The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

AmeriTrust Financial / Horrible people and full of lies!

1 United States Review updated:

In part this is my fault because I was naive enough to believe them. They called promising all kinds of great products and services, but then they debited my account for $200.00, and refused to refund it. I never heard back from them, I never received any of the products and services they promised, and they are impossible to get a hold of. I emailed them, I called them, they never got back in tough with me. When I finally did get a hold of the "customer service" center (after at least a dozen tries), they hung up on me! So I called them back (after many tries once again and hours of holding), and they hung up on me a second time! Please run from any one like this, and don't be naive and stupid like me. They are horrible, horrible people and full of lies!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ji
      13th of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    They did the same f 'n thing to me too! Im soooooo upset about this... I cant believe that someone can get away with this $hit! If anyone knows of a way i can get them back please let me know! I am lookin into a lawsuit as we speak...

  • Sa
      14th of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    Ameritrust Financial called me in the middle of November, last year, 2006. The woman that I spoke to, Geneva Newman, promised me a credit card with a $2000 limit for a $200 deposit which I would receive back in 4 $50 vouchers. She said that with the confirmation letter being sent out and then returned after I signed it, that there would be about a month of waiting time for the card to come in the mail, along with the vouchers. $200 was debited from my account on December 6th, 2006. On the day before the debit was scheduled I attempted to cancel the order, and was unable to get ahold of anyone in the company, nor was my message returned. On March 6th, 2007 I spoke with a woman in Customer Care, who told me that she would send out my card and vouchers immediately, and I would get them in 3-4 days. I confirmed "3-4 business days?" and she said yes. I waited until Monday this week, March 12th, 2007 and called back to get ahold of a woman named Tina, who was somehow unable to pull up my information by the phone number used the week prior. She took my first and last name and then placed me on hold for 15-20 minutes, then disconnected the call. At this point I was furious! I called back immediately to reach someone calling himself Bobby Johnson. I told Bobby that I would call the Better Business Bureau if he did not solve the issue immediately. He snapped back at me saying "First of all ma'am, if you want something done, that is not how you begin a conversation!" He was so rude! He then continuously interrupted me asking for the phone number at which they had originally called me. I gave him my confirmation number and he asked me for my email address. He then so rudely told me to check my email and print off the "confirmation" and send it back to them by fax. When I told him that I do not have access to a fax machine, he got very snobby, and told me that it was my only option. As I was opening the blank document that he sent me, I asked him why the previous person had lied to me about sending everything out to arrive in 3-4 days, or business days, whichever. He then asked me what that person's name was, and I could not remember, I started to tell him, "I think it was Angela or Andrea..." and the phone conveniently disconnected. Shortly after, the email that I received had finished loading, to give me just a blank document. STEER CLEAR OF THIS COMPANY!! Please don't buy into their scam like I did. I am so devastated about this.

  • Do
      14th of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    These people are liars. They specifically told me that I would get a credit card that I could use to pay my utility and other bills with to improve my credit. They promised to send info. With this being specifically explained they set up for $200 to come out of my account. Once they deducted my account and I called back they said I couldn't use this as a credit card, only played the prior conversation in parts neglecting where I was informed deceptively. They promised they would place a stop payment on money taken out of my account in the near future and that the conversation was recorded in full but refused to put any of that in writing. They placed me on hold and never came back.

  • Re
      20th of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    While I agree that this company has to be conducting clandestine operations to scam individuals out of $200 each, I have to just ask... why didn't you report them for fraud to your Bank and have them charged back immediately. Everyone should know, that the only ppl who ask you for money up front, especially a lending company operating under a name that is a well established investment firm. While I fell for the scam, I know that the only reason I was involved was because I had actually applied for credit cards over the internet, not knowing my computer had already been infected with EUniverse, a browser hijacking virus. They defrauded my checking account, stole my soc sec number, have purchased credit cards in my name, purchased items online.. all using an IP# that was also lifted from my computer.
    But, once I called Bank of America, they stepped in and settled the matter without further incident. If your Bank can't help you, at least you are on record having charged this company with fraud. It's nice that you report it here... but if you report it to your Bank and they open an investigation for fraud, a lot of other ppl would never have been suckered into this.

    You were looking for more credit, when you're already in debt. Most of us are. Don't blame the people who prey on the perpetually stupid, just blame yourself... But, next time someone calls and says 'have I got a deal for you'... Hang Up!

  • Ca
      24th of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    They called me and promised all of the above also. I was already getting unknown debits from other internet companies, so right before they were to take out my money i put a hold/credits only on my account. Afterwards i closed it out and got a new one, which i do not disclose to anyone on the internet other than the utility companies i pay on-line. I was also thinking back and could swear that i called this company prior to withdraw date and canceled the transaction,which they were going to charge me for like aborting fee on the terms i agreed to, that's when i closed out the account. I am thankful to have come across all of your letters, so not to believe them if they call in the future. Thanks a million, Carol.

  • Vi
      26th of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    My only advice to anyone who may be contacted in the future by these people would be to call the (fbi) while on the phone with them. Give them the number to call and let them know they are fraudulent and you have asked them prior to your current call not to call and they continue to do so. If they could investigate them or hack into your phone call while you are currently on the phone hopefully to bust them right then and their.

    For everyone who might not know always ask for a tax id number!!! They are required by law to have one and give it to you if requested.

    As of for he comment of don't blame people for preying on the perpetually stupid, it has nothing to do with always being stupid while you think your smart comment makes you any smarter... [censored]... There is what you call hacking, that doesn't make you stupid even if you tried to believe.

  • Ma
      4th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    Sub: AmeriTrust Financial took money from acct without authorization and i received no product!

    I had called and cancelled due to the outrageous $200.00 they wanted but they still charged my bank account they are scamming people big time and if my bad experience saves someone else from these troubles then i'm glad i did this complaint. They send you NOTHING and they still take your money.

  • Ch
      4th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    I too was scammed by AmeriTrust Financial. I have contacted my bank and filled out a fraud report as well as stopped payment on the electronic check/funds. I have also contacted the secret service regarding these people. I have included this url along with a couple other message boards (from a google search) in my letter to the secret service.

  • Na
      6th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    In January Ameritrust Financial called me and offered me a credit building credit card, if I sent them $200 that would be returned to me in the form of 4 $50 payment vouchers. I gave them permission to debit this from my account, and it took them 4 weeks to deliver the card, after I had to call them to remind them to send it. When it arrived it was not a credit card like I had thought. It was a card that only worked with their web site that sold numerous worthless items. I called to cancel this service, and they charged me $35 to cancel, even though I had not used any of the $200 I had paid them already.

    If there is ever a class action law suit made against them, I will stand up and testify. Just tell me where and when!

  • La
      9th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    I just hung up the phone with these people. I became suspicious when she asked for my checking account information, supposedly used instead of SS to verify my account. they told me nothing about a $200 charge. I told the woman that I didn't feel comfortable with giving her my routing and account numbers she told me that what is the difference in giving it to her or the pizza delivery boy for pizza. I told her that here in NYC we don't write checks for pizza delivery, she hung up the phone. Since I have caller id I called back and the person proceed to tell me that he didn't understand why I would be apprehensive about giving my banking info. and don't I give the supermarket access to my banking info so whats the difference. These people are shady.

  • Do
      15th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    I was scamed the same way. They offered a credit card and took $200.00 out of my checking account even though I tried too cancel the transaction. They are praying on people just out of bankruptcy.

  • Ju
      25th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Ameritrust Financial should be shut down. I was scammed the same way, I don't know how they got my number but they called me one night and acted like I was getting a credit card for $2000. if I give them a security deposit of $200. So 3 days later, I went on-line looking for this credit card web site, I couldn't find it but I found this web sit instead and was reading all the complaints about this place so I called them back, oh then they knew it was for a catalog after I asked them and then told me to cancel it, I would have to pay a $35.00 cancellation fee, or else they could take me to court, I told them to go head and try, I then called my bank and canceled my checking account. I have another checking account any way. I would just like to know how these people are still in business? And why are they not being stopped, these people are stealing, and I believe they should be punished the same way as any other thief or even worse. Thank you.

  • Jo
      7th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes
    AmeriTrust Financial - Unsolicited credit cures!
    United States

    With the "promise" of reporting good reports to credit reporting agencies, Ameritrust Financial solicited banking information, deducted money and provided nothing in return. They are stealing peoples money who are, in fact the ones who need it the most. They are getting names from bankruptcy filings.

    They need to be stopped and prosecuted!

  • Je
      11th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    Thank all of you very much for posting this... I had this great deal offered to me today...Thank god I didnt complete the transaction...I will definitely think about being a smarter consumer from now on...

  • Ta
      28th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes
    AmeriTrust Financial - Hung up on me - total scam!
    United States

    I had these people calling and calling and calling me from California. Saying they were in Florida. The woman gave her name as Libby Foster and been working there 6 years and the company has been in business for 15 years. I called the Customer Service line, just rings. then I called the 408-731-7348 line to a gentleman hanging up on me when I asked how long the business has been up and running he told me 10 years. I told him, the lady said 15, he hung up on me, total scam, I think.

  • La
      3rd of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    They did the same thing to me. I am not even looking for the 200.00 dollars back. I will report this to the FBI and my local group for help. I will also contact my bank and let them know about this company.

  • Ro
      11th of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    I was also call by Amertrust and told that if I paid $200.00 I would get a credit card and 4 $50 vouchers. I then got the Acceptance letter.I did what it said to do and faxed it back on 9-17-2007. I called them to see if they got the fax.I was told yes they did and the card would be to me in 3to5 days. After 7day I called to see where my card was. I was told that it would take 7to14 days to get the card. I then called them on the 15th day .I was told that they would get the card to me in 4 days. I called them on the 6th day and was told that I could not get my money back. I asked to speak to a supervisor. I was put on hold for 20 minutes then got disconnected. I wish I had know about how this company works .They lie and steal from people. I could really use the money they took. If there is any law suit against them I will be there too.

  • De
      15th of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    These people are shady.. REALLY SHADY! I just happened to be one of those people that Googled them after having given out my account information. As soon as I realized that this was a scam, I called to cancel the debit in the mount of $200 from my account.

    At 1st the 'Customer Service' number I was given kept disconnecting me. So I called the number back that had originally called me offering the credit card. Thing is.. it's NOT a credit card AT ALL. I had asked the fast talking gentleman on the line as well, how this credit card worked and he reassured me that I could use it to purchase ANYTHING.. ANYWHERE. By the time I called back to see if I'd get the same story (after checking out a few forums regarding these scammers) not only had the story changed but, the now for some reason I couldn't cancel the debit for another 4 days (well, the debit was due to be taken out of my account in 4 days.. IRONIC.. don't you think?). Initially a lady named Janelle T., told me that she couldn't see my account in their system so she couldn't cancel anything and tried to reassure me that the reason was for my own protection why she couldn't see anything (and therefore couldn't take anything out the system.. like my account information). She told me that she my account wouldn't be debited but never went into detail as to why. Because if you can't see anything.. how can you assure me that nothing will go through. I guess since I tried to convince them that this account that they'd be debited would be closed in the 3-4 days it takes to process.. she figured, they'd send in the debit request, the bank will respond 'account closed', then charge me a fee for overdrafting and they'd not get any money from my account (in theory). I accepted that 1/2 answer and hung up. I waited out the afternoon and called back. And IRONICALLY when I asked the ladies name.. she said Janelle.. so I finished it for her.. Janelle T.? I asked. She confirmed. How IRONIC (again) to have gotten the same rep on a 'Customer Service' line.. must've been my lucky day. Either that or EVERYONE'S name is Janelle T. She told me that this time she was going to send my request to reschedule the debit to 11/15/07 which would then buy me time to send in written request to cancel without being charged a fee and then by the time they get the written request .. they'd just cancel the 11/15/07 debit. Well, I am typing up my request to terminate the account now. I have 3 days to get it post marked according to Janelle T (#2). Guess I'll have to wait and see if any of this is true and if there is even a way to stop the debit from going through. After reading the above posts. I'm not so sure.

  • Di
      24th of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    Today is 10/24/07
    I have been scammed too. AmeriTrust Financial told me I was approved for a credit card $2000.00 same thing with the vouchers and no monthly fees or yearly but a processing fee of $200. Like a fool i gave her my info. Then realized something wasn't right. So I called back and she said it was in processing for 3 days to call back on Monday. So I went online And found nothing for this company, but came across google with all the poor people that have been scammed like me. So I Ran to the bank and told them what happened,so they closed my account and gave me a new one, I hope that will work. They are to ach my account 100. on 11/10/07 and again on the 25th.The bank didnt make out a report or anything just possible fraud.I hope it was done right so These thief's cant take my money.I am calling them again and again to cancel. Does anyone know if you change your account, Can they still get the money?And YES if there is a law suit I want to be there too.

  • Is
      29th of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    I was numerous times I finally called them back and everything sounded good. Until I was going to pay 100 one day and 100 the next month. I didnt have the money and I went to call to change the date I tried to call to get the customer care # and when I did I continuously got hung up on. I went online to get the # because everything is online and I find all of this stuff. So I called them back got the # to customer care and when she picked up it sounded like she rolled out of bed. I dont trust this company I cant see why I was stupid to trust something like this.

Post your comment