The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
CompUSA - Ala Moana Blvd. Honolulu, HIaggressive bad neighbor towing practices!

Comp usa
640 ala moana blvd.
Honolulu, hi 96813
Manager ken elton; div. Manager louie santos

Please boycott comp usa for their bad neighbor aggressive tow policies at their ala moana store.

Here's my story: on friday, my daughter, a college senior home on spring break, went to comp usa at ala moana in her rental car to purchase ear buds to use with her ipod for her flight back to dc later that afternoon. She arrived at the store before it opened, and so with some time on her hands, headed across the street to get a cuppa joe and something for breakfast.

Another woman, lily, who is a chinese immigrant from taiwan, also did the same thing. She was there to buy school and computer supplies for her son who attends uh and hopes to become a doctor. Lily is a cook in a waikiki restaurant and speaks broken english. She's middle-aged, about 5 feet tall and weighs less than 100 pounds. She arrived before the store opened, too, and so went to the vietnamese sandwich shop across the street to get something to eat before the store opened.

I live in manoa where we enjoy a good neighbor policy for parking as a common courtesy for area businesses. We shop at safeway, stop at the bank or the atm, hop across the street to starbucks, or head down to manoa valley theatre all without fear that our cars will be towed. My daughter was clearly unsuspecting of compusa's aggressive tow policy at their ala moana street store when she slipped across the street for coffee.

When lily and my daughter returned to shop when the store had opened, their cars were gone. Towed by an unscrupulous bully who runs 24-7 towing in waipahu. (more about him later.) they were told they would have to go to waipahu, nearly 20 miles away, to claim their cars and would not be able to do so until noon! We were later told by the police that the noon pickup policy is against the law. If they are actively towing, they must be open for car pick up. This was not the case at 24-7towing.

Lily made a big scene in the store. She raised the roof. Understandably. She had come to spend money and instead had the unlucky circumstance to be towed for the privilege. She had no way to get waipahu — and a cab ride would be more than $100. The store manager called the police when she complained loudly about their bad neighbor aggressive tow policy inside the store. The manager didn't want the other customers to hear about the towing incident. The police officer arrived and escorted the little woman out of the store, where she joined my crying daughter who awaited me at curbside for a ride.

I can assure you, lily was no menace or threat to society. And she did not deserve to have her car towed or to be publicly humiliated by the uncaring comp usa store manager who accepts no responsibility for his bad neighbor aggressive tow policy. I wonder if he gets a kick - back for every car he refers to 24-7 towing? 24-7 towing charges you $195 (cash only) to get your car back, but the police officer suggested to us that this unscrupulous company often tries to get more. (that's nearly three-day's wages for poor lily the cook.) seeing my daughter's obvious distress, the officer called the tow company himself and informed them that were required to be open before noon and reiterated the agreed-upon price to the tow company over the phone so that my daughter and lily would not be cheated yet again. 24-7 towing has a reputation for bad business practices as we would later learn from the second police officer to come to our aid in waipahu. Yes... Our sad story gets worse.

I picked up my distraught daughter (who did not make a scene in the store, but stood crying at the curb) and as a good samaritan offered the little chinese lady a ride to waipahu, too. On the 40-minute ride to waipahu we learned about her young ambitious son and the computer supplies she had hoped to buy for him that morning. Now she would have to use the cash to pay to the tow service instead. She lamented that she would not have the money to buy groceries and would have to go without food for the rest of the week. As it turns out, her spontaneous trip to the sandwich store before comp usa opened was the most expensive vietnamese sandwich she has ever eaten.

We did not have the cash in hand to get the car out of hock and had to detour to a bank to get some money.

We only thought we were having a bad day until we got to 24-7 towing. The officer at comp usa had called from the store to tell him he had to have the compound open, but when we arrived, there was only a locked gate with an obnoxious sign advising people they were being videotaped to be later used in court, and a phone number. We called the phone number and were told we would have to wait 30 more minutes for the owner to get there. He knew 45 minutes earlier that we were coming and the police officer at comp usa had advised him to have the office opened, and still, he had not opened the tow compound.

24-7 towing is located on a dead-end street in a rundown neighborhood side street in waipahu. It is not a place, as a woman, you feel especially safe, even in broad daylight. We locked ourselves in the car and waited. Lily and my daughter chatted in chinese. When the owner drove up, we got out, showed him our money and our picture ids and asked him to please get our cars. We were not rude or unruly. He was apparently angry that he had to come in early. He went inside the gate, locked it with a heavy padlock, and gruffly told us we had to wait outside while he did the paperwork. We waited and waited. He never returned. We called him and asked for our cars and to please come to the gate. He hung up on us. That's when we called the waipahu police station (not 911) to explain our situation and to ask for help.

My daughter had a flight to catch and needed to return the rental car. We had told the 24-7 towing guy this information, too. We didn't have time to waste. We called more than once to the police station to explain and complain that we couldn't get our cars. The police then tried calling the tow company and instructed them to open up and give us our cars back. The three of us waited some more inside our locked car with our cell phones. I honked once to see if we could get him to come back to the gate to talk to us. He never came.in our next phone call to the waipahu police station, we requested an officer to come to the scene. We needed their help. This was going nowhere. The officer said he could not dispatch an officer to the scene from his station and we needed to place a call to the emergency 911 line. So we called 911. Twice. To get an officer to come help us get our cars back.

The officer showed up and the 24-7 tow company employee finally came outside. He verbally abused us in front of the officer and told us we had been unruly and trouble makers. Every other word out of his mouth was an insult to us. The man washing his car at the apartment next the compound told us he would be our witness if we needed, and that we had not ever been unruly in the whole time we had sat in our car. The police officer told us the 24-7 tow company has a long history of bad business practices, and had recently been in a physical altercation because the owner is so rude to the customers that come to get their cars. The officer also confirmed with the tower, without us even asking him to, that he was only to charge us $195 and not a dollar more. The officer told us his rude behavior had gotten him assaulted just recently and they had history of complaints about him. After observing how we were being treated, the officer told the tow guy "a jerk and an a*-hole" in front of us. I thought it a well-deserved description. We all agreed. Even the neighbor washing his car. The towing employee then took lily's money and let her get her car. It was a 5-minute transaction that he had made us wait over an hour to complete.

But he reserved his most obnoxious behavior for my young daughter (who is 5' 3"and weighs under 125 pounds). He refused to give her the car because it was a rental, and by law he did not have to release it to anyone but the registered owner. He told us he would accept a fax from the rental company but then refused to allow us to go get the contract from the rental car and refused to bring us the contract from the car. We turned to the officer and literally begged him to help us get our car back. I begged the officer to help us. The officer said he was within his rights to refuse to give us the car, but that he was really being an"a*hole and a jerk"and he could now understand why the guy had been beaten before. He explained politely and apologetically that legally, there was nothing he could do for us. The tow guy was really relishing his power trip and continued to hurl insults at us and abuse us verbally. I asked the officer what I could do about this and he recommended we file reports with the better business bureau.

