Menu
Activity Superstore company logo
Activity Superstore
reviews & complaints

Activity Superstore
reviews & complaints

Learn how the rating is calculated

69 complaints
34 resolved 35 unresolved
File a complaint Table of contents
Claimed
This account has been claimed by Activity Superstore customer service / representatives through our verification process.
Click here to get notifications about new complaints of Activity Superstore. We promise not to send you any unrelated messages
Share
ADVERTISIMENT
D
9:04 am
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Activity Superstore - Experiences Not Available and False Advertising

I was given a voucher in December 2020 for a Classic Race Day at Lingfield Park. Unfortunately we were unable to make any of the (highly limited) dates available for this experience in 2021 but we did find a date in 2022 that we wanted to attend. However, when I went to book the experience I was told that this experience was no longer available.

I then spent a long time searching this (not very easy to use website) to decide on 2 tickets to see either The Prince of Egypt or 9 to 5 the Musical. I placed my order on 23rd March, only to find, that these musicals were also no longer available(!) The musicals on offer were not ones that I either wished to see or see again.

I have wasted so much time on the wesbite and really struggled to find anything suitable and so I would like a refund but I have been told this is not possible by customer services which I believe is outrageous.

Activity Superstore have failed to deliver on TWO different experiences and so we would like a refund. Please can a manager please resolve this for us.

Thank you,

Danielle

Desired outcome: Please Refund.

Read full review
Hide full review
A
6:57 am
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Activity Superstore - No response to booking request

My wife bought me a voucher for a Historic Photography Tour of London for a Christmas present but due to the Covid pandemic I have not been able to use this until now. I have tried to book a tour for the afternoon of 21 May 22 as initially I was informed that this was the only date available in May 2022. I have had no confirmation that the tour is taking place and indeed have had no response from the Activity Superstore despite sending 5 emails - there does not appear to be any other way of contacting them. I would simply like to have the tour confirmed with all the relevant details. The current voucher runs out on 1 June 2022 so I only have this opportunity to use it. It would be acceptable if the voucher was extended but as Activity Superstore have failed to respond I don't know if this is possible. So far it has been a very disappointing experience.

Desired outcome: Confirmation of booking, extension of voucher with confirmed dates of next available tours or a refund

Read full review
Update by Ali Duncan
May 12, 2022 1:45 am

This was swiftly resolved and I am now looking forward to my photography tour of London.

Hide full review
J
4:02 am
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Activity Superstore - A gift voucher

My daughter bought us an afternoon tea experience on a steam train. it was in the midst of the pandemic. Last year I had a little look to see if I could book when things were easing off and there was nothing available. So I looked again earlier this year and it looked like it didn't start until May. Well by then my voucher was out of date. I was in touch with customer services to see if icould extend and I was told they would have expected me to be in touch sooner and I hadn't registered my voucher. I explained that I thought this had to be done when booking . Still no joy and basically was told that there is nothing more they can do.

Desired outcome: Would like to extend and I dont even mind paying

Read full review
View 0 more photos
Hide full review
ADVERTISIMENT
S
4:08 am
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Activity Superstore - View from the shard and afternoon tea

I booked this experience for back in December, due to Storm Arwen I was unable to attend as my transport had been cancelled and I did try other ways. But seeing how it is nearly 7 hours away from where I live made it impossible with such short notice. I got intouch with the provider to say I was unable to attend, and also Activity Superstore. I was told on the phone everything would be resolved and would be able to rebook this. But over email was told otherwise. I rang a few times to try and get better advice and was told time and time again it could be resolved. I was then told I could only use the view from the shard and not my afternoon tea (the most expensive part) which was a present to me when covid happened. I then wrote to the complaint board back in January and was told to get back intouch so they could look into the matter for me. I emailed the complaints department twice with no response back!

Appalling customer service.

Desired outcome: A refund would be appreciated as when I email it states that a complaint would be dealt with within two weeks, this has been since March.

