The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

New Jersey Star Ledger / That is called fraud!

1 United States

This is an excerpt from an email to the New Jersey Star Ledger "customer service" department dated 10/16/2006. I see from the other complaint about the newspaper on this site that I am not the only person who did not get my "free cooler". I guess I will have to tell my 5 year old son that there are some people in this world who lie and dont do what they say they will do.

"I was dismayed to find a bill for $11.08 in my mailbox for service from 9/3/2006 to 9/22/2006 when I had attempted to cancel my paper THREE TIMES, on 9/1/2006-9/11/2006 then finally 9/21/2006. The first time I called they told me that it would not be able to be cancelled until sometime the next week. (Most papers I have subscribed to use something called the telephone to alert the carrier to cease delivery the next day) I told the person I was calling before the subscription ended and that I was not going to pay for anything after 9/2/06. TEN days later I was still getting the paper, I called again on 9/11 to be told the same thing. The paper kept coming( like to energizer bunny)

ANOTHER TEN days later I called again, spoke to Tanya and finally found someone
who appears to have done their job and finally the paper stopped coming. Tanya told me that according to her computer this was the first time I had called
in. I repeated the same thing I told the first person, that I was NOT going to pay for any papers delivered after 9/2/06.

Is it some kind of company policy to disregard subscription cancellations in hopes that the subscriber will eventually decide to keep the paper? These are the questions I will pose to the New Jersey
office of Consumer Affairs (who I CC'd this email to) if you continue to send me these notices.*
*I will file a FORMAL COMPLAINT if this matter is not dismissed.

Also you never sent me the the cooler that was advertised as a gift for subscribing to 12 weeks of the paper. That is called FRAUD."

Jason
Former Customer

Ja

Post your comment