SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Kassas Law / SCAM SCAM SCAM

1 2975 redhill ave suite 100, Irvine, CA, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 888-207-0465

This company promised they would "save my house" because the lenders had committed fraud when making my loan. They told me I would have a case against BOFA. I paid them 8, 000 dollars and received NOTHING! I didn't even get to speak to the attorney one time. My house has been sold. Come to find out their "ADR" alternate dispute resolution was really just a fancy way of saying loan modification and now I am out my home and 8, 000. I strongly advise you do not work with this company! I should have known better when they were not on the BBB.
I will be filing a complain with the state bar against Anthony Joseph Kassas STATE BAR #227647

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Cr
      Jul 20, 2011

    This company has many of the same employees and managers as Mesa Law Group and NHA group, both of which have an "F" with the BBB. They moved across the street and opened a new office. Same pig different lipstick.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Jul 20, 2011

    Alternative Dispute Resolution is another scam like Loan Mods and Mass Joinder Lawsuits, which the California Attorney General has warned against. You can sue your lender but it rarely results in a loan modification. Be smart people. ADR does not work. Don't give them your money.

    0 Votes
  • Cb
      Jul 25, 2011

    I had a similar experience and complained to the State Bar but it took 2 years for them to do anything. This attorney is not on lawyers.com and is on avvo.com as being in Rancho Cucamonga as of 12/16/10, so this is a new operation. You should contact the Attorney General, Federal Trade Comission and District Attorney if you feel you were ripped off in a loan modification/alternative dispute resolution scam. I did Google map the addresses for Mesa Law Group and Kassas Law Group and they are 1/4 of a mile from each other. Law firms in this industry typically are members of the Better Business Bureau.

    +1 Votes
  • Sc
      Jul 29, 2011

    Kassas Law and National Doc Prep work together as well. National Doc Prep has "D" with the Better Business Bureau so be careful. Kassas Law is advertized on the National Doc Prep website. This company is associated with some bad companies that have been invovled in modification scams, including Mesa Law Group so watch out!

    0 Votes
  • Ic
      Jul 31, 2011

    Check the BBB out for yourself. I think you will be surprised

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      Aug 02, 2011

    After doing about 5 minutes of research it seems clear that Kassas Law is affiliated with Kramer & Kaslow (they come up together on a facebook search) which has some major complaints. Kassas Law also is advertising with National Doc Prep, they have a bad BBB rating. Many Kassas Law employees and managers were at Mesa Law Group, they have an F with the BBB. The BBB has no info on Kassas Law! The BBB does tell the story. I am going elsewhere.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
      Aug 04, 2011

    I was contacted by a gal Sara Cole, I kept careful written notes of each phone call. The letter they sent says "All of my information is on file", "that they will save me $100, 000 in reduction and a fixed 2% loan modification" through this cool new ADR method.
    When I talked with Sara Cole, the deal was simple and sounded very fair - $7500 to work on a settlement with the bank and if after 60-90 days a settlement was not reached, they would, for an extra $1750 move the case from settlement to litigation with a contingency fee of 30% for them and 70% for me if and when the court case was won. So in general terms my total out of pocket expense would be $9250 for a full blown litigation case against the bank. Sara said they would not stop until some settlement was agreed to. I said sure sign me up send the contract.
    Well the contract does not quite say all this, it says on page 5, paragraph 5 "Fixed Service Fee" the following "Client agrees to pay a fixed fee of $7500 for KLG's Services under this agreement and are considered earned in full upon lenders response or failure to respond in the time allotted (60 days) per agreement. So in laymen s terms this means they send a letter, wait 60 days for any or no response and wa-la they earned your $7500 for writing a letter, cool business huh? In addition, if you decide to go to litigation there was an additional fee of $300 per month "expenses fee" that was not discussed but appeared in the contract. When I asked Sara she said "opps I must have forgot that charge, but it's just to cover our expenses, that's fair isn't it?".
    So I'm in discussions with them on these points and will keep you all updated on the result.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
      Aug 08, 2011

    The Compaints Board is a useful source to check to see what type of scams are out there but people can write n e thing about anyone. I have had such a different experience with this company. They pointed out things that could happen in my loan that the bank never even bothered to tell me. What my loan was capable of over the course of the time that i am in it. Why didnt the bank tell me that I wasent paying anything down or why I had a interest rate cap of a 11.37? My uncle is a banker who has worked at a few different banks and you would be amazed at what the banks can get away with in the lending process. Look up your lender and all of the lawsuits against them. You will find a plethora of lawsuits against them that have settled too. Everyday it seems like one is settling and in the millions at that. I know when I went to the bank to purchase a home there was expenses involved so i am not looking for a handout here. I have their retainer I have had my attorney who has had mortgage experience take a look at it and it seems like the best shot to saving my home. If not Im would stay in the same crappy loan that got me in this same position and when the market goes up I will be paying double what I am now and I will wind up loosing my house.

    I have to admit I am careful on anything I purchase. As far as the BBB goes you #1 have to pay to be accredited with them and #2 there was a huge news freenzie with them where people were having to pay for a better rating. #3 Its just an opinion, from what I am reading I can open up my own BBB.

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Aug 15, 2011

    Here's a message I sent to Kassas recently, with an alternative proposal for payment. It in essence would have doubled our payment for their work but only AFTER resolution was reached. The reviewed the proposal and declined a couple of weeks later.

    Hi Cameron –
    Thank you for taking the time on Monday to explain our options. We have reviewed the options you presented with respect to Kassas Law firm’s ADR representation to improve our terms with Chase Bank. The opportunity is very exciting. However, the options you listed present us with the following perspective:
    1. We pay about $5250 in two installments as a “bet” that Chase will move on improved terms.
    2. If they don’t, or the counter isn’t attractive, we lose our “bet” and are out $5250.
    3. If, as a result of failed ADR efforts, we choose to join the mass joinder lawsuit, we “bet” an additional $1750 that we will prevail.
    4. If we don’t prevail (case gets thrown out, unfavorable settlement reached, or jury is flakey and votes in favor of the Bank), we lose the “bet” and are out an additional $1750.

    Since we have recently suffered several serious setbacks because we chose to be optimistic (essentially defrauded of $700K by brokers and agents in 2006, working with an unscrupulous plaintiffs’ attorney, and wife’s Graves Eye Disease from resulting stress), it has become very difficult to be optimistic yet again.

    Since we feel that the violations in our Chase loan likely (possibly) present real life-changing opportunities (based on your assessment), we really would like to pursue this. To make this action truly appealing, we would like to propose the following:
    1. We enroll in ADR effort with Kassas Law firm’s representation with no up-front investment on our part.
    2. Once an attractive and reasonable agreement is reached and signed with Chase, we pay Kassas Law Firm $10, 000 in a lump sum payment for the work and accommodation.
    3. Of course, suitable terms would be drawn up and attached to attorney-client agreement. This would include a clear definition of “attractive and reasonable agreement”, which we would obviously discuss and agree upon at the very outset. Also included would be an early-termination clause to ensure that Kassas Law firm’s expenses are covered if we decide to terminate representation before the process has run its course.
    4. If an “attractive and reasonable agreement” (as agreed) is NOT reached, we pay nothing.

    We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

    Best regards,

    0 Votes
  • Cb
      Aug 15, 2011

    The attorney firm Anthony Kassas Law Group has tons of complaints and bad reviews and they have only been open a few months. Anyone who pays them $8000 for a loan modification or "alternative dispute resolution" deserves to lose their money. If they were confident they would let you pay at then end.

    0 Votes
  • Rj
      Aug 19, 2011

    someone from their firm left a message to call back at a 714 # a couple of days ago. i called back today and the # had been DC'd with no forwarding #. sounds like a red flag to me!

    0 Votes
  • Rj
      Aug 19, 2011

    LOL... well, this is why their # was DC'd! The CA DOJ raided their offices yesterday! Check out the article in the OC Weekly
    http://blogs.ocweekly.com/navelgazing/2011/08/anthony_kassas_kramer_and_kaslow.php

    0 Votes
  • Sd
      Aug 19, 2011

    Their numbers now forward to the CA State Bar Hotline issued for Paul Petersen here: http://ag.ca.gov/cms_attachments/press/pdfs/n2552_consumer_alert.pdf

    0 Votes
  • Wh
      Aug 22, 2011

    These people are all linked. It's going to be interesting to see if any other lawyers and their "ambassadors" get added to the lawsuit that was filed on August 15 in Los Angeles.

    http://www.calbar.ca.gov/AboutUs/News/201116.aspx

    The State Bar took over the practices of:

    Philip A. Kramer (bar number 113969), 52, of Calabasas;
    Christopher Van Son (bar number 133440), 49, of Oak View;
    Mitchell Stein (bar number 121750), 53, of Agoura Hills; and
    Paul W. Petersen (bar number 170922), 51, of Irvine.

