Certs, IncWon Free Trip... yeah right!

I
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I signed up for a Win a Free Golf Cart, which in turn meant we had to go and listen to the company's spill for 60 min. One of their promotions were, if you hit a Hole in One, you win a free trip to the Bahama's. Well I hit the hole in one. So at the end of the presentation I was given my voucher to send off for my free trip. All I had to pay was $9.50 per person for the trip. That is what is posted on the brochure you are handed. So I sent in the money. This week I received the "Free" Vacation paperwork. First of all they put you on this small boat from Port Everglades, FL for 5 1/2 hours to Freeport. Then you get to stay in this Resort for 2 nights, 3 days and the boat come's back and picks you up. Well I decided I would look up the Resort they listed. Give me a break. The resort is in downtown Freeport with a 1 Star rating. Not even close to the beach. The reviews for the hotel were horrible. Now to top that off, it was going to cost $159.00 per person not including Taxes. According to the reviews on the Resort's website, the taxes were $25.00 per person per night. If the dates you chose were in their "on" season, then it would cost more.

This "Free" trip will cost me around $437.00 not including, food & fun.

To me there should be a law against these companies as false advertisement. Now we are getting all these cards in the mail and phone calls. It appears they have now sold our name and address to these Telemarketing companies.

More Certs, Inc Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ja
    Janis Roberts Apr 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I called the two numbers you provided and both were to Horizons. The receptionist said the two companies were not affiliated and that I had to contact Certs. Any other help would be nice. Janis [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Uniquecorn1 Mar 24, 2010

    For all those out there with complaints about Certs, I have bothh of the presidents names and their current scam they are working on. Their names are Greg Peaden and Ryan Tennyson. They both work for Horiizons Rewards also in Orlando< Florida. The numbers above are for the business. Call to leave a message that you are having a problem that you need to speak to one of them. I am now waiting for Ryan to call me back. I talked to Greg a couple of weeks ago and he said he needed to talk to someone else and would see what he could do. He would not give me the name and I dug further and found Ryan. Hope this helps someone out there. Why can't the cops just close them down. They have been doing this for years.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Berg Mar 22, 2010

    We sat through the vacation/time share in order to get one of 3 prizes and a $50 restaraunt gift certificate (that would be issued when travel plans were in place). The prizes were a free car, TV, or a vacation, including airfaire and a 2 night stay. We sent in the required documents and received a travel voucher to fill out our 2 desired locations and travel dates. I filled that out and submitted it within the required time period (I even sent it with a tracking # through USPS), so I know they received it b/c I have a signature of the guy who signed for it. We are still waiting to hear something, but from looking online at all of the complaints it doesn't look like we'll be going anywhere?!?!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JOANS. Jan 13, 2010

    I TOO HAVE BEEN SCAMMED BY CERTS, INC. WHAT THEY ARE ALLOWED TO DO AND GET AWAY WITH I DONT UNDERSTAND! WHERE ARE THE OFFICIALS WHO LET THIS SORT OF THING GO ON WITHOUT STOPPING IT? WHO CAN WE TURN TO FOR HELP? WHY ARE THESE PEOPLE STILL ALLOWED TO BE IN BUSINESS? THE BUSINESS OF TAKING MONEY FROM DECENT HARD WORKING PEOPLE ON FALSE PROMISES OF VACATIONS WITH THE INITIAL DEPOSIT RETURN, THAT WE NEVER RECEIVE!!! BOGUS TELEPHONE NUMBERS WHERE YOU NEVER RECEIVE A CALL BACK FROM ANYONE. PROMISES, PROMISES PROMISES. TELEPHONE NUMBERS THAT YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO LEAVE A VOICE MAIL ONLY TOLD TO LEAVE A NUMBER WHERE YOU CAN BE REACHED. NEEDLESS TO SAY YOU NEVER DO GET THAT PROMISED CALL BACK. HELLLLLLLLP