We asked the officer to please stay with us because we were now afraid to be alone in this neighborhood with this obviously aggressive and abusive person. He stayed while we called the car company. The car company called the 24-7 towing person while we waited on the line to see if he would accept a fax from thrifty, which is a common practice when tow companies nab rental cars. The 24-7 towing company man refused. The thrifty sales person called the towing guy,"a real jerk."thrifty had to dispatch a driver with authorization to come to the compound to get the car and told us to wait for him to arrive.

We were afraid to stay at the tow yard alone, and left to wait safely inside a local jack-in-the-box. We waited another 40 minutes for daniel to arrive. We told him we were too scared to wait at the tow yard and could he meet us down the street. He did. We gave him the $195. He got the car and drove it off the tow yard and down the street to where we waited. Daniel was a big bruiser of a guy and he didn't take any lip from"the jerk."he handed us our keys and the change and wished us on our way.

The whole ordeal took us nearly 3 hours - it was almost noon before we finally got our car. We had left the comp usa store at about 9:15 a.M. We were both very visibly shaken and distraught. My daughter cried and cried. I got angrier and angrier. I decided to write this message and send it to as many friends on the internet as possible. I called the assistant store manager and complained bitterly. I got the name of ken elton who is the manager. I will be calling him on monday. I got the name of the division manager louie santos and intend to contact him on monday to complain as well. I will demand that they change towing practices and their towing service. I seriously doubt my calls will have any effect as comp usa, because by their very aggressive tow practices, they have already illustrated that customer service and convenience is clearly not a priority with them. I just want them to know the kind of people they are snagging with their aggressive tow practices. And I question why any reputable company would want to do business with the likes of those losers at 24-7 towing. If they do continue their aggressive bad neighbor towing practices, then I seriously recommend they choose a better-run business closer to their downtown site that doesn't charge usury prices.

And that's why I want you to please, please be aware of this situation and please, please boycott comp usa for their bad neighbor aggressive tow policies.

Lily, my daughter and I made a pact on our drive out to waipahu to never, never, walk into a comp usa store again. As long as I live, I will never shop with comp usa. We encourage all of you who believe in good neighbor parking policies to do the same.

Nobody deserves to have an experience like that because they left their car in a lot to buy a sandwich or a cup of coffee before the store was even open for business.

Both lily and my daughter"broke the parking lot law" by parking at comp usa and leaving the premises. That's true and comp usa was certainly within their rights to have the cars towed. There were signs clearly posted, just like there is at safeway in manoa. The perpetrators both clearly intended to return when the store was open to make their purchases and leave, and were not all-day parkers trying to avoid parking fees, whom I suspect is the target of comp usa's aggressive bad neighbor parking policies.

Instead they are snagging unwitting customers trying to kill a little time before the store opens for business.

24-7 towing absolutely deserves to be run out of business for their rude, abusive, intimidating and unscrupulous business practices. People who know me know I am not easily intimidated. But this man was mean. Mean and ugly and verbally abusive to the 3 of us when had no cause to be, except spite. I ask again. What kind of customer service oriented company would want to be in a business partnership with the likes of this horrible man?

Please pass this along to everyone in your email lists.

It's important. And please don't shop at comp usa anymore. Take your business elsewhere!

This letter was faxed to ken elton and louie santos on march 19 at 8:48 am.

March 19, 2007

Mr. Ken elton
Manager
Comp usa
604 ala moana blvd.
Honolulu, hawaii 96813

Cc; louie santos, division manager
Comp usa headquarters
14951 n dallas parkway
Dallas, tx 73254


Dear mr. Elton:

Attached is the unfortunate account my daughter and I experienced on friday, march 16, 2007 as a result of your company's overly aggressive towing practices. Lily chou was another unfortunate recipient of your overly aggressive towing practices that morning. I demand you reimburse us for the cost of the towing fees at $195 for each car, and gas money of $15 for the 30+-mile trip to waipahu and back.

I also demand that you cancel your towing contract with 24-7 towing for their unscrupulous towing practices and complete lack of customer service skills. They are not following the law by having their offices open when they are actively towing, a requirement the police officer pointed out to us and to them by phone. Making customers wait until noon to get their cars is unacceptable. My email to star-bulletin editor richard borrecca (see attached) suggests that 24-7 towing may not even be a legitimate business entity. Kakua line editor june watanabe whom I contacted also suggests the towing charges are usury and far more than should be reasonably charged.

I have already begun to distribute this horrible story via the internet and have posted the account on facebook which was distributed to an additional 400+ recipients most of which are computer supply-using college students. It was distributed to all the members of the pearl harbor rotary club. (see attached email responses.) I do not intend to stop with my campaign against comp usa until you refund the money to lily chou discontinue your tow service with 24-7 towing. The rotary club has offered to send it out nationally for a national boycott of comp usa (see attached email).

I intend to alert the local media, members of the house of representatives, members of the state senate, all hawaii rotarians, tourism offices, consumer protection agencies, better business bureaus, complaintsboard.com and every other avenue and source of consumer complaints available to me. I will not stop until you comply with my requests to stop doing business with that disreputable towing company, which bullies and verbally abuses tiny chinese immigrants and college students. I will not stop until you refund the out-of-pocket expenses to lily chou. I will not stop.

I look forward to hearing from you today. I am available to pick up our reimbursement checks at noon today. Please call me when they are ready for pick up.

Responses

  • Ju
    Justina Bieber Jul 22, 2012

    Charlene Aldinger = stink ###

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alsotaken Jan 07, 2011

    From KITV (http://www.kitv.com/news/24319976/detail.html)

    David Silverman is expected to be arraigned in court Tuesday morning. He is accused of stabbing 52-year-old David Davis and setting his home on fire. Davis is in a coma at Straub Clinic and Hospital, with second degree burns.
    Criminal records show Davis was also known as David Domzalski. He several prior convictions, including driving under the influence and contempt of court.
    Davis’ landlady said Davis was part owner of a company called 24-7 Towing in Waipahu. The tow yard was fenced and locked Monday afternoon, but neighbors said they used to see Davis at the towing company all the time, until a few weeks ago. They believe ownership changed hands.
    Neighbors said 24-7 Towing was plagued with problems because customers had difficulty retrieving their cars. “They’re constantly calling the cops just to get their car back, ” said neighbor Lynnora Nunu.


    Karma can sure be a bxxxx

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CarylD Jul 21, 2010

    Did you see the heaf line news in Honolulu today well if the owner of 24/7 is the same one you dealt with his in hospital, in a coma, he was stabbed multiple times and his home was set on fire, by his business partner I believe the business partnership is relatively new, just a couple weeks.. I believe in Karma... so sorry you had to be treated this way, was no way to treat you...

