SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

LifeCell / The company is a scam and the product is not effective

Miami Beach, FL, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

These people are liars and thieves. I will continue to post my experience with them wherever i can in order to prevent someone else from having the same experience.

When lifecell was ineffective, i attempted to make contact as instructed to return for a refund. They did not return calls placed over a 3 month period. When some guy named chris finally did answer the phone, and i explained to him that i had been leaving messages for months, he told me to return the product immediately, which i did. He even looked my information up on the computer so he knew exactly when i received the product.

They received the product back on april 14, 2008—signed for in their office by s. Johnson. The next correspondence i received was an e - mail telling me that they would not refund my money. They had their product back, which i'm sure they resold to some unsuspecting customer and did not refund one dime to me. This is not a reputable company; they are thieves.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ka
      Mar 28, 2011

    i don"t do the so call free for 30 day offers, for one why would they need payment information or a credit card and two if the product is as good as they say it is and does exactly what it was suppose to do you"re going to buy more of it anyway right. if it is 30 days free why not let you use the product for thirty days free free free!!! why would they charge this product on your credit card it"s free right for 30 days at least, not free at all not even for one day you pay for it and then some

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Dec 23, 2016

    @karamel Same happened to me I won't take this lying down. I will call the authorities and pull string

    +1 Votes
  • De
      Mar 28, 2019

    @karamel yes this company is a total scam. They tried to charge my card two times as well and my credit card company declined the charges and issued me a new card

    0 Votes
  • Ms
      Jun 09, 2011

    The Life Cell people should be turned into the Better Business to bureau!! This cream is a "HUG" scam we all should file a class action suit against the company!!!

    +3 Votes
  • Li
      Sep 13, 2011

    I contacted LifeCell by email and telephone to tell them that the
    product did not work for me and not to debit my account. They did it anyway. When I go to my bank to dispute this withdrawl from my account, I will get a new debit card so that it will not happen again. I am convinced that the internet is filled with scams that offer free trials so that they can get your information. All of you out there should beware of this kind of fraud.

    +1 Votes
  • Ma
      Apr 04, 2012
    Best Best Advice

    Never EVER buy anything without reading the terms and conditions FIRST. If there is any auto-ship stuff, DON'T BUY IT. You will get stuck for lots of money.

    +4 Votes
  • Rk
      May 08, 2012

    After reading all of these complaints, I called them right back and requested not to ship me the free product I just paid 1.65 but I am not sure I want to go to the problems that many of you have.

    +2 Votes
  • Ja
      Jul 09, 2012
    Lifecell Skin Care - product not working for me
    LifeCell
    Miami
    Florida
    United States

    This product is not working for me i see no difference in my facial appearance.

    +1 Votes
  • Av
      Mar 19, 2013

    I bought one product from that company and the representant told me that she would click a box in my file saying not to send me anymore stuff until I call them. I just receive my credit card statement and on it, what do you think I saw, another invoice from them for the amount of amost $200. I just sent them an email and with everything I read, I'm not sure they will get back to me. I don't even have the $200 products yet. When I receive it, what should I do, return it or keep it and not pay them. Please help me. Thank you very much.

    +2 Votes
  • Ad
      Jun 13, 2017

    @avantimamma they are suppose to wait 30 days + before they bill your credit card usually they do it sooner so when it doesn't work they already have there money. Call your bank and file a complaint, they will investigate for you and will not let them put any more charges on your card until the investigation is finished. Do Not pay anything..they are trying ti make you pay for what they sent you even though you did not request it. Get a new card quickly, that will put a stop of them making further charges...don't be afraid to stand up to them. Just keep refusing to pay and keep a record of all the times you have talked to them.Don't let them bully you into paying.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Apr 04, 2013

    I received this product and didn't see any difference in my skin than I did with any other product I've bought. I have read the instructions on returning this product and obtained my RMA code printed off everything they requested addressed the return package as instructed and they will receive it within the allotted time. I will let you know if I too am a victim of a scam company.

