Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Coby TV

Coby TV review: Do not buy Coby products 20

S
Author of the review
9:03 pm EDT
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I bought a LCD flat screen TV from RA-LIN discount store in Syracuse, NY. It failed after about 5 months. I called several repair shops to get it repaired. All of them laughed at me for asking. Apparently COBY is famous for not repairing their TVs. They will not send parts to any TV repair shops, but they will not repair it themselves. DO NOT BUY COBY PRODUCTS.

More Coby TV reviews & complaints

Coby TV - repair or replace TV 3
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
20 comments
Add a comment
C
C
cobymad
email me, US
Jul 12, 2010 8:36 pm EDT

I also had a problem with my Coby TV. The picture is blank and I was told too bad it’s out of warranty. It will probably cost more to repair that what I paid for it. I concur "Do not buy Coby products". Spend the extra money for a quality set. I wish those that work at Coby the best of luck because I can see what will happen next once people see the quality and no longer buy their products. Start updating your resumes.

R
R
Rodster1959
, BR
Aug 25, 2010 5:05 pm EDT

I agree.

I just bought a Coby dual portable DVD player and according to the authorized service ccenter I took it to get repaired, the board was burnt out! And that´s because I only turned it on 3 times since I bought it...! Furthermore, the spare part would cost about three times the original price for both sets, player and dummy monitor.

R
R
Rodster1959
, BR
Aug 25, 2010 5:08 pm EDT

I bought a dual screen DVD player and used it only twice for not even the length of a movie only to learn that the board had problems and needed to be replaced. Get this: the authorized repair center wanted to charge me twice the price of the equipment which had been bought last year (warranty is gone...).
ALthough they look good and seem to work fine, you get no repsonde form the factory when sending them questions through their website email.
Better luck for other Coby buyers.

M
M
mz daizy
Colorado Springs, US
Jun 08, 2011 6:18 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I had been thinking of buying one of these tv's, until I read these remarks...Now, it will not happen...I'll stick with a brand I know...

O
O
oldpainterman200
Gainesville, US
Jan 31, 2012 5:10 pm EST

DON'T BUY COLBY TVS THEY SUCK, MY POWERSUPPLY WENT OUT AFTER 4 MONTHS, CAN'T GET PARTS, LETS GET TOGETHER AND SUE THEM. OLDPAINTERMAN200@AOL.COM

E
E
earth warm jim
heights, California, US
Nov 07, 2012 5:23 pm EST

my coby tv worked for 2 days

O
O
osky25
san jose, US
Nov 20, 2012 8:47 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I did the mistake on going on black friday at fry's electronics to buy 3 32" coby flat screen tvs and only 1 works so far. The other 2 won't turn on after 3 months. And the one that works sucks on remote to tv communication. I'm with anyone that wants to petition or sue coby. Email me if anyone is up for bringing this company down for the headaches. Gabeperalta25@yahoo.com. i won't be the leader for this I'm willing to join anyone. Its worth bringing this company down especially hearing nothing but complaints from every single review.

S
S
samehere2
milwaukee, US
Jan 07, 2013 3:55 pm EST

Ditto. My tv also went out after 5 months. Never again.

B
B
brifie
Dell Rapids, US
May 20, 2013 9:20 am EDT

We are a school and ordered 20 headphones for computer class. Four of them broke with the first use. One student said his broke just setting it down. We figured he just set it down hard and didn't want to admit it--until the same thing happened to the teacher. By the week's end, we had 6 broken headphones. I contacted Coby and was told the item must be defective and to send them back, but then was told we would have to pay $6 per headphone for the shipping. When I protested, I got the run around and was passed on to someone else--that person never got back to me--even after sending several emails! Want to know how long ago? Just about a year. And because I am fed up with their service, maybe having their names in the complaint will help. Mike Hardial and Kate Carter--working in the Savannah, GA office. COBY--Your company rips people off! And how sad you would do it to students and a school.

E
E
EEden
Chicago, US
Jun 18, 2013 10:27 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I purchased a Coby 32" TV set and it only worked for 6 months. They told me to get a repairman and they would send that part the repairman said, but I would have to pay for repairs. What kind of company is this and why is the U.S. continue to purchase from this company? If your product fail. You should repair or replace it. That's the American Way. I have learned my lesson. Never purchase outside the U.S. Why isn't this company being investigated. They are selling broken merchandise.

