SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Cosmopolitan / the article of get out by kendra james

Canada Review updated:

This is supposed to be an article about anti racism, right? But after I've read the get out article by Kendra James I was so hurt and out of my mind. She basically was targeting all the white women being super manipulative, not loyal and heartless. Being half European I am so disgusted by that, just because you're another race, there shouldn't be such thing as targeting another. In fact there is no such thing as "race" it's just another skin color. People get so drawn to movies that it brain washes them. It's a movie, it isn't reality. I would highly appreciate if everyone would stop this way of thinking. It is so unhealthy to have such big ego. I'm hurt because not every "white" women are that way. It is so rare. But same goes with the other races. Everyone has the ability to be manipulative and not loyal. Not only did she target white people in general but she should've admired that it's not only those races that do such thing. That article disturbed me a lot. I am a big fan of cosmopolitan but that gave me second thoughts. I know get out was a movie on black history month but it's not a reason to take advantage of it and hurt the others all around the world.

An
Mar 02, 2017
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Az
      Mar 02, 2017
    Best Best Advice

    her racist ideals are what's wrong with america- coming as a black woman.

    +7 Votes
  • St
      Mar 02, 2017

    That article was foul and racist, but most of all it was ironic. While speaking about the horrors or racism, Kendra simultaneously bashed and bad mouthed a race. How did she get this article published? It's a personal diatribe in which we can clearly sense the writers own personal experiences fresh and raw beneath each word. It's juvenile and belongs on a reddit forum. She cited the awful actions of a 7 year old white girl (as recanted by Langston Hughes) to prove that white women are evil. Is that a joke? Because of our history we therefore have an increased culpability to be evil? Yikes. She has some personal issues to sort through but that article does not belong in Cosmo.

    +6 Votes
  •   May 23, 2019

    @Stoptheracism That's what many black women and even men just don't understand. Bashing a race IS racism and racist. Racism isn't a "white" thing. It never was.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
      Mar 02, 2017

    Wow... I thought the time when women bashed other women was over. Guess I was wrong. People don't deserve to be put down, especially not in a professional magazine.

    +3 Votes
  •   May 25, 2019

    @giannayang You've obviously never met my mother.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Mar 03, 2017

    I finished the article and stared at my phone in disbelief that that article was a serious publication. She used the absolute of all white women so often that it was a clear example of targeting another race. How is this okay cosmo? I am a white woman who believes in the equality of each individual no matter their skin color, gender, and sexual orientation. I am saddened by the history of what white people have done to other races in the past but I am not who they are and there are many like me. The author may have been hurt in the past by someone of our race and gender and for that I am truly sorry but you must not blame an entire race for this.

    +1 Votes
  •   May 23, 2019

    @Shannon25 Well, yeah. Censoring her would be racist.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Mar 03, 2017

    I guess this is what happens when the articles deviates from "23-ways-to-please-your-man". The article was speaking to the experience of people of color who, even with "well-meaning" white friends, need to be weary of the limits of said friendship. She was speaking to systematic and societal issues, not attacking anybody personally. The comment that claims she cited Langston Hughes' attack on a 7-year-old is merely evidence of poor reading comprehension. That quote was not an attack on the 7-year-old girl, it was showing that boys that young have been caught up in an adult legal system simply for something as simple as an innocent kiss (nothing in the quote suggests the little girl was at fault...read it again). But I challenge anybody to go read up on similar situations (like the women who recently came forward saying she completely lied about her claims of sexual assault which lead to the horrific murder of Emmett Till).

    The fact of the matter is, Get Out really does tap into the experience of being the outsider and how, even when trust is given, there are limits to one's kindness and, often, racism creeps forward and supersedes any interpersonal relationships we might have. Just because YOU might not see the situations as relevant, they are real (even if the movie twists these themes to fit a thriller movie plot). But hey, good movies are supposed to rile people up.

    Sincerely, someone who has a penchant for salty white tears.

    +3 Votes
  • Ja
      Mar 06, 2017

    Dear Cosmopolitan,
    I am emailing your magazine today regarding a certain article authored by one of your writers Kendra James. The article titled Get Out Perfectly Captures the Terrifying Truth About White Women promotes a very destructive tone against white women. Personally I have read your magazine many times on different social media platforms and I have never seen any of your articles so charged with racial hate. I am unsure of what Cosmopolitan's article review process is; however this article racially singles out white women multiple times. I do understand that Cosmopolitan is a life advice magazine and your writers personal opinions often give your articles a relatable feel that works quite well from what i've seen. I personally enjoy how your magazine functions; however when I read your magazine during my lunch break and the first article I decide to read has the words "White women are not to be trusted" in the first paragraph I will admit my disappointment that such hate had infested itself in a magazine that thousands of readers of all races relate to and enjoy. A person should be judged on their personal actions not their race or gender. Generalizing white women into people who cannot be trusted only causes unnecessary racial hatred and I hope that your magazine recognizes this hate space Kendra James has created with her words. I would also like to point out the fact that your writer seems to revel in the fact that she is distresses a community of people (Proof will be provided as an attachment of a twitter post). I hope that I do not have to see this type of loathing towards any race or gender in the near future of your magazine. While it is your companies right to decide how to deal with their employee's I expect Kendra James to be made aware of her wrongdoings.
    Thank you
    (My Name)

    Note:
    I plead to all of you to express your opinion to Cosmopolitan.

    0 Votes

Post your comment