SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Hank's Fine FurnitureRotten thieving ###

Review updated:

My wife had made a purchase of 3 beds at Hanks and More in N. Little Rock.
We paid for delivery and setup. The beds arrived on time but they beat up the walls when they took them upstairs. Hanks was informed and asked for pictures.
We sent pictures and had multiple conversations. Nothing was done about it and I grew weary and repaired the walls myself. A year later the oldest daughters bed collapsed in the night. Upon inspection they had assembled it incorrectly and left out the middle supports for the bed it just had plywood across the center and no slats or supports. Hanks said its out of warranty and there would be a charge to repair. After many discussions about how we purchased a product and paid for assembly. It was due to their incapabilities to perform said task that the bed had failed. After conversations with the store, they said it would cost to have a repairman come to look at it.See the Top 10 Worst Complaints in N Little Rock, AR I did not agree to such cost, they were paid to deliver a product and assemble correctly. They said it was out of warranty. After getting nowhere with the store I had called customer support. After explaining the situation the lady at the customer support said yes it is out of warranty and there would be a charge. I explained that it was improperly assembled and just took a year to break. She had the audacity to actually say well how do we know you didn't move the bed and leave out the pieces. My jaw dropped to the floor and blood pressure shot up. There is no compromise with this kind of service and the mentality of the staff.

I will never make another purchase at Hanks or any affiliate of them EVER, and if I have the influence to persuade a future purchase of any one else from Hanks I will try every effort possible!

HANKS IS A RIPOFF! and DOES NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Re
      Apr 12, 2010

    How long do you think your warranty is on furniture? Usually it's 1 year but if you had your furniture delivered and you paid for the delivery and set up then if nothing happened for 30 to 60 days then that service had been rendered. If something happens after that time frame as in you case 1 year, usually it is up to you the consumer to find out what needs to be done to take care of the situation in the form of paying for the house call fee to have the bed repaired and any labor charges. Warranties need to be read and questions should be asked.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Apr 13, 2010

    This is a POOR ATTEMPT by a company representative to save face.

    The bed was purchased with delivery and assembly.

    This means deliver to the address and assembled as per manufacturer manuals and or instructions. It was NOT! There were parts left out during assembly and the walls leading upstairs were damaged by the delivery guys.

    The bed although assembled improperly held together long enough to pass the warranty period by Hank's. Also a maufaturer will not warranty items assembled improperly! I am NOT going to disassemble an item just to see if it was put together properly. Thus I would have to reassemble and what would be the point of having it assembled in home!
    I also will NOT pay to have a "service call" to repair an item by the same imbeciles that put it together improperly to begin with!
    Things break and "stuff happens" this is why you have a customer support but yours is customer blame since they were all to quick to say its my fault.
    Also about the 30 to 60 days you mentioned! We told Hank's about the damaged wall the next day which would qualify in that period. Guess what? They asked for pictures and we sent them and had conversation about repair. But it was NEVER repaired by Hank's even though they damaged it.

    I have since fabricated the missing parts and repaired the walls both of which was cheaper than your service call price!

    Fact is your service SUCKS!

    I also stand true NEVER to purchase anything from Hank's or its affiliates again and I tell eveyone about it!

    Remember one bad comment travels 10 times as far as a good one.

    +1 Votes
  • Pa
      May 26, 2010

    I typically do not let any delivery and setup serivce leave my location until I have completed an inspection of their work and made sure there was no damage done to my property. In the event there is I am on the phone with the store or customer service department before they leave or I make them call their manager and I speak with them.

    I do agree however, it does stink when you get crappy service and I might have made a different customer service decision if there was evidence I had an open dispute on file. I guess they just want to cut their loss with you as a customer.

    0 Votes
  • Sd
      Aug 27, 2010

    Wonderful - if there is one thing I CAN NOT STAND that is BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE - I am sooooooooooooo glad that I read this complaint before I purchased from Hanks - I had even gotten a pretty big account there because I bought a new hosue and need everything from living room, dinning room so forth, but Hanks I'm telling you I have dealt with customer's my entire life and word of mouth can make or break you - call that customer and make it right and I can tell you I will NOT be shopping there after this horrible story. Thanks for the tip

    +2 Votes
  • Br
      Sep 09, 2010

    My wife and I didn't even get to the "buying" part. It was so glowingly obvious that it was a horrible company we walked out of the Central Avenue Hot Springs location.

    Please be advised---THERE IS NEGOTIATING IN BUYING FURNITURE!

    They don't WANT you to know that, but it's true.

    My wife found the mattress that didn't make her back hurt and we started to talk turkey. The sales guy "Chris" told us that the prices were non-negotiable. I shook his hand and thanked him for his time and we started to walk out. "Chris" followed us like a puppy half way to the door asking what was wrong. I told him any furniture store that had non-negotiable prices wasn't worth our time. Another sales person, presumably "Chris'" manager comes over and follows us out the door.."What's wrong". I told him that any furniture store that refuses to negotiate a price wasn't worth our time. "We treat all people the same here" he said..which really means "we screw everyone for full price". Then he goes on to say "whats wrong with you? Are you better than everybody else?" Which REALLY means--"what's wrong with you? Why can't you just be STUPID and pay full price like other stupid people."

    We immediately went up the street three blocks, negotiated a deal, got free delivery, our taxes paid, and a free bed frame.

    To say the least--we will NEVER go to Hank's House of Customer Abuse again.