    +1 Votes
  • Sh
      Apr 21, 2013

    SCAM!!! Called and cancelled our Visa card as they charged our card with $189.00 a day after I ordered it for ''FREE'' I will be calling the Florida state attorney generals office come Monday. This company needs to be shut down! If you've been taken for a ride too, don't take it, shout out! Robbery is NOT legal. Call & complain! This scam runs out of Hollywood, Florida. Let's bombard the Attn. Gen office & throw them under the bus! CROOKS! Life cell company, & employees, SHAME ON YOU!!!

    +3 Votes
  • Le
      Jul 30, 2013

    I like the product. Never was I given any info on buying. No contract when I paid for shipping $4.95. Would not have used that card for anything bigger, it is a designated card.
    Charged $189 while on vacation, thank God I caught it.
    The "sample" (free) was large, I might consider that price, as it will last a year maybe.
    Certainly NOT under these business conditions!
    I will warn my bank next after reading these posts.
    Thank you!
    Leslie, Flagstaff, Az

    +2 Votes
  • Go
      Aug 04, 2013

    I want to thank you all for putting the information that this company is a SCAM, I almost ordered last night but didn't have a credit card on hand to even get the so called free trail, then they had a cost of $149.00 that would be charged after the 30 day free trail period. I'm so glad you had expressed that it is a scam.
    Thank you all again
    GolfgirlCruz

    +1 Votes
  • Fr
      Aug 14, 2013

    I agree with everyone re complaints of this South Beach Company--a number of years ago I ordered a "trial" of some product they were promoting (it was so non-effective I cannot even remember the name)--my biggest complaint was the difficulty in cancelling the credit card info & stopping further shipments, billings, etc. I cannot remember the specifics but learned hard and fast: if a company is going to require YOU to cancel further product shipments, without any notice that you will continue to receive the product (& I am sorry, but asking people to read the "fine print" while they hype FREE..is very deceptive...) you are going to likely end up with a VERY expensive item that you may find isn't all it is supposed to be. Probably why this outfit sells products only online. I would give them a "miss"--purchase something similar at a local retail/upscale dept. store store and know you will get refunded if you return the product because it did not do what you expected.

    0 Votes
  • Kl
      Sep 19, 2013

    Same old story - same thing - sent it back 6 days after receiving it and they have billed my AMEX for it. Am disputing with AMEX - they will get back to me...a lesson learned!!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Oct 08, 2013

    I wanted to post my follow up. I did not get charged any further after returning the product and I think it was because I didn't sign anything to begin with. I had ordered when a salesperson called my home so there was no document to sign. I did follow the return policy to the letter. I was expecting this to go badly feel like I dodged a bullet.

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Nov 05, 2013

    Same problem. 12 hours after ordering the 'free' product, expecting to be charged for shipping only, I get a call from my bank to say there is a possible fraudulent charge (they then must be aware that the company is bad news). Lifecell were doing a pre-authorisatiion for 2 amounts - the shipping charge & the shocking price of the product. I immediately wrote to them, cancelling the transaction. They wrote back saying product has been shipped, but don't give me no shipping details. They say I can return within 30 days. I am attempting to have my bank block the company from charging me. I feel sick!

    +2 Votes
  • Cr
      Dec 12, 2013

    I agree with all. Three words...Class Action Lawsuit

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      Jan 28, 2014

    lifecell took two weeks to send the product to us. They did not state clearly on their order site about the continuous charges. This is not a legal binding agreement if a company assume you want to order further products from them without your consent. Don't be afraid to challenge them. Take records of the transaction from the first order and keep all info with you as they have made statements contradicting their 30 day free trial on their return forms. It is a company that will bully you to submission. That is blackmail in any court.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
      Feb 18, 2014

