SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

WageWorksunverified charges for dental/medical expenses

Review updated:

Since 2009, wageworks as steadily been increasing the verification of charges made to my account. All of the charges I have made have been for out of pocket expenses for medical and or dental charges not paid by my insurance company. On 5/27/2011 I spent over an hour trying to get assistance, because they said via email: YOUR CARD PRIVILEGES HAVE BEEN SUSPENDED
Your Health Care Card privileges have been suspended because you have not submitted appropriate receipts or repayments for any card transactions with Receipt or Repayment Needed. You were notified of your need to submit receipts or repayment for card transactions either via email or postal mail. I have sent numerous faxes, as did the medical provider for these same expenses they said they never received. I have recently just spent the last 4 hours sending them via the internet ALL of the EOB's or forms from my insurance coverages showing all the information that wageworks required. Now its the beginning of Memorial weekend, and they froze my card. I have a prescription I need for pain for an illness I have, and I am out of pain medicine for this illness. When I tried to explain that to wageworks customer service, the supervisor felt it was more important for them to explain that the money on the account is really, "a loan from the company my husband works", stating it was, "a benefit of a loan". After explaining to him I needed to get prescriptions filled over the weekend, twice I was put on hold for over 15 minutes. The last time I was put on hold, the company actually closed the business and he left me on hold for over an hour...I only hung up to call back and it was too late, the company had closed for the weekend. I want to send a formal complaint to someone about the company, but there is noone available to take the complaint because their customer service does not have an outlet/form/protocal for complaints. They just say, "we never got the paperwork". I also wanted to complain about the abuse of unverified charges. How many times can they ask for verification per year. Most times it is always from the same provider or dental charges, then wageworks, just threatens you by saying, "if they don't the paperwork, then the IRS can come after the account holder (me)". I am sick of their abuse and threats and ignorance. They get people on the phone that laugh at you, they don't take you serious, they don't care about the people (account holders), they are irresponsible with legal medical documents. There is NO place to talk to anyone about the problems, because they simply do NOT CARE!!!

Cr
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Dear WageWorks Participant,

    Thank you for your communication dated May 28, 2011 concerning your account issues. Your feedback is very important, and on behalf of WageWorks, we sincerely apologize for your experience.

    We recognize your level of dissatisfaction and would value the opportunity to resolve your account concerns. Please contact us at [protected]@wageworks.com for additional assistance.


    Sincerely,

    Executive Escalation Team

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Aug 25, 2011

    If the charge is coming from a medical or dental office what more verification does Wage Works need?? Call the Dentist if that is not enough. There really isn't any more verification that should be needed.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Nov 14, 2011

    I am experiencing the very same problems with Wageworks. They convey to me that they simply don't care. They are quick to deny claims without checking them in more detail. In my last call to them, they immediately responded by stating that I was too late to file. I replied that it was November and I had until December 31st. I was right, they were wrong. Bottom line - they will try anything to avoid payment.

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Nov 14, 2011

    Sorry to hear that. Can't imagine this is legal. I have submitted so much paperwork and they're still denying it. I guess Small Claims Court is the only other option.

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Nov 16, 2011

    Not sure how to advise the public, all of the disgruntle wageworks customers, but we all should forward our complaints to the ATTORNEY GENERALS OFFICE http://www.atg.wa.gov/FileAComplaint.aspx, with all of our complaints, only then can we stop WageWorks

    0 Votes
  • Ir
      Feb 15, 2012

    We have had the same issues with WageWorks for multiple years in a row. We are now seeing a pattern that makes it clear that WageWorks systematically 'loses' forms & paperwork ie. HIIPA authorizations, reciepts, requests for payment, 'notes on the account' made during calls with customer service etc.

    It is high time that a governement agency conducted an investigatory audit of WageWorks to see why these problems occur, and if they are (seemingly) intentional.

    We will not stop until we get satisfactory information from a regulatory agency as to the constant foul-ups and hi-jinx that go on at WageWorks.

    Remember...these are OUR dollars. This is NOT an insurance company. The money held by WageWorks is deducted from YOUR paycheck to be held FOR YOU so you can access it for healthcare, Rx meds, or childcare - depending on the types of accounts you take part in thru your employer. ALWAYS remind the WageWorks customer service team that the money is YOURS. YOU EARNED IT and it was deducted from YOUR PAYCHECK. IT IS NOT A BENEFIT OR A LOAN! Don't let them demean you, distract you, or put you thru an endless paper chase! FIGHT BACK!

    0 Votes
  • Cp
      Nov 07, 2012

    I would like to echo CRKlaus comments about customer service with WageWorks. I have spoken to two women who have been less than helpful. I have faxed a bill to them 3 times and again today. The website is less than satisfactory and does not provide enough detail on covered expenses and they make it very hard to contact them . Notice there is no 'contact us' choice unless you are a company interested in buying their services.

    0 Votes
  • Do
      May 23, 2014

    Well it is now 2014 and I am experiencing some of the same problems that you have experienced. They are actually mismanaging the funds in my husband's HRA versus the FSA. Receipts are being asked for over and over again. As a Senior Regional HR Manager I would not recommend this company to anyone interested in having a 3rd party administer their HRA or FSA accounts. I am now researching who the proper regulatory agency is and I will be filing complaints with them. I know the IRS regulates the FSA accounts so I hope WageWorks is ready.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Feb 05, 2015

    Its now Feb 2015, and I also am having the same issue with this company regarding receipts from June of 2014. Remembering the emails I received last summer requesting verifying receipts proving my families dental visits were not cosmetic, then sending the pictures I was advised to send, and then not receiving anymore emails, I thought this headache was over. I contacted Wageworks customer care on 01/29/15 to verify that our account was ok to use for a dentist appointment I had that afternoon and telling the gentleman, "I didn't want any issues when paying for this visit", he assured me I would be fine without any issues. To my surprise when paying the bill the card was declined, I then called WageWorks a second time and somehow got the same guy, I spoke with his, "Supervisor", explaining my frustration. I emailed the receipts again Monday evening 2/2/15, received email conformation 2/2/15, and then another email conformation 2/4/15 saying receipts were approved but on 2/5/15 our account was still suspended. I called again, another supervisor said before account can be reinstated the account needs to go to a "To Be Reinstated Statics" what the heck is that???? What a scam for wasting time, oh and I was told that can take another 2-3 days. I will not be using WageWorks anymore once this account's credit is depleted, I'm just disgusted with the whole process and especially the non-existent customer care !!

    0 Votes

Post your comment