SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Singsnap / Harasses Paying Members

1 United States Review updated:

Complaint Rating: 0 % with 0 votes Company information: Eatsleepmusic Corp Ottawa, Ontario Canada singsnap.com

As past lawsuits of copyright infringement loom over the owner of Singsnap and partners and with a new harassment lawsuit on the way, Singsnap owner Trevor McGuire seems nervous or perhaps paranoid in his dealings with members lately and his crazy ideas of them plotting against him. In the past, McGuire wasn't present in the lives of the members themselves. He would show up once in a while on the message boards or on camera with a greeting or announcement of some sort. Nowadays, we're learning Trevor has been harassing his paying customers in private communications with accusations of "copy and paste" when it comes to his posts and his belief that he "owns" every letter types on his beloved site.

Recently, a much loved member and a three account paying customer was banned permanently from the site, accused of copying and pasting posts from the message boards. Say what? Not only was this much liked member paying Mr. McGuire $36 (USD) per month for services, but had never cause any harm or discontent on the site in the years since they'd become a member. Many before now have come forward with similar stories of being banned from the karaoke site without cause and certainly without getting any of their money back, sometimes having been paid up for an entire year in advance. To date, this particular story has been the worst, showing exactly what kind of a crappy businessman and person McGuire is.

Below, find the private communication between Trevor McGuire and the loyal member.

On May 28 (1 day ago), you said: Dear Trevor, I am sincere about wishing to try out the new SingSnap mixer. If there are already enough persons testing it I will understand. When you did not respond to my request I figured you were busy...and Krud and I were just entertaining ourselves...all in good fun. Happy SingSnapping evening to you. Regards, *****

On May 28 (about 9 hours ago), trevorSTAFF said: Do you intend to offer an explanation? Particularly for copying my last post? I assumed you think I was bluffing bu I am not. I get a message like this when a post is copied: Copied by: ********

"you could imagine. Their behavior is incomprehensible and criminal. I know who they are, where they are and what they have done. They will be dealt with in due course and that is all I am willing to say about that at the moment. To copy from my site, whether video's or message board posts, not only violates my TOS and COC but it is illegal. All content here is my intellectual property. I am not interested in anyone's feedback on this point as I am extremely well versed in intellectual property, copyright and litigation. If you participate in this particular activity make sure you have a willingness to spend money to defend yourself and that your pockets are deeper than mine should I decide to do something about it. I will use any and all resources at my disposal to further and defend my SingSnap ideal. I put in place the ability to monitor who copies which posts from these threads. Yesterday, midday, several posts were copied. This morning at 1:57 am a few more posts were copied. Given that they were primarily posts made by Shanda, I have no doubt as to the intent. I would like the person who did this to contact me to explain their actions. This is your opportunity to explain yourself prior to my banning your account." From: "General Rants" -> "What Offends You?"

On May 28 (about 8 hours ago), you said: Dear Trevor, I don't appreciate being accused of this. Also, I don't appreciate feeling threatened by your message to me. I am a loyal SS paying customer and have always enjoyed being a part of this community whether I agree or disagree with anyone. Respectfully, *****

On May 28 (about 8 hours ago), trevorSTAFF said: I am not threatening you. You were caught copying posts. These posts are being used on the hate site. I am asking for an explanation.

On May 28 (about 5 hours ago), you said: Dear Trevor, As I told you above, I agree to disagree with many people. I also enjoy reading the posts on the boards and participating in the same capacity that others do. How anything gets posted on other sites I am not privy to. Nor do I have anything to do with hate or hate sites. Contrary to what you or others may think. I have private conversations that you are privy to and can verify that. Most of what I have to say in Private is just that...private. I am a loyal member on SingSnap and have met many wonderful people here that I call friends. No further explanation should be required. I am very upset at your persistence in questioning me about this matter and consider the matter closed. You will not see me adding any of my thoughts on the Offends Thread and any other threads...because I truly find that most of what is said is offensive to me and as a member of the SingSnap community. Again, I agree to disagree and keep my thoughts in Private. My time and money spent on here would best be spent singing and ignoring the message boards. Sincerely, *****

On May 28 (about 3 hours ago), trevorSTAFF said: Karen - you were the only one who copied these posts. You made a point of copying my post. You have been banned from the message board so you are unable to post. I intend to ban you from the site but I wanted to give you a chance to explain your actions.

End of private communications.

As a spokesperson for our site, this Singsnap member is not nor has ever been a member on our site. This Singsnap member This loyal paying member of Singsnap has never emailed us or visa versa. Hear that SHANDA? After a few days of finding out they were permanently banned, we finally learned of what transpired between Trevor McGuire and this member and were disgusted. Not only is this narcissistic man wrong on so many levels but he's paranoid and basically off his rocker in our very humble opinion. We are also of the opinion he is a lousy businessman, choosing to take money out of his pocket instead of putting money in. We were also wondering if his partners are aware of his harassment and shoddy business practices? If they don't, they will soon. He has accused past non-staff members of treason. Again, say what? He has labeled past members [censored]ers who only had legitimate complaints about the site and demanded better treatment by staff and volunteers. He chooses to now spend his time chasing shadows and the idiotic psychopathic thoughts and delusions of Shanda Maddox/Lancaster.

In conclusion we believe it might behoove him to worry about his own skin instead of threatening paying members. We know Shanda will be Trevor's biggest downfall. Does he?

Mo
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Sn
      Sep 06, 2012

    I do not think it was the leaders of SingSnap doing the hacking. It most likely was a lone individual who saw you on the site and decided to hack into your account and use your profile and info for their own use. The leaders of SingSnap themselves were probably hacked into and that is why it appeared to be coming from them. You should contact the head of SingSnap and notify him. I am sure he would be glad to know so he can prevent anything like this happening in the near future. SingSnap has a few people that are ticked off at them. You can read their complaints by searching the term "SingSnap complaints"on your preferred search engine. I use Dogpile.com because it brings up results from several different search engines. Anyway, what most likely happened to you is the result of an angry former SingSnap member trying to cause problems. It would not be good business for SingSnap the site to have top people hacking into peoples emails and the such. It would also be illegal and I just do not think they would take that kind of a chance. Let them know what happened to you. I am sure they would be grateful.

    0 Votes
  • Ol
      Sep 24, 2012

    about 2 or 3 years ago singsnap staff talked a admin of youtube into letting them into my youtube channel account and the staff deleted all of my videos including 3 of the videos that was not of singsnap didn't belong to singsnap and I'lll keep saying this to my death bed
    if any of the staff members would of come and asked me I would of taken down singsnap videos of mine that I put on youtube but they didn't just took it upon themselves to go behind my back like cowards and delete my videos and tried to get the admin to suspend my channel but the staff of youtube luckily said don't you dare they can have the videos but she gets to keep her account, and 6 months ago I put on my page on singsnap about that I was leaving come july 3rd because I was sick to death of all the damn favoritism going on through out the staff and admins of singsnap who let people put links on the board saying not to listen to this person because they cannot sing when in fact they sing beautifully and the only thing that favorite member of the staff didn't like was they didn't sing the damn song like the original singer oh boo hoo hooo no damn artist of today and yesterday sings their song like they did it when it first came out on record even in concert none of the artists or bands sing their songs like they did when it came out in record
    and when a member of singsnap saw this on my page they turned my ### in probably was the twit that put that ### on the message board and thought I was picking on the poor baby favorite of the staff members .
    and now that I am not on singsnap no more but I am still singing, I am still getting messed with and you know what I refuse "REFUSE" to leave because some staff members favorite ### kissers don't like it that I can sing songs that singsnap cannot get due to the license of singsnap, and a few times on facebook I get sent viruses and trojan horses from people I thought was my friends and guess what they aren't any more on facebook after sending me viruses because the songs I sing from my brand new karaoke site I put up on facebook .
    that's another thing that some of singsnap members got a problem with they think facebook is for singsnap members only and nobody else is allowed to put videos or songs up on facebook but only singsnap members .
    and when anybody else does put other songs up they tell singsnap members who are friends with them not to listen to them cause they are not singsnap member any more .
    after I got suspended the staff of singsnap tried to keep my name up as gold according to somebody I talked to and this person never lies to me never have never will,
    according to this person they tried to keep my name in gold to teach others a lesson using me as an example of what happens when you piss off the staff and don't listen to them and try to misbehave had to threaten trevor with a lawyer before my name was turned from gold to blue :(
    and then I got a email from somebody from singsnap telling me ordering me actually not to use the name LADYMATIKA in karaoke sites because I used that in singsnap so it belongs to singsnap, well [censored] you and the horse you rode in on biaaaaaaatch
    LADYMATIKA is my name on the internet and off the internet, everybody in the whole entire karaoke world so LadyMatika is mine and mine alone nobody on singsnap is stealing my name, I've had this name long before I got on singsnap or any karaoke site period since 98 i've had this name of LADYMATIKA .
    so the ### that said that my name belongs to singsnap [censored] you and the horse you rode in on, you can't have it and neither can singsnap .
    singsnap workers staff and owner lets their favorites pull them around by their nose because the favorite ones got the money to pay for singsnap's gold prices and other ### they have singsnap members pay for that's why I say if your a favorite member of a staff member then you can get away with murder they'd probably hire a lawyer to get you off .
    MONEY TALKS AND ### WALKS .
    and if your not a favorite one of the gods your walking

    0 Votes
  • Ol
      Sep 24, 2012

    sorry about the fowl language in my last post
    sometimes I get really ticked off when it comes to singsnap and
    people trying to make petty excuses for the bad stuff they do

    0 Votes
  • Gr
      Sep 25, 2012

    I understand LadyMatika and I sympathize. I saw the writing on the wall when I chose to venture out and get involved with people in the social areas of the site. I noticed the favoritism being given to some members. Especially in the singing competition. I also saw how some members were treated in the message boards and how some members were favorites who seemed to garner some special treatment. Now this is only what I feel I observed in the little time I spent in the social networking of the site. Also people do not mind commenting on some of your songs but you had best spend a lot of time listening to their songs. I do not mind giving feedback but I hate when I get a fair amount of visits on a song and nobody comments. It makes me less likely to visit other singers and comment on their stuff. As far as singing like the original singers, that is preposterous and even those who think they do, if they were to play their performances after hearing the performances of the original artist they would be less likely to talk smack about sounding like the actual performers. Another thing is some people can not afford their own high dollar mixers to mix their performances on SingSnap and some can. Those of us who are lucky just to afford SingSnap and pay our bills seem to be looked down upon by those with their own mixers as not being good enough singers. I am not the greatest singer but with my own mixer I could blow some of them away.

    In the end the whole point of being on a site like SingSnap is to share the love of music. Some of us can sing better than others but the real thing that matters is that we all love to sing and we enjoy music. If somebody is really good than people can play up their performances with a bit more exuberance in their comments. But when they come upon those of us who are not professional caliber at least give a shout out and state something nice. I am sure some people have lied when they have been nice enough to comment on my songs and I am okay with that. I do not know one way or another. Not everybody is going to like our singing. That can even be the case with the really good singers. If ten or more people are going to stop for a listen at least half those people should say something. It is just common courtesy and I would do the same for others. No matter, I am to the point where it does not matter. I enjoy singing and if somebody likes how I sing I am fine with that but if not it won't rent space in my brain. There will be no vacancies.

    I am looking at the possibility of switching to KaraFun and trying it for a time. Not so much for the way SingSnap has done me but for the extra music I can get that is not under some licensing restrictions. I do not socialize on SingSnap so I can not see staying on a site for that reason. All I want to do is sing music I love and occasionally share some performances on Facebook and YouTube. I have had the chance to hear you sing and you do a very good job and you have a nice voice. I really do not hear you straying all that far from how a song originally is sung. In actuality one of the bad raps karaoke singers get is that they have no originality and that is why people like Simon Cowell originally of American Idol put down singers for singing too karaoke. Not because they could not sing but because they were very unoriginal and needed to step outside their comfort zone and do something different from the real song. So the fact that some of the people on SingSnap complain about your not being enough like the actual singers only makes them the kind of people the experts are not looking for. A little difference in how you sing is a good thing.

    I would love to get to know you. I will visit your Favcebook page LadyMatika and I hope things are going well for you now. I realize that the problems with SingSnap are not simply problems reported by you but by some others as well. It seems like there is some issues with you and others in regards to how SingSnap has treated all of you. I myself have had few problems but that is because I keep to myself and do not get involved with the people or leaders of the site. I simply want to sing and nothing more. They all can have each other. I have made a few friends and they will remain that way but most of the people on the site do not support me and I too do not support them. When I have tried to support some they need constant feedback to even remember I exist and leave a comment or two at least once a week on my site. I would rather share with friends and family anyhow, If some new person comes to my Facebook page or sees me on YouTube that is great but I do not care one way or the other.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
      Jan 14, 2013

    IF THERE EVER IS A SERIOUS HARRASSMENT LAWSUIT I SUGGEST IT BE A CLASS ACTION SUIT IN WHICH I WILL GLADLY TAKE PART. I PICKED A NAME ON SINGSNAP I WANT CHANGED AND THEY WON'T DO IT. I OFFERED MONEY AND THEY STILL IGNORE ME. I DON'T THINK I'D HAVE TROUBLE WINNING A SUIT HERE NOT TO MENTION THE BAN FROM THE CONTEST SITES FOR JUST GIVING MY HONEST OPINIONS AND NOT BEING CRASS OR "CAUSING TROUBLE" IN ANY WAY.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
      Jan 14, 2013

    I SUGGEST A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AS I HAVE BEEN STUCK WITH A NAME THAT I WANT CHANGED AND THEY WON'T DO IT (EVEN AFTER I OFFERED TO PAY). NOT TO MENTION BEING HARRASSED AND PASSED OVER BY CONTEST SITES AND THEN WARNED AND BANNED FOR GIVING MY HONEST OPINION WITHOUT BEING CRASS IN ANY WAY OR CAUSING ANY "TROUBLE" ON THE CONTRARY, THEY HAVE BEEN TROUBLE FOR ME!

    0 Votes
  • Si
      Apr 23, 2013

    On August 25th, 2011 a lawsuit was filed against SingSnap.com founder and CEO Trevor McGuire as well as three other members of the SingSnap website. This lawsuit filed in Pennsylvania Federal Court by Diane Patchen and her fiancé Robert Smik, alleged, among other things, a conspiracy to defame and copyright infringement. Eatsleepmusic Corporation, owner of SingSnap, was later added as a defendant.

    Diane Patchen was banned from the SingSnap community in February of 2010 and soon after made numerous inaccurate posts around the web regarding Mr. McGuire and his business. Filing this lawsuit against him was, Mr. McGuire believes, the culmination of her vendetta. As soon as the lawsuit was filed, it was publicized on dozens of Internet complaint boards by anonymous posters.

    McGuire and SingSnap immediately retained counsel to fight these ridiculous and baseless allegations.

    On September 27th, 2012 the Judge William H. Yohn Jr. of the United States District Court DISMISSED all of the Plaintiff’s claims and Denied the motion for severance and transfer of the claims as “not in the interests of justice” because the claims were “frivolous”. The parties later resolved the litigation, including motions by McGuire and Eatsleepmusic Corporation seeking sanctions and their attorneys’ fees, to the satisfaction of all parties.

    0 Votes
  • An
      May 16, 2013

    SINGSNAP IS INTOLERABLE WITH WHAT THEY CALL SUPPORT. FIRSTLY I ASKED TO CHANGE MY USERNAME. DENIED I THEN OFFERED TO PAY TO CHANGE IT AND WAS IGNORED. THEN I RECIEVED A PERMANENT MESSAGE BOARD BAN AND CANNOT EVEN GET A RESPONSE WHEN I ASK WHY. IF THERE EVER IS A LAWSUIT I WOULD GLADLY BE PART OF IT!

    0 Votes
  •   Jun 15, 2013

    SOMEONE MADE A COMPLAINT ABOUT ME, ... AFTER TWO WARNINGS OF DEFENDING MYSELF TO OTHER MEMBERS BECAUSE I WAS TOTALLY BEING HARASSED BY THEM, WHEN I WOULD COMPLAIN THE TECHS WOULD SAY "BLOCK EM"...SO I WOULD BLOCK THEM AND THEN THEY'D GO ON MY BOYFRIENDS SONGS AND RIDICULE AND HARASS ME, WHILE HE WAS OUT OF TOWN SO THEIR NASTY COMMENTS WOULD STAY UP THERE... SO AFTER 2XS BEING WARNED TO STOP I STOPPED...I MADE NO OTHER COMMENTS.
    THEN SOME WOMAN i USE THAT TERM LIGHTLY, REPORTED ME TO SING SNAP AND SWAPPED HER WORDS FOR MINE. AND SENT THEM TO SING SNAP STATING THAT I WAS TEARING UP MY BOYFRIEND IN PRIVATE MESSAGES. HOWEVER I DID NOT DO IT...BUT THEY TOOK HER WORD AGAINST MINE, SHUT ME DOWN AND GAVE ME NO OPPORTUNITY WHATSOEVER TO PROVE THAT I WAS RIGHT. I HAD PAID 3 MONTHS IN ADVANCE, AND THEY STOLE MY MONEY AND CANCELLED ME BECAUSE SOMEONE ELSE LIED. I COULD HAVE PROVEN MYSELF RIGHT, BUT THEY GAVE ME NO OPPORTUNITY WHATSOEVER... NOW I KNOW I WILL BE BANNED PERMANENTLY BECAUSE THEY TELL YOU DONT GO TALKING ABOUT US... BUT HECK... THATS WHAT THEY DID TO ME...AND THEY ALLOWED IT...SOMEONE WENT TALKING ABOUT ME AND GOT ME KICKED OUT, AND I DID NOTHING WRONG !!!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Dec 21, 2013

    Does anyone think when you see people getting many hits on their songs when they never did before and they can't even sing that well…..makes a person wonderlllll Anyone else wonder that?????????

    +1 Votes
  • Hi
      Jan 31, 2017

    I have never had a problem with singsnap and I have been a member for a very long time. The staff is always on top of it! Any problems with technical or any complaint that I may have had, they are ready to assist instantaneously. The members that I have met are sweet and courteous. I have never met anyone who was mean, jealous or nasty. I really think the owner is professional and he cares about his members. This is my experience! hildy

    +1 Votes

Post your comment