The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

The Times Of India / Economic Times Subcription / Bad customer service

1 India Review updated:

My name is Ms. Hemlata Tiwari, and I am a resident of Vasai (E), Evershine City. One of your RRE’s Mr. Ravindra Vaik (RRE code 2488 Mob No: [protected]) had come to my door on 12th dec 2006 with a special offer to subscribe Economic Times with annual fee of Rs. 85/- provided I start with Times Of India subscription. Order No: MMET12 386494, I agree to the terms & paid him by cheque (chq no:282180 dt:13/12/06 HDFC Bank). Mr. Vaik promised me that my subscription would start on 1st Jan 2007.

On 1st jan 2007, I did not receive my subscription hence I called him to inquire. He said, he will get in touch with the vendor here ( S.V. Das vendor code:AV721, Area code:MA044) & that the subscription would start the next day. I still did not get it. So I followed up again & this continued for 2 more days after which the RRE, Mr Ravindra Vaik had switched off his cell ph, never took my calls, disconnected me in mid sentence, which was an unacceptable behavior from a representative of The Times of India.

However, I contacted your office no. which was given on the back of my order receipt. I spoke to a customer service rep named Seema who took the required details & promised that my subscription would start the next day, which failed to happen. I also lodged a complaint against the RRE, & she said the matter will be escalated to the Area Executive. When I called her up the next day ie on 5th jan 2007, she said that the date of subscription was postponed to 8th jan 2007. But as usual I never got my paper that day as well. I spoke to Seema again, & she said it will start from the next day. By this time, which is very obvious, I had reached the heights of frustration. I spoke to another customer service rep, Mitali, who said that the subscription is postponed to 16th jan 2007, & also that my cheque has still not been credited to their a/c, hence my order failed to be dispatched. I checked with my Bank & was informed that chq no. 282180 was not presented to them.

Mitali had promised that she’ll follow-up with my case & trace the cheque. I’ve still not got a call. I just spoke to the RRE again, who said that he had submitted my cheque to the office. I asked for a manager’s no. He asked me to call him back, and when I did, he had switched of his cell phone.

I am really very unhappy with the horrible customer service provided to me by The Times of India. I either want my issue to be resolved or I need to cancel my subscription. Such incompetence is unacceptable.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • La
      13th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    I strongly say that it is 100% worst service. Times subscription dhamaka is a 100% fraud. The times of India is bad customer service and also agents who work in the company. Because i also a customer of the times of india agent named md. Awees who came to my house in December and strongly forced me to take the, the times of india dhamaka offer for about 199rs, after calling many many times to customer service in banjara hills and agent cell they started giving paper in january and stop the after 10days. And again i called customer service and agent awes cell but no use they don't rectified the problem.

  • Ki
      27th of Nov, 2007
    0 Votes

    I strongly agree to the complaint raised by Hemlatha. I am personally facing the same problem in HYD. That guy collected money from so many people in my area and switched off his mobile. There was no action even though i raised a complaint via customer care.

    I have subscribed it on 27/07/2007. Till now I didn't receive the paper. Really this Dhamaka offer shown me a dhamaka surprise for Dassera and Diwali. Very Good offers from Time of INDIA. I didn't expect such type of worst response from a corporate company. At last I have asked them to refund my money. Even for that also they are not responding.

  • Sa
      29th of Nov, 2007
    0 Votes

    I do agree with the complaints. I subscribed on 06-10-2007 and was assured to receive the newspaper from 16-10-2007 onwards but till today(29-11-2007) I did not receive any. The name of the representative is Mr.B Sravan Kumar and his Mob # is 9866842118. I even called HELP LINE of Times Of India given in the receipt a number of times but in vain. Subscription Order Cum Receipt & Help Line # details:-

    The Times Of India Dahamaka Offer # 82324
    Sunday Times Dhamaka Offer # 84605

    Help line # of Times Of India :
    040-23352795 & 040-23355335 Ext-4223

  • Vi
      25th of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    My name is Vinod Sharma and would strongly agree to the above complaint against the most pathetic service that you receive from TIMES OF INDIA recently. There was a rep from Times Of India named Manoj Tiwari who was rude and abusive when he recently visited my place at ANdheri (West). The purpose of his visit was to check as to we had paid the annual subscription of TOI. It was already paid in DEC 2007. He disagreed to the same and started arguing saying that it was not paid and also said that if you do not pay the amount your subscription will be stopped and TMES OF INDIA DOES NOT WANT CUSTOMERS LIKE YOU. It seems that Times Of India is not at all worried about their customers. Would really appreciate if some one can provide a email id where this issue can be raised to and appropriate action taken against the employee.