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Letsberesonable Jan 27, 2010

    Shame on Dave Domzalski and 24 7 Towing. You are running a very shady business. My daughter is also a victim of your over aggressive towing practices and "hard to get hold of" tactics which I truly believe is only to get more money from your victims for longer storage. In her situation, it was at a private complex in Ewa Beach. My daughter had to call the cops in order for her to get her car out of your lot. Stop this behavior and start behaving ethically in your business rather than a shady one. Even the police that were called have said they have had numerous complaints about your company.

    About CompUSA. I believe also you shouldn't be parking illegally. But if I were to go by their word, they were planning to shop there. How many of us have at one time or another park at a business lot and either before or after doing business there, walk across the street or next door to do more shopping. Wouldn't a warning do, rather than towing someone's car? Let's be reasonable. If it is the policy of CompUSA to do this, then I believe they need to review their policy to be more reasonable.

    0 Votes
  • Dk
    d. kawika Apr 20, 2009

    I just had a similar experience with 24 7 Towing. However, in my case they towed my (and 3 other vehicles) from private property illegally and exacerbated the situation by being extremely rude. I will be taking this company to court soon and will report back on the outcome. I just wanted to let anyone else who has the unfortunate experience of dealing with these crooks that you are not alone.

    0 Votes
  • Xr
    X Red Shirt Apr 07, 2009

    wow people still post here? i'm surprised.

    i used to work there, during the time before 24--7 was utilized, and after their services were stopped.

    all vehicles were inspected and cleared for tow by a HPD officer on duty at all times. probably the easiest job they ever got; all they had to do was show up at 7:30 and just wait for people to walk off property. so unfortunately mrs. aldinger, your daughter and lily were in the wrong here.

    do i believe that compusa could have utilized a better etiquette when it came to towing cars? no. we actually followed etiquette. anytime someone walked off property, the tow driver came in with the license plate number, make, and model of the vehicle and had a customer service rep announce over the PA the information repeatedly. i know; i had to make a few announcements myself. we usually announced it three to five times within five minutes just in case someone couldn't hear the PA; which is pretty hard not to hear.

    as for bashers; regardless of whatever bad customer service you may have received from employees there, it is not a representation of all employees of the company. to boycott a store simply because of one bad experience with one person who doesn't care enough about their job is not feasible. if that were so, i would've boycotted best buy (after compusa closed since there's not really any other options out there). but what do you know, i did go back to the same store after that experience with that sorry unknowledgeable excuse of a hardware salesman, and found a hardware salesman who was very helpful and made sure i had everything i needed.

    well the store is closed so nothing we can do.

    oh and for that last bit of ken elton being a racist ###? the entire 793 compusa employees were pretty much like family. all employees knew each other by name and most of them hung out together. and some of ken's closest employees/friends weren't of the caucasian ethnicity. hm. no aloha spirit? he was always cordial with all employees and knew a lot of their names by heart. customers? he always kept an even toned mannerism and never let his temper flare up. best boss i ever worked for.

    now someone needs to close this thread. this happened 2 years ago -_-

    0 Votes
  • Co
    compusa was junk Feb 10, 2009

    Hey! Comp USA is out of business.

    Do you wonder why?

    Good Riddance!

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    TruthBTold Feb 06, 2009

    All CompUSA's are out of business in Hawaii now. As for 24/7 towing, they will always have numerous complaints, because it's their job to take your car away at someone else's request. I do think they should have better service though. They are 24/7 and charging so much for their services, they should be happy to return your car.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    unknown Aug 21, 2008

    I think this complaint is stupid... Stop whining... Plain and simple... CompUSA had their rights.. Your daughter was an idiot... Signs were posted all around... She could have prevented the entire situation by moving her car, instead leaving it there before the store opened... And the fact that you mention that she was in there to buy a ipod connector or whatever and mention how others were probably getting expensive items from them could have been used by anyone... But Comp is closed soo this doesn't matter anymore...

    0 Votes
  • Le
    leftfield101010 Jul 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As a taxpayer, I think the person who wrote this complaint on taxpayer dollars, should be fired with cause for wasting my money.

    0 Votes
  • Ai
    ai Jan 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    you park somewhere you're not supposed to, you get towed. easy as that. i can see where you're coming from, because i live in palolo, but still yet. if you want starbucks, park at starbucks, not at compusa.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Heather Graham Aug 03, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Good Luck with that! I personally know Ken Elton, I worked for him when he managed a California store. I can also let you know that he is a racist, arrogant ###*4#!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    rastaman Jul 31, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To all who have come here to complain and vent, well done. The point of the matter is this; accept the results of your actions. Take responsibility for what you do and own up to them when wrong. It will be your integrity that is remembered the most in life and how you held yourself to that integrity. Everyone has within them a "conscience," if you will, that tells us when something is right or wrong. It is then up to us as individuals to make the choice one way or the other. For those who have parked at Compusa and have been towed, that was your choice. The message or warning was clear, the results were clear, and yet you decided to abandon the right choice and the result was your car was towed.

    Lesson learned: Do what is right and take responsibility for your actions. (Kindergarten lesson #3)

    As for the guy who got bent on someone inspecting his bag, your actions tell me you have some deeper issues at hand then not wanting someone looking in your bag to make sure you didn't stuff products not paid for in there. Go see a specialist.

    It is well within a businesses rights to search the very bag that they gave you to put the product they just sold you before you leave the store. Again, go get some professional counseling.

    And for everyone else keep in mind that this lady used her position and Bishop Museums' computer and email to send and start all of this. Thus, it is not her that is making the hubbub, it is bishop museum and Bishop Estates making this complaint with the slanderous words etc. I think compusa and 24/7 are well within their rights to seek grievances against this lady, Bishop Museum and Bishop Estates.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john 4 justice at your service May 23, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    David Domzalski... manager of dat stinking towing rip-off... i nominate this guy as the most [censored] eating sh-t guy i have ever know... lucky that punk didn't mess with me... otherwise he'd find himself with full of sh-t in his mouth... hey man, take on someone like me punk loser.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john 4 justice at your service May 23, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Tip for dealing with that butt ugly [censored] towing punk! Just stick the dog poop in his mouth. That ought to teach that butt ugly ### a lesson... beside that [censored] can use some protein. hahahaha

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bikram Sahdev May 14, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was towed 3 weeks ago, while talking to a friend across the road keeping my Eye on the car. The guy arrived in five minutes and, I told him to stop I'll pay him. He still towed it To that God awful, junk yard. I am very upset paying out about 300 dollars.

    I feel like going to court, both 24/7 and comp usa. Whats the matter with comp usa, it's one thing having a tow company, but it seems that comp usa has got the worst and is enjoying seeing its customers suffer.