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    Glamrpups Nov 30, 2009

    On July 7 of 08 I sent in 2 postal money orders for $249.00 each and a request for a cruise date of Oct of 09. I never heard back for the Certs, office, so I called the [protected] number and was told that I was all set for my dates. I again call in the beginning of Sept 09 to say I hadn't received any departure info and was told I would be getting it in a few weeks. What I got was a letter stating that Certs, was unable to fulfill my request date and I could either pick a new date or receive a refund I choice to receive a refund which would be issued in 4-6 weeks. I sent the letter back with this request by us certified mail on 09-24-09. The Certs, company signed for this letter on September 28, 2017, 11:22 am. As of today 11-30-09 I have not received a refund and Certs, Inc is not answering their phones.

    Cheryl Purcell

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Capt Jack May 12, 2009

    We attended over 3 hours of a sales pitch for vacation timeshares I was promised two "free" r/t tickets and hotel. I went through all the details and finally got to where they ask for another $86 per person after sending $100. When you review the locations and departure times you have ONE DAY "where ever". I agree that I should have looked at the reviews and understood that this was a real scam. I will be even more upset if they do not refund my $100. I'm only a couple hours from Orlando and would not want to make the drive to get my $100 back but would do it in a heartbeat. Plus possibly bring authorities with me at the time.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kate Mar 26, 2009

    In Sept my husband and I went to a time share seminar at a local hotel where we were promised a $50 dollar gas card and 2 roundtrip tickets to any international airport. Afterward, we sent in all of the required papers and money orders within the required timeline and waited... and waited... Finally it came! But to our disgust, we had to send back more paperwork and ... get this more money orders!! So we did and waited... and waited. Weeks and weeks later we recived a letter stating that the dates we chose for our trip were "unavailable" as were the 2nd choice dates we selected... how convient. Oh, and the "$50 gas card" (which was cardboard) had impossible stipulations -- you had to pay for the gas and then send in your reciept, which the company was supposed to reimburse. But you could only pump $10 of gas at a time, and only send in one reciept per month. We recieved the gas card at the end of Dec and it expired in Feb. You do the math. We just trashed it. As for the 2 round trip airline tickets and the $150 we had to send them... yet to be seen. Don't expect anything from CERTS INC. except to get ripped off. As for the companies who use CERTS INC. ... stay away from them too, because I can tell you from experience -- they are just as crooked!


    ANY DEFENSE THIS COMPANY USES IS A COMPLETE LIE

    0 Votes
  • An
    anita Mar 24, 2009

    I fully agree with all those who posted these comments...Direct Buy in oklahoma gave us these deals as a "prize" for getting their membership...it has turned out to be a nightmare...

    we got swindled by them for a vacation and of course every time u call, it is very unppropriate timing as they now do not have the dates or your desired destination available. i have been now just requesting to get refund on all the payments i have made...i wish i had read this site before i got caught into their web...

    i recall somebody saying that they woudl join wyndam vacations but hey, be careful there...i have paid for this vacation and i did not get the refund as they suddenly decided that your membership expired!!! so watch out...

    I wish frauds and scams like these are caught...

    0 Votes
  • De
    Derick L. Fogt Dec 06, 2008

    I sat through the presentation hoping I would find some value in the travel partnership. The pitch is good, but the fact of the matter is that you can find deals just as good (if not better) off of travelzoo. The company provided no info. whats so ever about their financial solvency. I was astonished that a couple next to happily handed over $6K for the partnership. Anyway, I'm in the process of trying to redeem the certificate for travel. I submitted the $75 postal money order, and now received my reservation request form today. Their now asking for another $30.85 for taxes. The form says I need to request travel dates from the list of locations on the back of the form. Guess what!? The back of the form is blank! Naturally, there is no phone number to call or anything. I'm going to the BBB if they are unable to resolve this tomorrow for me. What a scam! This company is pathetic.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donna Laferriere Dec 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am truly upset with this co i believe it is a scam
    i believe u have no intentions of honoring our stays at any hotel
    people like you discourage people like me who go to time shares looking for the right one to purchace the one that meets are needs seniors

