5280 Dixie Road, Mississauga, ON, L4W 2A7, CA

Reviews and Complaints

Chrysler Jeep Dodge Increquired oil pan change cause by unskilled technician

On October 25th, 2013 I went for oil and filter service which should be quick and simple, aprox $35.00 Tax Incl. After an hour in service I was informed by Anthony Italiano ( Service Advisor/Blue Team) that the DRAIN BOLT IS STRIPPED, THREADS ON OIL PAN ARE STRIPPED - UNABLE TO PUT DRAIN BOLT BACK IN AFTER REMOVED, and the proposed correction is REPLACED OIL PAN AND GASKET for a total service of $495.45 Tax Incl.
I requested an explanation on how it is happened, because when I brought the Van for service was okay-no leaks; also I requested a complete report in written before making the decision to go ahead to replace the parts involved, and I was told by Anthony that he cannot provide the report until he print the invoice, which only can be done after the service is completed. He explained to me that this occur at some point during the normal use of the Oil Drain Bolt due to repetitive oil changes, and I told him this was not a normal use, it was a mechanic fault, and I shouldn't pay for the problem created for an unskilled and careless mechanic. On top of that I did not change the oil of this 2003 Dodge Caravan in any other place since I bought the car on 2003. If it was any wrong doing from a previous oil change/mechanic, they can easily found it looking on their system, also I have all the invoices as well.
Anthony also told me that if I do not make a decision, like right away, the Van has to be pulled out from the service to the parking lot; he was demanding a sudden decision. Without any other choice I approved the replacement of the parts at fault with the intention to dispute the invoice with the Service Manager.
After the service was completed in two more hours, and before I pay the invoice, I spoke with Luke-Service Manager, and he explained the same idea brought to me by Anthony, which I do not agree and I told him. He was looking at me like - what do you want me to do-I also asked him if the price for the OIL PAN, PART-PAN [protected] for $192.00 before tax was correct, he told that it was the correct price.
I was a customer of this dealer for 10 years, and I am very disappointed with the service received and the attitude of the Service Advisor and the Service Manager. I told them I will dispute this invoice and they did not comment. I was expecting that somebody from the customer service call me, like they normally do after any service for a follow up with customers, but I was expecting to much. I am writing this complaint more than 72 working hours after the service was done, and I did not hear from them.
Most important, I think there should be a difference in the cost of this service, between a person that bring a car to replace an Oil Pan and Gasket, because it was required, in the case of a leak, etc; and a person that bring a car for an oil change and caused by a mechanic wrong fault the Oil Pan and Gasket has to be replace.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment Guidelines

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    7 Responses
    • Mk
      MkStItCh May 29, 2014

      You bought a USED suv... You should have had it looked over before you bought it.

      0 Votes
    • Wa
      wallace ranch May 29, 2014

      I bought a used suv
      and with in 24 hours I let the dearlship know it had two bults missing on front bumper also it had a cracked front winshield and a broken grill Glen man of the dealership said lady it is a used suv and refused to fix the sakety problems.

      0 Votes
    • Mk
      MkStItCh Nov 01, 2013

      Your right... I am only ASE certified in 1 area and I have only been a mechanic for 18 years.
      I see stripped oil pans ALL THE TIME from people that say "I HAVE ONLY EVER GONE TO THE DEALER".
      Oil pans are warranty for 5 years for a reason. It got even worse over the years when manufactures started using Aluminum pans with healey coils for the threads.

      0 Votes
    • Op
      opico Oct 31, 2013
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      @MkStltCh

      Added information: the van has only 89k at this moment. I did not change the oil 80 times. This was a technician fault, a careless way to opened up this bolt.
      About the gallon of milk...I have to buy it anyway if I want to drink milk, not because I am thirsty, if I am thirsty I have other alternatives.
      In this case I have no other alternative to pay to fix the van, as a result of an unskilled action of this technician...where is the customer protection?
      I will complaint about this particular to the Ontario Ministry of Consumer Services. Hopefully they will have a much addressing answer to this problem.

      0 Votes
    • Es
      essara Oct 31, 2013

      *** The oil pan thread and bolt or any bolt for that matter should not be stripped after a total of 80 uses.

      0 Votes
    • Es
      essara Oct 31, 2013

      @MkStItCh

      it seems that you don't know your stuff. The oil pan thread and bolt or any bolt for that matter be stripped after a total of 8 uses. My 1992 dodge stealth has NO wear on the bolt or thread of the oil pan and it is twice as old.

      As for the complaint, always ask for the parts after the service is done, As for the written report, I know that it can be done before invoicing as the dodge dealership here has done it for me. If anything, just ask them to enter a invoice amount of $0.00 if they really push the issue.

      0 Votes
    • Mk
      MkStItCh Oct 31, 2013

      I don't know how to say this other than to say " YOU COULD NOT BE MORE WRONG".
      The van is 10+ years old. At no point in time did you ever say the total km on the van so I will do basic math.
      (5000km per 3 month period is normal driving/ Oil change every 5000km means 4 per year/ 4x10=40 oil changes/ Thread the plug in and out every time means 80 times the threads are used/ Threads wear out and pan need to be replaced)
      This is normal wear and NOBODY would be at fault.
      Going with your logic, If you get your brakes checked today and they are OK and then go bad in another month, the last person that took them apart is at fault.
      As far as the cost of the part, the cost is a constant and should not / will not change just because it is needed for a different reason. If you go shopping for a gallon of milk when you are not thirsty versus when you are thirsty the gallon of milk still cost the same.

      0 Votes

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.