  • Vc
      18th of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    COmpletely agree with this. Recently TOI launched their chennai edition where they have fleeced my old father. Gave him a dysfunctional flask as a gift but he is yet to see the newspaper being delivered.
    Bunch of THUGS and CHEATS.
    regards
    Venkatesh

  • Ab
      18th of Aug, 2008
    0 Votes

    I subcribed to times of india annual subscription offer. I dont receive any papers. Calling TOI and vendor does not help. They invariably say that papers will be received from "tomorrow". And as they say, tomorrow never comes.
    I think the only way is to go to the consumer court. This is clear cheating.

  • Mo
      24th of Sep, 2008
    0 Votes

    I am subscribed the paper from Cognizant Technology Solutions, Chennai.
    Unfortunately i missed my coupon book which was given in the 1 year plan.
    I sent many mails regarding this.
    Till now i didn't receive any reply from you.
    Please treat this as an Important and send the coupon book to my below Address.

    Mohammed Musa,
    NO:12, 3rd Usman Street,
    Masjid colony,
    Kamarajapuram,
    Thambaram,
    Chennai-73.
    Cell:9790965404

  • Sa
      25th of Oct, 2008
    0 Votes

    I am also a victim of that. 1 months back a sales person from TOI came to my house and proposed for taking an annual subscription. I gave him a cheque. The cheque has been cleared. But nothing came to my address. They are fraud.

  • Sa
      29th of Oct, 2008
    0 Votes

    Dear Sir/Madam,
    Request you to provide me the customer service no of Times of India Chennai.


    Warm regards,
    Sajith

  • Dr
      1st of Nov, 2008
    +1 Votes

    i am residing at new town kolkata & i want to subscribe times of india from my vendor som please send my send offers for subscription

  • Ar
      7th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    sir,
    my self - Arunkumar Baser
    Add- 105, rnr vishals recidancy, kamalanagar,
    ECIl post, Hyderabad-62.
    Sub- not getting subscription from DASHERA onwards.

    sir, i pay for whole six months at a time on 20-05-2008.
    SINO-25090.
    HNR-STD-94639
    RRE-K01772.

    but distributor says u are not paying for this six months subscription hence he not considering me.

    I am also talk to office persons on phone ...
    but they just says that from tomorrow u will get paper but till now almost one & half month over im not getting paper ...


    so please consider thise issue n do something for me ..

    yours faithfully
    A.K baser.

  • Sh
      10th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    From, 10/11/08
    Shouvik Dutta
    “Dutta Villa”
    SD Park;Kusumba
    PO:Narendrapur
    Kolkata 700103

    To,
    Times of India
    Complaint Section

    Sub: Grievance against availing yearly subscription for Times of India.

    Sir,

    I have been a regular reader of your esteemed daily the Times of India for the last 15 years. Recently, on the advice of a friend I thought of becoming a yearly subscriber & accordingly submitted the filled in form along with a cheque of Rs 199/- to our newspaper hawker. The next day, he came back with all those documents & informed me that the distributor / agent at Sonarpur (South 24 Parganas) demanded that I must be a yearly subscriber of either Filmfare or Femina magazine to be eligible for becoming a subscriber of “Times of India” daily.

    It is amazing to learn that the TOI authorities indulge in promoting publications other than their own.

    An early response is awaited.


    Yours sincerely,

    Shouvik Dutta
    Mobile:9883222289, 9432065584

  • Di
      20th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    There was a scheme by Ezeego that they shall give discount against total of Authorization Code, when we book any ticket of Indigo Airline by ICICI credit CARD. there fore i had booked one ticket for travel date 17th November 2008 Bangalore to Ahmedabad on Ezeego1 vide reference number : EZR-2008-775737/A [ Airline PNR number : LZ8HBB] but still they have not e mailed any authorzation code or intimated about it. in this matter have have even requested them by registering a complaint by web quary form from there website vide Web Query Number is 1187435.

    Regards
    Dinesh Pirgal
    +91 98440 98040

  • Ra
      22nd of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    Dear Sir

    I am residing in AMALFI, RAHEJA GARDENS, L.B.S.ROAD, THANE(W)
    I HAVE PAID A CHEQUE FOR TIMES OF INDIA Rs.375+ Rs 100'/three weeks back
    AXIS BANK CHEQUE NO.365223 AND 365224 ON 9 Th Jan 09
    I have given this to Kartikya agencies Thane

    I REQUESTED HIM THAT I SHOULD GET MAHARASHTRA TIMES AND NOT MIRROR

    SURPRISINGLY TILL TODAY I AM BEING GIVEN MIRROR AND NOT MAHARASHTRA TIMES


    PLEASE DO NEEDFULL


    Dr Ravi.R Deshmukh
    CONSULTING SURGEON
    THANE
    CELL NO 9820505265
    22ND JAN 09

  • Sy
      2nd of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes

    To
    The Officer incharge,
    The Times of India,

    Ref:1.Order no.2074994
    2.Subscriber no.21169494

    In continuation of my complaint sent nine days ago, I am to inform
    that till date I have not
    received the monthly tokens to be handed over to the agent for the
    payment I have made during May 2008.I made so many complaints to your
    office over telephone, but of no avail. However the
    news paper is being supplied by the agent with effect from 24-01-2009.
    He is frequently disturbing me to get the tokens, since he did not get
    the payment till date.
    But to my surprise I received a renewal form for making payment
    for the next year.
    I regret to inform that when your are able to send renewal form
    promptly, why dont you send the tokens for the payment made one year
    back.