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris Nov 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have not worked with this company, although my wife and I do currently have a brochure for a 3 day, 2 night trip to any one of a variety of locations. From what I am reading we will not be using that, but I do have a question:

    Has anyone contacted the Better Business Bureau about this company? I accessed www.bbb.org and found nothing (good or bad) regarding Certs, Inc. I have had problems with a couple of companies in the past, and as soon as I got the BBB involved things were straightened out favorably very quickly.

    Just a suggestion. I hate to see people get taken advantage of. No one has time to deal with that.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carmen Scalia Oct 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am waiting for my refund of $498.00. What is the holdup?


    Carmen

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joseph Hendrix Sep 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After following all of the terms and conditions regarding a Vacation Getaway, CERTS, INC has cashed the postal money order that was required and now they won't take my phone calls or send me any additional information about the trip.

    Joe.Hendrix
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    william w. sayles Sep 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    when you go to redeem travel awards the company takes money up front has conditions that are virtually impossible to comply with. our award was cancelled when we sent a bank money order rather than a usps money order!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Johnny Karls Aug 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a VERY organized person and played the Certs game to the tee. I met every requirement, crossed every t, dotted every i. I don't say that w/ pride, I say it to say it to note that even when you play their unreasonable, setting you up for failure game, they STILL are a scam. Though I did every ridiculous requirement w/in every ridiculous time frame (i.e. your forms needs to be submitted between 11:33 and 11:42 on a Tuesday night, 3000 miles away, certified mail delivered by a postman with a mole on her left cheek and a tear in her sock --yes, I am SLIGHTLY exaggerating) they still did not fulfill their side of the bargain. I have worked w/ Certs twice now and I have only one thing to say -- AVOID WORKING WITH THEM AT ANY COST!!! Trust me, it will only cause you stress. It's not worth the prize. I think the chance of you actually getting the prize is equal to the chance of the Michael Phelpes winning 23 metals in London in 2017. Here is my unanswered letter to Mr. Peaden (Certs Inc. CEO) after the customer service guy admitted to their "mistake" of not fulfilling their commitment. Of course they took zero responsibility nor tried in any way to make it up to me. They are a bad, scam company.

    Greetings Mr. Peaden (Certs Inc. CEO), 7/8/08
    http://www.complaintsboard.com/sendmail/cn112489

    I read and appreciate your written defense of your company. I have also read the numerous on line complaints. The companies defense is always some form of "Our business is no different than any other business transaction in which both parties must comply with their agreement and adhere to the terms of service."

    My question is, what about when Certs fail to comply?

    I have sent in ALL my paperwork and requested monies in on time and properly. I have been PROMISED by your company that I would be notified 30-45 days prior to my requested departure date. Well, in fact, my first departure date request has come and gone, the second is now 21 days away; still no word from your company. So what should I do? I know what your company would do if I failed to do "adhere to the terms of service." you would cancel me in a heartbeat. You know that to be true as much as I do. So where is the your accountability?

    In my case, you're company has clearly failed to comply and I have done everything to comply with the agreement (and have full documentation to prove it). I sure hope you will admit to your failure and resolve the issue. If not, I promise you (and I DO fulfill my promises), I will do all that I can to share your degree of integrity with all that I can (via internet and other sources) including the travel companies that employ your services.

    I have spoken to a customer service rep and to "Seneca, " both admitting the Certs error and saying I would hear from the reservations dept. "soon." Now tell me Mr. Peaden, at 21 days from my requested departure date, what shall I assume "soon" to mean? It seems to me we have a serious double standard going here.

    Sincerely,

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terry Jul 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Your company, Certs, Inc., is a scam and the "Vacation Clubs, " which use your services, are scams, as well. It is my belief that what goes around, comes around...Watch your back, I see a pitchfork aimed right at it!

    0 Votes
  • Ce
    Certs Inc Jun 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    First, we'd like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experience redeeming your travel certificate from our company. Keeping that in mind, we'd like to point out a few important details regarding the travel certificate business.

    Our business is no different than any other business transaction in which both parties must comply with their agreement and adhere to the terms of service.

    We highly recommend in the future if you receive a call or postcard from a marketing company promising you a travel certificate if you attend a timeshare presentation that you ask for the name of the company responsible for providing the incentive.

    We further recommend if it is a Certs, Inc. incentive, that you visit our web site (www.certsinc.biz) where you can read the entire terms of service for each incentive we offer, and then make an educated decision on whether of not to move forward with the presentation.

    Certs, Inc. has no control over the presentation by the marketing company or the sales tactics used by the vacation club representative. However, we do police their activities and from time-to-time will discontinue the sales of our products to these companies if we feel there is misrepresentation.

    Certs, Inc. has never, and will never, change the terms of service on our incentives "after" it has been presented to our clients customers.

    If you have not received a booking confirmation from our company for the travel date(s) you provided, you are entitled to a full refund of all monies paid to Certs, Inc.

    Due to the inconveniences of a large cancellation rate for booked travel, your travel dates will not be confirmed until 14 days in advance. This is to benefit you by allowing a full refund in case you an experience a life event that keeps you from traveling on the dates you provided us.

    If you feel you have not received a fair chance at redeeming your travel certificate, please contact our customer service department [protected]) so we can research your situation and act accordingly based off your incentive's terms of service.

    Sincerely,

    Gregory A. Peaden, CEO
    Certs, Inc.

    0 Votes
  • Ce
    Certs Inc Jun 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    First, we'd like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experience redeeming your travel certificate from our company. Keeping that in mind, we'd like to point out a few important details regarding the travel certificate business.

    Our business is no different than any other business transaction in which both parties must comply with their agreement and adhere to the terms of service.

    We highly recommend in the future if you receive a call or postcard from a marketing company promising you a travel certificate if you attend a timeshare presentation that you ask for the name of the company responsible for providing the incentive.

    We further recommend if it is a Certs, Inc. incentive, that you visit our web site (www.certsinc.biz) where you can read the entire terms of service for each incentive we offer, and then make an educated decision on whether of not to move forward with the presentation.

    Certs, Inc. has no control over the presentation by the marketing company or the sales tactics used by the vacation club representative. However, we do police their activities and from time-to-time will discontinue the sales of our products to these companies if we feel there is misrepresentation.

    Certs, Inc. has never, and will never, change the terms of service on our incentives "after" it has been presented to our clients customers.

    If you have not received a booking confirmation from our company for the travel date(s) you provided, you are entitled to a full refund of all monies paid to Certs, Inc.

    Due to the inconveniences of a large cancellation rate for booked travel, your travel dates will not be confirmed until 14 days in advance. This is to benefit you by allowing a full refund in case you an experience a life event that keeps you from traveling on the dates you provided us.

    If you feel you have not received a fair chance at redeeming your travel certificate, please contact our customer service department [protected]) so we can research your situation and act accordingly based off your incentive's terms of service.

    Sincerely,

    Gregory A. Peaden, CEO
    Certs, Inc.

    0 Votes
  • Ce
    Certs Inc Jun 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    First, we'd like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experience redeeming your travel certificate from our company. Keeping that in mind, we'd like to point out a few important details regarding the travel certificate business.

    Our business is no different than any other business transaction in which both parties must comply with their agreement and adhere to the terms of service.

    We highly recommend in the future if you receive a call or postcard from a marketing company promising you a travel certificate if you attend a timeshare presentation that you ask for the name of the company responsible for providing the incentive.

