The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Cen Com Inc.Online alarm monitoring - ripoff

Review updated:

I purchased online alarm monitoring services from SaveonmyAlarm.com for $5.95 a month. After my initial payment was charged on my credit card I received minimal support and contact from this provider. I was sent an email with instructions to complete MY self-installation (conversion) of my home alarm system (previously installed by reputable local alarm company) by installing a diverter which I received by mail from them within 2 weeks after I made my initial payment. So I was without an alarm system during this time. I received 1 phone call from their technical support about testing my alarm system with their system after I installed the diverter. After the "Testing" was completed I started using the alarm system. I was never informed by them at any time that I would be charged an additional $19.95 per month for test signals my system sent to them. I also never received any further information from them in the mail, e-mail or by phone. I had a few questions which I called about and was informed someone who get back to me. Nobody ever called. I cancelled my credit card for other reasons and was never contacted by the alarm company asking why they could not get their monthly payment. I had an alarm event and never received a call from them to verify it was a real or accidental alarm and no police were ever dispatched. After 6 months they finally sent me a letter telling me I owed them all this money and I told them I had no intentions of paying for lack of service.

Their contract is all one-sided. The customer is responsible to install and maintain their own alarm system and make all the payments. The customer is responsible for everything and they have no responsibility to provide anything including support services. They only "say" they monitor your alarm. If I had read the online complaints and bbb complaints before I signed up, I would not have signed up.

If you cancel your contract early they will charge you $299.95 and if you fail to return your free equipment (the diverter) they charge you another $299.95. So $600.00 for nothing. Do not use cen com, inc. Or any of its website companies to sign up for online alarm monitoring. They will scam you.

More Cen Com Inc. Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Er
    Ernest33 Apr 30, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Is someone willing to reach out to me that has dealt with this company? I've had the same experience as most on this message board.

    0 Votes
  • Lk
    [email protected]@K Feb 25, 2020

    The Washington State Attorney General issues warning about CenCon:
    https://www.atg.wa.gov/news/news-releases/home-security-company-alarms-consumers-draws-attention-attorney-general-s-office
    I too have been scammed by them. They get you by advertising low alarm monitoring rates, but in reality, they are super expensive, charging you left and right for anything and everything that is expected to be included already. I'm paying about $50 per month. When trying to remove one item, they threw on a $35 charge to remove one item. Why do they have many good reviews. They pay their customers 3 months of free alarm monitoring if you write a good review on them. You don't need to pay your customers to write a good review if you are truly good. Stay away from them. Don't let them make it sound like these posts are false. Is the Washington State Attorney General's Office false?

    1 Votes
  • Le
    Learn A Lesson Oct 15, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I used Cencom D.B.A. American Digital Monitoring for just over 2 years. I own a small security company and had them monitor my customers. I had several complaints from my customers. 1 person said they never received a call, 2 customers said it was 45 minutes before they received calls and one customer said the person they received the call from was very rude to him. Then American Digital Monitoring doubled my bill. When I called them to ask about it, the person I talked to was very rude and told me to go to another monitoring company. Now that I am moving my customers to another company, American Digital Monitoring said they "missed" adding something in the past and I will receive a very large bill. They built the accounts on their server, if they "missed" something, they should be responsible. In my opinion, if you are starting a security company DO NOT USE Cencom, D.B.A. American Digital Monitoring

    1 Votes
  • Jd
    JD227176 Jul 13, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are a scam. Stay away

    2 Votes
  • De
    Deshan Riegel Jul 11, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I worked for this company and witnessed how rude and unprofessional they are. I was fired due to helping customers with problems and leaving them happy.

    2 Votes
  • So
    software76 Dec 08, 2013

    I signed a 24 month alarm monitoring service contract with this company on 7/9/2011. They completed my 24 month term on 6/30 eventhough nothing in the terms and conditions states that I will not get the full 24 months. I was put on a month to month plan on 7/1/2013 and was charged $19.95. I cancelled on 7/6/2013 but they charged me another 2 months - $39.90.

    Per the terms and conditions there is a 60 day advance notice required for cancelling any plan including the month to month plan. I cancelled before my 24 month plan was supposed to end on 7/9/2013 so even with the 60 day cancellation requirement I should of only been charged an extra $39.90 instead of $59.85. They refused to work with me to satisy my complaint.

    Their website says that "you can cancel anytime" but even for month to month subscribers they will be charged an extra 60 days when cancelling. What is to stop them from having a 360 day advance notice cancellation requirement and saying you can cancel anytime? This company is a scam. There have been several complaints against them so the attorney general has even taken action against this company. Avoid this company at all costs. If all consumers take a stand against this fraudulant company it will go out of business.

    Here is the gov action on this company

    On September 6, 2012 the Washington State Attorney Generals Office entered into a consent decree with Cencom, Inc. a Kirkland, WA business.

    Cencom Inc. and all successors are hereby permanently enjoined and restrained from directly or indirectly engaging in failing to clearly and conspicuously disclose the material terms of alarm monitoring services, Misrepresenting that Cencom is a BBB Accredited Business if it is not, Failing to offer valid agreements to consumers, failure to disclose early termination fees, failing to obtain a consumer's explicit informed consent of the Terms and Conditions of the agreement and misleading "free" advertising.