S
S
sjerseygal
, US
Jul 16, 2013 1:57 pm EDT

I purchased a 32 inch Coby TV 11 months ago. The screen blanks in and out. The Colby warranty rep said they would pay for parts only. 'What? This darn TV is not even a year old yet! I will never buy this brand of TV again. In addition, the sound quality on my Colby TV is poor and the original remote control that came with the TV never worked. SAVE YOUR GOOD HARDWORKING DOLLARS FOR A QUALITY TV INVESTMENT!

J
J
jimmy stath
Canoga Park, US
Oct 14, 2013 9:39 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

December 1st, 2012 I went toFrys Electronics and bought a 39 inch Coby TV, it was a nice for the price I paid 300.dollars great picture except for the sound quality The TV came with 90 days warranty for parts and labor Frys was asking 250 dollars for 2 year warranty I turned it down, Nine months later the T V lost its picture and a week later lost it sound, My older SHARP TV is 10 years old and still works fine, I wish had never bought this CobyTV,

M
M
Microec
Brampton, CA
Dec 03, 2013 9:03 pm EST

Try Dukeelectronic.com They Fix LCD TV, LED TV, Free Estimate in store.

V
V
vessel4u
Rosedale, US
Jun 10, 2014 4:44 pm EDT

I had coby television and I barely used it, i started to use it, It stopped working and the blue light gets dim when i try to turn it on

R
R
Rural Gal
, US
Mar 24, 2015 4:10 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Bought Coby 39 inch LED TV. Slow to turn on and respond to remote, Their PR about quality sound and picture are flat-out LIES. Horrible picture and sound. Blue power light always on and annoyingly bright. Bought better tv after 2 months, demoted Coby to bedroom, where it was used 1 to 2 hours per night. Even with this minimal usage, in less than one year, TV powers up, but screen remains black. Read an article about how rich the guy who owns this company is and how well he is doing, really ticked me off. WILL NEVER BUY COBY AGAIN, WHAT A RIP-OFF

S
S
Silvertongue77
Omaha, US
Apr 04, 2015 11:46 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Received a 42" flat screen Coby TV as a bonus for a furniture purchase. The TV lasted much longer than most of the sets listed. No problem with it while it was working but it just went dead one day. The problem seemed to be power related so I was hoping someone could just do a check and see if the incoming power fuse had blown. As many others have found no one wanted to work on a Coby set. Hoping Good Will Industries might have a way of salvaging or repairing a donated set. Wouldn't be too hopeful thinking avoiding the Coby brand name for future purchase will protect you. I'm sure they'll simply change the brand name when things get too hot for them. Safer approach is to stick with major reliable brand names.

J
J
jrober11
, US
Jul 17, 2015 9:40 pm EDT

I have a 40" flat screen Coby. It started to leak something out of the back, had a funny smell and it felt oily. It scared me so I unplugged it and took it out of the house. I pray that my family has not been exposed to something toxic. I wish that I had done my homework before I purchased this cheap TV. I did the unthinkable..I trusted the salesman, when I asked about the TV.

J
J
JV1987
, ZA
May 30, 2016 3:03 am EDT

Hi,
Seems to me that I have bought a defective coby tv. Everybody complains and mentions that their coby tv's does not even make the warranty before breaking. So in that case mine must be defective. I have the 39" coby led tv. Briliant picture quality. Good enough sound for a tv. Great functions and the remote must be defective too because it actually works! My coby is going on 4 years old and has no problems at all. I am very happy with the tv. Maybe its the power in the other countries. I'm from south africa and our power is horrible. In that case it seems our 220v power grid is the cure. Tv plays for between 6 and 8 hours a day every single day.

M
M
Melodrama ,González
, US
Aug 06, 2016 9:06 pm EDT

My 19"inch work ok but I'm getting a Samsung for my Xbox one...YEAH BOY HAPPY HAPPY EARLY BDAY TO ME GOOD LUCK TO YOU ALL ...BLESSING

G
G
Gold Leaf
, US
Oct 17, 2022 2:41 am EDT

Its 2022 and I'm still rocking my 23 inch COBY LED TV bought in 2012. Just saying 😚

View 0 more photos