    0 Votes
  • Oa
    Oahukraig Apr 21, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    C'm on a boycott of CompUSA, their bag search policy is outdated and invasive. Lat time I was there the smarmy kid at the door insisted on searching my bag, I refused and asked to speak to a manager who proceeded to threaten to call the police. I asked if they had any reason to search me, and they just said it was store policy. I told them in the past I had bought over $10k of goods from them and they had just lost all my business to Best Buy and Fisher Hawaii who do not search their customers. BOYCOTT COMPUSA!!!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dave Domzalski Apr 19, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am the general manager of 24 7 ParkInc., a tow company in Honolulu.

    As most of us know, when one is angry enough to devote substantial time and energy to hurt another…there are usually two sides to the story. Ms. Charlene Aldinger’s recent complaint about CompUSA and its towing service contractor, 24 7 ParkInc., is an example.

    On 3/19/07, Ms. Aldinger, Bishop Museum’s Director of Public Relations, caused to be posted on “Complaints.com”, an internet blog site, a request by her, and possibly her employer, Bishop Museum, to boycott CompUSA because her daughter, on 3/16/07, left her rental car on CompUSA’s Ala Moana parking lot, and it was towed away by 24 7 ParkInc. while the daughter allegedly was having breakfast across the street, according to the complaint. She also wrote CompUSA’s Ala Moana store manager on 3/19/07 and demanded that the store cancel its towing contract with 24 7 ParkInc., and posted that letter on the blog site.

    A number of facts in Ms. Aldinger’s internet complaints are not accurate, as indicated below.
    The gist of Ms. Aldinger’s complaint is that her daughter, and an unrelated Chinese woman, both parked their cars on CompUSA’s Ala Moana parking lot before the store opened on 3/16/07, left the parking lot allegedly to have breakfast and intending to return to the store before it opened, and found their cars had been towed from the lot on their returns, about an hour after the store opened. In the complaint, Ms. Aldinger claims that both her daughter and the Chinese woman intended, after having breakfast, to make a purchase in CompUSA’s store as it opened.

    Yet, how would CompUSA know what the women intended after the 8:00 am opening of the store? And how would 24 7 ParkInc.’s spotter, in the parking lot since 7:30 am, know that the women leaving both their cars and the lot intended later to make a purchase in the store?

    The fact is, as known by both women, that the parking stalls occupied by their cars were denied to CompUSA’s customers while the women had breakfast, and CompUSA was thus entitled to tow the cars, as Ms. Aldinger’s complaint concedes.

    1. Did either woman actually intend to make purchases at CompUSA after their breakfasts? The complaint says the daughter intended to buy “ear buds” for her Ipod, and the Chinese woman, Lilly, intended to buy school and computer supplies for her son.

    According to a story on the front page of the Honolulu Advertiser on April 1, 2007, Ms. Aldinger “… said her daughter intended to go into the store as soon as it opened to buy a pair of earphones.” The store opened at 8:00 a.m. Her daughter returned to the store at about 9:00 a.m. that morning.

    Both women, after discovering that their cars had been towed, were quite upset, as confirmed by the complaint. Both women, after making this discovery, spoke with 24 7 ParkInc.’s spotter in the CompUSA parking lot. Yet, neither of the women complained to the spotter that their cars should not have been towed because they intended to make purchases at CompUSA after returning to the lot. In fact, Lilly told the towing spotter that she did not live in Hawaii, but lived in California, came to meet a friend, and that since Hawaii was so beautiful, she went for a walk after leaving CompUSA’s parking lot. According to Ms. Aldinger’s complaint, Lilly lives and works on Oahu. Although Lilly complained to store management about her car being towed, she did not tell store management that she intended to buy from the store. When Lilly went into the store to complain about her car being towed, she was hopping mad. She screamed: “This is ###, because I just walked away for a few minutes to Restaurant Row.” Lilly said she was living in California, and had gone to Restaurant Row to meet a friend. Later, she said she came to CompUSA to meet her son and buy a $200 computer. In fact, CompUSA had no $200 computer for sale. Both women had ample opportunity to make their purchases after returning to the parking lot and before the arrival of Ms. Aldinger, who drove the women to 24 7 ParkInc.’s impound lot. Yet, according to CompUSA, neither woman purchased anything at the store that morning.

    The first time CompUSA and 24 7 ParkInc. learned of the women’s alleged intent to purchase from CompUSA was several days later, when reading Ms. Aldinger’s 3/19/07 blog complaint.

    2. Did Lilly, the Chinese woman, as the complaint states, arrive at CompUSA’s store before the store opened? Ms. Aldinger’s complaint states that Lilly “…arrived before the store opened, too, and so went to the Vietnamese sandwich shop across the street to get something to eat before the store opened.” While this phrase suggests no harm and no foul by Lilly to CompUSA – why should the store care if people use its lot before the store opens - that suggestion is false. Lilly did not park in the store’s lot before it opened.

    The store opened on 3/16/07 at 8:00 a.m., the scheduled and posted opening time on the store’s front door. On 3/16/07, 24 7 ParkInc.’s spotter on that morning maintained the company’s daily log for towage from CompUSA’s lot. That log lists the time each towed car arrived at the parking lot, where the driver who did not go into the store actually went, the time the car was towed, its description and license number. That log reflects that Lilly drove a Ford 4-door sedan, license number GVV645 into CompUSA’s parking lot at 8:34 a.m. on 3/16/07 and that the driver crossed to the Ewa side of South Street, and entered Restaurant Row. Her vehicle was towed from the lot at 8:45 a.m.

    While the “Vietnamese sandwich shop across the street” was apparently added by Ms. Aldinger to provide some color and detail credibility to the complaint, there is no Vietnamese sandwich shop on the Ewa side of South Street opposite CompUSA. Nor, according to both Restaurant Row security and its lease manager, is there a Vietnamese sandwich shop in the Restaurant Row complex, or any retail store owned by Vietnamese. Furthermore, the sandwich shop spin is inconsistent with the above explanation Lilly provided to both the towing spotter and the CompUSA management on 3/16/07.

    3. Was, as the complaint states, Ms. Aldinger’s daughter “… clearly unsuspecting of CompUSA’s aggressive tow policy… when she slipped across the street for coffee”?