    The bar was appointed to secure the four lawyers' files, freeze their bank accounts and notify their clients to seek new counsel. Clients are advised to call the following State Bar phone numbers for additional help: Clients of Christopher Van Son, 213-765-1658; clients of Mitchell Stein, 213-765-1639; clients of Philip Kramer, 213-765-1672; and clients of Paul Petersen, 213-765-1641.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Aug 24, 2011

    All the attorney's listed above are not Kassas Law attorney's. Kassas law is not listed on the Complaint filed by the Department of Justice or the Attorney General. They are not listed on the Press Release and come to find out they are not listed on the Temporary Restraining Order. The order appointing the receiver didnt mention Kassas Law either. Bottom line, this mess has nothing to do with them. Time will prove this. What fires me up during all this, is the homeowners who were getting their sale dates delayed by this firm are now unprotected. Kassas law had clients with results write letters to the AG and State Bar expressing their gratitude for this company. I am willing to bet that Kassas will be back in business. Dont judge a book by its cover. Let the facts come out and then make an informative decision on what to do moving forward.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Aug 24, 2011

    And for the record, I agree that Kramer and Kaslow and a few of these others deserve to be in trouble. I just find out misleading that people are tearing up Kassas when he did no wrong. His bank accounts aren't even frozen which makes me think that the State Bar isn't focusing on his operation but more of the industry they are in. And does anyone think this has something to do with them suing the banks? I know that sounds crazy but think about it. Are the banks panicking? I know Kassas won at court against One West bank. I will get the case number to prove it. The Case is G Valdez vs One West Bank. I didnt want to write the clients full name. I bet someone who works at Kassas could provide this for us. I saw it online a week or so again. It might have been listed as Barrazza versus Indymac/One west with Valdez attached. I know Valdez lost the house and then they won it back thru litigation. There are court docs to support this but of course no one is talking about it. I know sites like this one are baised. A guy by the name of Moe Bedard writes most of these. Google him and you will change your opinion immediately.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Aug 25, 2011

    I paid them 1750.00 but since the scandal broke out, I ordered a stop payment on the other payment. Prior to this, they kept saying for four weeks straight that my demand letter was on its way out and it never occurred. I spoke to Melissa in Customer Relations and complained about this. She apologized profusely . I mentioned to her that I wanted to speak to Attorney Kassas because something did not seem write. Mind you, I researched this company months before and could not find anything on them. I clearly got sucker punched. Now I have to find someone else and have already called the Orange County Bar Association.

    0 Votes
  • De
      Aug 25, 2011

    Newedition, you are lucky that able to stop on the other payment. My last payment of 3 to Kassas Law Firm was on 8/16/11. State freed their asset on 8/19/11. I really don't know what to do. Any suggestions?

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Aug 26, 2011

    Anthony Kassas was able to start working on portions of his cases again. Go to this website for information moving forward about this situation: www.massjoinderreceiver.com. They have a phone number listed to get help. No Attorney General is going to allow Anthony to work files if he were in deed doing a bad job. Come on now people, think about it. Why are they allowing him back to work files? If this doesnt prove he is legit then I dont know what else will. Guy is suing the BANKS and clients and competitors want to question why we are getting HEAT. If you can't take the HEAT then get out the Kitchen. Seriously. Of course there was going to be some backfire. But its going to fail. The only problem is the courts are going to drag this out so long that it penalizes Kassas and most importantly, the PEOPLE. Some how some way the PEOPLE always get the short end of the stick. And whats the chances of the AG putting out an article or contacting all the clients who read these misleading posts and tell them they were wrong and that this is a LEGIT business? I'd say I have a better chance throwing a football a quarter mile or over that mountain!

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Aug 26, 2011

    Hi desperate homeowner. The only thing I would suggest is that you contact your financial institution and inquire about filing a claim so that you can get your money back. My bank, Wells Fargo, told me that it would take at least 10 days. Therefore, see what your bank says. All the best. I hope it all works out for you. Feel free to contact me anytime.

    Respectfully,
    newedition

    0 Votes
  • De
      Aug 26, 2011

    Hi Calvin Johnson,
    I feel much better to have someone to talk to. As your situation, Kassas Law Firm promise to fight Wachovia Mortgate to low my payment and fix interest. The cost is $3500.00 which paid in 3 installation ( June, July and Aug). The last payment $1000.00 is transffered on 8/16/11, then the Firm get shut down by State on 8/19/11.
    I feel so bad because the lost of money, and the Firm have not done anything as they promise. I will file complain to Star Bar as you suggestion. Do you think the money may return to us some day?

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Aug 27, 2011

    Desperatehomeowner,
    I just hope the courts dont drag this out too long to make a decision. Longer it takes, they more it helps the banks. The reason I make this claim is because Kassas needs helpers and employees to allow his ADR service to run its course. I am scared that the courts wont recognize this mixup of companies until its weeks and months down the road. At this point, Kassas and you are put in a tough situation because of lack of knowledgeable help. I just hope and pray that this decision is made quickly. You can always help Kassas out and all his clients by writing a letter about what service toy hired Kassas for. The problem is the courts think its Mass Joinder Lawsuits that Kassas is doing when its ADR. I am sticking it out with Kassas. It's in bigger hands than all of ours so we have nothing but each other for support and hopefully we can get back to our winning ways. You call can Tony directly to for help, here is the number listed on MassJoinderReceiver.com: 949-734-5541. Good luck and hopefully you can hang in there. My prayers go out to you and everyone is waiting on standby. I feel like this whole instance needs to be a movie.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Aug 30, 2011

    Mr. Calvin Johnson, I saw the post that says Anthony is able to start working on some of his files. However, the fact that when you call him, as I have been doing for the past week and keep being told that his userbox is full after you hear is voice, is discomforting to say the least. I can no longer wait around and hope for the best. If Anthony cares so much about his clientele, I would think it would stand to reason that he would have someone if not himself to listen to those messages and get the phone numbers and then have his innocent staff make calls on the clients behalf. It is easy for you to sit here and defend him but until I can actually make real live contact with either him or his affiliate, he is not going to get my vote of confidence.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Aug 30, 2011

    New 1, The court hearing is 09/02/2011. I see you are extremely mad at Kassas but no mention of what the DOJ, the AG or the State Bar have done. Have you expressed your concerns to them since they are jeopardizing everyones homes with this confusion? I bet not. Its easy to get mad at Kassas right now. You have noone to reach out to. Problem with our system (Judical). and he cant have employees call you since we are ordered not to work per the system (Judical). We all know we are all in a tight position here but don't act like Kassas is sitting around doing nothing. One person can't handle all that business that company generated. The firm is huge. It needs atleast 40-60 people for it to operate. I am also pretty sure a mass email when out to all clients advising what you need to do. I agree this is a mess but we can't start assumming and pointing fingers when all the facts arent laid out. People are making emotional not logical decisions here.

    0 Votes
  • De
      Sep 01, 2011

    Kassas Law Group asking for supports by signing the Declairation. Question: can we sign the Declairation to support Kassas and also file complain to State Bar?
    ( per State Bar personell, a complain need to be filed in order- may be - will get money back from Security fund even though, will be long waiting period).

    0 Votes
  • Ve
      Sep 02, 2011

    My first experience with Kassas Law was fairly good and I got lured in because it sounded (too) good. Old saying "if it sounds too good, it is not" is so true. I did ask for their success rates and references. They said the success rate is very high but thay can't give references due customer privacy. After I paid the first of the 3 instalments of ~$1, 800 in August my experiences with them were piss poor. Little later the ### hit the fan and emails from [protected]@kassaslaw.com started to come in. The first one said that the Fed's closed his office and he doesn't have his staff yada yada... Particularly funny was the statement: "This is America, we are innocent until proven guilty". That really hit the cord. If you have to say something like that you ARE guilty in my books. Two other e-mails followed asking to stick with him and keep up the fight etc. I've replied to the e-mails to ask them to return my first payment and cancel the remaining two payments (doubt neither is going to happen). These guys and other law firms like them are going to be in the next episodes of American Greed. It is sad that people who have were lured into bad loans are getting hit again and these guys are banking easily $5, 500, 000 (1000 fooled customers X $5, 500). Obviously Calvin Johnson is Mr. Kassas himself or someone who still works for him.

