Activity Superstore Logo

Activity Superstore

Having problems with Activity Superstore?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

1st Floor, 41-45 High Street
Saffron Walden
United Kingdom - CB101AR

ComplaintsBoard.com is not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with Activity Superstore.

We are an independent complaint resolution platform that has been successfully voicing consumer concerns since 2004. We are doing work that matters - connecting customers with businesses around the world and help them resolve issues and be heard.

Complaints & Reviews

Activity SuperstoreSteam train ride

Voucher given to us last Christmas as a gift.
Unfortunately due to Coronavirus the trains have not run this year. We requested a refund or to change to another activity.
In total six e mails have been exchanged with no joy.
How can you sell vouchers and then not refund or change when a activity in unavailable. It is uncertain if the train will operate next year but by December our voucher will run out.
Very unsatisfactory.
Terrible customer service.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    Activity SuperstoreAfternoon tea

    Last christmas my husband and I were given an afternoon tea gift voucher. With restaurants having been closed due to covid we have just got around to registering our voucher, to find that a till receipt is required. We do not have a till receipt and the giver of the gift obviously does not have it after all this time. It is not possible to ask them for their bank statement.
    The gift box was scanned and activated at the time of purchase so there should be no need for further proof of purchase. I am sure that many people will give these gifts in good faith, only for them to be irredeemable, and it feels like a money making scam.

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      RESOLVED

      The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

      • Activity Superstore's response · Aug 24, 2020

        Good morning

        Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

        I am sorry to hear this, however we do make it clear on all of our packaging that proof of purchase is required for all items purchased in store. The reason for this is because we do not receive information at the time of sale and as such need verification that this was purchased which comes in the form of a gift receipt.

        Please do kindly get in touch with me directly if you wish to discuss this further.

        Kind regards,

        Charlotte
        Activity Superstore Ltd

      • Fr
        Frustrated In Florida U2? Sep 24, 2020
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        This website ‘the complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction” is that correct? It does not seem like it from the company answer.

        0 Votes

      Activity Superstorevoucher

      I received two vouchers as a gift and I didn't activate it on time. As a gesture of goodwill they did not want to extend it for me and they said if I was unwell send my medical certificate and they will renew it. So it is at the company discretion to renew the voucher but they don't want to. I don't understand why a company cannot use discretion to offer a good customer service .

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        The complaint has been investigated and
        resolved to the customer's satisfaction
        Resolved
        Activity Superstoresteam train ride

        Bought as as gift through boots carlisle.
        Tried to register.Came to the bit about gift receipt.Searched through the box, no receipt.
        Asked my wife for receipt.She was adamant the young cashier put the receipt in the box.
        After a very heated discussion i was accused of losing said receipt.
        Contacted activity and tried to explain.Got nowhere totally unsympathetic.Tried boots and received same treatment.
        Was told to produce bank statement.This would be useless as part paid in cash!!!
        i have just retired and feel like a criminal.
        Activation no btb-[protected]
        my name keith hampson
        e-mail [protected]@gmail.Com
        item bought about 23 dec 2019
        boots english st carlisle

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          RESOLVED

          The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

          • Activity Superstore's response · Jan 20, 2020

            Hello,

            I am sorry to hear of the difficulties you have faced, however for security we do require proof of purchase., which is advertised as such on the box.

            I can see that you have since spoken with my colleague who managed to assist you.

            If you need anything else, please do get in touch.

            Kind regards.

            Activity Superstore

          Jan 06, 2020

          The complaint has been investigated and
          resolved to the customer's satisfaction
          Resolved
          Activity Superstore — voucher zath-601-528

          We contacted you in November with regards to struggling with dates and a place to use my voucher. After a...

          We are here to help

          • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
          • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
          • Honest and unbiased reviews
          • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

          The complaint has been investigated and
          resolved to the customer's satisfaction
          Resolved
          Activity Superstoreclarity of the importance of a receipt

          Was given a go karting and segway sessions for christmas, but when starting to activate and choose the dates they ask for a receipt which we don't and my relative that bought it wasn't informed that it was needed to redeem the activity, oh but there is a discrete notice on the edge of the box, why is this not displayed on the front in bold print and why did the staff at argos not inform us of the importance of the gift receipt, can the activity superstore offer some help, we hope so

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            RESOLVED

            The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

            • Activity Superstore's response · Jan 07, 2020

              Hello Robert,

              Thank you for contacting us.

              For all items sold in stores we require the gift receipt for validation, which is advertised. In leiu of this we can accept a copy of the till receipt, bank statement or a note from the store on headed paper to confirm the sale. If you can obtain this, please forward this over along with your activation number, contact details and choice of activity if applicable to [protected]@activitysuperstore.com and we can try to validate on your behalf.

