Connecticut School Of BroadcastingFraud and lies

1
F Review updated:

CSB is a total scam. $11000 for what? You can get a AA degree in broadcasting from your local junior college for less than half that. I went to the CSB in northern NJ back in the early 90s when it was in Rochelle Park, NJ. Back then it was like $4000 to go.

The place is a total joke. The equipment is outdated and never working properly. Their claim of 'helping you start a career in broadcasting' consisted of photocopied pages from a broadcasting magazine. If you really want to test the value of a CSB education, send out fake resumes to broadcast stations with CSB listed as your most important educational achievement. Watch as you receive hundreds of form letter rejections in return. Think about that before you spend that $11000.

If you folks really want a broadcasting career, buy an iPod and begin podcasting yourself about any subject you're interested in. Let the word spread and you'll find yourself on a legit path to broadcasting credibility. No real broadcasting facility will ever consider you with CSB on your resume. You either need an AA or BA degree or you need to prove yourself by cultivating a following on your own via something like a popular podcast.

More Connecticut School Of Broadcasting Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Le
    leeZtop Mar 05, 2009

    I also attenended CSB at the farmington CT SCHOOL IN 2000. I didnt think I got that much at all for the 10.000 it cost me ! I thought it was a rip off !!

    3 Votes
  • Fl
    FloridaMom1026 May 03, 2009

    The Orlando school was a rip off as well. I attended in 2007. Our "textbook" was a binder full of photocopied articles and print-outs from the internet. They provided no help in the "job search". They also told outright lies to get people to sign up, including saying that we would be making $12 to $15 an hour in our first job. Ha. I'm glad they went bankrupt and had to shut down. I heard someone is buying them out, I hope they don't re-open and scam more unsuspecting students.

    -3 Votes
  • Fl
    FloridaMom1026 Aug 03, 2009

    Don't you have anything better to do than slam my complaint? I'm entitled to my opinion.

    -3 Votes
  • Su
    Successful-at-last Jun 09, 2011

    Very strong words from very unsuccessful people. I went there in the 90's, and spent the next 12 years in the business. I was actually surprised by how many people were able to find work so soon after graduation, compared to a traditional college. There will always be a few complainers that slip through the cracks and take to the blogs to tell others how it was the schools fault. To my knowledge, this is the only school that will work with you for free, forever, after you graduate, to help you land a job in the field you are studying. As far as "getting people to sign up", the applications far outnumber the people accepted, so I don't see why they would have any reason to talk people in to something that may not be for them.

    2 Votes
  • Gl
    GlenGlen Mar 14, 2013

    Who are u fooling you sound as if you are the mouth piece for that crooked school those people that run that school should be put in prison for there lies and out dated equipment and for misleading people with there commercials on radio please beware i agree with the other people that commented don't waste your money or time with the Connecticut school of Broadcasting they have branches poping up all over because of the poor innocent students that pay them don't be scammed beware!!!

    -1 Votes
  • As
    a sad wannabe dj Aug 06, 2013

    I really wish I could defend the school but I can't. While I attended the Palm Beach Gardens FL school, they changed schedules around, pretty much let the teacher's pet run off the only two members of the staff that were genuinely helpful. They promise job leads etc. but nada. My only thing I can think is that the broadcasting industry is dying and jobs are becoming harder to find. The classes were informational and I feel I did the best I could at my internship. That was at one time all they could seem to offer, but down here in FL is harder to get into than an army fort. If you chose to go to this school... good luck.

    1 Votes
  • No
    Nobether Nov 14, 2016

    The school in Atlanta is no exception. The Video equipment they've been using for years is totally unprofessional, especially considering
    the tuition one pays, and the type of equipment that you can purchase for lees then $5-to 10 grand. Inexcusable for a so-called educational
    program. The good thing yes we can continue to go back to use the facility, but it also shows you the string of Gen. Mgrs. they've had are not industry types at all, or have really work professionally in any TV station. Yet they are running the place I'm/your paying all this money to. So when I now look
    back and realize the folk teaching us about directing, switching & audio, etc are reporters ? And when you get out in the real world, you have to deal
    with lighting, which is not a class in Atlanta, last time I checked. So the more I'm out here, and speak with others in the field, I realize the school wasn't
    worth all that. And the Gen. Mgr. was not experienced, & no one in the industry even knows them. I also realize that there was some teachers that just vanished, & were replaced with lesser knows, which make me wonder did they get a raw deal because of what they told up for ... Sounds a lot like the previous comments made about Teacher's Pet(s), and those running the school being crooked ... Is this a pattern ???

    -1 Votes
  • Su
    Susan Mende Feb 22, 2017

    @Nobether My experience in the Farmington, Ct. location was as a disabled, 65-year-old white woman, where l experienced active and continuing discrimination. In speaking to the new assistant marketing director Christina, l was met with ignorance and denial about the law: I am an attorney and Christina does not know what "discrimination"means by state and federal standards. Staff actively, repeatedly and continuously refused to provide me with the support services other students received, making it impossible for me to complete individual projects and ultimately, the program.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Andrew DeForge May 30, 2018

    @Nobether How do you pay tuition? Like a payment plan?

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    tromaswarl4 Apr 27, 2018

    Kelly rippa on television network ang Kathy lee giford and hoda cope are shown nude sex scenes on the internet very graphictype in www name of person porn.co9m even nutrasystem spokes person maria osmone the Mormon .

    -3 Votes
  • An
    Andrew DeForge May 30, 2018

    How do u lay tuition? Like a payment plan?

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem