Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Activity Superstore



Complaint Rating:  94 % with 17 votes
94% 17
I am so angry, I am spitting chips. I cannot believe I have been taken for a "patsy" by Debenhams in Oxford on behalf of The Activity Superstore

I was given a gift of an "experience" - my choice to select high adrenalin or more sedate. The receiver of the gift does not know the value (it is promoted at £99, as if that amount buys everything on the list) - but then it becomes clear when you as the recipient tries to book, that you find that anything worth booking will be at extra (significantly extra!) cost. In the end I chose London theatre and meal for 2 - my husband gave me the present so I thought it would be nice to share. We went yesterday, to see "Wicked" - great show, but totally spoilt by the greed of the providers of the voucher. "Best seats available" were promised, which should say "best seats available within the price range we (Activity Superstore) have bought". Since the only tickets booked by The Activity Superstore were the cheapest in the house, at the back of the gods, this does not leave much room for a pleasant experience. Not the theatre's fault, these were the seats that Activity Superstore purchased, and as the theatre booking office Manager rightly said, they have no control over what agencies sell the tickets on for. The face value of the theatre tickets was £20.

The meal bit has to be written off. Not exactly a dining experience. This was a pub meal (but one could not call it a meal), one course, cheapest item on the menu. Total disgrace. We would not stoop so low for a lunchtime snack let alone a special outing. Max cost would not have exceeded £5 per head. We said no thank you and went elsewhere..

This is mis-selling, and is a product not fit for purpose. Total price paid to Debenhams £99; face value of product £50 (max) not taking account of purchasing power of vendor.

I'm always happy to pay for a worthwhile experience, but I cannot believe I have been so "shafted" by these con merchants. Debenhams should not risk their reputation on such a con. Activity Superstore should be shut down.

Only light on the horizon was the brilliant performance of the theatre booking office who, despite everything, moved us to seats where we had a decent view. They didn't have to do that, but they were just as angry as we were and were prepared to help us.
Complaint comments Comments (5) Complaint country United Kingdom Complaint category Entertainment


Sort by: Date | Rating
A  15th of Jul, 2011 by    0 Votes
I totally agree with this complaint as I was given a £99 voucher as a gift. I exchanged it for two summer prom concert tickets and have just discovered the face value of the tickets are £30 each. My daughter has been ripped off to the tune of £39.
D  11th of Nov, 2011 by    0 Votes
We are sorry that there you are not happy with the service you have received from Activity Superstore – if either of you would like to forward your contact details and any information you have about your voucher to this address: customerreview@activitysuperstore.com then I will look into what has happened and get back to you as soon as possible to try and resolve the problems you have had.
A  24th of May, 2014 by    0 Votes
TOTALLY AGREE. If they spent as much effort in actually providing an ethical business model rather than the warm word replies that offer nothing, don't address the specific complaints and just add to the customers sense of outrage they might be on their way to future viability. I've had a similar experience so can empathise with the comments.
A  24th of Oct, 2014 by    0 Votes
we we're bought a two night stay voucher from a family member for Christmas. I have had nothing but stress for the passed 10 months trying to use it! I have made at least 20 calls to the centre trying to book hotels. The availability is horrendous! I understand there will be restrictions but it has been a joke. No hotel wants to accept this voucher and to be honest if I booked it independently I could have got the hotels at half the price anyway! I tried all sorts to try and get a refund but due to validating the voucher that became unavailable. My problem with that is, if I didn't validate my voucher I wouldn't have been able to book my hotel!! I contacted Debenhams where the voucher was purchased and informed them of the stress this gift has caused and that it was false advertising and not fit for purpose! They just passed the blame back on the activity superstore. Charlotte from the centre has been trying her best to help me find something to use my voucher on but I can't help but feel that this voucher is not getting used for the reasons it was bought and the family member whom bought would be devastated if she new the problems it was causing! I am basically just going to choose anything to get rid of the voucher or end up putting it in the bin and at the cost of £100 this is not acceptable! I will be warning people off this deal and telling them how disappointed I am!
A  2nd of Oct, 2015 by    0 Votes
I had the same problem I was given a Racecourse voucher for horse racing all the courses with the other side of the country to me and I was told I could use it anywhere stay away

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards Complaint Agree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Activity Superstore Logo Activity Superstore
Customer Care Service
PO Box 219
Saffron Walden
England, Essex
United Kingdom - CB109DZ
+44 371 384 XXXX
View Full Information
Contact Us

Reply to