    +2 Votes
  • Bl
      Nov 14, 2010

    Not that it helps your case any but I received the same poor customer service from Hank's. When I tried to make a complaint to the company I got the run around so that I finally gave up and decided I would use word of mouth and on-line "forums" to get the point across.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Dec 11, 2010

    glad i read this...i am shopping for a house full of furniture...this is good to know. I dont mind paying a fair price...but i am not going to compromise on a business standing behind what I buy, or their obligation to make things right...especially if they deliver and assemble..

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jan 04, 2011

    I am the marketing & web manager for Hanks Fine Furniture and it bothers me that our company cannot tell the other side of the story...we have been in business for over 36 years and have one of the highest repeat customer business in North America according to our credit company...we have resolved most all of these complaints to the customers satisfaction...yet none of that is reported...everything in business does not go perfectly all the time, but we go the extra mile to make things right for our customers. Its hard to be in business and growing for 36 years without doing most things correctly. We do not compromise our customers satisfaction just to make a sale...check out our website www.hanksfurniture.com & read our reviews...don't believe everything you read on the internet. Reasearch the company on your own...dont just use the internet...We have been voted "Best of the Best" furniture stores in all of our locations for many years...that comes from customers...Remember these sites make money advertising real or made up complaints...Cathy B.

    -3 Votes
  • An
      Feb 11, 2011

    Unfortunately I did not see this complaint board, before I bought furniture from hanks. I bought a sofa, love seat, and chair from hanks. I was told the love seat would not be available for a week, so I went ahead and picked up the chair and the sofa. Three months later and numerous phone calls and one more week promises, it finally came in. In the process of waiting for the love seat, I noticed the sofa and the chair did not have the teflon spray we paid for on it. I notified the DM and he promised me he would send someone out to spray the funiture. In a couple of months, it will be a year I have waited to get this funiture sprayed. And to make matters worse, the funiture is falling apart already and the love seat we waited on for three months is a noticeable different shade of tan. I tried to call corporate to complain, but they do not have a customer service department. Makes you realize where the companies priorities are, doesn't it. Needless to say, I agree Hanks is a rip off and should not be allowed to do business.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Feb 12, 2011

    The disagreement part comes in when no one contacted our customer service dept...we pay a lot of people to handle customer calls...we also can be reached through our website when all comments come to me.We have in-house repair people that can come to the house and fix or exchange furniture as the time arises...with no particulars on what store who people talked to, , I have no where to start asking questions...sure it makes everyone feel better by trashing a 36 year old company that has employed thousands of people in the state, obviously made a lot of people happy with their purchases, added millions to the states tax base...but this could have been handled correctly if we knew about it...We are a really good company and have been for 36 years...go to hanksfurniture.com...cutomer service & let me know whats going on...furniture is not perfect...and neither are people...but we have not been in business this long not taking care of our customers...PEOPLE dont use this as a forum to throw the whole company under the bus! Funny thing about the internet...almost all of anything I read about the company is researched and the folks are satisfied...but no one ever in that situation comes back on this site & let folks know that we remedied the problem...Bottom line ...its communication...one way communication is going to do nothing but hurt business...ask yourself...when you have had a great experience in a store have you gone online to give them a great review...????? We honestly try to do eveything right...and have done so for 36 years...Im sorry for your problem...but I can't help id I dont know about it. CB

    -2 Votes
  • Ca
      Feb 13, 2011

    Who said it? I cant get to the bottom of it if I dont have names or the store it happened in...I have 350 employeees & 14 locations. I'm trying to help. Who said what doesn't help me. cb

    -2 Votes
  • Di
      Apr 21, 2011
    Hanks Fine Furniture - Broken Recliner Sofa
    Hanks Fine Furniture
    Conway
    Arkansas
    United States
    [protected]@conwaycorp.net

    I purchased a leather recliner sofa from Hanks 6 months ago - one recliner is broken and the color is fading out on the center section.
    I first reported this three months ago. It is not fixed as of today.

    +1 Votes
  • Br
      May 26, 2011

    Cathy SB, if you truly ARE Hanks internet manager (or any Hank's employee) RUN, don't walk, RUN as quickly as you can from that company. If you ARE the internet manager WHY has it been almost 6 months when I sent a direct complaint to that website because of over-the-top horrible customer service from arrogant sales people (they lied, BTW) and have yet to get a response? PLEASE explain that one for me. Your Hot Springs, AR on Central store has sales people with the people skills of pit bulls. If your sales people think that there is no negotiation in furniture sales please release them from solitary confinement once in a while. Both myself and my wife made official complaints on the Hank's HQ website with ZERO response over 6 months ago. Wonder why? Your babe in the woods routine here on this forum is about as stupid as it gets.

    +1 Votes
  • Ke
      May 27, 2011

    I have had a terrible experience with Hanks in Little Rock. I am giving them every chance to make it right but I don't think it's going to happen. I am giving them until end of Monday to correct things.

    I will be naming names. That is a promise.

    Kevin D

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      May 27, 2011

    CB,

    I really have been patient thru this entire situation. It's been 6 months.

    I spent 11, 000 in your store, I bought 2 pieces of furniture. I have never been treated this poorly from a business in my life.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Feb 17, 2017

    There is nothing fine about Hanks furniture. And so far I've told my story to about 50 people and I have not been to church or a few other large groups of people. But I WILL BE TELLING WHAT CROOKS HANKS FUNITURE ARE. I really hate they are from Arkansas. They should close down.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment