The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Sit-N-Sleep / Scam

1 United States Review updated:

I purchased a high end Chattam & Wells mattress from SitNSleep on 7-29-06 with a 10 year non prorated warranty. The mattress is junk and has fallen apart internally. It was inspected and found to be defective and approved for replacement.

Sit N Sleep just issues a credit to come into the store and "BUY" another mattress. The credit is not enough to cover replacing the original mattress. So I am stuck with a bad mattress, unless I want to pay the difference to get the current priced mattress from them for another $2, 000.

I called Chattam & Wells, they are now owned by Spring Air. They said it is not a Mfg warranty direct, i have to go back to the original retailer where i purchased the set and negotiate with them. They just give the wholesale value of the mattress to the retailer for replacement.

So here I am, stock with a bad mattress and no warranty support. My back is hurts every night I sleep on this mattress. Sit n Sleep is not an honest and reliable company to do business with, I do not recommend them!!!

Be
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ch
      23rd of Mar, 2009
    0 Votes

    all manufacturers of beds do that in a warranty situation. In Non prorated you get the full value back via the retailer to either get a straight exchange or a reselection at the same value. Anything above that value you have to pay for. It's not just sit'n'sleep. Be thankful its not pro-rated or you'd only be getting a portion of that money back towards new.

  • Ea
      19th of May, 2009
    0 Votes

    My fiancé and I just perched a new bed from Sit N’ Sleep in the City of Industry CA right off the 60 freeway. This bed was perched on Feb 15, 2009 two months later the side of the bed collapsed and slumps at the edge. We called Sit N’ Sleep and they had a few people come out to our home to see it. A week later they called to tell us we would be getting a new bed. A week later two men come to take our bed away. The Sit N’ Sleep movers said they found a spot on the bed. Now they will not take the bed back. You can not even see this so called stain. I will NEVER NEVER In my life buy another bed from Sit N’ Sleep.

  • Ha
      26th of May, 2009
    0 Votes

    We are having a similar scenario with Sit N' Sleep. We bought a very expensive bed there in 7/07, nearly $3, 000, along with a pad protector for $150 that they said must be purchased at the same time as the bed, and that if there is a stain--which would void the warranty--then the pad company would be responsible to replace the bed. When they first delivered the bed, it had a flaw in the cover, it looked like a stain or dirt, so we rejected the mattress based on that, and they sent a new one. We put the pad on and never have it off the bed. About 8 months or so into the life of the bed, it started to sag pretty badly. A few months later we called Sit N Sleep, and they don't even want to talk to you, they just shuttle you to Precise Measurement Co. an "independent 3rd Party" company that comes out to inspect the mattress. Well, they came and the result was that the indentations "were within manufacturer's expectations" so the claim was rejected. We just had them come out again this month, because the bed has just been getting worse and worse, and we both have back pain from it. The same guy came to inspect. He said the indentations were "more than 1 1/2 inches, what their limit is". But he said he saw a stain on the mattress, which is so faint as to be hardly visible, and looks more like an anomalous variationin the fabric. The result was that not only was the claim rejected, but the warranty was voided now. Oh, and in the report he turned in, he gave the indentation measurement as only 1 inch. When I told Sit N Sleep that the guy told us it was more than 1 1/2 inches the rep said "They are not supposed to discuss that kind of thing, and besides, that is only heresay". (Need I remind her that their whole position is based on the same kind of "heresay"?). The suggested I go after the protective pad people, but when I called them they said they will replace the pad and then test the old pad to see if it failed, and how, and that this "ends the warranty claim for the product". So even if the pad failed, it will not help to replace the mattress, which the inspection company says is within guidelines anyway. So this is a total racket!!! I called Sit N Sleep back and requested more detailed copies of the inspection reports, which mention the measurements they took. They do not send you these automatically, just the rejection letter comes but no measurements, so you have to ask for that. Also, the measurement from the first year was 1 inch, so isn't that interesting? The bed sagged an inch the first year, but not another speck for the whole next year? I think there is going to be some legal action in the future. This was my 4th bed from Sit N Sleep, and I will never, ever buy another product from them. They show no customer support or loyalty, and all of this warranty and inspection routine is a total in-house scam: Precise Measurement gets paid by the bed manufacturers, so how "precise" is their work going to be?

  • Ho
      26th of Aug, 2009
    0 Votes

    I had the exact same problem There should be some sort of recourse for us.

  • Mh
      30th of Sep, 2009
    0 Votes

    We are having the same problem.. I have been on many websites with a lot of people complaining about the same stupid policies with so called stains and rejecting the claim.. Our mattress at deepest point is 2 1/2 inches sagging. My husband does not even sleep in bed anymore, and I have to sleep sideways, and still wake up ready to see a chiropractor & massage therapist. This is EVERY morning !!! We spent 2 k on this bed & them telling us it would last at least the term of the warranty 15 years !!! BULL CRAP !!!
    The inspector that came was very nice, but he is just doing a job, nevertheless, they give you the run around, and besides what does a stain or discoloration have to do with a defective mattress????
    I am so sick of this... 2 k should buy you more than 2-3 years on a matress, , ,

  • Pc
      12th of Oct, 2009
    +1 Votes

    I bought a mattress from sit n sleep as well. I got a Spring Air bed and it was defective twice. It turns on the company went bankrupt and Sit n sleep will not do anything about it. It is the worse mattress I have ever owned because it sinks in the middle. I will never buy a bed from them ever again.

  • Ha
      26th of Feb, 2017
    0 Votes

    @pccdgl I bought a queen size Spring Air Beverly Back supporter from Beds Etc. Sales person was like honey dripping from a hive. She told me how great Spring Air was and has been in bussnis like forever. Later I found out that to be untrue after the fact. The Spring Air license is owned by Pleasant Mattress aka Cannon. Beds Etc. delivered the new queen set and it was defective at the time they dropped it off. The rough delivery men beat up the paint in my home. I had them take a picture of the defects on their phone and call their supervisor Lori. She arrange to have a new set delivered with a lower 5 inch profile foundation. On the second delivery, the guys were really gruff and I felt so intimidated. I asked for a copy of what they had me sign. They said they don't provide one. Odd, wouldn't a person think? They left, thank God!!! The original set delivered in the first place had a mattress tag dated 10-15-15. I bought the bed 11-11-15. When I went to make the bed I noticed that the bedding was way to big. It was then I found out that the bed and 4- inch profile foundation were dated 8-18-15. The bag that they brought the second set had holes in the sides about the size of platters. The mattress was dingy looking and flat as a pancake. I sat on it and it felt like cans and slinky toys and I sunk to the foundation. So what is up with this one might think. Oh, it was someone else returned bed. To top that off it was a Prototype. It was not the bed I bought on 11-11-15. I am not a well person and well into age. After many calls and communication's to customer service, which by the way, like my concerns were going into the Black Hole in outer space. Finally Lori called me back after Thanksgiving Holiday. She said this was the last time she would exchange the mattress only with that of the returned first bed. I agreed as I wanted this disaster over and done with. The third delivery went from bad to tragic. I won't get into details but, I again was delivered a used broken down stinky bed, like that of wet dog. I didn't pay much attention during the delivery as the guys wanted me out of the room. I locked my doors after they left. I went to examine the bed and the tag was 8-18-15. I thought my grey hair was going to catch on fire. I called Beds Etc. so many times and finally made contact with Lori and she screamed at me calling me a LIAR. They only have new beds on the truck. Odd I thought as where did they put the old beds that they remove from the homes. I am glad that I didn't get Bed Bug infestation. As the last two mattress were not sealed on the sides. I still have the bed hammock which causes so much pain. To this day the company ( Lori ) said we are done. She did offer to exchange the top mattress for another $100 or so $$$. If anything not one more cent from me. They should just deliver what I bought and paid for and some extras for my anguish after almost a year of my trying to have this issue resolved. Dealing with Pleasant Mattress in Fresno, CA was just as frustrating even from the beginning.
    This really seems to be such a bait and switched scam industry So to all out there BEWARE, BEWARE and BEWARE.
    Oh, by the way Sit and Sleep is in close proximity to Beds Etc. in Studio City, CA

    2-25-17 by another ca. consumer Hair on fire.