    I was interested in the product and while reading the website a "live chat" operator came online asking if I had any questions. I copied the conversation using copy and paste as follows: Crystel: Welcome to LifeCell! Let me know if you have any questions, I am here to help. me: Is this a monthly subscription service?Crystel: We do automatically create a subscription (shipping every 60 days) with your account, but you can customize, cancel or even opt out of this program as soon as you sign up for the trial offer.We offer a variety of ways to customize the automatic shipments if you want them or even allow you to be on a call-in basis. To be on the call-in basis (or cancel), you may call our office during hours of operation or send an e-mail to our support team to request no automatic shipments. me: And the cost is?Crystel: The retail cost of the product is $189.00, but with the 30-day trial promotion we have going on right now, you have the opportunity to try LifeCell out for 30 days by just paying the shipping and handling fee. me: Is this a trial size of the product or a full size bottle?Crystel: Each tube (including the one you receive with the trial offer) contains 2.54 oz. and lasts approximately 2-3 months, if used as directed. me: And the shipping and handling costs for each shipment are ?Crystel: Customers in the United States pay between $4.25 and $7.25 for shipping & handling (depending on the shipping address) and international customers are required to pay $15.00. me: so the cost every 60 days is $189.00 US plus $15.00 US is that correct?Crystel: If you keep the product past the trial expiration (30 days), then you would be billed the retail cost, which is $189.00. Then when you choose to reorder, you would be automatically discounted to the special reduced VIP price of $149.00. You are eligible for the VIP price on either the subscription or the call-in basis. after the 1st charge of $189 all future orders will be $149 every 60 days plus S&H " So the key point here is ASK VERY SPECIFIC QUESTIONS, Hard lesson to learn. No way would I ever order as I have personally experienced and read about the difficulties cancelling automatic billings and getting refunds.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 05, 2014

    Same story as all above and totally agree. Authorized for $14.95 US S&H (to Aus) and received a large sized sample. Thought it was odd but trusted they knew what they were doing. Sure enough, they did! A few weeks later got billed $189US + currency conversion charges on my card! Rang my financial institution immediately. I was told the only way to stop this was to cancel and reissue a new card and was transferred to the fraud branch. They also arranged a refund of the entire amount, and said they'd contact me soon about the case investigation.
    I emailed LifeCell and told them what I had done and got the standard BS reply about "you should have read the fine print", very charming and laced with "we care about what you think of us, have a nice day, blah blah blah." Within two days another shipment arrived which I promptly returned. I've had a flurry of very sarcastic and supercilious emails from Jayde and Nicole, basically telling me I'm an idiot for not reading the fine print, but that they will willingly refund my money. I told them that's not necessary now as I have cancelled my card, the money has been reinstated by the bank, and that the fraud investigation team may wish to recover their money from LifeCell at some point. It really doesn't crack their armour of company fake niceness so I'm just going to ignore from hereon as I'm done with the whole thing, fortunately.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
      May 19, 2014

    I agree with those who feel scammed. I cannot believe that any company would behave in this manner given the ease with which people can post their experiences. The "free" sample is extremely misleading and the automatic charges for both for the free sample and for additional product without customer confirmation is positively medieval. Why would a company conduct business without any intelligence or respect for its customers? For those of you considering any kind of relationship with this company, I suggest that you pause (for a very long time).

    +2 Votes
  • Il
      Jun 14, 2014

    I made the mistake of not checking with the Better Business Bureau before I fell for this. However, I did use their "Live Chat" feature and asked questions. I copied and pasted the conversation and their representative stated I would only be charged $4.25 for shipping today and $189 AFTER THE 30 DAY TRIAL. Saw the two charges on my card and called Life Cell. They told me they do an authorization just to make sure the card has money on it and the funds will be released within 72 hours. This company is totally unethical in their business practices. I suggest each and every one of you file a complaint with the Attorney Generals Office of Florida. Go to www.myfloridalegal.com and on the right hand side under "Quick Links" click on Consumer Protection and File a Consumer Complaint. Make sure you have Life Cells contact information to input on the form. Not sure if I'm correct here, but I believe 3 complaints can equal a Class Action. Did any of you notice that Life Cell is advertising on this site????? Makes you go hmmmmmm... Good luck all.

    +1 Votes
  • Wh
      Jun 19, 2014

    I Hi, I'm from Singapore and like so many others, I fell victim to their very clever marketing strategy. They said there would be a full refund of up to US$189 if I were to return the product within 4 months from "date of purchase". Due to the stringent requirements from Singapore for export of cosmetic products, I am now stuck with the product. Wouldn't mind keeping it if is effective (shipment to Singapore alone costs US$32 )but it doesn't deliver any of those promises Courier company has asked for the company's registration no. (which they do not have) as it's an online company as well as a Manufacturer Safety Certificate (which they do not have either). The bank has promised that they will make sure I get the full refund if I were to return the product (shipping cost from Singapore is approx. S$80). :(( I regretted not doing my homework and checking out your website on that fateful day...