Read full review
Hide full review
S
11:55 am
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Activity Superstore - Inaccurate description of experience - taking extra money from me then reducing price on website

To cut a long story short we were given a voucher worth £99 as a gift for a” 2 night get away”. We exchanged it for an “Indulgent Spa Day” (as the break was Tuesday-Friday and I work). I paid £50 extra to upgrade it so a total of £149. The voucher was for an Indulgent Spa Day and so I thought that was what we were getting. Nowhere on the description did I...

Read full review
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Activity Superstore - AVWI 300962 / Shard and Afternoon Tea

My husband bought me this experience during Covid and you very kindly extended it due to him being vulnerable (he is 77).

Last year he had a stroke and it devastated us.

I tried to book this for April this year however did not receive a confirmation email saying it was booked. On emailing one your team they advised that an email had been sent to my husband’s email, however we fo not have any details. I have now tried to book it for next month and have been advised that it was booked. Subsequent emails have not been answered and at a time when we’re now trying to start getting our lives back on track it looks like we are going to lose this experience. Please respond to this. Proof of his stroke can be provided to you.

Kind regards

Geraldine

Desired outcome: Allow us to book this experience for Saturday 13th May 2022

Read full review
Hide full review
M
5:24 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Activity Superstore - SpecCode: AXWW/85691 Name: Brit Movie Tours (Emmerdale Locations) Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire

I bought this voucher for my friend. She has been trying to get it booked since 12th March. Every time she sends an email trying to book dates it take them 2-3 days to reply. They have repeatedly told us to extend the voucher which would cost £20. We have explained that most of the vchr validity was during lockdown and as we both work for the NHS have not been in a position to book until now.

We requested dates in May to be told they are full & they gave us 3 dates in Apr or told to extend.

We’ve asked for a contact number to try and resolve this quickly but that was last week & they haven’t replied. It feels like they are dragging their feet in order to force us to extend.

I’d rather have my money back than pay them more money but I bet they won’t allow that either.

Desired outcome: Just want to get something booked.

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
J
11:51 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Activity Superstore - Junior supercar taster

I purchased a voucher for my grandson for christmas (junior supercar taster.)

This was registered on sunday 13.03.22.

I was given a voucher number.

Only to find that most of the venues , in our area have closed down (Hertfordshire)

However, I tried to return my voucher to Argos today, only to be told...

They can't refund, because they can't re-sell my voucher.

Their telephone number is of no use, as no one answers, but only leaves an e-mail address.

I've sent e-mails, but as yet no replies

I've just looked into Trust pilot, and 93% are saying... Not to use this Company.

I will be writing to Trading standards...

Jan Lawrence

Desired outcome: To get a refund

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
K
7:28 am
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Activity Superstore - Theatre weekend not fulfilled

Email 26th February. I am emailing you both now to sort out amongst yourselves. I am sick of emailing you both and would like my money back. Hide quoted text On Tue, 22 Feb 2022, 17:04 karen anderson, wrote: Hi please see email below! This has been going on since 9th November 2021. I'd like something sorted about this now please or Id like my money...

Read full review
ADVERTISIMENT
L
12:10 pm
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Activity Superstore - British Superbike Race Day Ticket

Activation number 668883520715

Voucher expiry 01/03/2021

Activation number 787346094421

Voucher expiry 01/03/2021

I bought my husband (aged 86years) 2 x race day tickets for his birthday in February 2020. As he was not able to use these vouchers due to covid restrictions we were unable to book any of the race meetings as they were cancelled. As you say in your information "we will be delighted to help." As we are pensioners I can ill afford to loose this sort of money and I am upset about the disappointment for my elderly husband. I look forward to your early reply.

Yours sincerely

Elizabeth Duddles

Desired outcome: A refund of ticket cost or extension of voucher dates. Appreciate an immidate response.

