non allergenic dog, only less allergenic. And finally, my daughter loves this dog, so no matter the hardship we are kinda stuck for the next how many years. If you're thinking about spending $2000 for a dog, don't be in a hurry. Find a reputable resource because a dog is an eight to eighteen year commitment! And finally a piece of advice that I failed to heed...don't promise or show a dog to your kids before you adults have done all of the leg work. Some breeders offer guarantees and will replace their dogs if defective, but can you really imagine yourself taking the puppy away from your kid(s) that they are already loving?

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Teddy's Mom Feb 18, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Kerry has been nothing but wonderful to me. I spent an afternoon with her and learned so much about puppies, puppy behavior, and training in a few hours of time being with Kerry. It is obvious she loves her puppies and by the time I left my nickname for her was "The Puppy Whisperer". I am thrilled to have found Kerry and look forward to a long life with my adorable and extremely intelligent puppy.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beth&Brian Mar 24, 2017

    We had an amazing experience with Cove Angels and Kerri!! I spent a lot of time researching goldendoodle breeders to find a puppy for my 8 year old daughter before deciding to go with Cove angels. Kerri spent 2 hours with us when we came to pick out a puppy, interviewing us and educating us on Goldendoodles. The puppy was a little too young to come home that day, so I brought my husband and other children a few days later and we spend nearly 2 hours visiting with the puppy we picked out. During that time, we witnessed a positive interaction of another family picking up their puppy that day. When we picked up our puppy, Kerry spent 2 hours with us teaching us how to train a puppy. It was exceptional! She sent us home with puppy paperwork, home remedies, and five pages of puppy highlights and tips for training. I am an RN, and 3 nurses I work with bought goldendoodles from different breeders 3 to 6 months before I did. We have shared experiences, and they had me photocopy all of the information I was given by Kerry so they could have it!! We highly recommend Kerry, and Cove Angels. It is not a puppy mill, and the puppies are given attention, handled, and well nurtured!! Kerry is truly a "Dog Whisperer"! I also worked with Bill, Kerry's elderly father, and he is a sweet man. I think it is wonderful that she includes him in running her appointment book.

    0 Votes
  • Cg
    CG123456789 Sep 22, 2018

    I purchased my Goldendoodle from Kerry and Bill back in 2015. At the time there wasn’t too much as far as reviews for Cove Angels out there. He is the best dog and I have loved him from the moment I took him home. However he was filthy the day I took him home, his light blue collar that I brought him to wear weeks before was brown. It was definitely a red flag, but i was just so happy to take him home. When he was 6 months old he began to show signs of severe allergies. I contacted Cove Angels to ask if they know anything about their dogs having allergies and their response back to me was a 1 sentence email saying “our dogs don’t have allergies”— umm clearly they do! We spent $800 at the vet to get him tested and he has 9 environmental allergies, the vet believes this is hereditary. Her puppies are cute, but proceed with caution, I wish there was more out there about them before I got my pup.

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem