SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Weis Market, Inc. / abuses employees

Review updated:

Weis Markets, Inc. announced a capital budget of $102.8 million in 2010, a 27% increase over last year. Weis Markets records 5.2% profit rise in Quarter 1. Sunbury, Pa. (April 13, 2010) Weis Markets reported Tuesday that the grocer recorded an increase in net earnings of 5.2%, from $16.5 million a year earlier to $17.4 million. For the quarter ended March 27, the company's sales increased 9.6% to $664.3 million, compared with $606.2 million for the same period in 2009. They cut payroll in half even though sales increased. That is their secret to success killing the poor people who are left. Horrible people!

At Weis Market I wasn't a boss, just an associate, but I covered for my boss Phil Feeser who's the Dairy Leader whenever he went on vacation or out on personal leave. When I first accepted this responsibility, I was approved overtime because the department was down 40 hours of its most productive employee. Phil is our most experience person in the Dairy Department; he has been with the company for over 40 years. When he is out, we are down our best person to handle freight and to order specials. It's a tremendous loss to the Dairy Department, but with a little overtime and a lot hard work I could still do an excellent job. But as time passed, the Store Manager (Matt Mumma) would schedule me less and less overtime. I went from 8 hours to none. So as you can see this really adds to the stress level. One time when my boss was on vacation, we had a show in our store where vendors come in to see how we want products displayed. Also in the same week, the President of the company visited. That was stressful because everything has to be perfect and accomplished with no overtime. I lost over 9 lbs. that week; what a great diet program. No other department heads, but Phil was allowed to take off. The next week when Phil returned, the Store Manager (Matt Mumma) approved 14 hours of overtime for Phil when we where fully staffed. That is unacceptable behavior from the Store Manager. Do you think he may have something against me? The facts say yes! No other department head but the Dairy was allowed to take off that week. No other associate had my responsibility.

The week of Easter everyone but one person, a part time employee was out. My boss Phil was in the hospital getting stint put in his heart. Our best part time employee (Brian) was burned in a fire (he's a voluntary fireman) and out indefinitely. My night person Brandon was on vacation until Wednesday. So you can see I was in dire need of manpower in a very busy holiday week. I worked alone except for one elderly man (Charles) who came in from 8 am to 1 pm and he only works the yogurt section on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays which is just one small section of the Dairy. On Saturday evening I spoke with Brandon, he told me to hang in there until Wednesday and he would be back to help me. When Brandon came back, the Store Manager (Matt Mumma) put him in the Produce Department instead of helping me in Dairy. I was livid. What kind of Store Manger would but personal in a fully staffed department over a department which was down there Dairy Leader and best people?

I was worked so hard I started to developed chest pains. The night before I quit the chest pains where so bad it woke me up at 4 am in the morning. I knew at that point that I had to make a decision. Knowing that I didn't have any real good help (Dairy Trained Personnel), I had decided not to go to work and risk a heart attack and/or stroke. I chose health over financial security. I said to my self "I will have other jobs but I have only one life."

I have recently applied for unemployment benefits and was rejected for section of the law 8-1001 basically stating that I left work voluntarily without good cause. I told them Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR) that I was so over worked due to lack of staffing that I started to have horrible chest pains. I was told by the DLLR because I didn't follow up with this (whatever that means I can only assume that they think I should have gone to a doctor) but yet, I can't afford health benefits of any kind. How can you expect someone without income to go and get treatment? I'm unemployed I can't afford medical treatment and I haven't received a penny since the beginning of April. After receiving a few letters from the DLLR, they change their dismissal to Gross Misconduct. Believe me all I did was walk out after being worked so hard to physical failure.

And this wasn't the first episode with Weis Market:

I had Jury Duty for a week and they didn't pay me for my time in court, regardless of what the employee handbook said. Not only did they not pay me, they deducted my court pay 30 dollars from my check and I walked out. Rent was due and I had a paycheck for less than a hundred dollars. After a week, they finally said if I come back they would correct the problem. They did pay me for my time in court, but I still lost a week worth of wages because I walked out. They never would have paid me if I didn't walk out.

Once I was accused of stealing. One day when I was leaving work, I was stopped by security. I already had clocked out for the day, but somehow they thought they could detain me for search. The search was done in front of the store where all customers and employees could witness this degradation. After searching all my compartments in my backpack they found nothing. I was furious. I asked the security guard if she was [censored]ing done. Three or four days later, they took me to a back room to write me up for dropping the F-Bomb. I said I done nothing wrong and I walked out again. I only came back to work after they dropped the accusation and disciplinary actions. Again, I loss a weeks worth of wages.

How can Companies get away with this? I was born and raised here in Hagerstown, Maryland. These people use intimidation and fear to abuse their employees. The Store Manager (Matt Mumma) where I left has told other department heads that if you don't like it here, I have at least 15 other applicants to replace you. Weis Market is taking advantage of the poor economy and no one cares at all - but me. I can think of at least 10 people who where treated like this. They were either worked to death, accused of steeling or had their hours reduce so much it wasn't even worth the cab fare to go to work. If I had the money I would help these poor people by bring a class action suit against Weis Market. It's time to level the playing field. I had to make stand against these horrible people I just hope you will to.

If you don't want this to happen to someone in your family or you think this mistreatment of employees is unacceptable, then go to the link below and tell them you are not shopping at Weis Market until they start treating their people better.

Mi
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ce
      Jul 22, 2010

    Why don't you contact the US labor board??

    +2 Votes
  • Ce
      Jul 22, 2010

    BTW... I contacted them in the past about a previous employer and they take all calls seriously and would look into your case... Just a thought..

    +1 Votes
  • Di
      Jun 15, 2011

    I currently work for weis markets in pennsylvania, amd I know what you mean.. It's not just your store I believe it's the company as a whole, they gave us a shrink meeting saying it's our shrinkage fault we're losing hours, but they always send all these newsletters saying how much we're profiting in such a tough economy it doesn't add up... Plus if you don't kiss ### to the managers they will throw you to the wolves. I've seen people do no call no shows for weeks on end, and than all of sudden show up and they still had a job. I've seen casheirs be behind in their breaks because one casheir was in the office talking to the office worker for nearly an hour, on the clock!! but she got away with it too.. I've seen people slave and be nice to every single customer that comes in the store and get no recognition for it because "that's what we're supposed to do". By cutting hours they figure they can give us multiple jobs at once and still pay us the same even if we're working by ourselves on the verge of collapsing it's insane, and yes they get away with it because there is no where else to go, and they know it.

    +3 Votes
  • Vl
      Nov 01, 2011
    Best Best Advice

    I agree with everything being said . I work at weis markets here in pa . they treat the night crew like [censored] . we are a small crew in a big store and are expected to work ourselves into the grave if they ask for it . we`ve had 5 managers in 4 years . each one worse than the p.o.s. before him ! we have to stock so many cases an hour or they will fire us, and any clean up or reloading of the carts doesn`t count .we should not have to use anytime at all for such ! one idiot told me that it doesn`t take 2 hours to clean up and reload carts during the night, gathering garbage, separating the plastic from the cardboard and taking all of it back to the baler, then reloading takes several minutes . do this several times a night and yes it adds up ! add to that the fact that the entire night crew is over forty, and that one of the managers was overheard saying he`d like to get rid of all those old ### and replace them, there`s definitely room for a lawsuit ! but everyone is afraid of the company ! they can build new stores, they can remodel a couple of stores per year, and they can buy not one but two corporate jets, but they cant treat their employee`s like human beings ! not to mention the substandard garbage they push on customers at inflated prices !

    +8 Votes
  • Ic
      Apr 17, 2013

    I'm glad I'm not completely insane, I thought that maybe this mistreatment was only in my mind. I've been with Weis for 4 years now as a cake decorator, and I can honestly say this store has become as bad as Walmart Super Center, my previous employer. We only have 3 full time employees in bakery, and finally now 4 years into it, 3 part time, in a B store, which is fairly busy especially on weekends. The department manager I'm under is a total ###, as well as his ignorant blind follower assistant. There are days that me and the other decorator are almost in tears because of the mistreatment we deal with. 12 years of cake decorating and I have never been treated with such disrespect, and lack of compassion. I can say as a decorator I should be able to focus on soley getting my cake tables, freezers, gourmet case, and cold cases filled uninterrupted but the managers there stiff me with every closing schedule they can give me, leave me with bread and donut tray up, on top of baking, sinks full of dishes, dirty, unswept, and unmopped floors, and all there packaging they don't finish for the day. I'm only there 7 hours, and the other decorator is there there 3 to 4 days every other week and one day she's only there for 4 hours due to the fact that she owns a business of her own. So needless to say I'm pretty much the only decorator there and I'm trying to do everyones job in 7 hours along with my own and waiting on customers while they all leave at 12:30pm not even asking me do I need help even though I always offer to help them even if I know it puts me behind, and I'm getting it at least 80%-90% done in 7 hours which 3 of them aren't doing in a full 8 hour shift togehter. I was just suspended last week due to the fact that my gourmet case had 2 cakes that were out of date in them because I was so busy worrying about finishing all their tray up that I forgot that I had to replace them. So now for the first time I have a write up and suspension on my work history. I've even went as far as to go to the store manager to talk to him about the situation in the bakery, and rather than him try to fix it and talk to the department manager about his way of talking to us and disciplinary action, he tells the department manager everything me and the other decorator talked to him about and the department manager comes back and says to me and the other decorator, "Bill says you guys need to talk to me about whatever is going on because he doesn't feel like dealing with our ###". Now this is a company that prides their self on great service and professionalism, but yet you allow a department manager to speak to employees like they are crap. The dept. manager at this point since I've started working there has had 7 people quit because of him in the past 4 years because they were tired of dealing with his crap, and yet Coporate still allows him to stay there and not fire him. I've gotten to the point where I have just stop talking to everyone back there but the other decorator, she is my light back there and keeps me leveled thankfully but at this point we have both made the decision to find work else where and just leave. I will say however when I go, coporate and the store manager will hear a lot about themselves and their so called work ethics in ther, e because to treat people this way is crazy. Wanting us to get 8 hours worth of work done in 6 and 7 hours, then telling us we can't get over-time, HR associates keying people in for lunches in the computer system even though they know they haven't taken a lunch. For me to type everything that has gone on since I've been there would have you reading the whole night. LOL It's unfortunate for all of us going through this because I know most of us are probably really good people that were just dealt bad cards. Just keep hanging in there everyone and try to keep your heads up, there's always a silver lining somewhere we just have to keep searching for it.

    +3 Votes
  • Du
      Apr 17, 2013

    that`s the weis way ! since the family nolonger runs the company, corporate runs roughshod over everyone ! worked for them for six years, stocking shelves and facing the store at night ! when we got a new manager ( john miller ) this man was overheard telling the then district manager that the first thing he planned was getting rid of the old f**fs on the night crew ! he hired a much younger guy and made him night crew boss after demoting the old boss ! the new guy was supposed to fire us, but figured out he was being lied to and used ! he did`nt last long . then the only female on the night crew was made the boss, tohn did his damndest to push her around and intimidate her, couple of us stood up to him and that`s why I nolonger work there ! he could`nt just fire me without a reason, so he tried to write me up for things I was innocent of, and the center store manager backed me on those . finally he was promoted to center store expert for the entire area . this gave him even more power ! he called the manager and center store manager and told them that if they did`nt fire me he would fire them ! . this is the kind of weasel that works for weis markets now ! they have youngsters in training for management positions who will never become managers because they are decent human beings and that just is`nt allowed ! I would give my eye teeth to see the company fold and these abusive ### be tossed out on their as**s !

    +1 Votes
  • Sc
      May 02, 2013

    I work at a weis markets in md. Why is there a lot of workplace bullying going on by the department managers?The ones who can provide good customer service are looked down upon on by the department manager.Customer service is important to keep the store running who wants to come to a store where grumps work.The ones who can't provide good customer service and don't do what there suppose to do are always the ones praised there is way to much micromanaging by one a be managers in the departments .I want to come to a good workplace without the drama .It seems like school all over again There are some managers who act very immature for there positions .

    +1 Votes
  • Mi
      Sep 29, 2018

    @sckh0498 Oh my, you are so right about this. I worked in one of the Maryland stores, Security to be exact and that front end manager is the worse talking about mistreating the good workers and pumping up the bad one who does absolutely nothing that’s him. He wants to be friends with all of the young kids and his xxx is hitting 40 I just don’t understand how he keeps getting away with the underhanded things that he does. He promotes folk who truly does nothing and the ones who work hard he gives a hard way. Weis better get rid of this immature man before all they have working on the front end is a bunch of kids acting like they are on a playground.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
      May 18, 2013

    Reading all of this makes me question my decision to accept a job with Weis Markets. I just read through the employee handbook, and was shocked to read page E19 where it talks about access to your personnel file. Who on earth would travel all the way to Sunbury, PA just to examine their personnel file? I care about my performance at my jobs, so I was surprised to read that I'm not allowed to copy documents from my file. As my time with the company progresses, I'd become more and more interested in obtaining copies of my performance reviews. How come Weis Markets does not allow associates to have copies of these important documents? Is it safe to say I will not be allowed to even see what is written on a performance review? This is a bad business practice! I read that Weis Markets prides itself on doing business in an ethical way, but how can the company call itself ethical when they won't even let employees have copies of their reviews?

    +1 Votes
  • Jo
      Jun 06, 2013

    well thank you Weis Markets I was a great employee -- all I needed you to do was be a compassionate store -- having the contents of my home stolen a month ago while I was working at the store was a nightmare. It's has taken me a whole month to find them and try to make arrangements with the PA AG and Congressman Cartwright's office to secure my belongings and my daughters belongings my cherished memories from my family and my late husband. But no I am not allowed to be late, I am not allowed to walk away from the register to make a phone call to the PA AG I am supposed to make a choice between the supermarket and my personal belongings. You greedy all for money store not for the employees -- not for the customers cause I am one a gold card customer - just for the greed

    +2 Votes
  • La
      Jun 28, 2013

    well to top off everyone's complaint. today June 29the I was followed to my car by a weis employee and he grabbed my ###! I absolutely went back in to file a complaint.I went home to tell my husband and he was furious. we went back to weis to see what was done and theey hadn't called thee cops or notheing. theey told my husband theat theey had to follow procedures by calling thee district manager first. my argument is if I had gone in theat store and stole sometheing I would've had thee cops called immediately. so I took action into my own hands and called thee cops myself. ugh... what disgust.. an employee!

    +1 Votes
  • Pi
      Oct 11, 2013

    I worked for weis market here in West Virginia. It was the worst job i've ever had in my life. The managers show favortism towards certain employees. I always got in trouble, for standing and talking to my co-workers. But yet the chasiers were allowed to be standing around, and talking to their co-workers or texting on their cellphones. And nothing was ever said to those employees. One of the manager's was totally disrespectful towards me. I understand that managers have a job to do, but there is no sense in them being so nasty, that the employees hate their job. They had known for about 3 months, that i had plans to go to college. I refused to work 30 hours a week, because i'm a full time college student. When i approached management about this, i was basically told that i was going to work the hours that i was given, and the manager didn't give a rats ### if i was going to college or not. I ended up walking out, there was no way i was giving up a chance for a better future, just to keep that job. I wouldn't work for that company again if they paid me $100/ per hour

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Feb 20, 2014

    i also work at weis markets and i would love to take and put money to bring this class action suit together!

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      Aug 10, 2014

    I've been with Weis markets in New York for a little over 3 years. I first started in the produce department. Stayed at minimum wage for almost that long even though I did all the work in the department, closed the department every night, trained new employees and had some of the best customer service skills in the store. Even better than our store manager(s) (we have gone through three of them, three assistant store managers, four center store managers, countless department managers and over 50 employees on overnights in the last year and a half alone. I eventually asked for a raise which I did not receive due to too many corporate raises and expenses. I was then told I was going to be entered into the management program (that's the only way you get more money) then that was somehow forgotten about and I was passed up for someone who was untrained and unqualified for the position. The company only cares about themselves. Apparently one of the executives or higher ups who was making about three million a year was told to quit or was fired and is somehow making almost as much to stay out of other grocery stores and not give away any Weis secrets (which are stolen from other companies) Hence no raises or advancement in the company. They expect the world from you and give you NOTHING in return. Hopefully the company will jus implode in the next few years due to the Weis kids not wanting anything to do with the company when the parents are dead an gone.

    +1 Votes
  • Pu
      Sep 09, 2014

    I am not a Weis employee. About 4 years ago Weis purchased the 12 Giant food stores in my area. The first thing they did was raise the prices of everything from 35% to 100%. They also added a whole bunch of overpriced non-grocery crap to the stores. Who wants to buy overpriced lawn furniture, rocking chairs or household appliances from a grocery store? No one! They are also in violation of the "unit pricing " law here in NY State. They put a ridiculous price per pound (that no one would pay) on a piece of meat, then put a "2 dollars off" sticker on it. Now you have no idea what the price per pound actually is. I have to take a calculator with me anytime I go to a Weis store just so I can do the math and find the real price per pound. And that real price is still going to be ridiculous. The good news is that out of the original stores that they purchased here only 8 are still open. Weis is feeling the pressure from Aldi, Save A Lot, and Price Rite. When Giant owned the 12 grocery stores here there was just one Aldi. Since Weis took over the stores we now have 3 Aldi, a new Price Rite and a new Save A Lot. Weis just doesn't seem to get the idea that people want the lowest price for food. Weis has now gone from 12 stores here down to 8. If they don't change their pricing, I can see them closing or selling the remaining stores in the next few years. Maybe Aldi will buy them.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      Nov 05, 2014

    Before the present manager came in, we had a manager who so lazy it was unbelievable. If could find a place to sit down he would. Anyway, about 18 months ago I told him that I was starting nursing classes he told me let him know the hours he needed and he would work around it. Unfortunately this was complete nonsense. He was scheduling me to be at work when I was supposed to be at class or at one of my clinical sights. I complained to head office concerning this they basically took his side. I told corporate that the only reason that he was doing this was due to who I married ( my wife happens to be the ex-wife of the manager's cousin, so of course I was being treated like a slave). Head office again never did any thing about this. They took his side in everything. I was forced to lose my full time position and become a part timer. I also lost my health benefits which included my wife's and mine health insurance.

    0 Votes
  • Sv
      Feb 12, 2015

    Try being a customer! For the third time I went to the Weis on Fruitville Pike in Lancaster. First time I went was to access the Post Office. No one was there, when I finally found someone, they came to the counter and said "oh, it's not working. I guess I could try to find out why". And then walked off. I left. The second time I also needed the Post Office - but there was no one in the store who could actually work the equipment and I asked for the Front End Manager who did come out from the back - finally. She apologized, said she was new, knew there were problems, etc, etc and gave me a $10 gift card to entice me to come back. The third (and last time) visit was last night. Again, I wanted the Post Office services and thought I would do my shopping while I was there. My son rode along with me. I wanted to buy a card to go in the package so I picked one out and got into the "Express Lane" - which was staffed by a clueless woman who needed to call for help for every transaction. I finally got to the Post Office counter and there was no one there. I was assured "someone" would came help. Then I found out that the "help" was also staffing the information counter - and it had a line with 8 people waiting. I asked for a store manager and was told there wasn't one, asked for a front end manager and was told out on maternity leave. Some guy in Weis dress was wandering around but could not answer anything. He just kept saying "we're short. I can't force someone sick to come to work." By the time I finally got my package ready to mail, my son had already finished his shopping. I handed my Weis card to the clueless guy and told him that when he did see his manager (if ever) to shove it up his A**. And I left.

    -3 Votes
  • Worst company ever. Both for customers and employees. Unsafe, dirty and and disgusting. How the pass any inspections is beyond me.
    Current managers being promoted are the rejects from other grocery chains. Weis offers them some pathetic salary that they will naturally accept for little to no work in return. If they want to save money get the salary managers off there ### and work. At our store they work less the 40 hours a week.as employees we are scheduled one or two days a week and that's it. You will get no loyalty from anyone. With such low pay, no hours, inconsistent schedules... Who gives a s##t about weis. Just be glad the check clears. Writing is on the wall for this company. Be glad the check clears, and always be looking for something else. At 9 an hour and all 15 hours they schedule you... Mcdonalds pays more and I can walk there.

    Poor company, poor owners, poor management. Poor store. Just wait they will eventually close or be bought out. Only a matter of time

    0 Votes
  • Jm
      Dec 06, 2015

    I worked at weis in woodstock for a year as nightcrew assistant manager. I immediately got bumped/promoted because their assistant had just been fired for stealing. i was only making 10 dollars an hour as a manager there with being promised multiple raises which never came but with an excuses every week or month. I was not full time nor had benefits. When the regular nightcrew manager got promoted to grocery they hired someone outside in front of me! This went on for about a year while the new manager was unqualified and lazy. They eventually forced me out and came up with like 20 bogus write ups within the day. If you don't kiss ### and follow order like a sheep they will fire you/make you quit. Management are nothing more than low life lying crooks there no joke. DO NOT WORK THERE PERIOD. They even lied when i went after unemployment. I wasted a year of my life working there and I have over 10 years of grocery experience.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Dec 06, 2015

    I used to work for Weis at the Danville PA store it was the worst job I had they treat their employees awful. But I continued to shop there because I knew where everything was located. I recently just had a situation with one of their deli workers I was asking to get a made to order sub and she had got really snotty about it. And then she made it and while she was making it she was throwing the stuff into the roll. Also when I got home it fell apart. This is just awful I was a paying customer. I am also upset that they keep getting rid of products that I liked. From now on I am shopping at walmart.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jan 09, 2016

    Has anyone noticed that the company is trying to rid itself of older (especially full time) employees? Has anyone had good yearly evaluation and then not given a yearly raise (2015)? And lastly, has anyone had any luck collecting unemployment after quitting?

    +2 Votes
  • Va
      Mar 19, 2016

    i work for weis markets inhuntingdon valley on the night crew the work itself isn't bad when there not micro managing you or cutting hours and being understaffed i started a year ago and had no experience in the grocery department but i catch on and quick and soon became the best employee on the night crew(not to take anything away from the guys i work with there hard working and great guys) there a production log that the nigh crew leader (gary seeley) fills out every night the standard is 50 pieces per hour but no one hits that number there normally around 40/per hour im at an average of 63-to 70 pieces per hour not always mind you but as an average thats normally what i throw i continued to do this for the first 7 months i worked there until a couple guys got new jobs and moved on and we where down to a 4 man night crew including the night crew lead which really does whatever he can do to get thru the night with doing as little work as possible so really down to 3 guys and this was the busiest time of the year for the grocery department thanksgiving and Christmas so i decide to pace myself and stay right around the average 40 to 50 per hour thats when my bosses attitude toward me change he started in with a smart ### comment here or there but it eventually got to the point where i was and am being belittled everyday i come to work and on top of it they expect us to get 1500 piece loads done and the store faced with just 3 guys most of the time we kill our self's just to get the load done and when the store manger come in(ginger baker) we get talked to like where because the store isn't faced on multiple occasions she snapped here fingers at me like im a dog telling me to hurry up they show us zero respect treat us like we our not even humans but then expect me to still have the same productivity as before it is ridiculous its been over a year and still never got a review or a raise and we overheard the district manager on one of his visit say we should get rid of the whole night crew there is a lot more i could say but ill be typing all day to sum it up i never been treated so bad in my life and i worked with drunk roofers for years before this lol to any one that works for weis and is going through the same thing i feel your pain and just know its cant last forever things will get better for us for them thou not so much

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Apr 20, 2016

    I am a part time employee at Weis, recently a coworker in my department quit leaving my department with 3 people I am the only one trained to close so I work every evening. I am now working 36 hours a week full time hours and i have not receved any full time benefits. About a month ago my great grandmother passed away I was not scheduled to work the day of the funeral but I still let 3 managers know that I was not able to work that day. I let them know 7 days in advance, 2 days before the funeral I was told they put me on the schedule to work that day and I said I have a funeral to attend they then acted like 7 days was too late of notice to have off for a funeral. Also at the beginning of this month I began online collage classes I am considered a full time student I also babysit during the day for my sister. They schedule me outside of my availability all the time I have to get my schedule changed every week. Since my department closes before the store occasionally I get done early I am not allowed to leave earlier then 10pm but if I am not finished my 10pm I have to stay those days I get out anywhere form 15 to an hour later. I asked to be trained to open so that I could open every other weekend and the department manager could close when I open so I can have a life at the age of 20 and they told me they are going to train me to open but I still have to close everyday. A friend of mine applied for a different department had 2 interviews and got no call so she called in and asked if she could work in my department because we really need more employees in our department and they told her she had to start as a cashier but I started in my department and never worked as a cashier. Science then they hired 2 people in bakery 2 people in produce 1 person in dairy and a ton of front end workers we have gone through tons of managers since I started working there a wear and a half ago. They definitely pick their favorites. I was trained by a guy and I did everything how he showed me but I started to clean up 15 mins. Later than he did and I got in trouble to starting to early and he never got in trouble for starting early. Also since I work in the seafood department I have to melt the ice out of the case every night occasionally I wouldn't get to it and they would yell at me for that too but the other guy left the ice every other day and never got yelled at. He eventually left. Also I was told I am not allowed to ear my own coat to work frozen or at all while I am clocked in I work in one of the coldest departments and they have 2 Weis coats in the whole store and they look like they haven't been cleaned in years so I could only imagine how many people wore it when they were sick or how many little tiny bugs are living on them. Also if you are sick and they don't wanna find someone to cover they make you come in. And my department manager came in sick all winter and coughed all over everything never leaved anything before leaving and I ended up also getting sick and the whole department took turns being sick all winter because we couldn't seem to get ride of it. They told is they wanted us to report sickness bit they never seem to care when someone is sick one time I told them I didn't feel good and was really dizzy I still had 4 hours left of my shift they told me to get back to work, I had to work frozen that day so I was in the freezer a lot lifting me heavy box while I was dizzy I had to have my mom bring me medicine because I was not allowed to leave. I work every holiday so I miss every family dinner because I am told no one is allowed to request off on holidays but yet my manager gets to leave at like 11am so he can go to his family dinners even holiday. I thought it was just my store that didn't care about anyone but them selves but I now see that it is the whole company.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Jul 09, 2016

    As an employee, this is true. I was hired as a cashier. But, you end up stocking, putting truck away, dairy, frozen, bakery & wherever else. There is no pay difference. You end up working weekends & holidays all the time. I requested a change in availability. I have personal obligations at home. My hours keep getting cut because I asked for weekends off. Ron, manager of store 165, told me I would get my hrs back if I work weekends. I am not giving in. I was put into bakery without being asked. Not receiving any pay difference. My position still lists me as cashier. I am only getting hrs in the bakery. I went from 34 hrs to 28. Now, I'm down to 20. This is all retaliation because I want a personal life at home. This store only follows company policies that benefits management. Company policy clearly states work week schedules are to be posted 3 wks in advance. They are being posted 2 days before the scheduled wk. This makes it impossible to schedule anything personal. Ron, manager of 165, stated it is a courtesy for "YOU people" to get a schedule posted early. This was the statement made for July 4th schedule ( which wasn't posted til July 1st). This manager has no respect for his employees. They expect employees to give 3 wks notice for time off. This can't be done since you don't get your next wks til 2 days before it starts. They deny time off even with the appropriate request. When schedule is finally posted, product & other items are placed in front of the schedule. This makes it impossible to view it. I feel I'm being forced out. Store keeps hiring employees & my hrs are cut to nothing. Not fair! Ron gets away with it all. Horrible store management!