              I hope this helps Robert and I look forward to hearing from you.

              Kind regards,

              Activity Superstore

            Activity Superstorevoucher

            I have just spoken to one of your operators who have refused to extend a activity superstore voucher [protected] We had an experience booked with you but this was cancelled by you due to the event not being available.
            The voucher was then agreed to be extended but unfortunately lay forgotten in a draw, I feel as you have received money from us but we have received nothing in return that the voucher could be extended slightly further for possible a shorter period of 6

            voucher

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              Nov 29, 2019

              Activity Superstore — Experience gift voucher

              Don't buy these vouchers. Use the universal gift voucher instead - Cash. My fault for leaving things until...

              The complaint has been investigated and
              resolved to the customer's satisfaction
              Resolved
              Activity Superstorecost of voucher

              My husband bought me a voucher for Christmas last year and it cost £229, it was for a spa day at Bannatyne Spa for 2, I went yesterday and the massage was excellent it lasted an hour, told could use other facilities but found the jacuzzi out of order, I then received an email from bannatyne outlining the cost of the massage which was £69 for both of us, what was the other £160 for, using a gym, pool or jacuzzi, think he got robbed especially as I seen it on offer the other day for about £89. Think a part refund is due.

              Add your opinion

                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                RESOLVED

                Sent a voucher for £120 to use by Nov 2020 and were easy to deal with

                • Activity Superstore's response · Nov 18, 2019

                  Hello,

                  Thank you for your comments.

                  I am sorry to hear that the value for money was not there. Can I ask that you kindly confirm for me your voucher number so I can investigate further for you? Please kindly email these details over to [protected]@activitysuperstore.com.

                  Kind regards
                  Activity Superstore

                • Updated by HelenMcD · Nov 29, 2019

                  Activity superstore has given a voucher to the value of £120 to use by Nov 2020, a quick response and easy to deal with.

                The complaint has been investigated and
                resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                Resolved
                Activity Superstoreafternoon tea

                I purchased an Afternoon Tea gift experience which cost £34.99 from Argos. I went to the Arden Hotel in Solihull and when I asked how much it was they said it was £15.00 each so I don't know where Activity Superstore has got £34.99 from. It's very misleading and I would like a refund or some vouchers off them. If not I will be going to the CEO about this. I would totally avoid this company I won't be purchasing anything off them again.

                Add your opinion

                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                  RESOLVED

                  The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

                  • Activity Superstore's response · Oct 17, 2019

                    Hello,

                    Thank you for your review.

                    Can I ask if you have addressed this with us directly so we can investigate? If you could email me with your voucher number on [protected]@activitysuperstore.com and where you went I will gladly look into this for you.
                    Just to touch on the pricing for our afternoon tea vouchers, we do sell our pack at £34, however we do offer 152 locations which all vary in price. We do also have extra costs to consider such as VAT, packaging and cancellation cover.
                    Nonetheless I look forward to discussing this with you further.

                    Kind regards
                    Activity Superstore

                  Activity SuperstoreMakeup and photo shoot

                  Waiting on a response to my emails…
                  Waiting on a response to my emails sent as reads below for you all to see...

                  Find attached the series of emails sent in seeking resolution .

                  From: myself
                  Date: Monday, 9 September 2019
                  Subject: Complaint

                  Spoke with Amanda following my complaint regarding cross infection and allergy issues at getting personal who gave me your details to follow up on the complaint. Order noxxxxxxxxx. Sent in on 7th September 2019

                  Below is my complaint sent in to getting personal:-

                  I am really sorry to complain but after our visit to bell beauty and deardon photography studio today I felt that I should advise you on the problems we encountered. The site was over two sites where you go for makeup first and then 10 mins away for photo shoot. Which wasnt what I was expecting and would have thought it would be on one site but that was not the issue. The makeup lady was lovely but the room in which she provided the make over had lots of childrens toys and books all over the floor and childrens prams and scooters plastic toys scattered everywhere on the floor for her little girl to play with as she was occupied whilst mum worked. We did arrive early aand her little girl was due to be collected by her dad at the time of our appointment and she was a Beautiful little girl but not what you expect to find on a pamper day... there was a drink spilt on the table and sweets stuck in the sofa and teddys on the floor. The make up was thick and cakey and eyemakeup was not blended at all. To be honest I was horrified that no cleaning of brushes was carried out inbetween make up applications and that lip gloss and eye liner and mascara was used directly from the pot and no disposable brushes were used. There was no infection control at all. When I left i had to remove it as the makeup made my skin burn and pre treatment allergy questions were not carried out. We went to the studio for photos where were met by mike who was understanding when we asked to rebook as i had no makeup on. I didnt complain about the makeup as it was his step daughter who had done it and felt awkward. In light of this I would like to request an alternative location in cardiff as the advertisment said was available and as it is a package We paid for I would prefer to take advantage of it in its entirety. My hair wasnt done either and i asked if i could borrow some hairspray to stick my flyaway hair down as i hadnt done anything to it as i expected it to be done for me as yhe advice was to come with no makeup and clean hair without product as this will be done, I didnt know what to say when she said ' you leaving your hair as it is, mike likes the natural look', it was a mess as I had done nothing to it!...in short lovely people but the makeup and hair side let it down. Being a clinical supervisor and in charge of cross infection policies for the NHS for a living I expect a higher standard of cleanliness. Please call me to discuss and rearrange alternatives or refund.

