Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Cal-Ray Global Inc. Customer Service Phone, Email, Contacts

Cal-Ray Global Inc.
Reviews and Complaints

Learn how the rating is calculated

5.0 1 Complaint
Claim Your Business
Take control of your profile: address complaints and engage with reviews
Write a review File a complaint

Cal-Ray Global Inc. Complaints 1

ComplaintsBoard
H
10:53 pm EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Cal-Ray Global Inc. Shoppers Sweepstakes winner

I received a letter on Jan. 12th, 2010 that stated I had won an International Sweepstakes drawn on January 2nd, 2010 in London, UK. The sweepstakes was organized by international Gaming Corp, slide-circuit awards and Globe promotions in conjunction w/ the foundation of software products (F.S.P.). They said my name was randomly selected by the computer data base of our North American claims department. I was 1 of 20 who had been declared winners in the "7th category". I was the winner of the sum $250, 000 american dollars, this was from a total prize award money of $87 million United States Dollars. I was giving a WINNING NO. [protected]. They said my my file had been assigned to the North American Claims Affiliate. They enclosed a check in the amount of $3, 988.00 so I could pay the applicable bond fees of $2, 990.00. It then said after I paid the Applicable Bond Fees I would recieve the balance of my winnings. IT ALSO SAID DO NOT ATTEMPT TO USE THE CHECK UNTIL YOU CALL FIRST! It said the fees were payable at any western union location through a government tax agent. It said contact your claims agent immediately between 9am-8pm Mon-Fri or 10am-6pm Saturdays Eastern Time. RANDY SIMMS. LLB was the "claim agent" assigned to me. His direct line was [protected] which was the same number for the whole company and also the same number as the fax number! SARAH BRADSHAW WAS LISTED AS THE "PROMOTIONS DIRECTOR". At the bottom of the page it said "The shoppers sweepstakes is accredited by the BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU and is sponsored by a consortium of corporations, the INTEL GROUP, MICROSOFOT, WAL-MART, SEARS, LOWES, HOME DEPOT ETC. All participants were selected throug a random computer ballot system drawn from chain stores in all of North America. CONGRADULATIONS! At the very end it had a barcode with the number 3690V2 061596LV 217 002 and said ORIGINAL COPY

Read full review of Cal-Ray Global Inc. and 29 comments
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
29 comments
Add a comment
S
S
Shack Attack
Hampton, US
Apr 09, 2012 8:30 pm EDT

I also received a letter, stating that I was a winner of $150, 000 from a computer database drawing. Get Real! Red flag was all over this. From the start you have to enter a sweepstakes in order for your name to be drawn. I live in the US and have no outside connection with any other part of this world. I serve a master who promise me if I serve him all of my needs will be supply.
But my God shall supply all your needs according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus( Philippians 4:19)
Sorry scam artists you pick the wrong one!.Be careful and just serve the Lord and all of your needs will be met.

S
S
spinn10
Butler, US
Aug 26, 2011 6:54 pm EDT

I just recieved this letter today and the company that was posted at the top was Varian Securties INC. it stated " following the official results of international sweepstakes drawn on August 15th 2011, in the UK which was organized by Netflix international, slide circuitawards and Globe promotions, in conjunction with the foundation of software products (F.S.P), your name was randomly selected by the computer data base of our North-American departmental stores and as such emerged a winner with other declared winners. You are therefore entitled to recieve the sum of $50, 000.00 USD. This sum is from a total prize of 3.5 million shared amoung all the lucky winners. you have won this lottery by shopping in one of the selected stores in North America; walmart store, Best Buy, Walgreens, Sears, Home Depot; office depot, Kmart ect. Winning number [protected] claim number uk/us 9135. In accordance with our disbursment policy, we are pleased to inform you that your file has been assigned to our North american claims affilate for the remittance of your fund. Enclosed is a check amount of 3, 950.00 to enale you pay the appilicable non-residential tax of 2450.00. you will recieve a second check which will be the balance of your winning ($46, 050.00) after the accplicable taxes are paid. the fees are payable to a tax agent at most western union locations. please do not attempt to use the check until you call your claim agent. you are advised to contact your claim agent immediately between 9am-8pm Monday to saturdays (EST) for further directions. STEVEN RAY (claim agent) [protected] congratulations! Laurie carlbury ( promotions director)." the letter also had a bar code at the bottom ... i called the number and the man told me to deposit the check immediately and then to call tomorrow and they would give me further instructions on paying the taxes and then my final check would be sent out within the next two days ( the man was pretty difficult to understand)... im glad i researched this because the check looks very real and i researched everything on the check and it all matched up so please realize that these people are good. Susan, Pennsylvania