    0 Votes
  • Fo
      Sep 28, 2016

    used to like weis now i'm not so sure i'll go to that location anymore

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Oct 29, 2016

    I feel those who work for any Weis store need to open a class action suit against this company. I have been shopping with this company for 16 years. The stores have more bugs in the produce department than being outside. You can find out dated can goods in the isles and rotten discounted meat in the meat cases. If your brave enough to buy fish there you better have a good medical insurance policy !! There is favoritism concerning employees throughout the store. They do not follow the contracts they make their employees sign! They are unfair with hours and make employees sign documents claiming responsibility for cash draws being short even though there are 6 people on the same draw - why because they are to lazy to count each person's draw. This company is not fair to their employees especially the full timers. They are trying to get them all to quit!! They cheat their employees out of raises and if they complain they cut their hours. If an employee takes time off like a vacation, their hours are cut when they come back as a punishment for taking time off. Favoritism in these stores is way beyond acceptable and it needs to be addressed ! They push the experienced workers out so they don't have to pay them more money! Seriously if you have worked or are working for this company you need to find a CLASS ACTION ATTORNEY AND SUE THE CRAP OUT OF WEIS !!! Yup you can all of you have contracts that Weis has breached !!! They discriminate and intimidate their employees !!!

    0 Votes
  • So
      Nov 28, 2017

    That's crazy. I work at a Weis Markets in central Pennsylvania, a newer one, and I am treated well. I think this Weis has their management together though because everyone is treated fairly and consistently and if an employee or a customer has an issue, the managers are kind and sort it out and do whatever they can to fix it. I'm sorry to hear you people's bad experiences. I am a college student and work at Weis part time as a cashier when I'm home or over summer and I never dread going.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Aug 20, 2018
    Weis Markets - Produce
    Havre de Grace
    Maryland
    United States
    weismarkets.com

    Weis market in havre de grace, maryland sold us moldy chocolate covered strawberries for mother's day and refuse to call me back when i called and complained.. I took a bite and so did my 11 yr old before discovering this disgusting strawberries

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Sep 03, 2018
    Weis Markets - Onion
    Towson
    Maryland
    United States

    I went to the Putty Hill location in Towson, MD on August 24th and purchased 27 items. Of those items, two were sweet onions. On August 28th I cut into one to use and the middle was rotten.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
      Nov 11, 2018
    Weis Markets - deli service store 123
    Nottingham
    Maryland
    United States

    i went to the deli to get 1/2 lb ham off the bone instead i got sahens smokehouse very displeased it was on 3/9/17 at 6.11 pm my cost was $ 4.15 i would like a refund on the product and give me the product i ordered y can't i get the items i ordered

    0 Votes
  • Fo
      Nov 14, 2018
    Weis Markets - customer service
    Nottingham
    Maryland
    United States

    i went to ask the customer service rep a question and she ignored me completely store is on joppa rd and seven courts drive time was about 9, 30 am on the 9/28/2016 she had short red hair very ignorant to a customer

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Aug 14, 2019
    Weis Markets - Weis Columbian coffee
    Mcarthur rd whitehall pa
    United States

    I purchased a box of k cups tried using them but they keep exploding in machine. I used other brands and this brand before and have no problem. Lot number is ss2191281913601 I am really upset so far out of this box only 6 worked wasted money on these. I really like to keep buying your product but little Leary about it what if this happens again.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment