Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Banks Comerica Bank swindled out of my money
More

Comerica Bank - swindled out of my money

C
Author of the complaint
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

My husband, Tierce Smith passed away Auguest 9, 2002. THere is a rich rewards checking account in this institution, with a balance of approximately $5, 800, which I have been trying to obtain the funds since after my husband's passing. I have been stonewalled, treated rudely, lied to, and I have been denied these funds for over 7 years. I have contacted Doris Polk and I have been lied to by her, left in the lobby for days on end, with no answers. I was then put in touch with a very rude and unprofessional gentleman by the name of D.J. Coker, who has identified himself as the senior Vice President and general counsel for Comerica Bank. He has lied to me, treated me rude, written me a scathing letter, and has unreasonably withheld my funds. They are paying a whopping $0.22 per month in interest. He told me that I would be able to obtain my funds by providing an indemnity bond., which I made arrangements to do. Mr. Coker then stopped answering and returning calls, told me I must hire a lawyer, and after 7 years, finally followed through with filing a Petition in Interpleader. Comerica Bank has deliberately, knowingly, and illegally withheld my funds. There must be a stop put to this illegal, unprofessional handling of my money. I am sure there are some Federal and State laws, which have been violated, and I would like to pursue any and all avenues to have fines and sanctions placed against this illegal and corrupt bank. Please note, there is also a sizable CD missing, which I have provided the account number to numerous people at Comerica Bank, and the individuals are as follows... Gina, is the new branch manager at the Waxahachie, Texas location, Doris Polk at the Waxahachie location, as well as Susan Schmidt, as well as to the rude and unprofessional quote Senior Vice President/General Counsel for Comerica Bank, D.J. Coker, and all I keep being told is that they are researching it. As of June 15, 2010, they have never provided me with the information.

I have never been treated so rude and unprofessional. I cannot imagine that they be allowed to remain in business because of their illegal dealings.

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply

More Comerica Bank complaints & reviews

Comerica Bank - rip-off
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Comerica Bank - trustee won't pay bills on time or not at all!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Comerica Bank - not recording cash deposits
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Comerica Bank - deposit not credited and overdraft fees charged
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
8 comments
Add a comment
L
Aug 14, 2017 11:29 am

On the afternoon of Monday May 15, 2017 I attempted to make a purchase in the amount of $135.61 at Forever 21. This transaction was declined by the merchant twice. After proceeding to make the payment with another credit card, I checked my available balance on the Direct Express (Comerica Bank) app, to find that I had an available balance of about $49. Immediately, I proceeded to call Direct Express as I knew that the balance was incorrect. I spoke with a representative in the Fraud Department on May 15, 2017 and they immediately cancelled the card. The representative and I went through the fraudulent transactions and she informed me that not all of the transactions had cleared. She then advised to call back in two business days when all of the transactions cleared so that I could do one fraudulent claim instead of having to do multiple. On Wednesday May 17, 2017 I called Direct Express to make the fraud claim. The representative that I spoke with asked me a series of questions pertaining to the loss of card and identifying the fraud transactions. The transactions totaled $34630.75.
After further reviewing the fraudulent transactions I noticed that some transactions were made within the same minute (only seconds apart). All of the transactions that were made were made at multiple ATM locations. This raises an alarm as the amounts that were taken (some totaling $803) would take at least 2 minutes or more to dispense from an ATM.
From my understanding Direct Express is a third party company that manages the funds distributed by the Social Security Administration and by the Department of Veterans Affairs. As a disabled veteran I am very dissatisfied with the lack of security that Direct Express has provided on my behalf. The fact that an individual was able to dispense over 34K in one day from my account is unacceptable.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Apr 06, 2012 11:29 am

Hello I have been reading all your stories. I am not surprise with how Comerica has rip off people. The way to handle a complaint with any bank you file with the OCC department of complaints against banks and the FDIC, and consumer finance.gov. I am sure any of you will get better results against those banks such as Comerica. Advise from me keep complaining to Comerica and keep a detail list of anyone you all come in contact at any bank.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Feb 20, 2012 11:29 am

I opened an account in September 2011 under the promise that if I met all their stipulations then I would receive $100 cash back after 90 days. Well I met all the stipulations (well before the 90 day mark) and yet no money from Comerica. I have been calling for over a month and a half now and every time I talk to someone they say "I will have to check the list and get back to you", NEVER have I received a call back. Tomorrow will be the final call, if I do not receive an answer than I will be withdrawing my money and banking elsewhere... somewhere that appreciates their customers and don't have to lie to get business.

Helpful?
0 0
D
Feb 15, 2012 11:29 am

I withdrew all of my money and closed my account a month ago. They immediately put a 5.00 fee against my account, which of course was immediately overdrawn, because I closed the account. They have been calling me 6-8 times daily to try and collect 42.00 plus in their fees. 5.00 because they said so and another 37.00 because their said so 5.00 was was overdrawn. STAY AWAY FROM THIS BANK! CONSIDER YOURSELF WARNED!

Helpful?
0 0

Dr. Gurgen from Comerica came to my office 2 months ago and asked that I go with Comerica and open to business banking accounts.But some how this great customer service has come to this... Now Comerica is investigating the bank accounts for fraud, then froze my bank accounts without any warrant at all, and Gurgen the Phd called the police on me instead trying to handle this matter over the phone. After 3 years of building an honest business through out this great recession, registered, licensed, bonded by the State of California I am on the verge financial disaster because I made the fatal error of opening up 2 business checking accounts at Comerica. Please heed my warning and avoid this place, It may sound better then BofA but they nearly turned this upstanding citizen and small business owner into a criminal. Something strange is going on inside this bank as they have serious issues with trust

Helpful?
0 0

Comerica Bank has to be the worst. Specifically, a named Supervisor from the Coolidge-Sherwood Office in OakPark Michigan by the name of Tavia Underwood. I went into discuss personal matters regarding the ridiculous fees the charge. Instead of treating a person like a customer she talked down to me and not only that she was talking loud enough for others to hear my personal business. She has a lot to learn as far as treating people respect. When I walked out to the branch office, even some of the other customers talked to me and told me she was very unprofessional. They too heard every word she said. She is far away from being an Assistance Vice President for any banking branch.

I am going to close all of my accounts! STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS LADY!

Helpful?
0 0
T
Oct 30, 2010 11:29 am

Comerica bank is the biggest rip off out there.

The other day I got a statement in the mail that I was over drafted, how could this be? I don't even use this account anymore. So I went up to my branch where they proceeded to explain to me that if you don't use your account for 90 day's they have the right to charge you fee's. OK fine I said. Now I know can you please reverse these fee's for me?
I have never bounced a check here and I have been a customer since 2004.
The bank manager Jeffrey S. Reed of the Clarkston, Mi branch was very rood and insisted they have a right to rip me off like this. I told him if I had to pay the fee's I am closing my account. He seemed fine with that. He certainly doe's not care about his customers. I have to say it seemed like he was enjoying himself as he was talking to me, kind of like I have the power and I don't like the way you look so screw you.
So after talking to this idiot for about 15 minutes I marched up to the teller and deposited the overdraft fee's in cash and told her I was closing my account.
She was genuinely concerned and apologetic. She actually had tears in her eyes. I have a feeling she see's this all the time.
After talking to other people since this happened I found out I was not the only one they have ripped off with there ridicules fee's.
I say stay away from this Comerica bank. They are bad news and do not care for there customers.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Aug 13, 2010 11:29 am

Comerica recently changed their overdraft policy to a Check fee? Not sure what this means and no one can tell me but my monthly service fee jumped from $23 in June to $1327 in July to $3089 in August! Simply criminal and no one at the bank can tell me why? How is this possible in the United States?

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

39 complaints
11 resolved 28 unresolved

Comerica Bank contacts

(added by reviewer)
P.O. Box 71203, Pennsylvania United States
ADVERTISIMENT