                  Regards

                  Received from activity superstore:-

                  Good afternoon Sarah,
                  Thank you for your email and I hope you are well. 
                  I am so sorry to hear this, we do not wish this upon any of our customers! Unfortunately we state in our terms and conditions that you must make the venue aware on the day and as this was not done I am sorry to say that there is not much we can do.
                  You are of course welcome to email customer services to have this reviewed further.
                  Once again I really do apologise for this, Sarah.
                  Best wishes,
                  Olivia 
                  Customer Support Advisor

                  

                  ...

                  Sent today from myself to activity superstore:-

                  Please forward this complaint to customer services on my behalf and avoid me taking things further I have spoken with the relevant organisations about my legal standing onv this matter and because we underwent cross infection breeches and allergy testing was not even addressed there are slightly more serious ramifications involved than the fact we were to shocked and traumatised to notify on on the day. I do not wish to get into a battle over this but will if i have to and will write negative reviews wherever I can ( as I have already viewd horrific reviews already posted against your name and now wished I hadn't used you in the first place in light of these). I am a reasonable person and dont feel you seem to be taking this complaint as seriously as you should because the transferance of the HSV1 and conjunctivitis are highly contagious and allergies are also at the forefront of many complaints. I now do not wish for an alternative product in light of the companies lack of professionalism in dealing with my complaint and seek a full refund. I request a full and detailed response with your findings in 14 to avoid taking this further.

                  Regards

                  Add your opinion

                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                    Activity SuperstoreMissing my booking

                    date was..28 august.2019 voucher num GKSR104449 name mr barrie crossland steam ride for two at nene valley railway ltd peterborough cambridgeshire...i could not get my sat nav to take the post code whitch was pe8 6lr due to not anough information given no street address just stibbington.peterborough cambridgeshire .which was not anough for the sat nav, we used the travel directions given but did not see any signs what so ever .telling us the way to go .we phoned the if lost phone number given [protected] witch was no help what so ever .we even stoped and asked and nobody had any idea where it was .when i filled up with fuel the garage staff had no idea where it was .so in the end we gave up and went home.a round trip of 350 miles . as you can.imagine we were not very happy .but am willing to try again as we wanted this on the understanding that we are given better travel directions. or a.refund...thanks barrie crossland email address [protected]@live.co.uk

                    Add your opinion

                      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                      Aug 06, 2019

                      The complaint has been investigated and
                      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                      Resolved
                      Activity Superstore — comedy store.

                      My son purchased my voucher for my birthday worth £39 and I thought it would be good to book a comedy night...

                      The complaint has been investigated and
                      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                      Resolved
                      Activity Superstore2 night getaway for two

                      We booked our third experience in Balloch and have never previously had a problem. The hotel we booked was sold as perfect for couples (as the whole gift is targeted at couples). When we arrived we pulled in to a car park that seemed to be of a nightclub. We reversed and went next door to the hotel. At reception we were asked if we knew about the ATTACHED nightclub? No. We didn't know, nothing was mentioned on activity superstore nor when we booked. She said it would be like a nightclub in our room but we are young so that's ok.
                      We then proceeded to our room which was full of cigarette smoke (despite it being a 'no smoking room').
                      We politely asked if we could change room as the toilet didn't flush, room was above the club smoking area and the whole room was filthy but no, all other rooms were occupied by a hen party. At this point the music began and there was no a possibility anyone could sleep there (being pregnant means sleep is invaluable). After frantically ringing 20+ bnbs and hotels we found somewhere for £70 a night and quickly changed hotels. How you can sell this experience as a couples break and have them as partner is disgusting. It has now cost us more money and the original gift has not been used. I look forward to your reply

                      Samantha Tomlinson

                      2 night getaway for two
                      2 night getaway for two
                      2 night getaway for two
                      2 night getaway for two
                      2 night getaway for two
                      2 night getaway for two
                      2 night getaway for two
                      2 night getaway for two
                      2 night getaway for two
                      2 night getaway for two
                      2 night getaway for two
                      2 night getaway for two
                      2 night getaway for two
                      2 night getaway for two

                      Add your opinion

                        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                        RESOLVED

                        The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

                        • Activity Superstore's response · May 28, 2019

                          Hello
                          Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
                          I am very sorry to hear of this and can assure you that this is not the service we would want for our customers. Please can I ask if you have made anyone at Activity Superstore aware of this previously as I cannot see that this has been logged?
                          Further to this, please email me at [protected]@activitysuperstore.com with your voucher details and I will gladly investigate further.
                          Kind regards
                          Charlotte
                          Activity Superstore

                        The complaint has been investigated and
                        resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                        Resolved
                        Activity Superstoretheatre/dinner gift package

                        The cost of the gift was £119. It states the best available seats on booking, we were given seats in the gods, asked to change was given two seats below.If you look on the seating plan there are plenty of seats not booked which are better seat so where does the best available seats come into it ?. There are plenty of available seats but they will not allocate them to us. We both have disabilities so not sure what will happen next week when we get there. There was a choice of 5 shows but when I booked it I only had the choice of 3 which we did not really want to see any of them but that's all there was. The best part about this package is to buy the tickets for the seats we have are £19 the two course meal I checked at Maxwells is £15 each total of £68 so what is the other £51 paid for ??? This is a total rip of and I am contacting Watchdog.

                        theatre/dinner gift package
                        theatre/dinner gift package

                        Add your opinion

                          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                          RESOLVED

                          The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

                          • Activity Superstore's response · May 13, 2019

                            Good afternoon

                            Thank you for your review.

                            I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with the experience, this is never the way we want our customers to feel. That being said I can see from your screen shot that we do advise that the seats for the package would be in the Balcony or Upper Circle. We do have more premium packages with a different show selection along with seats in the Stalls.

                            If you were unhappy with the seats and shows provided, we would have been happy to discuss this with you prior to the booking being confirmed to find the right seats / show for you.

                            If you would like to me to look into this further for you, please contact me with your voucher details on [protected]@activitysuperstore.com.

                            I look forward to speaking with you.

                            Kind regards

                            Charlotte
                            Activity Superstore Ltd

                          The complaint has been investigated and
                          resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                          Resolved
                          Activity Superstoretheatre/meal package

                          My son bought me the above package for Christmas. Inside the box it gives a choice of 5 shows to go and see but I received an email from you when I activated the voucher which states only 3 shows. I have been emailing customers services to no avail. I have already missed out on one show I would have liked to see because no one is getting back to me. I am not happy to say the least as these packages are not cheap and the customer care is non existent.
                          B Reece

                          theatre/meal package
                          theatre/meal package

                          Add your opinion

                            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                            RESOLVED

                            The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

                            • Activity Superstore's response · May 01, 2019

                              Hello Mr Reece,
                              Thank you for your comments. Having taken a look into this for you, I can see that we have received your email dated the 30th April at 9pm and have replied. It is with regret that shows are subject to change and discontinuation as stated within our terms.
                              If you would like to speak to us further, please feel free to reply to my colleagues email.
                              Many thanks
                              Charlotte
                              Activity Superstore

                            Jan 27, 2019

                            The complaint has been investigated and
                            resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                            Resolved
                            Activity Superstore — activity superstore false advertising

                            I was given as a Christmas Present 2018: The package - The box states the following : An energising facial, a...

                            Nov 23, 2018

                            The complaint has been investigated and
                            resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                            Resolved
                            Activity Superstore — comedy night for two - voucher no. gfdy103359 / activation no. aag-[protected]

                            We were given a 'Comedy Night for Two', our children paid £34.99 for it as a present to us, after much...

                            Nov 16, 2018

                            The complaint has been investigated and
                            resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                            Resolved
                            Activity Superstore — my son, had a voucher purchase, £200, we changed the activity, which was 89 pound now told, they is only £10 left

                            My son had a voucher, which was brought from next activation number [protected], expiry dateb1/12/2018, we...

                            Oct 08, 2018

                            The complaint has been investigated and
                            resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                            Resolved
                            Activity Superstore — spa day voucher

                            Dear Sir or Madam I was given one of your 'Indolent Spa Day' for two as a gift. We went to Bannatyne gym at...

                            IN THE NEWS

                            Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
                            If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
                            One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
                            A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
                            ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
                            You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.