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
P
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Activity Superstore - two night getaway

our son brought us a two night away for a christmas present on 15 september 2020 due to covid we couldnt go so it was extended till june 2021we have to book things around our disabled daughter so we had to pay £20 pound to extend it for 12 months we have been trying to book it up since september but it kept sayining invalid code so we emailed a numerous amount of times explaining this we was then sent a list of places to go so we picked one as they said they would help us an then we got email back saying our gift was void when it didnt run out till 2 2 22 we are gutted that this as happened an was so looking forward to our break plz can you help sort this out thank you

Desired outcome: 2 night getaway what was paid for

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
S
7:48 am
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Activity Superstore - 2 Night Stay with afternoon tea

Bought as a christmas present. When you validate voucher (which is sent entitled "2 night stay WITH afternoon tea") it gives you a list of hotels and advises you to email to arrange the afternoon tea at your chosen hotel. I chose the Angus Hotel, who booked me in but had no idea how to book the afternoon tea ( they do serve afternoon tea) so I emailed activity superstore as states on their website to do. Activity superstore said Angus Hotel doesnt do afternoon tea, I pointed out that they do. They said they dont do afternoon tea with them and to choose afternoon tea somewhere else! I asked what is the point of a 2 night stay with afternoon tea if my afternoon tea is at another location. Told to choose "a few hotels and they will "try" to get afternoon tea at same location but couldnt guarantee it! I have been misled and missold this voucher! I purchased a 2 night stay WITH afternoon tea. I booked one of THEIR listed hotels. I simply want either A. they arrange afternoon tea as per voucher purchased or B refund me that part of voucher and I will book and pay for afternoon tea myself! They refuse using the old more than 28 days since purchased lame duck! Nowhere on this voucher does it state that there are very limited hotels that they will arrange your afternoon tea and indeed on website when picking hotel it simply states to email activity superstore to advise of chosen hotel to book the afternoon tea!

Desired outcome: Afternoon tea at hotel as per purchased voucher.

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
S
4:22 am
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Activity Superstore - View from the shard and Afternoon tea for two

Due to covid restrictions and working on a covid ward myself I was unable to use my gift experience until the end of last year trying to book it before it ran out. I booked for the 11th December to use my experience. But due to the North East where I live having red warning alerts due to storm Arwen I was unable to attend as my transport had been cancelled. There was no way to get to London in time for my experience. I have been told that I can still do the view from the shard but not the afternoon tea (which will be the most expensive part). I have asked even to change my experience to get the full value of money and have been told I can't do that. Even though this is down to no fault of my own.

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
R
8:51 am
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Activity Superstore - SPA Day for Two BTB -470-817-629

Have just tried to book our Spa Day now Things have opened up, but advised by agent that it's now too late. Due to past Covid restrictions we were not comfortable booking, but the company will not allow us any leeway, so they have gained £149 for nothing. Under the circumstances Activity should allow these bookings to take place and get some credibility.

Desired outcome: Agree booking can be made

Read full review
Hide full review
ADVERTISIMENT
L
11:55 am

Activity Superstore - Vouchers

2nd November 2021.
Firstly we were never informed of a cut off date for vouchers purchase. Secondly and most importantly we have been in the middle of a worldwide pandemic where my partner due to health complications has had to shield and it is only now and proceeding with caution that we can start to enjoy the gifts that have been given to him. I lost a brother last October and only this week have lost another so you can understand we have not had time to even consider using the vouchers and we're just hoping to utilise in the near future as we are desperately in need of something to look forward to.
However the company has stated that they have no intention of letting us use the voucher as we have missed the cut off date. We were given some vouchers by buy a gift company and they are out of date for two years.