  • Tr
      11th of Mar, 2017
    0 Votes

    @Haironfire We need to get in touch and to nail these Swindlers. They designed their exchange policy in such a way that they can screw everyone over with NO effort whatsoever. I plan to contact the investigative Reports TV, local news programs, police department, BBB, etc. My name is OLGA and I am in LA. Here is my email: olgatruthseeker@gmail.com And here is my story briefly ...

    I purchased a brand-new Silver Line Simmons Beautyrest St John Firm Luxury Pillowtop 5 days ago, March 5, 2017, at La Brea Store, and it was delivered on March 6. The delivery people covered it with mattress protector and took away my old mattress. The new mattress felt NOTHING like the same mattresses at stores (I've been to 3 stores to try this particular mattress). But that was NOT the worst thing about it. From the first night I've been waking up with back pain and by 5:am on March 10 it was excruciating. I removed the cover and discovered that the mattress top fabric was all stretched and wrinkled. I am 5'5" and 130 lb and I have been rolling to the center of the bed involuntarily as there is an area that sinks in with no support whatsoever. It is clear that the mattress has either been used and re-upholstered in a very sloppy way, or it is defective which is less likely as the "sinking hole" is exactly where the middle of my back is when in the center of the bed, and it does not have sharp edges, the mattress gradually gets weaker toward the center of it, just like it would after extensive use by a heavy person.

    I called the store asking them to exchange the mattress for the same, but new, and they refused. They now want to send an "expert" to evaluate my mattress. I checked these "Experts" out and they are saying that the mattress should sag more than by 1 1/2" to qualify for an exchange. And then I found info on line stating that S 'n S circulating used and returned Mattresses, sometimes re-upholstering them and attaching new labels and sometimes just sanitizing them. This is going on in Gardena, Sit 'n Sleep Headquarters, they have a shop there - isn't this horrible?

    JOIN ME, LET'S DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS.
    Olga

    https://www.consumeraffairs.com/furniture/sit_n_sleep.html
    http://mythreecents.com/reviews/sit-n-sleep
    http://nowscape.com/suck/Sit-n-Sleep.htm

  • Ca
      22nd of Nov, 2009
    0 Votes

    Let me say this as gently as possible...KINGSDOWN IS A PIECE OF CRAP! These mattresses should be placed in prisons for torturing criminals. We spent $3, 800 for our mattress set, which was suppose to be of superior quality and comfort. The first night was awful we thought maybe it was due to the change in a new mattress, so we tried another SLEEPLESS NIGHT on KINGSDOWN 800 and that was it. This mattress is like sleeping in quicksand. It is not comfortable at all, completely uneven. One sinks on the sides and the middle is much higher. Don't even try sitting in bed to read a book/paper, because your butt just sinks in an endless pit of foam and within minutes your back is on fire with pain. There is no support and I only weigh 125 pounds. Lucky we have another room with a confortable mattress to sleep on while we communicated with the store. We were able to get an exchange. The manager of the store said there were some mattresses that were mis-labeled and we must have received one? Interesting, I thought...Well we decided to go to the store and re-try the mattresses. The one we had orginally selected did NOT feel anything like the one we received. We decided to go with the lowest layer of foam on the top, the KINGSDOWN 600 range. It felt pretty good in the store, firmer than we wanted, but after the previous one, we thought firmer would be better. So here we go again. The new matress arrives, we are thrilled AFTER waiting a couple of weeks. The mattress felt firmer than the first one, but not as firm as the one in the store. I started having lower back pain within the first week. The second week I could no longer take my morning walks, because I am in so much pain. Even Motrin did not help. The middle of the week, I had so much pain one evening from my lower back to my thighs that I went to the guest room at midnight. I slept like a baby. I really thought if I selpt on the Kingsdown mattress one more night that I could suffer a serious injury to my back. I have not slept on their mattress since and have totalling recovered. NOW we have notified the store. I do think KINGSDOWN is an inferior product and we will see if SIT & SLEEP is a reputable store. In the meantime stay away from this product. I do not know why any store that has a concern about their future consumer base would carry this line of product. Think their management should view all the COMPLAINTS on Kingsdown, they are alarming! This is not a cheap product. Believe me all these customers who do not get fair treatment will not forget where they purchased their matress and will be certain to communicate the treatment level they received to their friends and family. ca.consumer

  • Ca
      10th of Nov, 2011
    0 Votes

    Precise Mattress Inspection, Not such a dream job or company to work for.