    Cencom shall provide two reports to the Washington Attorney Generals Office. Each report Cencom will set forth the changes it made, why those changes were made and what those changes are intended to accomplish. Upon entry of this Consent Decree, Cencom will immediately cease and desist all billing activity against any consumer who has previously attempted to cancel their account but was denied due to Cencom's practices, all collections activity against any consumer whose alleged debt was incurred due to the practices of Cencom and within 45 days of the entry of the decree Cencom agrees to send letters of explanation to all relevant credit reporting agencies explaining the reason for any collections actions against Cencom customers. Cencom will request that all record of such collections actions be expunged from the credit reports of affected customers.

    This agreed upon refund program will expire 75 days from the entry of the Decree and Cencom shall mail refund checks to all consumer who have responded to the the email Cencom has sent out in order to determine the amount necessary to compensate the consumers for the early termination fee that the consumer actually paid to Cencom.

    3 Votes
  • Ne
    nedal yaquab Nov 26, 2013

    Im going through the same with american digital, they told me bunch of lies about how they are able to connect my alarm to a VOIP, i told them exactly what i have. Before signing up, i asked many questions, the agent told me that it will work 100% and the service was $5.95 a month, she also told me if im not happy, the only thing im responsible for is the shipping back fee for the equipment. I was not happy at all with their service, tech could not even tell me where to locate the phone box, the he told me i have to purchase additional equipment and my monthly fee will jump to about $25 a month, afterward i decided to cancel because it was not what i was told at the beginning, i canceled my contract in less that thirty days which is their cancellation policy for a full refund, so i never had my alarm working. Finally, when i got my invoice, they have charged me for tech support $35.00 and equipment shipping $18.95 and a $99 for the equipment, i told them that i will not pay them a penny, they are filing collection on me for $171.80. Do not buy anything from this company, total scam, they pull you in with the $5.95 a month, then they hit you with other fees to make as much money as possible from you. When i called and complained, i was told someone will call me back, no one ever did. scam scam scam, be aware!!!

    3 Votes
  • Re
    rejoice2 Jan 30, 2011

    For those who feel they got ripped off by saveonmyalarm, American Digital, Cen Com, you should be aware that Vonage recently agreed to settle a class action brought against Vonage by six former customers.
    In particular, the action states :
    The action seeks relief on behalf of Vonage customers: (i) declaring that Vonage
    breaches its own Terms of Service by failing to allow customers to timely cancel their Vonage
    service; (ii) declaring that Vonage’s advertising, Terms of Service, and business practices are
    deceptive, misleading and unfair; (iii) declaring that the arbitration provision and limits on
    liability found in Vonage’s Terms of Service are unconscionable and unenforceable; (iv)
    directing Vonage to cease billing subscribers for Vonage services after they have requested
    cancellation of Vonage’s service; (v) directing Vonage to refund all monies paid by subscribers
    who cancelled their Vonage service within the first 30 days of operational service; (vi) directing
    Vonage to refund all disconnection fees charged to subscribers who cancelled the service; (vii)
    directing Vonage to refund, upon request, monthly charges for service on unused accounts after
    customers requested cancellation of their service; (viii) directing Vonage to implement a onestep
    process, on Vonage’s website, that will permit customers to cancel their service; and
    (ix) directing Vonage to give notice to members of the Class of items (i)-(viii) above.

    The class action asked for damages in excess of $5 million dollars. Vonage is now setting up website to settle the class action, with over one million dollars proposed to set aside to settle the class action.
    If you feel you are ripped off by CenCom, these are examples law firms that you all should contact with:

    http://www.seegerweiss.com/class-actions/class-action-attorneys/
    http://www.cmht.com/practices.php?PracticeID=4
    http://www.pswplaw.com/PracticeAreas/Consumer-Protection.asp
    http://www.stritmatter.com/washington-personal-injury/seattle-class-action-lawsuits/
    Most of these cases were funded on a contingency basis, that is, the consumers do not need to pay to the lawyers upfront.
    Contact any law firms specializing in class actions in consumer laws to determine your legal rights immediately, even if you had previously settled disputes with CenCom

    6 Votes
  • Vi
    Victim of Ron Cats Jan 06, 2011

    Their websites are the sites for you sign on consent to contract. The contract is totally ONE-SIDED to their favor.

    They bill you, whether your system is working or not. They will bill you quietly in the accounting system, and will tell one day your are in debt. They will bill you if you credit card is not working. They make money also by penalty in their account system, and also via law suits. Yes, according to the contract, the consumer has to pay for the fee of their lawyer.

    Over 100 complaints are filed with BBB against Company Cen Com. Cen Com has retained lawyer like Steve Tanijo to go after you.

    What a ripoff!!!

    6 Votes
  • Sa
    SaveOnMyAlarm Oct 10, 2010

    The consumers statements are false. With over 200, 000 Subscribers, we expect a few complaints, but it would be nice if they did not fabricate lies and hide behind unknown blogging. I challenge this blogger to identify themselves with at least their account number for reference! If it is not posted, everyone should note this complaint is a fake designed to discredit us wrongfully.

    -8 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.