Desired outcome: To use the vouchers

Read full review
Hide full review
S
8:19 am
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Activity Superstore - gift experience voucher

I am so upset, this was for a gift for my son's 18th birthday present. Due to covid lockdowns, the worry of going to public places due to my sister having cancer at the time, they have refused to extend the voucher. I am so upset and cannot afford another voucher for his birthday present. This company must be making a small fortune as they have the money but are pocketing it and not offering the days out! Shameful

Desired outcome: to have the voucher extended or a refund please

Read full review
Hide full review
U
10:37 am
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Activity Superstore - Voucher extended

I had 2 vouchers purchased for myself and partner as a wedding gift in December 2020. I have then been unable to use them due to Covid and Lockdown. However, I rang up to extend the vouchers and was charged £20 which although not best pleased. I was happy to pay if this would extend. However, despite been told this was the case when I rang the company to extend I was then informed that my voucher had not been activated. Even though I was not told that I need to do so first. Therefore I have been informed that my voucher has expired and there is nothing that I can do about this. So my wedding has cancelled and now I am unable to use the vouchers and this is very distressing

Read full review
Hide full review
G
10:35 am
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Activity Superstore - Wine tasting tour voucher

I have a voucher for a wine tasting tour that expires 13 October 2021. The voucher number is: GWZZ601757. I had been unable to use the voucher, until now, because I am considered vulnerable and so have had to isolate. I have contacted all the wine tasting tours available but they are all fully booked until April 2022. I'd asked Activity Superstore for an extension but they flatly refused. I consider this to be extremely unfair.

Desired outcome: Approved one year extension to current expiry date

Read full review
Hide full review
B
3:34 pm

Activity Superstore - Voucher

This company is disgraceful. Be warned - do not use. Read the reviews and other comments. Could not use vouchers during a pandemic - then want extra money to extend. Every other voucher company extended for free without issue. Kids broken hearted that they cannot use their main Christmas presents from 2019. Shameful.

I will be taking them to the small claims court.

Desired outcome: Honour the vouchers, as every other company has done.

Read full review
Hide full review
J
Sep 21, 2021 8:09 am

Exactly the same happened to me - a voucher I couldn't use due to lockdown and when I complained I was told I could spend another £20 to extend the voucher. This company should be ashamed of itself. I've been involved in an email spat with them and their attitude varies between couldn't care less and patronising. I've now written to the CEO directly; I suggest others do the same.
Mr Shaun Powell
CEO
The Activity Superstore Ltd
1st Floor
41-45 High Street
Saffron Walden
Essex
CB10 1AR

Helpful?
1 0
J
Sep 21, 2021 8:09 am

Exactly the same happened to me - a voucher I couldn't use due to lockdown and when I complained I was told I could spend another £20 to extend the voucher. This company should be ashamed of itself. I've been involved in an email spat with them and their attitude varies between couldn't care less and patronising. I've now written to the CEO directly; I suggest others do the same.
Mr Shaun Powell
CEO
The Activity Superstore Ltd
1st Floor
41-45 High Street
Saffron Walden
Essex
CB10 1AR

Helpful?
0 0
P
2:51 pm

Activity Superstore - Steam Train Ride and Tea

I bought this activity for my husband as an xmas present December 2020 and we finally got to use it .
We booked the steam train and tea ride at Nene Valley Railway for Saturday 14th August we arrived excited for our train and tea ride but was told prior to booking it that that they did not do cream teas so we booked the cream tea at the Dover Marine Hotel for sunday 15th August.
When we went to the booking office they gave us our train ticket then took the voucher we asked could we have it back as we needed it to go on our tea afternoon and they said they needed it to pay for our ride, we was rather annoyed and upset because we was not getting the experience that we paid for so I would like to know if you could sort this problem out and sort out how we can get our tea ride .
I look forward to hearing from you
Mrs Julie Shaw
My Email is;

[email protected]

Desired outcome: to be able to have the experinence of the steam train ride and tea .

Read full review
Hide full review

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free
ADVERTISIMENT

Activity Superstore contacts

ADVERTISIMENT

Activity Superstore representatives

Activity Superstore1
ActivitySuperstore
ADVERTISIMENT