    The daughter’s rented car on 3/16/06 was parked in the center of the CompUSA parking lot directly fronting the store’s entrance and bordering Ala Moana Blvd. According to the complaint, Ms. Aldinger’s daughter “. . . arrived at the store before it opened, and so with some time on her hands, headed across the street to get a cuppa joe and something for breakfast.” The daughter parked the rental Dodge in CompUSA’s lot at 7:45 a.m., fifteen minutes before the scheduled 8:00 a.m. store opening. The complaint does not indicate which street she crossed to get coffee and breakfast. Why? According to the towing spotter in CompUSA’s lot that morning, the daughter walked across the parking lot in an Ewa direction, passing a number of signs which said: “Tow Away Zone”, “Customer Parking – Unauthorized Vehicles Will Be Towed at Owner’s Expense”; crossed to the Ewa side of South Street, crossed Ala Moana Blvd. to the makai side and walked to the U. S. Immigration – Homeland Security building at the intersection of Ala Moana and South Street. Neither of those federal agencies serve breakfast to the public on weekdays, and the building contains no restaurant. Nor is there a coffee machine available to the public in the building.

    Had she bothered to look at one of these signs, she could not have been surprised when she returned to the lot about 9:00 a.m. to find that her car had been towed. Indeed, Ms. Aldinger’s complaint states: ‘There were signs [at CompUSA’s lot] clearly posted.”

    4. Were the daughter and Lilly told, as claimed in Ms. Aldinger’s complaint, that they “. . . would not be able to [pick up their cars] . . .until noon? The complaint does not say who told them they could not pick up their cars until noon. I do know that both Lilly and the daughter returned to the parking lot shortly before 9:00 a.m. that morning. At that time, 24 7 ParkInc.’s impound lot in Waipahu was manned by our towing company employees, who could return their cars. Upon the women’s return to the parking lot, the tow company spotter assisted the daughter, who stated that she did not live in Hawaii, had no friends here, had no one to call, and had no cell phone. Hearing this, the spotter used her cell phone to call the tow company dispatcher and confirmed that both women could then pick up their cars at the company’s Waipahu lot. The spotter told this to the daughter and Lilly. The daughter then went into the store and asked a store employee to make a telephone call for her. As the employee was doing so, the daughter’s cell phone rang. Later, Lilly told the spotter that the daughter’s mother was coming to pick them both up and take them to regain the towed cars.

    5. Did the towing company unreasonably delay returning the women’s cars?
    Our company has a strong financial motivation to return towed cars as quickly as possible, as doing so aids our daily cash flow and tends to prevent the impound lot from filling up.

    According to the complaint, Ms. Aldinger left the CompUSA parking lot with her daughter and Lilly at 9:15 a.m. The complaint states that their drive took 40 minutes. If this is correct, they arrived at our impound lot a few minutes before 10:00 a.m. According to the complaint, Ms. Aldinger noticed the gate to our lot was locked. She is correct. That gate is kept locked at all times, since our company is responsible for the safekeeping of all towed cars kept in the lot. When the owner of a towed car appears at the locked gate, he or she is observed on a video screen in the dispatcher’s office, and a company employee goes to the gate, which begins the release process.

    According to Ms. Aldinger’s complaint, instead of appearing at the locked gate, the woman “… locked ourselves in the car and waited.” The complaint does not state how long the three women waited in the locked car. While they did, our staff had no way of knowing that two women in the car had come to pick up their towed cars, or where the car was parked in which they waited. Had one of the women called our telephone number posted on the parking lot signs, according to procedure, she would have been told to come to the gate and begin the release process.

    The complaint states that “we called him [tow company owner] and asked for our cars and to please come to the gate. He hung up on us.” This is not correct. In fact, the owner of our company is a woman who was not at our Waipahu lot at any time between 6:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m.. on 3/16/07. The daughter did call us around 9:00 a.m. while at CompUSA in tears and hysterical. She was unable to describe her car which was towed or its license plate. I first learned that the women had come to pick up their towed cars when a policeman called to say that the women had come for their cars. I advised the policeman to tell the women to come to the front gate, and we would help them. Shortly thereafter, I saw the women on the monitor at the gate, and went out to begin the release process. Ms. Aldinger demanded that the gate be immediately opened and her daughter’s rental car returned NOW! She was spitting mad, rude, unreasonable and threatening – she inadvertently spit on me as she made threats and promised to destroy me. She stated that she ran the Bishop Museum, and would run us out of business. She yelled “f…you” more than once between her threats to sue the company and run me out of business. She stated that she would use her position to crush us: “I got Dan Inouye to appoint my daughter, I will have him put you out of business.” As I attempted to get information from her to help her, she was on the phone with the Mayor’s office. She then instructed me to “wait until the police arrive.”

    Ms. Aldinger’s complaint states that after they arrived at our impound lot, “We called the phone number and were told we would have to wait 30 more minutes for the owner to get there.” This did not happen. The owner would not have been involved in the return of a towed car.

    The complaint also states that the tow company owner drove up to the lot and was angry that “…he had to come in early.” This also is not true. The owner did not come to our lot between 6:00 am -6:00 p.m. Further, I was in our Waipahu office from 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. on 3/16/07. I was in our office well before the women arrived.

    Perhaps for good measure, Ms. Aldinger adds to the complaint a hearsay statement from an unnamed policeman that the tow company owner is an “A—hole and a jerk”, who had been previously assaulted and beaten by an unnamed person. This tends to illustrate the danger of reliance on hearsay. I have never been beaten by anyone.

    Ms. Aldinger’s complaint claims that our company accepts only cash in payment of tow charges. This is not true. We also accept debit cards, and have for quite some time.

    Had Ms. Aldinger or her daughter telephoned us from CompUSA’s lot to advise that the daughter’s rental car had been towed from CompUSA’s lot and described the car, we could have arranged to return possession of the car to the daughter upon their arrival at our impound lot. Neither of them made this call. Instead, Ms. Aldinger called the police, sat in her locked car for some undetermined time – she says because she didn’t like the neighborhood – and threatened and swore at me when I unlocked our gate upon first learning that she had come to pick up a towed car.

    6. Does 24 7 ParkInc. have a reputation for bad business practices?

    Ms. Aldinger’s complaint also relies on hearsay from an anonymous police officer to the effect that “24 7 has a reputation for bad business practices.” This is another example of the danger of relying on anonymous hearsay. 24 7 ParkInc. was formed in November 2006. The company has had no complaints so far to the Hawaii Better Business Bureau.

    __________________________________
    David Domzalski
    General Manager
    24 7 ParkInc.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dave Domzalski Apr 12, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dr. Casey Jordan, a criminologist, says women have been known to hold grudges with catastrophic results.

    "We have this saying that hell hath no fury like a woman scorned, and that's really come about because women can be extremely vindictive," Jordan said.

    This lady has hurt many people with her actions, and she still continues today... good peoples jobs and families have suffered.

    I pray for Charlie, GOD forgive her.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Perrey Apr 09, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WOW! was that the longest complaint I have ever read, or was it a script for a dramatic movie in the category of best drama queen by a stage mother and a foreign petite Chinese woman from Taiwan who's a cook, a set of ear plugs for an iPod for Lily with her unbearable crying over parking in the NO PARKING zone with her Thrifty rental.

    I'll be brief {something you can't be} To tell you the truth, CompUSA does not owed you ANYTHING! No Apology, and specially NO reimbursement, You KNEW the rules, when you read "NO PARKING" it means ABSOLUTELY NO PARKING!, No means NO, don't matter about the so-called Good Neighbor policy.

    Learn this lesson; You cannot park on a NO PARKING zone, period! if you do, be prepare to pay for the consequences.

    0 Votes
  • Bb
    BB Apr 07, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You got towed because you broke the rules, I got towed before because I broke the rules. The difference between us is that I learned my lesson, swallowed my pride and didn't whine about it like what you did. You started a movement and only stupid and ignorant people will follow your boycott. Charlene Aldinger don't you feel stupid now trying to get free parking and got towed? also is Good Neighbor Policy something you made up? from what I'm reading it seems like you parked on a commercial area and compusa is not really your neighbor. Please enlighten me. You know if I park my car in neighbor's parking or even in front of his house (roadside parking) he'll throw $hit and damage my car. Damn wheres that policy and sign me and my neighbors up.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard Apr 07, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Private property, Signs posted all over the place, 3rd Party towing company, Rules are there to be enforced, Parking is for compusa customers not for people like you. I you don't have any grounds to complain about CompUSA, it should be against the towing company and you should really change this complaint title to the towing company that towed your car :)

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Don Apr 05, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Time for a reality check on who she is

    Let me just say this, If your daughter was a public relations rep for my company, she would be fired right on the spot for 2 reasons

    1 bringing the company name into a personal matter

    2 her actions were " unprofessional" and "unbecoming" to the title and position in which she held,

    Think of the embarrassment this has caused and damaged to the reputation of the Bishop Museum and her co workers & superiors

    Like it or not she represents Bishop Museum On & off company time. As someone who has the same positions for a company. I can tell you, people in high places & people who deal with or are associated somehow with the Bishop Museum in all ways (Financially & others) probably have heard about this and may change their whole opinion about dealing with her personally or with the Bishop Museum it's self

    It's one thing to disagree about the way you are being treated, but its shattering to your image & reputation as a Public Relations Rep. and to your place of employment to act like a spoiled child having a temper tantrum which when you think about it she acted out perfectly

    Now for a question Would you let people park on your property / drive / parking spot and walk off somewhere else ( and taking up all the spots so your visitors could not park) if you had the exact same signs posted??? wouldn't you have their cars towed if it happened day in day out

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arthur Sprague Apr 03, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I didn't take time to read the whole string of answers, but I did notice that you mentioned that Manoa Shopping Center has a Good Neighbor Policy that allows any and all to park there.

    Not so!

    Around lunch time the parking lot is completely full.

    It is clearly posted as parking for customers of the shopping center only. They usually, though not always, have an attendant who "chalks" tires and keeps track of parking time. If you overstay your welcome, you will receive a note on your windshield that you have overparked, your car's license number has been noted, and that if you are found overparked again your car will be towed.

    I do believe they mean it...

    0 Votes
  • Ic
    IcanNOTbelieve yourComplaint Apr 03, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Charlene Aldinger is a nuisance to this society. She claims that if CompUSA doesn't refund her money then she would be taking this to the media. She's sooooo full of ###. She got refunded a week before the story hit front page of the Sunday Honolulu Advertiser. So, why would she go back on her word. Because she's a big fat LIAR just like everything else that she said happened. I can't believe everybody who agreed with her. Have you folks even heard CompUSA's side of the story or the 24/7 Towing Company's story? I guarantee that most of you didn't. So before you go BOYCOTTING or talking bad about these two companies, go get your facts and then speak your mind.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    GETaLIFE john Apr 03, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    John- Do you know that you do not even make sense? Think about what you're writing before write it! It's stupid people like you that make me laugh!! "Good butt-ugly dave. have one every day!!!" You're just as dumb as your comments! Get a life loser!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Apr 03, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    CompUSA sucks! I'll certainly boycott the arrogant, uncustomerlike attitude of that store and never ever shop there again. That good that you spread the word about this unprofessional store and its management.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thunderspirit Apr 03, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It is sad that people like Charlene Aldinger would realize that she has to be treated just like everyone else the hard way. That parking is specifically for CompUSA. Whenever I went there I never thought of walking anywhere else, because parking has a price elsewhere.. And for a reason parking at Compusa is free... Hmmmm I wonder... I think its basic common sense.

    Charlene Aldinger doesn't have any right to complain, but she has to change her attitude and apologize for such behavior and letting her daughter complain in such a rude way. Which probably explains like daughter, like mother.

    Charlene Aldinger should use her connections to do good, instead of using it for some personalized vengeance protecting her pride.

    Mahalo,
    Keep your head up Dave Domzalski!!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    CompUSA Shopper Apr 03, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    "By the way, My boyfriend works at COMPUSA so I'm always dropping by..." -- CRYBABY

    Dropping by as a customer or picking up your boyfriend after work, right? And not just a social visit that just happens to be inside the store? Otherwise, you're taking up the stall of a potential customer and that's almost as bad as someone parking and walking across the street.

    That's all folks from me on this issue. Looking at the new posts today, nothing new has really been said in either direction.

    Also, I agree it would be nice if Charlene updated her original post (not sure if that's even possible on this site) to reflect that CompUSA did reimburse her for the towing. It's disappointing that she hasn't, as any new visitor to this site will think the issue with CompUSA is unresolved unless he/she reads through the comments.

    By the way: the thing about Charlene being "sued" by Bishop Museum and her daughter admitting to going to the immigration center? Look back at the first page of comments. It was posted by a CompUSA employee (his/her first post implies that he/she works for CompUSA).

    My final conclusions:
    - Charlene Aldinger is a whiner (but an effective one; guess that's why she's in PR) who is not afraid to use her position for personal gain
    - Bishop Museum's parking lot may get a lot busier as it becomes a "good neighbor" :)
    - CompUSA management is doing the right thing by implementing an additional control point before towing
    - CompUSA employees should think before they write anything that indicates they are an employee
    - People now know not to park in CompUSA's parking lot -- whether it's because they were planning to walk across the street, or because we now know how unsafe the lot is (read earlier comments) or they are blindly boycotting this non-issue, who knows.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    SuperGeeks Apr 02, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hey guys! I heard that Charlene is getting sued by the towing company? Is this true? And that she got fired sometime last week? If anyone knows, please tell. If this is all true, i feel really really bad for her...

    But then again, shes the smart one who started this campaign. Haha!!! Personally, i think comp usa should sue her as well, i mean, trying to boycott them... Sunday's front page ad was like free advertisement for comp usa. Lol!!

    Why doesn't she try to defend herself? She writes this long complaint, and everyone leaves a comment, but nothing from her? I wonder if shes even reading this. If i wrote this and read other peoples comment about how stupid i made myself sound, i wouldn't wanna come back to work. Haha!!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Baboose Apr 02, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The person I feel bad for is the daughter. Her mother's actions will forever be logged in google, and now whenever the daughter applies for jobs, grad school, etc., this ugly fiasco will raise it's head. Good job Charlene!

    0 Votes
  • Po
    Policy Apr 02, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hah! you pulled the GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD POLICY from your ###!!! Going to a shopping center and not worry about getting your car towed? You think the owner of the property would actually let you walk off if they knew? We all should have a gathering at BM go kam shopping center!

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    CRYBABIES Apr 02, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I completely disagree with the complaint stated above. You need to deal with the fact that no matter where you go, you'll have to deal with things like that. Why have rules and laws? When you break the law, are you gonna pull the "OH WELL, WHERE I'M FROM, THERE'S A GOOD NEIGHBOR POLICY..." ###? I really think that's petty. It was your daughters fault for leaving her car there. It's not like there weren't any signs posted! It's her fault for reading it and ASSuming that they weren't gonna go through with what the sign said. You're an adult right? Why don't you change your perspective on it and view it in a mature way and just take it as your daughter broke the rule so there were consequences to pay. & It's really nothing to cry over. I understand that 24-7 towing hasn't offered you the best customer service but that's their deal. You need to take it out with them. & You said something about COMPUSA not caring about your car?? It's not their job to care about your car. You can't screw up and go blaming them when there was a clear WARNING sign in the parking structure.

    By the way, My boyfriend works at COMPUSA so I'm always dropping by and honestly, I think they have excellent customer service skills and they are very good at what they do. There really is no plus side to this complaint. You are trying to shut down a huge establishment and trust me, you should just quit and give up because you are just wasting your "precious" time. If you're complaining about waiting for 3 hours, this will completely drain your life. But hey, if you wanna keep it going, then by all means, go ahead. But you'll lose.

    You're pretty funny for pulling the "GOOD NEIGHBOR POLICY" card. Hahahaha, Reeeeeeeaaaaaalll mature. Just own up to your mistake and move on with your life!

    0 Votes
  • Ic
    IcanNOTbelieve yourComplaint Apr 02, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with anon...

    BOYCOTT BISHOP MUSEUM FOR NOT FIRING AN OUTRAGED WOMAN WHO'S REPRESENTING BISHOP ESTATES... we should all park our cars there and go get a cup of coffee at kamehameha shopping center...

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anthony Flowers Apr 02, 2007

    Haha! Anon you are right! How can the store KNOW that your "clearly intended to return when the store was open to make their purchases. . . " when you walk off the property?

    Compusa probably gets DOZENS of people DAILY walking off, so should they be psychic and know that, "NAHH THAT GIRL IS GOING TO GET SOME COFFEE AND COME BACK AND SHOP AT OUR STORE" right? Does that sound logical for you?

    HAHA!!! I know this is ONLY going to get BIGGER AND BIGGER. ENJOY HAWAII!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anon Singh Apr 02, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hey All!

    I just found out that MR. TY ALDINGER, works for a company called Orincon. they are a Naval subcontractor. Well, oddly enough, Dept of Homeland Security offices are located across the street from CompUSA. Why is that significant? Well, although Orincon's local office is in Kailua, they have direct dealings with the DHLS and other military depts. Where am I going with this?

    PERHAPS, Stacy woke up late and didn't get a chance to say goodbye to Dad before he left the house. Since it was her last day in Hawaii, she decided to go visit Dad at one of his work locales. Of course this is just my guess, but it's probably not much more far fetched than the one Charlene Aldinger is trying to make us all believe.

    C'mon Stacy! You're a Punahou girl, honor student, and Truman Scholar! Tell us a better story other than you were getting coffee while waiting for the store to open.

    I was taught along time ago. . . if you cheat or make a mistake, just take your lumps. Don't make the situation worse by lying about it. You'll only dig yourself into a deeper hole and cause more scrutiny. Sooner or later, someone is gonna investigate, see through the lies and hold you accountable. Charlene owes everyone an apology. Most of all, to the people she lied to to try and get everyone on this boycott bandwagon that was built on lies to begin with. Shame!

    Send a statement to the Charlene!
    BOYCOTT BISHOP MUSEUM!!! . . . at least until they fire her.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anon Singh Apr 02, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    STEREOTYPES AND HUMOR!!! GOTTA LOVE IT!!!

    Anyone noticed that there are a lot of stereotypes and humor in Charlie's story?

    Little Chinese lady speaking broken English making a loud ruckus at the store. WE ALL KNOW CHINESE PEOPLE TALK REAL LOUD.

    She also said that it was a VIETNAMESE SANDWICH SHOP and that it was the most expensive VIETNAMESE Sandwich she has ever purchased. We all know Chinese immigrants seek out these Ba-le sandwich shops between 7 and 8am in the morning because they're jonesing for a bbq chicken sandwich with pickled turnips and carrots.

    So why is it okay to mention the ethnicity of Lily and the VIETNAMESE Sandwich shops, which we know doesn't sell "Vietnamese Sandwiches", but indeed is owned by VIETNAMESE who sell FRENCH sandwiches.

    Also Lily's son just happens to be studying to become a doctor. WE ALL KNOW THAT IF YOU'RE A SON OF A CHINESE IMMIGRANT, you are destined to become a DOCTOR or accountant or run a restaurant.

    By the way, HPD needs to be notified of the tows and everything is documented. Stacy Aldinger arrived on the lot at 7:45am and headed across Ala Moana Blvd. towards the Homeland Security Buildings, which do not have any coffee shops or anything remotely resembling retail establishments, therefore anyone headed towards that building is going there for another very specific reason. Her car was towed over 30 min.later at 8:18am, so we can assume she arrived back at CompUSA later than that. Lily Chou arrived at 8:30am, after CompUSA was already opened, not before! She was observed heading towards Restaurant Row. Her car was towed at 8:45am.

    Oh, Lily just happens to work a low paying RESTAURANT JOB in WAIKIKI. She had to spend $195 on the tow charges, but saved $100 on cab fare for the 20 mile ride to Waipahu ($75 and 14miles, actually) thanks to Charlie. But because of the tow charges she doesn't have enough money to buy groceries for the week. Okay, so Lily must be getting sweatshop wages or her family must eat a whole lot of frickin' food. I guess Dad (I'm guessing works at a laundry) makes $3.57/hr and beats his poor wife Lily on a daily basis, too.

    Okay, so the tow yard was scary . . . ever seen one that wasn't???
    I'm guessing that she also thinks everyone else in Waipahu is scary, rough, rude, etc.

    By the way, did we mention that Waipahu is a really scary place? Yeah, especially for someone like Charlie who hails from Manoa. Poor deary had to go all the way to an area where the "REST OF US" people live.