    We further recommend if it is a Certs, Inc. incentive, that you visit our web site (www.certsinc.biz) where you can read the entire terms of service for each incentive we offer, and then make an educated decision on whether of not to move forward with the presentation.

    Certs, Inc. has no control over the presentation by the marketing company or the sales tactics used by the vacation club representative. However, we do police their activities and from time-to-time will discontinue the sales of our products to these companies if we feel there is misrepresentation.

    Certs, Inc. has never, and will never, change the terms of service on our incentives "after" it has been presented to our clients customers.

    If you have not received a booking confirmation from our company for the travel date(s) you provided, you are entitled to a full refund of all monies paid to Certs, Inc.

    Due to the inconveniences of a large cancellation rate for booked travel, your travel dates will not be confirmed until 14 days in advance. This is to benefit you by allowing a full refund in case you an experience a life event that keeps you from traveling on the dates you provided us.

    If you feel you have not received a fair chance at redeeming your travel certificate, please contact our customer service department [protected]) so we can research your situation and act accordingly based off your incentive's terms of service.

    Sincerely,

    Gregory A. Peaden, CEO
    Certs, Inc.

    0 Votes
  • Ce
    Certs Inc Jun 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    First, we'd like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experience redeeming your travel certificate from our company. Keeping that in mind, we'd like to point out a few important details regarding the travel certificate business.

    Our business is no different than any other business transaction in which both parties must comply with their agreement and adhere to the terms of service.

    We highly recommend in the future if you receive a call or postcard from a marketing company promising you a travel certificate if you attend a timeshare presentation that you ask for the name of the company responsible for providing the incentive.

    We further recommend if it is a Certs, Inc. incentive, that you visit our web site (www.certsinc.biz) where you can read the entire terms of service for each incentive we offer, and then make an educated decision on whether of not to move forward with the presentation.

    Certs, Inc. has no control over the presentation by the marketing company or the sales tactics used by the vacation club representative. However, we do police their activities and from time-to-time will discontinue the sales of our products to these companies if we feel there is misrepresentation.

    Certs, Inc. has never, and will never, change the terms of service on our incentives "after" it has been presented to our clients customers.

    If you have not received a booking confirmation from our company for the travel date(s) you provided, you are entitled to a full refund of all monies paid to Certs, Inc.

    Due to the inconveniences of a large cancellation rate for booked travel, your travel dates will not be confirmed until 14 days in advance. This is to benefit you by allowing a full refund in case you an experience a life event that keeps you from traveling on the dates you provided us.

    If you feel you have not received a fair chance at redeeming your travel certificate, please contact our customer service department [protected]) so we can research your situation and act accordingly based off your incentive's terms of service.

    Sincerely,

    Gregory A. Peaden, CEO
    Certs, Inc.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lou Jun 16, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also sent a bank check which they rejected because it wasn't a postal check. We waisted our time to see a presentation and wasted gas. This process has to stop. The Court System has to shut this company out of business

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doug Apr 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just knew this was going to be a bad experience. Dealing with this company should prove to anyone, "Nothing is free". Our promotion included airfare to our destination, however, the deadline for our informtion to be received was on a Sunday. We send our confirmation in a week in advance. I received a letter back stating we were "non-Compliant" because they received the confirmation on Monday. This company is a rip-off. I was just approached by Wyndham and because of this experience I shied away. It's a shame too, because I really like their hotels. Well Wyndham, if your reading this, you know who to blame for not just not getting my business, but not even getting a shot at it!

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Gina D'Iorio Jan 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband and I went to listen to a promotion in November in CT. We drove approx. 1.5 hours. We were under the impression that the promotion was for our benefit, (to make extra cash) when in fact it was a sales pitch to purchase vac. club memberships. Needless to say we received 2 certificates. One from Certs, was voided out because my husband didn't sign it. I wasn't aware that it needed to signatures. Now they will not honor it.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.