    I once again request you to arrange to send the tokens for the
    payment made during May 2008 through Citi Bank, so as to enable me to
    pass on to the agent.

    Further I assure you that on completion of one year that is during
    January 2010, I will promptly make payment for the subsequent year.

    Please take neccessary urgent action in this regard.

    With regards,
    SYED AHMED HUSSAIN,
    NEW NO.19, YASIN KHAN STREE,
    ISSA PALLAVARAM..
    CHENNAI-600043
    TAMIL NADU
    MOB:9894881851

  • Gi
      19th of Mar, 2010
    0 Votes

    Hi,
    All those interested can go in for toi annual subscription . Only thing you should be ready for:
    1. Regular non delivery
    2. Customer care will take 48-96 hours to restore the problem . thats 2-4 days.
    3 . This cycle is likely to repeat 2-3 times a month.
    4 I net effect you would pay:
    (a): 300/ for yearly subscription.
    (b) 20-40 for talking to customer care per month .
    (c) get paper 75% of days (efficient)
    (d) Feel of helplessness
    (e) May miss out on important news the day u do not get the paper if u do not have subscription for another paper.

  • Am
      8th of Apr, 2011
    0 Votes
    The Times Of India / Sunday Times Subcription - Bad customer service
    Mrs. Amrutha Reddy
    India

    My name is Mrs. Amrutha Reddy, and I am a resident of Hyderabad. One of your RRE’s Mr. Nishanth (RRE code R02009 Mob No: 9052518221) had come to my door on 1st Apr 2011 with a special offer to subscribe Times Of India Dhamaka Offer. Order No: 21o517, Sunday Times Dhamaka Offer. Order No: 207936, I agree to the terms & paid him by cheque (chq no:074842 dt:04/01/11 DCBank). Mr. Nishanyh promised me that my subscription would start on 8th Apr 2011.

    On 8th Apr 2011, I did not receive my subscription. So, I advice people over here not to believe in such offers...

    I am really very unhappy with the horrible customer service provided to me by The Times of India. I either want my issue to be resolved or I need to cancel my subscription. Such incompetence is unacceptable.

  • Ra
      22nd of Jun, 2012
    0 Votes

    TIMES OF INDIA ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE IS VERY POOR. THEY WON'T DELIVER THE PAPER REGULARLY / ON TIME.

  • Km
      28th of Sep, 2012
    0 Votes

    PHYSICIAN = HEAL THYSELF

    Times of India Customer Service? Don't underplay it by terming it as 'poor customer service' or 'bad customer service'. I experienced it and rightly express it as HORRIBLE! HORRIBLE! HORRIBLE! One school boy after a lot of calls on different numbers came and collected a cheque and promised delivery of the paper the very next day. Neither trace of the boy nor the News Paper, now. The paper reports of the incompetency and inefficiency of Ministries, Departments, Public Sectors and Private Sectors. In my view these agencies have not stopped down to the level of this centenary old weak and dilapidated soul. In this context my advice to Times of India is 'PHYSICIAN - HEAL THYSELF' . What a shame!

  • Eb
      26th of Apr, 2013
    0 Votes

    My name is Ebi Abraham and am reciding at -30, Nelson Chambers, 115 Nelson Manickam Road, Aminjikarai, Chennai - 600 029.
    I am a subscriber of Times of India Newspaper for quite some time. Recently when I renewed the subscription they asked me whether I would like to have The Economic Times also alongwith the Times of of India paper, to which I readily agreed and gave the cheque for that also alongwith the payment for Times of India paper. The coupon book for the Times of India came promptly within a few days, but there was no response to the payment made for The Economic Times. Though I tried to reach them on phone several times, I was repeatedly reminded by a recorded message saying, 'we are not available right now, please leave your name and number after the beep'. Though I had complied with their advice, till date, nobody had called me or sorted out my problem. The details of the payment are furnished below for your kind perusal :- Axis Bank Cheque No. 096324/20.03.2013 for Rs. 299.00. RRE Name : Allimuthu P. Vendor Name : Dhansing. Depot Name : Aminjikarai 1. Dealer Name : Dayalan

    I request you to kindly look into the matter and regularise the subscription or return back the cheque to me

Post your comment