    0 Votes
  • 2n
      Sep 02, 2011

    Calvin Johnson, When I called Thomas McNamara today, September 1st, 2011 and inquired about Anthony Kassas and what was going on, his response was that I need to somehow make contact with Mr. Kassas as he is still my legal representative. Yet and still, I am unable to make ANY contact with Attorney Kassas whatsoever. I have sent emails. I can't leave a voice mail because his userbox is full. Now, you say that I am extremely mad. Calvin, that is an understatement. I am passed pissed off. If you go onto Anthony Kassas facebook, you will see a lady on there who complained of the fact that the law firm still managed to electronically access her money yet will not return her call. So tell me Calvin, who is playing games here ? I pose the question, if you need 40-60 people to return calls because you are so busy, how is it, you have time to access payment from clients whom you have yet to make contact with ? As for the Attorney General, I am sure they got their tipoff from their insiders but the fact remains, Anthony Kassas name appears as the owner of the Law Firm. Therefore, it is his responsibility to know the inner workings and dynamics of those he hired. Calvin, I have every right to be upset as do countless others that await answers. Don't be so quick to come to Attorney Kassas defense when he has not properly defended paying clientele like myself and countless others. You are giving him entirely too much benefit of the doubt, when people like myself are dubious as to his sincerity. If he can take clients money without hesitation, then he can return client's calls without reservation.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Sep 02, 2011

    Well well well!!! Looks like it was a big scam after all. Kassas is in bed with Mesa law after all LMAO!!! I hope they all swing.

    http://www.massjoinderreceiver.com/images/2011-08-30_Preliminary_Report_of_Receiver.pdf

    0 Votes
  • De
      Sep 06, 2011

    2new, Verydisapointed and Marksorenson,
    I am with you. I think Anthony Kassas should return money to clients whom his firm have not done anything on their mortgate modification yet. No matter what circumstances are, if he is unable to do the job, he needs to return money to people.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Sep 06, 2011

    Good review. Thanks for warning us.

    0 Votes
  • De
      Sep 08, 2011

    Can someone please explain the new Court's message on MassJoinderReceiver.com today. Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
      Oct 06, 2011

    I was represented by Mesa Law Group for a loan modification ($2990.00), this took about 18 months and I was the one who decided to fax the paperwork directly to CHASE, my "Attorney" wasn't doing anything, about the time I received my Trial payments and modification agreement (the bank took $126.00) off of my $2500.00 monthly payment, I received information about the Mass Joinder lawsuit, the information came from Mesa Law Group and referred me to Anthiny Kassas Law, (same place and people), I joined for the ADR program, another $2200.00. Now the State Attorney General has shut him down, the State Bar has sent me a letter stating that I can get my records back and to find a new attorney. Anybody think the bank donated to the Attorney General's campaign fund to bring down every possible chance that they would have to eat some bad loans? I was damaged by CHASE, I had a heart attack and my wife has suffered poor health from the stress they put us through, I was hoping the ADR would have produced a principal reduction, and a much reduced payment. I think the receiver appointed by the State Bar has decided not to handle any of the cases or removed himself. I guess us consumers are just screwed.

    0 Votes
  • REST report is a huge scam. Moe Bedard, Haffar, and Martin Andelman are swindlers of the first water, in fact they play both sides! While claiming to save you home, they trick you into buying worthless products and services, and eventually push you into "cash for keys". At the same time they offer all of these loans on Moe's website, the whole thing is just a middleman operation for the predatory banks!

    Moe Bedard is NOT an attorney, he isn't even a real estate professional. He is, in his own words, merely a "professional blogger", and has no qualifications to negotiate with the banks. His DRE license has been revoked since 1991 for FRAUD. He's been in and out of prison for various crimes over the years, drug charges, domestic violence, etc. He also fancies himself as a modern-day "Knight Templar" claiming to be from some sort of holy bloodline, have supernatural powers, etc., his personal website is full of this occult mumbo-jumbo: http://www.moebedard.com/

    Bet nobody who buys a mod kit from him is ever told about any of this.

    If you want REAL help with saving your home, if you're sick of loan mods that go nowhere, if you want some REAL LAWYERS representing you (and not some delusional scammer who got his DRE license revoked for fraud) then you owe it to yourself to LEARN THE FACTS: go to http://loan-safenlhc.blogspot.com/

    0 Votes

Post your comment