    0 Votes
  • Ce
      Jun 24, 2014

    i just had a very BAD experience. they charged me 189, 00 usd even thou i returned the product ordered on TRIAL.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
      Jul 12, 2014

    Just called AMEX Singapore to terminate my card account. Looks like they have already posted the US$189.00 without my knowledge. AMEX says they will handle my application to dispute the charges when the final invoice comes.

    Should have known "Nothing is for Free".

    Found the fine print "Terms and Conditions" at the bottom of the webpage. Looks like font size 3.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      Aug 08, 2014

    I fell for the scam too. I then researched the net how I could complain about the merchant when repeated emails rendered unanswered. Eventually I lodged a complain to Better Business Bureau and Internet Crime Complaint Center. I even wanted to complain to Federal Communication Commission and Federal Trade Commission. I wanted them to pay. Even if I don't get a cent back, I wanted to teach them a lesson. I wanted them to be blacklisted for scamming people. Within 2 days, the merchant
    replied asking me to return the product and giving excuses that my mails went into spam. I replied saying since there was no make mention that you must return with the box in the website, I will just return my tube and still expect to get a full refund.Yes I also
    complained to my credit card company and they are in the midst of investigation. I will forward the email to my credit card company and BBB.

    Some of my friends esp males said to let it go. Why should I let such people go? I want them to learn a lesson and not mess around with anyone. You want to do a decent business do it properly. If not you pay for the consequences. Most people let it go so they get bolder and scammed more people.Apparently, they are getting such good traffic they are in yahoo websites. I will do what I can to complain to google and yahoo and cause them to decrease their traffic.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Aug 19, 2014

    I was scammed too. They sent me an email advising me of my VIP order of LifeCell is currently being processed and at the same time charge my credit card for US$163.50 last Sunday. I called my credit card company and unfortunately was late to stop payment. I have been charge for that amount and the product which I did not ordered and hasnt received. I sent them an email telling them that l did not placed the order and please do not send the product (on 18 August 2014) and I felt cheated.


    This product l used didnt help me at all. In fact my skin becomes dull and dry. I have to go for facial treatment to treat the dryness on my face.


    Hope that there is a way to get our refund back.


    Carol/Singapore

    0 Votes
  • Kh
      Aug 22, 2014

    I had just cancelled my card becos of them!! This is a scam!! I had emailed then but they did not reply. I am puting in a dispute charge with the credit card company and hope that I will get it back!! SCAM!! SCAM!! SCAM!! What was suppose to be a free trial for $14 turns to be a $400 charge!!!

    0 Votes
  • Un
      Aug 26, 2014

    Yes, I tried returning and courier company in Singapore won't even want to accept the product since LifeCell refused to provide the necessary codes and numbers, in order to clear US customs. Now I'm stuck with the product!!

    0 Votes
  • Vo
      Sep 04, 2014

    I purchased mine through Amazon so there was no re-debit policy
    the product was ok as cream and certainly made my face feel moisturised? but as to all the other claims - no. I saw no difference in my skin and neither did anyone else.
    When purchasing from South Africa it works out about 3x more expensive than a premium Estee lauder product - to put it in perspective
    i could have had my brow, eye area botoxed and my lips filled for the equivalent cost ! ! ! ! ! !

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      Sep 10, 2014

    I just got my Credit Card Statement of Account and I got 189 USD charge on it. I am here Singapore. I am not sure if they ship anything to me. I guess I will not get the refund.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Oct 10, 2014

    I wish I'd seen these comments above before I got scammed $14 yeah right and then a second payment of NZ $249.00 I have promptly cancelled my credit card I don't hold out much hope of seeing my money.
    These people should be put out of business stay well away from these scammers.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      Oct 12, 2014

    i AGREE WITH ALL THE COMPLAINTS, COMPANY AND PRODUCT IS A SCAM, BIG TIME. WHEN I ORDERED THE TRIAL I SPECIFICALLY SAID DO NOT SEND ANYMORE ORDERS AND DO NOT USE MY CHARGE ACCOUNT TO DO SO. 3 TIMES I TOLD THE WOMAN THAT AND THEN SHE GOT SMART AND SAID IT WON`T HAPPEN. WELL, JUST GOT MY STATEMENT FOR $189.00, NO PRODUCT, AND I`M LIVID. I FELL FOR THE REPORTS LIKE SO MANY OTHERS BUT IN ALL HONESTY, YOU GET THE SAME IF NOT BETTER RESULTS WITH OIL OO OLAY. SUCH THIEVES AND DISHONESTY. ISN`T THERE A BETTER WAY FOR THEM TO EARN A LIVING W.OUT LIES AND STEALING. I PRESUME ALL THE PEOPLE WHO WROTE THE RAVE REVIEWS GOT A PRETTY PAY FOR THAT, IF THERE EVER WAS PEOPLE. I`M CONTACTING MY BANK TOMORROW. I WILL ALSO BE FILING A COMPLAINT WITH THE ATTORNEY`S GENERAL OFFICE AND BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU. I PRAY THESE REMARKS GET POSTED EVERYWHERE. SHAME ON THOSE SALESPEOPLE. REMEMBER- THE GREEDY GET NEEDY/

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Oct 14, 2014

    Wow, I never had this experience with the company. I knew when I ordered that the reoccurring costs would be applied if I didn't return the product; quite a few companies do the same thing. After a week of using the product, I returned it, got a refund and no more charges.

    0 Votes
  • Pj
      Nov 20, 2014

    I can live with wrinkles but not with deceit and fraudulent charges LifeCell feels they have the right to charge to my account UNAUTHORIZED. Gladly I will send back the mystical "FREE" trial and post their practice of "precautionary action of temporarily authorizing all debit/credit cards used at the time of ordering". Another way of saying "fraudulent charges posted to my account without authorization. I only authorized $4.25, a charge go $189 appeared as pending. Have been on the phone with my bank, LifeCell and several emails to LifeCell. Currently was instructed to refuse the trial offer when USPS delivered and send back. No other charges should be applied. I will see

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Nov 21, 2014

    hi. I was victimised by this gimmick as well. free trial of 14sgd shipment fee. I rcvd it within a week. after 1 month they charge my credit card 250sgd. I tried to complian but the nbr is not valid. I immediately requested for my card replcement. after a month rcvd this email from this same company asking for my card details as it seems they are trying to bill me again. how to file a complain and to who should we complain.

    0 Votes
  • Kg
      Dec 28, 2014

    My mum was scammed up to S$5k from them. They deducted money from her bank account EVERY MONTH. She now have to cancel and close down her bank account. I want to ask if anyone knows how to contact them and what i should do to help my mum get back the money. Please email me at [protected]@outlook.com

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Jan 08, 2015

    I had the same issue... requested a return during my free trial and mailed the product back for them to only say they NEVER RECEIVED. So now I'm out the product (that didn't work), the return shipping & the $189.00 they charged me. UNBELIEVEABLE I too am letting everyone know. SCAM

    0 Votes
  • I totally agree with ILOATHESCAMMERS comments. I had the same problems. I did not see anywhere that they would be charging me $189.00 in 30 days nor the fact that I should return product withing that time frame to not get charged. Then they automatically ship me another order in 30 days. The product is worthless. Does not do as advertised. Do not fall for this scam like I did.
    Not Satisfied With Product In Texas

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jan 24, 2015

    I completely agree to all the comments of the product and the company i was scammed by free sample for trial and free and without me checking my monthly bank statement they had charged me $189.00 and they did that for few months until only few days back when i noticed how much money they are getting from my account and that made me cancel my card and as i was awaiting for another ( in which i never did order) the courier sent me an email about this parcel which i will return as i never did use it after all because the first try is not really working. I am so upset about this product the company and the staff for fooling the real people and extracting money. With this experience i will never ever try to order at all even to companies that maybe are legit.
    Sue
    Australia

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Jan 29, 2015

    Sample contamination is very common in case of lifecell. And their in field guys are not at all co-operative.

    0 Votes

Post your comment