L
L
little man
Bloomington, US
Aug 15, 2011 11:55 pm EDT

I received my letter a few days ago and called the agent "Rob Walters" who answered the phone with "hello?" and asked if he could put me on hold. I held for at least a minute. My letterhead was from Enterprise Rent A Car, written as "Enterprise RAC Co." which I thought was odd. Same as all the other comments but my award was $250, 000 and my check was from Enterprise Rent a car in the amount of $3920 and I had to pay $1990. "Rob" told me not to tell anyone about the letter, but to deposit the check and call him tomorrow so he can give me instructions on how to pay the taxes. He also mentioned Western Union. I plan to call the bank and Enterprise to let them know. Unbelievable. Trust your gut. I'm glad I knew that it seemed too good to be true.

D
D
DEBSHAMAR
Wayne, US
Aug 03, 2011 2:32 am EDT

I too, have received the same letter, mines is from Harlesville Mutual Insurance Co. and signed off by Carolyn H. Carlbury and list Laurie Carlbury as Promotions Director. I figured it was a fraud when I googled Harleysville Mutual, the address was wrong on this unofficial looking letter head - the address was missing a number; there was a check included in mine for $3, 920.00 in which they claim is to enable me to pay the applicable non-residential tax of $1, 800.00; supposedly I ($ would receive the remaining $146, 080.00 after I contact the agent, in the mail; but it advises me not to cash the check until I speak with my claims agent, Gregory Luck -LLB; And supposedly I won this by shopping in one of the selected Sores in North America; Walmart stores, Best Buy, Walgreens, Sears, Hom Depot; etc. THEY SHOULD BE PROSECUTED! But hold on to these letters because you never know - maybe a lawsuit/prosecution will come out of this - Hey! I did say maybe! at this point as broke as I am - I can keep on dreaming - but it was a nice dream for a minute! Deb out of Michigan

S
S
Shelly
US
Jun 11, 2011 6:04 pm EDT

well, it's now june 2011 and the scam is still being perpetrated! Didn't act on it but [censored] looks good minus the spelling and address errors. ie: Washingon, Seattle instead of Seattle, Washington. DUMB BUTTS!

J
J
JJC
Edison, US
May 04, 2011 12:37 am EDT

We received a similar letter from Keany & Associates Inc, 2002 Bond Street, Burlington On, B3H9A7. The letter stated as the others that we won an international sweep stake drawn on March 5th 2011. The names were selected randomly by the computer data base and were 10 declared winners and we were the winners of $50, 000 USD. The winning number [protected]. In the letter was an enclosed check in the amount of $3, 879 to pay the government taxes and processing fees. It stated you will receive the balance once the fees were paid and to NOT cash until calling the telephone number listed to speak to the agent by the name of Tim Rogers at telephone number [protected]. We called the number and the person said to cash the check and call back. I completed a reverse look up on the phone number turned out to be a cellphone number and also google mapped the address and did not exist. We will go to the post office to file a compliant. If sounds to good to be true it probably is since we did not enter any sweepstakes at all!

K
K
KristinSloan
Rochester, US
Mar 08, 2011 12:14 am EST

March 3, 2011... They are back at it again... I received the exact same letter as the first post. However, they state they are WestPalm Securities; Address: 5 South St, London ONT. S5E 9B3; (that address does not exsist); Contact names are: Harry Bent, there are two by this name living in Toronto, Canada; his cell phone is registered in Toronto, [protected]; Sarah Bradshaw, there are several by this name living in Toronto, Canada; her cell phone is registererd in Brampton, Ontario Canada, [protected]. Their check came from the TB Bank, "America's Most Convenient Bank". The bank fraud number is [protected]; We need to start calling these banks and alerting them to these scams... It's a shame we couldn't give them a taste of their own medicine, and the only way would be to scam them back; as the international laws of proscecution for these types of scams are hard to prove, proceed and of course trying to find them...

C
C
C. Audet
St. Charles, US
Dec 01, 2010 5:19 pm EST

I received a similar letter and check from "Mary's River Lumber" in Oregon (and Ontario?). Scammers are expecting us to cash or deposit the $3975 and send in a money order or western union payment of $2970 to cover the taxes on the sweepstakes winnings. They fly with our $2970, which is our responsibility when the bank receives the rejected check.

I googled the lumber company and got this website of complaints and the real lumber company. I called them and they said that many people are getting this scam. I scanned the letter and check and emailed it to them for the impending prosecution.

Take away lessons: 1) Trust in honest work and business practices, not in get-rich-quick schemes; 2) Research before taking action; 3) Be proactive in assisting the authorities to nail the criminals.

"Trust in the Lord with all you heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths." Proverbs 3:5-6

Curt Audet, St. Charles, IL

N
N
Newyorker06
US
Nov 28, 2010 6:01 pm EST

I recently received one of those letter which immediately sent up a red flag. First of all, I could not understand how or why my name ended up in this database. Then, I proceeded to question the unprofessional look of the letter head, let alone the reason for cashing check outside of a reputable bank. It mentioned the use of westion unions, which I never use. In addition to all this, I think there were too many names involved. When I took the initiative to trace the listed North American phone number, I came up with a location (even a map) that indicated Babylon, New York.
Overall, what was most troubling is the outstanding involvment of the United Kingdom. So, I decided to search online for the BAE SYSTEM INC. listed at the top of letter head. This company deals solely with aircrafts and large machinary. I kept searching and came across your warning and said, Yes this comfims my suspicion.

New Yorker

T
T
Texas Rock Man
Midland, US
Nov 01, 2010 12:34 am EDT

I actually called the bank that the funds were to be drawn against in Monanta. US Bank, actual banking office, said the funds were good and would go through. SO, is US Bank in on the fraud also?

Cal-Ray Global Inc. Reviews 0

Looks like Cal-Ray Global Inc. has no reviews yet.
Write a review
Subscribe to receive notifications of all new customer feedback

If you represent Cal-Ray Global Inc., take charge of your business profile by claiming it and stay informed about any new reviews or complaints submitted.

👉 Claim your business

Overview of Cal-Ray Global Inc. complaint handling

Cal-Ray Global Inc. reviews first appeared on Complaints Board on Jan 12, 2010. The latest review Shoppers Sweepstakes winner was posted on Jan 12, 2010. The latest complaint Shoppers Sweepstakes winner was resolved on Jan 12, 2010. Cal-Ray Global Inc. has an average consumer rating of 5 stars from 1 reviews. Cal-Ray Global Inc. has resolved 1 complaints.
Trust badge
Collect Your Trust Badge
Be recognized for outstanding customer service
  1. Cal-Ray Global Inc. Contacts

  2. Cal-Ray Global Inc. phone numbers
    (905) 782-1316
    (905) 782-1316
    Click up if you have successfully reached Cal-Ray Global Inc. by calling (905) 782-1316 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Cal-Ray Global Inc. by calling (905) 782-1316 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Cal-Ray Global Inc. by calling (905) 782-1316 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Cal-Ray Global Inc. by calling (905) 782-1316 phone number
  3. Cal-Ray Global Inc. address
    707 Bay St, Milton, Ontario, RT5 N5A, Canada
  4. Cal-Ray Global Inc. social media
  5. Andrew
    Checked and verified by Andrew This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    May 13, 2024
Cal-Ray Global Inc. Category
Cal-Ray Global Inc. is ranked 39 among 86 companies in the Gambling category

Our Commitment

We stand for unbiased reviews

We make sure all complaints and reviews are from real people sharing genuine experiences.

We help resolving issues

We offer easy tools for businesses and reviewers to solve issues together. Learn how it works.

We advocate freedom of speech

We support and promote the right for reviewers to express their opinions and ideas freely without censorship or restrictions, as long as it's respectful and within our Terms and Conditions, of course ;)

We ensure transparent and fair ratings

Our rating system is open and honest, ensuring unbiased evaluations for all businesses on the platform. Learn more.

We care about your privacy

Personal details of reviewers are strictly confidential and hidden from everyone.

We are easy, free and open to everyone

Our website is designed to be user-friendly, accessible, and absolutely free for everyone to use.