    Integrity, no, customer service, no... What I got when I worked for them was harrassment and threates.
    I quit this job because I recieved threats if I would not be partial to certain clients over others.

    On several occations I was told to approve a mattress for replacement (refrerred to as a defect) for a customer who's mattress was not really defected, but because the customer was friends with the owners or other managment or owners of mattress stores or someone in manufacturing, they foreced inspectors to lie on inspection forms, if we asked questions we could lose our jobs.

    On other occations, the owners woudl falsify their own inspection forms for the same reasons, and on at least two occations one of the owners would indicate they were in a city and state doing an inspection, but have the same date of another inspection in another city and state.

    On several occations I found the owners inspection reports to be misleading and not in accordance with their own training of inspectors. Poor quality photos, unable to tell if mattress was truely defective or not.

    On at least one occation inspectors were forced to not find defects after a certain quota otherwise we would have to pay for the mattresses out of our own pockets.

    Still yet, I was told I would be working in a certain geographical area and later was told I had to drive hundreds of miles to do one inspection, costing me wear and tear on my vehicle and gas out of pocket, and they owners would get angry if you spent to much on gas and only give you a gas card which sometimes worked. Other cost we had to pay out of our pockets.

    All in all I had to quit this job because of the threats and false claims they forced employees to make on reports and favortism they played. Not exactly integrity and service and deffinatley NOT a Dream Job.

  • Ca
      10th of Nov, 2011
    0 Votes

    I would add, Precise Mattress Inspection has "contracts" with most all major brands, stores, manufactures to inspect mattresses for "defects" I can say on more than several occasions that the owners Randy and Dwayne forced me and others to find something wrong with a mattress in order to replace it for a friend of a friend, under duress and other times they forced us to meet quotas saying, if we don't stop finding problems with mattresses we would as employees be forced to pay for them. Certain customers would have real defects that any person could see but because of their way of "inspecting" the mattress would be found to not have a defect and the warranty would be not honored in many cases for several times. The customer could not request a new inspection for 30 days, and this went on for 2-3 months or more. I felt i had to quit this position because of the blatant lies and harassment by both Dwayne Murphy and Randy Schmidt.

  • Tr
      11th of Mar, 2017
    0 Votes

    @CaliOC Thank you for this info. It is brave of you to say this. I wish I knew all this before buying from Sit 'n Sleep.
    TS

  • Tr
      11th of Mar, 2017
    0 Votes

    It is terrible the way businesses like Sit 'n Sleep treat people. And it looks like there is no protection for consumers. We need to change this.
    I purchased a brand-new Silver Line Simmons Beautyrest St John Firm Luxury Pillowtop 5 days ago, March 5, 2017, at La Brea Store, and it was delivered on March 6. The delivery people covered it with mattress protector and took away my old mattress. The new mattress felt NOTHING like the same mattresses at stores (I've been to 3 stores to try this particular mattress). But that was NOT the worst thing about it. From the first night I've been waking up with back pain and by 5:am on March 10 it was excruciating. I removed the cover and discovered that the mattress top fabric was all stretched and wrinkled. I am 5'5" and 130 lb and I have been rolling to the center of the bed involuntarily as there is an area that sinks in with no support whatsoever. It is clear that the mattress has either been used and re-upholstered in a very sloppy way, or it is defective which is less likely as the "sinking hole" is exactly where the middle of my back is when in the center of the bed, and it does not have sharp edges, the mattress gradually gets weaker toward the center of it, just like it would after extensive use by a heavy person.

    I called the store asking them to exchange the mattress for the same, but new, and they refused. They now want to send an "expert" to evaluate my mattress. I checked these "Experts" out and they are saying that the mattress should sag more than by 1 1/2" to qualify for an exchange. This is ridiculous, the mattress is clearly damaged and not the same as in the store.

    JOIN ME, LET'S DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS.
    TS

Post your comment