    Okay, her "YOUNG" daughter is a senior in college, but is able to drive the rental car and return it by herself. I don't know about you, but i don't know of many, or any, rental car agencies that rent to drivers under the age of 24.

    I don't know about "BAD NEIGHBOR TOWING PRACTICES", but does anyone know of any "GOOD neighbor towing practices"I can take advantage of? . . . preferablyinthe downtown area?

    Hmmm, park car at CompUSA lot; go across the street to coffee shop . . . oh yeah, I can see how Charlie says Lily and her daughter "clearly intended to return when the store was open to make their purchases. . . "

    It's also a shame that someone who works in PR and with Bishop Estates isn't familiar with the word "kokua" and knows it as "kakua."

    One last note, I hope Charlie can stand proud that one day, when she is seeking other employment, someone Googles her and finds that she's made a mountain out of a mole hill by trying to get news media, rotary clubs, etc. involved. This kind of person is a danger and liability for any company because she lacks better judgment. We have a local Japanese term . . . "bachi" . . . what goes around, eventually comes around.

    For another perspective:
    http://honolulu.craigslist.org/oah/rnr/303450613.html

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anthony Flowers Apr 02, 2007

    I'm sorry, but this boycott is ###ed, enjoy whats left of your job and the lawsuit! :)

    BTW, you guys should STOP and realize that NOT EVERYTHING she writes is credible. YOU KNOW SHE IS DOING THIS OUT OF ANGER.

    And you guys are going to believe that the Tow company was being ### holes? if a ### is upset at a liquor store, of course they are going to skew everything differently to make it sound like they are right.

    HOW would you react if you got a lady YELLING in your ear EVEN THOUGH YOU KNOW, and SHE KNOWS (hopefully) that she is wrong?

    Its amazing how people who did wrongs find ways to argue!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anon Singh Apr 02, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I read two articles about your rant against CompUSA and find it very humorous.

    As a Public Relations director, you should know better than to complain in such a manner, or rather you may know that it is a public relations nightmare that you are creating for CompUSA. Be it known that I do not work for or know of anyone who works for CompUSA. You reap what you sow. And it is with that thought that you should consider your actions that a small "mistake" makes no fuel for the type of "crusade" that you are starting. Working for Bishop Museum and Bishop Estates, you should know that that is not pono, nor the Hawaiian way to do things.

    The so-called "knee-jerk" reaction by CompUSA is justified. Your daughter was aware that she was parking on private property and subject to their rules and regulations. Although signs may or may not have been posted, it is commonly understood. Furthermore, it would be interesting to note that the management of the Manoa Marketplace would be suprised to find that people like you use their parking lot to attend functions at the Manoa Valley Theater, but that's another story.

    Let me get the facts straight. Your daughter arrived at CompUSA prior to 8am (store opening time) to purchase earphones? Aside from OfficeMax, I don't know of many other retail stores in that area that open prior to 7am.So what would possess someone to go out of their way to that area, at that time to purchase something they could have acquired elsewhere (Longs, WalMart *24hrs*). I'm not accusing anyone of being a liar, but it does sound more far-fetched. It may be the truth, but it does sound a little odd.

    What doesn't seem odd is the attendants of a parking lot reacting to someone parking on the premises prior to the store opening and leave the premises (up Keawe street and out of sight). . . prior to store opening. Did your daughter make any attempt to notify the attendants??? Perhaps she couldn't see them hiding in the bushes just waiting to tow! Pleeeeease! You stated Lily and your daughter clearly intended to return and make a purchase at CompUSA. How so? How was it clear and who did they make their intentions known to?

    I think there is something that you or your daughter is leaving out . . . the WHOLE, truthful story from your daughter would be nice. By the way, it took less time for the attendants to call the tow company, have them arrive, hitch up the vehicle, do the corresponding paperwork, and actually remove the car from the premises in less time than it took your daughter to purchase a "cuppa joe?" Oh . . . the cafe was quite a distance away? . . . Why didn't she drive?

    Furthermore, poor Lily making a scene . . . I would have called the police as well. They are trying to run a business! What is Bishop Museum policy on people who create disturbances? Do you allow bring out a podium and mic for them? By the way, I loved the way you embellished the story about Lily. As I was once a college student, I would never have my mother (who actually does speak broken English) purchase school and computer supplies for me, as I assume she knows very little about the technology products.

    I fail to see why the details of Lily failed to make the Honolulu Advertiser. Could it be that you feel more comfortable telling "stories" in a complaint letter, than to a reporter whose job it is get to the truth and details of the matter.

    I do sympathize with you for the poor service you received by the tow company. Nobody deserves that kind of abuse. Perhaps it was the experience with 24/7 Towing that made you more hostile to CompUSA.

    In conclusion, I ask that you try putting yourself in others' shoes before you rant and rave about things that you "perceive" to be unfair. Shame on you for putting more "spin" on the matter. Put your energy into something better than to make trouble for other people. Would you be so cordial if my friends and I parked at the Bishop Museum lot and visited our friends in the neighborhood? I "sometimes" visit the museum with my child, but not frequently. I would assume that it would be a reasonable expectation that I would be able to park on the premises given your views. Let your bosses know that any attempt to remove my car (white Toyota Highlander, fyi) from the premises will result in similar actions that you have taken. But, what a story it would make if it exposed the hypocrisy of it all.

    Sincerely,
    A. Singh

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jai Apr 02, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    "I don't think I am. All I'm suggesting is that if more customer parking is needed, one way to do so would be to make the lot exclusively reserved for customers. I'm not sure how many CompUSA employees park in the lot (i.e. if only managers can park), but if it's a free-for-all for all employees, that could be a substantial number of stalls."

    Somehow, I get the feeling if they take away parking privileges for their employees, a lot of those stalls will be taken by more illegal parkers. Considering how difficult it is to find good help these days, and how difficult it is to find parking in that area, free parking privileges seems like a good benefit for their employees.

    Quote from Charlie's complaint: " I live in Manoa where we enjoy a GOOD NEIGHBOR policy for parking as a common courtesy for area businesses. We shop at Safeway, stop at the bank or the ATM, hop across the street to Starbucks, or head down to Manoa Valley Theatre all without fear that our cars will be towed."

    I have to wonder if Manoa Marketplace management even knows that they have such a policy . Charlie, have you ever asked them if it's OK to park in their lot while you go down the street to patronize other businesses? I get the feeling they'll tell you "Sorry, but this parking lot is only for the use of our customers". I think you assume they have a "Good Neighbor Policy" because they've never towed your car while you were illegally parked. They probably can't afford to have lot attendants out there to chase illegal parkers away. I shop there often, and at certain times, the lot is so full I can't even find parking in the far corners of the lot. Now I know why.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.